View Full Version : Faroe Islands (Away) Wed 8th Jun 05

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14

23/05/2005, 12:32 PM
A tourist map of Torshavn arrived in the house today, with a personal mark for where our aparment is,talk about service :D

Your normal touristy guide, with a load of ads for museums and shops etc. Faroese knitwear appears to very popular and thus far I have seen ads for Burger King, Pizza 67, Nantong Chinese and a number of other restaurants

lopez
23/05/2005, 1:01 PM
A tourist map of Torshavn arrived in the house today, with a personal mark for where our aparment is,talk about service :D

Your normal touristy guide, with a load of ads for museums and shops etc. Faroese knitwear appears to very popular and thus far I have seen ads for Burger King, Pizza 67, Nantong Chinese and a number of other restaurantsNot with Greengate by any chance? Got the same thing with them.

Possibly already mentioned, but what's the cheapest price of a pint there, and what strength beer is served?

Babysis
23/05/2005, 1:20 PM
Fom http://www.faroeislands.org.uk

Faroese News Bulletin from the Faroese Radio – week 20

Irish Football Fans think it is too expensive to visit the Faroes

Thousands of Irish football fans were rumoured to visit the Faroes in connection with the football match between the Faroes and Ireland on the 8th of June. However, many of the Irish fans have found it to expensive to travel to the Faroes.

Ingigerð á Trøðni, Director of the Tourist Information Centre in Tórshavn, has gathered information in connection with the game. She believes the numbers initially mentioned have been too high. She expects about 1000 Irish people to visit the island in connection with the game.

Ísak Mikladal from the Faroese Football Association confirmed that all 900 tickets set aside for the Irish fans have been sold.

The football stadium in Tórshavn, Tórsvøllur, accommodates 5800 spectators. The FA has 2000 tickets left for the game.

Paulie
23/05/2005, 1:40 PM

Yeah, Heidi did the same for us. She marked out her office, as we have to collect the keys to our house once we arrive, and of course the house itself.

Babysis
23/05/2005, 4:47 PM
no prices for Pints, but a bit on the strength

In the Faroe Islands light beer (max 2,5% vol.) may be purchased at the grocers and in hotels.
All alcoholic beverages above 2,5% (vol.) of alcohol may be purchased at the monopoly shops only.
Main Office: Rúsdrekkasøla Landsins, Hoyvíksvegur 51,FO - 100 Tórshavn, Tel: *298 314277/316568, Fax: *298 312260
Opening hours: Mon - Wed 2 pm to 5.30 pm, Thu 10 am to 5.30 pm, Fri 10 am to 7 pm.
Only persons over 18 years of age are allowed to purchase.
Licensed restaurants will be found throughout the Faroe Islands

lopez
23/05/2005, 6:16 PM
...Only persons over 18 years of age are allowed to purchase...Don't worry! Uncle Lopez and uncle Sylvo will see that you get a couple of cans. :D

Cowboy
23/05/2005, 6:37 PM
Don't worry! Uncle Lopez and uncle Sylvo will see that you get a couple of cans. :D

and a straw

Babysis
23/05/2005, 8:04 PM
Don't worry! Uncle Lopez and uncle Sylvo will see that you get a couple of cans. :D

ah its ok, I can just sit in the corner with a packet of taytos and a bottle of pepsi :rolleyes: :D

Its been a long time since i was thought to be under 18 unfortunately :(

lopez
23/05/2005, 9:47 PM
...Its been a long time since i was thought to be under 18 unfortunately :(Not as long as it has been for me. :( :( :mad: but I'm planning to put my son's number candles from his birthday this year round the other way for my own big day later this year. I'll be 21 again!!! :D

shiv_ire
24/05/2005, 7:57 AM
Carlsberg is probably the best beer in town, although you can also get Tuborg and Royal (other Danish beers), as well as the Faroese stuff.
The price of a pint is similar to Denmark, so you're talking anything up to a £5. An ordinary Carlsberg is 4,6%, but you can also get the Gold variety which is about 5.8%.

lopez
24/05/2005, 8:03 AM
...you can also get the Gold variety which is about 5.8%.Hey, hey! Now we're talking! :D Is this the 'Elephant' beer? Remember that being halfway between an 'Export' and the 'Special Brew,' known in my part of the world as the 'Bob Marley After Shave.'

shiv_ire
24/05/2005, 8:28 AM
I don't think you can get the Elephant beer, which is 7.2%. The 5.8% stuff is Carlsberg Sort Guld or the Tuborg Guld, but they'd both rip the stomach outta ya after a couple of bottles. I certainly wouldn't recommend it as a breakfast bevvy!

