View Full Version : Matt Doherty D Wolves b.1992
Pages :
[
12]
24/10/2024, 8:04 PM
Oh attitude is for sure a reason to drop someone
We could do without dropping a Premier League fullback given where we're at. But if attitude is an issue then...
rebelmusic
24/10/2024, 9:04 PM
His form for Ireland hasn't been great and yeah, there's a lazy attitude about him. That's just my perspective but a player thinking they deserve a call up just cause they're warming a bench in the premier league has been part of the problem. And his public outburst to me is an indication of a crappy attitude you wouldn't want around the camp.
rebelmusic
09/12/2024, 6:46 PM
Starting tonight. Wish him all the best and hoping the game goes well for him
elatedscum
09/12/2024, 8:03 PM
Starting tonight. Wish him all the best and hoping the game goes well for him
generally playing RWB with Semedo right of three centre backs but they switched late in the half. thought he had a really good first half, an excellent cross which should have been a goal, a dummy which led to a good chance, two defensive blocks, one from a one v one with the winger and one blocked shot. also one lovely pass. drew a foul to get the left back a yellow card.
very encouraging to see
Gets his name on the scoresheet now with a fine finish.
rebelmusic
09/12/2024, 9:15 PM
Gets his name on the scoresheet now with a fine finish.
Lovely goal, slid into it perfectly. Okay, hopefully I'm eating humble pie if this form keeps up!
elatedscum
09/12/2024, 9:30 PM
Could easily have scored another just after halftime. Made a great run and Ait-Nouri just had to pass it across to him from the other wing to the back post and he had an open goal, that pass was way beyond him and out for a throw
Drummerboy2
10/12/2024, 2:38 PM
Best I've seen him play in a long time. Hopefully he can kick on. Doubt his manager will be around much longer tho....
Fixer82
10/12/2024, 3:58 PM
Best I've seen him play in a long time. Hopefully he can kick on. Doubt his manager will be around much longer tho....
Maybe the negative vibes from Irish fans gave him the kick up the ar$e he needed
irishfan86
22/12/2024, 10:50 PM
Played the full 90 under the new Wolves manager in an important 3-0 win over Leicester. Played most of the match as a the right centre back in a three man backline, before playing the final 15 or so as a wingback when some subs were brought on. I imagine will also be credited for an assist on the second goal — even though the Leicester defender really should have dealt with the ball.
Nice to see Doherty back on track. When he’s in form he can be important for us. Also showed some good work ethic chasing back today which seems to indicate to me he’s copped on to some of that concern about work ethic/tracking back.
seanfhear
22/12/2024, 10:55 PM
Played the full 90 under the new Wolves manager in an important 3-0 win over Leicester. Played most of the match as a the right centre back in a three man backline, before playing the final 15 or so as a wingback when some subs were brought on. I imagine will also be credited for an assist on the second goal — even though the Leicester defender really should have dealt with the ball.
Nice to see Doherty back on track. When he’s in form he can be important for us. Also showed some good work ethic chasing back today which seems to indicate to me he’s copped on to some of that concern about work ethic/tracking back.
He needs more game time in that centre-back position ~ ~ He could possibly knock a few extra years out of the football career if he could get to play centre-back regularly.
22/12/2024, 11:06 PM
Was he playing CB when he scored v Denmark a few years ago, if I am not completely misremembering, and then more or less never played there again.
23/12/2024, 6:50 AM
Was that not Duffy?
Drummerboy2
23/12/2024, 8:28 AM
I see Doc started the game against Leicester and weighted in with an assist in a 3 0 away victory. Good to see the form continuing on the up.
23/12/2024, 10:24 PM
Was that not Duffy?
Double checked and it seems they both scored in 1-1 draws in the same year!
Olé Olé
26/12/2024, 5:10 PM
Doherty is having a good first half against United. The new manager is surely happy with him so far.
irishfan86
26/12/2024, 6:30 PM
Kept his place as the right sided centreback in Wolves back three. Did just the right amount of obstruction on Onana for the winning goal (a direct ball in from a corner).
