View Full Version : EA Sports League Cup 2011
Pages :
[
8]
In fairness, they seemed under pressure, I'm not sure there was much of a choice. We hit the bar just before that too.
Derek O'Brien hit the post as well.
08/08/2011, 10:41 PM
Dag nabbit
Trainee
08/08/2011, 11:09 PM
did i hear right on RTE Radio 1 sports news that the the final will be in cork
sullanefc
08/08/2011, 11:13 PM
Very nervy game. Limerick were a lot more physical than Shels, a lot of pulling/dragging/hands across the chest and sneaky nudges. There were a few cynical fouls but the referee seemed to have forgotten his cards. What they lacked in quality, they made up for in physicality and its probably no wonder they gave away 2 penalties. At the same time they were dangerous and they had some great chances, but we sat back off them and allowed them way too much space. Maybe Friday nights performance may have taken its toll.
Behan was crap, inevitably. But you could see Gambles class. He stood out IMO, and pulled the strings for Limerick. Having said that, O'Halloran and Duggan had their good moments too.
You'd notice Daryl Horgan missing for us, even though Derek O'Brien was decent tonight.
Graham Cummins was immense.
Davin O'Neill did well, even though sometimes I think his brain and his feet don't always function in tandem.
Vinny Sullivan was woeful. Not up to it IMO, always goes down easy and has no vision.
But the best performers were the defense tonight who won the game for us IMO. Kavanagh won a lot of headers, Turner didn't put a foot wrong and did well going forward, and Danny saved our bacon at the end.
Roll on the final!!! :thumbsup_anim:
Edit: Their centre back (left side) was huge!!!
sheao
09/08/2011, 12:03 AM
Fantastic night, we played excellent in extra time and that was enough to get us to the final in the end.
In the 90 mins of normal time Limerick looked like they were going to win it late on as after a spell of pressure which eventually resulted in Danny making a fantastic clearance off the line. We have a lot to thank Danny for getting us to the cup final.
Cummins was great also tonight, so was Candau when he came on and scored the peno mins after hitting the post.
Great as a fan of Cork City to see us getting to the final only 18 months after the supporters took over the running of the club.
Brilliant achievement and well done to all those involved who give up so much of their spare time for the love of the club.
09/08/2011, 12:11 AM
How was it decided the final would be in Cork already?
09/08/2011, 12:13 AM
That's Brian McCarthy. He's nine foot three inches tall............
Jesus almighty what a night. Cummins is some man. The man gives it his all no matter how hard the Limerick players try to rough him up.
And he took an elbow clan as day into the puss from Cummins late on.
Overall happy enough with it tbh I thought over 90 minutes we were the better side faded very badly as time went on but in fairness Shane Tracy isn't quite up to 90 minutes yet and Paudie isn't exactly known for his effort (created a fantastic chance towards the end mind)
Rory Gaffney and our two starting full backs will make a big difference. Gamble has no business knocking around at this level, was pleased enough with Behan tbh put himself about couldn't really ask for much more such is the system we play.
Overall, happy with the players heading into the final series, not 100% on the oul manager though
09/08/2011, 12:22 AM
Actually any excuse to post this: :D
http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5030/5580898232_afc09429a5.jpg
born2bwild
09/08/2011, 12:25 AM
Very nervy game. Limerick were a lot more physical than Shels, a lot of pulling/dragging/hands across the chest and sneaky nudges. There were a few cynical fouls but the referee seemed to have forgotten his cards. What they lacked in quality, they made up for in physicality and its probably no wonder they gave away 2 penalties. At the same time they were dangerous and they had some great chances, but we sat back off them and allowed them way too much space. Maybe Friday nights performance may have taken its toll.
Behan was crap, inevitably. But you could see Gambles class. He stood out IMO, and pulled the strings for Limerick. Having said that, O'Halloran and Duggan had their good moments too.
You'd notice Daryl Horgan missing for us, even though Derek O'Brien was decent tonight.
Graham Cummins was immense.
Davin O'Neill did well, even though sometimes I think his brain and his feet don't always function in tandem.
