Ballysteen 3 Knockaderry 7
Breska Rovers 0 Pallaskenry 2
Weekly Observer Division 3, Group A
Creeves Celtic 4 Broadford Utd B 0
Weekly Observer Division 3, Group B
Shountrade V Shannonside FC B off
studsup
16/11/2009, 8:21 AM
Rathkeale v Newmarket Celtic is off due to unplayable pitch. inspected by ref this morning.
What's the game here lads?!? I'm working down in Cork and I arrived up at the pitch in Rathkeale at around 1pm because I missed the message from the manager. I walked the pitch while I was there and it was in perfect condition for a match, I rang the manager then to find out the match was off to my disbelief. I met a reporter from the local radio station out there too and he couldn't believe it was off either with the pitch in such good condition. We're only a 45 minute drive away from Rathkeale so there was no need to get a local ref down early in the morning to inspect the pitch (Did ye have to pay his fee?).
Anyway, how did St. Mary's get on in the Junior Hurling Replay:rolleyes:?
Ask me tom
16/11/2009, 9:46 AM
What's the game here lads?!? I'm working down in Cork and I arrived up at the pitch in Rathkeale at around 1pm because I missed the message from the manager. I walked the pitch while I was there and it was in perfect condition for a match, I rang the manager then to find out the match was off to my disbelief. I met a reporter from the local radio station out there too and he couldn't believe it was off either with the pitch in such good condition. We're only a 45 minute drive away from Rathkeale so there was no need to get a local ref down early in the morning to inspect the pitch (Did ye have to pay his fee?).
They won it, your dead right there is no way Rathkeale would have been unplayable yesterday, but sure thats the bonus of hOme advantage. It`ll be ye`re turn to have a local ref next week where he can call crazy offsides and give peno`s for nothing, which has happened to most teams who travel away in the F.A.I.
studsup
16/11/2009, 9:56 AM
They won it, your dead right there is no way Rathkeale would have been unplayable yesterday, but sure thats the bonus of hOme advantage. It`ll be ye`re turn to have a local ref next week where he can call crazy offsides and give peno`s for nothing, which has happened to most teams who travel away in the F.A.I.
Look Rathkeale had the chance to have home advantage and a local ref yesterday but they decided to use that advantage to get the ref to pull the game for no reason at all.
Ask me tom
16/11/2009, 9:59 AM
Look Rathkeale had the chance to have home advantage and a local ref yesterday but they decided to use that advantage to get the ref to pull the game for no reason at all.
Thats what I`m saying, this is the way they chose to use their home advantage.
Hairy Legs
16/11/2009, 10:32 AM
Thats what I`m saying, this is the way they chose to use their home advantage.
That pitch would have been wrecked by half time and dangerous, the ref obviously knew that, believe it or not it cuts up very bad very quickly.
Newmarket get home advantage now so whats the problem?
Ask me tom
16/11/2009, 10:33 AM
That pitch would have been wrecked by half time and dangerous, the ref obviously knew that, believe it or not it cuts up very bad very quickly.
Newmarket get home advantage now so whats the problem?
I don`t see the problem either, but there is no way that pitch was unplayable yesterday.
out red
16/11/2009, 10:54 AM
I don`t see the problem either, but there is no way that pitch was unplayable yesterday.
lads if thats what they wanted to do thats fair enough. but it would have been nice to know on the saturday, its was frustrating enough to have to stay in on saturday night especially when ireland are in a world cup qualifier. just bad form. lets not forget rathkeale refused to travel to newmarket yesterday so dont tell me they didnt know it was off on the saturday they had no notion of playing yesterday. as for the ref who said pitch wasnt playable he should be reported to the fai.
LegendStriker10
16/11/2009, 11:03 AM
I'm sure Newmarket will be happy to get the game at home now but there is no way Rathkeale was unplayable as the lads above are saying. I wouldnt think the Clare lads have a problem, more so annoyed that it wasn't called off early Saturday because they could've went out for the match and enjoyed themselves with the night that was in it for Irish soccer supporters. I've played in Rathkeale a few times in good weather and wet days, Friday evening, Friday night, all day Saturday were dry so that pitch would've been more than able to cope with one game yesterday afternoon.
