View Full Version : Jamie O'Hara
dr_peepee
17/10/2009, 1:33 PM
I'm not sure he ever turned us down as much as he did'nt qualify under the old rules. And Trap has proven he is prepared to throw players straight into battle. So who knows what the team will be come Nov 14th. O'Hara might well get a look in.
No he defo turned us down. A couple of times... I dug out some articles before and posted them in the previoous similarly titled thread. And there was another one from years ago too. I don't want this fella on the band Wagon at this point. Honestly would have taken him as recently as a few months ago, but to come on board at this stage. No jayzus way... Feel very strong about it. Would rather see us fail to qualify than to take him at this point. Will boo his every touch in the home leg. Will Bring a "Bring Back Andy Reid" type banner to croker. This is entirely different to what big Jack did. It's mercenary stuff. Desperate. No pride..
Trapp should get off his arse and watch a few more club games than prostitute our team like this at this stage.... These are the kind of noises he should have made a year and a half ago. Not now... Shocking stuff..
Murfinator
17/10/2009, 4:24 PM
Scorer of the equalizer last Saturday, Camoronesi. 100% Argentinian.
He's lived in Italy for a decade, he at the very least has a strong claim to compassion for the country. A similar case is in rugby where a Munster player Mafi will have Irish citizenship in the next year and would be eligible to play for us if he so wishes. Which I wouldn't have a problem with. I do have a problem with this.
Has Nolan ever been to Ireland? He's quite clearly not Irish.
kellco88
17/10/2009, 5:54 PM
Take it none of your family were unfortunate enough to be forced to emigrate.
Good for you.
I was merely making the point that we have good enough players in the premiership without looking for players who might qualify.
And no need for the personal remarks.
17/10/2009, 5:58 PM
Agree with Dr P's first paragraph, but I thought we had now pretty much established that Trap has indeed cast the net as wide as he can, the Andy Reid situation being a different story.
If any of the abovementioned got in ahead of Reid it'd be a travesty. I'd hate for any of them to be included over anyone.
Nolan - NO NO NO. This guy doesnt offer us anything more than we have already. Am sure he was approached during the Stan era and was ineligible but also not interested. No thanks. If anything this guy has seen his best days.
O'Hara - Am sure this guy is in the England U21 squad. Decent player but is known to be not the most professional player about.
Naughton - This guy was involved with us before, I remember reading about Brady sussing him out a few months ago and he wasnt interested. Subsequently received an U21 call up for England.
bumpy101
17/10/2009, 8:17 PM
all the talk about nolan!!! what about fahey, imo he,s a better player playing regularly in a better league!!!
He's lived in Italy for a decade, he at the very least has a strong claim to compassion for the country. A similar case is in rugby where a Munster player Mafi will have Irish citizenship in the next year and would be eligible to play for us if he so wishes. Which I wouldn't have a problem with. I do have a problem with this.
Has Nolan ever been to Ireland? He's quite clearly not Irish.All these are in another country through work. Camo is probably part Italian. Maybe as much Italian as Shaquille O'Neal is Irish. I'd hardly call that 'at least a strong compassion.'
Sadly we don't have anything like Serie A in Ireland, or we might fill the obvious shortcomings we have with people that lived in Ireland, just as Germany, Croatia, Poland and Spain do and have done for as long as foreigners have played in their leagues.
Maybe Nolan has never been to Ireland. Maybe he knows as much about his own country as he knows about the country of one of his ancestors. I dunno, but footballers are rarely that bright in England. But someone in the last two generations in his family left Ireland. Is he eleigible for Irish citizenship? If he is, he's entitled to play for Ireland regardless of whether he's an England fan, a Nazi, likes Brendan Grace music, or is a rampant peado. And I hold all four in equal disdain. :D
irishultra
17/10/2009, 11:48 PM
kevin nolan:rolleyes: just no, well actually have him in contention but he's behind many players including andy reid and keith fahey.
don't care about naughton, never heard of him. does he start for tottenham?
18/10/2009, 3:23 AM
Has Nolan ever been to Ireland? He's quite clearly not Irish.
