View Full Version : Faroe Islands (Away) Wed 8th Jun 05
Pages :
[
8]
21/04/2005, 8:49 PM
Looking at this link and the attendance for the game (4,000) when the Scots visited, it could be that the only people that will be on the hill are those too stingy to buy a ticket. :eek:
http://www.eifl.org.uk/eu2004/eugroup5.htm
According to this site the ground holds 7,000.
http://www.eifl.org.uk/eu2004/eugroup5.htm
Our game is not being played at the same ground where Scotland played. They played at Toftir, we are playing at Torsvollur, apparently a new ground but still only holds just under 7000.
Babysis
22/04/2005, 8:43 AM
Did anybody else get word regarding tickets? I got home to find a letter from the FAI to say they could not accomodate my application for 3 tickets due to the huge demand. They are saying they only got 600 tickets :( Looks like i'll be watching the game from the hill. Why don't we rename the hill, hill 16 or something.
Im really sorry about that. ive not had any news yet, so i could still be joining you on the hill. As soon as i know where we stand with Tickets, will let you know. Also worth baring in mind, Id hope that alot of the supporters associaytion wont get rid of all their allocation, alot of people who would normally go on away trips arent bothering with this one, so they may have spares. Fingers crossesd some one can sort you out. :)
green army
22/04/2005, 9:09 AM
missed out too. hopefully me back up source will come up trumps. if not i am kinda looking forward to watching the game from the hill. will be a bita craic.
for anyone who needs it, the address for booking the faroes campsite is:
torsinfo[at]post.olivant.fo
balls, just phoned the FAI, and Emma told me that I had been unsuccessful in by application - any assistance to get a ticket (one, just the one) would be greatly appreciated
missed out on world cup tickets too :(
Not a good day on the ticket front
Pete
Babysis
22/04/2005, 11:59 AM
:( Absolutely devestated. No tickets. I knew pestering Emma was a bad idea :( I will see everyone at Jews hill then.
My mate got a letter yesterday saying no tickets cos of the
small allocation - 600 tickets
I applied for 2 but havnt heard anything yet - good or bad!
Paulie
22/04/2005, 12:22 PM
I rang the FAI and they told me I've been allocated the 3 tickets I applied for.
Sorry to sound desperate . . . but if anyone has a spare for the Faroes and they would like to give it to someone who would hugely appreciate it . . . please PM me!!D
Don't worry, there's a "Jew Hill" in the Thorshaven. We're all gonna get to see the game, tickets or not. I'm there & I gots no ticket.
Babysis
23/04/2005, 9:47 AM
Sorry to sound desperate . . . but if anyone has a spare for the Faroes and they would like to give it to someone who would hugely appreciate it . . . please PM me!!
The wife has just said "ah sure you'll just have to watch it on telly" . . . not what you want to hear really.
Throw in the WC disappointment today and . . . I'm toying with taking out Uruguayan citizenship or something!
I should have just picked a piddly country that's guaranteed to qualify yet there won't be any of the fans there, that way I'd have got a TST.
Maybe I'm not making sense here becaused I'm so hacked off, but I'm still going to Germany regardless. :D
Hey now, enough of that kinda talk. We will all see the game, one way or another. It is really gutting - got told by email yesterday, then the letter arrived today confirming it :mad:
So we are all in the same boat, and we will all have a great trip, and we will all see the game. Im off to email the Faroe islands FA, and see what the craic is with their tickets and the allocations. :)
Colie
23/04/2005, 11:11 AM
Tórsvøllur Stadium holds 7k.
Only had 5917 against France & that's their only home game so far from what I can see.
You can actually see the hill in the pic in the link that we can watch the hame from if we can't get tickets.
http://www.worldstadiums.com/stadium_pictures/europe/faroe_islands/torshavn_torsvollur.shtml
Condex
23/04/2005, 4:59 PM
Yip, got my refusal letter today bast*rds.
Anyway I think I'll go along anyway, was thinking of getting the ferry from
Lerwick(£114 return) in the Shetlands but it doesn't arrive in Thorshaven until 3pm on the day game, and thats not even considering delays.
