View Full Version : Dublin Super Cup

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9

28/07/2011, 10:03 PM
Not a chance: no amount of money is worth that. They're basically cannon fodder. It's degrading and insulting to everyone who cares about the LOI.

I hear that before the game they'll have to turn to Delaney, salute him and in unison say: Those who are about to die salute you.

29/07/2011, 7:31 AM
It has adequate shower facilities for Home and Away and Away teams. Easily covers Celtic, City and Inter in that case.

I notice you left out the only actual Home team there!

29/07/2011, 7:38 AM
No flies on you Ash.

punkrocket
29/07/2011, 9:54 AM
The Irish guys should just refuse to break a sweat.

Ceirtlis
29/07/2011, 10:03 AM
But they're not getting €1000? Isn't that before tax? Meaning they'll only get about €650-€700 (no idea, just an estimate).

They are getting 1,000, the presumption from the article quoted earlier being that it will be taxed at the higher rate of tax(and therefore they have earnings of at least 32k a year) so they will actually get 480 euro net.

The second offer wasnt a massive improvement on the first.

Eminence Grise
29/07/2011, 11:11 AM
That's assuming the FAI deduct tax at source. Perhaps the players have a contract for service that might enable them to reduce the tax liability using expenses (50c for the electricity meter in Wanderers, €1.65 for the bus there, 99c for a bottle of shower gel, €40 for a can of petrol and a taxi to FAI HQ...).

29/07/2011, 8:18 PM
John Russell Danny Ventre and John Dillon added to the squad

30/07/2011, 12:30 AM
John Russell Danny Ventre and John Dillon added to the squad

why were they added on gustavo?

The Lilywhites
30/07/2011, 7:30 AM
Is either Airtricity League game live on Sky?

30/07/2011, 7:55 AM
Is either Airtricity League game live on Sky?

Doesn't look like todays one is anyway.

Noelys Guitar
30/07/2011, 8:13 AM
Biggest TV audience ever for an Airtricity team. The game is been shown all over the world (but incredibly Sky are not showing it).

The Lilywhites
30/07/2011, 8:15 AM
Seems to be on the red button on Sky?

Noelys Guitar
30/07/2011, 8:18 AM
Seems to be on the red button on Sky?

Sorry. Your right. They are showing it.

Saint_Charlie
30/07/2011, 11:01 AM
I have Sky through UPC and they don't have a red button feature...

Is there any other way to watch this?

Eminence Grise
30/07/2011, 11:36 AM
From behind the sofa, cringing with shame as Irish people cheer on Scottish and English teams...

30/07/2011, 12:24 PM
Should be some streams here: http://www.myp2p.eu/broadcast.php?matchid=122904&part=sports

Although, apparently Manchester City are playing 'Ireland'.

30/07/2011, 12:26 PM
I was first in line at the traffic lights beside Eircom HQ near Heuston. And 3 lads walked by wearing Celtic jerseys. It was fierce tempting...

Saint_Charlie
30/07/2011, 12:53 PM
The stadium looks as full as the Wales v Northern Ireland game!

DannyInvincible
30/07/2011, 12:57 PM
C'mon "Airtrix XI"...

Edit: *"Irish League XI"... Jesus wept.

DannyInvincible
30/07/2011, 1:07 PM
Just realised why Weiss was getting booed. No boos for Greacen then?

Strawberry
30/07/2011, 1:15 PM
Just realised why Weiss was getting booed. No boos for Greacen then?

The booing is ****ing pathetic

30/07/2011, 1:16 PM
Watching a spanish-language stream. Any English streams anybody?

DannyInvincible
30/07/2011, 1:20 PM
Watching a spanish-language stream. Any English streams anybody?

http://magictv.co/

rebelarmyexile
30/07/2011, 1:20 PM
I was first in line at the traffic lights beside Eircom HQ near Heuston. And 3 lads walked by wearing Celtic jerseys. It was fierce tempting...

Cringing with having to listen to all the pathetic little slime that are booing every time Weiss gets on the ball.

Fester
30/07/2011, 1:33 PM
Commentators Keep saying 'Irish League XI' It say Airtricity League on their Jerseys for F**k sake.

30/07/2011, 1:36 PM
Maybe sky are refusing to say airtircity unless they get moneys, well that or there morons

Fester
30/07/2011, 1:38 PM
Anyone know what the attendance is?

30/07/2011, 1:39 PM
Im sure what they mean is THE Irish league....

Nugget
30/07/2011, 1:42 PM
"The crowd here is not big but there is heartening support for the LoI team. Perhaps last year's shame has had some positive effects after all."
From extratime.ie, that's one good sign anyway

White Horse
30/07/2011, 1:45 PM
How bad is Zayed? Otherwise, pretty good performance so far.

