View Full Version : Tipp South & District League 2010/11
Mega Tots
03/11/2010, 10:08 AM
[QUOTE=footballfanatic;1419784]Whats the best startin 11 out of them ye think?
ill go with:
breen
higgins---???---leahy---tobin
carr---scully---barnes
-------foggy---------
barry ryan-----paul kenneddy
I reckon that is the exact 11 he will go with...including john shanahan where you have left a space
footballfanatic
03/11/2010, 4:08 PM
its a decent team goin forward but against a good team, they could be caught defensively.
footballfanatic
03/11/2010, 11:32 PM
90 min only
Nenagh Celtic 3/1 (javascript:void(0);)Draw 5/2 (javascript:void(0);)Clonmel Town 4/6 (javascript:void(0);)
well lads?
rushy12
04/11/2010, 3:51 PM
Thats a top notch post balls..forums are to give opinions and thats what republican gave whether its right, wrong or contrversial. For megatots and stelling to take the pi55 and degrade his comments speaks alot about them. why dont we all agree to have their opinions and see what happens the forum, would be really exciting then. republican say what you want on this, thats whats its for. dont stop posting on behalf of know it alls.
hooper74
04/11/2010, 4:17 PM
90 min only
Nenagh Celtic 3/1 (http://javascript%3Cb%3E%3C/b%3E:void%280%29;)Draw 5/2 (http://javascript%3Cb%3E%3C/b%3E:void%280%29;)Clonmel Town 4/6 (http://javascript%3Cb%3E%3C/b%3E:void%280%29;)
well lads?
3/1 is a very big price about Nenagh Celtic
mr. man
05/11/2010, 11:47 AM
3/1 is a very big price about Nenagh Celtic
Where are you getting them odds ?
Hungry Hill
05/11/2010, 12:13 PM
Paddy Power website has odds for several of the Fai junior cup matches this weekend and outright winners odds too.
stelling
05/11/2010, 7:27 PM
[QUOTE=hooper74;1420660]3/1 is a very big price about Nenagh Celtic[/QUOTE
With the weather conditions and the forecast for Sunday if Town were to go behind they may not get back into the game on that pitch,will it definitely be played? If Town get an early goal they should be ok
Where are you getting them odds ?
local bookie will give ya 4/1 if asked.game will go ahead lads for definate
footballfanatic
05/11/2010, 10:20 PM
Paddy Power website has odds for several of the Fai junior cup matches this weekend and outright winners odds too.
Am i the only one who thinks 25/1 on st michaels is a lovely lovely piece of value.
Mega Tots
06/11/2010, 4:21 PM
local bookie will give ya 4/1 if asked.game will go ahead lads for definate
At that price i would like to be on Nenagh tomorrow and from what i hear Town are missing one or two important players tomorrow
ComeOnTownNow
06/11/2010, 7:42 PM
Town have a full squad so thats untrue megatots
celticlads
06/11/2010, 8:39 PM
[QUOTE=hooper74;1420660]3/1 is a very big price about Nenagh Celtic[/QUOTE
With the weather conditions and the forecast for Sunday if Town were to go behind they may not get back into the game on that pitch,will it definitely be played? If Town get an early goal they should be ok
Ya our pitch is terrible alright, 1st goal is a must for us and if we get it i think we can win the game, looking forward to the game.
stelling
07/11/2010, 4:42 PM
Just heard Clonmel Town won 3-2 after extra time, Barry Ryan with 2 extra time goals,any reports??
ComeOnTownNow
07/11/2010, 5:23 PM
well i hope that shuts up all the barry ryan doubters after today, i was at the game and his two goals were two superb finishes, the header was brilliant. i must also say now that one or two of the refereeing decisions were scandalous, the penalty given to nenagh in the last minute was a blatant hometown decision and derek loughnane should have been awarded a stone wall penalty and was never given it, glad to get out of there with a result, fair play to the nenagh lads, not one bit bitter, took their beaten...
celticlads
07/11/2010, 6:17 PM
great game of football best of luck in the next round,hopefully we meet again because its always a good game. have to say we missed some great chances but as you said no bitterness just sick ye got the better of us again. our 1st goal was serious, jimmy hynes scored it and had a great game for us aswell. about the penos tony was very silly and ye should of had 1 also, overall feeling is disappointment but i think that will drive uson for the rest of the year.
sounds like great game up in nenagh, north tipp also took 2 tsdl scalps today with wildies and rosegreen going out in the fai , maybe not as big a gap between the 2 leagues as some on here like to think, 5 spots up for grabs now in next round for out of town stages of fai, if nenagh afc, town,saints, clonmel celtic avoid each other in round 4 cant see any of other teams left in north/south tipp troubling them. that leaves 1 other spot , anybody any suggestions on who they think will get that
hooper74
07/11/2010, 11:46 PM
well i hope that shuts up all the barry ryan doubters after today, i was at the game and his two goals were two superb finishes, the header was brilliant. i must also say now that one or two of the refereeing decisions were scandalous, the penalty given to nenagh in the last minute was a blatant hometown decision and derek loughnane should have been awarded a stone wall penalty and was never given it, glad to get out of there with a result, fair play to the nenagh lads, not one bit bitter, took their beaten...
