View Full Version : F.A.I. Ford Cup 4th Round Latest

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12

17/08/2009, 8:06 PM
It hasn't been confirmed for Tallaght yet but it's a strong possibility.

I know it's not 100% confirmation, but MNS stated tonight it was to take place in Tallagh.

17/08/2009, 8:36 PM
Disgrace if it's in Tallaght & Shams are playing in the final...no team should have 'home' advantage in any cup final.

celticV3
17/08/2009, 8:43 PM
Thankfully MNS was able to clear up the controversy surrounding the quick free kick.

17/08/2009, 8:49 PM
Thankfully MNS was able to clear up the controversy surrounding the quick free kick.

As I haven't been able to watch MNS tonight - is it a case of Buttimer fecking up or Derry fans having a pole up their arse about nothing at all?

brianw82
17/08/2009, 8:52 PM
As I haven't been able to watch MNS tonight - is it a case of Buttimer fecking up or Derry fans having a pole up their arse about nothing at all?

The cameras didn't pick it up, so we're all none the wiser.

17/08/2009, 8:56 PM
As I haven't been able to watch MNS tonight - is it a case of Buttimer fecking up or Derry fans having a pole up their arse about nothing at all?...and here comes the referees union...

Candystripe
17/08/2009, 9:51 PM
It looks like even the camera man at the Sligo game wasn't ready either.

That is my one and only comment on the disgrace that Buttimer is for calling himself a referee!

17/08/2009, 9:54 PM
It looks like even the camera man at the Sligo game wasn't ready either.That's the camera man's fault(who is a Derry fan btw), not Buttimer. Looks like all the Derry people weren't ready for Raf's free kick...oh well:)

17/08/2009, 9:54 PM
That's the camera man's fault(who is a Derry fan btw), not Buttimer. Looks like all the Derry people weren't ready for Raf's free kick...oh well:)

As I am sure he can confirm himself, Conka was "off duty" on Saturday.

L.T.F.C.
17/08/2009, 10:16 PM
its at the referees discretion... if the taker asks the referee and the taker gets permission, even without the wall being ten yards away, the taker can do what he likes.

i also found out that it is an offence for a player to receive medical attention on the pitch, you can't be offside from a goal-kick, and an opponent cannot be within two metres of a throw-in.
never knew any of that.

passerrby
17/08/2009, 10:30 PM

while the footage was not conclusive the pole was clearly visable

17/08/2009, 10:33 PM
...and here comes the referees union...

I see the League's Financial Committee is having their two cent there (although the sum may be reduced to one cent on appeal)

17/08/2009, 10:40 PM
A bit of a "you had to be there" moment. The game wasn't great on TV, but apparently the atmosphere was electric. Seems they were cheering the event rather than either the game or the result.

I was there and I laughed my arse off, then felt embarrassed for the league at the minnowism of celebrating a 0-0 draw like that. It was the single most cringeworthy LOI moment I've ever seen and considering we had Connor for a year too that's saying something.

White Horse
17/08/2009, 10:49 PM
I was there and I laughed my arse off, then felt embarrassed for the league at the minnowism of celebrating a 0-0 draw like that.

Much like the feeling I had when I read your latest accounts. A club of chavs and spivs spending money they don't have to buy success.

To think that Bohs used to be a decent club. :rolleyes:

Da Real Rover
17/08/2009, 11:05 PM
Much like the feeling I had when I read your latest accounts. A club of chavs and spivs spending money they don't have to buy success.

Ding ding ding, go on the dundalk fans.
Yeoooooo.
Best of craic.

Hairy Bowsie
17/08/2009, 11:45 PM
It was the single most cringeworthy LOI moment I've ever seen and considering we had Connor for a year too that's saying something.

In internet terms, this thread has to come close.

topia
18/08/2009, 1:00 AM
In internet terms, this thread has to come close.

on that note every time i see a cringeworthy thread you seem to have posted there. your negativity and all round effort as a WUM can be entertaining sometimes though

18/08/2009, 2:39 AM

There there, Arthur. Mummy kiss it better, and you shall have a story.

sfc red
18/08/2009, 3:16 AM
on that note every time i see a cringeworthy thread you seem to have posted there. your negativity and all round effort as a WUM can be entertaining sometimes though

You showed him.

