View Full Version : F.A.I. Ford Cup 4th Round Latest
Pages :
[
11]
WindmillWarrior
19/08/2009, 11:20 AM
That has to be the funniest post i have ever read from a Drogs fan???? Have you got a memory problem or something....your delusions of grandeur nearly ended your club FFS!!!
It wasnt the fans that nearly ended our club!!
Hairy Bowsie
19/08/2009, 11:42 AM
OMG I'm just back from a game as a neutral fan.
I was in the jodi and I have to say Dundalk were very unlucky to go out.
The Dundalk fans sounded really good and I wished I was over with them instead of in a dead part of the Jodie (Block C).
Bohs were the better team by a mile but with the money they are spending (unlawfully) they should be beating all L.O.I. teams easily instead of just squeezing past them on penalties.
Ah well........... what's the rules for ................IF a team goes over the 65% and wins the cup?
Does the team they will probably beat unfairly in the final and through every round because they have signed players they can't afford mean that they will be allowed to keep the cup?
The reason I'm asking this is because a few Bohs fans said the same to to me.
So????
Hopefully the F.A.I. will grow a set and make sure that won't happen.
BTW Unlucky DFC.
The least nuetral post in the history of the internet.
The Betting Man
19/08/2009, 12:01 PM
Were to begin Deegan was stupid what he did and deserved his red card but as its already been mentioned thank **** we have Fenlon and not Sean Connor as our manager,Dundalk were up against it coming into the game so when you see the other team get a man sent off early on you think to yourself just keep your head and keep the ball and the other team will tire but Connor couldnt see that and still had his players wound up which led to them getting a man sent off a few mins later giving us the advantage again instead of trying to calm his players down but thats to hard for Connor.Hancock totally lost it how Dundalk only had 1 man sent off is beyond me they should of had a least another 2 I was just glad none of our players went off on a strecher last night.We had the chances to win the game in the 90 mins Fenn missed 2 great chances in the 1st half and we had a fe in the 2nd half as well but Mansaram could of won it for them when he went 1 on 1 with Murphy but thankfully Murphy saved it.
I did not want peno's I had a bad feeling about it,I could see the headlines we win the cup on penos last year and this year we go out on them but thank god we went true,was not confident when I seen Anto Murphy taken the 1st peno but fair play he stuck it way nicely,had a feeling byrne would miss he scores them for fun in the league but I just new he was gonna miss,he needs a goal to get his confidence up again,now when I saw Brian Murphy taken a peno I straight away thought of Artur Boruc's peno last year for Celtic in the cup and it went in the back of the net just like Boruc did.Keegan strolled up with alot of confidence and it was great to see the former Drogs man knock Dundalk out of the cup.
White Horse
19/08/2009, 12:11 PM
when you see the other team get a man sent off early on you think to yourself just keep your head and keep the ball and the other team will tire but Connor couldnt see that and still had his players wound up which led to them getting a man sent off a few mins later giving us the advantage again instead of trying to calm his players down but thats to hard for Connor.
Actually that is a fair point and one Dundalk fans have made on our forum.
When you combine a ref who is desperate to even the score and an opponent team diving like swans at every tackle, it was time to treat Bohs like they were china dolls.
Unfortunately, our players all to often this season don't use their brains. However, it is our first season back in the top division and there are lessons to be learnt.
marinobohs
19/08/2009, 1:41 PM
Actually that is a fair point and one Dundalk fans have made on our forum.
When you combine a ref who is desperate to even the score and an opponent team diving like swans at every tackle, it was time to treat Bohs like they were china dolls.
Unfortunately, our players all to often this season don't use their brains. However, it is our first season back in the top division and there are lessons to be learnt.
Ah yes the opposition, the ref, in fact EVERYONE was at fault except the thuggish Dundalk players so eager to kick opponents that they threw away the advantage of an extra man.
As I posted before Dundalk have the basis of a very good team and if they could curtail the unnecessary (and at times outlandish) fouling they are well capable of competing with anyone and bringing success back to Oriel.
Alternatively they can keep on blaming everyone else and buy the Sean Connor crap "conspiracy theory" as watch as other teams progress.
Though it strange last night that they played for penalties (time wasting from start of 2nd half) given that Bohs have greater experience (ask Derry) and the best keeper in Ireland.On the night Bohs were the team that tried to score and win the game and deserved a place in the next round.
Respect though to the Dundalk fans there, sang and got behind the team all the way through and a decent crowd of them for a Tusday night.
CF1989
19/08/2009, 2:01 PM
dundalk have a player sent off in nearly everygame they play. they are the dirtiest team in the league.
alot of bohs players make a total meal out of challenges on them. duno about them diving but they make tackles look far worse than they actually are.
