View Full Version : Jamie O'Hara

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22

TrapAPony
24/02/2010, 12:50 PM
How's it going to be weird? All his family are from Wicklow.

24/02/2010, 1:51 PM
its great news. Ive seen alot of him this season and hes going to be a great addition to our team.

Not keen on Nolan.

Deckydee
24/02/2010, 2:01 PM
How's it going to be weird? All his family are from Wicklow.

Hi Trap,

What I mean is that he has already played for England. Me wonders what his offical statement is going to be.

Also, what do you mean by 'all' ? Are both his parents from Ireland? Im sorry, I honestly dont know

Someone said on the YBIG forum that his uncle played for the Republic. Can someone shed some light on this please?

Deckydee
24/02/2010, 2:02 PM
its great news. Ive seen alot of him this season and hes going to be a great addition to our team.

Not keen on Nolan.

Dont worry, Nolan is not coming.

greendeiseboy
24/02/2010, 7:45 PM
Our Jamie in the wars at Pompey.....at least he came out best. Didn't know his lack sorry fiancee was Danielle Llyod.....lucky boy

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-1253019/Punch-Portsmouth-Jamie-OHara-KOs-team-mate-Michael-Brown-training-ground-melee.html

Gnobe
25/02/2010, 12:07 PM
Hi Trap,

What I mean is that he has already played for England. Me wonders what his offical statement is going to be.

Also, what do you mean by 'all' ? Are both his parents from Ireland? Im sorry, I honestly dont know

Someone said on the YBIG forum that his uncle played for the Republic. Can someone shed some light on this please?

I thought his dad was from Magherafelt? And is Grandad was from the republic somewhere? No?

dr_peepee
25/02/2010, 1:12 PM
Our Jamie in the wars at Pompey.....at least he came out best.

Aargh!! He's part of the Warrior Nation now!!..

25/02/2010, 2:26 PM
that's a one warrior nation doc!

samhaydenjr
02/03/2010, 3:40 AM
Our Jamie in the wars at Pompey.....at least he came out best. Didn't know his lack sorry fiancee was Danielle Llyod.....lucky boy

l (http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-1253019/Punch-Portsmouth-Jamie-OHara-KOs-team-mate-Michael-Brown-training-ground-melee.html)

That stupid, racist, cheating (in competition and relationships) village bicycle - Don't allow him in until he loses that baggage

Deckydee
02/03/2010, 8:26 AM
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/plumping-for-republic-was-easy-decision-for-longterm-fan-wilson-2085196.html

.............."Everyone wants to play at the best level possible," adds Wilson, who hinted that Pompey team-mate Jamie O'Hara will join him in the Irish fold after discussions with FAI representatives.

elmo
04/03/2010, 11:01 PM
OHara would be strong in midfield

Razors left peg
06/03/2010, 11:11 AM
Just watched an interview with O Hara on Soccer Saturday on Sky. Said hes honoured to be linked with us but is going to wait until after the World Cup to make a decision because alot of the England players are in the later part of their career and he would like to think hes good enough to be considered as part of the new generation. Said he definately wants to play international football and because he has already played for England that would be his first preference.
First time Ive heard him interviewed and comes across as a decent fella

irishultra
06/03/2010, 11:34 AM
lol so here a lad who definetly won't be called up is still waiting to play for england...like fair play to him for being straight about it but thats a joke really.

Scooby Doo
06/03/2010, 11:37 AM
Just watched an interview with O Hara on Soccer Saturday on Sky. Said hes honoured to be linked with us but is going to wait until after the World Cup to make a decision because alot of the England players are in the later part of their career and he would like to think hes good enough to be considered as part of the new generation. Said he definately wants to play international football and because he has already played for England that would be his first preference.
Disappointing but at least he's being straight. Seems to be saying the right things in order to keep his options open (according to what Razor has said). Bit surprising given the general concensus in the Irish media that he was most likely going to join us.

irishultra
06/03/2010, 11:40 AM
Tony Cascarino and Martin Keown debating this now on TV3

Keown mentioned that he played for England because his Dad didn't want them to move to England and take advantage of what was offered there, and then not give something back. Might not have that word for word.
Said he saw Cunningham play as a striker, and mentioned his parents by name.

Really hope they make this available online later, it's well worth seeing.

ye keowns father would be like my dad. he makes a good point too.

