View Full Version : Limerick Desmond League 2009/10
Hairy Legs
25/09/2009, 12:34 PM
Askeaton were definately at full strength against Abbey, and I think they were at full strength against Broadford and Newcastle as well, Newcastle were missing players against Rathkeale compared to the team they had last Sunday. All I'm saying is that of the 5 matches Rathkeale have played, 4 of them have been against teams in the bottom 5, True or False
Bottom 5 this year, true....but not in the bottom 5 last year.
If you looked at the Rathkeale fixtures at the start of this year you wouldnt have fancied it....Shannonside away and NCW and Glin at home then away to Ballingarry and I know Askeaton can say the same but not as daunting.
Every team can argue a case for missing players but if you didnt put a squad together pre season then you are going to struggle, thats the clubs fault.
All NCW were missing against Rathkeale of any calliber was Stephen Kelly imo.
buddygeary23
25/09/2009, 12:38 PM
wen we (ncw afc) played askeaton we were missing 2 players and i think they had a full team out,against rathkeale we were missing 4 players.not due to gaa but to other reasons.we had only 11 players and 1 sub which was our manager,against broadford we were missing 2 players also....its impossible to say which team will win the league cos its only 5 games into the season..i think it will be between ncw afc, rathkeale or askeaton
Old Head
25/09/2009, 12:40 PM
Askeaton were missing 3 against Abbeyfeale, missing 2 against broadford but were full strength against Newcastle, you have to remember Askeaton are still involved in the football through Ballysteen.
To be honest I think Askeaton have a lot to prove yet. Its only a few games in to the new season and granted they have started well but i think we need to wait until after christmas to see how they are getting on! Then we can make judgement.....think i saw somewhere else on this tread that willie griffin is out for a while!!
Shannonside havent signed anyone of note and I think they may loose players back to town if things dont start working out for them....amalgamations are fine when everything is going well but when things arent going to plan clubs like this tend to fall apart at the seams.....
As for Newcastle and Rathkeale....they have the tradition and the panel strength behind them....to be honest i think all others will fall away as the season goes on and it will come down to these two! Right now I think Rathkeale would edge it but over the course of a season i'm not too sure!
Bottom 5 this year, true....but not in the bottom 5 last year.
If you looked at the Rathkeale fixtures at the start of this year you wouldnt have fancied it....Shannonside away and NCW and Glin at home then away to Ballingarry and I know Askeaton can say the same but not as daunting.
Every team can argue a case for missing players but if you didnt put a squad together pre season then you are going to struggle, thats the clubs fault.
All NCW were missing against Rathkeale of any calliber was Stephen Kelly imo.
I would agree with you that looking at the fixtures at the start of the season Glin and Shannonside would be classed as difficult fixtures, but looking back now, you would have to agree that Rathkeale met them at the right time, saying that though Abbey played Glin and Askeaton played Shannonside and neither won
wen we (ncw afc) played askeaton we were missing 2 players and i think they had a full team out,against rathkeale we were missing 4 players.not due to gaa but to other reasons.we had only 11 players and 1 sub which was our manager,against broadford we were missing 2 players also....its impossible to say which team will win the league cos its only 5 games into the season..i think it will be between ncw afc, rathkeale or askeaton
Who were ye missing last week
Hairy Legs
25/09/2009, 1:14 PM
Broadford and Abbey will have a good shout also i reckon.
Its great that its so close to be honest, Christmas will tell us a bit more.
And I agree that you can pick up points from certain clubs easier this time of year, but you wont get them too easy second time around.
Also if you are paying a manager big bucks and he dosent have his house in order for the new season, ie..having the bare 11, then he is not doing his job.....why not give some of that money to attract players which is what you really need to win silverware
Ask me tom
25/09/2009, 1:33 PM
To be honest I think Askeaton have a lot to prove yet. Its only a few games in to the new season and granted they have started well but i think we need to wait until after christmas to see how they are getting on! Then we can make judgement.....think i saw somewhere else on this tread that willie griffin is out for a while!!