Dalymountrower
19/08/2009, 2:07 PM
Ah yes the opposition, the ref, in fact EVERYONE was at fault except the thuggish Dundalk players so eager to kick opponents that they threw away the advantage of an extra man.
As I posted before Dundalk have the basis of a very good team and if they could curtail the unnecessary (and at times outlandish) fouling they are well capable of competing with anyone and bringing success back to Oriel.
Alternatively they can keep on blaming everyone else and buy the Sean Connor crap "conspiracy theory" as watch as other teams progress.
Though it strange last night that they played for penalties (time wasting from start of 2nd half) given that Bohs have greater experience (ask Derry) and the best keeper in Ireland.On the night Bohs were the team that tried to score and win the game and deserved a place in the next round.
Respect though to the Dundalk fans there, sang and got behind the team all the way through and a decent crowd of them for a Tusday night.
Agreed. When Dundalk knocked the ball around rather than the man, they looked quite good. I thought if they stepped it up and concentrated on the football they could have beaten us. For Dundalks sake I do hope they get rid of Connor and his "Crazy Gang" nonsense, with a decent manager like Cooke for example they would have no prob being a top four side. Great support from their fans last night by the way. Athmosphere around the peno`s was electric.
White Horse
19/08/2009, 2:08 PM
You have seen Dundalk play a few times this season and your side do bring out the worst in our players for whatever reason. However, I have seen them far more and don't accept that they are a thuggish side.
Last week we played Bray (a young side) in Dundalk. Dundalk didn't kick them and tried to play good football. I hope the match on Saturday against Rovers will be a good football match.
The one area that contributed to our players "playing for penalties" was the superior fitness of your players. Dundalk fans are concerned that full time players were struggling before the end of 90 minutes. I know each team played most of the game with 10 men but Bohs fitness was much better.
White Horse
19/08/2009, 2:10 PM
dundalk have a player sent off in nearly everygame they play. they are the dirtiest team in the league.
alot of bohs players make a total meal out of challenges on them. duno about them diving but they make tackles look far worse than they actually are.
The league statistics are that two teams have had six players sent off in the 24 games so far this season; Dundalk and
Sligo Rovers
Dalymountrower
19/08/2009, 2:10 PM
In fairness I think that can be directed at Killian Brennan not at any other player
19/08/2009, 2:28 PM
In fairness I think that can be directed at Killian Brennan not at any other playerAnto Murphy too, he loves the dramatics.
sonofstan
19/08/2009, 2:34 PM
The one area that contributed to our players "playing for penalties" was the superior fitness of your players. Dundalk fans are concerned that full time players were struggling before the end of 90 minutes. I know each team played most of the game with 10 men but Bohs fitness was much better.
The first thing that Fenlon did when he took over at Bohs was bring the players back early after Christmas in order to get their fitness up: and it was a major reason why we ran away with the league last year with substantially the same squad that finished third under Connor. Liam Burns, for one, was a completely different player last year than he was before (and probably since)
marinobohs
19/08/2009, 2:36 PM
You have seen Dundalk play a few times this season and your side do bring out the worst in our players for whatever reason. However, I have seen them far more and don't accept that they are a thuggish side.
Last week we played Bray (a young side) in Dundalk. Dundalk didn't kick them and tried to play good football. I hope the match on Saturday against Rovers will be a good football match.
As I said previously I have really only seen Dundalk play Bohs and accept that may not be a reflection of how they play every week. The fact that a number of your players are ex Bohs may also be a factor as, of course, is the Seanie scenario. Bohs did look fitter as the game went on and that is one area we have seen major improvement in under Fenlon.
Was worried to lose Deegan so early and think that with cooler heads Dundalk had a real chance to turn us over. Still a very steady first season back in the top League for ye and no doubt many more chances to "exchange views"
agree fully with the bolded part which is why Candsystripe's neutral post made me laugh - its not like we were playing the St. Kevins Under Sevens!! Every game in this league is a tough one.
I have to say though that the attitude of Connor and his team and the Dundalkkk fans that post on this message board make me wish for nothing but misery and failure for Dundalk FC in the future.
marinobohs
19/08/2009, 2:39 PM
Congrats, your team must be the first in history not to make tackles look "far worse than they actually are". What next - team accused of time wasting ? :rolleyes:
alltogethernow
19/08/2009, 2:44 PM
Are you surprised?
Connor doesnt bother with a diet or fitness for that matter. Liam Burns was a disgrace when playing with us under Connor,when Connor left Burns lost a couple stone.
The Betting Man
19/08/2009, 2:47 PM
There was few Dundalk players last night carrying an extra few pounds and Burns is 1 of them
marinobohs
19/08/2009, 2:50 PM
Are you surprised?
Connor doesnt bother with a diet or fitness for that matter. Liam Burns was a disgrace when playing with us under Connor,when Connor left Burns lost a couple stone.
