View Full Version : Tipp South & District League 2010/11
MerchantsView
16/01/2011, 8:30 PM
Just looking through the forum and i was recently on hurlings equilvalent premierview. I noticed that there is absolutly no talk about upcoming soccer players in south tipp on this much ? whereas nearly most of premierview is just that. Id love to see people discussing south tipps next big thing. All good comments obvouisly about them.
footballfanatic
17/01/2011, 11:31 AM
This seems very differnet here merchantsview, a small amount of consistent posters are here and all are from the same few clubs in premier league. I agree with ya about knowing who might be the next big thing, but the fact is, the answer we will here will more than likely be a player from st mchaels or clonmel town as that is where majority of posters are form. Tis very different to the premierview. I could name put a few names who are gonna be the next best thing but probably all posters here will have never heard of them.
Ps, timber would like your name ;)
stelling
17/01/2011, 4:08 PM
Based on that performance yesterday Clonmel Town will not be winning anything this season,seem to have gone backwards,didnt create a single opportunity in 90 mins other than a goal from a long throw in,if Carew had of taken one of those glorious chances at the end Town would be out and without being disrespectful against a very average side,Evan Mcguire was one of the few plus points for town,Stephen Ryan,Barry Ryan,Tony Scully were all anonymous,although in fairness to Scully he made a great run for the penalty
tipp man
17/01/2011, 7:24 PM
Very nice tribute to Liam Delahunty on the radio tonight. Very fitting.
Soccer Fan
18/01/2011, 10:36 AM
Very nice tribute to Liam Delahunty on the radio tonight. Very fitting.
Sorry I missed that- but I would be surprised if it wasnt. Ronan Quirke is excellent
complexman
19/01/2011, 6:48 AM
Sorry I missed that- but I would be surprised if it wasnt. Ronan Quirke is excellent
Glad to hear that they did that for Liam Delahunty- he was a lovely man. Your right Soccer Fan, Ronan Quirke is very good and no better man to speak about the work and life of Liam Delahunty.
Redman028
19/01/2011, 11:23 AM
I noticed a few new names down for reffing this Sunday! Best of luck to them if they are indeed new to refereeing, Its good to see :)
West Hammer
19/01/2011, 6:21 PM
I noticed a few new names down for reffing this Sunday! Best of luck to them if they are indeed new to refereeing, Its good to see :)
I was talking to a ref last Sunday and he said they had 5 or 6 new refs, hope players and coaches give them a chance as they are bound to be nervous.
footballfanatic
19/01/2011, 7:06 PM
ya best of luck to them, be a great job i think once they are enjoying it...also notice, the tsdl website put up a rule about touching referees. Minimum 12 month ban.
MerchantsView
19/01/2011, 8:37 PM
This seems very differnet here merchantsview, a small amount of consistent posters are here and all are from the same few clubs in premier league. I agree with ya about knowing who might be the next big thing, but the fact is, the answer we will here will more than likely be a player from st mchaels or clonmel town as that is where majority of posters are form. Tis very different to the premierview. I could name put a few names who are gonna be the next best thing but probably all posters here will have never heard of them.
Ps, timber would like your name ;)
ya suppose your right. Theres a big contrast in the "advertisment" of players in the GAA than in Tsdl.
he sure would
Redman028
19/01/2011, 10:59 PM
ya best of luck to them, be a great job i think once they are enjoying it...also notice, the tsdl website put up a rule about touching referees. Minimum 12 month ban.
I think there was a few 12 month bans handed out recently for incidents before xmas! Anyway best of luck to new guys in the middle. Its good to see new faces and lets hope they get off to a good start on Sunday.
footballfanatic
20/01/2011, 5:29 PM
Ya redman, i heard of a player getting an 18month ban, very strong ban. Also heard of a team been thrown out a competition because of one of these incidents. They will surely be allowed back in with an appeal.
