Pages :
[
10]
23/03/2011, 9:04 PM
Stutts is a dual rooted Irishman.
Crosby87
23/03/2011, 9:24 PM
It's interesting that all (Er....European descent) Aussies sound alike, regardless of where they are from. Because their relatives came from different parts of England or where ever. A bartender explained why in detail to me recently. I would have thought by now there would be a difference but an Aussie told me she can't ever tell where anyone is from.
Now I'll put a helmet on and get ready for incoming corrections.
23/03/2011, 9:27 PM
He was injured before he came over. The jinx hasn't struck yet. Hopefully Jon Walters' missus will pop the sprog out promptly and he can come over.
My Mrs is due soon. If she tries any of this delaying tactics nonsense like Mrs Walters I'll be elbow deep reefing the sprog out myself.
I think Geysir, Paul and a few others need to get a thread for themselves just like the Nordie eligibility/poaching threads.
Seriously lads, its getting awful tiring.
Supreme feet
24/03/2011, 5:06 AM
So, back on topic, it looks like Westwood, Foley, Dunne, St. Ledger, Whelan, Duff, Keane and Doyle are nailed on to start. The variables are Kilbane/Clark for left-back, McGeady/Lawrence/Coleman for the right-hand side, and Gibson/Fahey/Green fighting to partner Whelan. The selection of Kilbane, Green and Lawrence will have the Trap critics sharpening their knives again, and in KK and PG's case, for good reason.
We know McCarthy won't start, unfortunately, but hopefully we'll be in a comfortable enough position to throw him on for the last half-hour. We'll have Uruguay, NI and Scotland to bed him into the midfield then, if he does well.
Spending my afternoon in work watching Youtube videos of Macedonia, and from what little I've seen, they don't look too clever when players run at them (McFadden for Scotland is a prime example). If McGeady starts alongside Duff, they could cause havoc. If Gibson starts too, there's an extra goal threat. If Macedonia play 4-4-2 as Tardelli suggested, we should be able to get more of the ball in midfield than usual - so Whelan needs to have one of his better games. With Foley and Clark well able to pass forward from full-back, we (hopefully) won't be hoofing it long that often.
We have a good enough team on paper to win comfortably if everything 'clicks' for us, and Trap makes the best of the borderline selections. However, there's every chance of it being a frustrating dogfight, like Cyprus and Georgia at home in the last campaign.
24/03/2011, 6:45 AM
Back onto the real topic at hand, I think a dialectologicist is also, by definition, an accent specialist. There's a football forum for the other stuff.
Sorry Stu, I'll abstain from now.
24/03/2011, 7:53 AM
I think Geysir, Paul and a few others need to get a thread for themselves just like the Nordie eligibility/poaching threads.
Seriously lads, its getting awful tiring.
Sorry, we will include you more often from now on :p
24/03/2011, 7:53 AM
We have a good enough team on paper to win comfortably if everything 'clicks' for us, and Trap makes the best of the borderline selections. However, there's every chance of it being a frustrating dogfight, like Cyprus and Georgia at home in the last campaign.
Covering all the bases there. :)
24/03/2011, 7:58 AM
So, back on topic, it looks like Westwood, Foley, Dunne, St. Ledger, Whelan, Duff, Keane and Doyle are nailed on to start. The variables are Kilbane/Clark for left-back, McGeady/Lawrence/Coleman for the right-hand side, and Gibson/Fahey/Green fighting to partner Whelan. The selection of Kilbane, Green and Lawrence will have the Trap critics sharpening their knives again, and in KK and PG's case, for good reason.
Spending my afternoon in work watching Youtube videos of Macedonia, and from what little I've seen, they don't look too clever when players run at them (McFadden for Scotland is a prime example). If McGeady starts alongside Duff, they could cause havoc. If Gibson starts too, there's an extra goal threat. If Macedonia play 4-4-2 as Tardelli suggested, we should be able to get more of the ball in midfield than usual - so Whelan needs to have one of his better games. With Foley and Clark well able to pass forward from full-back, we (hopefully) won't be hoofing it long that often.
We never ever win these games comfortably. It will be the same old same old. We always get our hopes up and say oh well maybe we have turned a corner or perhaps this will be the point in the campaign where we proved we have moved up a level under trap blah blah blah.