When Man United went down a man, I thought Doherty was one of the more positive Wolves players in possession, when some other players got a bit pensive.
A great start for him under the new manager and this wide centreback position seems to suit him.
Eirambler
27/12/2024, 9:32 AM
We probably shouldn't be overly surprised that the solution for the problem of an underperforming Irish player was to stick him at centre back.
irishfan86
06/01/2025, 8:56 PM
Wolves lose 3-0 to a very smart looking Nottingham Forest. But interesting to see Doherty wearing the captain’s armband. Quite a change in fortune after starting the season almost looking like his career at the top level could be over.
irishfan86
15/01/2025, 11:13 PM
Wolves were outgunned so probably wouldn’t have made a difference but Doherty inexplicably stepped up leaving I believe Isak completely open in front of goal, which he finished easily from close range.
Maybe the kind of thing you can get away with as a fullback but not as a centreback. Looked really poor on the replay.
20/01/2025, 8:13 PM
Eirambler
20/01/2025, 8:53 PM
Not sure many would have predicted last August that Doherty would have more Premier League goals than Ferguson by mid January.
rebelmusic
21/01/2025, 12:31 AM
He was being singled out for Chelsea's second. I thought it was a bit harsh but arguably he should have kept the line. Regardless had a good game and had a couple of smart moments of playing Chelsea's attacks off side
elatedscum
17/02/2025, 6:02 AM
Thought Doherty was excellent yesterday against Liverpool. Played like a leader. Yellow card for descent was stupid but he’s looking like an excellent premier league footballer
seanfhear
17/02/2025, 6:24 AM
Thought Doherty was excellent yesterday against Liverpool. Played like a leader. Yellow card for descent was stupid but he’s looking like an excellent premier league footballerWhat position was he playing ?
elatedscum
17/02/2025, 10:31 AM
Himself and Semedo were switching, so he was sometimes RCB and other times RWB, occasionally he popped up in midfield too
seanfhear
17/02/2025, 11:07 AM
Himself and Semedo were switching, so he was sometimes RCB and other times RWB, occasionally he popped up in midfield tooCheers. Interesting abilities been shown there, good to see him getting these opportunities.
18/02/2025, 11:11 AM
Thought Doherty was excellent yesterday against Liverpool. Played like a leader. Yellow card for descent was stupid but he’s looking like an excellent premier league footballer
Since Periera took over, he's been excellent for Wolves. Quite probably the best performing Irish player in that time?
I'm biased though, so take that with a pinch of salt.
Predator
18/02/2025, 12:43 PM
Just a few short months ago, many of our fans fulminated on social media about how Doherty was "sh1t" and angrily declared that he was lucky to be in the squad while noisily complaining that he didn't sing the anthem. It reminds me a little of how Robbie Brady - another of that crop of talented campaigners - was treated in the same space (the moronic inferno of social media) before he scored an absolute screamer against Finland. It would be nice to see Doherty respond to his detractors with a similar retort.
seanfhear
18/02/2025, 12:46 PM
It would be nice to see Doherty fulfil his potential for Ireland and for Wolves.
Razors left peg
18/02/2025, 3:36 PM
Just a few short months ago, many of our fans fulminated on social media about how Doherty was "sh1t" and angrily declared that he was lucky to be in the squad while noisily complaining that he didn't sing the anthem. It reminds me a little of how Robbie Brady - another of that crop of talented campaigners - was treated in the same space (the moronic inferno of social media) before he scored an absolute screamer against Finland. It would be nice to see Doherty respond to his detractors with a similar retort.
His performances in an Ireland shirt warranted the criticism he got. His lack of effort cost us a goal in Hallgrimssons 1st game and he was rightly left out after. Fair play to him for getting his career back on track when it looked like it was just fizzling out, but lets not have revisionist history where we pretend it was wrong to say he was poor
The Fly
18/02/2025, 3:36 PM
What position was he playing ?
