View Full Version : Faroe Islands (Away) Wed 8th Jun 05

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14

17/11/2004, 11:05 AM
They have a new ground since then, which they played both Germany and France in. However when the played Scotland they played in the really small ground, and saved the newer stadium for the Germans. The pictures from the Slovenian Game are probably not of the ground that we will be playing .

Littlest Hobo
17/11/2004, 11:06 AM
Just got this from Stephens green Classic Sports Travel
=============
World Cup Soccer - Faroe Islands v Republic Ireland
Wednesday 08 June 2005
Torshaven Faroe Islands Luxury Cruise

Stephens Green Classic Sports Travel is pleased to offer exclusively to the
Irish market a unique opportunity to cruise Ex. Dublin Port on the Luxury
Cruise Ship MV Rembrandt to the Faroe Islands.

Departing Dublin on Sunday 05 June 2005 to attend this very important game.

The cruise Duration is 7 Days/6 nights.

The MV Rembrandt cruise ship is formerly the Cunard Crown Monarch Vessel
and was built in Valencia in Spain in 1990 and the gross tonnage is
15,270 with an average cruise speed of 16 knots. There is a variety of
accommodation available, all cabins are en suite with Satellite TV, Music
channels, telephone and air conditioning. The cabin ratio is as follows:
• 10 luxury suites • 23 Mini Suites • 200 outside cabins with porthole
• 30 inside cabins.

The recreation facilities on board are as follows:
• Lounge Bars (5) • Crown Cabaret Show Lounge • Vision Lounge
• Outdoor Swimming Pool • Casino • Photographer • Fitness Centre
• Sauna / Solarium • Hairdresser / beauty salon • Shops
• Hospital / Doctor / Nurse

Prices commence at €899 per person, for a berth in a 4 berth inside cabin –
Full Board (Including coach transfers in the Faroe Islands)
• Two Bed inside cabin is €1189 per person
• Two bed outside cabin is €1299 per person
• Deluxe Cabins commence €1499 per person

A full comprehensive cabin listings will be available shortly and a colour
brochure on 01 December ’04.
Extras:
Dublin & Torshaven Port Taxes, Match Tickets, Insurance
The Initial deposit to book is 30% of the Cruise cost depending on which
cabin you choose with the balance to be paid on 30 March ’05.

We look forward to being of service to you on this famous occasion.

Stephens Green Classic Sports Travel
2 Rampart Lane, Main Street, Donnybrook, Dublin 4.
Tel: 01 2837900 Fax: 01 2602435 Email: sports@dkt.ie
All meals are included on board the ship
• Breakfast • Lunch • Afternoon Tea • Dinner(2 Sittings) • Midnight Buffet

Jolly good knees up for the suits, I think :rolleyes:

$Leon$
17/11/2004, 12:57 PM
it doesn't say anything about gettin back?

Cowboy
17/11/2004, 12:59 PM
it doesn't say anything about gettin back?

could we get Delaney and Corcoran to go and not come back?

Cowboy
22/11/2004, 9:48 PM
has anyone come up with flights from anywhere which would allow us to leave on Thursday. Any option i've come up with so far entails staying for a couple of nighst after the game

22/11/2004, 11:58 PM
has anyone come up with flights from anywhere which would allow us to leave on Thursday. Any option i've come up with so far entails staying for a couple of nighst after the game
Try Maersk Air or Atlantic Airways, you will have to travel via London

finn
30/11/2004, 1:55 PM

I think there are Maersk Air flights via Copenhagen and London Gatwick which leave on the Thursday. I would try travelocity opodo or ebookers.

have just booked my flights today via Reykjavik, am gonna stay in iceland for a few days either side of the 4 days in the faroes, and make a trip out of it.

as an aside, what time does the match kick off at. I have seen it listed somewhere as 12.

if it is that is good news, as I am having a hell of a time trying to find accommodation in Torshavn and if it is at 12, it would make it easy to stay near Vestmanana or even Sandavαgur and just come to Torshavn on the day of the game.

Pete

Cowboy
30/11/2004, 2:33 PM
I think there are Maersk Air flights via Copenhagen and London Gatwick which leave on the Thursday.

Pete

Thanks but tried that option and flight and accomodation total over a grand. Theresa the travel agent from the faroes checked it out for me

01/01/2005, 1:08 PM
We got booked a few weeks back but only getting round to posting about it now.