Vinny Sullivan was woeful. Not up to it IMO, always goes down easy and has no vision.
But the best performers were the defense tonight who won the game for us IMO. Kavanagh won a lot of headers, Turner didn't put a foot wrong and did well going forward, and Danny saved our bacon at the end.
Roll on the final!!! :thumbsup_anim:
I enjoyed Turner's Cross so much last Friday (not the result) I went back again tonight. I think I have a majority share in OPEC by now.
I was very impressed with Gamble - always has time, great balance, vision, strength.
Still, Cork were strong throughout the team - apart from a few long balls going nowhere - and that was the difference. The right full - Turner - stood out as did Cummins - he battled like a lunatic throughout.
It's looking like a really interesting final series of matches. I don't think Shels can match either of the two teams I saw tonight in the middle of the park - but I think Shels have the edge with attacking midfielders/deep lying strikers. (until O'Flynn comes back from injury).
born2bwild
09/08/2011, 12:27 AM
Actually any excuse to post this: :D
http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5030/5580898232_afc09429a5.jpg
I remember this match. The tactic of choice for Shels was a hoofed long ball over and over again onto that fella's noggin. Thankfully that's changed since. He doesn't have great feet that McCarthy fella - obvious tonight.
09/08/2011, 12:30 AM
He doesn't have great feet that McCarthy fella - obvious tonight.
We call him Bambi.
But in a nice way in fairness. :)
born2bwild
09/08/2011, 12:34 AM
We call him Bambi.
But in a nice way in fairness. :)
He makes Sean Maher look like a first choice centre half.
Jaysus, with squad you have (now with Gaffney too) you should have promotion wrapped up - maybe?
09/08/2011, 12:39 AM
Jaysus, with squad you have (now with Gaffney too) you should have promotion wrapped up - maybe?
We should, should being the operative word. There remains rumblings about Scully around the place. Jaysus even if Stevo doesn't kick a ball for the rest of the year (only made four league appearences I think :( ) you look at our starting eleven of say:
Barry Ryan
Shaun Kelly
Paddy Purcell
Brian McCarthy
John Frost
Joe Gamble
Dave O'Leary
Jeffrey Judge
Paudie Quinn
Rory Gaffney
Denis Behan
and it looks feckin strong in any language! With a bench of genuinely pretty decent First Division players to back it up. That's not the way I'd have them line up personally but I'd say that's the way twill be.
born2bwild
09/08/2011, 12:45 AM
We should, should being the operative word. There remains rumblings about Scully around the place. Jaysus even if Stevo doesn't kick a ball for the rest of the year (only made four league appearences I think :( ) you look at our starting eleven of say:
Barry Ryan
Shaun Kelly
Paddy Purcell
Brian McCarthy
John Frost
Joe Gamble
Dave O'Leary
Jeffrey Judge
Paudie Quinn
Rory Gaffney
Denis Behan
and it looks feckin strong in any language! With a bench of genuinely pretty decent First Division players to back it up. That's not the way I'd have them line up personally but I'd say that's the way twill be.
I saw yis playing 4-1-3-2 against Monaghan - like England's 1966 WC final formation. Didn't really work because yis didn't have someone with the quality of Gamble to play the lone holding role. Would work now - I'd put Gaffney up front with Behan (dropping deep as needed). The only players in D1 who could unlock that are maybe David Cassidy or Cummins.
09/08/2011, 12:48 AM
I can't remember the last time Scully played a straight two up top, the bloody Monaghan game being the one game I missed this year!! Having someone playing off Behan should be a no brainer in fairness though.
09/08/2011, 3:28 PM
Derry - Sligo is now arranged for Tuesday 23rd at 7.45.
