View Full Version : Dublin Super Cup

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9

hoops1
27/07/2011, 8:36 AM
[QUOTE. Also unhappy that there will be no showers available after the games![/QUOTE]

Could someone else confirm this. I refuse to believe in this day that the FAI are still treating our players like this.
If true the players should pull out.

harpin
27/07/2011, 8:41 AM
How much are/were they charging for this thing?

Saw that about the showers this morning...can't be true can it?

cornflakes
27/07/2011, 8:43 AM
Also unhappy that there will be no showers available after the games!

I wonder is that happening to the other teams

fionnsci
27/07/2011, 9:40 AM
I wonder is that happening to the other teams

No way, you just know they're being shafted to make room for the other teams....

cornflakes
27/07/2011, 10:16 AM
No way, you just know they're being shafted to make room for the other teams....

Yep, it's a fecking disgrace if true.

cornflakes
27/07/2011, 1:12 PM
Daniel McDonnell is tweeting about the showers, seems the Irish team has to get a bus to Wanderers rugby club for a shower
http://twitter.com/#!/McDonnellDan

TheBoss
27/07/2011, 1:18 PM
Could someone else confirm this. I refuse to believe in this day that the FAI are still treating our players like this.
If true the players should pull out.

Small piece here:
http://www.tv3.ie/article.php?article_id=61170&locID=1.3&pagename=sport

27/07/2011, 1:25 PM
If that shower thing is true I wouldn't have an iota of sympathy for any player who choses to take part.

Sure you have the "honour" of being massacred by Man City infront of a crowd of yahooing morons but what about your dignity??

Where's Stephen McGuinness in all of this?? He seems to be prone to these extreme bouts of shyness at the worst possible times.

27/07/2011, 3:29 PM
If but what about your dignity??
650 euros before tax covers that.

nosebleds
27/07/2011, 3:41 PM
Rico,s a total discrace his players not allowed to have showers,its 2011come on.Bus tickets for players who want to shower after the match,the massive wages the FAI splashed out on the Airtricity League X1 would just about cover there dinner.The whole of europe must b having a rite sneer.Rico should stand behind his team,and stop arselicking the FAI:kissed:

27/07/2011, 4:02 PM
This comment clearly shows Rico has most definitely lost the plot and touch with reality - "he was happy enough with the player's fees and said that this weekend would be an experience money cannot buy."

I'd love to know how much he is getting or is he doing it for the experience. I think he thinks he is managing in the champions league.

shelsfan1
27/07/2011, 5:05 PM
I thought Wanderers were based in Landsdowne road? Will the players be getting a 2 minute bus journey to the other side of the ground?

passerrby
27/07/2011, 5:33 PM
why dont they do what they do in jackman and rotate the dressing room space four people at a time

Eminence Grise
27/07/2011, 5:42 PM
So the FAI finally prove they're so dismissive of the league they can no longer even be called a right shower.

I'm seething at the treatment of the players. They, the league and the fans all deserve proper respect.

27/07/2011, 5:49 PM
The worst part is them spending €50k so Celtic can have their showers and refusing to do the same for the LOI players. Joke of a tournament, hope they lose their shirts on it.

CrowdedHouse
27/07/2011, 6:18 PM
So the 'star' teams get a permanently reserved dressing room ?

legendz
27/07/2011, 8:06 PM
Daniel McDonnell is tweeting about the showers, seems the Irish team has to get a bus to Wanderers rugby club for a shower
http://twitter.com/#!/McDonnellDan

I had support for the competition before this. That is an absolute joke. If the players have any pride, they'll pull out of this farce and have no involvement in this shambles.

27/07/2011, 8:14 PM
Was listening to this on the radio. Both newstalk and rte sport were almost sniggering as they were discussing it.

Hard to have any respect for the FAI when they're treating their own players like this. The loi lads should withdraw their services. They deserve better.

DannyInvincible
27/07/2011, 8:24 PM
I didn't believe it myself when I first heard it. Ludicrous. The players should certainly pull out, no doubt about it.

legendz
27/07/2011, 8:26 PM
The Aviva isn't exactly a great stadium if they're hosting a competition like this and don't have the proper facilities for 4 teams. I don't Croke Park will have that problem for the 4 counties playing on Saturday and then the other 4 counties playing on Sunday.

The Lep
27/07/2011, 9:49 PM
I doubt if any player would pull out over it seeing its an extra weeks wage for some of them .

eL Bettor
27/07/2011, 10:01 PM
Anyone like to predict the results?
Not many bookies with odds yet but Man city -1 is 9/10 with www.tipico.com (yes they are reliable as I have withdrawn winnings with them a few times!)

bullit
27/07/2011, 10:16 PM
Seems like the boycott is off :angry3:

http://www.irishtimes.com/sports/soccer/2011/0727/1224301487660.html

27/07/2011, 10:38 PM
Sick sick sick.

Disgusted at this resolution.

27/07/2011, 11:11 PM
Anyone like to predict the results?
Not many bookies with odds yet but Man city -1 is 9/10 with www.tipico.com (yes they are reliable as I have withdrawn winnings with them a few times!)
Wait, this is an actual competition? If they've made a real trophy I'm just going to give up.

Mr Maroon
27/07/2011, 11:16 PM
The players are right to go ahead and play it. Why would they turn down getting paid €1000 for a few hours of something any of us would love to do?

TiocfaidhArmani
28/07/2011, 6:44 AM
They get to play Man City and Celtic in a top class stadium and get €1,000, which more than a lot of them get in a week, and this is a bad deal how? Bit of a bummer about the shower facilities but they're not pampered millionairres like the others so they'll get on with it.

TiocfaidhArmani
28/07/2011, 7:14 AM
Sick sick sick.