I don't think there is much point in Bohs fans identifying Connors limitations any further, like ourselves, Dundalk fans will see soon enough that he can only take them so far and he will have to spoof himself another job
any way we at Bohs should move on - the clown just isnt worth it.
There was few Dundalk players last night carrying an extra few pounds and Burns is 1 of them
They looked fitter than us in the last twenty minutes in the league game at the showgrounds. Wouldn't say they were a dirty side either.
sligofan4ever
19/08/2009, 3:17 PM
The league statistics are that two teams have had six players sent off in the 24 games so far this season; Dundalk and
Sligo Rovers
Have you forgotten about 6 players in total being booked on the night and every other night for ye? Sure even Bennion got booked over handbag stuff with Cretaro after he scored against ye earlier in the season along with 5 or 6 other playersfor ye that got booked that night.
Have you forgotten about 6 players in total being booked on the night and every other night for ye? Sure even Bennion got booked over handbag stuff with Cretaro after he scored against ye earlier in the season along with 5 or 6 other playersfor ye that got booked that night night.
That tired you out did it?:D
CharlesThompson
19/08/2009, 3:23 PM
IMO the animosity between Bohs and Dundalk is 100% down to Sean Connor. Why in the name of God would Bohs just pick one team - at random effectively - that have been just promoted to completely and utterly despise?
Loads have clubs have been promoted from the 1st Div over the years and never a cross word - that is to say outside the general 90 minutes of a football match and general and normal banter - has been uttered. There is basically no other reason for this.
When you look at it logically, why, as has been suggested by Dundalk supporters, would Bohs (Champions, FA Cup Holders) change their game tactics to play (at best) a run of the mill, mid table side when we play completely differently against every other side. I'd think it hard for anybody to justify this simply because there is no justification for it. It's not actually the situation. Bohs have a very straight forward game plan that doesn't change except when the other team's main focus is to antagonise and kick lumps out of our players - hence the reaction from Deego to that thug of a centre forward Williams. Wrong and all as he was, he REACTED to a dangerous challenge.
The situation is this - Sean Connor hates Bohs because we did him over. Fenlon didn't, the players didn't, the fans didn't. Our board did him over. He took the case to court and won - fair play to him (small little man that he is). Sean Connor also knows deep down that he needs some sort of disctraction to buy him time before he gets his inevitable marching orders from Dundalk. He has used the ex-Bohs players he has at his club and convinced the whole town apparently that the league are out to discredit Dundalk and that at the top of the shooters list is the Bohs board/club/players/fans/tea lady, etc. He has in effect created a seige mentallity at Oriel Park that the locals have bought into, conveniently excusing their record thus far in the season that they have played Bohs 5 times and haven't as much as scored a goal against us.
In order to play into his little plan, he has encouraged his players to 'get physical' in order to stop the big city slickers, who have the FAI on their side and are out to steamroller good, honest, provincial little clubs like Dundalk - knowing full well that they run the risk of losing players to red cards along the way. This all after Connor was the manager of Bohs himself and 'it' never seemed to bother him then, although I remember as manager of our club he used to go on about exactly the same kind of bias against Bohs at that stage. Which one is it Sean??
Anyway, this however plays into Connors hands as it only goes to 'PROVE' that everybody is out to get them/him whenever somebody is sent to the line (or from the line as Connor himself has earned already this season).
Only last night though, Bohs had a player sent off first - straight red - no arguments from this seat. Of course, this went completely against Connors game plan, ensuring that he cannot blame the referee or deflect attention from his own shortcomings and effectively his deep seated fear of failure. Sure enough, Dundalk get their man sent off (again) redressing the balance somewhat and the justification for more 'we were done!' calls from the cheap seats was re-established.
It was sad to see players like Mansaram and Rowe, who with other clubs have historically played the game of football for what it is, diving in recklessly and both earning yellow cards they probably wouldn't have with other clubs they previously played for. In fact Rowe was lucky to stay on the pitch following a very on one of our players in the second half.
No matter what the Dundalk supporters espouse on this thread or any other pertaining to Bohs, they have bought into Connors fairy stories and have been completely blinded by his rhetoric. The problem is when it all ends in tears they will have a harder fall than either Bohs or Sligo before us, when they realise that the Emporer really is wearing no clothes.
Da Real Rover
19/08/2009, 3:58 PM
It was sad to see players like Mansaram and Rowe, who with other clubs have historically played the game of football for what it is
Come now.
Apart from that its pretty much spot on and avoids completely the auld horsesh!t of obsession or "big club syndrome" etc.
SMorgan
19/08/2009, 4:24 PM
IMO the animosity between Bohs and Dundalk is 100% down to Sean Connor. Why in the name of God would Bohs just pick one team - at random effectively - that have been just promoted to completely and utterly despise?