Haha wishful thinking,if that boy scored 40 goals...which he probably will do this season...it would not get him a break,they try and say he doesnt do it in big games,they dont get any bigger than today,Town almost crashed out of the cup they cherish so much,you have to admire Town's battling qualities,how often do they survive those type of games,if it wasnt Ryan today it would have been Scully etc
daz22
08/11/2010, 11:23 AM
felt we left it behind us V Clonmel. was an entertaining game.The difference was Clonmel took their chances where as we didnt.Barry Ryan had two quality finishes.Richie Ryan made 3,4 excellent saves in the game.Jimmy Hynes scored some goal for us from distance.We passed the ball well on the day but what could have turned the game was the subs brought on in the game.Town had stronger bench as we had few out injured and 2 of the subs scored the goals.we wish clonmel town all the best in future rounds.
Tipp Cup draw
Moyglass United v Vee Rovers
Two Mile Borris v St. Michael's
Ballingarry Albion v Old Bridge
Peake Villa v Clerihan
Dualla v St. Michael's B
Cashel Town B v Kilmanahan United
Byes: Bansha Celtic, Cashel Town, Clonmel Celtic, Clonmel Town, Clonmel Town B, Dundrum, Galbally United, Glen Villa, St. Nicholas, Wilderness Rovers
Can somebody tell me the reason why 10 teams got a bye, It makes no sense at all.
footballfanatic
08/11/2010, 10:01 PM
it will work out with 16 teams left which is what they needed but i agree it is still a load of ****** all the same. But i suppose if its a open draw, its fair. was that on the radio tonight it was?
Borris v st michaels is probably the best tie there.
Also, are there no fixtures down for next week? whats that about!!!
tipp man
09/11/2010, 7:11 AM
Is next week Oscar Traynor weekend?
ComeOnTownNow
09/11/2010, 7:36 AM
Yes, its oscar weekend this weekend
footballfanatic
09/11/2010, 8:26 AM
Arra jayses lads, i no of a division 1 club who have only played 1 match in the last 4/5 weeks and theres probably more like them, and deedin they dont have an oscar traynor player on the squad. Not really right is it, probly be playin over christmas then at ****** times.
tipp man
09/11/2010, 9:53 AM
TIPPERARY AREA--W.W.E.C.
4th Round
1 Arra Rovers v St.Nicholas F.C.
2 St.Michaels v Clonmel Celtic
3 Ballingarry Alb v Moneygall F.C.
4 Galbally F.C. or Old Bridge v Clonmel Town
5 Cloughjordan v Nenagh F.C.
ComeOnTownNow
09/11/2010, 2:50 PM
our wonderful tsdl committee do come up with some beauties alright, sure town and michaels had to play the day of the all ireland final, 2 weeks later both teams had a free sunday! doesnt make sense!
footballfanatic
09/11/2010, 4:51 PM
That was crazy playin it that weekend, the best weekend of my life seein tipp win that match and there was lads sloggin away playin a match the same mornin, if i played with either team, i wouldnt be there not a chance.
I really dont get that oscar trainor excuse for division 1 matches though, pure sickner.
there are 4 games on in tsdl division 1 this week so dunno what yer giving out about, footballfanatic if you played for town or saints that fixture could define who wins the league, so great and all being at all ireland if i was saints player id rather look back in years to come and say i have tsdl premier league medal than say i was at all ireland final.
West Hammer
09/11/2010, 5:21 PM
Don't panic Lads! Full fixture list for this Sunday. There is even a Premier game Cashel v.s Cahir. There must have been a problem tying down Refs for a couple of the matches. Same Fixtures as listed on last weeks TSDL site, so we all knew what games were on this weekend just not the kick off times or refs.
footballfanatic
09/11/2010, 5:27 PM
I just see this now west hammer and balls, thanks, proper order too.
Balls, thats rediculous, the greatest day in the history of tipperary since 1991 and theres a soccer match clashing at same time. Fare play to the lads for playin that but jesus, i dunno how they did.
