View Full Version : Tipp South & District League 2010/11
rushy12
11/11/2010, 4:38 PM
The same people will leave the club when their son gets bored of playing or if another manager doesn't select their son, These people are no good to any club. Your club is a club that I admire as any schoolboy game I go to see involving Town Their is always ex players involved. These same players don't need any badges to prove their worth.
The points about coachs are valid but what about the clubs that cant get enough volunteers to coach?I understand totally its great to have former players or someone who played some bit which would gain the respect of the young fellas but it doesnt always work that way..some clubs have to deal with who they can get, which is unfortunate in some cases as there is some nut jobs out there coaching who I see roaring and f@*** on the lines of underage games, they soon become addicted to the power of football management and as one post suggests think they are Jose.On the other hand I know a few coaches who work with underage and who were in and out of football for years(calling someone a poor footballer not allowed as this is junior football forum), but they work really well with young lads and have gained respect from them that works to develope players.It is a very interesting debate tho..like the premiership have to have a certain amount of home grown players on the squad..would it be good for junior football???
Tipp Top
11/11/2010, 4:56 PM
Ya but if clubs really want to progress they need to keep these people out of the club these people will be detrimental to the development of these players future in the game. I don’t mind if someone was a poor player at all at least they played and they will know what their limits are as regard coaching. What I find astonishing is that certain clubs won’t ask back their former players as they have no regard for their former players. Certain people in certain clubs think that players should be privileged to play for their club when really it should be that the club are privileged to have any player playing for them.
Quietman
11/11/2010, 7:47 PM
Ya but if clubs really want to progress they need to keep these people out of the club these people will be detrimental to the development of these players future in the game. I don’t mind if someone was a poor player at all at least they played and they will know what their limits are as regard coaching. What I find astonishing is that certain clubs won’t ask back their former players as they have no regard for their former players. Certain people in certain clubs think that players should be privileged to play for their club when really it should be that the club are privileged to have any player playing for them.
What alot of Clubs, be they Junior, Amateur or Pro don't realise is that the Club should belong to the community, with community and club working for one another!!
stelling
11/11/2010, 8:23 PM
How will the TSDL line out Saturday night against the MSL? Has anyone withdrawn from the panel?
rushy12
11/11/2010, 8:48 PM
What alot of Clubs, be they Junior, Amateur or Pro don't realise is that the Club should belong to the community, with community and club working for one another!!
this forum has finally got an intelligent post, and its ironic that it comes from a fella called "quietman". All I can say about that is junior football is not like before and certain clubs dont care about the community or who passes through the gate, all they want is instant success and one day that will come back to bite them in the a55!they would think that they were built in one day and got success instantly without a hand from the community..wrong..someone recently told me that a big club in the tsdl is losing a lot of respect from former players and supporters who do not want anything to do with them due to who is in charge of the club..if that continues they are asking for trouble I think.
nononsense
13/11/2010, 10:02 PM
Tipperary Southern League 1, Munster Senior League 0. Excellent game. Sean O'Hara scored the winner on the stroke of half-time.
Tipp Top
13/11/2010, 10:05 PM
Tipperary Southern League 1, Munster Senior League 0. Excellent game. Sean O'Hara scored the winner on the stroke of half-time.
What was the TSDL team?
hooper74
14/11/2010, 12:13 PM
What was the TSDL team?
Richie Ryan
Paul Tobin
John Shanahan
Christopher Higgins
Ian Barnes
Richie Ryan (saints)
Ross Cosgrave
Andrew Cosgrave
Paraic Fgarty
Barry Ryan
Pa Quinn
ComeOnTownNow
14/11/2010, 2:03 PM
jaysus thats a poor team, fair play to them for pullin the result out of the bag, fair play to seanie o'hara
rushy12
14/11/2010, 4:08 PM
how is that a poor team when it is made up of the top two teams in the league bar one?interesting..and harsh on those selected.thats a decent team
hooper74
14/11/2010, 4:11 PM
how is that a poor team when it is made up of the top two teams in the league bar one?interesting..and harsh on those selected.thats a decent team
A very good side who showed great spirit and played like a team which is unusual for recent TSDL teams,a credit to all involved,i hope they go on now
nononsense
14/11/2010, 6:13 PM
A very good side who showed great spirit and played like a team which is unusual for recent TSDL teams,a credit to all involved,i hope they go on now
I certainly agree they showed great spirit. It was a tremendous display against a very good Munster Senior league side. They really played for each other and full credit to all fourteen players used. The goal was a gem, created by Ross Cosgrave and finished excellently by Sean O'Hara. Ten minutes into the second half TSDL were reduced to 10 men, yet a marvellous never say die attitude saw them through for victory. Munster Senior league now play Cork AUL, with TSDL away to Cork AUL in early January. I hope the manager persists with this team - he will not get better effort from others.
footballfanatic
14/11/2010, 9:32 PM
Big win for cashel today beating cahir, should keep them up now. Cahir or galbally or both to go down it looks.