Loads have clubs have been promoted from the 1st Div over the years and never a cross word - that is to say outside the general 90 minutes of a football match and general and normal banter - has been uttered. There is basically no other reason for this.
When you look at it logically, why, as has been suggested by Dundalk supporters, would Bohs (Champions, FA Cup Holders) change their game tactics to play (at best) a run of the mill, mid table side when we play completely differently against every other side. I'd think it hard for anybody to justify this simply because there is no justification for it. It's not actually the situation. Bohs have a very straight forward game plan that doesn't change except when the other team's main focus is to antagonise and kick lumps out of our players - hence the reaction from Deego to that thug of a centre forward Williams. Wrong and all as he was, he REACTED to a dangerous challenge.
The situation is this - Sean Connor hates Bohs because we did him over. Fenlon didn't, the players didn't, the fans didn't. Our board did him over. He took the case to court and won - fair play to him (small little man that he is). Sean Connor also knows deep down that he needs some sort of disctraction to buy him time before he gets his inevitable marching orders from Dundalk. He has used the ex-Bohs players he has at his club and convinced the whole town apparently that the league are out to discredit Dundalk and that at the top of the shooters list is the Bohs board/club/players/fans/tea lady, etc. He has in effect created a seige mentallity at Oriel Park that the locals have bought into, conveniently excusing their record thus far in the season that they have played Bohs 5 times and haven't as much as scored a goal against us.
In order to play into his little plan, he has encouraged his players to 'get physical' in order to stop the big city slickers, who have the FAI on their side and are out to steamroller good, honest, provincial little clubs like Dundalk - knowing full well that they run the risk of losing players to red cards along the way. This all after Connor was the manager of Bohs himself and 'it' never seemed to bother him then, although I remember as manager of our club he used to go on about exactly the same kind of bias against Bohs at that stage. Which one is it Sean??
Anyway, this however plays into Connors hands as it only goes to 'PROVE' that everybody is out to get them/him whenever somebody is sent to the line (or from the line as Connor himself has earned already this season).
Only last night though, Bohs had a player sent off first - straight red - no arguments from this seat. Of course, this went completely against Connors game plan, ensuring that he cannot blame the referee or deflect attention from his own shortcomings and effectively his deep seated fear of failure. Sure enough, Dundalk get their man sent off (again) redressing the balance somewhat and the justification for more 'we were done!' calls from the cheap seats was re-established.
It was sad to see players like Mansaram and Rowe, who with other clubs have historically played the game of football for what it is, diving in recklessly and both earning yellow cards they probably wouldn't have with other clubs they previously played for. In fact Rowe was lucky to stay on the pitch following a very on one of our players in the second half.
No matter what the Dundalk supporters espouse on this thread or any other pertaining to Bohs, they have bought into Connors fairy stories and have been completely blinded by his rhetoric. The problem is when it all ends in tears they will have a harder fall than either Bohs or Sligo before us, when they realise that the Emporer really is wearing no clothes.
Allt that and not a single word about Connor landing Bohs with a bill for 300,000 which is the root cause!!
I also doubt if anybody is going to hit the ground harder than Bohs. Well, at I hope that's the case. My only problem with the FAI is that they are sitting on their collective arses and watching a club cheat their way to every title in the local game and doing sweet FA about it other than talking tough.
19/08/2009, 4:27 PM
Sure even Bennion got booked
I thought it was Cherie, or Cherry or whatever his name was that was in goal?
Allt that and not a single word about Connor landing Bohs with a bill for 300,000 which is the root cause!!
Third par. :confused:
CharlesThompson
19/08/2009, 5:11 PM
I also doubt if anybody is going to hit the ground harder than Bohs. Well, at I hope that's the case. My only problem with the FAI is that they are sitting on their collective arses and watching a club cheat their way to every title in the local game and doing sweet FA about it other than talking tough.
Did you read it? The third paragraph deals somewhat with your objection.
Also, maybe you didn't understand the context in which I said that you will have a "harder fall" than either Bohs or Rovers. What I meant was that as supporters, when you are finished with him you will despise him more that Rovers or Bohs do, simply because you all seem to completely buy into his ethos. For the most part, from early on most Bohs supporters had cottoned on to the fact that this guy was a complete an utter spoofer - still is. E.g. running around Oriel Park after last Friday's 0-0 draw, wringing his hands over his head as if following some extraordinary, gladiatorial victory - the David Brent of football management. You will fall harder because you buy into his philosophy no matter what your gut is telling you.
On the FAI thing, I would suggest that you (and Ezekial and all the other Dundalk keyboard warriors) wait until the end of the season before condemning Bohs to death. If by then we are below the 65%, I trust you will be lining up to offer your apologies for casting aspersions where none were necessary.
