View Full Version : Matt Doherty D Wolves b.1992

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12

seanfhear
29/08/2023, 9:35 PM
Started tonight against Blackpool and Wolves have went with a back three with yours truly starting RCB. Doherty managed to score himself a brace though from CB.
He has been destined to play Centre-Back ~ ~ It is written.

elatedscum
30/08/2023, 1:18 AM
But Doherty can’t defend ;)

seanfhear
30/08/2023, 3:12 AM
Defend the defenders.

Fixer82
30/08/2023, 5:53 AM
First brace since 2019 for Doherty

He looks like he walked down on Christmas morning and got that scooter he asked Santy for

Eirambler
30/08/2023, 7:27 AM
Looks like Wolves are signing a Uruguayan centre back, so that should free up Doherty to revert to his more familiar role on the bench.

seanfhear
30/08/2023, 9:35 AM
Looks like Wolves are signing a Uruguayan centre back, so that should free up Doherty to revert to his more familiar role on the bench.
Everyone should sign a Uruguayan centre back.

irishfan86
30/08/2023, 7:35 PM
I'm honestly surprised and disappointed with Doherty's trajectory. How do you go from being one of the most influential players in a flying Wolves team to a bench player at Spurs, and now a bench player back at Wolves?

I think we saw vs. France earlier in this campaign there's still a good player there -- but really disappointing to see him not getting a start at lower level premiership level (I appreciate it's early in the campaign and this could change).

Crosby87
16/09/2023, 12:01 PM
On the bench. He's not going to play much this year.

Colbert Report
16/09/2023, 1:04 PM
Came on with about a half an hour left against Liverpool. Did he lose a bet or something? The haircut like.

24/12/2023, 2:04 PM
Match winner for Wolves today at home to Chelsea with a tidy finish.

24/12/2023, 2:45 PM
Ninth goal scored by an Irish player in the Premier League this season, one more than last season

seanfhear
24/12/2023, 4:32 PM
Fair dues to Matt Doherty.

Chelsea have some woeful defenders and some woeful players all round as well.

CSAD
24/12/2023, 5:59 PM

Half their XI are mid table standard players and have a MLS standard GK yet expect to compete for Europe never mind the league! They’ll do well to finish top half this season.

JR89
24/12/2023, 6:54 PM

Yet there seems to be no pressure on Poch compared to Ten Hag with United.

elatedscum
26/12/2023, 2:57 PM
Yet there seems to be no pressure on Poch compared to Ten Hag with United.

Assume it’s because Poch is in year one and there’s definitely an improvement on last year (despite losing some of their best players: Kante, Kovacic, Mount, Havertz etc etc), whereas Ten Hag’s side have obviously regressed from last year

I think also Todd Boehly just doesn’t know what he’s doing and there’s general acknowledgment of how bad their side is, Palmer and Nkunku aside.

elatedscum
26/12/2023, 2:58 PM
Any way to undelete a post? Was just trying to update it

26/12/2023, 3:37 PM
Any way to undelete a post? Was just trying to update it

Restored

seanfhear
28/01/2024, 4:12 PM
A nice read of a bad corner ( opposition's corner ) and set up Pedro Neto for a goal ~ Ok ~ Neto had plenty to do.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/av/football/68122882

20/08/2024, 10:08 AM
Made his 150th premier league appearance against Arsenal at the weekend

texidub
20/08/2024, 3:49 PM
Hard to believe, TBH. In recent years, he has only shown flashes of what he once was and I get an uncomfortable sense of 'can't be bothered' off him far too often.

dr_peepee
20/08/2024, 6:56 PM
Nah. He’s one those types of players that needs an extended run of games to hit a reasonable level of form. But hasn’t been able to retain his place during his spin up to form level. So has been stuck in a vicious circle in recent years. If he gets a few starts he’ll be grand. Until his next layoff and then it resets again.

texidub
20/08/2024, 9:00 PM
I tend not to criticize Irish player's application, but he has seemed off to me. Maybe it's just that lack of games, as you say. He'll likely be picked for the England game, so let's hope he gets a few more.

Colbert Report
15/09/2024, 5:29 PM
Nightmare for Doherty today, might be the last time he plays for Wolves.

rebelmusic
15/09/2024, 7:16 PM
Nightmare for Doherty today, might be the last time he plays for Wolves.

https://www.molineux.news/match/gary-oneil-really-disappointed-in-subtle-warning-to-wolves-star-after-newcastle-united-comeback/

Got called out specifically as well. That's two howlers in his last two games. I'd say he'll be in the championship after the new year

seanfhear
15/09/2024, 8:02 PM
Matt Doherty needs to move to centre-back ~ ~ Most Irish people of any decent size can play centre-back !

Eirambler
16/09/2024, 7:59 AM
Wasn't one of his (rare) good performances for Ireland at centre back during the Kenny era?! The position just seems to come naturally to us...

seanfhear
16/09/2024, 8:27 AM
Wasn't one of his (rare) good performances for Ireland at centre back during the Kenny era?! The position just seems to come naturally to us...
It's destiny ~ I am actually surprised that he has not been tried at centre-back more often.

