View Full Version : Tipp South & District League 2010/11

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30

ShaneM
25/08/2010, 10:08 AM
how do ye think the st micheals and peake villa match will go tonight?

ComeOnTownNow
25/08/2010, 10:25 AM
michaels to stroll it id say, heard they are strong, especially in the air

peake must be strugglin with loughnane and o'connor gone
think one or two more have left as well

ShaneM
25/08/2010, 11:46 AM
dont know i think it will be close...villa looked very convincing against cahir....havent seen micheals yet....i would go with a draw game myself..

Redman028
25/08/2010, 7:42 PM
Wilderness 3 Clonmel Town 5
Celtic 1 Cashel 1

Insidetherock
25/08/2010, 8:06 PM
Wilderness 3 Clonmel Town 5
Celtic 1 Cashel 1

Go on the Town.. finally something for our good work and effort. Been a hell of a start to the season, but hopefully we can kick on from here.

And heard the Wildies gave Clonmel Town a fright too. 3-3 with ten minutes to play before Town got on top. Same as against us on Sunday, you can't beat the old dog for the hard road.

Heard that Cahir beat Galbally away 1-0. It's going to be a hell of a scrap at the bottom if two teams go down (actually, will probably be a hell of a scrap if even one team go down)

Think we'll just concentrate on the FAI this year :o

ShaneM
25/08/2010, 8:22 PM
any scores in the peake villa and micheals match?

Mega Tots
25/08/2010, 8:46 PM
any scores in the peake villa and micheals match?

Saints beat Villa 1-0 with a late late goal,when your luck is out its really out. Heard on the sideline Town won 5-3 and Barry Ryan got another hat trick

Tipp Top
25/08/2010, 8:50 PM
Saints beat Villa 1-0 with a late late goal,when your luck is out its really out. Heard on the sideline Town won 5-3 and Barry Ryan got another hat trick

People can say what they like about Barry Ryan, he is his own biggest fan but has there been a season where he hasnt scored 20 goals,2 hat tricks in 2 derby games,just cant knock it,although im sure someone will :)

Redman028
25/08/2010, 8:53 PM
Go on the Town.. finally something for our good work and effort. Been a hell of a start to the season, but hopefully we can kick on from here.

And heard the Wildies gave Clonmel Town a fright too. 3-3 with ten minutes to play before Town got on top. Same as against us on Sunday, you can't beat the old dog for the hard road.

Heard that Cahir beat Galbally away 1-0. It's going to be a hell of a scrap at the bottom if two teams go down (actually, will probably be a hell of a scrap if even one team go down)

Think we'll just concentrate on the FAI this year :o

Ya it was quiet a game... Wildies came from 3-1 down to level with 10 mins to go but they gave away a goal with in a min of equalising and it took a fantastic save in dying moments from Richie Ryan to save Town... The scored a 5th with last kick of game but Town got a mighty fright and will be relieved to come awaywith pts. Wildies big problem on the night was keeping things tight after equalising, They levelled at 1-1 and within 1 min they were 2-1 down and same thing happened once they pulled it back to 3-3

ShaneM
25/08/2010, 10:20 PM
lads i heard the referee was a pure joke in the villa game....that game was to big for such a new referee and it showed....gary lyonns was brought down for a clear penalty and fell under the pressure of the micheals bench.....

saintsfan
26/08/2010, 9:01 AM
lads i heard the referee was a pure joke in the villa game....that game was to big for such a new referee and it showed....gary lyonns was brought down for a clear penalty and fell under the pressure of the micheals bench.....

I totally agree with you, the referee was nothing short of a disgrace last night, to both sides. The standard of Referees in the TSDL this year is still appalling, from what I have seen so far. A couple of the Cahir lads came in to Cooke Park after their game at Galbally, and I heard them complaining about the Ref also at that game. To be honest, Saints had a couple of clear calls for penos also, - he was completely out of his depth for such a big game, very close game, Very relieved to get that goal in the last minute!

