View Full Version : Tipp South & District League 2010/11
Town Fan
22/03/2011, 10:26 AM
Good team selection there, very strong. Might make two changes. I would have Ritchie Ryan in attacking midfield and put David McGrath up front instead of Padraic Fogarty. Wonder would Cosgrave be better than Bargary in midfield? Wonderful to see such commitment from the TSDL team this season - much of the credit for this must go to manager Mick O'Brien who has instilled new pride in the squad. The TSDL are really up against it as Wexford demolished Clare in last years final but with a repeat of the display against Cork A.U.L they can do it. Its a game that deserves support. Kick off is 8pm at Cooke Park Tipperary Town.
Thats a strong squad. Good to see Tony Scully back in, he will make a difference. I am surprised Celtic's Graham Doyle and Ian Fraher arent selected. Still, although Wexford are the holders I would predict a tight win for the TSDL, if only because they are at home
Soccer Fan
22/03/2011, 11:00 AM
I heard the show and I listen every week and he is very balanced- One more time he left Clonmel Town for very good reasons. let it go
tipp man
22/03/2011, 12:58 PM
I heard yer man say on the radio last night that he was getting complaints that he had too much football on last nights show. Made me laugh anyway!
Soccer Fan
22/03/2011, 4:10 PM
I heard yer man say on the radio last night that he was getting complaints that he had too much football on last nights show. Made me laugh anyway!
cant keep everyone happy I suppose. I think the lads on a Monday do their best. we all know GAA is number 1 in the county. Last year when we we celebrated our 100th year, Tipp FM gave us great coverage. Also Muiris Walsh described Cahir Park as the "spiritual home of Tipperary Football" a tag line I feel Cahir should use, thought it was very nice of him.
ponyobrien
22/03/2011, 7:47 PM
Thats a strong squad. Good to see Tony Scully back in, he will make a difference. I am surprised Celtic's Graham Doyle and Ian Fraher arent selected. Still, although Wexford are the holders I would predict a tight win for the TSDL, if only because they are at home
Ian Fraher is working in England. No reason why Graham Doyle shouldn't be in the squad. He missed a few months through injury, but he's been back for a good few games now, and as strong as ever.
nononsense
22/03/2011, 9:28 PM
Ian Fraher is working in England. No reason why Graham Doyle shouldn't be in the squad. He missed a few months through injury, but he's been back for a good few games now, and as strong as ever.
Graham Doyle would be there or thereabouts alright but few would argue with the squad selected. Heard to-day Cooper Fahey very doubtful so Doyle could get a late call-up.
SgtBilko
23/03/2011, 2:16 PM
graham has been one of the most consistent performers over the past few years with celtic, surprised he never moved to a bigger club like Town who are always there or there abouts for the big trophies at the end of the season, he definitely would improve them
republican
24/03/2011, 3:05 PM
doyle is also d current tsdl player of the year maybe the management are sticking with the squad that has been loyal all season but i think myself doyle should be included if he is fit he never left them down in the past. great win's for saint's and carrick last weekend what a final this would be if both could come through their semi's, carrick should beat wembley one would think but the other is way too hard to call there is a good few of the michael's team that would hold down a place in pike's team every week i think having seen pike a few times this year but they are an excellent side. should be a cracker of a game.
SgtBilko
24/03/2011, 4:16 PM
is the pike/michaels game on in jackman park? should be a cracker, pike should have enough for them id say, when are both due to meet in the fai?
nononsense
24/03/2011, 5:19 PM
is the pike/michaels game on in jackman park? should be a cracker, pike should have enough for them id say, when are both due to meet in the fai?
Will be in Jackman Park, probably on Saturday 9th April. Carrick and Wembley at Ozier Park, probably on Sunday 10th April. Saints and Pike are not due to meet in the fai. St.Michaels at home to North End, Wexford and Pike away to Athenry.
nononsense
24/03/2011, 10:21 PM
Oscar Traynor result; TSDL 0, Wexford League 0, after extra time. TSDL won on penalties 3-0. Excellent game between two fine sides. Wexford were the better team in first-half and were unlucky not to score, a free-kick brilliantly saved by Ritchie Ryan onto the upright. Second-half totally different story, TSDL took complete control, created many chances but poor finishing saw no goal. TSDL had the ball in the net midway through the half when Paraic Fogarty scored what looked like a perfect goal but it was disallowed. Extra time saw TSDL continue on top but Wexford held out. Chalkey Walsh missed with the first penalty and it looked bad for TSDL but subsequently Ian Barnes, Tony Scully and Ritchie Ryan scored while Wexford sent their first over the bar and Ritchie Ryan saved two. A magnificent team effort with everybody once again playing their heart out. The team was Ritchie Ryan, Chris Higgins, Ian Barnes, James Walsh, Paul Breen, John Shanahan, Jimmy Carr, Tony Scully, David McGrath, Ritchie Ryan, Paraic Fogarty. Subs used were Colin Bargary for Fogarty, Sean O'Hara for McGrath.