18/08/2009, 7:58 AM

What has that got to do with the FAI Cup fourth round, Connor being a goon and the best result of your season being a 0-0 draw?

BTW, Chav is an English term.

dublinred
18/08/2009, 8:41 AM

Coverage was crap but you can clearly see Raf talking to the ref and then the ref running away which should of been a clue for the Derry players that something magical was about to happen it still boils down to a schoolboy error of not having a player blocking the free theres no point kenny screaming about ref if he can't coach his players to block a free.

Dalymountrower
18/08/2009, 9:04 AM
Disgrace if it's in Tallaght & Shams are playing in the final...no team should have 'home' advantage in any cup final.

As Rovers would have no role whatsoever in arranging the final, fan allocation etc, I don`t see the problem.
Suitable recognition for SDCC`s initiative in buliding and maintaining a community sports facility.

EnglishSource
18/08/2009, 9:43 AM

You do realise the vast majority of FAI cup finals have been held in Dalymount Park?

marinobohs
18/08/2009, 10:14 AM

Tallaght is not owned by Shams and therefore not technically "home". With the exception of RDS and Lawnsdowne I think all cup finals have been played at club grounds (Dalymount, Tolka) and therefore open to the possibility of a club playing at home in the final. As a Bohs fan this has not always helped us so don't see a problem.

marinobohs
18/08/2009, 10:23 AM

as John Gill and Dave Rogers will confirm dundalk are such a class act :rolleyes: (if they had thrown couins they at the opposition it would be TG 4 at fault of course)
Sad manager for a sad club. A bunch of hypocritical nobodys pretending to be a big club after years in the wilderness.

shep
18/08/2009, 10:43 AM
as John Gill and Dave Rogers will confirm dundalk are such a class act :rolleyes: (if they had thrown couins they at the opposition it would be TG 4 at fault of course)
Sad manager for a sad club. A bunch of hypocritical nobodys pretending to be a big club after years in the wilderness.

Oh god,will everyone please shut the fu*k up....The thread is about Fai Cup 4th round...i have tried to ignore all the shi*e thats been written by both Bohs and Dundalk fans since Friday.Dundalk were happy with a 0-0 draw...woop di doo...why do you(Bohs Fans) care so much.Hopefully its a good match tonight with a good crowd and afterwards football is the talking point...not the whole "my dads better than your dad" rubbish.

As for Gill(another debate thats been covered a million times),most Dundalk fans are gratefull for him getting us to where we are so dont know we he was brought back into conversation.

Anyway cant wait for tonight...Dundalk to win it on pens!!!

marinobohs
18/08/2009, 11:50 AM
Oh god,will everyone please shut the fu*k up....The thread is about Fai Cup 4th round...i have tried to ignore all the shi*e thats been written by both Bohs and Dundalk fans since Friday.Dundalk were happy with a 0-0 draw...woop di doo...why do you(Bohs Fans) care so much.Hopefully its a good match tonight with a good crowd and afterwards football is the talking point...not the whole "my dads better than your dad" rubbish.

As for Gill(another debate thats been covered a million times),most Dundalk fans are gratefull for him getting us to where we are so dont know we he was brought back into conversation.

Anyway cant wait for tonight...Dundalk to win it on pens!!!

if you had made that response to the post I was addressing
it might have some merit but as usual it is OK for Dundalk posters to have a go but for other posters to respond. i don't think this thread is about Bohs accounts / finances (never discussed before :rolleyes:) either but it was apparently OK to bring them up - guess I missed your objections.

Hope bohs can finish the job tonight, if Dundalk can keep 11 players on the pitch it will be a close game to call but hopefully home advantage will give us a narrow win.

White Horse
18/08/2009, 12:14 PM
..... if Dundalk can keep 11 players on the pitch it will be a close game to call.......

It is not just down to Dundalk. There is little we can do if the referree sees fouls and cards where none exist. The pundits on MNS all agreed that Dundalk should not have had a man sent off on Friday.

Iorfa2MaccaJim
18/08/2009, 12:21 PM
Two F.A.I. Cup replays down for decision tonight :

Bohemians .V. Dundalk

The Blues .V. Crumlin Utd

18/08/2009, 12:25 PM
Cmon the Mighty Blues!

