Broadford Utd B 4 Ferry Rngs 0
Adare Utd B 0 Glin Rvs B 1

Division 4
Shannonside B 0 Glantine B 1
Carrig Cel B 2 Pallaskenry B 0
Newcastle West Rvs B 0 Athea Utd B 7

BlueAndWhite
06/03/2011, 10:47 PM
I heard recently from a Ferry Rangers player that the Desmond League think that Ferry Rangers are 'fixing' the league because they gave a walkover to Bally Rovers in Youths Division 2, because the Ferry players go to school with the Bally Rovers players. When in truth they couldn't go because they had a football match and now the Desmond League are considering if Ferry Rangers will be allowed enter a youths team next year. That is one of the stupidest things i have heard in a long time.

western gale
06/03/2011, 11:31 PM
Saturday 12th March
Desmond Cup 1st Round (extra time & penalties)
Newcastle West Rovers V Breska Rovers 230 (C. Dalton)
Bally Rovers V Killeaney 230 (P. O’Connor)
Creeves Celtic V Newcastle West 230 (J. Roche)
Carrig Celtic V Rathkeale 230 (D. Wallace)

Limerick Desmond U-17s Cup 2nd Round (extra time & penalties)
Broadford Utd V Kilcornan 230 (P. King)

Sunday 13th March
Weekly Observer Desmond Cup 3rd Round (extra time & penalties)
Newcastle West V Broadford Utd 1130 (T. Fitzmaurice)
Askeaton V St. Itas 1130 (G. O’Connor)
Newcastle West Rovers V Shannonside FC 1130 (D. O’Gorman)
Carrig Celtic V Rathkeale B 230 (P. O’Donnell)
Ballingarry V Glin Rovers B 230 (P. O’Connor)

Weekly Observer Premier Division
Adare Utd V Killeaney 1130 (P. Manning)
Glin Rovers V Rathkeale 1130 in Lanterns Hotel pitch (P. O’Brien)

Weekly Observer Division 1
Athea Utd V Pallaskenry 1130 (P. O’Donnell)
Kildimo Utd V Glantine 1130 (B. Barry)
Abbeyfeale Utd B V Kilcolman Rovers 230 (P. King)

Weekly Observer Division 2
Feenagh V Granagh Utd 1130 (J. Roche)
Creeves Celtic V Newcastle West B 230 (P. Manning)
Knockaderry V Rockhill Rovers 230 (T. Fitzmaurice)

Weekly Observer Division 3
Mountcollins V Broadford Utd B 230 (D. Wallace)
Adare Utd B V Askeaton B 230 (S. Hartnett)
Shountrade V Ferry Rangers 230 (D. O’Gorman)

Weekly Observer Division 4
Glantine B V Newcastle West Rovers B 1130 (S. Hartnett)
St. Itas B V St. Bens 230 (J. Roche)
Athea Utd B V Carrig Celtic B 230 (P. O’Brien)
Pallaskenry B V Shannonside FC B 230 in Salesians College pitch (C. Dalton)

Thursday 17th March
Limerick Desmond U-17s Cup Quarter Final (extra time & penalties)
Rathkeale V Broadford Utd/Kilcornan 230 (T. Fitzmaurice)

limkdesmond
07/03/2011, 9:39 AM
No surprises in the Desmond cup yesterday really!! Heard broadford were up 8 or 7 nil at half time..ncw match blown up 15mins early??? Rathkeale only winning 2-0 against poor side?? I see shannonside only drew with a very poor glin side..could they be falling already??

snafu
07/03/2011, 10:32 AM
When in truth they couldn't go because they had a football match and now the Desmond League are considering if Ferry Rangers will be allowed enter a youths team next year. That is one of the stupidest things i have heard in a long time.

Maybe that game could have been rearranged rather than simply giving a walkover? granted i dont know the circumstances....

Shannonside after holding a 100% record all season drew with Glin???

Desmond Cup
Newcastle West V Broadford Utd 1130 (home)
Askeaton V St. Itas 1130 (home)
Newcastle West Rovers V Shannonside FC 1130 (away)
Carrig Celtic V Rathkeale B 230 (home)
Ballingarry V Glin Rovers B 230 (home)

2 all prem ties in the desmond cup this weekend, should be crackers!

limkdesmond
07/03/2011, 12:46 PM
Yup shannonside have drawn Against Newcastle west and glin in the last 2 league games..I'm gonna go for all home victories in this weekends Desmond cup 3rd round games

walkover
08/03/2011, 11:03 AM
Yup shannonside have drawn Against Newcastle west and glin in the last 2 league games..I'm gonna go for all home victories in this weekends Desmond cup 3rd round games

I agree, I think all home wins this weekend!! Two all prem games should be good, pity they're on at the same time!
At least the games are only across the river from each other, so if one game is poor people can take the short walk over to the other!! :)

soccer8
08/03/2011, 12:03 PM
Any report from the ShannonsideVGlin Rovers last weekend? Are Glin going to push on from here should be an interesting relegation battle....

