View Full Version : F.A.I. Ford Cup 4th Round Latest
Pages :
[
4]
Yes a shrewd local business man called Gerry Matthews who has taken us from the brink of extinction 5 yars ago to the Premier Division!
if you are going to try and be smart then id like to point out that letting sean connor manage a football team is not a shrewd move
McKeown. Been fairly poor, loads of yellows and the game hasn't been particularly nasty
Hancock was the ref.(pr!ck of a ref aswell). Roll on Tuesday.
Well done Longford.
B&W, calm it down...Why get into an arguement about Dundalk? Ye can't win on here ffs.
Black and White
15/08/2009, 1:45 AM
if you are going to try and be smart then id like to point out that letting sean connor manage a football team is not a shrewd move
You did ask who was in charge of Dundalk FC...the man is Gerry Matthews, you should have been more specific!;)
15/08/2009, 1:52 AM
Fair enough. Will do.
Moving on from the sh!te...
Replays are this Tuesday yes?
15/08/2009, 1:57 AM
Or Monday if you are us, but that may change.
This thread has become a very pointless affair.Magicme there is no point in arguing, unfortunately there are some very paranoid dundalk fans on here who seem to feel victimised yet dont exactly cover themselves in glory with some of the things they say
Or Monday if you are us, but that may change.
Cheers, thankfully I'm not in your "us" part...:p
Black and White
15/08/2009, 2:16 AM
This thread has become a very pointless affair.Magicme there is no point in arguing, unfortunately there are some very paranoid dundalk fans on here who seem to feel victimised yet dont exactly cover themselves in glory with some of the things they say
I havnt mentioned anything about victimisation! I had a rant about Fenlon and got me head bitten off!:D
Blue Man
15/08/2009, 3:19 AM
Now before Im attacked, Ive nothing against Dundalk Fc as a club but is anyone else tired of the whole 'seige mentality' crap thats going on up there?? Everyone hates us, we have players sent off and we dont cheat etc etc. I mean seriously, blaming TG4 for holding an interview in front of your 'hard core' support?? Absolute rubbish. How on earth that can be defended is beyond me. Yes Felon has his haters among LoI supporters but to have objects thrown during an interview is idiotic.
Since the season has started I dont know how many threads has been discussed on the behaviour of Dundalk fans and to be honest this latest one does not surprise me. It started as Cup Latest thread but yet again you manage to turn this into an 'us against the world' thread. You may be within your budget and salary cap or whatever but a section of your fans are complete and utter scum and the sooner you stop deluding yourself and trying to defend these so called supporters, the quicker you may gain the respect of posters on this board.
Im just tired of having entire threads turned into a Dundalk fans vs Drogheda fans vs everyone else slagging fest. Its really getting old
Yeah but in fairness, the posts from dundalk fans are making this one of the funniest threads in a while! I cant believe they're even this stupid! Keep posting lads!!
Hairy Bowsie
15/08/2009, 8:25 AM
Now before Im attacked, Ive nothing against Dundalk Fc as a club but is anyone else tired of the whole 'seige mentality' crap thats going on up there?? Everyone hates us, we have players sent off and we dont cheat etc etc. I mean seriously, blaming TG4 for holding an interview in front of your 'hard core' support?? Absolute rubbish. How on earth that can be defended is beyond me. Yes Felon has his haters among LoI supporters but to have objects thrown during an interview is idiotic.
Since the season has started I dont know how many threads has been discussed on the behaviour of Dundalk fans and to be honest this latest one does not surprise me. It started as Cup Latest thread but yet again you manage to turn this into an 'us against the world' thread. You may be within your budget and salary cap or whatever but a section of your fans are complete and utter scum and the sooner you stop deluding yourself and trying to defend these so called supporters, the quicker you may gain the respect of posters on this board.