If on the other hand Bohs end up breaking the law, then you will ALL have to wait your turn behind the Bohs members and supporters in throwing all those stones you can't wait to get rid from your grubby little hands.
Iorfa2MaccaJim
19/08/2009, 5:34 PM
The draw is next Monday.
19/08/2009, 5:42 PM
The draw is next Monday.
Confirmed?
Confirmed?
It was mentioned on MNS.
Ezeikial
19/08/2009, 11:58 PM
You raise and lot of interesting and valid points, even if you dilute them with unnecessary barbs and some irrational comments.
Your claim that "the animosity between Bohs and Dundalk is 100% down to Sean Connor" is a little simplistic in exonerating all other parties. I believe that Sean Connor has a lot to answer for, and is the primary catalyst in this on-going friction. But he is not responsible for Gary Deegan's red card on Tuesday night, nor the post-match behaviour of either Pat Fenlon or Brian Murphy. Similarly, while some of Sean Connor's foolish, inflammatory comments earlier in the season inevitably have riled and offended Bohemians FC, Pat Fenlon has also played a very active part with his dismissive, derogatory comments and behaviours.
You say that "Sean Connor hates Bohs because we did him over" (if you are not on the board your subsequent comments disassociating fans, manager and players from this "we" is strange!). I don't know about "hate" but I would guess he could hardly be enamoured about either the dismissal or the myriad of damaging allegations made against him; similarly the Bohemian FC board (and undoubtedly the majority of fans) must feel a combination of anger and frustration about the subsequent settlement - it's certainly more convenient and self-serving to make Connor the villain, rather then those who hired him and (unfairly) fired him. I suspect that this aspect has more relevance to Bohemians fans then anyone else - its hardly plausible that Dundalk FC or its fans are fixated by any Bohs past relationship with Sean Connor.
I think you are completely right that Sean Connor concocted a nonsense siege mentality story and has found some gullibles to buy into it (not particularly difficult with the appalling LOI referring standards and some of the ludicrous red cards that Dundalk have suffered), and chose to use the aftermath of the 5-0 drubbing in Dalymount to perpetuate this rubbish. Anyone who witnessed either of Paul Keegans unpunished two-footed challenges that night could only be perplexed at the referee, who poured salt in the wounds by sending off Harpal Singh after Killian Brennan made a total meal out of an innocuous challenge. The sense of injustice added to the embarrassment of the 5-0 scoreline made for a fertile ground for fans being peddled conspiracy stories!
What was true about Connors comments after that game was that the Dundalk team were bullied off the park -some legitimate, some obviously not. Suffering another defeat in Oriel Park, with another dubious red card (Killian Brennan again doing what he does best with his reaction) further inflames - and these "events" easily become a mask for the teams' inadequacies.
The obvious reality is that Bohs are, by some distance, the best team in the country (leaving aside for the moment how that was assembled!) and consistently falling some way short of this standard for a team and club desperate to regain it's former status is difficult to take (ditto I'm sure for Sean Connor).
I have no doubt that Sean Connor sought greater physicality from his team in the last three matches against Bohs, in an attempt to match Bohs previous aggressive approach, and to even out the disparity in the football standard of the two teams at different stages of development. He did not get that balance right, and although Dundalk came close to winning the cup tie, that would not have been deserved - either on the balance of the football played or the overly physical approach adopted by Dundalk.
Sure Sean Connor has plenty of flaws and many (maybe even most) Dundalk fans have reservations about him, but on balance he is doing a good job - if the improvement for the second half of the season in both the team results and his off-field attitudes and behaviours continue he may even be around next season challenging for the Premier title!
sligofan4ever
20/08/2009, 12:16 AM
I thought it was Cherie, or Cherry or whatever his name was that was in goal?
Nope, Bennion. That was in April or May, Cherrie only joined recently didn't he ?
20/08/2009, 12:19 AM
Yes and has started since. Big improvement on Benno.
Ezeikial
20/08/2009, 12:24 AM
Also, maybe you didn't understand the context in which I said that you will have a "harder fall" than either Bohs or Rovers. What I meant was that as supporters, when you are finished with him you will despise him more that Rovers or Bohs do, simply because you all seem to completely buy into his ethos. For the most part, from early on most Bohs supporters had cottoned on to the fact that this guy was a complete an utter spoofer - still is.
Thats pretty clear - you are under the illusion that all Dundalk fans are completely blind to his flaws, and that most Bohs fans had him sussed out from the off!
If he achieves a repeat of his Bohs year one top four finish for Dundalk, I gotta tell you.....I will certainly be more tolerant of his inadequacies
On the FAI thing, I would suggest that you (and Ezekial and all the other Dundalk keyboard warriors) wait until the end of the season before condemning Bohs to death. If by then we are below the 65%, I trust you will be lining up to offer your apologies for casting aspersions where none were necessary.