High up by the sounds of it.
irishfan86
18/02/2025, 4:54 PM
His performances in an Ireland shirt warranted the criticism he got. His lack of effort cost us a goal in Hallgrimssons 1st game and he was rightly left out after. Fair play to him for getting his career back on track when it looked like it was just fizzling out, but lets not have revisionist history where we pretend it was wrong to say he was poor
Amen. Doherty was absolutely awful for club and country during that stretch and has had some rough patches in his career. Seems to be a difficult character to manage and/or has consistency issues.
But when he’s motivated he’s one of our most talented players. The fact most of us know his potential when he’s in the mood is what has gotten so many of us frustrated over the years. We don’t want him to fail — we are frustrated because we feel he’s not fulfilling his potential.
In any event the new Wolves manager is getting the best of him now and hopefully that translates into positive performances with Ireland.
seanfhear
18/02/2025, 5:01 PM
I wonder how much better Matt Doherty would be as a centre-back, if he had played more there in his career ?
It's just one of those things that we have such strength in depth in that position, and completely lacking in quality players in other positions.
Predator
18/02/2025, 7:56 PM
Frankly, that's not what I've said. I agree he was poor during that period and have no issue with genuine criticism, but I have no time for the OTT abuse he was receiving on social media.
Razors left peg
18/02/2025, 8:04 PM
Frankly, that's not what I've said. I agree he was poor during that period and have no issue with genuine criticism, but I have no time for the OTT abuse he was receiving on social media.
Frankly if you are expecting anything other than over the top nonsense on social media then Im not sure the internet is the place for you
Predator
19/02/2025, 8:28 AM
Frankly if you are expecting anything other than over the top nonsense on social media then Im not sure the internet is the place for youPerhaps. Still not used to it after all these years.
rebelmusic
19/02/2025, 6:56 PM
Perhaps. Still not used to it after all these years.
There's always an Irish player or two that the half-assed supporters go really harsh on. In my personal world it's the lads that are rugby first and soccer when we qualify for something. Doherty has been taking the brunt of that recently...probably because he's one of the few players they actually know the name of. I've seen the same play out on social media and yeah, a lot of it is from that section who seem weirdly satisfied when we lose.
Niall Quinn and O'Shea used to get similar treatment
I've criticised Doherty a lot lately but I'm equally impressed with the run of form he's on and I would expect him/ hope for him to start against Bulgaria
Eirambler
19/02/2025, 8:02 PM
Cullen is the other punch bag at the moment. Has taken over the mantle from Brady. Seemingly no consideration from some quarters that his drop off in form may be down to the way we're setting up the team (two in midfield) rather than anything he's doing differently from his early caps when he was being fêted.
Drummerboy2
20/02/2025, 9:40 AM
I wonder how much better Matt Doherty would be as a centre-back, if he had played more there in his career ?
It's just one of those things that we have such strength in depth in that position, and completely lacking in quality players in other positions.
Mick McCarthy signed Doherty after he played in a friendly for Bohs v Wolves. He was signed as a centre half originally but was moved to full back, probably because of his height
rebelmusic
20/02/2025, 9:00 PM
Cullen is the other punch bag at the moment. Has taken over the mantle from Brady. Seemingly no consideration from some quarters that his drop off in form may be down to the way we're setting up the team (two in midfield) rather than anything he's doing differently from his early caps when he was being fêted.
Reminds me of the way Glenn Whelan was hounded
rebelmusic
08/03/2025, 8:46 PM
Watching the Wolves game tonight and I must say I'm really impressed with Doherty. One of the best players on the pitch and some lovely forward runs. O'Brien playing well too. We have a great back line if HH can get them working as unit
mark12345
08/03/2025, 9:52 PM
Watching the Wolves game tonight and I must say I'm really impressed with Doherty. One of the best players on the pitch and some lovely forward runs. O'Brien playing well too. We have a great back line if HH can get them working as unit
Doherty played really well in his last game (or possibly the one before). Maybe he is finally realising the potential he once had.