I'd imagine 'Town will need to up their game from last weekend if they expect to win on Sunday. Must admit it was my first time seeing them this season but I was very disappointed in their performance. The centre of midfield was very flat - Comerford didn't look any great shakes and Stephen Ryan looks even less fit than last year - just not up to it. Would still have John Shanahan in midfield every time with Raymie back in centre of defence. Was Ian Barnes out injured - himself and Ian Cleary are 2 experienced players who should be starting these games. Quinlivan & McGrath were the only positives. Hopefully just an off day not helped by not playing for a few weeks previously. Very small crowd there last week (compared to usually just small crowd!) doesn't help I'm sure - Town can be prone to complacency if not 'gee-ed up'. Weather good for Sunday (if pitch not frozen or fog bound) so fingers crossed for good game.
Tipp Top
21/01/2011, 11:56 AM
I'd imagine 'Town will need to up their game from last weekend if they expect to win on Sunday. Must admit it was my first time seeing them this season but I was very disappointed in their performance. The centre of midfield was very flat - Comerford didn't look any great shakes and Stephen Ryan looks even less fit than last year - just not up to it. Would still have John Shanahan in midfield every time with Raymie back in centre of defence. Was Ian Barnes out injured - himself and Ian Cleary are 2 experienced players who should be starting these games. Quinlivan & McGrath were the only positives. Hopefully just an off day not helped by not playing for a few weeks previously. Very small crowd there last week (compared to usually just small crowd!) doesn't help I'm sure - Town can be prone to complacency if not 'gee-ed up'. Weather good for Sunday (if pitch not frozen or fog bound) so fingers crossed for good game.
Against Cashel Barnes came on for 10 minutes and looked half a stone overweight,Town scored with 3 minutes to go and Cashel were missing Henry Flynn,Colin Bargary and a couple more,something just not right with Town
Chops
22/01/2011, 11:45 PM
Towns problem is that the same 11 havent started consecutive games yet,theres far to much rotation going on,dropping Raymie Condon could of been suicidal last week at this stage of the year surely Jamie O Flaherty should know his best 11 players in saying that for all the criticism there still in with a chance of winning everything so i wouldnt be saying things are to wrong,training is going well and team moral is good as bad as some people say they are playing there still grinding out results which is a good thing.....To answer you Galla Micky Comeford had just come back from a 3week cruise and it was a surprise to see him start he is a quality player personally i think tho Raymie and Barnesy have to start there to good and experienced to be left on the bench,i predict a 3-1 win for Town on Sunday
stelling
23/01/2011, 11:07 AM
Im going to go with Clonmel Town to win 2-0 and Saint Michaels to win 1-0,best of luck to all involved,keep the flag flying for the TSDL
footballfanatic
23/01/2011, 12:10 PM
Ill predict clonmel town to be beatin after extratime. it will be a draw after 90.
st michaels to win 3nil.
Well Town certainly turned on the style today,it was an excellent performance from start to finish running out 3-0 winners although it took them a long time to get the 2nd the result never really looked in doubt,interesting to see Raymie Condon again on the bench without been brought on as was Barry Ryan.
stelling
23/01/2011, 5:48 PM
Well Town certainly turned on the style today,it was an excellent performance from start to finish running out 3-0 winners although it took them a long time to get the 2nd the result never really looked in doubt,interesting to see Raymie Condon again on the bench without been brought on as was Barry Ryan.