Paulie
24/05/2005, 8:37 AM
Carlsberg is probably the best beer in town

I can't stand the Carlsberg that they serve here but when I drink it abroad it's always much nicer, maybe it's brewed in a different way or something. Anyway if they have that on draft it won't be too bad. Somehow I don't think I'll be able to get my hands on lovely ice cold Miller.....Jaysus I'm beginning to sound like Duffman.

Paulie
24/05/2005, 8:51 AM
By the way has anyone any idea how many Irish fans are travelling for this game?......1,000?......1,500 maybe?

finn
24/05/2005, 9:30 AM
By the way has anyone any idea how many Irish fans are travelling for this game?......1,000?......1,500 maybe?

I would say you have hit the nail on the head, somewhere between 1 and 1.5k

however the relative number of people travelling round will be much less. I would think that quite a proportion of this number will be on day trips or in on wednesday out on thursday, so the number of people traipsing round the countryside will be limited I would imagine

any one know what kind of trip Ray Tracey was offerin?

P

24/05/2005, 10:03 AM
Carlsberg is probably the best beer in town

Are you going too, shiv_ire?
There's another thread on this forum for numbers of people going.
Also a thread on bobble hats.

Paulie
24/05/2005, 10:15 AM
I would say you have hit the nail on the head, somewhere between 1 and 1.5k

however the relative number of people travelling round will be much less. I would think that quite a proportion of this number will be on day trips or in on wednesday out on thursday, so the number of people traipsing round the countryside will be limited I would imagine

any one know what kind of trip Ray Tracey was offerin?

P

Even though by our standards it's a relatively small number of fans travelling it will seem as though we're everywhere as the bulk of us will all be condensed around the one area.

Babysis
24/05/2005, 10:20 AM
I think that 1000 - 1500 is pretty good, especially considering its not the easiest place to get too and its expensive.

Im really looking forward to it. This day 2 weeks, We should hopefully be out sight seeing (all going well :eek: )

sylvo
24/05/2005, 10:23 AM
I think that 1000 - 1500 is pretty good, especially considering its not the easiest place to get too and its expensive.

Im really looking forward to it. This day 2 weeks, We should hopefully be out sight seeing (all going well :eek: )

Proberly the only sight seeing you'll be doing is in some Sheebeen getting buckled. ;)

Babysis
24/05/2005, 10:27 AM
Proberly the only sight seeing you'll be doing is in some Sheebeen getting buckled. ;)

Not that i would mind too much, but if im going all the way out there, i want to see more than the inside of a pub.

We agreed to get out and about on Tuesday. After that it doesnt matter. :D

Actually we all need tosort out the details- I need to arrange getting to Gatwick with Pat OB and also about getting to the house. I think we get in about 4 or 5 ish on the monday evening, so dont know if you lot will be there before us.

shiv_ire
24/05/2005, 10:48 AM
Are you going too, shiv_ire?
There's another thread on this forum for numbers of people going.
Also a thread on bobble hats.
I am indeed. There's 19 of us travelling from CPH. I've just added our numbers to the other thread....
I think I'll be passing on the bobble hat though. I'm hoping for fine weather so I want to avoid a sweaty head! ;)

24/05/2005, 5:33 PM
I think I'll be passing on the bobble hat though.
But it's in honour of their keeper! Go on, go on, go on, go on, go on... :)

Won't be getting much in the way of fine weather up there anyway - temperatures in the 20s are very much a rarity, and the rain will come pretty much unannounced...

MickeyT
24/05/2005, 9:06 PM
The temp in Torshavn seems to be hovering between 5 and 10C at the moment so a bobble hat should come in handy!

http://www.wunderground.com/cgi-bin/findweather/getForecast?query=torshavn

24/05/2005, 11:37 PM
http://foot.ie/photos/showphoto.php?photo=28&sort=2&cat=503&page=1

Not sure if you can see this image

I am stuck in Queens where there are NO IMAGE EDITING TOOLS :mad:

Can someone with access to photshop etc please crop the background so we aren't left with loads of white on the shirt t-shirt

24/05/2005, 11:52 PM
http://www.shirtcity.com/shop/00000000000003fa006d9605000000b346100a08/tshirt_shop.html

Right a new shirt up with

Front

"Irish in the Faroes

St Brendan: 560 AD

Foot.ie: 2005"

Back

"Foot.ie

In the Faroes

June 2005"

shiv_ire
25/05/2005, 7:28 AM
the rain will come pretty much unannounced...
Sure a bobbly hat won't keep you dry either way!
But I think its a deadly idea! I've told a few of the lads I'm traveling with about yer plan, and they'll be bringing their hats with them. :)

25/05/2005, 9:39 AM
Right just got word back from shirtcity that they can't ship to Ireland :mad:

I will stick it onto another site that does this sort of stuff

25/05/2005, 10:07 AM
Right a new shirt up

Any chance of getting a few thongs (http://www.shirtcity.com/grafiken/2002/static/partner/valentine_logo.jpg) done up? :D

Eire06
25/05/2005, 10:20 AM
Any chance of getting a few thongs (http://www.shirtcity.com/grafiken/2002/static/partner/valentine_logo.jpg) done up? :D

Don't think that would suit you Peadar!! ;)

25/05/2005, 10:46 AM
Don't think that would suit you Peadar!! ;)

I was thinking more for you and Babysis. :p

Babysis
25/05/2005, 10:55 AM
I was thinking more for you and Babysis. :p

Thats very sweet, but i really am more than capable of buying my own underwear thanks :D

25/05/2005, 12:33 PM
Right

http://www.spreadshirt.net/shop.php?sid=66320

This appears to be Ireland friendly so youse can order away

I will be adding designs asap.

Any offers of help to crop the map image?

25/05/2005, 12:51 PM
I will be adding designs asap.

Any chance of getting the misbehavin one with the same back as the puffin one?

25/05/2005, 12:57 PM
No bother Peader

Green or white t-shirt, what font do you prefer

25/05/2005, 1:00 PM
Green or white t-shirt, what font do you prefer

Green with white text and I like the fonts you've used already.
i.e. A different font on the front and back, just as they are.

25/05/2005, 1:01 PM
Done!

25/05/2005, 1:07 PM
Done!

Lovely job.

You can get thongs on that site too. :D

25/05/2005, 1:25 PM
This appears to be Ireland friendly so youse can order away

Do you get any feedback on orders submitted?

25/05/2005, 1:25 PM
http://www.spreadshirt.net/shop.php?op=article&article_id=1211745&view=162

The latest shirt have the design of the islands on the back, and are available in white for the girls and green or white for the fellas

Despite PMs to the contrary, I am not making any profit out of this :mad: , this is just a way for people who want to join in the "spirit of the trip" to get a few t-shirts

They do say that they are experiencing slight delays so if you are getting a shirt- order asap

If anyone like Peader would like a customised shirt give us a shout

25/05/2005, 1:28 PM
Do you get any feedback on orders submitted?

Aye, the first order has shown up and I assume its you. Congrats to Peader on being the first customer

25/05/2005, 1:31 PM
[The latest shirt have the design of the islands on the back

That's class!
Well done, Maribor.
I'll buy a pint or two for your effort.
Genuinely appreciated.

25/05/2005, 1:35 PM
The latest shirt have the design of the islands on the back, and are available in white for the girls and green or white for the fellas
Cool. Are you doing them with "foot.ie on tour" on the front as well or am I just not looking in the right place?

You know the way they pronounce "Tórshavn" that "Misbehavin in Tórshavn" doesn't come close to rhyming? Might get pointed out a few times over there! :p

25/05/2005, 1:37 PM
I will stick up a foot.ie on Tour one now

Any preference for colour or font?

As you can see we can do hoodies etc as well

25/05/2005, 1:41 PM
http://www.spreadshirt.net/shop.php?op=article&ac=details&article_id=1211803#top

finn
25/05/2005, 1:56 PM
That's class!
Well done, Maribor.
I'll buy a pint or two for your effort.
Genuinely appreciated.

I will echo that, thanks for the effort, now all I gotta do is get a picture of me with muffin in one hand puffin in t'other

Cheers

Pete

Babysis
25/05/2005, 2:03 PM
http://www.spreadshirt.net/shop.php?op=article&ac=details&article_id=1211803#top

im getting one of those. I will be easily spotted :D

25/05/2005, 2:05 PM
im getting one of those.

Don't be shy, get one of these (http://www.spreadshirt.net/shop.php?op=article&article_id=1211815&view=203). :D

Babysis
25/05/2005, 2:12 PM
Don't be shy, get one of these (http://www.spreadshirt.net/shop.php?op=article&article_id=1211815&view=203). :D

Are you gonna buy it for me?? :D sounded like an offer :p

25/05/2005, 2:19 PM
I will stick up a foot.ie on Tour one now

Any preference for colour or font?
Excellent! I see you never got the islands cut out! Probably as well though to make them visible against the green background...

I'd prefer the lighter green on the t-shirt personally - the colour of the Ireland jersey. However, if you don't get that done by this evening when I'll be buying, it doesn't matter! Great work, cheers! :)

25/05/2005, 2:25 PM
I'd prefer the lighter green on the t-shirt personally

The choice of colours is very limited.
There's some really nice t-shirt styles that just aren't available in green of any sort.