View Full Version : Limerick Desmond League 2010/11

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 [15] 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26

buddygeary23
19/12/2010, 2:45 PM
No idea really..think it's cos the fai called most fai games if not all games off

nononsense
19/12/2010, 2:50 PM
No idea really..think it's cos the fai called most fai games if not all games off
My understanding is Newcastle West notified St.Michaels early this morning they would not travel to Tipperary because of road conditions.

BlueAndWhite
19/12/2010, 10:42 PM
Fixtures 28 December to 3 January 2011

Tuesday 28th December
Munster Youths Cup 2nd Round (extra time & penalties)
Newcastle West V Rathkeale 230 (P. O’Donnell)

Youths Division 1
Abbeyfeale Utd V Newcastle West Rovers 230 (J. Roche)

Youths Division 2
Creeves Celtic V Bally Rovers 230 (P. Manning)
Pallaskenry V Glin Rovers in Salesians College pitch 230 (P. O’Connor)

Sunday 2nd January
Richard Hogan Cup Semi Final (extra time & penalties)
Knockaderry V Rockhill Rovers 2pm (N. Allen)

Reidy Cup Semi Final (extra time & penalties)
Ferry Rangers V Askeaton B 2pm (G. O’Connor)
Glantine V Athea Utd 2pm (P. O’Brien)

Weekly Observer Premier Division
Adare Utd V Abbeyfeale Utd 1130 (B. Barry)
Broadford Utd V Askeaton 1130 (J. Roche)
Killeaney V Newcastle West 1130 (P. Manning)
Glin Rovers V Newcastle West Rovers at Lanterns Hotel pitch 1130 (M. Houlihan)
Rathkeale V Shannonside FC 1130 (L. O’Connor)

Weekly Observer Division 1
Carrig Celtic V Old Mill 1130 (D. O’Gorman)
Kilcolman Rovers V Pallaskenry 1130 (C. Dalton)
Ballingarry V St. Itas 230 (T. Fitzmaurice)

Weekly Observer Division 2
Breska Rovers V Ballysteen 1130 (T. Fitzmaurice)
Feenagh V Creeves Celtic 230 (J. Roche)
Kilcornan V Rathkeale B 230 (P. O’Connor)
Granagh Utd V Newcastle West B 230 (S. Hartnett)

Weekly Observer Division 3
Bally Rovers V Ballingarry B 1130 (P. O’Donnell)

Weekly Observer Division 4
St. Itas B V Athea Utd B 1130 (S. Hartnett)
Newcastle West Rovers B V Carrig Celtic B 230 (D. Wallace)
St. Bens V Pallaskenry B 230 (P. King)

Monday 3rd January
Munster Youths Cup 3rd Round (extra time & penalties)
Askeaton V Newcastle West or Rathkeale 2pm (L. O’Connor)

Youths Division 1
Broadford V Rathkeale 230 (provisional fixture) ((P. O’Brien)
Newcastle West V Ballingarry 230 (provisional fixture) (T. Fitzmaurice)

Youths Division 2
Glin Rovers V Bally Rovers at Lanterns Hotel pitch 230 (N. Allen)
Carrig Celtic V Creeves Celtic 230 (M. Houlihan)
Killeaney V Kilcornan 230 (D. Wallace)

sky blue
21/12/2010, 4:53 PM
5th Round Draw

St Michael’s or Avenue Utd or Newmarket Celtic

v

Casement Celtic or Innishvilla or Douglas Hall

Rock Rvs or Pike Rvs
v

Wilton Utd “B” or Park Utd or Lisselton Rvs or St Brendan’s Park

Drinagh Rgs or Avondale Utd or Thurles Celtic or Ballymackey
v
Knockainey or Aisling Annacotty or 2 Mile Borris St Kevins or Clonmel Celtic

Piltown or Southend Utd or Nenagh Celtic
v
Cratloe Forrest or Lisnagry or Wembley Rvs

Killumney Utd or Kinsale or St Saviours or Abbeyside
v
Carrick Utd or Hibernians or Durrus or Carrigaline Utd or Rockmount

Ballynanty Rvs or Villa or Dungarvan U

v
Macroom or Douglas Hall or Village Utd or Killeaney

College Cors or Skibbereen or Kilmallock Utd
v
Cashel Town or Clonmel Town or Carew Park

Glen Celtic or Buttevant or Leeds or Blarney Street Ath or Springfield
v
Rathkeale or Abbeyfeale Utd

5th Round Games to take place on or before the 19th / 20th February 2011

buddygeary23
24/12/2010, 4:37 PM
I would like to wish everyone a happy Christmas and a happy new year....

