View Full Version : Limerick Desmond League 2009/10
Hairy Legs
22/10/2009, 1:40 PM
Ya i have seen Kilareney Celtic before. They are poor enough but I'm not sure whether Shannonside would be good enough to beat them but they def have a chance. Killarney would only be a mid to bottom team in Desmond league. All the good players play for the other club in Killarney
Ye i knew one team in Killarney were alot better than the other but wasn't sure which one, its Athletic so that put rathkeale out of the FAI or Munster a couple of years ago 4 nil....looked a good side.
Avenue are walking away with the clare league at the moment so they will be strong. Rineanna are second. Bridge Celtic I think are o'Briens bridge and they won the clare premier 3 or 4 seasons ago im sure. Dont know anything about cratloe
Ye i knew one team in Killarney were alot better than the other but wasn't sure which one, its Athletic so that put rathkeale out of the FAI or Munster a couple of years ago 4 nil....looked a good side.
Avenue are walking away with the clare league at the moment so they will be strong. Rineanna are second. Bridge Celtic I think are o'Briens bridge and they won the clare premier 3 or 4 seasons ago im sure. Dont know anything about cratloe
I think one of the Broadford boys is getting married on Saturday so I couldnt see them putting up much of a challenge. As for Bridge Celtic, I'm fairly sure that its a GAA stronghold with lads who play soccer in the winter to stay fit. We played them a few years ago and the had a few Clare hurlers playing
saggy-ball's
22/10/2009, 5:51 PM
hi lads just wondering what colours glin wear and where there pitch is located thanks
buddygeary23
22/10/2009, 10:06 PM
ya a fella from broadford bob boyce is getting married tomoro (friday) in cork so dunno will broadford have a good team on sunday..glin play in an estate..cant remember the name but ask someone in the town...they wearing black and red..
Hairy Legs
23/10/2009, 12:06 PM
hi lads just wondering what colours glin wear and where there pitch is located thanks
drive out the dock road and just keep going straight along the coast road through mungret, foynes etc...for about 30 miles, when you get to glin turn left into the village, go about half way up the street and take the left turn on the bend, follow that road up for about 500 yards and turn in right to a small estate, the pitch is there, you will see the sign "welcome to hell" ha ha
Truth Meister
23/10/2009, 12:37 PM
Ya i have seen Kilareney Celtic before. They are poor enough but I'm not sure whether Shannonside would be good enough to beat them but they def have a chance. Killarney would only be a mid to bottom team in Desmond league. All the good players play for the other club in Killarney
Are you getting your Killarney's mixed up? Celtic are traditionally the stronger side to my knowledge. Unlless Athletic have come good in last year as Celtic were always the Top Dogs down Killarney way and would be serious title contenders in the Desmond league if the plates moved and their geography changed!
Hairy Legs
23/10/2009, 1:03 PM
Are you getting your Killarney's mixed up? Celtic are traditionally the stronger side to my knowledge. Unlless Athletic have come good in last year as Celtic were always the Top Dogs down Killarney way and would be serious title contenders in the Desmond league if the plates moved and their geography changed!
I think you are correct there, never can remember which is which.
Celtic rings a bell alright
western gale
23/10/2009, 2:05 PM
Glin rovers play in corbry estate
Shannon Boy
23/10/2009, 3:06 PM
drive out the dock road and just keep going straight along the coast road through mungret, foynes etc...for about 30 miles, when you get to glin turn left into the village, go about half way up the street and take the left turn on the bend, follow that road up for about 500 yards and turn in right to a small estate, the pitch is there, you will see the sign "welcome to hell" ha ha
exaggeration hairy legs.i have never seen that sign before.the pitch aint bad and saggy balls can judge the pitch himself.
saggy-ball's
23/10/2009, 3:18 PM
exaggeration hairy legs.i have never seen that sign before.the pitch aint bad and saggy balls can judge the pitch himself.