El-Pietro
23/08/2011, 7:17 PM
Derry 1-0 up
Lafferty after 33 minutes apparently
Fester
23/08/2011, 7:51 PM
Derry 1 v 1 Sligo 45' Ventre
Fester
23/08/2011, 8:12 PM
Derry 2 v 1 up
76' Mclaughlin
23/08/2011, 8:15 PM
2 all
Fester
23/08/2011, 8:18 PM
Eoin Doyle with the leveler on 81'
Fester
23/08/2011, 8:30 PM
Lafferty sent off for Derry 91'
Fester
23/08/2011, 8:31 PM
FT 2 - 2. Another half hour to go!
Fester
23/08/2011, 8:41 PM
Derry 3 - 2 up in ET 93' McLaughlin with his second of the night.
Trainee
23/08/2011, 8:59 PM
3 all (doyle) and 120 mins gone looks like penos
Fester
23/08/2011, 9:01 PM
3 v 3 now Doyle 108' Cracking game.
Trainee
23/08/2011, 9:11 PM
penos
Fester
23/08/2011, 9:11 PM
FT 3 - 3 Going to Penos
23/08/2011, 9:16 PM
Good thing that wasn't on TV. Some people might have been entertained.
Fester
23/08/2011, 9:16 PM
Derry score with their first peno
23/08/2011, 9:17 PM
pens here http://wm9.easystream.co.uk/drive105/
23/08/2011, 9:20 PM
Get in!!!!!!
Fester
23/08/2011, 9:20 PM
4 - 2 at me moment on pens for derry
Fester
23/08/2011, 9:22 PM
5 - 3 to Derry.
El-Pietro
Derry through on pens
sweet. wonder will it be in Cork, Derry or elsewhere
Nah 5-3 all over . :)
Fester
23/08/2011, 9:23 PM
Derry through on pens
sweet. wonder will it be in Cork, Derry or elsewhere
The toss of a coin usually decides for the stage for the EA League Cup.
El-Pietro
23/08/2011, 9:26 PM
of course that doesn't actually tell me where its going to be on does it!
Fester
23/08/2011, 9:29 PM
of course that doesn't actually tell me where its going to be on does it!
Nope but at least your in the final!! No mater where it is!!
23/08/2011, 9:33 PM
The toss of a coin usually decides for the stage for the EA League Cup.
Where are the FAI going to find a tosser though...?
23/08/2011, 11:00 PM
The final will be in Turners.
Three words:
Tax. Gate. Receipts.
24/08/2011, 12:22 AM
Last time I saw scenes like that, it was in the Northern Bank in Belfast.
I almost feel like apologising.
It's a pity the game wasn't televised as it has to one of the best games seen in the LOI for many Years. Sligo were determined to hold on their trophy when then fielded a full strength team, while Derry had only 4 regulars with the team being made up from the under 20's. Derry could have went in a couple of goals up at half time but Sligo scoring with the last kick in the first half, dented their confidence. Sligo threw every thing at Derry the second half but the Candystripe youngsters showed great fighting ability as they took the lead. The writing seemed to be on the wall when Lafferty got sent off just before the ninety minutes were up, but the ten (boys) men of Derry stood up and were counted. Steven McLaughlin scored a wonder goal to give Derry the lead, but Sligo equalized to send the game into penalties. Derry scored all five of their penalties with Ferry making a very good save to send the Brandwell into raptures. Last night's game was cracking example of how good the football being played in the league really is.
It's a pity the game wasn't televised as it has to one of the best games seen in the LOI for many Years.
Yeah, I say that about most games that aren't on TV too.
Derry back in the League Cup final. just seems natural, doesn't it?
24/08/2011, 10:07 AM
According to the Big Red Bench's twitter the coin toss takes place at 12.30pm today.
I wonder will it be behind closed doors?
24/08/2011, 10:18 AM
As long as its Dublin so the losing side can blame someone
Aaron
24/08/2011, 10:31 AM
As long as its Dublin so the losing side can blame someone
Its in Abbotstown, both clubs will have board members there
24/08/2011, 10:50 AM
Its in Abbotstown, both clubs will have bored members there
Given it's a coin toss, I've corrected that for you.
pateen
24/08/2011, 11:16 AM
Should be a sell out in either Venue I'd imagine
24/08/2011, 11:52 AM
Turners Cross thank god