Page 1 of 24 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: EA Sports League Cup 2011

217 Posts

EA Sports League Cup 2011

A few in here probably have gathered I have an affinity with the league cup. It stems from the Kerry League's great win in a shoot-out over Waterford United in Tralee in March 2008.

On the competition itself, does it have a future?

I've heard claims it's low down on the FAI priorities and a competition they might scrap. Should the scrap it, revamp it or leave it as it is?

61 Posts
    They should change it so that only teams that are in the league plays for the league cup.

217 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by The Lep View Post
    They should change it so that only teams that are in the league plays for the league cup.
    It was good for the Kerry League to be involved before the league became an open league. I think a move was made around '09 that it's for clubs anyways for starters. I'd agree now it should be for A Championship sides up.
    My group idea in another thread seems a non-runner. This might be GAA mentality but I'll put this out there anyway. I think the early rounds should be played within the provinces. Leinster is big, more clubs, so it could be split in three: North Leinster, Dublin and South Leinster. Along with Munster, Connaught and Ulster, that'd be six regions in total.
    Each region could provide one club, the winner of that region, for the last six. If the six regions were ranked 1 to 6 based on the average league position of all the clubs in those regions, the higher two regions winners could get a bye to the semi's while the other four have to go through the quarter-final stage.
    And yes, I believe the final should be played in the Aviva!

Kill it with fire!!

About nine people came out to watch Monaghan widdle on our reserves earlier on in the year, clubs have enough to worry about without this nonsense.

64 Posts
    It should be scrapped.

Left as it is. Its a low priority but there's no harm in an extra cup game where kids can get a run out, Plus what will Derry do if its scrapped?

290 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Left as it is. Its a low priority but there's no harm in an extra cup game where kids can get a run out, Plus what will Derry do if its scrapped?
    I'd tend to agree (with the first part anyway, smart-ass); clubs might say they don't take it seriously but when you get to the semi of a cup competition it tends to focus the mind. And before that it's a chance to play some of the kids. That said, it really does exist in the shadow of the other two competitions. I'd be thrilled with scrapping the Setanta and making the LC competed for my clubs from both sides of the border but the logistics seem to have put that to bed.

217 Posts
    Isn't there a league Cup in the north as well. Why should one Associations LC take precedence over an other?
    The four regional pools as they are are grand if people are ok with that. I would agree with The Lep though that it should be for League sides only. I didn't see why the Kerry League fielded a side this year when Tralee Dynamos are in the A Championship.
    The six regional idea I was mooting would have some advantages in promotion of the games within the regions. I'd like to think a Munster League Cup final, battled for by the five league clubs, would have a decent profile. The idea is knock-out with in the regions before six are left for knock-out stage at a national level.
    The six regions I'd like to see are:
    Ulster:
    Derry City
    Monaghan United
    Finn Harps
    Fanad United? (If they do join the league)

North Leinster:
    Dundalk
    Drogheda United
    Longford Town
    Athlone Town

Dublin:
    Shamrock Rovers
    Bohemians
    Sporting Fingal
    St. Pat's Athletic
    UCD
    Shelbourne

South Leinster:
    Bray Wanderers
    Wexford Youths
    FC Carlow
    Tullamore Town

Munster:
    Waterford United
    Limerick FC
    Cork City FORAS
    Cobh Ramblers
    Tralee Dynamos

Connaught:
    Sligo Rovers
    Galway United
    Mervue United
    Salthill Devon
    Castlebar Celtic

3,269 Posts
    Anyone seen Celtic Tiger lately?

The non league clubs competing in the league cup is a legacy of the old group stages part of the league cup. With 22 league clubs, it was easy to add 2 non league clubs and have 6 groups of 4 (similar to the World Cup at that time).

138 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by legendz View Post
    Dublin:
    Shamrock Rovers
    Bohemians
    Sporting Fingal
    St. Pat's Athletic
    UCD
    Shelbourne

South Leinster:
    Bray Wanderers
    Wexford Youths
    FC Carlow
    Tullamore Town
    Should Shams not be in the South Leinster Division??
    Also this model was done before, I remember us in with Harps and Derry and then some random hick team from Donegal every year.
    Absolutely zero interest here for it, cant speak for the other teams and can only imagine if we are stuck in with the might of Castlebar Celtic, Salthill Devon and Mervue United there will be even less interest.

217 Posts
    Anyone seen Celtic Tiger lately?
    If it's a straight knock-out within the regions, it'd cut down on travel for the League Cup games.

Quote Originally Posted by Rasputin View Post
    Should Shams not be in the South Leinster Division??
    Also this model was done before, I remember us in with Harps and Derry and then some random hick team from Donegal every year.
    Absolutely zero interest here for it, cant speak for the other teams and can only imagine if we are stuck in with the might of Castlebar Celtic, Salthill Devon and Mervue United there will be even less interest.
    If it's been tried before and it has not worked. That is fair enough. I can only speak from my own view point. I'd like to see Tralee in a Munster League Cup section. I would've thought the latter stages would be better with a spread of clubs from different regions. Shamrock Rovers are a Dublin team, that's why I'd include them in the Dublin League Cup section.
    The clubs mentioned wouldn't be a big game for Sligo. If seedings were used from the league, no need for a draw. Drawing Sligo would be a big game for the three teams mentioned. Sligo and Galway, a most likely final for that section, would be a decent final. When it'd get to the national stage it's where Sligo would get the bigger games. Sometimes Sligo are the bigger draw for others, I don't see anything wrong with that.

It is always regionalised as far as the quarter finals anyway.

3,269 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by legendz View Post
    If it's a straight knock-out within the regions, it'd cut down on travel for the League Cup games.
    I meant the poster Celtic Tiger, not the boom!

179 Posts
    Ah sure wrap it up, that way we can hold on to the trophy.

As has been said, no real interest in it until the semi final stage really. Shams fans saying that they didnt care about it when they got knocked out but yet the brought 400+ to the showgrounds for it on a Tuesday evening.
    Manager: Fergal, have you your boots with ya?
    Fergal: Ya, I have them here.
    Manager: Ah good stuff, well give them to this man so, he forgot his!

217 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    It is always regionalised as far as the quarter finals anyway.
    That's a fair point. It must be a GAA minded view I have on this. I think the regionalised rounds will work better within the provinces.

Quote Originally Posted by redobit View Post
    Ah sure wrap it up, that way we can hold on to the trophy.

As has been said, no real interest in it until the semi final stage really. Shams fans saying that they didnt care about it when they got knocked out but yet the brought 400+ to the showgrounds for it on a Tuesday evening.
    ssssshhhhhhhh it was only 100 and there was only 322 at the game!!!

I enjoyed winning it.

Legendz, half of your ideas are a load of sh**e that will never happen. No offence or anything but it gets a bit boring when you come on here and all you see is you and your master plans to reform the league.

217 Posts
    Ah well, sure everyone's entitled to an opinion and to air their views. Hard to comment on yours. Have you been on the forum before?

505 Posts
    Lads, keep the personal stuff to yourselves, or better yet use the Ignore List. I'll leave ye off since it's xmas, but I won't the next time.

Back on topic please.

Page 1 of 24 12311 ... LastLast