ComeOnTownNow
15/11/2010, 7:28 AM
the team below would beat the current team...
d breen, m quinlivan, p breen, a leahy, d loughnane, t scully, m ryan, g doyle, m comerford, t o'connor & j carr
rushy12
15/11/2010, 10:20 AM
Thats a good team, but your obviously not in management!
stelling
15/11/2010, 1:04 PM
The lads got a great win and still people have a gripe about the team and the selection,there is just no pleasing some people and if that 11 you names had of played you would have named the 11 that did play and said they would have won
rushy12
15/11/2010, 5:34 PM
well said Jeff..
ComeOnTownNow
15/11/2010, 9:34 PM
stop b!tching girls, i just think that there are better players out there than the 11 that started!
nononsense
15/11/2010, 10:56 PM
the team below would beat the current team...
d breen, m quinlivan, p breen, a leahy, d loughnane, t scully, m ryan, g doyle, m comerford, t o'connor & j carr
Yes a good team above and I would pick another eleven which I would consider equally as good also. Having said that i think the manager did very well with what was available to him on the night and the team that played gave it 100%. By the way, I think P. Breen and J. Carr would have been on the team but both were injured. I am surprised you select D. Breen as goalkeeper in front of Ritchie Ryan. I have seen both perform quite a few times over the past couple of years and must say Ritchie Ryan is one of the best keepers I have seen at junior level. He is an excellent shot stopper and would say is worthy of junior international recognition.
footballfanatic
16/11/2010, 3:43 PM
Best keeper in tipp in my opinion is conor bannon. had some season last year.
ComeOnTownNow
16/11/2010, 4:03 PM
ha ha ha you must be codding us footballfanatic! is it april 1st already? bannon wudnt lace derek or richie's boots, kenrick from clonmel celtic is another fine keeper
Tipp Top
16/11/2010, 4:23 PM
I would rate Conor Bannon as a better keeper than Derek Breen. Derek is a fine keeper but has his faults. Without doubt Richie Ryan is the best Keeper in the county. I find it very amusing that come on town now is putting Derek ahead of him. Without Richie Ryan town wouldnt have done as well as they have in the past 5 years. I think come on town now might have picked his team knowing that it would cause a bit of a stir.
footballfanatic
16/11/2010, 6:44 PM
Arra comeontownnow, he's up there i think. I agree about kenrick, great keeper.
Redman028
16/11/2010, 6:56 PM
Dont think we will ever get everyone to agree on this but im sure everyone will agree is that there is some serious talent in the league and the manager will be spoilt for choice when everyone is fit and available!
ComeOnTownNow
16/11/2010, 6:59 PM
he is not bad in fairness, big man who you wudnt go for a 50 50 with him cause he wud blow you up to the other 18 yard box but lets be honest here, technically ryan and breen wud be far superior
footballfanatic
16/11/2010, 7:07 PM
Ryan and breen are more "la deeeeeeeeeeee daaaaaaa" keepers alright but when it comes to the important stuff such as shot stoppin and comin for crosses, i think they are all on a par.
O redman, we know well some serious quality in the league and there always goin to be argumnets about oscar traynor squad, thats what makes the league so good. i wouldnt fancy managin the tsdl team myself, be a tricky job.
jug2004
18/11/2010, 2:44 PM
with all due respect to ya footballfanatic, both breen and ryan have been doing it for 6/7 years at the top now and Bannon has only really decided to play in goal the past year. It is all well and good cataching balls over lads heads in the tsdl when you can more often than not be playing not great sides. Breen and Ryan have played in big games (MJC Finals and FAI finals) over the past few season and have acquited themselves well in these games and have often been outstanding but can i ask what the biggest game Bannon has found himiself under pressure in? maybe some sort of a tipp cup or league game???? therefore how could you rate him on the same level......maybe he has great potential but thats about all he has shown so far. The "la deeeeeeee daaaaaaaaaaaa" keepers as you call them have been keeping michaels and town in important games over the past few years, so its not as if they have been getting a free pass to these games without doing anything......when it comes down to it what defines a keeper is not the bread and butter (shots & crosses) you speak of 'cos surely every keeper can do that? but the little things that they have that make the extra.
As for the TSDL game i was not at it to comment but from what i hear it was a good performance with a lot if potential starters out for one reason or another. Game against AUL is really the group decider....will be interesting to see what happens and who plays?
