View Full Version : Faroe Islands (Away) Wed 8th Jun 05
Pages :
[
5]
We're gonna try to do the same bit of island hopping. Might have to stock
up on the duty free in London if theres no pubs around!
Faroe Islands league football :eek: !
I might have to bring my boots :D
Have ye booked any hostels or camp sites yet? If so can you send on the
details please
We're gonna try to do the same bit of island hopping. Might have to stock
up on the duty free in London if theres no pubs around!
I might have to bring my boots :D
Have ye booked any hostels or camp sites yet? If so can you send on the
details please
I am flying in from Reykjavik on the Monday along with two others apparently, (from foot.ie) and staying until the Friday Morning when I will return to Iceland
I havent got any accommodation booked, dont know whether to book something, or take a tent. (well I will be taking a tent anyway for iceland but that is btw)
If there are others who are like me and travelling solo and want to book some accom let me know
P
14/03/2005, 10:43 PM
Have ye booked any hostels or camp sites yet? If so can you send on the details please
Booked everything bar the last Saturday. Going to see how the fixtures pan out before booking something! :) Haven't had any problems getting anything so far though.
Try -
Giljanes@Post.Olivant.fo (Youth hostel and campsite in Midvágur, a mile from the airport)
TorsInfo@Post.Olivant.fo (Camping site in Tórshavn)
Or the likes of www.FaroeIslands.com or www.Tourist.fo. Outside of Tuesday to Thursday, though, you could possibly get away with booking ahead on the morning though.
We now have accomodation available for the Faroes, phone Collette for more details 01 4081900, places still available on day trip as well from E560 inc taxes.
Try -
Giljanes@Post.Olivant.fo (Youth hostel and campsite in Midvágur, a mile from the airport)
TorsInfo@Post.Olivant.fo (Camping site in Tórshavn)
Or the likes of www.FaroeIslands.com or www.Tourist.fo. Outside of Tuesday to Thursday, though, you could possibly get away with booking ahead on the morning though.
Cheers for that, much appreciated
Babysis
16/03/2005, 11:22 AM
Hi
I dont know if this is much help to anyone, but we had originally booked a triple room in a B&B 10 mins outside of the city centre. We are now actually staying in a house that someone has rented on the island. I have just this minute cancelled the booking with Heidi at Smryll line ferries. if anyone is looking there for accomodation from the 6th-9th june it would be worth speaking to her now at 'heidid@smyril-line.fo'
She is really helpful
Just had an email from her today and shes gonna help sort
out an itenery around the islands and accomodation etc.
Fair play
Babysis
16/03/2005, 4:23 PM
I might see if she can help me out with getting some traditional Faroese Headress :eek:
I got a load of us some green Berets for Paris that went down a treat in October, so I need to find something for this trip :D
16/03/2005, 5:43 PM
The DCFC contigent have already acquired inflatable viking helments and axes for the trip- picked them up v cheap round Chinese New Year in Hong Kong.
16/03/2005, 6:30 PM
The DCFC contigent have already acquired inflatable viking helments and axes for the trip- picked them up v cheap round Chinese New Year in Hong Kong.
Any word on those sleeveless fur bodywarmer yokes that were popular back in Viking times Maribor?!?!
16/03/2005, 9:37 PM
Still working on one of those soothsayer style outfits with wolfskin headgear but we have the inflatable hemlmets if not
19/03/2005, 4:26 PM
Wasn't their former goalie famous for wearing a black bobble hat in matches? I think it would be a laugh if we all wore green bobble hats as a kind of Irish tribute to the man?
That'll be Jens Martin Knudsen
http://nationalfootballteamseurope.741.com/knudsen.jpg
19/03/2005, 5:39 PM
I think it would be a laugh if we all wore green bobble hats as a kind of Irish tribute to the man?
That's brilliant! :D Will be keeping an eye out in the duty free on the way out and the shops around the islands now!
30/03/2005, 3:18 PM
I did not apply for tickets for this game do people think that it will be be impossible to get tickets for .
Babysis
30/03/2005, 4:46 PM
Not fussed about the fishing, but myself and Pat O agreed that tuesday would be spent out site seeing, doing tours etc.
Then Tuesday evening there is meant to be a faroese night in a pub in Torshavn. Its probably the only opportunity I will have to go to the Faroe Islands, so I plan to make the most of and see as much as possible. Might even do the Helicopter trip :)
Not fussed about the fishing, but myself and Pat O agreed that tuesday would be spent out site seeing, doing tours etc.