BlueAndWhite
28/12/2010, 3:55 PM
Youths Division 2
Creeves Celtic vs Bally Rovers OFF
Pallaskenry vs Glin Rovers OFF

buddygeary23
02/01/2011, 3:39 PM
Fai junior cup 5th round

St michaels 3-0 Newcastle west afc

Ncw afc down 2-0 after 20mins and rallied on till half time.2nd half ncw afc were the better team having few chance to get back into it but some deadly saves by the michaels keeper kept them out.michaels got 3rd goal in injury time

BlueAndWhite
02/01/2011, 3:48 PM
Division 3
Bally Rovers 2 0 Ballingarry B

Reidy Cup Semi Final
Glantine 0 4 Athea Utd
Ferry Rangers 0 0 Asketon B, Ferry win 6 5 on penalties

Draper
02/01/2011, 5:47 PM
Broadford United 3 3 Askeaton.
Glin Rovers 1 2 NCW Rovers
Rathkeale 0 1 Shannonside

FiveB
03/01/2011, 8:33 PM
Askeaton 1-6 Rathkeale (munster youths i think)
Anyone any other minor results?

BlueAndWhite
03/01/2011, 9:15 PM
Youths Division 2
Glin Rovers 1 4 Bally Rovers
Killeaney 1 2 Kilcornan
Carrig Celtic 2 1 Creeves Celtic

walkover
04/01/2011, 10:28 AM
Shannonside and Abbey looking very strong for the title race now...
Thought Rathkeale would have got at least a draw at home against Shannonside. Were Rathkeale missing players? (Or just an Xmas hagnover maybe)

mickbrick
04/01/2011, 2:15 PM
Any report on the Rathkeale V Shannonside game (Heard Rathkeale were all over them but just could'nt score) or the Abbey v Adare game (would have thought Abbey would have won this handy) ......anyone at the games to confirm ?

'El Nino'
05/01/2011, 12:14 PM
Rathkeale were without Ollie Byrnes, but in saying that the young Barry fella did very well again and saved a peno from their keeper.Rathkeale missed four good chances and should have had a pen aswell.Their striker didnt go down when he was clipped and stayed on his feet.Honesty isnt always the best policy.I heard the ref said he would have given it if he went down.Riordan missed the game due to the flu, a big loss to Rathkeale and surely would have taken a few of the chances that fell to them.
All in all Rathkeale under performed and Shannonside scraped through with the 3 points.You need luck like that when you win leagues.They played more like a unit, but are not blessed with as many talented players as Rathkeale are.IMO.

BlueAndWhite
07/01/2011, 8:37 PM
Anyone know if matches will be called off because of snow?

Notaclue
08/01/2011, 3:11 PM
All games are OFF tomorrow. Well done Desmond League!!!!

soccer8
08/01/2011, 7:09 PM
All games are OFF tomorrow. Well done Desmond League!!!!

Any report anyone?

limkdesmond
09/01/2011, 12:26 AM
Oscar traynor cup

Cork shipping league 1-5 desmonds

Tony Quaid 2,ray lynch 2 and mikey lyons

Harry Lime
09/01/2011, 10:14 AM
Cork shipping league 1-5 desmonds

Some pics from this game:

http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5123/5338886974_a588255179.jpg (http://www.flickr.com/photos/seanryan/sets/72157625782240716/)

BlueAndWhite
09/01/2011, 2:40 PM
Munster Junior Cup 4th Round (23/1/11)
Rathkeale V Abbeyfeale Utd
Macroom/Douglas Hall/Village Utd V Killeaney

FAI Youths Cup 4th Round (23/1/11)
Bally Rovers V Rathkeale/Killarney Celtic

FAI U-17s Cup 4th Round (30/1/11)
Kilcornan V St. Michaels/Villa FC

Munster Youths Cup 4th Round (15/1/11)
St. Michaels V Rathkeale
Ferry Rangers V Kilmallock Utd
Clonmel Celtic V Ballingarry

