View Full Version : F.A.I. Ford Cup 4th Round Latest
Pages :
[
5]
White Horse
15/08/2009, 8:38 PM
I've a liking for Dundalk, but it seems a bit farfetched to think he was celebrating the other results after a nil all draw.
That is what it felt like at the time.
Many Dundalk fans were actually dissappointed at the result as that was probably our chance to progress.
CSFShels
15/08/2009, 8:38 PM
Indeed. I know anything I say here will be interpreted as bitter due to being a Rovers fan, but he did just get his first result in 4 against Bohs this season. It wouldn't be beyond the man to 'celebrate' such an achievement.
But theres no significance in the draw, they don't get a point, or go through on aggregate or anything, they now have to go to Dalymount and win.
The significance is not losing, for the first time, to the Big Bad Bohs.
For the record, tonight marks the closest game to Finn Harps' 40th anniversary in LOI football.
By coincidence we fielded an all-Donegal team in this game.
brianw82
15/08/2009, 8:42 PM
For the record, tonight marks the closest game to Finn Harps' 40th anniversary in LOI football.
By coincidence we fielded an all-Donegal team in this game.
I dread when I see you posting in the 'Latest' thread. Sometimes I think you're Paddy Power, mocking me from afar.
From the extratime updates:
99' - A foolish Derry fan runs on the pitch and goes to attack Buttimer.
brianw82
15/08/2009, 8:44 PM
Sligo 1-0 Derry FT
WoooT!!!!
Of course, given our season, this means a guaranteed 3-0 defeat and shockingly poor performance in our next game.
15/08/2009, 8:46 PM
Well done Sligo! I would love if we progressed on the 7th and met you in the next round. Havent had a night out in Sligo in ages!
Anthony Buttimer does us in the cup again!!:mad::mad:
A bit of pressure on Kenny now? DCFC look to be going nowhere fast in the league and his traditional ability to do well in cups seems to have deserted him this year.
Anthony Buttimer does us in the cup again!!:mad::mad:
Is this in response to the quick free kick?
Were your players never taught how to stand over a ball no?
You fouled, the attacking team has every right to take the free quickly, unless they ask the ref to measure 10 yards, or the refs being picky.
What exactly did Buttimer do wrong?
SMorgan
15/08/2009, 9:08 PM
You fouled, the attacking team has every right to take the free quickly, unless they ask the ref to measure 10 yards, or the refs being picky.
Now, we don't want Derry fans making out that the whole world is against them..
Don't you hate when fans do that???
Ezeikial
15/08/2009, 9:14 PM
Indeed. I know anything I say here will be interpreted as bitter due to being a Rovers fan, but he did just get his first result in 4 against Bohs this season. It wouldn't be beyond the man to 'celebrate' such an achievement.
To be fair to you brianw82, it's probably more got to do with your history of anti-Connor biased posts rather then your Sligo connections.
Sean Connor has many inadequacies, which include irrational and even irresponsible comments in earlier programme articles, but he also has many postive attributes which have been fundamental to a significant improvement in Dundalks on-field performance. These abilities were also instrumental to the relative success achieved at Sligo Rovers. This, along with the fact that he made enormous improvements at Bohs and laid the foundations for the subsequent double winning team, is readily dismissed by some under sweeping "spoofer" barbs, and other inane derision attempts.
I understand that some Sligo fans may be miffed by his defection to Bohs, and the manner in which a number of players followed him. Similarly I can understand that some Bohs fans wish to vent their ire on Connor rather then the Bohs board, following the €100k + settlement cost.
It may be that your irrational, but consistent, anti-Connor disposition prevents you from understanding the highly charged atmosphere of last nights match, and how most managers would want to acknowledge and respond to a passionate home crowd who provided tremendous support for their team over the 90 minutes.
whinnie01
15/08/2009, 9:22 PM
if you are going to try and be smart then id like to point out that letting sean connor manage a football team is not a shrewd move
The smart move in contolling the football club that Gerry Matthews has done at Dundalk is keep his manager in line with regard to running a business, budgets seem to be working, players and staff been paid and hopefully the taxman etc, not allowing himself to be talked into paying fanciful monies chasing short term success that in turn leads to financial meltdown as experienced by other clubs like Cork and Drogheda and presently by Bohs, this is the smart job of the ceo of any club.
Don't you hate when fans do that???
Personally? Yeah, can't say I'm a fan of it
wexfordned
15/08/2009, 10:14 PM
To be fair to you brianw82, it's probably more got to do with your history of anti-Connor biased posts rather then your Sligo connections.
Sean Connor has many inadequacies, which include irrational and even irresponsible comments in earlier programme articles, but he also has many postive attributes which have been fundamental to a significant improvement in Dundalks on-field performance. These abilities were also instrumental to the relative success achieved at Sligo Rovers. This, along with the fact that he made enormous improvements at Bohs and laid the foundations for the subsequent double winning team, is readily dismissed by some under sweeping "spoofer" barbs, and other inane derision attempts.
