Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14

Paulie
05/04/2005, 10:46 AM
Reel it in lads we've caught a whopper! :D

Git..

05/04/2005, 11:00 AM
I'm hoping to get a rod and head off somewhere quiet for a bit more baiting

I take it you've seen this? (http://www.faroeislands.com/Default.asp?sida=671)

Cowboy
05/04/2005, 11:18 AM
Do you know if its possible to hire gear when we get there?

thanks Peadar, that's a superbly written article and it just confirms my thoughts that there must be a better way of spending a bit of time there than sitting in a pub. I'm definitely going to go fishing there now. Haven't got the wife with me so I'll be able to go and do what I want without being told that "there are plenty of rivers near us and you never go near them when we're at home"!!!!

Cowboy
05/04/2005, 12:11 PM
I think it'd be a great laugh.

no question its going to be great craic

Paulie
05/04/2005, 12:45 PM
In case any of you are interested here is the website address to the Faroese Fooball Team Supporter's Association.

www.footballsupporters.fo

It appears that you can only get part of the site in english but it's better than nothing. Unforunately I can't read the rest of it as my Faroese has really gone to sh*t since I left school. There is also an email address on the site for any of you that wish to get some banter going between the fans.

06/04/2005, 2:49 AM
Do you know if its possible to hire gear when we get there?

I reckon our TIFO flagpole could double up :D

Babysis
07/04/2005, 9:59 AM
In case any of you are interested here is the website address to the Faroese Fooball Team Supporter's Association.

www.footballsupporters.fo

It appears that you can only get part of the site in english but it's better than nothing. Unforunately I can't read the rest of it as my Faroese has really gone to sh*t since I left school. There is also an email address on the site for any of you that wish to get some banter going between the fans.

Now it would seem Maribor was spot on with the Viking helemts. Everyone in the picture from the faroese fans site are wearing them. Might have to get me one of them :D

07/04/2005, 10:20 AM
Just got an email from Eyðun Poulsen (smyril-line) to say that all
accomodation in Torshvan is fully booked for the day of the game
and day before!

Looks like its gonna have to be a tent!

Paulie
07/04/2005, 10:43 AM
Just got an email from Eyðun Poulsen (smyril-line) to say that all
accomodation in Torshvan is fully booked for the day of the game
and day before!

Looks like its gonna have to be a tent!

I wonder how many people that actually amounts to.

finn
07/04/2005, 12:57 PM
Now it would seem Maribor was spot on with the Viking helemts. Everyone in the picture from the faroese fans site are wearing them. Might have to get me one of them :D

Picked myself up one of those felt green white and gold helmets (like the jester ones) in Cardiff a few weeks ago at the rugby, fair play to MariborKev for the idea :D

P

Babysis
07/04/2005, 1:07 PM
Picked myself up one of those felt green white and gold helmets (like the jester ones) in Cardiff a few weeks ago at the rugby, fair play to MariborKev for the idea :D

P
Ive seen some on ebay and in fancy dress shops. will need to be customised before i take it out there though :)

07/04/2005, 1:12 PM
Can we go easy on the leprechaun costumes in the Faroes? The 1st time I saw them they were midly amusing, but since then hundreds of the little buggers seem to randomly appear together at any large sporting gathering of Irish people, posing for photos and generally arsing around is a tanked up manner.

I don't want to become a leprechaun vigilante, but......... :D

Cowboy
07/04/2005, 2:52 PM

I think anyone who wears these should be obliged to sing the theme music from the muppet show every 2 mins :)

07/04/2005, 2:53 PM
I think anyone who wears these should be obliged to sing the theme music from the muppet show every 2 mins :)

They could join in with the folks wearing cowboy hats and waistcoats! :eek: :D

Eire06
07/04/2005, 2:56 PM

I have a class picture from Paris of a fella in one of them suits sleeping against a lamp post with a leather peak hat on, with a silver chain around it (Picture a hat from the village people) and clutchin a bottle of beer it was about 6am..
Funnest thing I've seen in a long time :D

Babysis
07/04/2005, 2:59 PM
Can we go easy on the leprechaun costumes in the Faroes? The 1st time I saw them they were midly amusing, but since then hundreds of the little buggers seem to randomly appear together at any large sporting gathering of Irish people, posing for photos and generally arsing around is a tanked up manner.

Ah come on now. I met a lovely leprechaun in Paris. He happily posed for photos with us once my sister had caught him :D

Although I do think ther must be better costumes for the Faroe Islands trip

Cowboy
07/04/2005, 3:02 PM
They could join in with the folks wearing cowboy hats and waistcoats! :eek: :D

who might they be, I've only seen them at GAA games?