If on the other hand Bohs end up breaking the law, then you will ALL have to wait your turn behind the Bohs members and supporters in throwing all those stones you can't wait to get rid from your grubby little hands.
It's a pity you need to mix and confuse the two issues (I know you did not raise it) - as far as I am concerned these are totally unrelated.
I can tell you now that if the miracle happens, you will get no apologies from me. A strategy for compliance with the 65% rule that is predicated on winning the league and progress in Europe is unbelievably incompetent, irresponsible and downright arrogant!
As an apparent Bohs supporter, do you reserve all judgement until this is irrevocably concluded?
Will your hands be grubby too if/when you throw stones, or just mine?
for all the long posts lads i just think its wrong to send a team out to break up players from the opposition team. Its a dirty way to set out your stall even if it is against only Bohs.
Da Real Rover
20/08/2009, 9:42 AM
I don't know about "hate" but I would guess he could hardly be enamoured about either the dismissal or the myriad of damaging allegations made against him; similarly the Bohemian FC board (and undoubtedly the majority of fans) must feel a combination of anger and frustration about the subsequent settlement - it's certainly more convenient and self-serving to make Connor the villain, rather then those who hired him and (unfairly) fired him.
You should read up on how he left us for Bohs and maybe grab a greater an insight into the man.
His conduct with us was just as reprehensible as his conduct with Bohs, so it really isnt just BFC Vs Sean Connor, its anyone who has experience of his back stabbing and morally bankrupt nature Vs Sean Connor.
Its pretty much like talking to a wall to Dundalk fans about the great spoofer as he is supplying them with relative success and has them firmly where he wants them, what he lacks in principles he makes up for in manipulation.
Dont be fooled by him, hes a snake and a rat and will shaft Dundalk at the first opportunity if it serves his own personel self interest and unsustainable ego.
I hope the bitter little hunchback falls on his own sword and stops his leaching on the LOI, its only for so long that his inadequacies can be compensated by his spoofing and manipulation.
The Betting Man
20/08/2009, 10:08 AM
Yes and has started since. Big improvement on Benno.
Thats not hard
mcgonigle
20/08/2009, 10:26 AM
for all the long posts lads i just think its wrong to send a team out to break up players from the opposition team. Its a dirty way to set out your stall even if it is against only Bohs.
I agree, just like I am sure you would agree it is wrong for players to punch and headbutt other players, yes?
While I agree that some of Dundalk's tackles in the game were dangerous and stupid, there were two acts of thuggery during the game both by Bohs players. So it is a bit rich harping on about how dirty Dundalk are, don't you agree?
marinobohs
20/08/2009, 10:29 AM
Really, really time to move on for Bohs fans. we have ended Dundalks season and should not be bothering about them any further.
if Dundalk fans want to believe Connors line of crap and that bohs and Sligo fans are jealous that we lost his "talent" then fine - leave them to it. Similarly if they want to believe that the thuggish tactics employed by Connors team are all the fault of opposition, refs or anyone else then, again, leave them to it (and hope they don't break up one of our players) as they will be the losers in the long run.
If Dundalk fans are resigned to harping on about Bohs and the 65% rule (AGAIN) then it shows the lack of any serious argument on their part (the issue will be decided on November 30th - get over it folks !).
This thread is about the FAI Cup. Dundalk are no longer in it so time to move on :rolleyes:
marinobohs
20/08/2009, 10:36 AM
I can tell you now that if the miracle happens, you will get no apologies from me. A strategy for compliance with the 65% rule that is predicated on winning the league and progress in Europe is unbelievably incompetent, irresponsible and downright arrogant!
As an apparent Bohs supporter, do you reserve all judgement until this is irrevocably concluded?
Will your hands be grubby too if/when you throw stones, or just mine?
If Bohs somehow comply with the 65% rule then what the hell is the problem ? Possibily the most stupid aurgument put forward by a Dundalk fan to date (and believe me the bar was/is high).
If Bohs break the rule they are wrong but if they don't break the rule they are wrong ????? It is no wonder that Connor can spoof these clowns.
Dundalk - you are the weakest link, GOODBYE :D
jinxy lilywhite
20/08/2009, 10:43 AM
I really cannot wait until september the 18th when we don't have to play bohs for the rest of the season and this Dundalk/Bohs, Bohs/Dundalk bullsh1t ends.
The cup tie i think was an epic encounter of underdogs versus the best team in the league and we've gone from a 5-0 drubbing in Dalymount back in May to an unlucky 2-0 defeat last month to keeping a clean sheet against bohs over the course of 210 minutes. Yeah we were physical but we lack what bohs had and that's consistency and awareness everytime on how to use what you know best to effectiveness. We played for penos and bohs did better. Only a kick of the ball away from the quarter finals but overall the better team won. I won't be cheering on bohs in the latter stages but i will not be cheering any other team as is always the case with me.