I understand that some Sligo fans may be miffed by his defection to Bohs, and the manner in which a number of players followed him. Similarly I can understand that some Bohs fans wish to vent their ire on Connor rather then the Bohs board, following the €100k + settlement cost.
It may be that your irrational, but consistent, anti-Connor disposition prevents you from understanding the highly charged atmosphere of last nights match, and how most managers would want to acknowledge and respond to a passionate home crowd who provided tremendous support for their team over the 90 minutes.
I can assure you that boh's fans hatred of the spoofer is nothing to do with our former board. They did the right thing in sacking him, they were just too imcompetent to do it right.
Connor got bohs to 3rd in the league by playing some of the most boring football seen for years in Dalymount. He was more successful than Farrelly, but he had a far larger budget and frankly being considered a better manager than him is know ringing endorsment. Connor has a great eye for talent, but frankly the shocking fitness levels of his bohs team, complete lack of man-management skills and his desperate search for any microphone/interview for attention is embarassing.
Hope he had a great night celebrating the draw friday night & has that Dundalk flag hanging on his wall as one of the highlights of his season:rolleyes:
brianw82
15/08/2009, 10:17 PM
Ah yes, I forgot that you have all my 1500 posts saved in a spreadsheet for quick reference and that, in accordance with the Bitter Sligo Rovers Fans directive, approximately half of them are required be anti-Connor. Speaking of which, I believe I've recently dropped below the required threshold, so I shall go and start a new thread on the wee fella lest I be fined by the BSRF.
On a completely unrelated note, I'd be interested to see how many of your 375 posts are related to Bohemians. :D
Rovers fan
15/08/2009, 10:59 PM
How will fans react to that?
By trying to attack the ref!!
Ezeikial
15/08/2009, 11:23 PM
Ah yes, I forgot that you have all my 1500 posts saved in a spreadsheet for quick reference and that, in accordance with the Bitter Sligo Rovers Fans directive, approximately half of them are required be anti-Connor. Speaking of which, I believe I've recently dropped below the required threshold, so I shall go and start a new thread on the wee fella lest I be fined by the BSRF.
On a completely unrelated note, I'd be interested to see how many of your 375 posts are related to Bohemians. :D
Go on and flatter yourself a little bit more!
At least somewhere in your attempt at some type of irony/sarcasm/humour there is a semblance of a recognition of your lack of balance regarding Sean Connor - it's still not clear to me why this is so!
I can assure you that boh's fans hatred of the spoofer is nothing to do with our former board. They did the right thing in sacking him, they were just too imcompetent to do it right.
Connor got bohs to 3rd in the league by playing some of the most boring football seen for years in Dalymount. He was more successful than Farrelly, but he had a far larger budget and frankly being considered a better manager than him is know ringing endorsment. Connor has a great eye for talent, but frankly the shocking fitness levels of his bohs team, complete lack of man-management skills and his desperate search for any microphone/interview for attention is embarassing.
Hope he had a great night celebrating the draw friday night & has that Dundalk flag hanging on his wall as one of the highlights of his season:rolleyes:
Bohs have had a significant turnover of managers in the recent past; since 1998 - Turlough O'Connor, Joe Mc Grath, Roddy Collins, Pete Mahon, Stephen Kenny, Gareth Farrelly. Sean Connor was the 7th manager to depart in 10 years - most in less then positive terms. Perhaps this raises more questions about the Boards attitude and management then anything else.
It may be that Sean Connor was the wrong manager for Bohs, but it is hard to believe that boring football, a perceived issue with fitness or deficient man-management skills are the actual issues to incite "hatred", particularly when you consider the huge turnaround in Bohs league position, and the string of quality players he attracted to the club.
brianw82
15/08/2009, 11:37 PM
Go on and flatter yourself a little bit more!
At least somewhere in your attempt at some type of irony/sarcasm/humour there is a semblance of a recognition of your lack of balance regarding Sean Connor - it's still not clear to me why this is so!
This will be my last response to this childishness. Very few of my posts on this forum have been anti-Connor, and I don't know why you seem to be of the opinion that I am consistently and vehemently anti-Connor.
My post on Connor in this thread was merely to state that it would not be below the man to celebrate this result after the previous 3 defeats to Bohs and his 'ridden rock solid'-style essay following the second of those.
He has his managerial qualities and has certainly got some good results in the past few months, and deserves all credit for that.
Mental Man
15/08/2009, 11:39 PM
Looks like Dundalk fans are quickly outshining the BSC are the worst fans in the League !!