ComeOnTownNow
26/08/2010, 10:07 AM
who reffed the peake and michaels game? at the town and wildies game one of the wildies players jason barnes punched a goal bound ball with his two hands away and there was nothin given, it was a complete joke, should of been a red card and a penalty, there was 3 officials at the game and none of them could see it. the standard does leave a lot to be desired.

ComeOnTownNow
26/08/2010, 10:08 AM
question for ponyobrien....

whats gone wrong in celtic park? surely the league is over for them, the same start for town last year cost town the league

Quietman
26/08/2010, 10:33 AM
According to the TSDL website W. Burke reffed the Saints V peake Villa game..... Disgusted I missed the Wildies V Town sounds like it was an entertaining game...........Looks like Celtic are out of contention already and if things continue they will probably struggle to keep the Team together...... I heard the Celtic manager had a go at the ref after last nights game and will be lucky not to receive a lenghty ban for his actions................

ShaneM
26/08/2010, 10:46 AM
I totally agree with you, the referee was nothing short of a disgrace last night, to both sides. The standard of Referees in the TSDL this year is still appalling, from what I have seen so far. A couple of the Cahir lads came in to Cooke Park after their game at Galbally, and I heard them complaining about the Ref also at that game. To be honest, Saints had a couple of clear calls for penos also, - he was completely out of his depth for such a big game, very close game, Very relieved to get that goal in the last minute!

ya its a disgrace...if people coming from another game in galbally can see it surely something has to be done....i couldnt believe it when ye got the goal....oh well when you dont finish your chances ya cant expect to win...

balls
26/08/2010, 10:47 AM
how can refs get better if they dont get big game experience, i have seen j hadnett, t keating, m freiberg, t maher and paddy keane ref premier games this season and they all have done fine jobs in all games, few errors in the games but there only human and cant be expected to get everything right,

few wins and celtic will be back on track, same for peake they must have played well last night to have held michaels scoreless for almost 90 mins, but looks like saints and town will slog it out for title, down at bottom will be very tight, cashel should come 5th wilderness are off to great start but they have michaels and peake up next so will be interesting to see how they react after couple of defeats if they lose. looks like galbally and cahir will be bottom 2 , but at the same time dont think either will be whipping boys of the division so it makes for good competitive league. most teams should have 6 games played by all ireland final weekend so league table should start to take shape then

saintsfan
26/08/2010, 10:55 AM
ya its a disgrace...if people coming from another game in galbally can see it surely something has to be done....i couldnt believe it when ye got the goal....oh well when you dont finish your chances ya cant expect to win...

Yeah, we were just lucky I think, Peake have got a bit of bad press lately about not being as good as they usually are, etc, losing players, but they held Saints scoreless for 90 mins like you say, they wont be bad at all this year, if they keep plugging away, unfortunately, frustration cost them a man last night, the tackle was completely reckless on Ray Mac and a straight red was the only option to calm things down at that very late stage. Ref had no control of that incident either, but to be fair to Ref, he was the only official - they could have done with 2 linesmen last night. Getting either member of a Club to do linesman at a tight game like last night doesnt help either.

ShaneM
26/08/2010, 11:05 AM
no two linesmen should have been issued....and yes the tacle was completely reckless....a stupid act which will give him a ban ....villa will have to get a winning streak together to boost the confidence...

Quietman
26/08/2010, 11:12 AM
but to be fair to Ref, he was the only official - they could have done with 2 linesmen last night. Getting either member of a Club to do linesman at a tight game like last night doesnt help either.

There's a thing, in some other Leagues all premier games have 3 officials, so why not in the TSDL? Is it purely to cut down on the cost to Clubs? I would imagine if all the Premier Clubs contacted the League to request 3 officials then it would happen!!

ShaneM
26/08/2010, 11:16 AM
yeah im sure it would....they should at least have 3 officials for big games like saints and villa which has always been a big game...