Im afraid i wont e judging the pitch i dont actualy play for cratloe just asked the question for a family member good luck to both side on sunday should be a good game
Hairy Legs
23/10/2009, 8:51 PM
Ah I'm only having a laugh Shannon Boy;)
western gale
23/10/2009, 10:39 PM
Youths friendly in Clonreask tonight
Limerick Desmond 2 Clare 2
western gale
25/10/2009, 3:41 PM
Sunday 25th October
FAI Junior Cup 2nd Round
Bally Rovers 0 Castleisland FC 6
western gale
25/10/2009, 3:44 PM
Reidy Cup 2nd Round
Kilcolman Rovers 3 Breska Rovers 2
Weekly Observer Division 1
St. Itas V Glantine off
Athea Utd V Killeaney off
western gale
25/10/2009, 3:58 PM
FAI Junior Cup 2nd Round
Pallaskenry 2 Spa Road Celtic 2 (Spa Road won on pens)
Asdee Utd 0 Abbeyfeale Utd 5
Newcastle West Rovers 3 Bridge Celtic 2
Shannonside 0 Killarney Celtic 1
western gale
25/10/2009, 4:28 PM
Lads anyone know how avenue v newcastle west went?
western gale
25/10/2009, 4:36 PM
FAI Junior Cup 2nd Round
Rathkeale 2 Carrig Celtic 1
western gale
25/10/2009, 4:43 PM
FAI Junior Cup 2nd Round
Killarney Athletic 1 Adare Utd 1 (Kill Ath won 3-0 on pens)
Lads anyone know how avenue v newcastle west went?
NCW won 1-0
western gale
25/10/2009, 4:55 PM
Cheers oscar, very good win for west against the runaway leaders in clare.
Glin Rovers 2 Cratloe Forest FC 0
papa-j
26/10/2009, 12:24 PM
I see Killarney won 1 nil. What was game like & are Killarney a good side? How do Shannonside rank in the Desmond league?
avenueC
26/10/2009, 10:01 PM
avenue vs ncw
very good competitive game could have gone either way. both sides played ball and had chances a plenty, clean game too no dirt.
avenue missed their regular keeper centre half an d centre midfielder but ncw are a good team and no complaints.
Hairy Legs
27/10/2009, 2:35 PM
I see Killarney won 1 nil. What was game like & are Killarney a good side? How do Shannonside rank in the Desmond league?
Shannonside are a good side promised alot coming up this year but didnt have the best of stars, football etc...should finish strong though.
Thought they would have won that one yesterday
Hairy Legs
27/10/2009, 2:37 PM
who scored for ncw? early or late?
Good win for rovers too.
western gale
27/10/2009, 5:13 PM
Fixtures Sunday, November 1st
Munster Junior Cup 2nd Round (extra time & penalties)
Newcastle West V Shannonside FC 1130 (P. Manning)
Munster Junior Cup 3rd Round (extra time & penalties)
Kildimo Utd V Abbeyfeale Utd 1130 (T. Fitzmaurice)
Richard Hogan Cup 1st Round (extra time & penalties)
Rathkeale B V Pallaskenry B 1130 (S. Hartnett)
Richard Hogan Cup 2nd Round (extra time & penalties)
Mountcollins V Ballingarry B in Abbeyfeale 2pm (C. Dalton)
Askeaton B V Bally Rovers 2pm (B. Barry)
Kilcornan V Shountrade 2pm (D. O’Gorman)
Kilcolman Rovers V Breska Rovers 1130 (P. O’Donnell)
Reidy Cup 2nd Round (extra time & penalties)
Broadford Utd B V Ferry Rangers 2pm (J. Roche)
Newcastle West Rovers B V Athea Utd 2pm (P. O’Donnell)
Weekly Observer Premier Division
Carrig Celtic V Rathkeale 1130 (P. O’Brien)
Ballingarry V Broadford Utd 1130 (L. O’Connor)
Old Mill V St. Itas 1130 (J. Roche)
Adare Utd V Glantine 1130 (G. O’Connor)
Killeaney V Feenagh 1130 (N. Allen)
Weekly Observer Division 2
Knockaderry V Pallaskenry 230 (S. Hartnett)
western gale
27/10/2009, 6:22 PM
- CLARE-DESMOND-KERRY AREA -
1. Tulla Utd v Camp Utd or Killorglin
2. Rathkeale v Newmarket Celtic
3. Killarney Clt. v Shannon Olympic
4. Lifford F.C. v Newcastlewest
5. Newcastlewest Rvs. v Rineanna Rovers
6. Glin Rovers v Castheisland
7. St Brendans Park or Tralee Dys. v Feenagh
8. Spa Road Clt v Kilarney Ath
9. Listowel Cel Abbeyfeale
10. Iveagh Utd. v Classic
buddygeary23
28/10/2009, 1:29 AM
very good game contested in poor weather conditions..good chances for both teams.ncw midfirlder missed 2 one on ones..thomas quilligan scored the goal for ncw.lobbed the keeper from bout 30 yards out.....
any one know wat lifford fc are like?
sky blue
29/10/2009, 6:00 PM
very good game contested in poor weather conditions..good chances for both teams.ncw midfirlder missed 2 one on ones..thomas quilligan scored the goal for ncw.lobbed the keeper from bout 30 yards out.....