May now take a flight but these are getting quite expensive, anyone know the cheapest way there.
bruski
23/04/2005, 6:15 PM
i aint got a ticket either, ah i can just see my place on the hill there, nice1 colie for that pic. i'm goin with sadlier travel, leavin tue afternoon dub airport ? any1 else about to get the trip off to a drunken start ???
in an unrelated topic - i know this is prob posted somewhere else but - fifa have said that for the 2nd phase of ticket applications for the world cup 2006 it will be 1st come 1st served. the second round draw begins on may 2nd. its all team specific allocation. good luck.
bru
Colie
23/04/2005, 11:09 PM
? any1 else about to get the trip off to a drunken start ???
Yeah, we're probs all on the same flights so yeah, I think we need to kick it off in the Airport then buy loads of cans & vodka in the Duty Free.
Babysis
25/04/2005, 8:46 AM
Yip, got my refusal letter today bast*rds.
Anyway I think I'll go along anyway, was thinking of getting the ferry from
Lerwick(£114 return) in the Shetlands but it doesn't arrive in Thorshaven until 3pm on the day game, and thats not even considering delays.
May now take a flight but these are getting quite expensive, anyone know the cheapest way there.
We were exactly the same. Were going to do the Ferry, but its too tight for time. Id check out Ebookers or travelocity who we used. We are doing Mon-Thurs through them from Gatwick. Always the boys in green too. Hope that helps
Cowboy
25/04/2005, 10:57 AM
Well sod the FAI and the pathetic ticket allocation, I'm going to the Faroes if it kills me. Have decided to have a more pro-active approach to finding tickets and I'm now going to haul in favours that I've done for people over the past 12 years I've been living in England.
Cinderella shall go to the ball!!!!!! :cool:
Think you need to chill out :)
Babysis
25/04/2005, 11:37 AM
Well sod the FAI and the pathetic ticket allocation, I'm going to the Faroes if it kills me. Have decided to have a more pro-active approach to finding tickets and I'm now going to haul in favours that I've done for people over the past 12 years I've been living in England.
Cinderella shall go to the ball!!!!!! :cool:
I think you are spot on. We will all get to see the game hopefully one way or another. Its gonna be a good trip regardless of tickets. :)
Just got letter to say that Ive been
allocated my 2 tickets for the game
The Faroes aren't in the EU, so duty free is an option, but you're only allowed bring in four cans plus one litre of spirits and two litres of wine before you start paying duty again...
Crud, we'll have to drink as much duty free as we can in Dublin Airport boarding lounge (so lets check in as early as possible) & on the plane.
Ok then.
onenilgameover
26/04/2005, 8:26 AM
Well jealous of all who are makin this trip!!!! And to those who didn't get tickets and may have to watch from the hill. I reckon that the hill looks class. Maybe its not me place and I haven't just been rejected an all but yis could turn it into a positive. I'd love to be watchin Ireland play in the Faroes on a hill that it bloody well looks higher than the stadium. Anyway best of luck to all headin over yis ill have a great time it would be hard not to.
Babysis
26/04/2005, 8:44 AM
A big shout out to Cowboy this morning. He got lucky in the Faroes allocation and true to his word he has a ticket for me. Amazing how your mood can suddenly alter.
BRING ON THE FAROES!!!!! :D
Fair play, thats one more space on the hill then for anyone without a ticket :D
26/04/2005, 12:20 PM
Good news on our front as regards flights as well
After the rearrnaged flight chaos I have badgered LastMinute.com to get us on the 9.00am from Gatwick to Billund that everyonbe else is on
Babysis
26/04/2005, 12:23 PM
Good news on our front as regards flights as well
After the rearrnaged flight chaos I have badgered LastMinute.com to get us on the 9.00am from Gatwick to Billund that everyonbe else is on
We will see you in the bar then on Monday morning :D
26/04/2005, 12:28 PM
Billund is out in Denmark isn't it? Anybody else heading out via Gatwick on the Sunday morning?
26/04/2005, 12:30 PM
Billund is beside Legoland apparently
We are flying out on the Monday morning
Paulie
26/04/2005, 12:31 PM
We're out on the Monday morning as well.
