View Full Version : Predict the Squad/ Starting Lineup for Macedonia

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14

01/03/2011, 7:25 PM
Louis allows too many men in behind him for my liking.

Paddy Garcia
01/03/2011, 8:23 PM
Is Lawrence injured? Cause nobody on this thread has mentioned the possibility of him starting. He's definitely in the running if fit as Trap fancies him..

Back on the bench tonight.

Fixer82
01/03/2011, 8:45 PM

Yeah, plus I heard he's a terrible dribbler

01/03/2011, 8:59 PM

Yes did you get that text about trouserius snakeius and the mutant species....

You know, I think Trap gets too much credit, but there has been an emergence of options in the squad with lots of regulars in the PL(maybe not regular starts but regular in terms of time) and it definitely is an exciting time. If we could just add 2 or so players of real quality before given/keane/duff/dunne retire, we could be in a very good position next summer - if we qualify.

Crosby87
01/03/2011, 11:03 PM
Wiki also says that Šumulikoski in midfield, with 71 caps, is known to their fans as "the Balkan Gerrard".

Wiki also says they call him that because he loves Phil Collins.

bwagner
02/03/2011, 1:31 PM
I think the strongest squad whould be:

Westwood,Kenny

Clark
Dunne
St.Ledger
Foley
O 'Shea
Stearman
Ward

Whelan
Gibson
Fahey
O'Hara
Andrews
Duff
Mc Geady
Wilson

Walters
Best
Long
Doyle
Stokes

02/03/2011, 2:23 PM
no McCarthy?

bwagner
02/03/2011, 2:48 PM
Sorry guys McCarthy and Coleman also, I dont like to jump at any "anglo blow in " but if anything happens to Dunne we are in major trouble, I totally welcome Stearman.

03/03/2011, 10:03 AM
Predicting:
-------- Westwood---------
O'Shea Dunne St Ledger Clark
McGeady Andrews Whelan Duff
---------- Long Doyle---------

Subs: Kenny, Foley, Gibson, Green, Best, Walters, Fahey

mcGeady not a cert? Someone's been on the laughing salts...

One thing I would say on the team I've outlined above, is that it is small. I dunno how big the Balkans are, but we've the back 4 and Doyler for bulk and height defending setpieces. That is a concern. It could be enough for Andrews or Green to displace Fahey. In fact I think it will. Andrews to start, Fahey to bench, Coleman not selected for match day squad. Ireland to win, Kingdom to back heavily, drinks all round. :-)

03/03/2011, 10:49 AM
Kingdom- Can you name me one game where McGeady has impressed everybody (not just Aiden/Celtic fans) in an Irish shirt? If Lawrence is fit then it wouldn't surprise me if McGeady is on the bench.

03/03/2011, 11:11 AM
McGeady is a hot favourite/dead cert to start, whether you agree with that or not, is another issue.

Betting odds McGeady 1/5 Lawrence 2/1

03/03/2011, 11:14 AM
Whether he impresses everybody is neither here nor there. Trap likes him. Duff and Hunt have been absent so much I think it's dangerous to assume he's an automatic pick though. With all of our wide options fit he may only be on the bench.

Kingdom - I don't think Andrews is small at all. Nor is Gibson or Fahey really so I think our central midfield can mix it with most others. Ability is another matter!

03/03/2011, 11:39 AM
Trap also likes Lawrence. I just don't think it's a cert that McGeady is our first choice right winger for the games ahead.

The only players who are guaranteed to start when fit (IMO) are Given, Dunne, O'Shea, Duff, Doyle and Keane. Everything else is up for grabs.

03/03/2011, 12:02 PM
Kingdom- Can you name me one game where McGeady has impressed everybody (not just Aiden/Celtic fans) in an Irish shirt? If Lawrence is fit then it wouldn't surprise me if McGeady is on the bench.

No, because universal praise is near impossible in an Ireland jersey, but i took the effort to go through each minute of his performance against Russia to try and stem the criticism of him. He's been my player of the group for Ireland so far.

And I wouldn't classify myself as an Aiden fanboy or Celtic fanboy, the opposite with regard to Celtic. I just feel the fella is underappreciated. . he's playing regular (and seems to be very important for them) for a team that would be of a better standard than most of our current squad are at.
For me he's been our best player in the group so far. It's (not) funny that when we generally crib about the lack of creativity from our midfield (collectively) he's been our outman and been a nuisance in the three games. He was, again unfortunately opinions are like arseholes, excellent in Zilina.