I don't know what the future holds for Bohs and frankly I don't care, thats for their supporters to worry about. Too many times in this league, teams fall by the wayside because of overspending and chasing European dreams but the majority of them have kept alive in some way or another.
Whether the rivalry is Sean Connor V Bohs, Sean Connor V Pat Fenlon, Dundalk V Bohs or Provincial town V Capital City, I don't know but unlike any other rivalry this has got nasty to the point and could finish in some people getting seriously hurt and also some folk seem more obeseessed with seeing Dundalk fail rather than see their bohs win or vice versa.
Sorry for going on in tangent but I think both sides need to calm down a bit. Their are more important things in life afterall
Dalymountrower
20/08/2009, 11:00 AM
Agreed, Jinxy. Rivalry is fine but this one has the potential to get out of control. I`m looking forward to the day when I can have a pint in Oriel at half time and talk directly with Dundalk fans rather than through the internet.
In the worst of days (Tom Mc Nulty`s famous goal in 1993?) that was still possible!
The Betting Man
20/08/2009, 11:29 AM
I really cannot wait until september the 18th when we don't have to play bohs for the rest of the season and this Dundalk/Bohs, Bohs/Dundalk bullsh1t ends.
The cup tie i think was an epic encounter of underdogs versus the best team in the league and we've gone from a 5-0 drubbing in Dalymount back in May to an unlucky 2-0 defeat last month to keeping a clean sheet against bohs over the course of 210 minutes. Yeah we were physical but we lack what bohs had and that's consistency and awareness everytime on how to use what you know best to effectiveness. We played for penos and bohs did better. Only a kick of the ball away from the quarter finals but overall the better team won. I won't be cheering on bohs in the latter stages but i will not be cheering any other team as is always the case with me.
I don't know what the future holds for Bohs and frankly I don't care, thats for their supporters to worry about. Too many times in this league, teams fall by the wayside because of overspending and chasing European dreams but the majority of them have kept alive in some way or another.
Whether the rivalry is Sean Connor V Bohs, Sean Connor V Pat Fenlon, Dundalk V Bohs or Provincial town V Capital City, I don't know but unlike any other rivalry this has got nasty to the point and could finish in some people getting seriously hurt and also some folk seem more obeseessed with seeing Dundalk fail rather than see their bohs win or vice versa.
Sorry for going on in tangent but I think both sides need to calm down a bit. Their are more important things in life afterall
Dont worry Jinxy get a good result on Saturday and Bohs fans will like Dundalk a little better ;)
jinxy lilywhite
20/08/2009, 11:31 AM
Agreed, Jinxy. Rivalry is fine but this one has the potential to get out of control. I`m looking forward to the day when I can have a pint in Oriel at half time and talk directly with Dundalk fans rather than through the internet.
In the worst of days (Tom Mc Nulty`s famous goal in 1993?) that was still possible!
& I'll look forward to having a pint with you
WindmillWarrior
20/08/2009, 1:45 PM
gayers!
blue til i die
20/08/2009, 3:38 PM
Crumlin are a good side, gave us a good game in the original game, not soo great in the replay. Should do well this season too. I wish them all the best.
I agree, just like I am sure you would agree it is wrong for players to punch and headbutt other players, yes?
While I agree that some of Dundalk's tackles in the game were dangerous and stupid, there were two acts of thuggery during the game both by Bohs players. So it is a bit rich harping on about how dirty Dundalk are, don't you agree?
im really just surprised it has taken until now for the Bohs players to react to the filthy tactics employed by this Dundalk team.
Heres the stats from the last nights game...
Bohemians: 1 Brian Murphy; 2 Owen Heary (18 Jason McGuiness 90+ 3mins), 3 Conor Powell, 4 Gary Deegan, 5 Mark Rossiter (12 Paddy Madden 95 mins); 6 Ken Oman, 7 Paul Keegan, 8 Joseph Ndo, 11 Killian Brennan (16 Anto Murphy 67 mins); 10 Jason Byrne, 9 Neale Fenn.
Red card: Gary Deegan 5 mins.
Yellow cards: Powell 64 mins, Oman 98 mins, Byrne 103 mins.
Dundalk: 20 Peter Cherrie; 3 Kevin McKinley, Simon Kelly (7 Tiernan Mulvenna 64), 5 Liam Burns, 6 Thomas Heary; 11 Michael McGowan, 14 Paul McAreavey, 4 Michael Collins (9 Darren Mansaram 14 mins then replaced by 17 James Creaney 97), 16 Micheal Daly; 18 Ger Rowe, 10 Alex Williams.