Im just tired of having entire threads turned into a Dundalk fans vs Drogheda fans vs everyone else slagging fest. Its really getting old
Spot on. I would imagine (and hope) that other Dundalk fans are reading Black and Whites posts and are cringing with the pathetic nature of them and are ashamed of the sexist nature (although the latter doesn't really reflect on Dundalk as a whole, it can be shameful. I feel ashamed i share the same sex as Black and White if truth be told). Black and White - grow the f*ck up!!!
As for the throwing incident, the blame lies solely with the person who threw the item and NOT TG4 and anyone who thinks otherwise is clearly an idiot. There is no excusing what happened. It's happened in Tolka a few time (Thankfully not recently) and it's disgusting to see.
Dalymountrower
15/08/2009, 9:02 AM
Spot on.
Haven`t worked out how to report gratuitously offensive posts to the Mods, but the sexist stuff directed at Magicme by B&W is disgraceful.
wexfordned
15/08/2009, 9:15 AM
As for the throwing incident, the blame lies solely with the person who threw the item and NOT TG4 and anyone who thinks otherwise is clearly an idiot. There is no excusing what happened. It's happened in Tolka a few time (Thankfully not recently) and it's disgusting to see.
Connor didn't help, egging them on running up and down with the dundalk flag like a 7 year old pretending to be superman high fiving the fans.
Maybe I fell asleep during the gamed but it was only watching the spoofer that I realised that Dundalk won. I thought it finished 0-0. :confused:
15/08/2009, 10:10 AM
The behaviour of of the individual that threw anything on the pitch is inexcusable no matter what the circumstances! When the TV crew were moving in front of the shed for the interviews we all held our breaths(thinking 'oh no they're not really going to do the interviews there) and true to form there was one idiot who let us down....The very same thing happened in 2002 after the cup semi-final when Martin Murray was hit on the face by a coin while we cringed at the interview being held in front of the Rovers support(thats not in any way a dig/justification)! Dundalk have, for as long as i can remember, an element in our support that embaresses us all too often. I think most of the larger clubs/towns etc would concur that they are let down by elements of their support and no matter how much security there is always an arsehole who causes some sort of rubbish(queue the 'not us brigade'). Solutions...there are plenty if money was no object, realistic solutions-i dunno tbh, as how can anyone legislate for the actions of one or two individuals in a crowd of
3500 in what is a large open ground -1 piece of chewing gum and one coke bottle being thrown...its not good enough i know but :o:confused:
15/08/2009, 10:22 AM
Maxi, his family own a pub in town
Called McAllsiters if anybody wants to dance around around in any ill-fitting jersey with a petrol can full of water......
Maxi-not blessed with the brains of that family(ye should meet his brother...:D):p
15/08/2009, 10:41 AM
In a vain attempt to bring this back on topic.
http://www.bbc.co.uk/northernireland/radiofoyle/programmes/sport/satsport/index_sportspecial.shtml
http://www.ustream.tv/channel/icandy-live
For coverage from Sligo tonight.
Da Real Rover
15/08/2009, 10:43 AM
Thank god Dundalk got promoted.
There fans are the best of craic on here.
And B&W keep the flag flying high chief, your my new Foot.ie hero.
15/08/2009, 11:13 AM
Wow, some people on here might want to have a long hard look at themselves, and decide if continuing on is the best option....
Had to delete some of the, eh, better gems but seriously, those who got infractions, grow up or **** off
Anyway, just a quick reply to a stupid post.
That rat faced little tool of a man Fenlon is hated in every LOI ground around the country and the clowns who held that interview in front of the shed should be taken out and shot as they knew bloody rightly what would happen. It is where all the die hard Dundlak fans stand attend and watch matches!
