View Full Version : F.A.I. Ford Cup 4th Round Latest
Pages :
[
6]
CameramanConka
16/08/2009, 6:07 AM
You fouled, the attacking team has every right to take the free quickly, unless they ask the ref to measure 10 yards, or the refs being picky.
Wrong.
Boo_Boy
16/08/2009, 6:41 AM
Looking forward to seeing this back on MNS to see did he tell the derry players to wait for his whistle.
I'm sorry but you can't call all Dundalk fans 'the worst fans in the league'. There are a select few who try their best to ruin the club's reputation but 99% of all Dundalk fans will never cause any trouble but like at most clubs there will always be a few idiots.
As I said, funniest thread ever :D
WoodquayBoy
16/08/2009, 8:39 AM
I'm sorry but you can't call all Dundalk fans 'the worst fans in the league'. There are a select few who try their best to ruin the club's reputation but 99% of all Dundalk fans will never cause any trouble but like at most clubs there will always be a few idiots.
Galway United have had trouble with just one set of fans in Terryland Park this season, and the second visit of this crowd of fans required a much larger Garda presence than usual. I'll let you work out which club those fans are attached to.
Dixie Dean
16/08/2009, 9:01 AM
Buttimer held his whistle up to the Derry players and said 'wait for my whistle'.
That's what I object to.
Some Derry fans have been saying that he winded our fans up during his warm-up by blowing kisses. (http://www.derrycitychat.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=2882)
Hopefully this will all be on video.
Fair fecks to Sligo, they done so so much better than the second half on Tuesday. Vastly inproved. No team deserved to win tonight though.
Remembe Henry scoring a quick free for arsenal like that a few years ago. He asked the ref before if he could take it, can only assume Creataro did the same. Quick free's are always controversial but they are part of the game. I was surprised he allowed it to be fair, but it happened so quick most people around me missed it. To me Derry were settling for a draw at that stage, the derry fans were very quiet in the second half. Ithink rovers were trying more to win it and in my eyes deserved it after the week we've had.
MNS will be interesting.
srfc1928
16/08/2009, 9:53 AM
I wasn't at the game,
A lot of your post match analysis start like this
It does seem like Derry were, in the immortal words of Rico, ridden rock solid tonight.
what are you basing this on ?
no they werent "ridden rock solid tonight"
neither side would have complaints had the game finished 0-0.
a quick free kick was taken and scored, end of
pól-dcfc
16/08/2009, 10:05 AM
If he has held up the whistle to the Derry players, but still allowed the goal, we were ridden rock solid. Simple as.
If he blew kisses to the Derry fans while leaving the pitch, he shouldn't be allowed to referee in this league again.
In all honesty - we've been playing ****e for far too long. No consistency, so I'm not surprised we lost the match. Blaming it all on Buttimer is the easy way out. We have some serious issues that need addressed.
Da Real Rover
16/08/2009, 10:14 AM
Buttimer held his whistle up to the Derry players and said 'wait for my whistle'.
That's what I object to.
If this is true then that goal shouldnt have been allowed.
I wouldnt mind cheating one of the Dub teams but its different when your playing a team outside of the pale.
TBH I think most people should reserve judgement until we see MNS, then there can be some definite light thrown on it.
Some Derry fans have been saying that he winded our fans up during his warm-up by blowing kisses. (http://www.derrycitychat.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=2882)
What ever about a questionable quick free kick if this is true he should be banned immediately.
A ref rileing up fans?
Thats dodgy stuff and has only himself to blame when a few idiots try to burst the clown.
Da Real Rover
16/08/2009, 10:17 AM
Galway United have had trouble with just one set of fans in Terryland Park this season, and the second visit of this crowd of fans required a much larger Garda presence than usual. I'll let you work out which club those fans are attached to.
Not a bit of bother with Dundalk fans in the Showgies this season.
The only ones that caused trouble were as per form the BSC, not even kids, grown men.
Rovers Maniac
16/08/2009, 10:42 AM
We deserved our victory on the night, Derry created very few chances themselves. And very quick thinking by Cretaro for the goal.