Red card: Daly 12 mins.
Yellow cards: Williams 5 mins, Collins 12 mins, McGowan 43 mins, Burns 54 mins, Rowe 68 mins, Mansaram 84, Mulvenna 100 mins, McKinley 103 mins.
Ref: Damien Complete ****.
Louth4sam
20/08/2009, 4:34 PM
im really just surprised it has taken until now for the Bohs players to react to the filthy tactics employed by this Dundalk team.
Heres the stats from the last nights game...
Bohemians: 1 Brian Murphy; 2 Owen Heary (18 Jason McGuiness 90+ 3mins), 3 Conor Powell, 4 Gary Deegan, 5 Mark Rossiter (12 Paddy Madden 95 mins); 6 Ken Oman, 7 Paul Keegan, 8 Joseph Ndo, 11 Killian Brennan (16 Anto Murphy 67 mins); 10 Jason Byrne, 9 Neale Fenn.
Red card: Gary Deegan 5 mins.
Yellow cards: Powell 64 mins, Oman 98 mins, Byrne 103 mins.
Dundalk: 20 Peter Cherrie; 3 Kevin McKinley, Simon Kelly (7 Tiernan Mulvenna 64), 5 Liam Burns, 6 Thomas Heary; 11 Michael McGowan, 14 Paul McAreavey, 4 Michael Collins (9 Darren Mansaram 14 mins then replaced by 17 James Creaney 97), 16 Micheal Daly; 18 Ger Rowe, 10 Alex Williams.
Red card: Daly 12 mins.
Yellow cards: Williams 5 mins, Collins 12 mins, McGowan 43 mins, Burns 54 mins, Rowe 68 mins, Mansaram 84, Mulvenna 100 mins, McKinley 103 mins.
Ref: Damien Complete ****.
James Creaney was also booked for us and he was only on the field for about 2mins! :)
Bohs kicked lumps out of us in the first two games with one tackle leaving Michael Daly hospitalised. The refs did nothing to stamp it out so I have no problem with Bohs players receiving some rough justice now that we have a more physical players on the team. How many bohs fans were on here criticising the tackle on Daly that could have broke his ankle?
Hancock was a joke the other night bohs should have had a couple of more players booked and we should have had a couple of players sent off. McArevey should have been sent off three times. He booked so many players at the start of the game that he was afraid to dish out cards later on. Every third decision he got wrong also. Murphy should have got at least a yellow card for his antics during the penalty shootout and a red for his thuggish behaviour after. How many of you have criticised this?
It seems like you feel it's ok for Bohs players to act like thugs on the field but when the Dundalk players do it you come on here whinging.
im not whinging, i simply posted some stats about the game. I watched the Bohs Dundalk games that have been televised and all MNS highlights and I can think of 3-4 bad tackles committed by Bohs players over those games. Mostly by one player, Keegan. I cant remember any particularly bad tackle in the first game of the season in Oriel.
Dundalk have reacted by taking this to the next level and sending a team out to systematically foul and hack Bohs players. There is a difference between a physical player making a few bad tackles and a manager sending a team out to foul and antagonise an opposing team systematically.
Im glad Murphy did what he did and i am even more glad he got away with it, its no more than Dundalk and its fans deserve.
To think i was actually excited and happy for Dundalk when they got promoted. That'll learn me. Give me Shels any day!
Louth4sam
20/08/2009, 5:06 PM
im not whinging, i simply posted some stats about the game. I watched the Bohs Dundalk games that have been televised and all MNS highlights and I can think of 3-4 bad tackles committed by Bohs players over those games. Mostly by one player, Keegan. I cant remember any particularly bad tackle in the first game of the season in Oriel
How many of those bad tackles where punished? Deegan also made a number of bad tackles on the first night and had to be taken off before he was red carded. Should have gone.
Dundalk have reacted by taking this to the next level and sending a team out to systematically foul and hack Bohs players. There is a difference between a physical player making a few bad tackles and a manager sending a team out to foul and antagonise an opposing team systematically.
No arguments from me there but why should we stand there and take bad tackles from physical players without them being punished? It's like the old rugby saying "get your retaliation in first". If this had of been nipped in the bud earlier with bad tackles from Bohs being punished accordingly it would have been a different style of play from Dundalk. We've played Cork and Derry recently and didn't engage in the same rough house tactics.
Im glad Murphy did what he did and i am even more glad he got away with it, its no more than Dundalk and its fans deserve.
I'd hate to see one of my players run over to a player who was on the other side of the pitch and punch him. A bad tackle is one thing or even striking out like deegan did in the heat of the moment but running accross the pitch to hit a player that's just scumbagery.
To think i was actually excited and happy for Dundalk when they got promoted. That'll learn me. Give me Shels any day!
Sorry to disappoint