Fenlon isn't hated by the vast majority of LOI fans. Obviously as Bohs manager most will want him to fail, but what has he done to make him "hated in every ground in the country?". I think you'll find he's done nothing to Sligo, Cork, Dundalk and pretty much every team. Certainly no more than most. Sure there's a rivalry but if you hate every single opposition manager, then frankly you're an idiot, and one that needs to walk away from football before you have a heart attack from all the rage inside of you
Also, you've basically just slated any Dundalk fans who don't go the shed as non Die-hards, while at the same time tarring all those who do as potential scumbags. Nice work.
longfordjames
15/08/2009, 11:25 AM
Indeed, the passion did boil over afterwards as Bohs boss Pat Fenlon was struck by a number of missiles while he performed his post-match interview with TG4, who broadcast the match.
"I don't think a big issue should be made of it, it was a couple of idiots just throwing things but hopefully the people here will deal with it properly," said Fenlon after the incident.
idiots
"The problem is if one of them hits you in the eye or the head there's a problem, but in any ground you get idiots that want to ruin things
From Irish Independent
15/08/2009, 11:47 AM
Our replay with St Pats has been confirmed as on the 7th of September.
15/08/2009, 12:02 PM
B&W suspended for a week and on last chance, twaddle and replies moved to rubbish.
baddebt
15/08/2009, 12:09 PM
I agree that there where a few idiots in the crowd last night ......but you really have to Question TG4, give the heated matches between Bohs and Dundalk this season, it wasn't the brightest idea in the world ( would Skysports interview Alex Ferguson in Front of the KOP in Anfield? , Would SKYITALIA interview Luicano Spaletti in front of the Curva-Nord in the stadio Olympico?)
The irish indo's write up of the match didn't exactly do the game Justice.........I thought we matches Bohs right the way thru the match, and as for the Ridiculous line "TRUE TO FORM DUNDALK ARE REDUCED TO 10 MEN".
That line should have read "TURE TO FORM , THE REF HAD A BOHS JERSEY ON" :)
Anyway, I think last night was our chance, Tuesday night might just be a step too far...........................I hope I'm wrong:)
Indeed, the passion did boil over afterwards as Bohs boss Pat Fenlon was struck by a number of missiles while he performed his post-match interview with TG4, who broadcast the match.
"I don't think a big issue should be made of it, it was a couple of idiots just throwing things but hopefully the people here will deal with it properly," said Fenlon after the incident.
idiots
"The problem is if one of them hits you in the eye or the head there's a problem, but in any ground you get idiots that want to ruin things
From Irish Independent
wexfordned
15/08/2009, 12:20 PM
I agree that there where a few idiots in the crowd last night ......but you really have to Question TG4, give the heated matches between Bohs and Dundalk this season, it wasn't the brightest idea in the world ( would Skysports interview Alex Ferguson in Front of the KOP in Anfield? , Would SKYITALIA interview Luicano Spaletti in front of the Curva-Nord in the stadio Olympico?)
The irish indo's write up of the match didn't exactly do the game Justice.........I thought we matches Bohs right the way thru the match, and as for the Ridiculous line "TRUE TO FORM DUNDALK ARE REDUCED TO 10 MEN".
That line should have read "TURE TO FORM , THE REF HAD A BOHS JERSEY ON" :)
Anyway, I think last night was our chance, Tuesday night might just be a step too far...........................I hope I'm wrong:)
What does the spoofer say in the dressing room teamtalks. His hatred of all things bohs is obviously affecting his players as some of their tackling (if you could call it that in the games this season have been shocking) Four red cards can't all be the ref's fault.
Love the way almost all the dundalk fans blame TG4. Welcome to the Sean Connor school of thought, always blame someone else.
Also if I was you I'd be greatful he didn't comment on the spoofer celebrating a 0-0 draw like he won the cup. What a clown. Comparing his actions with Fenlons during the interview it's not hard too see why one is so successful & the other is despised by the fans of his former clubs for being full of s***e.
baddebt
15/08/2009, 12:31 PM
I think when you see last nights red card.....you might change your mind, it was really harsh. As was Harpal Singh Red Card against Bohs in Dalyer
I don't blame TG4 for the missiles(that has no place in football), just the idea of conducting the interviews in that position. Interviews should have been moved to the middle of the Pitch (thats called common sense).