16/08/2009, 10:52 AM
Not a bit of bother with Dundalk fans in the Showgies this season.No bother between Dundalk & home fans, doesn't mean there was no bother overall;)
longfordjames
16/08/2009, 11:23 AM
You cant blame RTE for filming in front of the Shed.I see nothing thrown in these.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=36dmX8F7HtM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=26so6vzVVKU
eelmonster
16/08/2009, 11:43 AM
You cant blame RTE for filming in front of the Shed.I see nothing thrown in these.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=36dmX8F7HtM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=26so6vzVVKU
RTE did't conduct the interview in front of the shed, they conduct all their post-match interviews in the purposely constructed media room in Oriel. Perhaps the scumbags who were throwing stuff on to the pitch took their lead from above GAA-boys (and not a camera crew, or opposition manager in sight).
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6hES9I31QGM
Every mong in the street knows it was a stupid thing to do, the board have said they won't accept this type of behaviour and those involved in trouble will be banned from Oriel.
http://dundalkfc.com/news/090305_GM.asp
Hairy Bowsie
16/08/2009, 11:50 AM
It's this sort of stuff that makes people not come back to LoI matches.
No it's not. Everyone here has seen disputable decisions likke this many times over and we're all still here.
There was a woman in tears at the end of the match today.
:D Tell her to grow up for christs sake
Regarding the freekick incident, obviously i haven't seen it but the the advantage is always with the person taking the free but if he did the whistle thing, that could change the circumstances.
showgies
16/08/2009, 11:51 AM
Not a bit of bother with Dundalk fans in the Showgies this season.
From what I heard that's not entirely true, but thanks to the European game we managed to replace the missing blue seats!;)
16/08/2009, 5:35 PM
What a night Friday up in Galway. Still cant believe how we won that.
brianw82
16/08/2009, 6:02 PM
Where do you get off with crap like that?
Derry fans have every right to feel agrieved over that decision. If it had went the other way you'd be raising holy hell over it, but I guess Derry fans are just "bitter" coz it went against them.
hoops1
16/08/2009, 6:05 PM
What is it with Derry fans and blaming the refs every time they lose. Refs in LOI are rubbish a large majority of the time for both teams. They were crap in the Bohs Dundalk, Rovers UCD and Im sure in most of the other games. But its always the refs fault when you lose never they players or manager.
dcfc1928
16/08/2009, 6:16 PM
The standard of refereeing is bad, I think that one thing we can all agree on. But when the ref gives a disputed free kick 3 minutes before the end of the game, holds his whistle up to signal "wait for the whistle" then a quick free is taken before any whistle which is scored we have every right to question the refs bias in this instance.
And whilst we're on the subject of Buttimer one only has to cast your mind back to the cup final last year and the dodgy penalty he awarded Bohs and the clear cut foul of Sammy Morrow inside the Bohs box when he waved play on. The man's bias should be questioned.
Rovers Maniac
16/08/2009, 6:27 PM
where do you get off with crap like that?
derry fans have every right to feel agrieved over that decision. if it had went the other way you'd be raising holy hell over it, but i guess derry fans are just "bitter" coz it went against them.
learn the rules of the game before you come on to internet forums. As you said yourself you were not at the game, sorry i can't help but :d at you brian.
16/08/2009, 6:30 PM
But its always the refs fault when you lose never they players or manager.
You obviously haven't gone onto Derry's forum in the last two or three months, if ever. Both the players and Kenny have come in for ALOT of stick from our support and every bit of it justified. Also the mediocre performance last night isn't going completely unnoticed despite the furore surrounding the leagues worst ref.
brianw82
16/08/2009, 6:36 PM
learn the rules of the game before you come on to internet forums. As you said yourself you were not at the game, sorry i can't help but :d at you brian.
Straight question: would you, or would you not, be mad as hell if the decision (which I admittedly haven't seen) had gone against Rovers with less than 10 minutes to go?
Rovers Maniac
16/08/2009, 7:38 PM
Straight question: would you, or would you not, be mad as hell if the decision (which I admittedly haven't seen) had gone against Rovers with less than 10 minutes to go?
No, next question !
sfc red
16/08/2009, 8:21 PM
It's this sort of stuff that makes people not come back to LoI matches. There was a woman in tears at the end of the match today.
Hilarious - you, sir, have made my day with this post.
:D:D
Hilarious - you, sir, have made my day with this post.