Notaclue
09/01/2011, 10:27 PM
Saturday 15th January
FAI Youths Cup 3rd Round (extra time & penalties)
Rathkeale V Killarney Celtic 2pm (P. O’Brien)

Munster Youths Cup 4th Round (extra time & penalties)
Ferry Rangers V Kilmallock Utd 2pm (G. O’Connor, T. Fitzmaurice, B. Barry)
Clonmel Celtic V Ballingarry 2pm

Youths Division 1
Abbeyfeale Utd V Newcastle West Rovers 230pm (J. Roche)
Newcastle West V Broadford Utd 230 (P. King)

Youths Division 2
Bally Rovers V Kilcornan 230 (P. O’Donnell)
Pallaskenry V Glin Rovers in Salesians College pitch 230 (N. Allen)

Sunday 16th January
Richard Hogan Cup Semi Final (extra time & penalties)
Rathkeale B V Askeaton B 2pm (L. O’Connor)

Adare Utd V Newcastle West Rovers 1130 (B. Barry)
Abbeyfeale Utd V Broadford Utd 1130 (P. Manning)
Newcastle West V Askeaton 1130 (J. Roche)
Shannonside FC V Killeaney 1130 in Shanagolden (T. Fitzmaurice)
Glin Rovers V Rathkeale 1130 (P. O’Brien)

Kildimo Utd V Athea Utd 1130 (D. O’Gorman)
St. Itas V Abbeyfeale Utd B 230 (P. O’Connor)
Old Mill V Glantine 1130 (G. O’Connor)
Kilcolman Rovers V Carrig Celtic 1130 (L. O’Connor)

Breska Rovers V Granagh Utd 230 (T. Fitzmaurice)
Ballysteen V Feenagh 1130 (P. O’Donnell)
Rockhill Rovers V Kilcornan 1130 (N. Allen)
Knockaderry V Newcastle West B 230 (J. Roche)

Broadford Utd B V Ferry Rangers 230 (G. O’Connor)
Glin Rovers B V Bally Rovers at Lanterns Hotel Pitch 2pm (P. O’Brien)
Ballingarry B V Adare Utd B 230 (P. King)
Mountcollins V Shountrade 230 (D. Wallace)

Carrig Celtic B V St. Itas B 1130 (S. Hartnett)
Glantine V St. Bens 230 (S. Hartnett)
Pallaskenry B V Shannonside FC B in Salesians College 1130 (C. Dalton)
Newcastle West Rovers B V Athea Utd B 230 (C. Dalton)

BlueAndWhite
10/01/2011, 10:06 PM
Limerick Desmond Youths Cups

Division 1 Youths League Cup 1st Round
Ballingarry V Newcastle West
Newcastle West Rovers V Broadford Utd
Byes for Abbeyfeale Utd and Rathkeale

Division 2 Youths League Cup 1st Round
Ferry Rangers V Creeves Celtic

Division 2 Youths League Cup Quarter Finals
Askeaton V Kilcornan
Pallaskenry V Bally Rovers
Glin Rovers V Killeaney
Ferry Rangers/Creeves Celtic V Carrig Celtic

Limerick Desmond Youths Cup 1st Round
Carrig Celtic V Rathkeale
Kilcornan V Askeaton
Newcastle West Rovers V Breska Rovers
Pallaskenry V Ballingarry
Bally Rovers V Killeaney
Abbeyfeale Utd V Broadford Utd
Creeves Celtic V Newcastle West
Ferry Rangers V Glin Rovers

limkdesmond
10/01/2011, 10:13 PM
Adare Utd V Newcastle West Rovers 1130 away
Abbeyfeale Utd V Broadford Utd 1130 draw
Newcastle West V Askeaton 1130 home
Shannonside FC V Killeaney 1130 in Shanagolden home
Glin Rovers V Rathkeale 1130 away

Kildimo Utd V Athea Utd 1130 home
St. Itas V Abbeyfeale Utd B 230 home
Old Mill V Glantine 1130 home
Kilcolman Rovers V Carrig Celtic 1130 away