Mega Tots
18/11/2010, 10:11 PM
if everyone was fit and available this would be my idea of the strongest TSDL side
Richie Ryan
Paul Tobin
Paul Breen
James Walsh
Christopher Higgins
Tony Scully
Donal Duggan
Paraic Fogarty
Ian Barnes
Barry Ryan
Jimmy Carr
ComeOnTownNow
18/11/2010, 10:30 PM
Richie Ryan
Paul Tobin
Paul Breen
Alan Leahy
Christopher Higgins
Tony Scully
Jimmy Carr
Paraic Fogarty
Richie Ryan
David McGrath
Seanie O'Hara
Mega Tots
18/11/2010, 11:06 PM
Richie Ryan
Paul Tobin
Paul Breen
Alan Leahy
Christopher Higgins
Tony Scully
Jimmy Carr
Paraic Fogarty
Richie Ryan
David McGrath
Seanie O'Hara
James Walsh is captain of Ireland for gods sake of course he is in the side and the front 3 has to have Barry Ryan in it,as a club mate who you told us last week silenced all the critics im surprised he is out as well,also is there a better left sided player than Barnes?
Tipp Top
18/11/2010, 11:13 PM
Comeonthetownnow is merely on this for controversy and wind ups so i wouldnt get too hyped up and before he has a go i would like to say there is nothing wrong with that either,bit of banter is good on this,it gets very dull at times
ComeOnTownNow
19/11/2010, 7:30 AM
i dont subscribe to the merry go round that surrounds james walsh, i believe that breen makes him look better than he is, he is a good organiser but as a defender i think leahy is better, recently when breen got injured against clonmel celtic i heard he was all over the place, i am entitled to my opinion, this is a forum isnt it? i wont comment on the 2 other players you mention as they are from the club i support but again i am entitled to my opinion, mcgrath is back for town, he is a super player, can start playin again on Dec 1st im told, will be a serious addition to the club
saintsfan
19/11/2010, 9:19 AM
i dont subscribe to the merry go round that surrounds james walsh, i believe that breen makes him look better than he is, he is a good organiser but as a defender i think leahy is better, recently when breen got injured against clonmel celtic i heard he was all over the place, i am entitled to my opinion, this is a forum isnt it? i wont comment on the 2 other players you mention as they are from the club i support but again i am entitled to my opinion, mcgrath is back for town, he is a super player, can start playin again on Dec 1st im told, will be a serious addition to the club
There has been some negative and uncalled for comments regarding James Walsh. There is no merry go round surrounding him. Before last year's FAI semi final against Town, some negative comments appeared about him again. This drives him on to play better, hence he played one of his games of the season that day, 3.0! score line. the wind up gets you nowhere really. He wouldnt be where he is today without his talent.
rushy12
19/11/2010, 12:31 PM
The thing with James walsh is that he is human, he does have bad games too. As for when breen got injured, I havent seen so wont comment but il guess and its normal in football. When you play alongside a fella for so long you presume stuff, your covered if anything goes wrong. Now for anyone who knows anything about football when you know in your head that a team mate will be in a certain position you become confident he will be there. so for james walsh behalf he is so used to playing with breeno that he has to adapt to a new player and their position, which can make you look bad at times(all over the place), its like knocking on balls to your strike partner and he reading your knock ons but if a new fella comes in and doesnt read them you look like your knocking them onto no body, hence you look rubbish. look at rio without vidic, terry without carvaliho, they too can look lost without their right hand. JUST my opinion comeontowns comment and yes your right your opinion is much needed on this!But if you were watching town v Michaels on a hot day in cahir and the result was 3 nil and walsh and breen were immense, I think you might understand!
ponyobrien
21/11/2010, 4:42 PM
I have a question for all the referee's on here. Can you award a penalty for handball if you admit to not seeing a handball? Please note there were no assistants
Mega Tots
21/11/2010, 5:56 PM
Massive point for Villa against Saints today,all heart and pride in the jersey,an outfield player had to play in goals and still Saints could not find a goal, with Alan Leahy injured Donal Duggan played centre half and was immense, Saints just have no strikers at all
Roberto
21/11/2010, 6:25 PM
I have a question for all the referee's on here. Can you award a penalty for handball if you admit to not seeing a handball? Please note there were no assistants
I think the short answer to that is no! However what is even more bizarre is that he admits to not seeing a handball afterwards :confused: Was Freiberg the ref by any chance? ;)
ComeOnTownNow
21/11/2010, 6:52 PM
we probably have the worst set of referees in the country, heard there was murder today above in two mile borris, some fella attacked john maguire, its disgraceful just for the record!