Quietman
26/08/2010, 11:33 AM
I think it's fair to say that 99% of Premier Teams train 2 - 3 nights a week and would prefer a more professional experience from the league and officials. Three sets of eyes are better than one..................and to get back to one of the earlier comments regarding the Michaels and Peake game, it's true that young referees will only learn with experience and if that referee had had 2 experienced officials with him last night, he would have learned from their advice and assistance..........

cufc champions
26/08/2010, 11:50 AM
There's a thing, in some other Leagues all premier games have 3 officials, so why not in the TSDL? Is it purely to cut down on the cost to Clubs? I would imagine if all the Premier Clubs contacted the League to request 3 officials then it would happen!!
the waterford league has 3 officals at every premier it puts enoromous strain on officals to get lower league games played and also doesnt guarentee quality officating!

Mission Bell
26/08/2010, 2:46 PM
the waterford league has 3 officals at every premier it puts enoromous strain on officals to get lower league games played and also doesnt guarentee quality officating!

Yes, even with three officials they still made a mess of proceedings v Waterford Crystal last Sunday.

Referee09
26/08/2010, 3:42 PM
Who Reffed that battle??

Insidetherock
26/08/2010, 3:59 PM
Ah, it's great to see the old hoary chestnut of refereeing starting so early in the season.

Come on lads, be honest, if there were 3 refs on the field, 6 linesmens, 8 "behind the goal officials", and 16 observers in the stand... the officiating would still be "disgraceful" if you felt that something went against your team.

Remember, so much of the referees job is based on interpretation. How often does "a dirty tackle" become "a full blooded challenge", depending on whether it's your player or the opponents player gets tackled.

Offsides are going to be wrong at times, because if anything offsides are physically and biologically impossible to call much of the time. Think about that and the offside rule. How can a lineman or ref take not of the position of a player and see the pass being kicked without eyes that move in two different directions independently ?

And, why would we never expect a player to have a completely perfect game, yet expect a referee to have one every single time they run out onto the field ?

Come on lads, lay off the refs.

ShaneM
26/08/2010, 4:48 PM
Ah, it's great to see the old hoary chestnut of refereeing starting so early in the season.

Come on lads, be honest, if there were 3 refs on the field, 6 linesmens, 8 "behind the goal officials", and 16 observers in the stand... the officiating would still be "disgraceful" if you felt that something went against your team.

Remember, so much of the referees job is based on interpretation. How often does "a dirty tackle" become "a full blooded challenge", depending on whether it's your player or the opponents player gets tackled.

Offsides are going to be wrong at times, because if anything offsides are physically and biologically impossible to call much of the time. Think about that and the offside rule. How can a lineman or ref take not of the position of a player and see the pass being kicked without eyes that move in two different directions independently ?

And, why would we never expect a player to have a completely perfect game, yet expect a referee to have one every single time they run out onto the field ?

Come on lads, lay off the refs.

yeah but its not the regular tackles that give free kicks to other teams....were talkin about stone wall penos or in the wildies game a man blocking the ball off the line with his hand...these are the decisions we are talking about...these referees will just have to start giving penaltys for incidents like these...a penalty is a penalty no matter who your playing or where your playing...

Tipp Top
26/08/2010, 5:27 PM
yeah but its not the regular tackles that give free kicks to other teams....were talkin about stone wall penos or in the wildies game a man blocking the ball off the line with his hand...these are the decisions we are talking about...these referees will just have to start giving penaltys for incidents like these...a penalty is a penalty no matter who your playing or where your playing...

I would have to agree,regardless of the score in a game or who commits the foul.....a penalty is a penalty

Insidetherock
26/08/2010, 5:28 PM

True.. and remember, Ireland lost out on a possible place in the World Cup because of a handball.. Young Boys of Berne probably feel that the clincher for Spurs last night scored by Defoe that knocked them out of the Champions League was a handball, and numerous other decisions at the highest level of football are missed every week.. by fully professional referees, with the aid of fully professional referees as linesmen

So don't you expect amateur ref's to miss some decisions sometimes ?

Without refs, there wouldn't be games. And, though this might sound harsh Shane, or anyone else who comments.. if you think you can do better, sign up and become a ref yourself

ShaneM
26/08/2010, 8:36 PM
True.. and remember, Ireland lost out on a possible place in the World Cup because of a handball.. Young Boys of Berne probably feel that the clincher for Spurs last night scored by Defoe that knocked them out of the Champions League was a handball, and numerous other decisions at the highest level of football are missed every week.. by fully professional referees, with the aid of fully professional referees as linesmen

So don't you expect amateur ref's to miss some decisions sometimes ?