Babysis
26/04/2005, 12:36 PM
We are on the flight on Monday morning too. Sounds like there will be a few of us on it so should be a laugh. The flight as far as I know is out of Gatwick South 9the bucket and spade terminal) so we should all just head for the bar and get beving there :D well thats my plan anyways :)
We're going
Ryanair
GOING OUT
From Dublin(DUB) to London Stansted(STN)
Sun, 05Jun05 Flight FR202 Depart DUB at 06:30 and arrive STN at 07:45
COMING BACK
From London Stansted(STN) to Dublin(DUB)
Sun, 12Jun05 Flight FR225 Depart STN at 17:00 and arrive DUB at 18:10
Atlantic
Outbound flight: London - Faroe Islands, 05 June 2005
05 June 2005 15:30, London, United Kingdom (London Stansted Apt)
05 June 2005 17:30, Faroe Islands, Faroe Islands (Faroe Islands)
Return flight: Faroe Islands - London, 12 June 2005
12 June 2005 12:45, Faroe Islands, Faroe Islands (Faroe Islands)
12 June 2005 14:45, London, United Kingdom (London Stansted Apt)
Babysis
26/04/2005, 1:12 PM
We're going
Ryanair
GOING OUT
From Dublin(DUB) to London Stansted(STN)
Sun, 05Jun05 Flight FR202 Depart DUB at 06:30 and arrive STN at 07:45
COMING BACK
From London Stansted(STN) to Dublin(DUB)
Sun, 12Jun05 Flight FR225 Depart STN at 17:00 and arrive DUB at 18:10
Atlantic
Outbound flight: London - Faroe Islands, 05 June 2005
05 June 2005 15:30, London, United Kingdom (London Stansted Apt)
05 June 2005 17:30, Faroe Islands, Faroe Islands (Faroe Islands)
Return flight: Faroe Islands - London, 12 June 2005
12 June 2005 12:45, Faroe Islands, Faroe Islands (Faroe Islands)
12 June 2005 14:45, London, United Kingdom (London Stansted Apt)
They were the flights we wanted to get on but they were booked out by the time we realised the ferry was not an option. Get you to the Windmill bar at the back of stanstead - Its a whether spoons, so its nice and cheap :D They do a good breakfast in there too. We are Gatwick bound, so see you all in the Faroes :)
Get you to the Windmill bar at the back of stanstead - Its a whether spoons, so its nice and cheap :D They do a good breakfast in there too. We are Gatwick bound, so see you all in the Faroes :)
Excellent stuff, cheers for the info.
See ye there
Babysis
26/04/2005, 3:07 PM
No we are all staying in the Faroes Booze Shack according to Lopez :eek: :D
Cowboy
26/04/2005, 3:16 PM
I just hope there is a decent breakfast that isn't all fish. :D
your ok its puffin on toast
Babysis
27/04/2005, 8:37 AM
This is the reply i got from the Faroes FA - :mad:
Dear Louise
Unfortunately I have to inform you that we are not able to purchase further tickets to Irish supporters.
Kind regards
FSF
Ísak Mikladal
The hill it is then :)
This is the reply i got from the Faroes FA - :mad:
The hill it is then :)
Hill 16 is going to have more Irish fans watching the game from the outside then the stands are going to have inside.
27/04/2005, 9:52 AM
Hill 16 is going to have more Irish fans watching the game from the outside then the stands are going to have inside.
It will be deadly if we're positioned in the ground on the same side as the hill.
That way it will be a bit like having an upper tier.
There's no excuse for not outsinging the locals here.
Babysis
27/04/2005, 11:08 AM
I think its fair to say that everyone on the hill will be well up for it, so we should be leading the singing - I cant wait :D
MickeyT
27/04/2005, 1:09 PM
For those of ye interested in how to get booze in the Faroes, I just came across a paragraph at this website: http://www.puffin.fo/travel/
It talks about the availability of alcohol on the islands and says this:
"In the Faroe Islands light beer (max 2,5% vol.) may be purchased at the grocers and in hotels. All alcoholic beverages above 2,5% (vol.) of alcohol may be purchased at the monopoly shops only.
Main Office: Rúsdrekkasøla Landsins, Hoyvíksvegur 51,FO - 100 Tórshavn, Tel: *298 314277/316568, Fax: *298 312260
Opening hours: Mon - Wed 2 pm to 5.30 pm, Thu 10 am to 5.30 pm, Fri 10 am to 7 pm. Only persons over 18 years of age are allowed to purchase.
Licensed restaurants will be found throughout the Faroe Islands."
I went to the website for "Rúsdrekkasøla Landsins" (http://www.rusan.fo) and it just so happens that they have a price list in pdf form and it looks like you can get say a 6-pack of Carslberg (small 33cl cans) for 7-8euro or a case of 24 for 32euro.