ComeOnTownNow
09/11/2010, 8:41 PM
when some people have 6 + medals whats another one, id rather see tipp wipe the smirk off the kilkenny faces any day of the week :)
footballfanatic
09/11/2010, 8:46 PM
haha if only clonmel could contribute to it ;-)
ComeOnTownNow
09/11/2010, 9:01 PM
contribute to what??
footballfanatic
10/11/2010, 8:14 AM
contribute to beatin kk, for two big towns such as clonmel and tipp town, neither had 1 hurler ;-)
Tipp Top
10/11/2010, 9:50 AM
Lads its a football forum not a Tipp hurling one so leave it out, anyway its irrelevant what town contributed to beating KK. Im sure the Tipp Players were very gratefull of the support that they recieved from both Clonmel and Tipperary Town supporters.
ComeOnTownNow
10/11/2010, 10:07 PM
we win munsters and fai's in clonmel and tipp town, we are traditionally a soccer stronghold, when was the last time a team from outside clonmel or tipp town won a munster or fai competition? has it even happened?
Tipperary_Man
11/11/2010, 9:58 AM
Peake Villa Youths won the Munster Youths Cup if I am not mistaken...................
Quietman
11/11/2010, 11:23 AM
Peake Villa Youths won the Munster Youths Cup if I am not mistaken...................
Twice according to MFA website 00-01 & 01-02. Were many of that team from Thurlas though?? And how many of that team are still with the Club?? Very few....if any I'd reckon. Didn't Cashel try something similar a few years back, bringing players in from outside the community and ignoring talented local players, such was the desire for silverware. This kind of behaviour, in the long run is damaging to Clubs..................
Tipp Top
11/11/2010, 12:06 PM
Many of those players were from Thurles and a small few of them are still with the club. The Cashel team that got to the final also had players from Cashel playing with them so you had better check your research better. If a team hopes to progress and win medals they need to bring in outside players Clonmel Towns squad consists of 7 players who are not from Clonmel and Saints Squad consists of 7 players from outside of Tipp town. Any manager that gets up of his ... to sign players is entitled to bring in who he wants and fair play to him for it. Maybe your just bitter that your club who ever that is isn't winning anything.
cufc champions
11/11/2010, 12:20 PM
Many of those players were from Thurles and a small few of them are still with the club. The Cashel team that got to the final also had players from Cashel playing with them so you had better check your research better. If a team hopes to progress and win medals they need to bring in outside players Clonmel Towns squad consists of 7 players who are not from Clonmel and Saints Squad consists of 7 players from outside of Tipp town. Any manager that gets up of his ... to sign players is entitled to bring in who he wants and fair play to him for it. Maybe your just bitter that your club who ever that is isn't winning anything.
Its morally wrong at youth level, i am totally against any underage player moving clubs for medals trials or caps they should be playing football with their mates plain and simple
Quietman
11/11/2010, 1:02 PM
Just giving my opinion, but I seem to have hit a little nerve!! If memory serves me correct both Peake and Cashel had very few players on those teams that had come throught their respective schoolboy teams.....the majority had been poached with the promise of success and the possibility of progressing to a higher level of football........ I think Cashel actually toyed with the idea of entering the Loi U19 league. As for me being bitter.........grow up kid!! Peolple are entitled to opinions whether you agree or disagree, but don't get personal with your comments!
Quietman
11/11/2010, 1:05 PM
Its morally wrong at youth level, i am totally against any underage player moving clubs for medals trials or caps they should be playing football with their mates plain and simple
Couldn't agree more. It should be about enjoyment of the game and the developement of young players. Not the desire of a manager or Club to win at all costs!! As I said earlier, it's damaging to Clubs in the long run!
Referee09
11/11/2010, 1:45 PM
For anyone who thinks they could do better than the guy in the middle every Sunday, there is a Referees Course being run in Co Tipperary at the end of this month (27th Nov). Even if you only wish to learn the Laws of the Game from the refs view contact your local Referee Branch. Course is of great benefit to Club Officials and those who wish to take up refereeing.......No's can be found on www.tsdl.ie/referees (http://www.tsdl.ie/referees)
Tipp Top
11/11/2010, 1:54 PM
I see your point and take it on board but IL give you an example of Tipperary’s most successful player Shane Long. Shane signed for St Michaels when he was 14 from St Kevin’s. I ask you if Shane had of stayed playing with St Kevin’s and not signed for Saints would he be where he is today? He got the best of coaching at Saints; got the chance to play in the latter stages of National cup competitions, all of this developed his game. This meant he would be seen by Irish scouts and Scouts from foreign clubs. With the greatest of respect to St Kevin’s Would he have got those opportunities playing with his friends at St Kevin’s would he have been able to develop into a better player if he had of stayed at St Kevin’s. A player will develop more when he is playing with good players around him and is playing against some of the best players in the country at that particular age. If he or any other player waits until they are a junior player to better themselves then they very likely won’t get the opportunities they would have got had they moved earlier in their career?