03/03/2011, 12:11 PM
Stutts, I made a ninja edit. I'd start Fahey at home myself (but in the post you see I have Andrews instead).
Possesion and use of the ball is key, and he's the best of the trio (Keithx2 & Green), far more in lansdowne. However we are prone to conceding silly frees and corners, and the difference between Keith and the other two is that Keith is physically light. Thats just my take on it. I'm sure the Rossie will point out how wrong I am ;-P

edit. I was surprised to see Green being listed as smaller than fahey. He appears to be more robust I guess.

AlaskaFox
03/03/2011, 2:22 PM
Trap also likes Lawrence.

I like him. He like me.

03/03/2011, 2:49 PM
My Team

Westwood

O'Shea Dunne St Ledger Clark

Lawrence/Fahey Whelan Gibson Duff

Doyle Long
Westwood, O'Shea, Dunne, St Ledger, Whelan, Duff, Doyle all certain starters. (if fit)
Clark should be picked over Kilbane
If Lawrence is injured, as looks likely, Fahey will get the nod.
Long should start above all others.

The contentious call is Lawrence/Fahey over McGeady. Personal opinions aside, my logic behind this is:
McGeady has been sub the last 4 times him and Duff have both been fit. (6 out of a total of 10 under Trap) Indeed the only game they've played together in the last 22 games was the 3-0 defeat to Australia. (4 times in Traps 29 games). And as this is a prediction thread, I expect Trap to stay true to form.

Incidently, if you asked me pick the team, I would probably go with the same as above.

Date Start Sub Comp V Opp Score
24.05.2008 Duff Friendly H Serbia 1 - 1
29.05.2008 McG Friendly H Colombia 1 - 0
20.08.2008 McG, Duff Friendly A Norway 1 - 1
06.09.2008 McG World Cup Qualifier A Georgia 1 - 2
10.09.2008 McG World Cup Qualifier H Montenegro 0 - 0
15.10.2008 McG, Duff World Cup Qualifier H Cyprus 1 - 0
19.11.2008 Duff Friendly H Poland 2 - 3
11.02.2009 McG, Duff World Cup Qualifier H Georgia 2 - 1
28.03.2009 McG World Cup Qualifier H Bulgaria 1 - 1
01.04.2009 None World Cup Qualifier A Italy 1 - 1
29.05.2009 Duff McG Friendly A Nigeria 1 - 1
06.06.2009 Duff McG World Cup Qualifier A Bulgaria 1 - 1
12.08.2009 McG, Duff Friendly H Australia 0 - 3
05.09.2009 Duff McG World Cup Qualifier A Cyprus 2 - 1
08.09.2009 None Duff Friendly H South Africa 1 - 0
10.10.2009 McG World Cup Qualifier H Italy 2 - 2
14.10.2009 Duff World Cup Qualifier H Montenegro 0 - 0
14.11.2009 Duff McG World Cup Play Off H France 0 - 1
18.11.2009 Duff McG World Cup Play Off A France 1 - 1
02.03.2010 Duff McG Friendly H Brazil 0 - 2
25.05.2010 Duff Friendly H Paraguay 2 - 1
28.05.2010 Duff Friendly H Algeria 3 - 0
11.08.2010 Duff Friendly H Argentina 0 - 1
03.09.2010 McG European Cup Qualifier A Armenia 1 - 0
07.09.2010 McG European Cup Qualifier H Andorra 3 - 1
08.10.2010 McG European Cup Qualifier H Russia 3 - 2
12.10.2010 McG European Cup Qualifier A Slovakia 1 - 1
17.11.2010 Duff Friendly H Norway 1 - 2
08.02.2011 Duff Celtic Nations Cup H Wales 3 - 0

03/03/2011, 3:20 PM
Just to say, if Kilbane doesn't start, I can't see him being sub, given the range of options the other subs or starting players give the manager. If Clark starts and were to get injured, Josh can switch over. It is another of the useful traits of a lot of our players at the moment, they cover lots of angles.

03/03/2011, 4:20 PM
How come Joe doesn't get half the thanks for his detailed and informed posts?does he have to earn the patches

CraftyToePoke
03/03/2011, 4:41 PM
How come Joe doesn't get half the thanks for his detailed and informed posts?does he have to earn the patches

Jaysus, give me a chance Paul, isnt the man only after posting it, and me this second after reading it. Are you a bit fixated on the whole 'thanks' issue? Tell me?