I didnt see tardelli said they play 4-4-2 as all I've seen from the macedonians is they play a 4-3-3....but i gather from the DVDs he has watched he is more aware of this than they might be letting on.
You think mcgeady is not a def start on the left hand side? Is that incase he goes with clark? thats the reason i thought too, but im not so sure now.
Supreme feet
24/03/2011, 8:10 AM
I didnt see tardelli said they play 4-4-2 as all I've seen from the macedonians is they play a 4-3-3....but i gather from the DVDs he has watched he is more aware of this than they might be letting on.
You think mcgeady is not a def start on the left hand side? Is that incase he goes with clark? thats the reason i thought too, but im not so sure now.
http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2011/0324/1224292954456.html
Tardelli said; “it doesn’t matter because Macedonia play 4-4-2 so for now, 4-4-2 is good for us”.
I'd imagine we'll start with Duff on the left. If McGeady starts they may interchange, depending on how the game is going. It's happened before. However, Trap might play Lawrence to give some protection to Foley, and for set-pieces.
24/03/2011, 8:25 AM
We never ever win these games comfortably. It will be the same old same old. We always get our hopes up and say oh well maybe we have turned a corner or perhaps this will be the point in the campaign where we proved we have moved up a level under trap blah blah blah.I think SF is right by saying that on paper and if everything clicks we could win comfortably. We could, but probably won't. Trap has definitely improved the team since Stan, but one corner we have definitely not turned is the careless defensive mistakes and less than clinical finishing. The definitive test of turning a corner (other than results obviously, but it's all related) will be consistently defending better and taking more chances. Slovakia away summed up the last 2 years for me - good enough to win, but let it slip away. Very frustrating. I think this team has it in them to win well on Saturday, but we're out of the habit of winning consistently so it'll be more of a dogfight.
Supreme feet
24/03/2011, 8:42 AM
I'd agree about the defensive mistakes and lax finishing; but a lot of those issues are exacerbated by poor ball retention. If we're not creating chances, then our missed ones become much more of an issue. Likewise, if we're conceding possession and inviting teams on to us, eventually the floodgates are going to break at some stage. If Foley and Clark start, that'll be one of our Achilles heels sorted - distribution from defence. Even O'Shea at right-back has a tendency to knock aimless balls up the line, and I'd expect Foley to be more measured. Whether this gets a bit more from our timid central midfielders remains to be seen, but we'll certainly give away less ball (and be less prone to mistakes) than with McShane and Kilbane at full-back.
Just hoping Clark starts.
DannyInvincible
24/03/2011, 8:49 AM
Tardelli is confident that we can get 90 minutes out of Robbie based on the past two days of training. (http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2011/0324/ireland.html)
Junior
24/03/2011, 9:43 AM
Probably the closer to Roscommon one is, the more mellow the heart becomes.
Well, the Achilles heel being Achill, excluded of course.
I'd imagine we'll start with Duff on the left. If McGeady starts they may interchange, depending on how the game is going. It's happened before. However, Trap might play Lawrence to give some protection to Foley, and for set-pieces.
Interestingly Duff seems to have played all his football on the right for Fulham this season.
The definitive test of turning a corner (other than results obviously, but it's all related) will be consistently defending better and taking more chances. Slovakia away summed up the last 2 years for me - good enough to win, but let it slip away.
But that doesnt just sum up the last 2 years though, that trait has been evident for many many years (Stan reign excepted where we didnt manage to get in to that stratosphere). 2-2 in Israel immediately springs to mind under Kerr, never mind the whole McCarthy era and last minute goals conceded. Perhaps its just not fair to expect Trap to reverse the physcological deficiencies within the irish gene:shame:
Wolfie
24/03/2011, 12:25 PM
Score two deflected goals and completely lose the plot in the last 15 minutes? :)
Most can identify that Russia completely played us off the park in the first half of that game.
Their domination of the first half was so complete that it provided the cushion for their losing of the plot, the sub plot, the script and some of the cast in the last 15 minutes and still yielded a win for them.
Is it unreasonable to speculate that future oppositions managers would note that Russia had amassed a 3 goal lead and not wonder how they had managed to completely over run us????
24/03/2011, 12:32 PM
Well, Slovakia couldn't speculate enough to do it on their home turf.
Things ain't so straightforward.