Smurf was in his clothes as well,Barry Ryan was taken off last week and was not playing well,he was warming up to come on at the start of the second half but as soon as the 2 quick goals went in he actually went to the dressing room,Raymie probably does'nt play every game at this stage i would imagine,Trim were poor side but Town never looked in danger,Saints had a big win as well 6-0,hopefully this is the year one of them lifts the FAI
Smurf was in his clothes as well,Barry Ryan was taken off last week and was not playing well,he was warming up to come on at the start of the second half but as soon as the 2 quick goals went in he actually went to the dressing room,Raymie probably does'nt play every game at this stage i would imagine,Trim were poor side but Town never looked in danger,Saints had a big win as well 6-0,hopefully this is the year one of them lifts the FAIRumour has it that Smurf has packed it in dont think he was best pleased about been dropped last week which is a shame yea Trim were very poor but to be fair Town can only beat whats in front of them and done it with some good football,Michaels had a great win to as you say and havin seen them play i must say they look strong,Town are away to Rock Celtic next round it looks like saturday week under lights which should be interesting.They need another good performance like today to beat them.Wilderness Rovers dreadful run continues in the league beatin again by cashel i think they have to be careful or they could be sucked into a relegation battle there struggling to get teams together for games which is a shame after the excellent start they had its a habit thats in the club every year players seem to lose interest mid way during the year for some reason...Galbally lost which surely will see them go down.
To answer you Galla Micky Comeford had just come back from a 3week cruise and it was a surprise to see him start he is a quality player
3 week cruise eh - no wonder the poor divil didn't look right !! Seriously though a much better performance yesterday - could have scored twice what they did. All played well with Evan Maguire and particularly Tony Scully very good. If they can keep the squad happy (previous comments wouldn't inspire confidence) and get home ties in future rounds they could go on again in both cups.
balls
27/01/2011, 12:08 PM
has aaron moroney signed for saints?
anyone from lower divisions on this how did the 4 or 5 new refs in Tsdl go last weekend? cant say i recognise any of the names where abouts are the lads from?
Anyone know when Tipp Cup draw is on?
nononsense
27/01/2011, 1:44 PM
has aaron moroney signed for saints?
anyone from lower divisions on this how did the 4 or 5 new refs in Tsdl go last weekend? cant say i recognise any of the names where abouts are the lads from?
Anyone know when Tipp Cup draw is on?
The answers to your questions are as follows -
(1) Yes, Aaron Moroney has signed for St.Michaels.
(2) I heard all the new referees did fine last Sunday. Fergal Horgan, who is from Dundrum I think, refereed a youths game on Saturday and refereed the county under 21 county final on Sunday between Kilruane McDonaghs and Thurles Sarsfields. He did an excellent job in youth game and was highly praised for his handling of the U21 final also.
(3) The cup draws are on Tipp FM on Monday night 7pm.
footballfanatic
27/01/2011, 3:52 PM
I didnt know fergal horgan is reffin the soccer now. He is one of the future top referees in the gaa and been tipped to ref an all ireland in the future. Fare play to him, i didnt think he was a soccer man at all.
Was aaron moroney with any club previously, will take him a few weeks to get into saints team but i expect him to be a hugh player for them in a months time if fit.
few good games this weekend, wilderness need the win to secure safety. peake and celtic will be a good one buti think peake will have too much class and win about 3-1. Saints v borris has the makings of a good one aswell and maybe even a shock. Borris gave saints b a good hidin the other week so should be a close one. Thatwould be my shock of the weekend, a borris win.
nononsense
27/01/2011, 7:04 PM
I didnt know fergal horgan is reffin the soccer now. He is one of the future top referees in the gaa and been tipped to ref an all ireland in the future. Fare play to him, i didnt think he was a soccer man at all.
Was aaron moroney with any club previously, will take him a few weeks to get into saints team but i expect him to be a hugh player for them in a months time if fit.
few good games this weekend, wilderness need the win to secure safety. peake and celtic will be a good one buti think peake will have too much class and win about 3-1. Saints v borris has the makings of a good one aswell and maybe even a shock. Borris gave saints b a good hidin the other week so should be a close one. Thatwould be my shock of the weekend, a borris win.
Yea, I was surprised at Fergal Horgan refereeing soccer as well. Like you, I heard he is man on way to top with GAA so I wonder how long TSDL will have him.
I think Aaron Moroney wasn't signed with anybody. He got a bad injury last season and doubtful if he would be fit enough for this season. Maybe he will give it a go but hard to see him break into the present Saints team. Is he even back training.