16/09/2024, 8:28 AM
Is there anything to be said for trying him in centre-mid...? :p

seanfhear
16/09/2024, 8:38 AM
Mind you ~ It would probably have to be a championship level or even a level below.

seanfhear
16/09/2024, 8:39 AM
Is there anything to be said for trying him in centre-mid...? :p
At least he wouldn't have to force the wingers down the line from there !

Fixer82
21/10/2024, 9:20 PM
Seems to be saying he should be in the squad and expects to be in the next one. It's behind a paywall on the 42 so I can't read it. But from the headline, it doesn't look good

Fixer82
21/10/2024, 9:27 PM
“Obviously I should be in the squad, even if I’m not playing or not going to play I should still obviously be in there… I do expect to be in the next squad”

CraftyToePoke
21/10/2024, 9:43 PM
There's more.

‘yeah, I felt disrespected in the last camp’ because in the second game [Greece] he was playing a centre back at right back ahead of me. And that’s not possible. Just looked at the team sheet and see it like that. That’s why I felt like that (disrespected) but just looking at it, like, I was the only right back left after Seamus had left. If you’re not going to go with the logical decision then I feel like you should have said it to me."

Disrespected. Poor Doc.

Sounds like a right arse biscuit doesn't he

https://www.the42.ie/matt-doherty-ireland-2-6520692-Oct2024/

Razors left peg
21/10/2024, 10:04 PM
Isnt he disrespecting his team mate that was picked in front of him?

CraftyToePoke
21/10/2024, 10:09 PM
& this is after HH had gone out of his way in the pressers to make excuses for Doherty, having a look at options, no big deal, etc, rather than say he'd played so badly he's dropped ( which was the truth of the situation ) & he hasn't the cop on to just shut up & do better.

Colbert Report
21/10/2024, 10:49 PM
He's played poorly for us, and likely won't play for Wolves again unless they have an injury crisis. Needs to play his way back into the team. He's always seemed like a nice guy to me, but he'll be 33 in January and a drop down to the Championship might do him good if he wants to extend his career.

He's spoken openly about moving into the centre back position at various times in his career, might be time to do so.

Razors left peg
21/10/2024, 11:03 PM
Sometimes when these players speak it gives you an insight into their mindset and it can be eye opening. This from Doherty is up there with Shane Long crying about his number being given to Idah, and James McClean b1tching about not getting picked even when he moved to L2. I get that as a professional you have to be selfish and single minded, but this to me just shows the softness thats been in these senior players for far too long. A lack of urgency that no one will take their place no matter how badly they play, too comfortable that they are in every squad and that just leads to a lack of fight when things get touch, cos why bother, you'll be picked next time anyway. Is it any wonder we have such a losing culture of late.

HH dropping Doherty for his lack of effort after coming on against Greece might just be the kick up the ar$e that is needed to the squad. No ones position is safe, if you dont give the bare minimum effort you are out. Thankfully we now have a bunch of younger players and the fight for places is improving all the time. Even seeing Jake O'Brien being left out last time will have a few on edge.

That should be Dohertys last hurrah when it comes to Ireland squads. You had your chance to knuckle down and fight after being left out, instead you cried...

CraftyToePoke
21/10/2024, 11:14 PM
If I had a manager who preferred to set about things with nobody with my exact skillset rather than include me, I'd pause for some reflection, not Dockers though, he "expects to be in the next squad" and decided that publicly cornering the manager who did him a solid & took the focus off how bad he was, is the way to go about that.

Now maybe HH will be pragmatic & detached here, maybe Doc will be in, or maybe HH will think, you absolute p***k & bury what remains of his international career.

Razors left peg
21/10/2024, 11:37 PM
Now maybe HH will be pragmatic & detached here, maybe Doc will be in, or maybe HH will think, you absolute p***k & bury what remains of his international career.

Hopefully the latter

Snapshot
22/10/2024, 2:59 AM

Hopefully the latter
Hopefully the former.

Eirambler
22/10/2024, 7:39 AM
I've said it before, and it's never been confirmed, but I'd be fairly certain that Doherty doesn't see the world in quite the same way as your average person. While it's not really for us to start diagnosing people with isms on an internet forum I think it's worth making the point in Doherty's case, because so much of what he says and does is very out there compared to what other footballers say and do in interviews and act in matches.

The nuances of certain situations can be lost, so in a case like this, if HH has softened the blow of him being dropped in a phone call, probably Doherty has just taken it completely literally. HH maybe said he'll get back in (as in if he plays well enough for his club he'll get back in), and possibly Doherty has taken this as a guarantee that he's in the next squad. Maybe he's right?

I think Doherty is right to avoid interviews for the most part and should have skipped this one as well. He never comes out of them well.