Oh he has. He was part af a squad to play inthe UEFA championshap qualifiers against England. Brian Kerr was the manager. Mr Nolan couldn't bring himself to play against England and asked to be let go home, which he did. At least he had the honesty and backbone to realise this. However now, maybe his career needs a boost and his agent has suggested he resurrect his international career with the ROI. I say tell him to …
DeNiro
18/10/2009, 9:27 AM
Is Gary Cahill still eligible or did he get a cap for England recently?
18/10/2009, 9:50 AM
as far as i know mafi could never play for ireland as he played 1 game of sevens for new zeland..
Warwick is in the same situation.
backstothewall
18/10/2009, 10:14 AM
Is Andrew Lonergan eligible again?
Murfinator
18/10/2009, 10:33 AM
Isn't there some questionable element over the rules for being capped at sevens or underage? I think by the current rules thats the case but I've heard speculation that appeals under certain circumstances could allow Mafi and Warwick to play for us.
dr_peepee
18/10/2009, 10:56 AM
.... but I thought we had now pretty much established that Trap has indeed cast the net as wide as he can, the Andy Reid situation being a different story.
True. Can't argue with that. But was he at Fratton park yesterday to watch Finnan?? Especially given how weak we are at left full. (I know he's a RB btw but there's options if he comes back at right full)... How much of Ward did he see before he got injured. Again LF is crucial...
Lee Carsley and Rory Delap both played in the middle yesterday. I don't buy into this long throw lark with Delap either. Given Trapps limited expectations of his CMs there's no reason why Delap couldn't come in...
Nah. Trapp has done an awfull lot to be commended for, without a shadow of a doubt but he's been lacking in his efforts outside of the international fixtures lists and allocated time..
Cappello for me ticks every box in terms of his off the pitch attitude to international football...
18/10/2009, 12:28 PM
English managers are bound by contract to make PR appearances at so many EPL games per season.
twoenz
18/10/2009, 1:01 PM
I don't see what the major fuss is tbh. If they could add to the squad then let Trap have a look at them. There haven't been any noises from any of their camps though to indicate that they'd be willing to change allegiance.
As for the argument that journeymen internationals don't try as hard I'd say it's the opposite. If someone's smart enough to realise that this is going to improve their career prospects then they'd be mad to turn up and go through the motions.
Paul Butler had a nightmare 45 minutes, I don't think he was a saboteur. John Mackem was woeful, but Babb and McAteer joined up pre 94 and went on to have long careers with us.
18/10/2009, 1:25 PM
I don't see what the major fuss is tbh. If they could add to the squad then let Trap have a look at them. There haven't been any noises from any of their camps though to indicate that they'd be willing to change allegiance.
I'd say players in this position and I'm thinking especially of Naughton here would play their cards very close to their chest. We are an option for him and he's entitled to consider it. However he will possibly come under considerble pressure from Spurs and may have previously done with Sheffield United not to switch as, straight up, he's worth more in tranfers as an England international than as an Ireland international.
twoenz
18/10/2009, 1:29 PM
I'd say players in this position and I'm thinking especially of Naughton here would play their cards very close to their chest. We are an option for him and he's entitled to consider it. However he will possibly come under considerble pressure from Spurs and may have previously done with Sheffield United not to switch as, straight up, he's worth more in tranfers as an England international than as an Ireland international.
At the same time he's going to be worth a lot more as an international that played in a World Cup as opposed to someone who never played for a country. Nolan, Naughton and O'Hara would need a nuclear holocaust to be in the running for an international tournament in the next few years with England.
Murfinator
18/10/2009, 1:49 PM
English managers are bound by contract to make PR appearances at so many EPL games per season.
Speaking of which I have to say whenever I'm watching a british commentated premiership game I'm so sick of seeing the camera pan in on capello which the commentator will inevitably follow up with " [english player x + y] will be sure to playing extra hard to impress capello"
Firstly I doubt they know he's there and secondly he and his coaching panel are probably watching every game and performance anyway. Just a really annoying thing they keep pointing out.
Murfinator
18/10/2009, 1:51 PM
Wait Naughton's a right back. We have 3 or 4 of those better than him, why would he be of any interest to us?
dr_peepee
18/10/2009, 6:38 PM
Propper Order too.. There's more than merely PR to be gained by it aswell.