Yes, you could be right re Borris and a shock win over St.Michaels. Heard Saints are giving all the ''fringe'' players a run and resting most of the regulars. They don't have a great record in the Tipp cup -don't seem to take it seriously.
Big game for me is Cahir Park versus Clonmel Town. It is a must win for both. Cahir are not as bad as league position suggests but if Town field full strength team cannot see them beaten.
Pearoso27
28/01/2011, 6:38 AM
Just unsubscribed myself from this thread by mistake so i have to post something to get back in the loop! Tough games for Saints and Town but i suspect they both will win!
stelling
28/01/2011, 4:17 PM
No matter what 11 saints decide to go with they will have way too much for Borris and i could see Celtic and Villa playing out a high scoring draw
doubt saints will put out weakened team , im sure the tipp cup will be a welcome piece of silverware in cooke park this season if they manage to win it. borris will give them a game but i fancy saints to win maybe 3-1. celtic and peake has high scoring draw written all over it as stelling saiid. i think town will beat cahir 4-1, cahir are decent side but after last weeks win you would expect town to kick on from here, lot of good players on the bench at town so pressure will be on lads to perform and dont think cahirs defence will hold tony scully, ian cleary etc.wilderness to beat galbally 3-1, wildies badly need the points are in a bit of a rut at present but 3 points here should make them safe.
no one on here talking bout lower divisions this season. Division 1 is very competitive all teams very even say apart from borris who should win league handy enough and kilmanahan certs to go down. so that leaves other 7 teams in with a shout of promotion if they can put a run together
after that in my opinion division 4 prob toughest division. Clerihan, tipp town fc , dualla and ballypatrick are all good sides making a very competive league with good standard.
footballfanatic
28/01/2011, 5:14 PM
I wouldnt say borris have the league wrapped up just yet, st nicholas are a decent side and am sure will give them a good battle. I expect the 2 of them to go up but not sure which will win out the league. They havent played each other yet and are still waiting to play each other in shield final aswell. If oldbridge can ge t a bit of a run going, they will battle for second place, i cant believe they have only 5 league games played. St michaels b could be in danger of relegation aswell which would be a suprise, who knows they might run off the pitch if somethin like it was to happen ;)
Also balls, i agree about division 4, it sure is stronger than ever this year with the 4 teams you mentioned, (clerihan and tipp town have added to it well). Another team you did not mention is peake villa b, i think they will sneak second place...iv a friend involved with the club and if you heard the team they have for there home matches, tis serious. Only problem is they dont have that team for away matches. A few players playing with them that could almost play premier league.
nononsense
28/01/2011, 5:23 PM
The problem with the First division is how many of the teams really want to be promoted. Borris look like the only club anxious to go up. St.Michaels B cannot go up and anyway are struggling to survive at the moment. Kilmanahan and Saints B are my tips to go down and neither will be bothered about that. So that leaves six. I am aware some, (most), of those do not want to go up to the Premier.
West Hammer
28/01/2011, 9:12 PM
You can see why some teams do not want to go up to premier. They have no chance of winning it, they then miss out on 2 other chances for smaller clubs to win silverware each season the Shield and Paddy Purtell Cup and they will get about 6 - 10 fewer matches and have to wait weeks for games when bigger clubs get FAI and Munster Cup runs. Unless Clubs have a strong squad going up it can brake a clubs and it's players morale and the 1 or 2 players that are up to premier standard will be away when they fall back into Div 1.
nononsense
28/01/2011, 10:09 PM
You can see why some teams do not want to go up to premier. They have no chance of winning it, they then miss out on 2 other chances for smaller clubs to win silverware each season the Shield and Paddy Purtell Cup and they will get about 6 - 10 fewer matches and have to wait weeks for games when bigger clubs get FAI and Munster Cup runs. Unless Clubs have a strong squad going up it can brake a clubs and it's players morale and the 1 or 2 players that are up to premier standard will be away when they fall back into Div 1.