Snapshot
22/10/2024, 8:30 AM
I've said it before, and it's never been confirmed, but I'd be fairly certain that Doherty doesn't see the world in quite the same way as your average person. While it's not really for us to start diagnosing people with isms on an internet forum I think it's worth making the point in Doherty's case, because so much of what he says and does is very out there compared to what other footballers say and do in interviews and act in matches.

The nuances of certain situations can be lost, so in a case like this, if HH has softened the blow of him being dropped in a phone call, probably Doherty has just taken it completely literally. HH maybe said he'll get back in (as in if he plays well enough for his club he'll get back in), and possibly Doherty has taken this as a guarantee that he's in the next squad. Maybe he's right?

I think Doherty is right to avoid interviews for the most part and should have skipped this one as well. He never comes out of them well.
You’ve summed it up well. He’s different, stubborn and an oddball. That he’s miffed about being dropped scuttles the view he’s indifferent to playing for Ireland. But he still deserved to be dumped, his form has been rubbish.
HH would be foolish to slam the door on Doherty. In fact, it’s incumbent on the manager to motivate and encourage him. The quality within the squad is a pittance and the fact remains that Doherty’s best game is one of the best games within it. The challenge is there for both of them.

CraftyToePoke
22/10/2024, 10:49 AM
if HH has softened the blow of him being dropped in a phone call, probably Doherty has just taken it completely literally.

Well listening to HH at the time & reading Doherty yesterday there was a phone call and an explanation so where he was disrespected isn't clear at all. Because he wasn't.

We'll know soon enough anyway, the NL three international windows between September & November is great I think. Keeps things lively.

Diggs246
22/10/2024, 11:03 AM
Stunning petulance by Doherty. He's has been correctly dropped and I would say this interview will lead to ending his international career.

22/10/2024, 1:37 PM
Looks like he has carefully set up a media story at next squad announcement. Headlines will either be Doc Recalled (with sub-text that HH bows to player power) or Doc Snubbed.

Either way, Doc himself said something along the lines that he needs games to be at his best. If he's not getting games at Wolves HH simply has to say Doc is still in our plans but he's not getting games. If he is getting games then HH can save face by saying he's fit so deserving of selection again.

Hopefully Coleman is fit and gets picked instead though :)

Murfinator
22/10/2024, 2:15 PM
Well listening to HH at the time & reading Doherty yesterday there was a phone call and an explanation so where he was disrespected isn't clear at all. Because he wasn't.

We'll know soon enough anyway, the NL three international windows between September & November is great I think. Keeps things lively.

His main issue seems to be that he assumed he was starting against Greece since he was the only recognised right back left with Coleman's withdrawal and he only found out he wasn't after looking at the team sheet. No chat from the manager or reason given as to why a centre back was starting ahead of him.

I wouldn't call it disrespectful from Heimir considering he's a new manager and players shouldn't have expectations set for what the squad will look like in his 2nd game but I can understand why Doherty would feel like that.

Even the dogs on the street would expect Doherty to start at RB in a squad where Coleman has withdrawn and Ebosele is not initially included, it's not entitled for the player himself to have that expectation. Given JOS is continuity from the previous regime you might have thought this is the kind of communication problem he should have flagged with Heimir but oh well.

elatedscum
22/10/2024, 2:51 PM
His main issue seems to be that he assumed he was starting against Greece since he was the only recognised right back left with Coleman's withdrawal and he only found out he wasn't after looking at the team sheet. No chat from the manager or reason given as to why a centre back was starting ahead of him.

I wouldn't call it disrespectful from Heimir considering he's a new manager and players shouldn't have expectations set for what the squad will look like in his 2nd game but I can understand why Doherty would feel like that.

Even the dogs on the street would expect Doherty to start at RB in a squad where Coleman has withdrawn and Ebosele is not initially included, it's not entitled for the player himself to have that expectation. Given JOS is continuity from the previous regime you might have thought this is the kind of communication problem he should have flagged with Heimir but oh well.

It does always make me wonder. It's literally taking a player aside for 60 seconds and explaining the decision. Not that he should be angry but you quell a lot of potential discontent by quickly explaining a decision to a player

rebelmusic
23/10/2024, 8:29 PM
Unless he really reclaims his club career I wouldn't bring him into another squad. Whatever way you look at it the team needs a personality overhaul and some of the old guard need to go. The younger players need to see an example set here. Thankfully the 'andy reid must play' days seem to be behind us as well...although if we go on a winning streak I'm sure the media will go back to the days of constant negativity ?

24/10/2024, 6:59 AM
There isn't really an old guard left any more though, is there? Brady was the only player over 30 in the last squad, and he was our best player in the window. In the past year we've also called up Duffy, Doherty, Coleman and Stevens - mostly because we're desperate for options at full-back.

I don't think Doherty's indispensable, but I wouldn't discard him just because of his age.

rebelmusic
24/10/2024, 7:54 PM
Fair point. I was more thinking of mindset over age though. I haven't heard anything about him being a good mentor for the younger players or his experience being a positive in the dressing room. Whereas there's plenty said about Coleman and Brady. I dunno, I just feel his attitude hasn't been good enough for quite a while and