We are flying to London on the Sunday after the Israel game, then out of Gatwick on the Monday at 9 in the morning. Arrive in the Faroes at 2 on the Monday afternoon, having booked a house for six in the centre of Tσrshavn.

Flying back on the Thursday at 11am, few hours in Billund(might squeeze in a visit to Legoland :D )and then back into London for six, back into Dublin for ten that night. Some of the rest of the lads are going via Iceland and staying on for a few days

Roll on June

finn
02/01/2005, 8:37 AM
We got booked a few weeks back but only getting round to posting about it now.

We are flying to London on the Sunday after the Israel game, then out of Gatwick on the Monday at 9 in the morning. Arrive in the Faroes at 2 on the Monday afternoon, having booked a house for six in the centre of Tσrshavn.

Flying back on the Thursday at 11am, few hours in Billund(might squeeze in a visit to Legoland :D )and then back into London for six, back into Dublin for ten that night. Some of the rest of the lads are going via Iceland and staying on for a few days

Roll on June

Kev, - could you post / PM the details of the people you booked the house in torshavn with.

also anyone trying to organise accommodation in the faroes, let me know as I am in the same boat and if there were a group of us, it would be easier than one looking on his own.

Thanks

Pete

Cowboy
02/01/2005, 1:54 PM
I've been trying for a while now but cant get a good price on the gatwick/bilund option, anything cheaper just takes too long. I hear the guys at "stand up etc" are thinking about chartering a small plane

Kev, - could you post / PM the details of the people you booked the house in torshavn with.

also anyone trying to organise accommodation in the faroes, let me know as I am in the same boat and if there were a group of us, it would be easier than one looking on his own.

Thanks

Pete

02/01/2005, 7:57 PM
Pete,

I used the incoming accommodation department of the Faroese offices of Smyril Line, the ferry crowd who can be found on office@smyril-line.fo

As regards hotels, I reckon people would need to forget about them and move onto thinking about guesthouses, houses and B&Bs as there doesn't appear to be a sniff of hotel availability. The team is basically taking over what was the Best Western on the outskirts, and all the others are booked up by the Ferry & Air companies who use them in packages.

Other option is staying out of Torshavn and driving to the game but that is up to yourselves. Commendable and all as the idea of chartering a plane is, if there is no accommodation, there is no accommodation. Start pricing tents in the January sales would be my advice lads!

Cowboy- the prices have slowed crept up and spaces on the remaining ones are slowly disappearing. When I looked at the start it was around £240 with brilliant stopover options(arrive in Copenhagen at 7pm on the Sunday, stay over and fly out the next night at 5pm) if you wanted them. However I thought it would be better to sort out the accommodation end of it first. This took a while, and by the time I got back to looking at flights again the best ones were all gone(this hasn't been helped by Maersk Air's decision to pull out of their Faroese routes, and merely code share with Atlantic) and the price of the others have all crept up by £40-80 a time.

My advice is to use "Kelkoo", and enter Gatwick- Faroes. Then choose your dates and it will search around showing you all the flights, and the way in which prices vary between different online travel agents. The flights aren't going to be cheap as it is over a two hour flight from Copenhagen to the Faroes, no short jaunt!

finn
03/01/2005, 7:48 PM
Pete,

I used the incoming accommodation department of the Faroese offices of Smyril Line, the ferry crowd who can be found on office@smyril-line.fo

As regards hotels, I reckon people would need to forget about them and move onto thinking about guesthouses, houses and B&Bs as there doesn't appear to be a sniff of hotel availability. The team is basically taking over what was the Best Western on the outskirts, and all the others are booked up by the Ferry & Air companies who use them in packages.

Other option is staying out of Torshavn and driving to the game but that is up to yourselves. Commendable and all as the idea of chartering a plane is, if there is no accommodation, there is no accommodation. Start pricing tents in the January sales would be my advice lads!

lol, believe it or not the tent will be going anyway cos planning on using it in Iceland if I cant get a cheap bed on my trip round the island, and i am already half resigned to using it in the faroes, but its no worse than some of the places I have stayed when travelling, its positively preferable to some of the hovels :)

There is a campsite 1.5km outside the town, £5stg "acceptable bathroom and kitchen facilities, but the ground is hard and prone to flooding" - according to the lonely planet

hopefully the locals will be accommodating, and allow the old tent to be pitched in a garden.

will probably only stay in torshavn on the night of the game though, and stay outside. was thinking that if the game was at 12 in the afternoon that staying outside the town would be a completely feasible option but have still not managed to confirm the timings

will see what I can find out and will post any other options if and when I find them.