(Crumlin of course)

shep
18/08/2009, 12:34 PM
if you had made that response to the post I was addressing
it might have some merit but as usual it is OK for Dundalk posters to have a go but for other posters to respond. i don't think this thread is about Bohs accounts / finances (never discussed before :rolleyes:) either but it was apparently OK to bring them up - guess I missed your objections.

Hope bohs can finish the job tonight, if Dundalk can keep 11 players on the pitch it will be a close game to call but hopefully home advantage will give us a narrow win.

I dont think i have ever mentioned Bohs finances in any of my posts TBH,i am prob one of the few who would hate to see Bohs drop a division,because they are a massive addition to the league in terms of quality.

blue til i die
18/08/2009, 12:51 PM
Cmon the Mighty Blues!

(Crumlin of course)

Brilliant :D

White Horse
18/08/2009, 1:26 PM
A bunch of hypocritical nobodys pretending to be a big club after years in the wilderness.

So why did your club designate games against us as an A fixture alongside games against Derry, Pats, Rovers, and Cork?

18/08/2009, 1:35 PM
So why did your club designate games against us as an A fixture alongside games against Derry, Pats, Rovers, and Cork?Because your fans throw things at managers?

White Horse
18/08/2009, 1:44 PM
Because your fans throw things at managers?

Hypocrite :rolleyes:

SLIGO Rovers fans who let off smoke bombs at matches have been told to “stop this stupid behaviour” because it is costing the club money it can ill afford.

The Bit O’Red have been fined e500 for the discharging of smoke bombs and the throwing of objects onto the pitch at the FAI Ford Cup game against Shamrock Rovers on June 7.

The fine was imposed by the FAI’s Disciplinary Committee at a meeting last week.

The club were previously fined this season for supporters letting off flares and a pitch encroachment at the Finn Harps match in Ballybofey.

http://archives.tcm.ie/sligoweekender/2008/07/01/story35926.asp

Yet you are a "B" fixture according to Bohemian FC. There must be a different reason for Dundalk being an "A" fixture.

Da Real Rover
18/08/2009, 1:46 PM
Bohs fans are obsessed about being obsessed about?
Discuss.

Da Real Rover
18/08/2009, 1:48 PM

SLIGO Rovers fans who let off smoke bombs at matches have been told to “stop this stupid behaviour” because it is costing the club money it can ill afford.

The Bit O’Red have been fined e500 for the discharging of smoke bombs and the throwing of objects onto the pitch at the FAI Ford Cup game against Shamrock Rovers on June 7.

The fine was imposed by the FAI’s Disciplinary Committee at a meeting last week.

The club were previously fined this season for supporters letting off flares and a pitch encroachment at the Finn Harps match in Ballybofey.

http://archives.tcm.ie/sligoweekender/2008/07/01/story35926.asp

Yet you are a "B" fixture according to Bohemian FC. There must be a different reason for Dundalk being an "A" fixture.
http://badadvice.typepad.com/.a/6a00d8341c94c853ef01116855aea2970c-800wi

18/08/2009, 1:50 PM

How is sligoman a hypocrit for telling you why Bohs made a decision?

Rovers Maniac
18/08/2009, 2:06 PM
Just wondering would Dundalk get more fans than Bohs if they were doing as well as Bohs? I think Dundalk punched way above their weight in the 80's, fair play, as they are probably doing with this internet rivarly with the Bohs.

marinobohs
18/08/2009, 2:16 PM
So why did your club designate games against us as an A fixture alongside games against Derry, Pats, Rovers, and Cork?

Designation (Aor B matches) is based on likely interest and potential crowd. "welcoming back" our former manager given his departure and all that entailed and almost half of your team (former Bohs players) meant there was an expected interest level there that would not exist for other teams.

"A" designation had nothing to do with potential trouble from your fans (not considered an issue) and even less to do with your importance/relevance (not realistic :D)

White Horse
18/08/2009, 2:19 PM
Just wondering would Dundalk get more fans than Bohs if they were doing as well as Bohs? I think Dundalk punched way above their weight in the 80's, fair play, as they are probably doing with this internet rivarly with the Bohs.