At the top if Abbeyfeale win their two games in hand they go top they look very cosistant at the moment.....

Two games in Newcastle should be crackers anything can happen in cup football......:ball:

mad4it
09/03/2011, 10:27 PM
does anyone know if theres any games on 27 march? ive heard theres none because of the john giles foundation

limkdesmond
10/03/2011, 12:11 AM
I heard the very same mad4it..heard there was no games on that date cos the the johnny giles foundation

Fly on the Wall
10/03/2011, 7:55 AM
Was at the Glin – Shannonside game last Sunday…………was a lively affair all for the wrong reasons.

Performance of the referee was nothing short of disgraceful. Shannonside took the lead & led 1nil at half time. Glin equalised midway through 2nd half from free kick however Shannonside regained the lead 10mins later. With approx 5 mins to go amidst a packed goalmouth, referee awarded Glin a penalty which they scored. What the penalty was for nobody seems to know, even when ref was asked about it, he would not say. Eventually after final whistle he explained it was for handball. From speaking to couple of Glin lads after the game they saw no handball incident, let alone the Shannonside players.

This was just one crazy decision in a string of ridiculous calls made by the referee throughout the entire game.
No action was taken on late tackles, high tackles, even an off the ball punch on one player. In fact to rub salt into the wounds the victims of these tackles were punished with yellow cards as they vented their frustration, as the culprits got off scot free.

As it turned out Glin almost snatched victory in the dying minutes, when again referee deemed the Glin forward to be onside even though every man, women, child at the lanterns pitch could clearly see player was 10-15 yards off-side. Fortunately for Shannonside the Glin player fluffed his effort.

This was a game totally spoilt by incompetent refereeing, both Glin & Shannonside deserve better. There are many fine referees in the Desmond league, but this guy is not one of them. I would question how/why he was given a game of such significance – on one side you have Shannonside top of the table pushing to win the title & Glin on the other hand fighting for their lives to maintain their premier league status. With so much at stake the game was always going to be battle and needed a strong referee that would simply take no crap.

As it turned out the referee for this game was switched mid-week which normally never happens ?? I would like to know why referee was changed mid-week & why a more competent referee was not assigned to what was a massive fixture for both teams ??

On a positive note, good to see Glin’s fighting spirit despite their bleak position on the league table. They have a strong tradition within the Desmond league & they certainly are not going to surrender their premier league status without a fight.

As a neutral & follower of Desmond league soccer for many years, I hope for football’s sake & for the overall credibility of the Des. League that Shannonside’s fate to win a Premier league title is not decided by this result as they were simply screwed last Sunday.

Have It
10/03/2011, 2:02 PM
Anyone know what the story with bookings and suspensions is this season?
I know you get a ban for clocking up 4 yellows after the next meeting, but is it like the english prem. Do you get 2 games if you get another 4 or 1 more game after 6 bookings etc.

neutral1976
10/03/2011, 2:21 PM
i would like to add to that guy earlier bout the glin/shannonside game,i was at the game as a supporter of soccer with my kid and came away from it sick after what mustr have been the most disgraceful refereeing i have ever seen,this man had no control of the game and could have been the cause of people getting seriously injured because he allowed players get away with dirty tackles and then booked players for protesting about them,shannonside v glin was always going to be a physical tough but good game as it is every time these teams play each other but when a ref has no control or not man enough to do the game fairly then i wonder why these players go out and play football evry sunday,shannonside were cheated out of 3 points by a decision to give a pealty that no one called for or even seen and he would not name the player that gave it away,the captain of shannonside went over and asked him and the ref could not say who or why he gave it,now if thats not screwing a team then wat is,i really hope glin stay up as they are too good to go down and that shannonside win the league,coz its going to b a fight to the end with the 3 teams involved,i really hpe they sort out the referees and put the proper refs with the big games

'El Nino'
10/03/2011, 10:32 PM
If Abbey had a match on Sunday moring rather than Saturday night this ref would have been doing their game and not the glin -shannonside game.
It takes alota courage for a ref to give a peno in the last few minutes of a match and whens its for apparently nothing it would make you wonder.