They must be handy they beat Askeaton by 4 goals. Heard Avenue have lost a lot of players this year.
Shannon Boy
29/10/2009, 6:00 PM
dont know about the team but they have 2 nice fields 1 bad downfall is the dressing areas.
Ask me tom
30/10/2009, 1:02 PM
They must be handy they beat Askeaton by 4 goals. Heard Avenue have lost a lot of players this year.
Lifford beat Askeaton 3-2, they do not like crosses being delivered into the box. They seemed to play a long ball very narrow with 2 big centre forwards. I would say NCW will have too much for them.
sky blue
31/10/2009, 10:11 AM
O right taught it was more ask me tom. Sorry about that kid!! Ncw look to be hitting form again don't they. Askeaton must be considered favourites for the league at this point of the season.
Ask me tom
31/10/2009, 10:23 AM
Yea great win for NCW against Avenue last week. I`d still say Rathkeale for the league though, the loss of Moss Carrig and Rob Whelan(leaving for Oz on Monday) will be too much for Askeaton to keep their title charge goin Like I`ve said before survival in the prem and a nice cup run would do Askeaton fine.
limerickblue
31/10/2009, 11:37 AM
Anyone seen kildimo this year, was talking one there players during the week he said they plan on giving abbeyfeale a shock in the cup tommorow, can't be going bad this year sitting on 15 point after 7 games.
the played us in the leauge in asketon last year beat us 2-1 ,i think once they are up for a game not many teams will beat them, seem like a tight knit bunch
Ask me tom
31/10/2009, 12:17 PM
Anyone seen kildimo this year, was talking one there players during the week he said they plan on giving abbeyfeale a shock in the cup tommorow, can't be going bad this year sitting on 15 point after 7 games.
the played us in the leauge in asketon last year beat us 2-1 ,i think once they are up for a game not many teams will beat them, seem like a tight knit bunch
They have a chance because they are at home, weren`t much of a footballing side last year but were fairly big and physical. With Abbeyfeale being finished with the football now they should have too much for Kildimo although like I said, on that pitch its a bit of a lottery.
limerickblue
31/10/2009, 12:56 PM
They have a chance because they are at home, weren`t much of a footballing side last year but were fairly big and physical. With Abbeyfeale being finished with the football now they should have too much for Kildimo although like I said, on that pitch its a bit of a lottery.
In all fairness to kildimo, they played better against us in asketon on a good field in asketon than they did in kildimo against us last year. in all fainess anybody who saw us play against kildimo in asketon last year wouldn't know who finished seecond in the leage.they batterd us and that coming from a proud asketon player
Ask me tom
31/10/2009, 1:01 PM
In all fairness to kildimo, they played better against us in asketon on a good field in asketon than they did in kildimo against us last year. in all fainess anybody who saw us play against kildimo in asketon last year wouldn't know who finished seecond in the leage.they batterd us and that coming from a proud asketon player
Askeaton were terrible that day alright but it was a lot more to do with Askeaton being bad than Kildimo being good.
Harry Lime
01/11/2009, 2:40 PM
A few pics from that Kildimo v Abbeyfeale game this morning. Had to get away at half time.. 0-0 at that stage.
http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2640/4063880581_d424e1cb16_o.jpg (http://www.flickr.com/photos/seanryan/sets/72157622584650647/)
western gale
01/11/2009, 5:13 PM
Munster Junior Cup 2nd Round
Newcastle West 3 Shannonside FC 1
Munster Junior Cup 3rd Round
Kildimo Utd 1 Abbeyfeale Utd 0
Carrig Celtic 1 Rathkeale 2
Ballingarry 0 Broadford Utd 2
Old Mill V St. Itas off
Adare Utd 1 Glantine 1
Killeaney 2 Feenagh 0
Knockaderry 2 Pallaskenry 2
buddygeary23
01/11/2009, 6:29 PM
hey harry lime...were u only at the abbeyfeale utd and kildimo match today???