rushy12
11/11/2010, 2:18 PM
Twice according to MFA website 00-01 & 01-02. Were many of that team from Thurlas though?? And how many of that team are still with the Club?? Very few....if any I'd reckon. Didn't Cashel try something similar a few years back, bringing players in from outside the community and ignoring talented local players, such was the desire for silverware. This kind of behaviour, in the long run is damaging to Clubs..................
This is a great post and explains alot about whats happening junior football at the moment, clubs are being damaged at the moment for looking for instant success which leads to bringing in every decent player from outside a town, who stays for 1 to 2 seasons and leaves the club. These clubs should be working with the players at a younger level and then if they are lucky they will get 4 or 5 players for the future. Take Michaels for example they have one player from the town on the 1st 11!maybe 3 or 4 on the panel..is that right?success is everything but morals are needed too. How many people go watch matches now? From what I hear about that new club in tipp there is twice the amount of people watching them than saints?any truth in that?only inquiring not stirring..
Quietman
11/11/2010, 2:59 PM
I see your point and take it on board but IL give you an example of Tipperary’s most successful player Shane Long. Shane signed for St Michaels when he was 14 from St Kevin’s. I ask you if Shane had of stayed playing with St Kevin’s and not signed for Saints would he be where he is today? He got the best of coaching at Saints; got the chance to play in the latter stages of National cup competitions, all of this developed his game. This meant he would be seen by Irish scouts and Scouts from foreign clubs. With the greatest of respect to St Kevin’s Would he have got those opportunities playing with his friends at St Kevin’s would he have been able to develop into a better player if he had of stayed at St Kevin’s. A player will develop more when he is playing with good players around him and is playing against some of the best players in the country at that particular age. If he or any other player waits until they are a junior player to better themselves then they very likely won’t get the opportunities they would have got had they moved earlier in their career?
Fair point Tipptop, But I think it's fair to say that maybe the bigger Clubs, 5-6 years ago had better standard of coaching available to them. I think now, because of the Fai grassroot coaching programmes that even the rural Clubs have experienced coaches who can help develop youngsters. The question I'd ask you is, do you think St. Michaels had Shane Longs interests at heart,or do you think they just wanted to win win win?? I'd have no problem with a Club helping to develop a young player further than what his parent club is capable of............. If this was done with the approval of the parent club......
Tipp Top
11/11/2010, 3:43 PM
If I am to be totally honest I think that the grass root coaching programme has brought a hell of a lot of bad coaches into the game. People now think that if they have a level 1 badge that they are the next Jose Mourinho. I have never seen so many people to try jump on the band wagon and say they are a qualified coach when really they have no experience at all. There is people now coaching in some of the clubs that never played the game or had an interest in the game up until recently. These same people now think they are the greatest thing since sliced pan all because they got a level 1 coaching badge. I would much rather see somebody who had played the game and had a good knowledge of football coaching my son than some of the people that are out there now. I was down at the Kennedy cup Last year, I was horrified at what I heard and saw some of the managers doing and I’m sad to say the TSSDL management team was in that category. I still think that the bigger clubs have better coaches in place and the reason is they bring back old players to get involved.
There can be no doubt that Saints signed Shane as they hoped he would help them win things, but they took him under their wing and looked after him very well. In situations like that its win win for both player and club. Personally I don’t think it should matter if the parent club approve as no club has a divine right to any player.
ComeOnTownNow
11/11/2010, 3:45 PM
hey you want to send a few of the referees to that course while your at it
ComeOnTownNow
11/11/2010, 3:48 PM
well said tipp top, agree with you about the coaches who never stepped a foot on a pitch in their life, most of them do get involved because their son are involved, fair play to them for doing it but as you said you would prefer to have your son coached by someone who played the game
Tipp Top
11/11/2010, 4:00 PM
well said tipp top, agree with you about the coaches who never stepped a foot on a pitch in their life, most of them do get involved because their son are involved, fair play to them for doing it but as you said you would prefer to have your son coached by someone who played the game
The same people will leave the club when their son gets bored of playing or if another manager doesn't select their son, These people are no good to any club. Your club is a club that I admire as any schoolboy game I go to see involving Town Their is always ex players involved. These same players don't need any badges to prove their worth.