Without refs, there wouldn't be games. And, though this might sound harsh Shane, or anyone else who comments.. if you think you can do better, sign up and become a ref yourself

dont get me wrong i can see where your coming from and the refs do deserve a lot more than what they get but if you asked a 12 year old was that foul on gary lyonns for peake villa a penalty he would have said yes....a lot of it has got to do with nerves...the referees seem to react a lot to the benches and the home support..

ComeOnTownNow
26/08/2010, 9:23 PM
i think we should bring video evidence into the tsdl, if fifa wont do anything bout it, i think we should start the trend :-)

ShaneM
26/08/2010, 9:31 PM
ya...good idea have a man behind each goal with a camera phone..:L

AB84
27/08/2010, 5:30 PM
http://www.paddypower.com/football/football-matches/ireland-non-league

Town 1/4 Draw 5/1 Galbally 9/1

Cashel 7/5 Draw 9/4 Peake 11/8

Cahir 13/8 Draw 12/5 Celtic 11/10

nononsense
27/08/2010, 10:52 PM
ya jimmy carr has come on leaps and bounds in the past year. i would say he is easily the best player in the league at the moment. not long before he gets a cap i would think

According to the St.Michaels website Jimmy Carr called up to the Junior International squad to-day.

balls
28/08/2010, 9:25 AM
my predictions this weekend are town,peake and celtic to win,

well done to jimmy carr on call up.

just quick question do people think he would have got call up if he played for peake , town or celtic or any other tsdl club besides michaels

Mega Tots
28/08/2010, 10:54 AM

just quick question do people think he would have got call up if he played for peake , town or celtic or any other tsdl club besides michaels

Not a hope would he have been selected playing with another club,look at the amount of Saints players that have been capped,it is far from coincidence

ronburgundy
28/08/2010, 12:57 PM
well done to jimmy carr. top player and could be the start of long international career. have to say though, our lads at villa did a great job of keeping him quiet during the week. saints looking good for their first league in 10 years.

Tipp Top
28/08/2010, 1:06 PM
Congratulations to Jimmy Carr,great to win a cap so young,maybe he will move on to Eircom League next season,the league will be fought out between the big 2 and i would slightly favour Town with the amount of leagues medals in the squad,they know how to see it out,however there will be twists and turns like every season

saintsfan
28/08/2010, 3:37 PM

It doesnt matter what Club Jimmy is with, it was only a matter of time before his talent was spotted. This is only the start like I said before on this thread, how long can Saints hold onto him? With all respect to Peake last Wednesday, they played with their backs to the wall, very difficult to get through a team when they play like that, that is why Jimmy found it hard. I wouldnt say their players kept him quiet at all.

AB84
29/08/2010, 12:47 PM
Town won 5-1 i believe

Tipp Top
29/08/2010, 1:11 PM
Town won 5-1 i believe

Evan Mcguire,Ian Barnes,Tony Scully and Barry Ryan with 2

ShaneM
29/08/2010, 4:45 PM
how did the two peake villa teams get on...a and b

Insidetherock
29/08/2010, 6:48 PM
how did the two peake villa teams get on...a and b

The A team drew 2-2 in Cashel. Were two up but Cashel scored two belters. Peake looked dead on their feet, but then hit the crossbar, had a penalty shout, and Cashel's keeper made a great save with a few minutes to go.

Cashel played well mind, but still giving away silly goals. The Premier season is starting to settle down for them, and I think the lads will be ok again this year. Just need a few new players to push it on any further.

Mega Tots
29/08/2010, 6:57 PM
The A team drew 2-2 in Cashel. Were two up but Cashel scored two belters. Peake looked dead on their feet, but then hit the crossbar, had a penalty shout, and Cashel's keeper made a great save with a few minutes to go.

Cashel played well mind, but still giving away silly goals. The Premier season is starting to settle down for them, and I think the lads will be ok again this year. Just need a few new players to push it on any further.