Wolfie
24/03/2011, 12:37 PM
Well, Slovakia couldn't speculate enough to do it on their home turf.
Things ain't so straightforward.
Point taken, but I'm more specifically referring to our home games and how the opposition will approach those games.
SwanVsDalton
24/03/2011, 1:00 PM
The lesson can be learned both ways though. Russia exploited the gaps between our banks of four, but it would've helped if the CM's were a bit smarter, the wing-back's a bit tighter and the whole team wasn't sleeping for the first 45 minutes.
Murfinator
24/03/2011, 1:05 PM
In fairness Lawrence has played very well for us since he joined the setup, unquestionably better than McGeady has in the same space. Couldn't begrudge him a starting place. Green and Kilbane starting would like you said be worrying. Although we don't really have strong alternatives unfortunately.
I'd probably say myself he'll go with Kilbane / Gibson / Lawrence.
24/03/2011, 2:39 PM
The lesson can be learned both ways though. Russia exploited the gaps between our banks of four, but it would've helped if the CM's were a bit smarter, the wing-back's a bit tighter and the whole team wasn't sleeping for the first 45 minutes.
I know there were some poor individual mistakes but i dont think they were sleeping, i think they were shellshocked, the fact they were so cruelly exposed and caught out over the top, on the wings, through the middle and they just didn't know what to do. What was that George Bush said again? Shock and Awe....
24/03/2011, 2:57 PM
They were just rubbish and off form, as well as outnumbered.
24/03/2011, 3:12 PM
Just been thinking about this, would he put a player out for media duty if he wasn't going to pick them? I mean i know the FAI arrange it all and what not but I gather Trap has a decision in who faces the media?
Makes me think that wings will be duff and lawrence, with mcgeady coming on if things aren't working out with lawrence. I think we need to start with mcgeady and finish with lawrence to be honest.
EastTerracer
24/03/2011, 3:15 PM
From TV3's Tommy Martin on Twitter after today's training
"Likely #ROI (http://twitter.com/#%21/search?q=%23ROI) team for Sat based on training today: Westwood, Foley, Dunne, St Ledger, Kilbane, Duff, Whelan, Gibson, McGeady, Doyle, Keane."
"Kelly: Duff had to be dragged off training pitch - really up for it #ROI (http://twitter.com/#%21/search?q=%23ROI)"
"Alan Kelly: Concern about St Ledge, will assess tomorrow. Westwood monster kickouts will be key tactic on Sat #ROI (http://twitter.com/#%21/search?q=%23ROI)"
" McCarthy: never any doubt about commitment to Ireland, Martinez delighted he's playing Int. football #ROI (http://twitter.com/#%21/search?q=%23ROI)"
"#ROI (http://twitter.com/#%21/search?q=%23ROI) update: Duff trains, St Ledger and Coleman don't. McCarthy about to speak to media"
The summary from all the press tweeters seems to be as follows:
It sounds like O'Dea played alongside Dunne in the training match due to St.Ledger's injury. Kilbane seems to have edged ahead of Clark for left-back slot. If Sledge doesn't make it will O'Dea play or will Clark get a chance at centre-back?
24/03/2011, 3:22 PM
Martinez will give a press conference in Wigan taking credit for guiding James towards his decision to declare for Ireland.
24/03/2011, 3:24 PM
i hope lawrence gets some game time.
24/03/2011, 3:27 PM
Where did the e come from?
Clark just plain old Clark.
Clark's shoes.
24/03/2011, 3:42 PM
Clark Kent.
Clark Gable.
Ciaran Clarke played rugby for Ireland. Old schoolmate.
Sullivinho
24/03/2011, 3:52 PM
Found it on the dancefloor, honest.
DannyInvincible
24/03/2011, 3:53 PM
"Martinez delighted [McCarthy's] playing Int. football #ROI (http://twitter.com/#%21/search?q=%23ROI)"
He's changed his tune.
Hopefully Gibson can be more effective than Green if he's to start. I would have hoped for Clark to start on the left, or at centre-back if it's looking like St. Ledger mightn't play. O'Dea in the centre over Clark? Can't fathom that. Surely it would makes sense to go with Dunne and Clark considering they're team-mates and everything.