Razors left peg
06/03/2010, 11:51 AM
To be honest I have no problems with O Haras attitude towards it.He was raised in England and e has played up to under 21s for England so I dont see a problem with his first choice being getting senior caps with them. He is also playing extemely well at the moment so it is not beyond the realms of possiblity that he could get a call up for them in the future. But he was respectful about the possiblity of playing for us and I would personally welcome him aboard. I know there are some lads that wont want that but that debate has been done to death so many times already on here so Im not gonna get into it again.
One other thought I had is that if he is not involved in the end of season friendlies and training camp I would wonder about whether Trap would call him up for the next campaign anyway. We all seen how loyal he was to players that were in his original training squad when he took over and how hard it was for players that werent there to break into the squad afterwards

Scooby Doo
06/03/2010, 12:10 PM
To be honest I have no problems with O Haras attitude towards it.He was raised in England and e has played up to under 21s for England so I dont see a problem with his first choice being getting senior caps with them. He is also playing extemely well at the moment so it is not beyond the realms of possiblity that he could get a call up for them in the future. But he was respectful about the possiblity of playing for us and I would personally welcome him aboard. I know there are some lads that wont want that but that debate has been done to death so many times already on here so Im not gonna get into it again.
One other thought I had is that if he is not involved in the end of season friendlies and training camp I would wonder about whether Trap would call him up for the next campaign anyway. We all seen how loyal he was to players that were in his original training squad when he took over and how hard it was for players that werent there to break into the squad afterwards
http://www.portsmouth.co.uk/frattonlatest/OHara-weighing-up-move-to.6128900.jp
Just found this. Clarifies his position a little bit more. Again, he's said all the right things. Slightly different sounds from what came out of Trap's press-conference last week. I would also welcome him and appreciate his honesty.

Sproston Green
06/03/2010, 12:15 PM
Saw the interview earlier, and OK he was fairly honest about his intentions - he likes to think he could be part of the "next generation" of English players after the WC, but wants to play international football. So, we are his second choice - are we ok with this half-arsed type of commitment?

Quite amusing how he kept stalling when referring to "my country".

I think he should now be ruled out, unless you're 100%, you don't deserve the jersey

Razors left peg
06/03/2010, 12:23 PM
Saw the interview earlier, and OK he was fairly honest about his intentions - he likes to think he could be part of the "next generation" of English players after the WC, but wants to play international football. So, we are his second choice - are we ok with this half-arsed type of commitment?

Quite amusing how he kept stalling when referring to "my country".

I think he should now be ruled out, unless you're 100%, you don't deserve the jersey

You dont think Andy Towsend grew up wanting to play for England? But yet went onto be a great captain for us with no one doubting his commitment

Sproston Green
06/03/2010, 12:39 PM
You dont think Andy Towsend grew up wanting to play for England? But yet went onto be a great captain for us with no one doubting his commitment

I guess I just speak from my own experience - born in UK, have never supported England. I would just like all non-Irish born players to have that commitment - like Kev Kilbane

06/03/2010, 12:52 PM

He also captained Aston Villa with pride without any midlands links. its professional pride. If you're happy enough with it, thats fine

I can't accept it though. Whether they're brilliant players like Townsend, or middle of the road types like O'Hara

Yard of Pace
06/03/2010, 1:04 PM
Just watching the cup match
O'Hara: yes please!

06/03/2010, 1:11 PM
Just watching the cup match
O'Hara: yes please!

Really? I thought he was poor (along with every other midfielder on show)

Razors left peg
06/03/2010, 1:26 PM
He also captained Aston Villa with pride without any midlands links. its professional pride. If you're happy enough with it, thats fine

I can't accept it though. Whether they're brilliant players like Townsend, or middle of the road types like O'Hara

Your entitled to your opinion and like I said that this debate has been done enough times in the past on here so I dont really wanna debate it again because most people wont change their mind.

Yard of Pace
06/03/2010, 1:29 PM

Second half he helped turn the game for Portsmouth, in particular setting up the second goal. He's a good energetic presence in midfield and can play a bit too.
Wilson made one superb goal-saving tackle that I saw. It was really top drawer defending.

Razors left peg
06/03/2010, 2:35 PM
I guess I just speak from my own experience - born in UK, have never supported England. I would just like all non-Irish born players to have that commitment - like Kev Kilbane

That would be the ideal situation to be fair but I have relations in England who were born and raised there that grew up supporting both Ireland and England.

06/03/2010, 4:03 PM
Ask yourself did you celebrate Sean St Ledgers seemingly last min winner against Italy any less simply because he probably wouldve preferred to represent England if given the option

I know I didnt, as long as any player eligible for us shows his commitment signs up and gives it his all then I have no complaints. Im not a huge fan of potential players holding their horses waiting to see if England will call but I can understand O'Haras situation but he should sign up for us before the start of the next campaign.