ComeOnTownNow
21/11/2010, 6:53 PM
what happened anyway pony?
footballfanatic
21/11/2010, 7:25 PM
The referee was the disgrace more than anything comeonetownnow, he completely over reacted and instantly abandoned the game. maybe if he would of thinkin to himself for 10seconds, things would have been better off.
ponyobrien
21/11/2010, 7:35 PM
The ref awarded a penalty for handball, and when questioned after the game he admitted he didn't see it. He was standing behind the player (he clearly chested the ball by the way) so he couldn't possibly have seen it. He listened to the oppositions calls.
Quietman
21/11/2010, 7:57 PM
The ref awarded a penalty for handball, and when questioned after the game he admitted he didn't see it. He was standing behind the player (he clearly chested the ball by the way) so he couldn't possibly have seen it. He listened to the oppositions calls.
Did he really say that he didn't see it?? Did you actually hear him yourself?........can't believe he said that!!
Quietman
21/11/2010, 8:04 PM
The referee was the disgrace more than anything comeonetownnow, he completely over reacted and instantly abandoned the game. maybe if he would of thinkin to himself for 10seconds, things would have been better off.
Nothing a referee does during a game warrants a player physically assaulting him/her!! Once this happens, the game is automatically abandoned regardless of how serious the assault is. Cast your minds back a year or two, I think it was Sweden were playing and a fan ran on and tried to hit the ref, thankfully he missed, but even so the game finished.
Referee09
21/11/2010, 8:11 PM
I'm scratching my head here that this question was actually asked!!............:confused::confused:
Of course a referee cannot act on any incident that he does not see. For example, if one player punches another behind the referees back, the referee turns around and sees the offended player nursing a bloody nose, he tells the referee what happened.....the referee is powerless to act! Hope this helps. Also if the referee did admit to a mistake afterwards, hopefully he'll put this in his report!
Quietman
21/11/2010, 8:14 PM
we probably have the worst set of referees in the country, heard there was murder today above in two mile borris, some fella attacked john maguire, its disgraceful just for the record!
:rolleyes:If ye think ye can do better lads, the Fai are running a Referee Beginners Course next weekend in Cahir. (advertised in the Nationalist)..............Put up or shut up as they say!!:p
bad bhob
21/11/2010, 9:18 PM
about borris v saints b game ( the ref ) he shouldnt get saints games , his brother was playing ............
footballfanatic
21/11/2010, 9:43 PM
I heard that myself, that is absolute farcical in my oppinion. How can this happen? no fairness what so ever.
balls
21/11/2010, 10:07 PM
poor result for saints, celtic drop points again, so town are the real winners today late goal to seal the 3 points. was at the cahir game today even though have slated both galbally and cahir for being poor sides they really served up great game of football today both teams gave it everything. hope robbie costigan is alright was taken away from game in ambulance in what looked like nasty facial injury
Insidetherock
21/11/2010, 10:09 PM
The referee just lost it today unfortunately, and it really was a pity, because unlike in so many cases when refs lose control of a game, it had absolutely nothing to do with the players. It was a good game, no problems between the teams at all, and for some unknown reason, he started to give crazy decisions, which bamboozled both teams.
It seemed to start with that crazy "third" goal when the goalie kicked the ball off Coleman and it went back over his head for Slattery to roll in. He seemed to give it, and then the Celtic players had to explain the rules to him i.e. that Slattery was offside when it came back off Coleman, so he changed his mind and gave a free out. Celtic were right in this case, no complaints from me here.
But, they were wrong a few minutes later when they scored their "equaliser", which was offside. Not clear, it was a close call, but it was offside and shouldn't have been given. Cue Cashel complaints, and he was a bit harsh I think in sending Paul Hoare off. The whole game changed on that call, and then Celtic got a cracking third goal.
After that, to be honest, I think he took the easy option and "made it up" to Cashel in giving the penalty at the end.
The real pity is that it was a game that probably deserved to be a draw.. but that's not for a referee to decide, that should play itself out on the field, and I know and understand that it is of no use to Celtic to say that at the end. Had Cashel been on the other end of it, I imagine I wouldn't be happy now either.
Like I say, a real pity, because it was a really good honest game... but the referee just let it get away from him
saintsfan
22/11/2010, 9:20 AM
Massive point for Villa against Saints today,all heart and pride in the jersey,an outfield player had to play in goals and still Saints could not find a goal, with Alan Leahy injured Donal Duggan played centre half and was immense, Saints just have no strikers at all
Yeah was at game. definitely a case of 2 points dropped by Saints. Peake were delighted to get the point. I heard someone say that the goalie was an outfield player. Saints hit cross bars, posts, everything, except the back of the net. They just couldnt finish the job. Saying that, Derek Breen was virtually a spectator for most of game. Peake goalie didnt have a minute to catch this breath. it's still game on. Saints have a game in hand against Galbally and town have to go to Cooke Park, so its all to play for. Saints were missing 5 players. They better improve for next Sunday. Celtic will be a hard test for them in FAI.