Most clubs have gone through a bunch of managers in that time, including Dundalk, and many of the partings are acrimonious. Particular venom is virtually always reserved for those who are judged to be dodgy characters to one extent or another. At Harps for example Hegarty, Healy, Dykes and Keely all all left Harps on bad terms. (May their underpants eternally contain rusty thumbtacks.)
In the vast majority of cases though the fans of previous clubs were dead right about them too.
15/08/2009, 11:50 PM
Great ending to the game:D. The 2 Derry fans running on was funny, they just love Buttimer!
Aaron
15/08/2009, 11:50 PM
Not just that, he was criminal all night going by Radio Foyle and fans on our own MB. He's a ****in disgrace of a ref. I'm by no means defending the actions of the idiots who tried to attack him btw.
MMVIII
15/08/2009, 11:54 PM
Has it to do with the goal he attacked him?
I'm by no means defending the actions of the idiots who tried to attack him btw.
Ill be stoned for this, but I can understand it. Emotions running high, not the end of the world really. Just wished he could have actually hit him :D
Joke ;)
sligofan4ever
15/08/2009, 11:55 PM
Great ending to the game:D. The 2 Derry fans running on was funny, they just love Buttimer!
Did you see the two kids running on after the second fan ran on :D.
Commentator (?)(the name escapes me): "All fans please remain in your seats!". After the 2 lads ran on :D took 3 guards to get the first fella off too!
dfclilywhite
15/08/2009, 11:57 PM
Looks like Dundalk fans are quickly outshining the BSC are the worst fans in the League !!
I'm sorry but you can't call all Dundalk fans 'the worst fans in the league'. There are a select few who try their best to ruin the club's reputation but 99% of all Dundalk fans will never cause any trouble but like at most clubs there will always be a few idiots.
Aaron
15/08/2009, 11:57 PM
Has it to do with the goal he attacked him?
Ill be stoned for this, but I can understand it. Emotions running high, not the end of the world really. Just wished he could have actually hit him :D
Joke ;)
I dont really know, but i'd hazard a guess because its a combination of cheating against us by Buttimer. He is a total disgrace of a person!!!
Mr Maroon
15/08/2009, 11:59 PM
Fantastic result for the Town tonight. I'm sure a certain Galway United player is eating his words tonight after been interviewed on the radio saying 'it was a handy draw for them'. I'm sure Cronin needed to say no more in the dressing room to get the lads fired up for this one!!!
C'mon on the Town!!!
Which player was that?
sligofan4ever
15/08/2009, 11:59 PM
I dont really know, but i'd hazard a guess because its a combination of cheating against us by Buttimer. He is a total disgrace of a person!!!
I wouldn't say that, the free kicks ye were getting in the first half were a disgrace! surprised ye didnt get a penalty. Yet in the 1st half, he also managed to miss Morrison and Cretaro on 2 occasions blatently getting pushed to the ground off the ball, in fact when Morrison got pushed to the ground ye got the free when we should've had one on the edge of the box.
Aaron
16/08/2009, 12:01 AM
I wouldn't say that, the free kicks ye were getting in the first half were a disgrace! surprised ye didnt get a penalty. Yet in the 1st half, he also managed to miss Morrison and Cretaro on 2 occasions blatently getting pushed to the ground off the ball, in fact when Morrison got pushed to the ground ye got the free when we should've had one on the edge of the box.
I'm not just talking about this game sligofan2ever
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bFQSD8KB8tQ
showgies
16/08/2009, 12:18 AM
Did you see the two kids running on after the second fan ran on :D.
I have sad feeling that they were that chap's kids who were wondering where daddy was heading to?
MMVIII
16/08/2009, 12:22 AM
16/08/2009, 12:26 AM
I have sad feeling that they were that chap's kids who were wondering where daddy was heading to?
LOL :D
According to some posters on citychat, Buttimer held up his whistle - seen by many as a sign to wait for the whistle....Cretaro hit the free before Buttimer whistled. We should have had someone over the ball anyway...but if the above is shown to be true on MNS then it should be further proof that Buttimer isn't fit to be reffing at this level for ANYONE.
sligofan4ever
16/08/2009, 12:33 AM
Yeah thats what i tought too.
MMVIII
16/08/2009, 12:38 AM
And you think no clear cut decisions went against us?
But i agree, he is a joke. Probably the worst in this league.
sligofan4ever
16/08/2009, 12:45 AM
And you think no clear cut decisions went against us?
But i agree, he is a joke. Probably the worst in this league.
Surprised to hear that coming from a Rovers fan after what was witnessed in the semi final last week.
"Slightly surprising" that Murphy wasn't sent off by Alan Kelly tonight. Prevented a clear goalscoring chance to make it 3-2 with 15 minutes left..
MMVIII
16/08/2009, 12:53 AM
Surprised to hear that coming from a Rovers fan after what was witnessed in the semi final last week.