06/03/2010, 4:54 PM
i ws worried when i read the initial post outlining what O'Hara said and would lean more towards the same opinion of Dodge and Sproston Green when it comes to this issue, however O'Hara's quotes are fine and reasonable and for me this is the key quote

'I'm English and Irish and to be asked to play for either is an honour. I'd be proud to wear either shirt.

06/03/2010, 5:21 PM
Ask yourself did you celebrate Sean St Ledgers seemingly last min winner against Italy any less simply because he probably wouldve preferred to represent England if given the option

I know I didnt

Thats fine foryou. Myself, I know I've less interest in the team when certain players play for it.

Qwerty
06/03/2010, 5:40 PM

Do you remember when Townsend first played for Ireland he could only pass backwards. It takes time for players to develop it they ever develop. International football can really be the making of a player, look at Glenn Whelan's progress this year.

TrapAPony
06/03/2010, 6:28 PM

O'Hara was decent today especially in the 2nd half. Seen him quite alot this season and he's a very
useful player. I hope he plays for us.

ArdeeBhoy
06/03/2010, 6:36 PM
Take whoever we can from wherever, however.. Let's face it, we've had Irish-born people who've turned their back on us. Including one currently.

And have you not heard of the Diaspora, FFS ?? This whole circular debate about who's eligible is fairly tedious at this stage. One of the few things the Cretins at FIFA currently have right, for now.

06/03/2010, 6:40 PM
I don't want a player who views us a second choice/reserve option. No matter how good the player is.

06/03/2010, 6:53 PM
The difference under Charlton is that when they were asked to declare for Ireland they did so without hesitation. At least I couldn't imagine anyone replying face to face to Jack 'thanks for invite but I'll think about it for the next 6 months'.
Much of the preparations for our team's campaign will be done before the WC. New players need to get on board before the end of this season..

06/03/2010, 9:58 PM
Do you remember when Townsend first played for Ireland he could only pass backwards. It takes time for players to develop it they ever develop. International football can really be the making of a player, look at Glenn Whelan's progress this year.

I wasn't commenting on his abiklities generally. Just today.

Generally, he'd be about the same level as Andy Reid (and he definitely should be in the squad)

06/03/2010, 10:09 PM
As mentioned earlier, I think he might do himself out of a place by waiting. Look at what happened to Andy Reid when he missed the training camp - Trapattoni decided to just carry on without him.

07/03/2010, 9:02 AM
O'Hara still hoping to be called in to England squad. Lets forget about him finally.

Yard of Pace
07/03/2010, 11:34 AM
O'Hara still hoping to be called in to England squad. Lets forget about him finally.

I say let him wait and see. I don't think we should be so sensitive about him preferring England. He has feelings for both countries, that's indisputable, so let him take his time and decide. It's a big decision. With England he'd have the chance to play in major finals regularly. With us maybe never. But I do think if he opts for us he'll give full committment and will be a big asset.

ArdeeBhoy
07/03/2010, 12:16 PM
What YoP said. Let's exploit the rules to their maximimum advantage.

TrapAPony
07/03/2010, 12:32 PM
But sure all England are likely to do is give him one cap so that he can't play for us and then discard him.

07/03/2010, 4:14 PM
But sure all England are likely to do is give him one cap so that he can't play for us and then discard him.

Doubt it, they havent really done in the past so would be surprised if they started now. They have some many options for midfield, realistically O'H isnt an option for a competitive game any time soon, unless perhaps used as a left sided MF.

Irish_Praha
07/03/2010, 5:11 PM
Steve Bruce.

I think he only played for the England B team, maybe that was enough to tie you down back then?
Also he didn't declare for ireland as it would have affected his chances at Man UTD because of the 3 foreginer rule in Europe back then. If that was more important to him than playing for Ireland then we were probably better off without him. He would of had stiff competition with McGrath and Moran at the time aswell.

Colbert Report
07/03/2010, 5:37 PM
I think he only played for the England B team, maybe that was enough to tie you down back then?
Also he didn't declare for ireland as it would have affected his chances at Man UTD because of the 3 foreginer rule in Europe back then. If that was more important to him than playing for Ireland then we were probably better off without him. He would of had stiff competition with McGrath and Moran at the time aswell.

Kevin Moran and David O'Leary were well past it by the time Bruce was in his prime. We were well covered there though with McGrath, Babb, and Alan Kernaghan!

Irish_Praha
07/03/2010, 5:59 PM
Kevin Moran and David O'Leary were well past it by the time Bruce was in his prime. We were well covered there though with McGrath, Babb, and Alan Kernaghan!