Shannonside havent signed anyone of note and I think they may loose players back to town if things dont start working out for them....amalgamations are fine when everything is going well but when things arent going to plan clubs like this tend to fall apart at the seams.....
As for Newcastle and Rathkeale....they have the tradition and the panel strength behind them....to be honest i think all others will fall away as the season goes on and it will come down to these two! Right now I think Rathkeale would edge it but over the course of a season i'm not too sure!
I agree with you on all those point nearly, like I said before Askeaton came into the Prem hoping to stay up anything other than that for them this year is a bonus. Agood cup run would be nice.
Hairy Legs
25/09/2009, 2:52 PM
I agree with you on all those point nearly, like I said before Askeaton came into the Prem hoping to stay up anything other than that for them this year is a bonus. Agood cup run would be nice.
Dont sell yourselves short, that premier trophy is there for the taking there is no reason ye cant win it......no matter how weak teams are you still have to beat them and both Rathkeale and Askeaton have started well.
a good cup run is always nice though, I agree, desmond cup is something special to win as its on the day..or the whole weekend if you win it.
Hairy Legs
25/09/2009, 2:54 PM
Made some great points there.....you really must be an Old Head
sky blue
26/09/2009, 2:27 PM
So far this season Rathkeale have played NCW league champions, Glin Rovers league runners up and desmond cup winners, Ballingarry 4th in the league last season and Shannonside who walked division 1. these are by no means easy games and if teams start blaming GAA and the likes they are only looking for excuses, simple as.
Grinder64
26/09/2009, 5:43 PM
can anyone tell me where and what division do Bally Rovers play, friends of mine are playing them tomorrow in the FAI
Ask me tom
26/09/2009, 8:03 PM
Bally Rvrs are in the third Div (which is the bottom division) and have won 1from3 this season.
Grinder64
26/09/2009, 10:39 PM
Bally Rvrs are in the third Div (which is the bottom division) and have won 1from3 this season.
Nice one
Horan01
28/09/2009, 7:09 AM
Any results from yesterday??
Weekly Observer Premier Division
Glin Rovers V Newcastle West Rovers
FAI Junior Cup 1st Round (extra time & penalties)
Ballingarry V Bunratty
Lifford FC V Askeaton
Munster Junior Cup Preliminary Round (extra time & penalties)
Pallaskenry V Rathkeale
Munster Junior Cup 1st Round (extra time & penalties)
Broadford Utd V Athea Utd
Shannonside FC V Ballingarry B
Abbeyfeale Utd V Carrig Celtic
Newcastle West V Glin Rovers B
Harry Lime
28/09/2009, 7:53 AM
Ballingarry V Bunratty
Ballingarry lost 6-1. Photos here (http://www.flickr.com/photos/seanryan/sets/72157622341484209/).
Any results from yesterday??
Glin Rovers V Newcastle West Rovers
Ballingarry V Bunratty
Lifford FC V Askeaton
Munster Junior Cup Preliminary Round (extra time & penalties)
Pallaskenry V Rathkeale
Broadford Utd V Athea Utd
Shannonside FC V Ballingarry B
Abbeyfeale Utd V Carrig Celtic
Newcastle West V Glin Rovers B
Rovers drew 1 all and Broadford won 3 2 after extra time
Ask me tom
28/09/2009, 3:30 PM
Askeaton lost 3-2, Very poor performance didn`t get goin until the second half. Askeaton were missing 4 regulars, the refereeing decisions were scandalous but you have to deal with that playing away from home in the F.A.I.
sky blue
28/09/2009, 7:36 PM
Askeaton lost 3-2, Very poor performance didn`t get goin until the second half. Askeaton were missing 4 regulars, the refereeing decisions were scandalous but you have to deal with that playing away from home in the F.A.I.
Ya taught Askeaton would have won that one. Don't mention ref's we had Liam O'Connor yeaterday, he was more interested in watching the crowd than the game it self. Are Lifford any use? who were ye missing?