It's everything else Cappello does too. The balance of consistency and scanning in his sqauds. The sound bites after games. The fact he had all players that played in the campaign attend the Belerus match regardless of whether they were in the sqaud or not. It's inclusive without affording complacency.... I've been advocating posts the idea of a manager being" inclusive" since McCarthy.
Can you believe there was a time when a fit and regularly playing S Reid and Dunne had no idea where they stood with Ireland under Kerr. No call, no contact. There was no reason for that. It's true that there has to be some sort of professional distance between players and managers, but it's an adult relationship at the end of the day and I think alot of managers forget that....
The days of a Brian Clough only speaking to the first team, literally, are long gone. How many players have fallen out with John Toshak????.....
I still think Trapp should be doing more outside the fixture lists. With the money he's on, a flight to England every second weekend should not be out of the question, especially coming up to Nov 13th... He was quoted as questioning/wondering/hoping if Finnan will even be the same player after his comback. Valid question indeed. He started yesterday against Spurs??? Game in a few weeks. Left full is a serious weak spot. There are avenues not being exhausted. I don't think I expect too much from someone on 2m in the current environment.
philliyk
18/10/2009, 7:45 PM
Wait Naughton's a right back. We have 3 or 4 of those better than him, why would he be of any interest to us?
Good to see you've done your research there!! + your saying McShane is better than him???:eek::eek:
He infact began life in the Sheff Utd 1st team at right full, played a few in centre mid, centre back + 1 or 2 at right mid but towards the end of last season for about about 15 games he played left back. Most observers reckon he could easily play centre mid as he is a great tackler & was better than most in the matches he played at passing the ball around. His one great ability without doubt is his pace & at times was compared to being in the Ashley Cole mould. He seems to be going nowhere fast at spurs though & as he was involved with england U16's,U18's,U19's he was being talked about by Brady, trying to get him to switch to Eire but I don't know if any official approach was ever made but I'm sure the fact he had played for england in all the under-age groups & the fact he was a Sheffield local + grew up as a Blades fan(big england fanbase) then this swung his loyalty when Stuart Pearce came calling with an offer for england U21's.
All the same I think he would be great for us but as previously stated, in my view he would see himself as english & Eire would be a fallback for him + his heart would probably not be in it(just me speculating there) & his lack of games of late would mean he's a definate non-starter for us before the play-offs & most probably the world cup.
shaneker
18/10/2009, 8:20 PM
I was merely making the point that we have good enough players in the premiership without looking for players who might qualify.
And no need for the personal remarks.
Fair enough, maybe I misread your original post, it's something I feel very strongly about. Apologies for any offence.
SilkCut
19/10/2009, 12:01 AM
Name one.... apart from Paul Butler, obviously.
Bernie Slaven. Said in his autobiography that he spent all of Italia 90 hoping Ireland would lose so he could go home to his dogs!!!
Owen Coyle. Declared for us at 28 when there was no sign of a Scotland call up, got his reward with 7 minutes against Holland.
Theres 2!
Oh and John Macken.
19/10/2009, 12:10 AM
Lads Nolan was in Coppers during ithe summer. If that does not qualify for him to play for Ireland I dont know what does.
lopez
19/10/2009, 12:40 AM
Bernie Slaven. Said in his autobiography that he spent all of Italia 90 hoping Ireland would lose so he could go home to his dogs!!!
I think it's a disgrace he would have described his wife and mother-in-law in such a manner in his autobiography, but there you are.
Didn't he also say something along the lines of Chris Hughton being a worse caretaker than Ian Huntley. I wouldn't be in favor of letting these guys join this late in the campaign. If they want to join for the start of the next Qualification campaign then fair enough but to introduce them now could have a detrimental effect on team moral not to mention the fact that it kind of cheapens international football.
19/10/2009, 7:52 AM
Owen Coyle. Declared for us at 28 when there was no sign of a Scotland call up, got his reward with 7 minutes against Holland.
We have written about Owen, many times on this board.
He declared for Ireland before he was 21 when there was also an offer to join up with the Scottish u21 squad. Owen says there was no decision to make as it was an obvious choice for him.
At the time, he also knew he was getting called up into the Irish squad for the u21 game against Scotland, where he gained his first cap.