Totally agree. Hasn't it happened over the past few seasons. Look at Rosegreen - almost went out of football (or did they actually) when in Premier. St.Nicholas had a terrible season when they went up and dread the thought of going up again. Look at Galbally this season. They had an excellent season last year and really enjoyed it in division one - doubt they are enjoying their season in Premier and will look forward to getting out of it. Fact is the divide between the best in Premier and division one is huge and most teams in first division are well aware of that.
Chops
29/01/2011, 12:15 AM
Very good competitions in the lower divisions this year division 4 seems to be very close,also division 2 has really took shape with 3 teams it looks like left in the shake up for the title,Clonmel Town B,Killenaule and Cashel Town B are fighting this one out with a few games left some very good football been played in this division a welcome sight sometimes the lower divisions are criticised for the standard of football but i think they deserve credit also when good football is been played.
nononsense
29/01/2011, 11:54 AM
Very good competitions in the lower divisions this year division 4 seems to be very close,also division 2 has really took shape with 3 teams it looks like left in the shake up for the title,Clonmel Town B,Killenaule and Cashel Town B are fighting this one out with a few games left some very good football been played in this division a welcome sight sometimes the lower divisions are criticised for the standard of football but i think they deserve credit also when good football is been played.
Again would agree totally. The difference in standard from first to second to third to fourth division is relatively close exciting and competitive. The difference between Premier and First division is much greater and this is what makes the first division not so competitive - because some clubs (most) do not want to go up.
Again would agree totally. The difference in standard from first to second to third to fourth division is relatively close exciting and competitive. The difference between Premier and First division is much greater and this is what makes the first division not so competitive - because some clubs (most) do not want to go up.Yea would agree with ya on that,personally i think they should try run some kind of shield in the premier league you could exclude Clonmel Town and St.Michaels i know some people might say it may devalue such a competition but personally i dont think it would it gives the lesser teams extra games and gives them a realistic chance of some silverware also what would yer views be on the B teams that win the 1st division been allowed to get promoted my point been that you may get 2 B teams who come 1st and 2nd in the league and then were in a situation where the 3rd and 4th place teams get promoted and will struggle really bad in the premier league which wouldnt been doing them any good....Any thoughts on this
West Hammer
29/01/2011, 7:14 PM
There is no way any League could have both an A & B team from the same Club. What if the title was decided by the result of a Clubs A v's B team result. Every other team in that league would have the argument that Clubs B teams were not trying as hard against their own Clubs A Team as other teams in the League. The whole integrity of the final table would always be questioned.
if top 4 from prem go into john delaney, why cant bottom 4 go into there own pre season tournament, 2 semis and a fnal. at least premier players from lesser premier division clubs will have something to show for there season then like they would if they were in division 1 where they have realistic chance of winning paddy purtill cup and division 1 shield. just an idea
Redman028
30/01/2011, 9:41 AM
In my opinion The A and B teams should be seperate...You should sign for either A or B side cause i think its a joke that a B team can pack its players with A team players just cause the "A" team have a Sunday off... im know there is the 5 game rule but thats no good to a team who loses pts at the start of season to a "B" team and it costs them promotion at the end!
footballfanatic
30/01/2011, 5:48 PM
as predicted by others above, celtic-peake is a nailed on score draw and ye were right :) sounded like a good game.
clonmel town also got the win at cahir, thats a big one, gonna be an exciting finish to season.
saints beat borris 4-2, saints were 2up after a shockin error from keeper but borris fought back to bring it to 2-2. And had chances to go ahead. Then saints got asoft goal and were in cruise control from here on. Not sure who the saints center forward was but he got all 4 goals. Blondie ivors and richie mccarhty with the borris goals. Foggy or paul breen did not play.
tipp town fc won 11nil :O
Tipp Top
05/02/2011, 9:20 PM
well done to town in fai tonight. I heard from town supporters that negativity almost cost them again when they tried to sit on a lead when they were in cruise control,he needs to let the team play.