24/03/2011, 3:58 PM
I think its a thing of Trust for Trap, he doesn't know clark well enough and therefore doesn't trust him. He has seen O'Dea he has been around for a long time now, knows what he can what he cant do, and he has traps ideas engrained in his brain at this stage.
Noelys Guitar
24/03/2011, 4:14 PM
I think its a thing of Trust for Trap, he doesn't know clark well enough and therefore doesn't trust him. He has seen O'Dea he has been around for a long time now, knows what he can what he cant do, and he has traps ideas engrained in his brain at this stage.
I saw O'Dea playing for Ipswich when Keane was manager and he was woeful that day. Looked out of his depth in the championship letting the ball bounce in front of him a couple of times. Hope its a moot point and St Ledger plays.
24/03/2011, 4:14 PM
Coleman withdraws - SSN
Not the biggest loss - we're covered wide right and RB
Sullivinho
24/03/2011, 4:15 PM
O'Dea in the centre over Clark? Can't fathom that. Surely it would makes sense to go with Dunne and Clark considering their team-mates and everything.
I agree.
In fact I'd add Clark's superiority as a player to the argument and risk being rash in dismissing Darren's decent showing against Milan 4 years ago. If he's done anything of note in the meantime I must have neglected to notice.
Noelys Guitar
24/03/2011, 4:17 PM
Coleman withdraws - SSN
WTF. I realy hope that is it for injuries.
Junior
24/03/2011, 4:18 PM
Clark just plain old Clark.
Clark's shoes.
ah come on... e's are good.
ebeneezer.
"Likely #ROI team for Sat based on training today: Westwood, Foley, Dunne, St Ledger, Kilbane, Duff, Whelan, Gibson, McGeady, Doyle, Keane."
That would be my team if given the choice. I have to say, and probably against popular opinion Im undecided about Gibson or Green, hopefully we have more of the ball and then Gibson can use it but if we dont, then I would much rather Green was in there. Its important that we really start the game with a high tempo, Duff and McGeady giving their fullbacks a few palpatations from the first minute.
I think Kilbane will really do well with the addiitonal responsibility of assisting a few youngsters/less experienced lads in this side. I doubt Trap will discard his experience, leadership, ability in the air (both in attack and at the back).
24/03/2011, 4:18 PM
Coleman withdraws - SSN
The only worry i have of that is it means he wont get gametime in the uruguay game. We all know what trap is like with these things and how long it takes to get embedded in the team/squad. Hopefully he is fine again for carling nations and macedonia away.
24/03/2011, 4:19 PM
WTF. I realy hope that is it for injuries.
He didn't train all week Noely. Or did you mean you hope thats it for injuries?
Btw i know o'dea is woeful, slow, cumbersome, i just said we all know traps limitations by this stage(most have now acknowledged and agreed).
24/03/2011, 4:26 PM
2 days to go, Noely's paranoia levels are well into the red zone.
24/03/2011, 4:29 PM
The Macedonian manager has said they will play 4-3-3 so I reckon they're definitely going for the win. With any luck we'll outnumber them in midfield and cut off the supply to their forward line early on.
Have to start Foley at right full. Kelly has played well under Trapattoni, but his lack of first team experience recently (hasn't played for Fulham since November) counts against him and Foley is a regular in the Wolves side. Not always at right full, mind, but he seems to be able to play a few different positions equally well. Coleman has yet to impress at right full for Everton, with Neville getting the nod ahead of him, but he might get a run in place of McGeady, or Duff with McGeady switching wings
Left full is a different prospect, the obvious one is to start Clarke, but he's still inexperienced at this level, and starting him will leave both two central defenders with more caps than the rest of the back 5 combined. The word from training is that Kilbane will start, and from an experience point of view it's hard to argue with that. Dunne will need to be completely over his shoulder problem to deal with Pandev. He has an excellent record at international level, almost 1 in 2, but he hasn't played for his country in almost a year after walking out on the team. Shades of Zidane and Thuram in 2005 maybe?
Whelan has forced his way back into the Stoke side, starting, and completing, 5 of their last 6 games, and coming on as a sub in the other. Incidentally, Stoke are quite the Ireland team at the moment, with Whelan, Delap, Walters and Wilson all enjoying a run in the side recently.