republican
25/03/2011, 10:51 AM
wel nononsense that is your view of event's and fair play you always give a good account of thing's but just a few thing's here, 1, 6 st michaels and 5 clonmel town made up the starting 11, look at that anyway you like. 2, st michael's have too many big games coming up and if i was the saint's manager i would not be impressed that 6 of my team were starting here if town were still in the fai and munster junior cup i can guarantee you there wouldnt have been 5 of their lads playing last night. 3. what a shocking time to schedule the game was their any regard shown toward wexford and their fans that had a 2 or 3 hour journey home and the game went to xtra time which meant the wexford lads didnt get out of cooke park until near 11 last night on a weeknight. rant over. best of luck to south tipp in semi final.
footballfanatic
25/03/2011, 11:59 AM
Seems bad alright when only 2 teams are represented. Thats a good team though in fairness. Congrats to em last night, sounds like ritchie ryan was brilliant.
who are they meetin next?
I agree with republican, tis tough on wexford comin all the way on a thursday night. You would want a session after it.
SgtBilko
25/03/2011, 12:21 PM
Richie Ryan has been one of the most underrated players in the league over the past few years, I don't think town ever lost a penalty shoot out with him in the goals, I'm up for debate on that. Fair play, surprised all the Michael's lads played but fair play to them, few of the town players only play when it suits them, all about attitude really, that really showed in the FAI semi last year too when Michael's trounced them.
nononsense
25/03/2011, 1:32 PM
I have no say on team selection or time of game. Just saw it advertised, went along, paid my fiver and enjoyed an excellent game. Yes Ritchie Ryan was his usual self, didn't get much to do in game but came up trumps in the penalty shoot-out. If I had to select a man of the match it would be Paul Breen, an absolute colossal in the centre of defence.Having said that, manager Mick O'Brien and his assistant Jason Purcell have really done a great job. Semi-final draw not made yet.
OneTwo
27/03/2011, 8:24 PM
St. Michael's 2 - 0 Cashel
Carr and Quinn the scorers
footballfanatic
28/03/2011, 10:40 AM
So saints are top. I thought they would of winnin that by a good bit more, they prob rested a few im sure.
CashelMan
28/03/2011, 11:53 AM
Bit harsh to say the least football fanatic.in fact micheals had a full strength team out.if you have seen Cashel town play in the past few months they have played some fantastic football.great passing and moving.they should have beaten Clonmel town twice this year drew twice with Celtic.
They created the better chances in the first half an shouldve been 1 up after 20mins..Hadnett 2 weeks ago told the Cashel town manager that it was the best football played by any team he had seen all year.and last night frieburg commented that Cashel in the first half were superb.great football
footballfanatic
28/03/2011, 12:10 PM
Goodstuff cashelman,sounds good.
I just would have expecting saints to be winnin by a few more goals, no disrespect intended as saints are a serious side.
Glad to here ye are goin well still late on in the season when there is little to play for.
Actualy no that i think of it, ye could of qualified for john delaney cup...looks like wilderness are after sneakin that unless peake do somethin special.
CashelMan
28/03/2011, 1:51 PM
None taken fanatic...I go to all the Cashel games,and in 90 per cent of the games they have played beautiful football,maybe thats not the best way to play in the tsdl,as u might play the best football but you might not get the results you want.it's great to watch an the team is still very young,I reckon the average age is about 25/26..
we were saying it on the line last night about that cup.it would've been a nice cup to be in as it can be used as a pre season warm up,competitive instead of a friendly.but there's a good sense in the club that the team will improve an push on for next year..Cashel were never going to win last night,but they fought well and played some lovely football.
They have to play them in the tipp cup in Cashel,always a tough place to go to.
ponyobrien
28/03/2011, 6:03 PM
Does this mean clubs are being forced to play that Delaney cup again this year
footballfanatic
28/03/2011, 8:55 PM
Id say so pony, shur why not. Is it not a good thing?
ponyobrien
29/03/2011, 5:39 PM
Not really. I think its better to organise your own pre-season, and we play South Tipp teams often enough during the season. Not so bad with North Tipp but we are grouped with them in the FAI. I would be encouraged by the value of the competition if other leagues were involved also.
nononsense
31/03/2011, 9:32 AM
Republic of Ireland Amateur team beat Northern Ireland 2-0 at Dundalk last night. Four more caps for TSDL players. Ritchie Ryan played in goal for the first-half - got little to do. James Walsh played in the first-half - replaced by Paul Breen for the second-half. Chris Higgins played the full game.