Pete

pegan
06/01/2005, 11:14 AM
am presuming you are travelling to Torshavn for the football, given the dates!

The cheapest for 4 adults and a car from Lerwick – Torshavn return in couchette accommodation will be £542.00 total.

If you are looking at doing a booking I will need names, dates of birth, passport numbers, make model and registration number of the vehicle.

Best Regards

Anyone interested in travelling this way ? pegan

Kathryn

12/01/2005, 1:28 PM
just seen match tickets cost 39euro on the fai website

12/01/2005, 2:26 PM
That is going to be one hell of a pricey trip €39 plus about €400 for you flightss. Get Saving

Fr. Murphy
12/01/2005, 3:22 PM
I've been trying to sort out this trip for ages. I've been going through all routes including reykavik, Oslo, Copenhagen etc, etc and for flights alone it was coming to over €500. This one is going to be a package job. Anyone get any word for Ray 'robbing' Treacy or any of the other operators?

12/01/2005, 3:40 PM
Fr Murphy- dunno where you are looking, but two minutes ago I found a load of flights return from London for under €400. I got return flights from Dublin for €50

As I mentioned earlier the main problem people need to get sorted before booking is to make sure they have accommodation sorted as there appears to be a real shortage

12/01/2005, 3:43 PM
The cheapest I found was 268 sterling which works out at €380 add to that the ticket cost and you have €420. Drink over there is about 7 or 8 sterling a pint so be prepared when you go over. This will not be a cheap holiday by any means.

12/01/2005, 3:50 PM
I've been trying to sort out this trip for ages. I've been going through all routes including reykavik, Oslo, Copenhagen etc, etc and for flights alone it was coming to over €500. This one is going to be a package job. Anyone get any word for Ray 'robbing' Treacy or any of the other operators?

I don't know how feasible charters will be as apparently the runway on the islands is quite short by international standards and is only suitable for certain aircraft.

I booked as per Maribor above via Copenhagen and back via Iceland and yes, saving already as this will be my only trip of 2005 :D

Fr. Murphy
12/01/2005, 3:56 PM
Cheers Lads, Which airlines are you's using? I have tried with atlantic airines from London and although there is availability I'd be spending about a week on the island and dont know if pocket money will last that long. Which days are you's heading out and flying home?

Cowboy
12/01/2005, 4:45 PM
Thats the main problem to try and get in and out in a few days

Paulie
12/01/2005, 4:51 PM
I reckon that this is going to be a package job for me as I have to get back to Dublin by Thursday night and as far as I can see if I am travelling independently this is not possible. I checked Atlantic Airways a couple of weeks ago and while there was availability on the way out from London (on the Sunday or Monday, can't remember which) there was none on the way back on the Thursday. If flying via Copenhagen it appears that I'd have to spend the Thursday night there so it isn't an option and the Aberdeen flights are sold out. I rang Ray Treacy on Monday and they said that they should have information within a few weeks. 747 have been telling me since November that they will have the prices soon so I'm not holding my breath. So it looks like it's going to be between Stand up for the Boys in Green and Ray Treacy for me.

12/01/2005, 7:03 PM
Paulie

If you use lastminute.com or opodo.co.uk you can get availability

I am out on the Monday, back on the Thursday and there are still seats left on those days

Cowboy
12/01/2005, 7:52 PM
Paulie

I am out on the Monday, back on the Thursday and there are still seats left on those days

opodo has flights tues/thurs for 258 stg , wonder why these were not available before ? Its funny also when you use Dublin as a starting point the fare goes up by a grand :D

12/01/2005, 9:15 PM
Also try:
1) a single ticket from London to Faroes on Sunday or Monday on opodo (you can't book on lastminute from Ireland as it has intelligent software which prohibits you from booking London departing flights, not a problem for the UK based people) then
2) another single ticket on the Friday from Faroes to Reykjavik booked directly with Atlantic Airways
3) then a single flight back to London with Iceland Express booked direct from their website
4) add a return ryanair/aerlingus flight to London

Total price when I booked a fortnight ago was about £360 or about EUR530, so not cheap whatever way you look at it. On the upside, you get a potential weekend in Reykjavik with 23 hours of brightness and its legendary nightlife reputation.