West Hammer
06/02/2011, 6:24 PM
Both Gallbaly and Cahir now confirmed as going down as league format stands,, Cahir's only hope is if League decide to only relegate 1. Cahir are in the crazy position of their season being over the first weekend in Feb!!! Maybe they wouldn't want to be saved by the league!
Mega Tots
06/02/2011, 6:29 PM
Both Gallbaly and Cahir now confirmed as going down as league format stands,, Cahir's only hope is if League decide to only relegate 1. Cahir are in the crazy position of their season being over the first weekend in Feb!!! Maybe they wouldn't want to be saved by the league!
The word is that 2 teams will come up and only 1 team go down so Cahir should be ok
cahir should like to stay up but realistically with town and saints so strong best they can aim for next season would be 3rd place in premier, where if they go down they could realistically do a treble in league and shield and paddy purtill cup especially with borris going up there will be no real strong team in division 1 next season. i know which season i would prefer if i were a cahir player
West Hammer
06/02/2011, 7:34 PM
That will not be decided till after AGM as only new Committee ie post AGM can decide on make up of leagues for 20011/12. They will have to rearrange all the leagues below Prem to balance out Div 1 if two go up and only 1 comes down.
Also the new AGE RULE that is expected to come in during the summer will have a big affect to youth leagues. New rule will mean players miss 1 year ie an U15 players this year will have to play youths ( U17 & U18 ) next season. They are changing date from Jan 1st of the season being played to 1st Jan before season starts. Any player U17 this season will not be able to play youths next season as he would moved to U19. A lot of players will be lost to Junior soccer as most will be to small or inexperienced to play at junior level. Maybe the youths could be split into an U17 league and a U19 league which would mean those U17 players and future players would have 1 more year to develop before having to play Junior soccer. This rule change is being pushed in by the FAI to get Ireland in line with FIFA.
footballfanatic
06/02/2011, 8:22 PM
The word is that 2 teams will come up and only 1 team go down so Cahir should be ok
Ya i heard that myself, better for premier league teams as there facilitys are second to none.
Any report from the games today? Cashel saved themselves anyway.
nononsense
06/02/2011, 9:04 PM
As stated by another contributor the formation of the leagues will be a matter for the new committee to decide after the AGM.
tipp man
08/02/2011, 7:21 AM
Oh Christ! I log on to foot.ie this morning and see a banner advert for Fianna Fail. Is there no bloody escape.
republican
08/02/2011, 1:03 PM
congrat's to chris higgins and jimmy carr both st mich's and richie ryan clonmel town on their call ups for the international trial game all very deserving of their recognition and best of luck to ye on the 19th lads. does anyone think we might have an fai or munster junior cup coming back to south tipp this season saint's and town both going extremely well in both and i dont think pike would relish an away trip to either in the last 16 or last 8 of fai although i hear pike are winning handy every week so they could be hard to beat but in the cup on an off day anyone is beatable.
cufc champions
08/02/2011, 1:07 PM
congrat's to chris higgins and jimmy carr both st mich's and richie ryan clonmel town on their call ups for the international trial game all very deserving of their recognition and best of luck to ye on the 19th lads. does anyone think we might have an fai or munster junior cup coming back to south tipp this season saint's and town both going extremely well in both and i dont think pike would relish an away trip to either in the last 16 or last 8 of fai although i hear pike are winning handy every week so they could be hard to beat but in the cup on an off day anyone is beatable.
Both look very strong indeed it would be no shock if either won one of the big two, as for pike they are always beatable i think we proved that last year 3-1 down 12 mins to go in munster junior semi, no game is over until that final whistle
republican
08/02/2011, 1:23 PM
yeah your right cufc i wouldnt rule yourselves out of both either you are the reigning munster junior champions and have had a great few years down there fair play to ye. i hear ye are struggling to get some of your big players fit tho but if ye have full squad available ye can beat anyone on your day. could be some very interesting games between now and end of the season.