Disgusted at this resolution.

You should have paid €175 for the honour of playing at Tolka against the Shels legends team to find an ice cold shower awaiting me after it :D

28/07/2011, 7:54 AM
Wait, this is an actual competition? If they've made a real trophy I'm just going to give up.
There was a trophy last year, wasn't there?

Edit - look away now...

http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/watermarked-b/Library/SF619/448790.jpg

Straightstory
28/07/2011, 8:40 AM
The players are right to go ahead and play it. Why would they turn down getting paid €1000 for a few hours of something any of us would love to do?

Nothing is worth the humiliation of representing your league in your HOME country while knowing that the majority of people in the stadium have nothing but derision for the league you play in, and are there to support the foreign team you are playing against. Add to that a probable heavy defeat as you play in an ill-prepared team with a buffoon of a manager. Nothing is worth that. NOTHING.

Straightstory
28/07/2011, 8:43 AM
Obvious point: As well as 'ill prepared', I should also add 'weakened' as the most successful clubs still involved in European competition are obviously not releasing their players for this fiasco.

passerrby
28/07/2011, 12:26 PM
Best of luck to the players, I only hope they don't need the money to pay bills now or in the near future

born2bwild
28/07/2011, 12:38 PM

Not a chance: no amount of money is worth that. They're basically cannon fodder. It's degrading and insulting to everyone who cares about the LOI.

28/07/2011, 12:39 PM
to everyone who cares about the LOI.
How many of the players would fall into that category though?

TiocfaidhArmani
28/07/2011, 1:23 PM
Not a chance: no amount of money is worth that. They're basically cannon fodder. It's degrading and insulting to everyone who cares about the LOI.

I don't think they'll see it like that, though. It's a great experience I'm sure for a lot of them and they're getting €1,000 for the pleasure. I don't see the big deal.

marinobohs
28/07/2011, 1:31 PM
I don't think they'll see it like that, though. It's a great experience I'm sure for a lot of them and they're getting €1,000 for the pleasure. I don't see the big deal.

......sod the experience, the LOI and any self respect, its a grand and getting to mingle with and have a photo taken with "famous" players.:rolleyes:
That is what most of those selected will see.

TiocfaidhArmani
28/07/2011, 1:53 PM
......sod the experience, the LOI and any self respect, its a grand and getting to mingle with and have a photo taken with "famous" players.:rolleyes:
That is what most of those selected will see.

Not about getting your photo with them, it's a chance to get to pit your wits again some world class and international class players in a top class stadium with the game being televised on SKY. It's a great opportunity for the players and they're getting paid more than what most of them make in a week for doing it. If they get well beaten it won't come as a shock but if they do make an account of themselves then great.

28/07/2011, 2:33 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DwbzxemJZIc&feature=related

Pathetic. Like everything in Irish football.

Except Limerick obviously. http://data.whicdn.com/avatars/569841/Sarcastic-Smiley-Face_thumb.png?1297581053

28/07/2011, 3:39 PM

But they're not getting €1000? Isn't that before tax? Meaning they'll only get about €650-€700 (no idea, just an estimate).

TiocfaidhArmani
28/07/2011, 3:46 PM
But they're not getting €1000? Isn't that before tax? Meaning they'll only get about €650-€700 (no idea, just an estimate).

Yeah but they get taxed on their income for their clubs as well. You have to expect to pay tax. They're doing alright imo.

28/07/2011, 4:10 PM
Yeah but they get taxed on their income for their clubs as well. You have to expect to pay tax. They're doing alright imo.

That....wasn't really my point...

TiocfaidhArmani
28/07/2011, 4:16 PM
That....wasn't really my point...

I know your point precisely. They are getting €1,000. You can cry they're getting taxed so the tax-home is not €1,000. As the old saying goes, "taxes and death and the only two certainties in life".

28/07/2011, 4:22 PM
I know your point precisely. They are getting €1,000. You can cry they're getting taxed so the tax-home is not €1,000. As the old saying goes, "taxes and death and the only two certainties in life".

But they're not getting €1000.

TiocfaidhArmani
28/07/2011, 4:42 PM
But they're not getting €1000.

If you get €40k per annum from your job. Go into your bosses office and argue you don't get paid €40k per annum because you get taxed so it shouldn't be in your contract you get paid €40k per annum when you don't go home with that amount and see how quickly you get laughed out of the office.

The FAI, or Endemol Sports, whoever, are parting with €1,000 to the players individually. Tax, blah, blah, they're getting paid €1,000.

A N Mouse
28/07/2011, 6:00 PM
If you get €40k per annum from your job. Go into your bosses office and argue you don't get paid €40k per annum because you get taxed so it shouldn't be in your contract you get paid €40k per annum when you don't go home with that amount and see how quickly you get laughed out of the office.

The FAI, or Endemol Sports, whoever, are parting with €1,000 to the players individually. Tax, blah, blah, they're getting paid €1,000.

And if they hadn't gone and put in showers for one of the teams then the loi players could have been paid twice as much - before tax.

28/07/2011, 6:07 PM
Oooooooooh.... zing!

nosebleds
28/07/2011, 6:23 PM
i hope RICO takes all the marbles and dobbers out of his mouth before pre match talks,or no one will understand him; on the plus side maybe it would be better if they dont.

28/07/2011, 8:22 PM

Good thing I don't get 40 grand a year so.

28/07/2011, 9:01 PM
They get to play Man City and Celtic in a top class stadium ....

Any stadium that doesnt have adequate shower facilities can not be called top class!

28/07/2011, 9:18 PM
Any stadium that doesnt have adequate shower facilities can not be called top class!

It has adequate shower facilities for Home and Away and Away teams. Easily covers Celtic, City and Inter in that case.