I've no idea how much a charter will be, if and when they get sorted, but I think the price may surprise people.

Another benefit of arriving in advance, is the airport in the Faroes is notoriously fogbound (an appetizing prospect when combined with the short runway :D ) and an unplanned overnight trip in Bergen is apparently a common occurance.

Cowboy
12/01/2005, 10:59 PM
From experience I can tell you Reykjavik rocks

13/01/2005, 12:54 PM
Drink over there is about 7 or 8 sterling a pint so be prepared when you go over.
Heard that before, but a guidebook I have says that beer normally sets you back 40 or 50 Kr (that's about E6.50). Presume that's for 500ml.

Looks like we'll have to see if we find a creative way round 'Duty-Free'......
The Faroes aren't in the EU, so duty free is an option, but you're only allowed bring in four cans plus one litre of spirits and two litres of wine before you start paying duty again...

Paulie
13/01/2005, 1:03 PM
Paulie

Cheers for that. I just had a look at opodo which seems to work out fine. The only thing is that you have to have a UK address you can have the tickets delivered to otherwise the booking cannot go ahead. The only other thing I noticed is that the airline is Maersk yet according to the Maersk website they don't fly to The Faroes anymore. Hopefully it's just a case that they haven't changed the Opodo website since Maersk stopped flying the route.

13/01/2005, 1:05 PM
The only other thing I noticed is that the airline is Maersk yet according to the Maersk website they don't fly to The Faroes anymore.
Don't want to put a damper on things, but I thought Maersk pulled out the Faroes in November or so? Only Atlantic going to the Faroes now, as far as I know? Again, this is from the guidebook I mentioned earlier.

Paulie
13/01/2005, 1:12 PM
I just rang opodo about the airline question and it seems fine. What they said is that it's probably a "coacher" which means that the airline gets someone else in the fly the route for them. She also said that it must be right as it's up to the airlines to make sure the information on the opodo website is correct.

13/01/2005, 1:53 PM
Paulie

I already investigated this- Maersk are now codesharing their routes to the Faroes with Atlantic

Paulie
14/01/2005, 9:06 AM
Finally got my flights booked last night, €410 out of Gatwick. Fair play to you Maribor, I don't think I would have thought of going through Opodo without ya!

15/01/2005, 1:26 AM
Finally got that booked anyway...was getting worried when I saw the Aberdeen flight booked out 5 months in advance! :eek: So myself, Schumi and Bald Student will see yez out there!

Now to get match tickets...! :)

Paulie
28/01/2005, 9:47 AM
Got my accommodation sorted at last. I got a single room in a B&B (when you get to my years you're a lot more reluctant to share a room with your mates!) for €50 a night. A twin room in this particular B&B is €72 a night. The B&B is in Torshavn. The website I got it through is http://www.greengate.fo/ and the contact name is Heidi Davidsen. Her email is heidid@smyril-line.fo

She's very helpful so hopefully she can sort out any of you that have yet to get accommodation. If you try to get her today though she out until Monday.

Babysis
28/01/2005, 11:46 AM
Just out of curiosity, is anyone else doing the ferry to the faroe's??

Cowboy
01/02/2005, 4:16 PM
I think thr FAI are giving block bookers first shout on these tickets

see the obvious typo here http://www.fai.ie/ticketinfo.asp?hlid=248519 :)

Cowboy
01/02/2005, 4:35 PM
well from experience the majority who travel to the less popular games are either on club block booking lists or just applied to the FAI direct so you still have a good chance. If I'm lucky to get some i'll put your name on the first spare if you are not successful yourself

Hibs4Ever
02/02/2005, 7:24 AM
Any ideas how much the overnight trip will cost with Stand Up?

Hibs4Ever
02/02/2005, 8:39 AM
Do i need to apply for a ticket on FAI website or will Stand Up supply them

Paulie
02/02/2005, 10:47 AM
Myself and my brother are both blockbookers and have both sent in applications for tickets. In his case, he's not going, he only applied to cover my own application so I may get spares myself. If I do I'll post it here.