Gibson can be an enigma, but he brings more of an attacking and possession threat than Green. The goal in his last game will give him some confidence going into this. I expect him to come off at some point for McCarthy, and given the choice, I would start Fahey anyway, but he's not supposed to be 100%. I'd like to see Whelan + Fahey given some time against Uruguay on tuesday night, thought they showed promise together against Norway in the November friendly.
With Duff and McGeady both in form for their clubs, we should be set for supply from the wings, but I'd hope Duff works a bit more on the defensive side of his game, given that Kilbane will be marked down as the weak link in defence.
Up front, it's as you were with Keane and Doyle, with Long to come on and give a bit more movement to Keane. Walters can feel genuinely aggrieved after his performance against Wales, he ran himself into the ground, and is playing well and scoring with Stoke recently.
so, in summary
Westwood
Foley Dunne St Ledger Kilbane
McGeady Whelan Gibson Duff
Keane (c) Doyle
McCarthy -> Gibson
Long -> Keane
Coleman -> McGeady/Duff
Nerves settling in now. Playing football later, hope that helps.
I really do pick the best times to quit drinking
<EDIT>
Just read about Coleman pulling out of the squad, so Fahey to come on instead of him
Noelys Guitar
24/03/2011, 4:34 PM
2 days to go, Noely's paranoia levels are well into the red zone.
If I see O'Dea and Kilbane starting then I won't be the only one (especially with a fully fit Clark available). Would you agree with O'Dea and Kilbane starting ahead of Clark? And who are these youngsters Kilbane is helping out? We will end up with a lopsided lefthand side with Duff having to cover for Kilbane's touch and slowness rather than being able to play quick 1-2's with an overlapping Clark. We don't know the team yet so lets see what transpires.
24/03/2011, 4:34 PM
St Ledger still on the doubtful list according to rte sports news.
Junior
24/03/2011, 4:44 PM
And who are these youngsters Kilbane is helping out? We will end up with a lopsided lefthand side with Duff having to cover for Kilbane's touch and slowness rather than being able to play quick 1-2's with an overlapping Clark. We don't know the team yet so lets see what transpires.
Foley, Westwood, St Ledger (to a degree). Gibson also relatively inexperienced (how many caps between them?)
Quick overlapping one-twos with Clark? Does Trap allow overlapping Fullbacks? Who have you been watching lately? If Clark plays, strict instructions not to cross the half way line unless for set pieces.
Someone earlier mentioned Kilbane being a weakness for Macedonia to try and exploit - Wouldnt an international young rookie at RB be the obvious choice? Im well aware, as we all are, that Kilbane is on his last legs and its only a matter of a small number of games before he enters international wilderness but I just have a feeling that his experience will be invaluable on Saturday.
24/03/2011, 4:51 PM
If I see O'Dea and Kilbane starting then I won't be the only one (especially with a fully fit Clark available). Would you agree with O'Dea and Kilbane starting ahead of Clark? And who are these youngsters Kilbane is helping out? We will end up with a lopsided lefthand side with Duff having to cover for Kilbane's touch and slowness rather than being able to play quick 1-2's with an overlapping Clark. We don't know the team yet so lets see what transpires.
I wasn't at all impressed with both O'Shea & O'Dea in the CH partnership against Norway, possibly O'Dea was only coming back from injury, he got little help from Josh.
If St Ledger is out, Dunne/Clark looks the more obvious partnership.
If Kilbane plays instead of Clark at LB, I wouldn't be too worried. I'd prefer Clark there now, even if he's not a LB by trade. Clark has a football brain and skill.
SwanVsDalton
24/03/2011, 4:52 PM
I know there were some poor individual mistakes but i dont think they were sleeping, i think they were shellshocked, the fact they were so cruelly exposed and caught out over the top, on the wings, through the middle and they just didn't know what to do. What was that George Bush said again? Shock and Awe....
Ok substitute sleeping for shellshocked and the lesson's the same - don't get overawed, stay focused and try not be so 'rubbish' (as Stutts said). :)
All I mean is (not unlike England last Saturday) - we were taught a lesson, we should learn from it.
Noelys Guitar
24/03/2011, 4:53 PM
Foley, Westwood, St Ledger (to a degree). Gibson also relatively inexperienced (how many caps between them?)