:D:D
Slow day?
forza rovers
16/08/2009, 9:22 PM
Remembe Henry scoring a quick free for arsenal like that a few years ago. He asked the ref before if he could take it, can only assume Creataro did the same. Quick free's are always controversial but they are part of the game. I was surprised he allowed it to be fair, but it happened so quick most people around me missed it. To me Derry were settling for a draw at that stage, the derry fans were very quiet in the second half. Ithink rovers were trying more to win it and in my eyes deserved it after the week we've had.
MNS will be interesting.He is quoted on ocean today saying that he asked could he take ot quick
hutton and deleaney got away with murder on our front two
topia
16/08/2009, 11:29 PM
The standard of refereeing is bad, I think that one thing we can all agree on. But when the ref gives a disputed free kick 3 minutes before the end of the game, holds his whistle up to signal "wait for the whistle" then a quick free is taken before any whistle which is scored we have every right to question the refs bias in this instance.
And whilst we're on the subject of Buttimer one only has to cast your mind back to the cup final last year and the dodgy penalty he awarded Bohs and the clear cut foul of Sammy Morrow inside the Bohs box when he waved play on. The man's bias should be questioned.
We all know Buttimer is a shocking ref but you cannot use that to justify every decision that goes against you just because you dont like it...if you gain an advantage by controlling a ball 2 yards from goal with both hands then its probably going to be a penalty whether you intend to control it or not, he messed up the header himself anyway cause it, i dont know why you keep banging on about this, if the penalty had have been given against us there is no way that after this length of time and some hindsight that i would not see the logic behind it...or maybe im wrong and the refs in this league just dont like derry
16/08/2009, 11:39 PM
MNS will be interesting.
Or not. Couple of lads on our forum claiming that they spoke to the camera man after the match. He claimed he didn't catch any incident around the ball, neither the whistle being held up or I would assume Cretaro asking the ref if he could hit it quickly - he had his camera on the City goalkeeper.
17/08/2009, 12:07 AM
What is it with Derry fans and blaming the refs every time they lose. Refs in LOI are rubbish a large majority of the time for both teams. They were crap in the Bohs Dundalk, Rovers UCD and Im sure in most of the other games. But its always the refs fault when you lose never they players or manager.So we should just lie down and take it so? I must bookmark this thread to refer to the next time another club suffers from a dodgy game-changing decision.
It's hardly surprising our fans are incandescent with rage given Buttimer's record with us. He's an incompetent tool, plain and simple. Maybe if I was an unaffiliated football observer who watched games impassionately I could give an objective assessment of the merits of the League's refs, but I invariably view them through the prism of the way they ref Derry. Ergo, whilst many in the League think Kelly is a disaster, most Derry fans would be happy enoughto see him in the middle as he hasn't done enough in our games to bring that much attention to himself. However Stokes and latterly Hancock and Buttimer are hated, plain and simple.
Basically, if you're looking for objective, hard-headed analysis, I'd say a football fan's site is the wrong place.
What matters is Derry, Cork and most likely Dundalk trips are out for Rovers and Sheridan. :)
Barring Sligo away (and its immediate presumption of cup final stature), Rovers should be confident..
17/08/2009, 12:10 AM
We've been handed 2 tough games in the first 2 rounds so far(Cork away, Derry home) so I expect we'll get Bohs or Shams away in the next round.
sligored
17/08/2009, 12:30 AM
Rubbish by derry fans.. ye hammered us on tuesday but your players never showed up on saturday. if derry had done the same with the free, i genuinely dont think we would blame the ref. Unless there is a derry fan that can say without question that the ref said to wait for his whistle before taking the free kick - they are the rules guys.
As for a fan trying to attack the ref afterwards, buttimer done sligo no favours all night. Sligo deserved to win and while i have a genuine liking for derry fans and the great support they always bring , i think they should be more gracious in defeat.
it has been a very poor season for sligo so far and i hope this result might help us turn the corner.
MMVIII
17/08/2009, 2:06 AM
My own view is this. Teams need a bit of luck to go there way every now and then, and I don't care what anybody says, that little bit of luck can turn matches. And thats what happened. Nine times out of ten that goal wouldn't have counted.
Agreed the ref was shocking, for both sides. Hutton and Delaney at the back were a dirty, hacking pair. If the same thing happened to ye and it won ye the game, as it did with us, would you all be on here saying, oh the decision shouldn't have stood? The ref is a joke for letting that decision go?