western gale
03/11/2009, 1:29 PM
Junior Fixtures
Saturday 7th November
Junior Inter League
Cork Shipping League V Limerick Desmond 230pm Turners Cross, Cork
Sunday 8th November
Richard Hogan Cup 2nd Round (extra time & penalties)
Rathkeale B V Creeves Celtic 1130 (T. Fitzmaurice)
Ferry Rangers V Glin Rovers B 1130 (P. O’Donnell)
Reidy Cup 2nd Round (extra time & penalties)
Kilcornan V Rockhill Rovers 1130 (B. Barry)
Pallaskenry B V Glantine 2pm (D. O’Gorman)
Granagh Utd V Ballingarry B 2pm (P. O’Brien)
Newcastle West Rovers V Ballingarry 1130 (G. O’Connor)
Old Mill V Abbeyfeale Utd B 230 (S. Hartnett)
Adare Utd V Newcastle West B 230 (N. Allen)
Feenagh V Athea Utd 1130 (P. O’Brien)
Ballysteen V Knockaderry 230 (T. Fitzmaurice)
Breska Rovers V Pallaskenry in Mungret Cement Factory 1130 (P. O’Connor)
Weekly Observer Division 3, Group A
Broadford Utd B V Carrig Celtic B 230 (C. Dalton)
Askeaton B V Newcastle West Rovers B 230 (L. O’Connor)
Weekly Observer Division 3, Group B
Shountrade V Shannonside FC B 1130 (L. O’Connor)
limerickblue
03/11/2009, 2:27 PM
well looks like my prediction was true, and kildimo have proved that they have no reason to fear any premier side apart from newcastle now.hopefully they can maintain there form and join us in the premier next season.
Nice pitcures harry, how did mcmahon play while you where there for the first half, he is very fast and never stops running i used hate marking him.
Harry Lime
03/11/2009, 3:05 PM
how did mcmahon play
First time I've seen him play, I was impressed with him. He played in front of the back 4. Covered a lot of ground and put in plenty of tackles.
limerickblue
03/11/2009, 3:13 PM
First time I've seen him play, I was impressed with him. He played in front of the back 4. Covered a lot of ground and put in plenty of tackles.
Thanks always was a talented player from your descreption he has settled into a definsive midfielder role,i used remember him as a rampant winger,always putting his body on the line.
do you attend one desmond game every weekend harry
well looks like my prediction was true, and kildimo have proved that they have no reason to fear any premier side apart from newcastle now.hopefully they can maintain there form and join us in the premier next season.
Nice pitcures harry, how did mcmahon play while you where there for the first half, he is very fast and never stops running i used hate marking him.
Were they not beaten by a divison 3 side less than a month ago in the Reidy cup. I dont see that hapening to too many premier division teams
limerickblue
03/11/2009, 3:26 PM
ya had a good giggle when i heard this myself but they lost on penalties just wernt able convert any chances on the day apparantly.never threatned by the team they were playing.
How are balingary doing this year lads.??
Ballingarry are certs for relegation I'd say. A good team who are capable of challenging but they are crippled with injuries at the moment. They have lost five out of their first seven. Just as a matter of interest, what was the score after extra team in that Kildimo match against that Division 3 team
Hairy Legs
03/11/2009, 6:01 PM
I think it was nil all, It can happen any team on any day I suppose they would probably hammer them tomorrow if they met. They are a good cup side, Kildimo, could have won the desmond cup year before last, semi the year before, tough side on the day
They are a half decent cup side if they are drawn at home to play in that farce of a pitch. Other than that they are rubbish. At least the promoted sides Askeaton and Shannonside are good footballing teams that have something to offer to the premier division, kildimo have nothing but rubbish football to give
limerickblue
03/11/2009, 9:43 PM
They are a half decent cup side if they are drawn at home to play in that farce of a pitch. Other than that they are rubbish. At least the promoted sides Askeaton and Shannonside are good footballing teams that have something to offer to the premier division, kildimo have nothing but rubbish football to give
i think that statement is false and is an insult to kildimo as a footballing side, if you ever saw them play away from home, you would see they play better.
thats my own expierence.
Hairy Legs
04/11/2009, 11:32 AM
They can mix it and thats why they do so well in cups. You cant play lovely football all the time especially on bad pitches and even the best teams lump it out when they have to. They have some lovely footballers in max, the hogans and young deegan. Rubbish is a ridiculous statement -but you are getting a reaction which keeps the thread interesting so keep up the good work.