Breska Rovers V Granagh Utd 230 draw
Ballysteen V Feenagh 1130 away
Rockhill Rovers V Kilcornan 1130 home
Knockaderry V Newcastle West B 230 away

Broadford Utd B V Ferry Rangers 230 home
Glin Rovers B V Bally Rovers at Lanterns Hotel Pitch 2pm draw
Ballingarry B V Adare Utd B 230 (Home
Mountcollins V Shountrade 230 (Home)

Carrig Celtic B V St. Itas B 1130 (Home)
Glantine B V St. Bens 230 away
Pallaskenry B V Shannonside FC B in Salesians College 1130 home
Newcastle West Rovers B V Athea Utd B 230 Away

Have It
12/01/2011, 12:14 PM
Why were none of the Rovers lads at the Oscar Traynor game ?

walkover
13/01/2011, 8:23 AM
Why were none of the Rovers lads at the Oscar Traynor game ?

Was talking to some of them at the weekend, 2 were sick and 2 of em were working!!
Good win for Desmond, when is the Kerry v Cork game meant to be scheduled for?

Harry Lime
13/01/2011, 8:25 AM
when is the Kerry v Cork game meant to be scheduled for?

Heard that it's January 30th in Tralee.

'El Nino'
13/01/2011, 12:14 PM
Was talking to some of them at the weekend, 2 were sick and 2 of em were working!!
Good win for Desmond, when is the Kerry v Cork game meant to be scheduled for?

Looking at all the past Oscar Traynor panels it seems that mainly Abbeyfeale,Broadford,NCW and Rathkeale are the only clubs interested in representing the Desmond League and credit should be given to the clubs for this.The rest of the clubs should take a good long look at themselves. Going by the paper yesterday Sean Curtin from St. Itas had a good game so fair play to him. Its the clubs that never turn up when asked and there players attitudes which are really disrespecting the Desmond League.
How do you handle this ? well its all debatable.

walkover
13/01/2011, 2:43 PM
Looking at all the past Oscar Traynor panels it seems that mainly Abbeyfeale,Broadford,NCW and Rathkeale are the only clubs interested in representing the Desmond League and credit should be given to the clubs for this.The rest of the clubs should take a good long look at themselves. Going by the paper yesterday Sean Curtin from St. Itas had a good game so fair play to him. Its the clubs that never turn up when asked and there players attitudes which are really disrespecting the Desmond League.
How do you handle this ? well its all debatable.

I'd say it's much easier to keep the interest for players in the starting eleven (which alot of players from the mentioned clubs would be).
It's harder for player's from other clubs to break into the team mainly because the manager would know less about them as they never see their games, unless the manager has an affiliation with their club.
Again looking at past teams, you have alot of players from the aforementioned teams PLUS players from the Manager's own team!

last man back
14/01/2011, 9:22 PM
Do you really think any club cares about the oscar traynor team " el nino". Most people I talk to have very little interest in it and
most managers would prefer if there players were not involved.If its such an honour to be part of the oscar traynor set up why
was nobody interested in managing the team this year.
This problem is not just confined to the desmond league,even the Limerick and south tipp league cant always get players from there stronger clubs to commit

'El Nino'
14/01/2011, 9:54 PM
Do you really think any club cares about the oscar traynor team " el nino". Most people I talk to have very little interest in it and
most managers would prefer if there players were not involved.If its such an honour to be part of the oscar traynor set up why
was nobody interested in managing the team this year.
This problem is not just confined to the desmond league,even the Limerick and south tipp league cant always get players from there stronger clubs to commit

To answer your question in a nutshell my answer is YES. You should be dame proud of being selected in the best 11 of your league and I always wished I was good enough to be selected but never was.I think maybe most people you talk to are not/have not being selected for the team and proably know they wont. Again I think its about having the right attitude and everyone should try to better themselves! I saw the Limerick City team in the Star paper, they had a very strong team on paper. A lot of LOI experience there and they are obviously showing an interest.
Were you ever selected for the Oscar Traynor 'last man back'?

last man back
15/01/2011, 12:01 AM
Division 1 was as good as it got for me El Nino never got within an ass's roar of the oscar traynor.