Someone earlier mentioned Kilbane being a weakness for Macedonia to try and exploit - Wouldnt an international young rookie at RB be the obvious choice? Im well aware, as we all are, that Kilbane is on his last legs and its only a matter of a small number of games before he enters international wilderness but I just have a feeling that his experience will be invaluable on Saturday.
Kilbane is not like a Stephen Carr, Ian Harte (still playing), Denis Irwin even Stan Staunton (at the end of their Ireland careers)in terms of football nous. He is in many ways too honest a footballer. Great person but I fail to see what he brings to the rest of the team now. His positioning is poor and he fails to read the danger signs. And as an earlier poster has said Duff has to now cover for him. Rather than having a Duff raging at Macedonia Duff has to hold back to make sure the left back is not exposed. Plus if O'Dea is selected ahead of Clark at center back (which now looks likely going by RTE's latest report) then we have a very slow left side of defense. Against a very quick opposing forward line.
TrapAPony
24/03/2011, 5:03 PM
O'Dea in the centre over Clark? Can't fathom that. Surely it would makes sense to go with Dunne and Clark considering their team-mates and everything.
Exactly. Absolutely mind boggling.
Junior
24/03/2011, 5:13 PM
Kilbane is not like a Stephen Carr, Ian Harte (still playing), Denis Irwin even Stan Staunton (at the end of their Ireland careers)in terms of football nous. He is in many ways too honest a footballer. Great person but I fail to see what he brings to the rest of the team now. His positioning is poor and he fails to read the danger signs. And as an earlier poster has said Duff has to now cover for him. Rather than having a Duff raging at Macedonia Duff has to hold back to make sure the left back is not exposed. Plus if O'Dea is selected ahead of Clark at center back (which now looks likely going by RTE's latest report) then we have a very slow left side of defense. Against a very quick opposing forward line.
Ian Harte? Really - He was a bombscare at LB on many occasions for us at a much younger age (whether he is playing well or not at the moment). Stephen Carr, likewise has been like a headless chicken for Ireland. Not sure what quoting those players means. (Stan / Irwin - are obviously far superior FB's).
Duff restricted because of his defensive duties? - I cant say that has been an overriding characteristic of Duffs performances in recent times.
Look, I dont think we differ massively on where KK is at the moment in footballing terms, I just think I would phase him out over the next 2-3 games including friendlies rather than just have him out for Saturday.
SwanVsDalton
24/03/2011, 5:15 PM
I think there's a perceived wisdom about Kilbane having 'no football nous' but I don't buy it. We all know his limitations, but he's been fairly solid in most games. Against Russia he was caught out a couple of times, but he certainly wasn't the only one and it's a little unfair to ignore the fact he was subsequently very solid Slovakia.
With injuries and inexperienced defenders, I think Kilbane's has got the benefit of being a leader and I have no doubt he'll bring that to the pitch on Saturday. It's a marginal call, but not an unreasonable one imo. Notwithstanding Duff possibly being slightly more cautious, I think the game will be won or lost on our attack intent and we should still have more than enough with Killer at LB.
As a general note though, I agree with Tets selection cept I'd have Lawrence off the bench instead of Fahey. And let's all hope Sledge makes it, because a half-fit Dunne and AN OTHER (particularly O'Dea) would be fairly hair-raising.
DannyInvincible
24/03/2011, 5:17 PM
Look, I dont think we differ massively on where KK is at the moment in footballing terms, I just think I would phase him out over the next 2-3 games including friendlies rather than just have him out for Saturday.
Generally, in the interests of the team overall, you phase players in. Why would there be any need to phase a player out other than to give him what you might consider a respectful and dignified bow out? A friendly game would be ideal for that; not a qualifier.
gilberto_eire
24/03/2011, 5:19 PM
Agree completely.
This ''experience'' craic is pure pants tbh.
We're all watching the game from the age of 4/5, you don't play professionally until you're 18+. It's not like you're putting in someone who new to the game.
Ability is what keeps players playing later in their career, not experience.
If it did count for something experienced players wouldn't make stupid mistakes(in general play.... but also look how the experienced Zidane got himself sent off in a major game, if you can't learn life with age, how can you learn football better?) and you don't have to look further then the aforementioned player for mistakes that have cost us goals in the past.
As an aside... how do you gain ''experience'' if you don't get into the thick of it.
All things considered though for the fact that's plying his trade in L1 playing CM I wouldn't have him LB for that alone.