Then Tuesday evening there is meant to be a faroese night in a pub in Torshavn. Its probably the only opportunity I will have to go to the Faroe Islands, so I plan to make the most of and see as much as possible. Might even do the Helicopter trip :)
Yeah am plannin (along with everyone else) to go to the faroese night, but the fishin sounds like good craic. As for the other days, I was planning on travelling round for monday and tuesday, go to torshavn on tues evenin for the pub, match wed, then thursday more sightseein, before back to iceland (for a lot more tramping round)
Pete
green army
31/03/2005, 9:24 AM
I can't sit in a pub all day while there is a new place to discover.
same here although as it is mid week it seems that most places close early. heidi sent me out loads of info and map of torshavn.there seems to be a few good excursions. does anyone know what time the game is on at.what time is the faroese night on at. any info. was thinkin of going on fishing trip on the tuesday on a schooner at 7. but am arriving that day with standupforboysingreen, so i see what happens. seems to be a good few restaurants.one place even does a mexican buffet all you can eat :eek: . also there is a burger king. as saint tom said to me the other week " it's gonna be whale whoppers all the way" :D :D
Babysis
31/03/2005, 11:04 AM
Look it, Im sure most of us can get in contact with each other. So we could just make an informal arrangement to all see each other on the tues at the Faroese night (im sure we will have a time and location nearer the time).
Anyone who fancies site seeing on the Tuesday, well im sure we can all arrange something. Its only a small Island, so i doubt we will find it too hard to find each other. :D
31/03/2005, 11:39 AM
Look it, Im sure most of us can get in contact with each other. So we could just make an informal arrangement to all see each other on the tues at the Faroese night (im sure we will have a time and location nearer the time).
See you all by the big blue boat in the harbour then so...........
Babysis
31/03/2005, 11:47 AM
I'm booked on the StandUp trip, arriving on the Tuesday and I'm up for a bit of sightseeing and fishing.
I just hope to God that it's not like that episode of Father Ted where the only attraction is the stone out in the field!! :D
Maybe they've a Holy Stone of Clonrickert somewhere?
We will be in big trouble if there is a "Tom" character sitting on the wall to greet us, wearing an "I shot JR" T-Shirt and carrying a shot gun :eek:
Babysis
31/03/2005, 12:11 PM
ok, so we are all meeting by the big blue boat, avoiding men with Shot guns. I cant wait :D
lopez
31/03/2005, 12:45 PM
...I just hope to God that it's not like that episode of Father Ted where the only attraction is the stone out in the field!! :D
...Funny, I was thinking of that stone the other day when the words 'That'll be an ecumenical matter' came into my mind. Didn't end up being shoved up a bishops a*se by Father Jack. :D
Babysis
31/03/2005, 3:52 PM
Let's hope there's lots of feck, ar$e and goals!
Hopefully followed by plenty of DRINK :D
Is anyone camping?
I still hold out aspirations of getting there but fcuk if I'm hoteling it.
31/03/2005, 7:53 PM
Is anyone camping?
No hotel space left so you have no hope on that front anyway
Is anyone camping?
in a word - YES
will probably camp on tues and wed nights
Pete
green army
01/04/2005, 7:58 AM
She's Heidi Davidsen and she has sorted me out twice now. Great girl. Hope she looks as nice as she sounds on email! :D
:D :D we will have to pay her a visit :)
i am staying in a b&b on a street called klokkaragota. anyone else staying there.?
Cowboy
01/04/2005, 9:17 AM
:D :D we will have to pay her a visit :)
i am staying in a b&b on a street called klokkaragota. anyone else staying there.?
Yeah Fudge and I are at S. Djurhuus, Klokkaragřta
SeanieBoy
01/04/2005, 10:54 AM
Hi there,
Me & my brother are thinking of going. Can anyone tell me what they think the best deal is to get there??
Cheers,
Sean
01/04/2005, 12:08 PM
Is anyone camping?
Three of us camping as well. Seems to be fairly easy to get spaces.
01/04/2005, 12:38 PM
Can anyone tell me what they think the best deal is to get there??
Your best bet from Dublin is here. (http://www.standupfortheboysingreen.com/)
SeanieBoy
01/04/2005, 1:10 PM
Cheers for that, is that the cheapest going or would it be better to go from London??
Eldad
02/04/2005, 11:51 AM
I found some pictures of Faroe Islands on the web:
http://www.atlantic.fo/myndasavn/default.asp?bolkaid=12&pageno=1
02/04/2005, 12:17 PM
On the Faroese evenings, this is what the Bradt guide book mentioned earlier has to say...
Sjónleikarhúsid, Niels Finsens gota 32. Tuesdays only from 8:00 from mid-June to mid-August (don't know if the 7th might be too early? Though they might put one on for us!) A wonderful way to get to grips with Faroese culture by combining a buffet of traditional foods such as sausage, dried fish, whale meat, blubber, salmon, prawns, lamb and various breads, with an opportunity to share the floor with professional dancers as they explain the various steps of the Faroese chain dance. There is sometimes also a reading of old poems and a dramatisation of Viking history from the sagas. Book at the Kunningarstovan (the tourist office, I think); minimum 20 people (sounds like we have at least a thousand, so should be OK there!); 300Kr (E40) each including the buffet.