SgtBilko
31/03/2011, 2:03 PM
can anyone tell me why paul breen doesnt go further a field, he would surely walk onto any premier division team in the airtricity league, any time i see him he has been outstanding, would love to see him go over to england to a 3rd or 2nd division team to ply his trade, he surely is good enough....
i would agree with bilkos comment about breeno definatly good enough for league of ireland as has chalkie been for past 10 years. maybe a logistics thing that they havent went for it. Personally id say its a mixture of no premier league league of ireland team in munster region and the fact that saints michaels are such a well run club be very hard to leave , top class facilities, coaching etc. also the junior international team would be gone out the window if they stepped up to league of ireland level.
I have seen alot of league of ireland football in past ten years and breeno is as good as any of center halfs playing currently in the premier league in the league of ireland. shamrock rovers 2 center halfs dan murray and ken oman are similar type players to paul breen and there meant to be cream of the crop. i also think breen could easily play league 2 football accross the pond but maybe at 27 or 28 english clubs may think its bit late for him now
footballfanatic
31/03/2011, 5:53 PM
Paul breen is better than some irish senior players in lansdowne road the other night, he is a colloses of a player. He would slot in perfect along side nemanja vidic. Im not exageratin, im actually serious.
nononsense
31/03/2011, 6:48 PM
Breen and Walsh have very good jobs and playing with St.Michaels suits them. They would walk onto any senior side. And after last night Higgins could do likewise - he was man of the match in the international at Dundalk. What a serious month ahead for St.Michaels club. April sees massive games for them and one wonders will they avoid injuries or wear themselves out. And they also have their youths team in the semi-final of the F.A.I. youths cup. The next few weeks will tell alot.
theboywonder8
31/03/2011, 8:41 PM
Paul breen is better than some irish senior players in lansdowne road the other night, he is a colloses of a player. He would slot in perfect along side nemanja vidic. Im not exageratin, im actually serious.
we,ll see how good he is next saturday night,up against 2 decent centre forward,s,which he will not have come up against in tsdl
stelling
31/03/2011, 11:34 PM
[QUOTE=footballfanatic;1472044]Paul breen is better than some irish senior players in lansdowne road the other night, he is a colloses of a player. He would slot in perfect along side nemanja vidic. Im not exageratin, im actually serious.[/QUOTE
Its actually hard to even respond to that,talk about getting carried away,vidic and breen in the one sentence,junior soccer and senior internationals,oh dear!!! BUT what Breen is and without any doubt the best player in the TSDL and of massive importance to Saints and i think thats more or less what everyone was saying until the football fanatic became a fantasy fanatic
footballfanatic
31/03/2011, 11:59 PM
haha alright i know im gone a bit over the top wuth the man utd talk but im convinced he would be a much better player than the likes of paul mcshane. Iv seen mcshane play a good few times at landsdowne and then watching him in the premiership, im convinced breen is better.
Redman028
01/04/2011, 7:52 AM
haha alright i know im gone a bit over the top wuth the man utd talk but im convinced he would be a much better player than the likes of paul mcshane. Iv seen mcshane play a good few times at landsdowne and then watching him in the premiership, im convinced breen is better.
Jayus im better than Paul Mcshane haha
saintsfan
01/04/2011, 9:29 AM
we,ll see how good he is next saturday night,up against 2 decent centre forward,s,which he will not have come up against in tsdl
Remind us again how many players from Pike were up in Dundalk on Wednesday night? Paul Breen has played against other teams in the County apart from teams in the TSDL!!!! We dont have to wait and see how good he is, we know how good he is in Tipp!
Mega Tots
01/04/2011, 12:57 PM
:party:
Yeah i think you might be guilty of getting a tad excited there :) so looks like Borris are promoted, ye will surely need 5 or 6 players to be competitive and with Villa in the same boat there will be a serious scramble for players around Thurles
footballfanatic
01/04/2011, 1:12 PM
ya mega tots, promoted alright...it will be great to have a return of the biggest fixture in world football after a years absence. Both borris and peake villa will need to strengten indeed. Serious scramble alright but i wouldnt say any peake players from this season would leave for borris...and vice versa. Will be interesting.
Mega Tots
01/04/2011, 1:34 PM
ya mega tots, promoted alright...it will be great to have a return of the biggest fixture in world football after a years absence. Both borris and peake villa will need to strengten indeed. Serious scramble alright but i wouldnt say any peake players from this season would leave for borris...and vice versa. Will be interesting.
I could see Mr Mulcaire chasing Donal Duggan and Alan Leahy from the current Villa squad and maybe have a look at a couple of lads in North Tipp as well, will Tommy Gaynor be more involved next year?
footballfanatic
01/04/2011, 2:44 PM
Havent a notion mega tots, id say so but who knows.
theboywonder8
01/04/2011, 2:47 PM
Remind us again how many players from Pike were up in Dundalk on Wednesday night? Paul Breen has played against other teams in the County apart from teams in the TSDL!!!! We dont have to wait and see how good he is, we know how good he is in Tipp!