No, ye wouldn't, just like were not :p
Longford, Monaghan or Crumlin in the next round please. :)
17/08/2009, 4:14 AM
Why are you Sligo lads all being so defensive? Its like yer havin' an argument that doesn't exist. "If it was ye this and if it was ye that" WTF are you on about? I haven't read too much in the way of City fans questioning Sligo in all of this - from what I can see its all directed at Buttimer. You won, thats it, theres no changing it...just like theres no changing the fact that Buttimer is the single most incompetent ref in the league.
17/08/2009, 8:45 AM
Agreed the ref was shocking, for both sides.
Agreed.
Speaking to Morrison for diving when Gray totally blocked him, letting some things go and others not. Boco jumping over Stewart, Buttimer with his back to the incident giving a free.
I think that Derry fans are annoyed, amongst other things, as Buttimer twice stopped us taking a quick one. Making gestures to supporters as a referee is just stupid.
We were cack, but it probably was heading for a draw.
As for the pitch invasion, no excuse. Ban them.
dublinred
17/08/2009, 9:13 AM
Sounds like the Derry players stuffed up by not putting a man in front of the ball when the free was awarded bad lapse of concentration by a professional team with a few minutes to go in a big game its the kind of stuff you would expect under6s to do nowdays, I remember a similar incident in the premiership and I think it was Mark Hughes attacked his players afterwards for not putting a blocker on the free.
redobit
17/08/2009, 10:28 AM
Or not. Couple of lads on our forum claiming that they spoke to the camera man after the match. He claimed he didn't catch any incident around the ball, neither the whistle being held up or I would assume Cretaro asking the ref if he could hit it quickly - he had his camera on the City goalkeeper.
There was a second cameraman at the railway end (for the first half anyway). He was moving to a lot of different positions and didnt se him for the second half. Dunno if he was with RTE.
Will you get much of a crowd tomorrow,everyone i have been talking to is going from Dundalk,probably a lot more than we brought up earlier in the year so should be a good atmosphere.
17/08/2009, 12:05 PM
Longford .. in the next round please. :)
Yes please!:)
17/08/2009, 12:25 PM
There was a second cameraman at the railway end (for the first half anyway). He was moving to a lot of different positions and didnt se him for the second half. Dunno if he was with RTE.Was he stationed on a grassy knoll per chance?
Da Real Rover
17/08/2009, 1:17 PM
TBF not all of us are defensive over it.
And if it happened to us yes of course we would rant and rave over it, maybe not attack the ref but yes we would voice our opinions on it.
Look at all the comments after the Bohs semi final game, theres a thread on this very forum full of rantings about the officiating.
Its football, its what happens.
Dalymountrower
17/08/2009, 3:21 PM
Irish Times reporting today on the Rovers v UCD game, saying that cup final is going to be in Tallaght. So less than 6,000 capacity for the final if thats the case, or are SDCC developing behind the goals between now and then?
PartySaint
17/08/2009, 3:41 PM
Irish Times reporting today on the Rovers v UCD game, saying that cup final is going to be in Tallaght. So less than 6,000 capacity for the final if thats the case, or are SDCC developing behind the goals between now and then?
I heard that the other week, rumour has it they gonna have temporary seats behind the goal and the capacity will be more than the Madrid match
CF1989
17/08/2009, 3:46 PM
it'd be better than the RDS, i hate that place
It hasn't been confirmed for Tallaght yet but it's a strong possibility.
passerrby
17/08/2009, 4:20 PM
[QUOTE=ARooney28;
Longford, Monaghan or Crumlin in the next round please. :)[/QUOTE]
yes please as long as we can aviod a big club
anyone know whens the draw for the next round?
Heard it was on the 24th.
Olander
17/08/2009, 5:04 PM
And if it happened to us yes of course we would rant and rave over it, maybe not attack the ref but yes we would voice our opinions on it.
A Sligo fan running on the pitch trying to attack a ref in an FAI Cup tie?
That would never happen ;) :)
CF1989
17/08/2009, 6:06 PM
Heard it was on the 24th.
why can't theyu just have it on the weekend of the games, i.e tonight on mns!? its a joke! whats the point delaying it