Ask me tom
28/09/2009, 8:02 PM
Griffin (injured), Ryan(family comitments), Jordan Fitz(holidays) and jerry mulcahy(injured came on for the last 10). Lifford are pretty physical , two big centre forwards that are good in the air they did most damage from flick ons. They had one very good ball player centre mid. Wouldn`t be the strongest at the back. The pitch in Lifford was marked in 6yards each side making it very narrow and they played a very narrow game. Credit due to them though they were very well organised. We were terrible up untill the last half hour.
What are the fixtures for next weekend
Ask me tom
29/09/2009, 3:43 PM
Friday 2nd October
Abbeyfeale Utd V Newcastle West Rovers 8pm (M. Houlihan)
Sunday 4th October
Glin Rovers V Newcastle West 1130 (D. O’Gorman)
Ballingarry V Carrig Celtic 1130 (P. Manning)
Rathkeale V Shountrade 1130 (C. Dalton)
Askeaton V Carrig Celtic B 1130 (S. Hartnett)
mickeyog
30/09/2009, 10:52 AM
How did Carrig Celtic and Abbeyfeale United finish last Sunday in the MJC..
Be interesting to see if Abbeyfeale are as bad as Askeaton made them look
Hairy Legs
30/09/2009, 1:40 PM
Abbey won 3 nil
mickeyog
01/10/2009, 7:22 AM
Maybe not then!!
avenueC
03/10/2009, 8:39 AM
"""Griffin (injured), Ryan(family comitments), Jordan Fitz(holidays) and jerry mulcahy(injured came on for the last 10). Lifford are pretty physical , two big centre forwards that are good in the air they did most damage from flick ons. They had one very good ball player centre mid. Wouldn`t be the strongest at the back. The pitch in Lifford was marked in 6yards each side making it very narrow and they played a very narrow game. Credit due to them though they were very well organised. We were terrible up untill the last half hour. ""
lifford are bottom of the premier in clare
played 4. lost 4
doesnt say much for yer division
Ask me tom
03/10/2009, 9:32 AM
Did you read the post you quoted? I already said the performance was shocking an off day. Don`t try and tell me the Clare league is anybetter than the Desmond league.
sky blue
03/10/2009, 10:55 AM
Next Sunday should give a good idea of which league is better. Desmonds play Clare league in the Oscar Traynor. Any forecast's from anyone please feel free to post them.
sky blue
03/10/2009, 10:58 AM
Result from last nights game between Abbey and Ncw Rovers. 1-1 Abbey took the lead and Rovers made it 1 all with 20 mins left. Abbey were missing a lot of 1st team players because of the GAA.
avenueC
03/10/2009, 12:30 PM
im not trying to tell you anything.
Shannon Boy
04/10/2009, 12:32 PM
Glin Rovers 4 - Newcastle West 1 !!!
sky blue
04/10/2009, 6:04 PM
Ballingary 2 Carrig 2.
Rathkeale 5 Shauntrade 1.
Glin 4 NCW 1.
Ask me tom
04/10/2009, 6:56 PM
thats all well and good but clare team wont "in my opinion" have the best players on show..
Neither will the Desmond , still can`t believe Behan is involved, desperate times
Old Head
05/10/2009, 9:03 AM
Next Sunday should give a good idea of which league is better. Desmonds play Clare league in the Oscar Traynor. Any forecast's from anyone please feel free to post them.
I'd say a 1-0 win for the Desmond League - I would expect the Desmond League to account for the Clare League but good players like Doherty and Power have gone to town and Riordan is injured. After that, apart from a few from Rathkeale and Newcastle, we have to be honest and say we are really struggling for players! Should win this match but will find it difficult against better opposition!
Didnt Riordan play yesterday, As for Newcastle, I saw them yesterday and apart from Anthony O'Donnell they shouldnt even be left watch a Desmond league match never mind play in one. Glin looked good though. Pitch was rubbish
Hairy Legs
05/10/2009, 11:30 AM
thats all well and good but clare team wont "in my opinion" have the best players on show..