Draper
11/03/2011, 10:17 AM
What are this ref's initials?
If Abbey had a match on Sunday moring rather than Saturday night this ref would have been doing their game and not the glin -shannonside game.
It takes alota courage for a ref to give a peno in the last few minutes of a match and whens its for apparently nothing it would make you wonder.

'El Nino'
11/03/2011, 12:44 PM
He'd be the main man in Dallas !!! :-)

snafu
11/03/2011, 12:46 PM
Guys can we give the refs a break?
They dont go out intentionally to have bad games!
Its not them that are committing leg breaking tackles!
Its a tough enough job id imagine, its easy to point and criticise.
we've all been in matches were refeering decisions have gone both with and against us.
All you can do is get on with the game, no amount of abuse is going to change his mind (players shud realise this around U12s...)
Now im not saying refs should be absolute from blame, im sure there is some some sort of monitoring system from the league....
If a ref is not fit to ref then it is the leagues fault for hiring him(who can blame a guy 4 trying to make a few extra bob da weekend?). I wasnt at that match mentioned above so i cant possibly comment but to have to 2 first time posters come on and post after it seems like a bit of a knee jerk reaction.

in my own opinion if you deserve to win a game, you will win it..... no matter how bad the ref!

P.S. i'm not a Ref :)

Have It
11/03/2011, 1:02 PM
He'd be the main man in Dallas !!! :-)

Wouldn't say he is a bad ref. In my opinion he is one of the better ones and might just have had a bad day at the office. Seems fairly approachable too

Draper
11/03/2011, 1:45 PM
I wasnt at the game and had nothing to do with it but I agree with HAVE IT, he's a nice guy and never delibertly goes out to have a bad game.
Wouldn't say he is a bad ref. In my opinion he is one of the better ones and might just have had a bad day at the office. Seems fairly approachable too

neutral1976
11/03/2011, 3:11 PM
Yes, you are right referee's do have bad days and you have to say fair play to them for doing the games every week with the abuse they get and of course it's handy that they get a few pound as well. This is a big but, but would you actually have to have been at the game just to see how unfair this man was on this day, the Glin boys could not believe it, that he was so one sided.

I was talking to a few of their men on the side line and they thought it was disgraceful and you know that they don't say these things lightly. Yes you should win those games when you deserve to but with football you never know.

Shannonside were comfortable at 2-1 and then that decision cost them 2 points. So you cannot say that the referee can't decide who wins games or not.

So in my opinion the referee did screw Shannonside and I hope it does not cost them the league cause they are a good side.

booster 03
11/03/2011, 8:02 PM

lads quick question...why are glin so bad all of a sudden??? was it only 2 yrs ago they won the desmond cup and were they in contention for the league last yr??

BlueAndWhite
11/03/2011, 11:13 PM
They lost the 2 Sheahans would be 1 reason

'El Nino'
12/03/2011, 8:41 AM
we've all been in matches were refeering decisions have gone both with and against us.
All you can do is get on with the game, no amount of abuse is going to change his mind (players shud realise this around U12s...)
Now im not saying refs should be absolute from blame, im sure there is some some sort of monitoring system from the league....
If a ref is not fit to ref then it is the leagues fault for hiring him(who can blame a guy 4 trying to make a few extra bob da weekend?). I wasnt at that match mentioned above so i cant possibly comment but to have to 2 first time posters come on and post after it seems like a bit of a knee jerk reaction.

in my own opinion if you deserve to win a game, you will win it..... no matter how bad the ref!

P.S. i'm not a Ref :)

The man made 2 major mistakes in the last few weeks that ultimitely knocked Rathkeale out of the MJC and could cost Shannonside the league.Will we just say nothing about them and forget they happened at all!!??
Hard to win a game with 5 min to go and a peno is awarded against you for absoluetly nothing.

sky blue
12/03/2011, 12:57 PM

P.S. i'm not a Ref :)Ya the ref's are watched by a ref's inspector and what a good ref he was in his day.. We could talk about bad ref's all day. The fact is there are too many BAD one's and not enough good one,s simple as..

12/03/2011, 1:50 PM
Ya the ref's are watched by a ref's inspector and what a good ref he was in his day.. We could talk about bad ref's all day. The fact is there are too many BAD one's and not enough good one,s simple he as..