We are going a bit off topic here but O'Leary and Moran are only 2 and 4 years older than Bruce respectivly so when he was at the age where he should be deciding his "nationality" they would have both been still very active. He would have been a handy player to of had in his early 30's though, when the other two were past it as you say.

Bungle
07/03/2010, 9:24 PM
I say let him wait and see. I don't think we should be so sensitive about him preferring England. He has feelings for both countries, that's indisputable, so let him take his time and decide. It's a big decision. With England he'd have the chance to play in major finals regularly. With us maybe never. But I do think if he opts for us he'll give full committment and will be a big asset.

Spot on. It seems to me that Jamie is very proud of his Irish roots but obviously declaring for us is not the easiest decision as he would have grown up wanting to play for them and lets face it they're a much bigger footballing nation that nearly always graces tournaments. He's a very talented young lad who if he declared for England would probably win a few caps, especially given the troubles at left back/left mid for England and the ageing of Gerrard and Lampard in the centre i.e places up for grabs. Both of my boys were born in London; one of them supports us, the other supports England but is very proud of his Irish roots. My lad who supports England above any other team would give 100% for the green shirt if he declared for us, much like Jamie would I'm sure.

Deckydee
08/03/2010, 8:38 AM
His stock has gone down in my humble opinion. We should not pursue this player.

The difference with all aforementioned players (Townsend, etc) is that they did not choose for England first and then choose for Ireland. They didn’t go on television and say ,well I hope Bobby Robson picks me and if he doesn’t , I will pop over to Jack.

I guess its like this, how would you like it if a nice girl asked your friend out and he said no. Then she came over and asked you out and said the only reason she did it was because your friend turned her down and you were her second choice. In theory she never would have dated you if your friend said yes. It is a silly comparison but that’s exactly what is going on here.

Basically Jamie is saying that:

‘I hope England pick me, if they don’t, I will choose Ireland’
‘I don’t want to play for Ireland really but if Im desperate.........'
‘Ireland are second choice for me’

Do you want someone playing for Ireland who felt we were his second choice? Do you???

I was willing to cut O’Hara some slack but not anymore

Yard of Pace
08/03/2010, 11:29 AM
His stock has gone down in my humble opinion. We should not pursue this player.

The difference with all aforementioned players (Townsend, etc) is that they did not choose for England first and then choose for Ireland. They didn’t go on television and say ,well I hope Bobby Robson picks me and if he doesn’t , I will pop over to Jack.

I guess its like this, how would you like it if a nice girl asked your friend out and he said no. Then she came over and asked you out and said the only reason she did it was because your friend turned her down and you were her second choice. In theory she never would have dated you if your friend said yes. It is a silly comparison but that’s exactly what is going on here.

Basically Jamie is saying that:

‘I hope England pick me, if they don’t, I will choose Ireland’
‘I don’t want to play for Ireland really but if Im desperate.........'
‘Ireland are second choice for me’

Do you want someone playing for Ireland who felt we were his second choice? Do you???

I was willing to cut O’Hara some slack but not anymore

Eh, we're not a hormonal teenager, we're a football team representing Ireland. O'Hara considers himself English AND Irish. If we were his first choice he'd need his head examined. We've been to one World Cup since 1994. We narrowly beat San Marino and were trashed by Cyprus. We played some of the worst football matches I've ever seen in the last qualifying series. Stop being so precious and accept it. If he didn't feel Irish he wouldn't even consider playing for us. But he does. If he decides to come then we should accept him with open arms. We're not pursuing him now, we invited him, he can make his mind up later.

dr_peepee
08/03/2010, 12:24 PM

Hmm... More power to him... It's like getting turned down be a bird you don't really fancy in the first place though.

Him Sean Davis, Scott Parker and Joey Barton can compare their cap haul in 20 years.

DeLorean
08/03/2010, 4:01 PM
I guess its like this, how would you like it if a nice girl asked your friend out and he said no. Then she came over and asked you out and said the only reason she did it was because your friend turned her down and you were her second choice. In theory she never would have dated you if your friend said yes. It is a silly comparison but that’s exactly what is going on here

I wouldn't mind as long as I got the ride. The ride in this case is a metaphor for Euro 2012 Qualification!!

Serb
08/03/2010, 4:36 PM

I don't think this metaphor is quite accurate. He has been picked by England at underage level, and much like what has happened with James McCarthy, he wants to repay the faith shown to him by making himself available for the senior team. Sounds like he's going to wait and see what midfielders retire after the World Cup (I don't think any of them are old enough to retire really apart from Beckham) and weigh up his chances of getting into the squad. Maybe he thinks there's a chance he might get selected as cover for the vacant left-back spot?

It's not ideal anyway, but I can understand where he's coming from.