SilkCut
19/10/2009, 9:56 PM
We have written about Owen, many times on this board.
He declared for Ireland before he was 21 when there was also an offer to join up with the Scottish u21 squad. Owen says there was no decision to make as it was an obvious choice for him.
At the time, he also knew he was getting called up into the Irish squad for the u21 game against Scotland, where he gained his first cap.
:o Did not realise he played U21. Thank you for the correction.
endabob1
20/10/2009, 8:09 AM
http://www.mirrorfootball.co.uk/news/Republic-of-Ireland-boss-Giovanni-Trapattoni-swoops-for-England-s-Gary-Cahill-article194295.html
Gary Cahill is the latest to be linked, would add an option at CB but I've not heard anything from the player himself, considering he has played U-21 & was in Englands most recent squad it is probably a tenuous link
bwagner
20/10/2009, 10:02 AM
Matthew Kilgallon ???? rumoured with a 4 million pound move away from the blades today
endabob1
20/10/2009, 10:11 AM
Matthew Kilgallon.. always asumed he would have Irish in him but what is the connection? Pretty sure he's been capped U21 for England.
Straightstory
20/10/2009, 10:19 AM
what im trying to say is the likes of nolan and o'hara have played for england u21's. would you want them playing for us ????? i dont think townsend and shhedy ever played for eng before. correct me if im wrong.
So, logically, since Darren Gibson played for Northern Ireland U-16s, I presume you don't think he should be playing for the Republic?
20/10/2009, 10:55 AM
No chance with Gary Cahill. He's going to the World Cup with England......Capello's dark horse.
boovidge
20/10/2009, 11:03 AM
So, logically, since Darren Gibson played for Northern Ireland U-16s, I presume you don't think he should be playing for the Republic?
That's a ridiculous comparison.
Straightstory
20/10/2009, 1:26 PM
That's a ridiculous comparison. No it's not. Player plays for team other than Rep of Ireland at under age level, then declares for ROI. That's what Gibson's done. (And I think that's fair enough. I'm not saying he shouldn't). So why is it right for Gibson but not right for anyone else?
Polster
20/10/2009, 1:38 PM
what im trying to say is the likes of nolan and o'hara have played for england u21's. would you want them playing for us ????? i dont think townsend and shhedy ever played for eng before. correct me if im wrong.
They weren't given the option. Like one of our great legends Houghton has said, he would have played for scotland except they snubbed him to many times, so he accepted Jack's callup, was like a two fingers up to Roxbury. Maybe had Aldo, Townsend, Mick, Big Cas and plenty of others been given an England callup first, they would have accepted it.
I would give anyone a chance unless they have been
derogatory towards Ireland. I dont think a player fully understands what it is to represent Ireland until they pull on the shirt and experience the passion of the crowd. If their grand mother or grand father was Irish, I think they have every right, they still have Irish blood in them.
Its up to the manager to decide if they will fit in or not.
Straightstory
20/10/2009, 1:47 PM
They weren't given the option. Like one of our great legends Houghton has said, he would have played for scotland except they snubbed him to many times, so he accepted Jack's callup, was like a two fingers up to Roxbury. Maybe had Aldo, Townsend, Mick, Big Cas and plenty of others been given an England callup first, they would have accepted it.
I would give anyone a chance unless they have been
derogatory towards Ireland. I dont think a player fully understands what it is to represent Ireland until they pull on the shirt and experience the passion of the crowd. If their grand mother or grand father was Irish, I think they have every right, they still have Irish blood in them.
Its up to the manager to decide if they will fit in or not.
Completely agree. (Although probably hard to prove if potential player had ever been 'derogatory' towards Ireland. Would telling Irish jokes count?)
Polster
20/10/2009, 1:49 PM
Completely agree. (Although probably hard to prove if potential player had ever been 'derogatory' towards Ireland. Would telling Irish jokes count?)
We'd be all f**ked so
bwagner
20/10/2009, 1:56 PM
I think Stan asked Kilgallon 3 years back but Fifa's policy is now changed so he may well be available for us
Duggie
20/10/2009, 2:11 PM
No it's not. Player plays for team other than Rep of Ireland at under age level, then declares for ROI. That's what Gibson's done. (And I think that's fair enough. I'm not saying he shouldn't). So why is it right for Gibson but not right for anyone else?
gibson is still 100 per cent irish. playing for the north isnt really like playing for a different country. hes one of our own.