Can you make a constructive suggestion for improving the situation?

BoyBlue
12/03/2011, 3:03 PM
Can you make a constructive suggestion for improving the situation?

The fact is that the referees have nobody to answer to, yes there is an inspector but has there ever been a ref stood down for a week because of a terrible decision, I can't recall 1. Teams train hard all season and 1 call can deny maybe a deserved cup or league. Perhaps if there was somewhere that the clubs could complain to with genuine problems, not just a dodgy offside. Clubs are slow to go to the league commette as there is never any follow up as there is a shortage of refs already, thats the answer given. IMO this wuld improve the standard of refereeing in our league.

12/03/2011, 3:21 PM
The fact is that the referees have nobody to answer to, yes there is an inspector but has there ever been a ref stood down for a week because of a terrible decision, I can't recall 1. Teams train hard all season and 1 call can deny maybe a deserved cup or league. Perhaps if there was somewhere that the clubs could complain to with genuine problems, not just a dodgy offside. Clubs are slow to go to the league commette as there is never any follow up as there is a shortage of refs already, thats the answer given. IMO this wuld improve the standard of refereeing in our league.

Until there is a bit more respect shown to refs and younger men (who could keep up with the games a bit better) encouraged to take up the whistle we're going to stay where we are.You can only tell refs where to go when you have a surplus of them and then you can pick and choose.

All things considered though you still see the so called top professional refs in the Premiership/Champions League making howlers so there's no perfect answer.

BlueAndWhite
12/03/2011, 3:24 PM
Desmond Cup 1st Round
Bally Rovers 7 0 Killeaney

western gale
12/03/2011, 4:00 PM
Desmond Cup 1st Round
Newcastle West Rvs w/o from Breska Rvs
Bally Rovers 7 Killeaney 0
Creeves Cel w/o from Newcastle West
Carrig Celtic 1 Rathkeale 2

Desmond U-17 Cup 2nd Round
Broadford Utd 1 Kilcornan 2

Draper
12/03/2011, 5:34 PM
Seems everyone is moving up a year to come in line with the rest of Europe. Basicly 7 year olds will be playing under 10 next year but, crucialy, still playing against other 7 year olds as the 9 year olds will be gone up to under 12 and so on along. Its just for one year only, then they'll all be back correct in their age groups next year. In the case of 17 year olds, they would have no higher group to bump up to hence the establishment for one year of an Under 19 league. Without that 17 year olds would have nowhere to go except junior soccer and God knows enough give it up after Youths(18's) level but those 17 year olds would have this U19 league to bridge that gap.

I think its the obvious thing to do, no problem with it. Did I explain it properly/clearly?
Ya it looks like it as far as I can see, unless the desmond league start a u19 league. Mabey Draper knows something about it he
seems to be involved with the youths this year. Any opinion DRAPER

Gearysfan
13/03/2011, 12:58 PM
The man made 2 major mistakes in the last few weeks that ultimitely knocked Rathkeale out of the MJC and could cost Shannonside the league.Will we just say nothing about them and forget they happened at all!!??
Hard to win a game with 5 min to go and a peno is awarded against you for absoluetly nothing.

Lads the refs are not paid officials at all. The make mistakes which do cost teams matches but to say half way through a season that it has cost shannonside the title is a joke. If shannonside win the rest of their games then they will be champs and thats that, dont and they leave the door open for other teams to win it. Can blame a ref for losing you games you should win anyway.

To El Nino and Sky Blue i didnt hear ye complain too much a few years ago when ye scored the equaliser against NCW in the league playoff when most of ye admitted that at least 4 players were off-side for it. Now that was a decision that cost a team a title, cause that was the match for the title.

Refs can be good and bad, we just have to keep playing and do our best. Whinning like 5yr old's ain't going to get you nothing

limkdesmond
13/03/2011, 1:25 PM
Heard this morning ncw beat broadford 2-1 and shannonside beat ncw rovers 1-0..any truth in this

western gale
13/03/2011, 1:38 PM
Premier Division
Adare Utd 1 Killeaney 1
Glin Rvs 1 Rathkeale 0

western gale
13/03/2011, 1:41 PM
Shannonside beat Rovers 1-0

western gale
13/03/2011, 4:00 PM
Desmond Cup 3rd Round
Askeaton 6 St Itas 0
Newcastle West Rvs 0 Shannonside 1
Carrig Cel V Rathkeale B (Rathkeale B won on pens)
Ballingarry 1 Glin Rvs B 2 aet

western gale
13/03/2011, 4:04 PM
Premier Division
Adare Utd 1 Killeaney 1
Glin Rvs 1 Rathkeale 0