Eldad
02/04/2005, 12:35 PM
I found some pictures of Faroe Islands on the web:
http://www.atlantic.fo/myndasavn/default.asp?bolkaid=12&pageno=1
Stadium pictures:
http://www.atlantic.fo/images/myndasavn/Torshavn15.jpg
http://www.atlantic.fo/images/myndasavn/Torshavn14.jpg
MickeyT
02/04/2005, 1:37 PM
Just wondering if anyone on here is going on the Celtic Horizons 2-night package? I only found out this week that I could make it so opted for the package. My mate is going with Stand Up so I've got a bit stung on the single-room supplement stuff in the package unfortunately :-(
ACdub
02/04/2005, 10:30 PM
There are still approx 20 places left on the 2 day trip and also on the daytrip.
Prices for Cyprus out shortly.
Anyqueries text Alan 0852374664. or ring Etravel / Frances 01 4081900 (collette is on hols)
Hope everyone in Israel had a great time.
Alan & Stephen - a week later we have recovered
Hope everyone in Israel had a great time.
Alan & Stephen - a week later we have recovered
Can't find your email adress onthe site so wanna say thanks a mil, wen't great, fair play to yee for organising it. I'll try & get on that plane to Faroes too.
04/04/2005, 8:28 AM
Those who are going on (or even organising) two-day trips - which two days are they? Want to see when most people or going to be in Tórshavn. Cheers!
Babysis
04/04/2005, 3:58 PM
Cheers for that, is that the cheapest going or would it be better to go from London??
The deal we got from London was Ł289 return Monday-Thursday changing at Billund through ebookers. We booked a few weeks ago, so dont know what they have now. :)
Paulie
04/04/2005, 4:02 PM
The deal we got from London was Ł289 return Monday-Thursday changing at Billund through ebookers. We booked a few weeks ago, so dont know what they have now. :)
That's the same flight as me. You'll be able spot me.....I'll be the one in the green top.
That gag looks even worse written out than it was in my head.
Babysis
04/04/2005, 4:18 PM
That's the same flight as me. You'll be able spot me.....I'll be the one in the green top.
That gag looks even worse written out than it was in my head.
Dont worry, I wont hold that against you. Monday morning from Gatwick is our flight I think??
You will be able to spot me easily enough. I will the one dragging Pat O Banton on the plane. :D
You will be able to spot me easily enough. I will the one dragging Pat O Banton on the plane. :DYou can't miss Pat. He's the black bloke with the mohican, muscles and loads of gold screaming 'You ain't gettin me on no plane, fool!' :D
Paulie
04/04/2005, 4:26 PM
Monday morning from Gatwick is our flight I think??
I know it's Monday morning alright, not sure off the top of my head which airport though. We're flying over to London on Sunday to avoid having 3 flights in one day so we'll be nice and fresh for 3 days of beer induced fun!
It should be a bit of craic on the flights as well as I'd say it will be nearly all Irish on board.
Paulie
04/04/2005, 4:28 PM
You can't miss Pat. He's the black bloke with the mohican, muscles and loads of gold screaming 'You ain't gettin me on no plane, fool!' :D
Drives a black van right?
Babysis
04/04/2005, 4:30 PM
I know it's Monday morning alright, not sure off the top of my head which airport though. We're flying over to London on Sunday to avoid having 3 flights in one day so we'll be nice and fresh for 3 days of beer induced fun!
It should be a bit of craic on the flights as well as I'd say it will be nearly all Irish on board.
Im certain its 9am from Gatwick. It should be good craic alright. id say there will be a few irish on board, given the difficulty with flights etc. Its gonna be a long few days, cant wait :D
Drives a black van right?Not to be mistaken with a similar looking bloke in the gym on 'Little Britain.' :)
Paulie
05/04/2005, 9:51 AM
Afraid not my friend. There's a group of 5 of us so we got our own house.
05/04/2005, 9:59 AM
Am I the only person staying at the 'Lini' B&B?
You wanna hear the stories I've heard about that place!
Apparently there was a movie made about it, Guest House Paradiso (http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0202381/posters)? or something like that.
Think you should ask all the mourners in the Vatican to say a prayer for you too.
Paulie
05/04/2005, 10:29 AM
You D4 boys, you are such a laugh! :D :D :D
Is O'Driscoll playing in this one? I might get there on the Dort. :D
Where did that come from?! I'm a northsider and proud of it! Do they not have houses where you come from or something?