Cowboy
07/04/2005, 3:39 PM
I reckon a straightforward and effective costume for the Faroes trip would be a green bobble hat - in tribute to that goalie/fisherman they use to have between the sticks. Remember the fella? He was in goal when they beat Austria 1-0.

Excellent suggestion, where can we get these?
would a green and white Aran be a step too far ? :)

Paulie
07/04/2005, 4:14 PM
I reckon a straightforward and effective costume for the Faroes trip would be a green bobble hat - in tribute to that goalie/fisherman they use to have between the sticks. Remember the fella? He was in goal when they beat Austria 1-0.

I reckon that getting green and white versions of those is a great idea. Who of us is able knit?

By the way I rang the FAI this afternoon to find out what the story was with the tickets for the game. The lovely Emma said that applicants would be notified by post next week. About a thousand people have applied for tickets with somewhere between 6 and 700 being available although they didn't have the exact number as yet.

07/04/2005, 4:21 PM
Right, saying we have returned to the idea of "costume" for the game, there is an idea that ORA and myself came up with.

Would there be sufficient interest in a t-shirt for the trip. I was thinking of a green t-shirt(obviously) with "Misbehaving in Torshavn"(Read it in a Scandanavian accent and you will see the reason, few accents to be added to it), with a puffin using one of the letters as a perch.

I was then thinking of the back having a picture of the Faroe Island coloured in as a tricolour(1/3 of islands in green, 1/3 in white,1/3 in orange) and the date of the game, location etc in text on the back.

We also had other ideas of having dotted lines showing people's travel paths, or Irishmen with Viking hats playing football on the back.

Was thinking about getting a limtied batch of these done up for the intrepids that are making the journey

What does everyone think?

Babysis
07/04/2005, 4:21 PM
I reckon that getting green and white versions of those is a great idea. Who of us is able knit?

By the way I rang the FAI this afternoon to find out what the story was with the tickets for the game. The lovely Emma said that applicants would be notified by post next week. About a thousand people have applied for tickets with somewhere between 6 and 700 being available although they didn't have the exact number as yet.

Cheers for that :)

As for the wooly hats, claires accesories do a great hat for girls. black wooly hat, with "everyone loves an Irish girl on it". Dont think its gonna be to everyones liking. :D

Cowboy
07/04/2005, 4:25 PM
i'd be up for that

Right, saying we have returned to the idea of "costume" for the game, there is an idea that ORA and myself came up with.

Would there be sufficient interest in a t-shirt for the trip. I was thinking of a green t-shirt(obviously) with "Misbehaving in Torshavn"(Read it in a Scandanavian accent and you will see the reason, few accents to be added to it), with a puffin using one of the letters as a perch.

I was then thinking of the back having a picture of the Faroe Island coloured in as a tricolour(1/3 of islands in green, 1/3 in white,1/3 in orange) and the date of the game, location etc in text on the back.

We also had other ideas of having dotted lines showing people's travel paths, or Irishmen with Viking hats playing football on the back.

Was thinking about getting a limtied batch of these done up for the intrepids that are making the journey

finn
07/04/2005, 4:42 PM
i'd be up for that

Count me in too

P

Paulie
07/04/2005, 5:02 PM
By the way . . . when you say a thousand people have applied for tickets . . . does this mean 1,000 people x their chosen number of tickets??
Or is it simply a thousand tickets applied for but there are only 700?
I'm hoping it is the latter.

I assume that it's the latter.

Babysis
08/04/2005, 8:33 AM
Come on, we cant panic about tickets until we find out how many are available. Im hopeful we will all get tickets - and at least we are all in a position to help each other other if there are any spares going etc.
Lets just all keep our fingers crossed. It should be a great trip anyway. :)

08/04/2005, 8:38 AM

If they're getting printed up put me in for 1 aswell
Cheers

Babysis
08/04/2005, 10:23 AM
Ive found some more info on drinking in the Faroe Islands here (http://www.netleyabbeytartanarmy.net/trav_faroes.htm#pubs) (sorry if this has been posted previously).

08/04/2005, 12:00 PM

What does everyone think?Great idea Kev, count me in!

Cowboy
08/04/2005, 12:07 PM
Ive found some more info on drinking in the Faroe Islands here (http://www.netleyabbeytartanarmy.net/trav_faroes.htm#pubs) (sorry if this has been posted previously).

Excellent info, I see the (so called) Irish bar is cheaper than the rest bucking a world wide trend

Babysis
08/04/2005, 12:18 PM
Excellent info, I see the (so called) Irish bar is cheaper than the rest bucking a world wide trend

Hmm, cheap at £6 per pint though!! Carry outs all round :D

08/04/2005, 1:08 PM
..... Im hopeful we will all get tickets -
It will be interesting to see if FAI apply rigidly to their own rules that Block Bookers will get priority.