As far as I know our average gate this season is just a couple of hundred less than Bohs and they are enjoying their best ever period. They also have quite a few derby matches and Dalymount is easier to get from the rest of Ireland than Oriel Park.

I don't think we would attract a huge amount of additional fans if the team was challenging for the title, maybe 500-1000 more at most. Better facilites for home and way (in particular) fans could only help.

Dundalk have been consistently successful though. Two titles in the 60's, two in the 70's, two in the 80's, and two in the 90's. The picture you paint of a team that was only successful in the 80's isn't really accurate.

Rovers Maniac
18/08/2009, 2:34 PM
As far as I know our average gate this season is just a couple of hundred less than Bohs and they are enjoying their best ever period. They also have quite a few derby matches and Dalymount is easier to get from the rest of Ireland than Oriel Park.

I don't think we would attract a huge amount of additional fans if the team was challenging for the title, maybe 500-1000 more at most. Better facilites for home and way (in particular) fans could only help.

Dundalk have been consistently successful though. Two titles in the 60's, two in the 70's, two in the 80's, and two in the 90's. The picture you paint of a team that was only successful in the 80's isn't really accurate.

To be honest smaller teams done well pre pro era imo, i would say your high average crowd is first season back syndrome after being the first division. Good luck tonight in the cup.

Da Real Rover
18/08/2009, 2:36 PM
Dundalk have always had a good following though.
There are a few small towns in Ireland where the local team has quite a high support base in contrast to bigger population centres.

White Horse
18/08/2009, 2:44 PM
To be honest smaller teams done well pre pro era imo, i would say your high average crowd is first season back syndrome after being the first division. Good luck tonight in the cup.

Thanks. You are right in that there is a buzz and excitment at playing the big boys after so many years. If we stagnate in the premier, I could see interest falling away a bit.

However, we should maintain a decent following as GAA football is very much a minority sport in the town.

18/08/2009, 2:53 PM
There are a few small towns in Ireland where the local team has quite a high support base in contrast to bigger population centres.

Sligo, Athlone, Dundalk, for example (though poor crowds for Athlone these days).

The football towns in Ireland tend to be former garrison towns where the GAA didn't get its roots down.

18/08/2009, 2:58 PM
I never thought a thread started by this thread starter would get so much of a response..

jinxy lilywhite
18/08/2009, 3:03 PM
First things first can the bohs dundalk obsession stop please. Boring the tits off me.

I think we would and possible there could be another 1,000 dundalk supporters who could make the games on friday but through one thing or another or lack of effort can't make it. Its not a big GAA town and is a football mad town. Also as well alot of our support comes from our supporters who'd reside in the Dublin area (one of my mates travels from Kilkenny every game) and the same can be said for those who live over the border.
If we where higher up the table then the crowds would come. Football fans are fickle and will follow a winning side but actions that took place on friday night after the game where embarrassing and unless addressed by the club will harm the clubs reputation and could harm the prospects of appealing to families for a fun day out.

RoversHead
18/08/2009, 3:08 PM
However, we should maintain a decent following as GAA football is very much a minority sport in the town.
Warms the cockles of my heart to hear that ,no surrender to the Gaaliban.Best of luck against the forces of darkness and evil and remember they are there to be laughed at.

Da Real Rover
18/08/2009, 3:29 PM
Sligo, Athlone, Dundalk, for example (though poor crowds for Athlone these days).
Aye, decades of stagnation in the graveyard would do that to a club.

The football towns in Ireland tend to be former garrison towns where the GAA didn't get its roots down.
I dont know if thats completely true, there are many small towns in the west that were garrison towns and do not have a footballing history, the likes of Castlebar and Carrick and Shannon etc.
It definetly had some effect but doesnt explain the situation completely.

A N Mouse
18/08/2009, 3:34 PM
Aye, decades of stagnation in the graveyard would do that to a club.

I dont know if thats completely true, there are many small towns in the west that were garrison towns and do not have a footballing history, the likes of Castlebar and Carrick and Shannon etc.
It definetly had some effect but doesnt explain the situation completely.

And posters on here tend to miss the point, go off on tangents and yada yada yada yada
It's definitely true, but doesn't explain the situation completely