Sods law in Villa at the moment......anything that can go wrong will go wrong,i would not attach any blame to Danny or Sam,pre season was pathetic and now they are trying to pick up the pieces and if everyone sticks together a good run in the cups is achievable.

nononsense
30/08/2010, 1:30 PM
Looking at fixtures for next week-end, big one at the Complex, Clonmel Town v St.Michaels. Wonder will that go ahead. St.Michaels have James Walsh, Paul Breen and Jimmy Carr on international duty on Saturday morning. Doubtful St.Michaels will play without them.

hooper74
30/08/2010, 3:20 PM
Looking at fixtures for next week-end, big one at the Complex, Clonmel Town v St.Michaels. Wonder will that go ahead. St.Michaels have James Walsh, Paul Breen and Jimmy Carr on international duty on Saturday morning. Doubtful St.Michaels will play without them.

Game is now on Sunday morning at 12

balls
30/08/2010, 3:47 PM
should be cracking game michaels defence is very strong but town are very good going forward, barnes , comerford, ian cleary, tony scully and barry ryan all have great eye for goal so i fancy town to sneak it especially with them being at home. ill go for 2-1 to town. cashel and cahir prob be a draw, peake to beat wildies and clonmel celtic should beat galbally fairly handy. league table should take shape after this then with most teams having 6 games played. looking like its gonna be 2 horse race for title and if there is only 1 team going down (unconfirmed) more than likely that will be galbally so alot of teams gonna be stuck around mid table with nothing to play for and we still havent even reached mid september

ronburgundy
30/08/2010, 3:55 PM
Sods law in Villa at the moment......anything that can go wrong will go wrong,i would not attach any blame to Danny or Sam,pre season was pathetic and now they are trying to pick up the pieces and if everyone sticks together a good run in the cups is achievable.

i think its wrong to say pre season was pathetic and im not sure about your information. things were going ok until a few players lost the head and wanted transfers. it wasnt a suprise to anybody because these players have never really been happy at the club and always seem to have an issue with the way things are done. what more did these guys want?? the club could do no more than win the league last season. the club is way ahead of where it used to be and had a real chance of challenging on all fronts this season until this upheavel, but fair play to the guys who will lead the club through yet another drama.

i think myself that saints will beat town next week. defence and midfield will physically dominate and maybe a set piece or bit of magic could snatch it for them. 1-0 saints

goldengirls
30/08/2010, 3:58 PM
i think its wrong to say pre season was pathetic and im not sure about your information. things were going ok until a few players lost the head and wanted transfers. it wasnt a suprise to anybody because these players have never really been happy at the club and always seem to have an issue with the way things are done. what more did these guys want?? the club could do no more than win the league last season. the club is way ahead of where it used to be and had a real chance of challenging on all fronts this season until this upheavel, but fair play to the guys who will lead the club through yet another drama.

i think myself that saints will beat town next week. defence and midfield will physically dominate and maybe a set piece or bit of magic could snatch it for them. 1-0 saints

so all the reports of no training or pre season games are false?? what players are you talking about exactly???

Mega Tots
30/08/2010, 4:08 PM
so all the reports of no training or pre season games are false?? what players are you talking about exactly???

Pre season consisted of a defeat to Cloughjordan and glamour friendlies with Thurles Celtic and Kilavilla,it was no surprise that the season began with a defeat to Galbally,the problem Ron was the players wanted to win FAI's and Munsters but with that pre season they couldnt even dream of it,Wilderness rovers played a friendly with Munster champions Carrick United and that kind of intensity has saw them start the season with a bang while its been a whimper at Villa,its a quote which has been over used but never lost its meaning FAIL TO PREPARE AND PREPARE TO FAIL

balls
30/08/2010, 4:17 PM
who has left peake? derek loughnane meant to be signed for town but dont think he has played a match for them yet is he deffo gone? talks of few went to borris have these lads definatly signed for borris or is it just rumours, peake still have top players in michael ryan, alan leahy, padraig fogarty etc, so should rattle all the cups