DannyInvincible
30/07/2011, 1:46 PM
Maybe sky are refusing to say airtircity unless they get moneys, well that or there morons

Well, they have already referred to the team as the "Airtrix XI".

Anyone know what the attendance is?

I don't think even the League of Ireland players will be used to playing in front of crowds as low as this. :)

DannyInvincible
30/07/2011, 2:07 PM
"Young" Joe Gamble coming on... Ha, some of this commentary is comedy gold.

Fester
30/07/2011, 2:11 PM
2 nill to Man city now

DannyInvincible
30/07/2011, 2:13 PM
Obviously, Gamble would have put that away was he not so young and had a bit more experience...

DannyInvincible
30/07/2011, 2:43 PM
And now for the day's main challenge; off to find a shower.

30/07/2011, 2:44 PM
"...very much the poor relation here..."

Cringe. Just, cringe.

Derry
30/07/2011, 3:58 PM
I thought the home team played very well, with Barry Molloy outstanding. The goals from ManC especaily the 1st two was down to the team not having much experience playing together, as they were caught out by two punts over their heads and got caught trying to lay offside.

The commentators patronizing bull**** was hard to take.

30/07/2011, 4:09 PM
Damien Hancock :bulgy: :bulgy: :bulgy:

30/07/2011, 4:12 PM
Grabbing the spotlight for himself as ever.

DannyInvincible
30/07/2011, 4:47 PM
Wait, this is an actual competition? If they've made a real trophy I'm just going to give up.

http://i218.photobucket.com/albums/cc12/poguemahone85/super.png

:bulgy:

shellyriver
30/07/2011, 5:47 PM
I hear that before the game they'll have to turn to Delaney, salute him and in unison say: Those who are about to die salute you.

Very good. I like.

Spudulika
30/07/2011, 7:21 PM
The FAI sold out the manager and players, fair play to Rico and the players for getting on with it. I was following bits on a stream and just felt ill listening to the "commentators". Disgusting. I almost watched the match I was at in protest.

31/07/2011, 7:54 AM
How bad is Zayed? Otherwise, pretty good performance so far.
Ah he played all right its just hes a bit lazy hed rather flick the ball back than take it down and run with it but overall a good performance and James McClean did himself no harm at all good performance.

DannyInvincible
31/07/2011, 1:20 PM
I actually thought McClean played poorly. Was he carrying a knock?

It's all League of Ireland XI in the Celtic game at the minute. Celtic are pretty poor. Daniel Kearns looks a very promising prospect.

Embarrassing looking at those in the crowd draped, without any irony, in tricolours and the like whilst contriving against the Irish team.

Jicked
31/07/2011, 1:43 PM
The Sunday Mirror's dreadful Ciarán Ó Raghallaigh actually has the temerity to slag off League of Ireland fans for not attending the game

"Plenty of excuses why Irish LOI fans didn't get off their ass. But there's always some excuse. No reason not to support league/players." - www.twitter.com/Ciaran_O

That's coming from a supposed "hardcore" Celtic fan despite the fact there's feck all Irish Celtic fans at the game, despite being a rare chance to actually go and watch their team play. Instead he has a go at fans who watch their teams week in week out, for not supporting a made up team featuring two or three teams in the League. I've no idea where to start with an idiotic opinion like that.

31/07/2011, 3:08 PM
It's almost embarrassing losing 5-0 to Celtic.

Cuyahoga
31/07/2011, 3:17 PM
It is embarrassing. Richardsons record as manager of the L.O.I team reads Played 3 lost 3.
Goals for 1, Goals against 15.

31/07/2011, 3:32 PM
In fairness the 5-0 was very harsh, just lost concentration and looked tired in the last 10 minutes. 1-0 was a fairly fair reflection of the game before the stupid peno from Ventre. Neither performance was as embarrassing as last years disaster. Kearns was very impressive for the league side.

Spudulika
31/07/2011, 4:19 PM
I hate to say it as I've always admired the man, but Rico has been put in to flog a dead horse. I still think he's one of the best managers in Ireland, though what can he do with an understrength side against full time pros and he and the players all being treated like crap. If the LOI had any gumption they'd insist the FAI (as the guardians of the game) organise a regular LOI Select and have them play matches not just when it suits JD and his cronies to get a few more bucks.

redobit
31/07/2011, 5:07 PM
Rico is a fuking headache. If I hear him say 'apply yourself' one more time I'll stick a dictionary down his throat. :D