Paulie
08/04/2005, 1:31 PM
It will be interesting to see if FAI apply rigidly to their own rules that Block Bookers will get priority.

Blockbookers (in theory anyway) always get priority over non blockbookers for away games.

Babysis
08/04/2005, 3:54 PM
Blockbookers (in theory anyway) always get priority over non blockbookers for away games.
True, but I doubt very much whether all of the block bookers will take up their allocation, so there should be spares going round. Come on, no one panic till we need to ;)

Cowboy
08/04/2005, 4:50 PM
True, but I doubt very much whether all of the block bookers will take up their allocation, so there should be spares going round. Come on, no one panic till we need to ;)

I'm a block booker and i expect to have at least one spare so hopefully between us all we can get sorted

Babysis
08/04/2005, 4:53 PM
I'm a block booker and i expect to have at least one spare so hopefully between us all we can get sorted

See thats the spirit. Ive put in for 2, so fingers crossed. im sure we will all be ok. Hey of not there is always the Faroes end, or Jews hill. :)

08/04/2005, 6:50 PM
It is the theory bit I wonder about. No doubt Ray Treacy has organised the team plane and his own trippers willfill up the empty seats. I doubt if all of them are Block Bookers but they will all have match tickets from FAI.

Cowboy
08/04/2005, 7:10 PM
It is the theory bit I wonder about. No doubt Ray Treacy has organised the team plane and his own trippers willfill up the empty seats. I doubt if all of them are Block Bookers but they will all have match tickets from FAI.

Is treacy still doing this, thought he lost it after the saipan fiasco?

08/04/2005, 7:19 PM
Is treacy still doing this, thought he lost it after the saipan fiasco?
His website is still showing him as 'Specialists in Irish Soccer' with an (old) FAI logo.

finn
08/04/2005, 8:33 PM

Hmmm as someone who is resident abroad and not a block booker, getting home tickets from club contacts at home, I feel I would be bottom of the food chain

but I am not so worried, there should be a good vantage point from that hill :D

P

08/04/2005, 9:14 PM
Going by the weather reports for the Faroes, it sounds like any extra layer's going to be welcome - put us down for a t-shirt as well there Maribor!

11/04/2005, 8:24 AM
there should be a good vantage point from that hill :D

That could turn out to be one of the best places to be.
Imagine 100 or more people sitting on the hill, the TV cameras would be all over them. Huge Tri colour flags draped across the landscape. :)

Babysis
11/04/2005, 12:36 PM
I think the craic will be mighty on this one. Don't know about you, but I desperately need a break. The thought of this trip is keeping me going.

Big time. the idea of four days away, no work, happy days. Followed by a music festival the day after I get back. i think we are meant to hear about tickets this week, so fingers crossed

Babysis
11/04/2005, 1:03 PM
Good luck to everyone. Like you said their Babysis, there are enough decent people on here to help each other out.

Well thats how i see it. im so up for this trip. Really think its gonna be so much fun :)

Babysis
11/04/2005, 1:07 PM
the only away game ive done (bar the unity cup :rolleyes: ) was Paris in October. I was meant to go to Albania, but Roy Keane ruined it for me :mad:
Its not going to be cheap, but like you said, its a one off. bring on the puffin :D

Cowboy
11/04/2005, 2:13 PM
I see the herald has some coverage today

Cowboy
11/04/2005, 3:59 PM
usual stuff about dear pints etc (think there might be a herald spy on here) Has anyone got access to indo site who could maybe cut n paste here?

12/04/2005, 12:24 PM
Just got this e-mail regarding the Faroese nights...

Sorry for this late reply.

The Faroese nights start on the 21 of June. But I will ask the organizers if
they can arrange a night for you on the 7th June.

I will contact you again as soon as I've know something.

Sincerely
Kunningarstovan

So nothing certain yet with regards that. How many people are interested? The deciding factor could be how many people we'd have for it.

Babysis
12/04/2005, 12:40 PM
Just got this e-mail regarding the Faroese nights...

Sorry for this late reply.

The Faroese nights start on the 21 of June. But I will ask the organizers if
they can arrange a night for you on the 7th June.

I will contact you again as soon as I've know something.

Sincerely
Kunningarstovan

So nothing certain yet with regards that. How many people are interested? The deciding factor could be how many people we'd have for it.

Im up for it, and Pat O is meant to be looking after me, so he will be there too. Cheers for getting more info on the faroese night, much appreciated.

Also, count me in for a T-shirt thanks :)

12/04/2005, 12:45 PM
New thread on that alone here (http://foot.ie/showthread.php?p=252212#post252212) - sign up, anyone who's interested! We need at least a group of 20, but I'm sure we can manage more than that!

green army
12/04/2005, 7:08 PM
are the t shirts going ahead.would be interested in two.