03/03/2011, 4:43 PM
The contentious call is Lawrence/Fahey over McGeady. Personal opinions aside, my logic behind this is:
McGeady has been sub the last 4 times him and Duff have both been fit. (6 out of a total of 10 under Trap) Indeed the only game they've played together in the last 22 games was the 3-0 defeat to Australia. (4 times in Traps 29 games). And as this is a prediction thread, I expect Trap to stay true to form.]
If you think Trap will pick Gibson at CM, then Trap will not likely go with both McGeady and Duff.
But I'd say Gibson's chances of starting are slim to none. I'd say he is behind Green in the pecking order. Trap's words of advice to Gibson, after the Wales game, told more of Trap's real opinion about his contribution against Wales as compared to what he is expected to do in our CM.

03/03/2011, 5:02 PM
http://www.memedepot.com/uploads/0/207_not_sure_if_serious.jpg

03/03/2011, 5:05 PM
ironic then, isn't it, that you haven't thanked the post!

(not at the moment anyway)

03/03/2011, 8:12 PM
Jaysus, give me a chance Paul, isnt the man only after posting it, and me this second after reading it. Are you a bit fixated on the whole 'thanks' issue? Tell me?

Paul seems to be a total thanker.

03/03/2011, 9:00 PM
I didnt realise i could thank on mobile, a couple of weeks ago i went searching for it and it wasnt there. foot.ie mobile is changing more than a hoor changes her nether-region under garment.

03/03/2011, 10:20 PM
I think Joe's great. A mere "thanks" is too trivial a gesture. We need more Joes.

rebelmusic
04/03/2011, 12:03 AM
I didnt realise i could thank on mobile, a couple of weeks ago i went searching for it and it wasnt there. foot.ie mobile is changing more than a hoor changes her nether-region under garment.

Only high-class hoors for you so Paul? xD

04/03/2011, 2:26 AM
You're all ****ing nuts lads. Thank god I've never seen hide nor hare of ye at a game.
I've spent the night chasing women I've been chasing for 'years', 'years!'. Women aren't impressed by statistics.

Colbert Report
04/03/2011, 5:05 AM
Just to say, if Kilbane doesn't start, I can't see him being sub, given the range of options the other subs or starting players give the manager. If Clark starts and were to get injured, Josh can switch over. It is another of the useful traits of a lot of our players at the moment, they cover lots of angles.

He's never played left back at any point under Trap. Not an option.

Supreme feet
04/03/2011, 5:57 AM
He's never played left back at any point under Trap. Not an option.

Played 90 minutes at left-back against Paraguay last May.

04/03/2011, 8:26 AM
Considering how lax CR is with the stats, can we presume he is a big hit with the ladies?

04/03/2011, 9:35 AM
Dunne is reported as being out for the game, at least we know well in advance.

I think Josh could well be brought in to CH alongside St Ledger with Clark to hold onto LB position. There's plenty of permutations.

04/03/2011, 9:46 AM
Last time we played a competitive game without our 3 key players - Given, Dunne and Keano?

Not good news at all.

Clark could go to CB and put Kilbane/Kelly back at LB. Or O'Shea to CB and bring in Coleman. Hmmm tough one.

04/03/2011, 10:35 AM
I'd say he'll move JoSH into the center with Kelly coming in at RB. I think it's still 50/50 between Clark and Kilbane to start at LB.

With Kelly coming in at RB, I'm sure Trapattoni will be looking at a more defensively strong RM than McGeady.

04/03/2011, 10:40 AM
Special foot.ie cred to the poster who gets the starting permutation absolutely right for this game.

04/03/2011, 10:46 AM
Special foot.ie cred to the poster who gets the starting permutation absolutely right for this game.
What? Thanks from Paul?
If Dunne is missing........... Oh NO! We could see McShane recalled!

04/03/2011, 10:56 AM
I'd imagine it'll be Clark, O'Shea, St Ledger, Foley

04/03/2011, 10:59 AM
Is that from now? What happens if there are more injuries between you make your predicion and now. I was thinking the same thing this morning though about ppl saying who were def starters, i dont think(almost - whelan :D) anyone is def - or at least not in their expected positions for this game now.