What does the spoofer say in the dressing room teamtalks. His hatred of all things bohs is obviously affecting his players as some of their tackling (if you could call it that in the games this season have been shocking) Four red cards can't all be the ref's fault.
Love the way almost all the dundalk fans blame TG4. Welcome to the Sean Connor school of thought, always blame someone else.
Also if I was you I'd be greatful he didn't comment on the spoofer celebrating a 0-0 draw like he won the cup. What a clown. Comparing his actions with Fenlons during the interview it's not hard too see why one is so successful & the other is despised by the fans of his former clubs for being full of s***e.
15/08/2009, 1:17 PM
Possibly the most ignorant post I have ever seen on this website.
To quote the late Oliver J Byrne Esq. - "Small clubs have small minds"
Wow, some people on here might want to have a long hard look at themselves, and decide if continuing on is the best option....
Had to delete some of the, eh, better gems but seriously, those who got infractions, grow up or **** off
But I didn't get to reply :(
In fairness though, I love comments like that, it's how you know you've won the argument :D
FAO: Derry fans. What are ye thinking about tonight? Before I place my bets :D
15/08/2009, 3:08 PM
FAO: Derry fans. What are ye thinking about tonight? Before I place my bets :D
We're not going to win the league, we're out of Europe and the LC, so our best chance for a trophy lies in the FAI Cup and Setanta Cup. Plus, Kenny has an excellent record in the domestic cups. I think it'll (inevitably) be a lot tighter than it was on Tuesday but I'd be absolutely gutted if we don't win
Ezeikial
15/08/2009, 3:23 PM
It is a pity that yet again a thread has become overrun with futile point scoring attempts, insults, and inane derogatory barbs. The embarressing and cringe-inducing attempts by some posters to partially excuse the moronic behaviour of some Dundalk "fans" during the Fenlon interview simply draws more deserved criticism on those posters.
Undeniably, there is a problem with some elements of the Dundalk support and this latest incident comes on the back of two previous "fan" pitch incursions this season. These idiots do no service to the club that they profess to support, but lumber the club with unwelcome fines and sully the image and reputation of both the club and it's growing fan-base.
Thankfully the response on Oriel Web to this and previous incidents has been almost exclusively mature in its condemnation of these "fans" idiotic behaviour.
It is incumbent on the club to take strong action against any indentified individual (such as the pitch invader in the Drogheda match), which at a very minimum should include a ban from Oriel. The message that this type of behaviour cannot be tolerated could also be reinforced through legal action being persued by the club against identified individuals. Even if this were financially dubious it would send a clear message to others that this is unacceptable.
Infadel
15/08/2009, 3:36 PM
It is a pity that yet again a thread has become overrun with futile point scoring attempts, insults, and inane derogatory barbs. The embarressing and cringe-inducing attempts by some posters to partially excuse the moronic behaviour of some Dundalk "fans" during the Fenlon interview simply draws more deserved criticism on those posters.
Undeniably, there is a problem with some elements of the Dundalk support and this latest incident comes on the back of two previous "fan" pitch incursions this season. These idiots do no service to the club that they profess to support, but lumber the club with unwelcome fines and sully the image and reputation of both the club and it's growing fan-base.
Thankfully the response on Oriel Web to this and previous incidents has been almost exclusively mature in its condemnation of these "fans" idiotic behaviour.
It is incumbent on the club to take strong action against any indentified individual (such as the pitch invader in the Drogheda match), which at a very minimum should include a ban from Oriel. The message that this type of behaviour cannot be tolerated could also be reinforced through legal action being persued by the club against identified individuals. Even if this were financially dubious it would send a clear message to others that this is unacceptable.
But this is the problem Ezeikial we say that the club should ban them but even after the pitch invasions by these clowns the club itself doesn't bother banning them and the poor excuses of stewards at our club just stare at the misbehaviour of the scumbags and won't bother taken action.