Cowboy
02/02/2005, 11:21 AM
No idea yet, haven't seen, but it's go to be worth a shot. Cowboy: I've just posted my application - likewise if I get lucky you can have my spare. Fingers crossed, don't know when we'll find out if we've hit the jackpot though.

no prob

finn
02/02/2005, 3:45 PM
have just sent off my application

think its just a hit and hope for us non-block-booking plebs, but would appreciate being borne in mind should someone get a spare.

Pete

Hibs4Ever
03/02/2005, 7:45 AM
Hi Tuff Paddy,
text that guy Alan yesterday like you said, no reply though. Did you get anymore info on cost?

Beavis
04/02/2005, 12:38 PM
This is Beavis's brother here just letting y'all know that we'll have no bother watching the game in the Faroes coz there's a huge mound beside the ground that you can see the pitch from & it can fit a few hundred. I think you can see it on that world stadia swebsite. I believe a load of Scotland fans watched their game from it.

04/02/2005, 2:07 PM
He said they had approached Aer Arann but they weren't interested. They're being restricted by the size of the airport at Torshavn, it can't take big planes.

Without wanting to sound like a saddo planespotter (fails miserably :D ) Aer Arran only use prop planes and its a fair way to the Faroes from Dublin (1,000km plus). You'd want to be stopping to put a few litres of diesel in around the Shetlands.

I would say the fact that one one or two types of plane have actually both the range to get there and the ability to land on the short runway is bound to knock up the price of the charter accordingly. Not to mention pricing in the possibility of having to come back due to fog!!!

04/02/2005, 3:07 PM
We have 7 definites and between us reckon we could sell 30 seats without trying too hard. I reckon 80 seats could be sold using this forum and maybe a small bit of media advertising. My target is a day trip at < 500 yoyos per head.

I want to go to this game but ideally spend as little time as possible.

I think this game is ideal for a daytrip given the shortage of accomodation.

I've done quite a bit of research here. Called Aer Arann a few times and latest today is that they are not going to bother. They had 4 separate requests for charters. I offered to combine with any of them for 7 guaranteed seats. I suggested they even do it themselves and take the profit. I got the impression they couldn't be bothered in the end though. I never got the promised callbacks on 4 calls and eventually today got to speak to the person responsible again but she just said it was proving to difficult to offer a plane. They are obviously making far too much money to bother just chartering out one plane.

A mate has tried EU Jet in Shannon also without success (if you don't count a 7 seater at a few grand per head). :D

I've spoken with Stand Up and they don't have a plane either although are not as concerned. I will book with them if they confirm and have seats.

I am waiting for a UK company to come back with prices and they do seem interested in the business which is a good sign. I don't even have a ballpark on costs yet.

I have made a few local enquiries re the usual gangsters but having had 2 trips to Albania cancelled with the 2nd just days before the game I'm not depending on the usual ripoff merchants.

I am exploring organising a day trip myself however if anyone knows of a confirmed or even potential daytrip from anywhere in Ireland or even London please let me know.

04/02/2005, 3:08 PM
Without wanting to sound like a saddo planespotter (fails miserably :D ) Aer Arran only use prop planes and its a fair way to the Faroes from Dublin (1,000km plus). You'd want to be stopping to put a few litres of diesel in around the Shetlands.

I would say the fact that one one or two types of plane have actually both the range to get there and the ability to land on the short runway is bound to knock up the price of the charter accordingly. Not to mention pricing in the possibility of having to come back due to fog!!!

Planes aren't too much of a problem apparently but parking them for the day in the airport is.

07/02/2005, 8:20 AM
Guys Treacy does not get many tickets for away games.

The big problem with the Faroes is getting there.

Outside of major finals there has been one Irish game outside these islands ever (Basle 2003) where tickets have been a real problem (may have been a few locked out in the end in Brussels in 97)

Now I'm getting really concerned about how to get there. i hope the Standup guys have good contacts re charterign a plane as a short trip is really tough this time.

Cowboy
07/02/2005, 10:08 AM
Guys Treacy does not get many tickets for away games.

The big problem with the Faroes is getting there.

Outside of major finals there has been one Irish game outside these islands ever (Basle 2003) where tickets have been a real problem (may have been a few locked out in the end in Brussels in 97)

Now I'm getting really concerned about how to get there. i hope the Standup guys have good contacts re charterign a plane as a short trip is really tough this time.

Gary, we booked atalantic via bilund mon/thurs and fare was not too bad