I'm in agreement with ifk101 on this one, I cant really see him going with a Left side made up of mcgeady and clark, one for his lack of experience, one for his actually defensive capabailities, and both for not having an understanding/relationship built up over time. I see if he goes with mcgeady on the left he will definitely go for kilbane at full back. Kelly seems to be his preferred option at right back based on previous subsitutitions etc, but what if he goes with McShane? I will be seriouslly worried then.

I think given the 3 key injuries(lets hope keane/dunne might still come back or at least dunne- i want dunne back more than keane) we have, this is where Traps experience and where his approach(annoying as it his at times) will suit us. He will go for experience and as little change to the overall formation/players/system as possible.

04/03/2011, 11:00 AM
Indeed McShane could be recalled .......

It's going to be a difficult game to win.

04/03/2011, 11:00 AM
I'd imagine it'll be Clark, O'Shea, St Ledger, Foley

I assume you mean clark left and not right? I dont see that, given the lack of experience and age, i go with kilbane here assuming dunne isn't fit.

Fixer82
04/03/2011, 11:02 AM
Kelly
O'Shea
St. Ledger
Kilbane

hopefully not though. weak full backs

04/03/2011, 11:03 AM

----------------Westwood------------------
Kelly --------O'Shea----St Ledger-----Kilbane

McGeady-----Whelan---Andrews-------Duff

--------------Long-------Doyle--------------

Sub: Murphy, Foley, Clark, Gibson, Green, Best, Walters.

04/03/2011, 11:05 AM
I can think of a few boards.ie members who were pretty handy at a game called Fantasy Rafa who might be interested in a new game called Fantasy Trap....

04/03/2011, 11:08 AM
Kelly --------O'Shea----St Ledger-----Clark

Fahey-----Whelan---Gibson-------Duff

Sub: J Murphy, Coleman, O'Dea, Wilson, McGeady, McCarthy, Walters.

04/03/2011, 11:09 AM
Kelly --------O'Shea----St Ledger-----Kilbane

McGeady-----Whelan---Andrews-------Duff

Sub: Murphy, Foley, Clark, Gibson, Green, Best, Walters.

Why have you put mcgeady right, given his last few games, whether duff fit or not, I think trap prefers him left and then possibly switch?

I cant see him going with mcgeady and kelly. This maybe is where Lawrence does come in. Having said that trap never really chases a game(italy aside when we were losing) unless we are losing, he seems happy to take a draw.

You changed that on the sly!!!

I dont think he would see fahey as strong enough defensively with kelly, thats why id go with lawrence here. But id prefer that than mcgeady, if we need a goal with 20 mins to go, perfect time to bring him on.

04/03/2011, 11:09 AM
I assume you mean clark left and not right? I dont see that, given the lack of experience and age, i go with kilbane here assuming dunne isn't fit.
Yeah, this is how I think it'll line up now

Westwood
Foley O'Shea St. Ledger Clark
McGeady Whelan Fahey Duff
Doyle Long
Actually, that looks a little inexperienced (Duff and O'Shea aside)
Doyle as captain?

04/03/2011, 11:23 AM
Trap is not likely to take on a new risk with the back 4, in this (cliche alert) 'must win game'.
Clark has done enough imo to earn Trap's trust to start at LB.
He knows St Ledger can carry a delicate Josh and keep him focussed at CH.
Right full is more tricky- Kelly hasn't played for Fulham since Nov. I can't remember how Foley did in his sub appearance against Norway but hasn't he been at least been playing for Wolves?

Would Trap start Clark with St Ledger at CH and keep Josh and Kilbane at FB?

gilberto_eire
04/03/2011, 11:23 AM
Why does everyone have O'Shea CB?

Trapp won't do it, not when he considers Clark a CB by trade.
If he has to chose between O'Shea and Clark, he'll pick Clark all day going on what he's said in the past.

04/03/2011, 11:27 AM
Why does everyone have O'Shea CB?

Trapp won't do it, not when he considers Clark a CB by trade.
If he has to chose between O'Shea and Clark, he'll pick Clark all day going on what he's said in the past.

We have seen in the past that he doesn't actually always stick with what he says.

What are the chances of lawrence being thrown in at right back?

04/03/2011, 11:37 AM
It's also how you interpret what he says. And Paul, often your interpretations are on the wild side.