Iorfa2MaccaJim
15/08/2009, 4:12 PM
Does anyone know when the draw for the next round is on ?
15/08/2009, 4:33 PM
Does anyone know when the draw for the next round is on ?
Sure the Mighty Blues don't have to worry about it yet..
Rovers V UCD will be here:
http://www.ustream.tv/channel/v-ucd---fai-cup
His comments regarding Dundalk FC and Oriel Park have been 100% negative to date. He has been very disrespectful.
He is entitled to these views and they do not justify any violence upon him.
As opposed to spoofing Socky Connor's oh-so-respectful programme notes a few months ago about Bohemians? He should be ashamed of himself and whoever is responsible for the Dundalk programme/website should have been taken to task for allowing them to be published.
I hear the post-match scenes in Oriel Park last night were fairly cringe worthy. Your classless minnow of a manager with a Dundalk flag draped over him celebrating like he had won the league after a 0-0 draw at home... wtf? I was embarrassed by him when he was in charge at Bohs but it seems like he's well suited to your shower. Pathetic creature. :rolleyes:
brianw82
15/08/2009, 6:27 PM
Baker with the equaliser for Rovers.
Rovers peno,
Baker takes it,
Missed.
15/08/2009, 7:53 PM
Fantastic result for the Town tonight. I'm sure a certain Galway United player is eating his words tonight after been interviewed on the radio saying 'it was a handy draw for them'. I'm sure Cronin needed to say no more in the dressing room to get the lads fired up for this one!!!
C'mon on the Town!!!
what galway player was that town legend??
FT in Tallaght. Rovers win 3-1
Still no score in Sligo.
White Horse
15/08/2009, 8:09 PM
As opposed to spoofing Socky Connor's oh-so-respectful programme notes a few months ago about Bohemians? He should be ashamed of himself and whoever is responsible for the Dundalk programme/website should have been taken to task for allowing them to be published.
I hear the post-match scenes in Oriel Park last night were fairly cringe worthy. Your classless minnow of a manager with a Dundalk flag draped over him celebrating like he had won the league after a 0-0 draw at home... wtf? I was embarrassed by him when he was in charge at Bohs but it seems like he's well suited to your shower. Pathetic creature. :rolleyes:
You obviously don't like Connor and you are entitled to that view. However, we have had a sucessful period of late and he is entitled to recognise that with our fans. The "celebration" as you call it was more related to our stable and relatively secure league position than a home draw in the FAI Cup.
You don't have to accept this as your hatred of Connor seems to be cloud your reason.
The programme notes from a few months ago were a mistake in my opinion and in the opinion of most Dundalk fans.
CSFShels
15/08/2009, 8:26 PM
You obviously don't like Connor and you are entitled to that view. However, we have had a sucessful period of late and he is entitled to recognise that with our fans. The "celebration" as you call it was more related to our stable and relatively secure league position than a home draw in the FAI Cup.
You don't have to accept this as your hatred of Connor seems to be cloud your reason.
The programme notes from a few months ago were a mistake in my opinion and in the opinion of most Dundalk fans.
I've a liking for Dundalk, but it seems a bit farfetched to think he was celebrating the other results after a nil all draw.
brianw82
15/08/2009, 8:30 PM
I've a liking for Dundalk, but it seems a bit farfetched to think he was celebrating the other results after a nil all draw.
Indeed. I know anything I say here will be interpreted as bitter due to being a Rovers fan, but he did just get his first result in 4 against Bohs this season. It wouldn't be beyond the man to 'celebrate' such an achievement.
15/08/2009, 8:33 PM
Sligo 1 up.
I fancied them to get something out of the game tonight, especially after their mauling during the week, thought they'd be really up for tonight.
brianw82
15/08/2009, 8:34 PM
Sligo 1 up.
Wooooo!
Harps equalize.
D'oh!
Sligo 1 up.
Thats some turnaround from mid week.
Only the Setanta left for Derry if it stays like this? How will fans react to that?