Division 1
Athea Utd 5 Pallaskenry 1
Abbeyfeale Utd B 3 Kilcolman Rvs 3

western gale
13/03/2011, 4:04 PM
Division 2
Feenagh V Granagh Utd off
Creeves Cel 2 Newcastle West B 2

Division 3
Mountcollins 1 Broadford Utd B 2
Adare Utd B 0 Askeaton B 5
Shountrade 1 Ferry Rngs 0

Division 4
Glantine B 4 Newcastle West Rvs B 0
St Itas B 0 St Bens 0
Athea Utd B 2 Carrig Cel B 0
Pallaskenry B V Shannonside B off

limkdesmond
13/03/2011, 5:00 PM
Glin rovers b 2-1 ballingarry

What a big shock...looks like rathkeale are in trouble this year over losing to Glin Rovers A today 1-0..I think they are bottom of the table!! I could be wrong..any reports from other games?

last man back
13/03/2011, 5:30 PM
Rovers v shannonside was a very tight game. Goal came 20 minutes into 2nd half, ball took a deflection from a shannonside strike and trickled into the corner of the net

snafu
14/03/2011, 11:04 AM
.Will we just say nothing about them and forget they happened at all!!??

No of course not!Bring it up with league commitee at the next meeting... but there is a shortage of refs already and seeing the amount of abuse they get week in week out i cant see many young fellas signing up to be refs... i know i wouldnt.

limkdesmond
14/03/2011, 12:02 PM
Sunday 20th march
Munster Junior Cup Quarter Final (extra time & penalties)
Abbeyfeale Utd V St. Michaels 230pm (L. O’Connor, J. Roche, B. Barry)

Weekly Observer Desmond Cup 3rd Round (extra time & penalties)
Rathkeale V Old Mill 1130 (D. O’Gorman)
Adare Utd V Rockhill Rovers 215pm (D. O’Gorman)

Weekly Observer Premier Division
Broadford Utd V Newcastle West Rovers 1100 (J. Roche)
Killeaney V Askeaton 1130 (G. O’Connor)
Glin Rovers V Newcastle West at Lanterns Hotel pitch 1130 (P. Manning)

Weekly Observer Division 1
Kilcolman Rovers V Athea Utd 1130 (S. Hartnett)
Glantine V St. Itas 230 (P. O’Connor)
Carrig Celtic V Ballingarry 2pm (G. O’Connor)

Weekly Observer Division 2
Ballysteen V Knockaderry 1130 (P. King)
Granagh Utd V Rathkeale B 230 (P. O’Brien)
Creeves Celtic V Breska Rovers 230 (T. Fitzmaurice)
Feenagh V Newcastle West B 230 (C. Dalton)

Weekly Observer Division 3
Adare Utd B V Broadford Utd B 1130 (P. O’Brien)
Bally Rovers V Mountcollins 1130 (P. O’Donnell)
Ballingarry B V Askeaton B 1130 (C. Dalton)
Ferry Rangers V Glin Rovers B 2pm (P. Manning)

Weekly Observer Division 4
Shannonside FC B V St. Bens in Shanagolden 230 (S. Hartnett)
Pallaskenry B V St. Itas B 1130 (P. O’Connor)

Friday 25th March
Reidy Cup Final

historynut
15/03/2011, 10:23 PM
BIT OF HELP PLEASE
Note from viewing Tralee Dynamoes thread, they have a team photo from 1968, titled Desmond League Tuohy Cup winners.
Was this a knock-out cup or the trophy for the then league winners. Aware the league website does have a detailed honours board from the early 1970's, but the prior period dating back to the league formation is undocumented. As the league history states league commenced mid 60's. Known that Tralee possibly Killarney participated in Desmond prior to establishment of Kerry League in 1971.
Can only assume that any Desmond clubs in existance (Askeaton, Adare NWCTWest) prior to commencement of Desmond League would have participated in the Limerick league, would anyone know of any successes in the Limerick league ? eg Prem League , Lawson Cup winners.etc

'El Nino'
16/03/2011, 10:40 PM
Why is P.O Brien doing a Div. 2 and Div. 3 game this weekend after doing a Premier game last weekend.?Just wondering how do they allocate refs?

'El Nino'
16/03/2011, 10:42 PM
Best of luck to Abbey Sunday against St Michaels.