Draper
15/01/2011, 2:42 PM
The farce that is the Youths league gets worse. NCW had a home game today. The away team and ref turned up, the ground was locked up and stayed locked as nobody, no player, adult or mentor turned up. The ref advised the away team to hang around till kick off, then everybody went home. NCW are certainly not the only club with problems at Youths level, ourselves included, but there is no excuse for not making a phone call to stop teams and referees traveling an hour before a game. Simple manners lads.

BlueAndWhite
15/01/2011, 4:10 PM
Same happened to us, We turned up for a cup game no manager or players were at the match so we waited til kick off and went home.

'El Nino'
15/01/2011, 9:43 PM
Draper, Im totally shocked at what you said and I can only go by what you said is true.Its a sad state of affairs for a club of the supposeable size of NCW.I find it hard to beleive all was locked up and closed on a Saturday! Was there no underages game on ?
Is the Junior Ocsor Traynor manager the same guy over the youths? I could be wrong in saying that.
Blue and Whit what game were you at?

Draper
16/01/2011, 12:04 AM
And lets not slate NCW too much about it lads, they are just one club of many including my own that are experiencing major issues with their Youths team. Yes NCW were wrong to make no phone call but the fundamental issue here is the state of the entire set up. The Desmond League commitee need to radicaly change the whole set up starting next year. Change it to an U20 league? Summer soccer? I dont know the answer but I can see there is something very very wrong here.
Draper, Im totally shocked at what you said and I can only go by what you said is true.Its a sad state of affairs for a club of the supposeable size of NCW.I find it hard to beleive all was locked up and closed on a Saturday! Was there no underages game on ?
Is the Junior Ocsor Traynor manager the same guy over the youths? I could be wrong in saying that.

BlueAndWhite
16/01/2011, 2:11 AM
Bally Rovers vs NCW in the Fai cup. On the way in i saw ncw players who would have been youths players walking around the town.
@draper changing to an u20 league wont help.What about the 17 year olds?playing against people 3 years older? that would turn off the younger players.

Draper
16/01/2011, 9:41 AM
Yeah probably not Blue and White, I dont have the answers, I just know its broke and it needs fixing.
Bally Rovers vs NCW in the Fai cup. On the way in i saw ncw players who would have been youths players walking around the town.
@draper changing to an u20 league wont help.What about the 17 year olds?playing against people 3 years older? that would turn off the younger players.

BoyBlue
16/01/2011, 11:26 AM
I agree withyou on this draper a lot of youths teams are struggling to field sides,most are using U/16 players from what I hear. the league needs to overhaul the setup and maybe look at playing Sundays. This will not be popular with some junior teams that need their youths but as a league we are loosing too many players that either work on Saturday or play other sports. As a league we might benefit from this in the longrun with more players coming through to play junior football long term. Just an Idea to let players play out their age group, Might not be the answer just my opinion.

The youths definately needs a total overaul, this was my opinion in November and i think it might be worth talking about at the AGM, but I think the powers that be won't be interested.

buddygeary23
16/01/2011, 12:43 PM
Newcastle west 4-2 askeaton

Daniel power with a hat trick and Luke o Brien...ncw up 2-0 and askeaton came back with 2 great goals..2 shots in the game and got 2 goals..good game but poor refereeing

BoyBlue
16/01/2011, 1:14 PM

Daniel power with a hat trick and Luke o Brien...ncw up 2-0 and askeaton came back with 2 great goals..2 shots in the game and got 2 goals..good game but poor refereeing

Great win for ye buddy ye must be serious contenders for the league with the squad now after the 4 players transfering back. What Happened regarding your comment about the Ref?

Harry Lime
16/01/2011, 1:53 PM
Some action from Abbeyfeale v Broadford this morning:

http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5121/5359774461_1b9945f8ed.jpg (http://www.flickr.com/photos/seanryan/sets/72157625710365079/)

BlueAndWhite
16/01/2011, 2:49 PM
Youths Division 2
Bally Rovers 1 3 Kilcornan

Munster Youths Cup 4th Round
Ferry Ranger 0 5 Killmallock

buddygeary23
16/01/2011, 2:59 PM
Great win for ye buddy ye must be serious contenders for the league with the squad now after the 4 players transfering back. What Happened regarding your comment about the Ref?<br />
<br />

Ref was very poor..we shud have got 2 or 3 penalties but were not given..both teams shud have got free kicks that weren't given..shocking altogether..any other results?