When players have no interest in playing then what do you do, you cant make lads show up
hot shot
05/10/2009, 5:42 PM
Neither will the Desmond , still can`t believe Behan is involved, desperate times
who's out there that isn't involved that should be? whats the problem with behan? presume its the manager your referring to-
sky blue
05/10/2009, 6:20 PM
I think Behan is the right man for it he has bags of experience with playing league of Ireland and coaching teams in town.
sky blue
05/10/2009, 7:06 PM
Well Hacker, who are the players we should be looking out for on Sunday at the Oscar traynor game
Hairy Legs
05/10/2009, 9:47 PM
that wasn't what i meant..there is plenty of good players that don't get asked..why??? i dont know.. maybe its because they are with the so called lesser clubs..:confused:
and then the ones that wont play get begged every year..:mad:
Ok fair enough.
I think in Limerick and Desmond most of the initial panel named are the best players in the league..apart from different opinion on mabey 2 or 3 guys, but not plenty of them.
Is the clare selection like that every year?
Ok fair enough.
I think in Limerick and Desmond most of the initial panel named are the best players in the league..apart from different opinion on mabey 2 or 3 guys, but not plenty of them.
Is the clare selection like that every year?
What is the panel for Sunday. It must have changed alot over the past few weeks. I see Carrig, Ballingarry, Glin and ASKEATON are playing in the league on Sunday so for some strange reason they must have no one involved
TigerBalm
06/10/2009, 10:08 AM
What is the panel for Sunday. It must have changed alot over the past few weeks. I see Carrig, Ballingarry, Glin and ASKEATON are playing in the league on Sunday so for some strange reason they must have no one involved
It's no 'strange reason' why those clubs have no one involved, as some were initially picked. Again, no interest in playin Oscar Traynor for some 'strange reason'...
Who was picked and didnt go?
Hairy Legs
06/10/2009, 11:25 AM
Well as far as I can remember Ballingarry, Askeaton and Glin had players named on the initial squad
Ask me tom
06/10/2009, 11:27 AM
Team GP W D L Pts. GF GC GD
Rathkeale 5 3 2 0 11 12 3 9
Askeaton 5 3 1 1 10 17 6 11
Abbeyfeale Utd 6 2 2 2 8 6 7 -1
Newcastle West 6 2 2 2 8 6 8 -2
Broadford Utd 4 2 1 1 7 5 8 -3
Carrig Celtic 4 1 2 1 5 7 6 1
Newcastle Rovers 5 1 2 2 5 5 8 -3
Glin Rovers 5 1 2 2 5 8 12 -4
Shannonside FC 4 0 2 2 2 3 7 -4
Ballingarry 4 0 2 2 2 3 7 -4
Sorry it doesn`t look the best but I`m to lazy to change it up
Hairy Legs
06/10/2009, 11:29 AM
Who was picked and didnt go?
Well obviously the players from Glin, Ballingarry and Askeaton didnt go or the clubs would not be playing sunday.........then again mabey they did go an didnt make it, I seriously doubt it though
Hairy Legs
06/10/2009, 11:34 AM
what way is the league shappong up lads.. anyone able to post it on here??
Go to A2Z soccer, Results and Fixtures, Limerick desmond league
Shannon Boy
06/10/2009, 12:39 PM
Didnt Riordan play yesterday, As for Newcastle, I saw them yesterday and apart from Anthony O'Donnell they shouldnt even be left watch a Desmond league match never mind play in one. Glin looked good though. Pitch was rubbish
what are you on about "The1" the pitch was grand on sunday against newcastle west!!
some goal by tommy culhane!!
buddy geary do you have any complaints about sunday??
what are you on about "The1" the pitch was grand on sunday against newcastle west!!
some goal by tommy culhane!!
buddy geary do you have any complaints about sunday??
Ya the pitch was perfect. The fact the grass was up to the players knees had no consequence on the game. What a dump
Well as far as I can remember Ballingarry, Askeaton and Glin had players named on the initial squad
Did I not say it must have changed alot
Hairy Legs
06/10/2009, 1:34 PM
Did I not say it must have changed alot
you did, .....and I thought it was a question so i was giving an answer.
Anyway they will probably have a squad in the paper so we can compare it to last months