Is it Paolo Maldini you have down there, where was he for the 4 goals last year, as I said we will see how good he is next week. I know he's carrying Chalkie for a while now, so he will have it all to do, Pike to win 3-1.
republican
01/04/2011, 10:48 PM
think alot of the pike player's are ineligable most of dem have played proffessional with l'o'i club's recently. boywonder you must be forgetting about the 3 times michael's hit the post at 2nil before ye brought on d galactico's :) lookin forward to next week should be a cracking game in fairness.
footballfanatic
02/04/2011, 3:24 PM
When are clonmel town and st michaels supposed to meet lads?
Will the tsdl leave it till last day of season to create and exciting finish...
complexman
04/04/2011, 9:39 AM
Was at home yesterday and I have to say coverage on Tipp FM was great. they were live in Galway for the hurling but to be fair, Muiris Walsh was in Cooke Park and they went over to him a number of times for updates. His updates were spot one and to the point. Seems that he is doing more and more for Tipp FM. Cant see him ever going back to Town now
Just hope they keep this type of coverage up for the rest of the season, including next Saturday night as I cant travel to Limerick!!
They have been criticised here ( and rightly so for their poor coverage) but yesterday was great.
balls
04/04/2011, 10:34 AM
ya saints were full value for win was a good competive game. they werent at there best but winning when not firing on all cylinders is sign of a great team. i thought paul tobin and jimmy carr were superb.
GreenLane08
04/04/2011, 1:33 PM
Tipp Cup this weekend now lads how do you see it going?
Have to say, been a bit biased now, that Old Bridge are form team at moment and could cause upset at weekend away to Wildies. Bridge have won last 3 out 4 games and all away from home, beat Micahels B on Sunday 2-1. Both Wildies and Bridge will be up for this game as they would both like a shot at Town or Celtic in a Tipp Cup Semi-final.
Congrats to Boris on their promotion also well deserved.
SgtBilko
05/04/2011, 1:15 PM
be nice to see the bridge get to a semi against town or celtic, they sometimes can raise their game against town, town b are still there and should be well able to beat moyglass, can see town beat celtuc
footballfanatic
05/04/2011, 2:06 PM
Right off moyglass at your peril, i fancy them to win the weekend and if they get a home draw in semi's, i wouldnt be suprised if they reached the tipp cup final. If there was bettin, i would be on them e/w.
They are a good side in there own patch, no-one likes playin there.
I predict old bridge and clonmel town to win the other 2 ties.
keep ur money kid, if moyglass win they are away to saint michaels in semis. they will be doing well to beat town B
footballfanatic
05/04/2011, 2:41 PM
keep ur money kid, if moyglass win they are away to saint michaels in semis. they will be doing well to beat town B
ah well if the draw is already done, then ya they might not be as interested so town b may beat them. Moyglass wont fancy goin to st michaels i say.
nononsense
05/04/2011, 5:02 PM
St.Michaels have to beat Cashel away first to make it to semi-finals and that won't be easy. Game fixed for Thursday night 14th. Games coming thick and fast now for Saints and one wonders can they keep it up. Maybe it was just me, but last Sunday I thought, for the first time this season, they looked tired, especially in last half hour. The Oscar Traynor and junior international sessions and games not doing them any favours.
Chops
05/04/2011, 10:22 PM
To be fair lads Moyglass will be hot favourites to beat Town B.....Town B have done remarkably well to reach the QF,they did very well to win the 2nd division but they have a very modest team but players who are honest,they dont use any A team players and only got a team together 2weeks before the season with no one willing to take them over they were on the verge of pulling out of the league the day they got a manager
saintsfan
06/04/2011, 9:56 AM
Yeah, I agree with you, anybody going to see Saints over the Season would have passed same comments as that, they looked completely tired especially in the second half, but as you say, games that previous week didnt help, and they have a huge fixture list ahead of them, Sat night Munster Junior Semi, Thurs night next week against Cashel, Crumlin the following Sunday in FAI Senior Cup, Easter Weekend, FAI Semi Final, what I hope doesnt happen is that an important player or any of them! get injured during one of the above games before the FAI Semi Final. Good luck to Saints on Saturday night, hope results comes right for you on the night and all the loyal supporters that have been going to see them this Season turn out, it was great to see lads from other Clubs there last Sunday amongst the big crowd, The Cahir Park Lads are always great to support Saints, Old Bridge team stayed around after playing Saints B Team that morning, and Clonmel Town lads there also on their way back from Galbally Game. Best on field for Saints last Sunday, Paul Breen, Chris Higgins, Ritchie Ryan and Jimmy Carr. Good Luck on Saturday!