'El Nino'
16/01/2011, 4:10 PM
Abbeyfeale 2 Broadford 1
Adare 1 NCW Rovers 0
Shannonside beat Killeaney
NCW beat Askeaton
Glin and Rathkeale game called off

sky blue
16/01/2011, 6:33 PM

we are back to the whole ref thing again lads... They are a pure joke and they are a lot to do with people not getting involved in their local teams IMO.

walkover
16/01/2011, 9:56 PM
we are back to the whole ref thing again lads... They are a pure joke and they are a lot to do with people not getting involved in their local teams IMO.

Also some very bad decisions by the ref in the Adare vs Ncw Rovers game... two blatent penalties not given at both ends!

snafu
17/01/2011, 7:34 AM
Saturday 22nd January
FAI Youths Interleague trophy, Group 4
Limerick District V Limerick Desmond in Jackman Park, 730

Sunday 23rd January
Munster Junior Cup 4th Round (extra time & penalties)
Rathkeale V Abbeyfeale Utd 1130 (L. O’Connor, J. Roche, P. O’Brien)
Macroom/Douglas Hall V Killeaney 2pm

Askeaton V Shannonside FC 1130 (G. O’Connor)
Newcastle West Rovers V Newcastle West 1130 (D. O’Gorman)

St. Itas V Athea Utd 1130 (C. Dalton)
Carrig Celtic V Abbeyfeale Utd B 230 (J. Roche)
Pallaskenry V Ballingarry 1130 (T. Fitzmaurice)
Glantine V Kilcolman Rovers 1130 (S. Hartnett)
Kildimo Utd V Old Mill 1130 (N. Allen)

Knockaderry V Granagh Utd 1130 (P. O’Connor)
Newcastle West B V Rockhill Rovers 230 (P. Manning)
Rathkeale B V Breska Rovers 230 (P. King)

Ballingarry B V Broadford Utd B 230 (P. O’Brien)
Glin Rovers B V Askeaton B in Lanterns Hotel pitch 2pm (P. O’Donnell)
Bally Rovers V Shountrade 1130 (P. O’Donnell)
Adare Utd B V Ferry Rangers 230 (B. Barry)

Carrig Celtic B V Pallaskenry B 1130 (P. Manning)
Shannonside FC B V St. Itas B in Shanagolden 230 (D. Wallace)
St. Bens V Newcastle West Rovers B 230 (S. Hartnett)

FunTimes
17/01/2011, 9:52 AM

I was at the game yesterday (as an Askeaton Supporter). You are well off the mark saying they only had two shots on goals. There was at least 2 other one on one situations and they had plenty off attacking opportunities. Surprised at your comments re: the referring too. NCW players seemed more intent on moaning at the ref than playing ball. Two of the so called "penalties" were blatant dives and the lack of protest from the "fouled" player spoke volumes. The 3rd one (with the keeper) was a marginal call, which could have gone either way and don't forget that your second goal came from a crazy decision to give a free in the corner.

Congrats on the win and it was well deserved but at least get your facts right before you go mouthing off at refs and other teams.

buddygeary23
17/01/2011, 2:02 PM
The pen claim regarding the goalkeeper was a penalty.power touched the ball past te keeper and took him down so shud have been a penalty..again power fouled twice in the box by the right back and shud have been a penalty also..I actually remember ray massey having a one on one with the goalie but our centre back got back and got the ball away so I apologies on that..Good entertaining game tho

buddygeary23
17/01/2011, 2:06 PM
Saturday 22nd January
FAI Youths Interleague trophy, Group 4
Limerick District V Limerick Desmond home

Sunday 23rd January
Munster Junior Cup 4th Round (extra time & penalties)
Rathkeale V Abbeyfeale Utd 1130 home
Macroom/Douglas Hall V Killeaney 2pm home

Askeaton V Shannonside FC 1130 away
Newcastle West Rovers V Newcastle West 1130 away

St. Itas V Athea Utd 1130 (C. Dalton) draw
Carrig Celtic V Abbeyfeale Utd B 230 home
Pallaskenry V Ballingarry 1130 away
Glantine V Kilcolman Rovers 1130 away
Kildimo Utd V Old Mill 1130 home