20/10/2009, 2:31 PM
well said polster bar including big mick. he was always going to play for ireland.
Duggie
20/10/2009, 2:38 PM
why dont we do a poll on this
Polster
20/10/2009, 3:32 PM
why dont we do a poll on this
Why do you want a pole? Your argument is completely flawed, and
prejudiced against players without knowing all the circumstances.
Are you saying because Ray Houghton wanted to play for Scotland first, which he has admitted in the past, he is not an Ireland legend, and should never have played for us?
Are you saing if Townsend, Sheedy, Aldrdidge, Cas or any of the others that qualified through ancestory rules had of been called up for England or anyone else, they would have refused them? to wait for an Ireland call up? Some how I doubt the majority if any would of waited, considering it was a surprise to some of them that hey qualified in the first place.
If you apply what you are saying now about Nolan, O Hara etc, well then you are saying all the above legends and others should never have played for Ireland, we'd have never had Euro 88, Italia 90, etc etc, and who knows, maybe not half the home grown players we have today.
Is this what you are saying?
Duggie
20/10/2009, 3:44 PM
Why do you want a pole? Your argument is completely flawed, and
prejudiced against players without knowing all the circumstances.
Are you saying because Ray Houghton wanted to play for Scotland first, which he has admitted in the past, he is not an Ireland legend, and should never have played for us?
Are you saing if Townsend, Sheedy, Aldrdidge, Cas or any of the others that qualified through ancestory rules had of been called up for England or anyone else, they would have refused them? to wait for an Ireland call up? Some how I doubt the majority if any would of waited, considering it was a surprise to some of them that hey qualified in the first place.
If you apply what you are saying now about Nolan, O Hara etc, well then you are saying all the above legends and others should never have played for Ireland, we'd have never had Euro 88, Italia 90, etc etc, and who knows, maybe not half the home grown players we have today.
Is this what you are saying?
forget about the players in the past, the rules have changed now. if anyone here would be happy with english u-21's switching countries cause they will never get a senior cap and putting on the green jersey and standing for our anthem then fair dues but i wouldnt. thats my opinion. im not discounting anyone else's.
Henry Chinaski
20/10/2009, 3:58 PM
how many times does Nolan have to say he's not interested before the FAI leave him alone?
20/10/2009, 4:14 PM
forget about the players in the past, the rules have changed now. if anyone here would be happy with english u-21's switching countries cause they will never get a senior cap and putting on the green jersey and standing for our anthem then fair dues but i wouldnt. thats my opinion. im not discounting anyone else's.
The rules have changed a few times.
It's a bit rich complaining about Cahill and O'Hara possibly declaring for us and not having the same opinion on Houghton and Aldridge.
Frankly they'd be the usual moaning about them and one decent appearance and they'd be one of our own. No doubt those criticising Cahill or O'Hara would be leaping around like demented lemmings if one of them got the only goal v England in Cape Twon next year.
My opinion is that we are a small country with a limited playing pool and if a quality player is eligible and wants to play for us then we should pursue him.
20/10/2009, 4:22 PM
Id go with that gspain, but as always there are exceptions. IN both cases that is
EalingGreen
20/10/2009, 4:51 PM
gibson is still 100 per cent irish. playing for the north isnt really like playing for a different country. hes one of our own.
You might care to reconsider that the next time we meet on the field of play...;)
After all, it felt like it the last time:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JqcqcWmjdcY&feature=PlayList&p=FF64F642367EDCED&playnext=1&playnext_from=PL&index=5
boovidge
20/10/2009, 4:58 PM
No it's not. Player plays for team other than Rep of Ireland at under age level, then declares for ROI. That's what Gibson's done. (And I think that's fair enough. I'm not saying he shouldn't). So why is it right for Gibson but not right for anyone else?
1. Gibson was much younger
2. He was born in Ireland and was always going to play for one of the Irish teams.
3. The rules were not clear cut and he might have thought he had to play for NI instead of his preferred choice ROI.