Babysis
27/04/2005, 1:18 PM
Cheers for that MickeyT. Bottle of Vody for £20 - happy days :D and i think was a 24 pack of Carlsberg = £22 That hill is gonna be rocking :D
a 6-pack of Carslberg (small 33cl cans) for 7-8euro or a case of 24 for 32euro.
Sounds OK I guess, what currency do they use?
Babysis
27/04/2005, 5:13 PM
Sounds OK I guess, what currency do they use?
Its Danish Kroner. the rate of exchange is roughly
7.5 Kroner to €1
11 Kroner to £1
Obviously these are subject to change but it should give a rough idea :)
Babysis
27/04/2005, 5:48 PM
Its gonna be pricey-ish, but feck it, its a one off trip of a life time (hopefully), so Im not gonna worry too much about the expense :D
27/04/2005, 5:54 PM
It's Danish Kroner.
Technically, it's the Faroese Kroner. It's the same kind of difference as the North having their own bank notes. However, if you're leaving from the Faroes back to Denmark, you're apparently advised to change your money for Danish notes as many people in Denmark don't recognise Faroese notes for legal tender. Also, if you're reclaiming VAT*, ask for Danish notes as well.
* - If you're bringing goods out of the country (woolly jumper, for example), you can bring the receipt and the item itself to a customs desk in the airport on the way home, where they'll refund part of the VAT you paid. Think there may be a minimum spend level too.
This may be of interest; but probably not.....
Faroe Islands Lyrics of National Anthem:
Tú alfagra land mítt,
mín dýrasta orn!
á vetri so randhvítt,
á sumri við logn,
tú tekur meg at tær
so tætt í tín favn.
Tit oyggjar so mætar,
Gud signi tað navn,
sum menn tykkum góvu,
tá teir tykkum sóu.
Ja, Gud signi Føroyar, mítt land!
Hin roðin, sum skínur
á sumri í líð,
hin ódnin, sum týnir
mangt lív vetrartíð,
og myrkrið, sum fjalir
mær bjartasta mál,
og ljósið, sum spælir
mær sigur í sál:
alt streingir, ið tóna,
sum vága og vóna,
at eg verji Føroyar, mítt land.
Eg nígi tí niður
í bøn til tín, Gud:
Hin heilagi friður
mær falli í lut!
Lat sál mína tváa
sær í tíni dýrd!
So torir hon vága
- av Gudi væl skírd -
at bera tað merkið,
sum eyðkennir verkið,
ið varðveitir Føroyar, mítt land!
Or alternatively:
My land, oh most beauteous,
possession most dear,
Thou drawest me to thee,
embracing me near;
becalmed in the summer,
in winter snow covered,
magnificant islands,
by God named beloved.
The name which men gave thee
when they thee discovered,
Oh, God bless thee, Faroes my land.
Bright gleam, which in summer
makes hill-tops so fair;
rough gale, which in winter drives men to despair;
oh life taking storm,
oh conquest of soul,
all making sweet music
uniting the whole.
Each hoping and trusting,
inspiring us all,
To guard thee, O Faroes my land.
And therefore, I kneel down,
to Thee God, in prayer,
may peaceful my lot be,
and do thou me spare,
my soul cleansed; in glory;
I ask Thee to bless,
when I raise my banner
and venture the stress.
The sign of my task, be
it lifted on high,
To guard thee, O Faroes my land.
Not a whale in sight! :D
27/04/2005, 9:35 PM
It's more like a holy song isn't it? :eek: :D
lopez
27/04/2005, 10:13 PM
...it just so happens that they have a price list in pdf form and it looks like you can get say a 6-pack of Carslberg (small 33cl cans) for 7-8euro or a case of 24 for 32euro.Hmmmmmm!!!...Beer!!! :cool:
27/04/2005, 10:53 PM
This may be of interest; but probably not.....
Faroe Islands Lyrics of National Anthem:
Maybe this Girl (http://www.eivor.com/) will be singing it ;)
just to complete this, here is the music
http://www.national-anthems.net/web/find.webpage?from=anthems&what=faroeisland&id=FO
Pete
green army
28/04/2005, 12:52 PM
i have a bit of a problem. i was going to surprse me bro for his 21st by going to the faroes. 3 day trip ( 7,8,9) and accomodation sorted.thought his exams would be finished but he came home last nite and said he has exams on 9th and 10th of june.what the fcuk???? any advice.not looking good :mad: :(