Aye thats true, I should have said One of the worst :)
Now everyones happy.
sligofan4ever
16/08/2009, 1:10 AM
Aye thats true, I should have said One of the worst :)
Now everyones happy.
Come to think of it, is it even possible that there is a "best" referee in this league ? Our semi final against Bohs and the last 2 games we've seen very questionable referee's, two of which (Winter and Buttimer) we know all to well about :(. We are going backwards with referee standards, former LoI referee's moniter how referee's are performing, the situation will get worse before it gets better, mainly because just the tought of Richie Winter and Anthony Buttimer being in the position of monitering referee's when they retire makes me fear that it will be a long,long time before a decent referee comes along.
red bellied
16/08/2009, 1:46 AM
Cretaro actually asked the ref first before he actually passed the ball first into the net. Maybe Derry are a bit slow.
16/08/2009, 1:58 AM
Buttimer signaled to the Derry defenders what looked like, IMO, 'wait for my whistle', whilst holding his whistle in front of them. He then turned to the Derry defense and directed them (the wall) to move back. At the same time the free kick was taken.
I have never been so angry at a match before. And I've seen some disgraceful referreeing performances. Even the Sligo fans I was talking to after the match were questioning why the free kick was allowed.
I know most refs in this league are incompetant, but some are blatantly biased. I can name two.
It's this sort of stuff that makes people not come back to LoI matches. There was a woman in tears at the end of the match today.
I don't know if there's any point emailing the FAI, but I will do. I'll email MNS also, simply asking them to show the sequence of events from 10 seconds before the free-kick was awarded until the goal was scored. [btw, the free-kick was questionable]
I can only hope that Buttimer's instructions were videoed.
I'm disgusted.
red bellied
16/08/2009, 2:02 AM
Buttimer signaled to the Derry defenders what looked like, IMO, 'wait for my whistle', whilst holding his whistle in front of them. He then turned to the Derry defense and directed them (the wall) to move back. At the same time the free kick was taken.
I have never been so angry at a match before. And I've seen some disgraceful referreeing performances. Even the Sligo fans I was talking to after the match were questioning why the free kick was allowed.
I know most refs in this league are incompetant, but some are blatantly biased. I can name two.
It's this sort of stuff that makes people not come back to LoI matches. There was a woman in tears at the end of the match today.
I don't know if there's any point emailing the FAI, but I will do. I'll email MNS also, simply asking them to show the sequence of events from 10 seconds before the free-kick was awarded until the goal was scored. [btw, the free-kick was questionable]
I'm disgusted.
Why are you objectionable, what is the law on a quick free kick?
16/08/2009, 2:11 AM
Why are you objectionable, what is the law on a quick free kick?
Buttimer held his whistle up to the Derry players and said 'wait for my whistle'.
That's what I object to.
Some Derry fans have been saying that he winded our fans up during his warm-up by blowing kisses. (http://www.derrycitychat.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=2882)
Hopefully this will all be on video.
Fair fecks to Sligo, they done so so much better than the second half on Tuesday. Vastly inproved. No team deserved to win tonight though.
red bellied
16/08/2009, 2:15 AM
Buttimer held his whistle up to the Derry players and said 'wait for my whistle'.
That's what I object to.
Some Derry fans have been saying that he winded our fans up during his warm-up by blowing kisses. (http://www.derrycitychat.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=2882)
Hopefully this will all be on video.
Fair fecks to Sligo, they done so so much better than the second half on Tuesday. Vastly inproved. No team deserved to win tonight though.
Well maybe he is queer blow some back the next time.
brianw82
16/08/2009, 2:16 AM
I'm disgusted.
I wasn't at the game, but if it's true that Buttimer gave a signal to wait for his whistle, then the free kick shouldn't have been allowed, as Cretaro didn't follow the rules. If Cretaro did have a word in his ear and got permission to take the free quickly, the Derry players then weren't aware of this, and were still getting set when it was taken.
While I'm happy that we won the game, any honest football fan would be utterly fuming to lose a game in this fashion. It does seem like Derry were, in the immortal words of Rico, ridden rock solid tonight.
red bellied
16/08/2009, 2:23 AM
I wasn't at the game, but if it's true that Buttimer gave a signal to wait for his whistle, then the free kick shouldn't have been allowed, as Cretaro didn't follow the rules. If Cretaro did have a word in his ear and got permission to take the free quickly, the Derry players then weren't aware of this, and were still getting set when it was taken.
While I'm happy that we won the game, any honest football fan would be utterly fuming to lose a game in this fashion. It does seem like Derry were, in the immortal words of Rico, ridden rock solid tonight.
Honest football fan and you are supposed to be Sligo Rovers, dont make me laugh.
brianw82
16/08/2009, 3:00 AM
But making you laugh is my reason to live!