How well Foynes was OK for a hurling match, is there different weather forecasts around the areas? As Father Ted once said "The big thickos from the island..." (or County Clare in this case) I suppose the boys out in Rathkeale and the ref were thinking that to themselves 'inspecting' the pitch:p.
im headin back to the limerick district threads now, for some real football!:D
Hairy Legs
16/11/2009, 2:30 PM
Nice to see ye all walked that pitch yesterday lads.
There was plenty of games called off this weekend and nothing about it. All surfaces are different
Do they not have to inspect pitches for FAI on the morning of the match?
studsup
16/11/2009, 2:48 PM
Nice to see ye all walked that pitch yesterday lads.
There was plenty of games called off this weekend and nothing about it. All surfaces are different
Do they not have to inspect pitches for FAI on the morning of the match?
No, as far as I'm aware pitches don't have to be inspected unless the away team is travelling a long distance - then the norm is the pitch would be inspected the day before the game. Yes, there was a lot of games called off with nothing said about them because they were all called off by Saturday evening. Anyway let's move on from this...
sky blue
16/11/2009, 5:39 PM
I'm sure Newmarket will be happy to get the game at home now but there is no way Rathkeale was unplayable as the lads above are saying. I wouldnt think the Clare lads have a problem, more so annoyed that it wasn't called off early Saturday because they could've went out for the match and enjoyed themselves with the night that was in it for Irish soccer supporters. I've played in Rathkeale a few times in good weather and wet days, Friday evening, Friday night, all day Saturday were dry so that pitch would've been more than able to cope with one game yesterday afternoon.
How well Foynes was OK for a hurling match, is there different weather forecasts around the areas? As Father Ted once said "The big thickos from the island..." (or County Clare in this case) I suppose the boys out in Rathkeale and the ref were thinking that to themselves 'inspecting' the pitch:p.
im headin back to the limerick district threads now, for some real football!:D
Just to answer your question legendstriker 10, Foynes GAA field is a sand based pitch which is more or less an all weather pitch. thats why the hurling went ahead. As for the ref believe me they would not do Rathkeale a favour in a million years. The reason it was not called off Sat night was because we were trying to give the pitch every chance to be playable. The last thing we wanted was to loose home advantage as we know from last year it is very important to having a good run in the competition.
sky blue
16/11/2009, 6:05 PM
lads if thats what they wanted to do thats fair enough. but it would have been nice to know on the saturday, its was frustrating enough to have to stay in on saturday night especially when ireland are in a world cup qualifier. just bad form. lets not forget rathkeale refused to travel to newmarket yesterday so dont tell me they didnt know it was off on the saturday they had no notion of playing yesterday. as for the ref who said pitch wasnt playable he should be reported to the fai.
The ref can not be reported to the FAI as he has the final say on weather the pitch is playable or not he has to have the players safety at mind at all times if the game had been played and it went to extra time the pitch would have cut up and then someone could have got seriously hurt.
sky blue
16/11/2009, 6:12 PM
I will have to disagree with you there Ask me Tom just because Askeaton have a new pitch and yer game went ahead does not mean that our pitch was in good condition. I bet you when the lad from Newmarket walked it he did not walk the too bad patches which when i walked it Sunday morning were very wet and would have really cut up bad. So if the match had gone ahead it would have meant the pitch would not have been playable again for a month or so. After all we spent alot of money getting them right.
sky blue
16/11/2009, 6:15 PM
Ya i think they won the hurling but we only have 3 players on our squad that are playing hurling and we have a squad of 19 players so really it would not have affected us. By the way which pitch did you walk:confused:
sky blue
16/11/2009, 6:18 PM
Anyway lets get back too the more important things.... Ye had a good win yesterday ask me tom i managed to see the last 30 mins ye are looking good now, nearly at the half way point ant leading the pack:)
western gale
16/11/2009, 9:09 PM
Friday 20th November
Umbro FAI Junior Cup 3rd Round (extra time & penalties)
Abbeyfeale Utd V Listowel Celtic 730 (J. Roche)
Sunday 22nd November
Newmarket Celtic V Rathkeale 2pm
Munster Senior Cup 2nd Round (extra time & penalties)
Rockmount V Newcastle West 2pm
Munster Junior Cup 3rd Round (extra time & penalties)
Askeaton V Adare Utd 1130 (P. O’Brien)
Reidy Cup 2nd Round (extra time & penalties)
Newcastle West Rovers B V Athea Utd 2pm (P. O’Donnell)
Richard Hogan Cup 2nd Round (extra time & penalties)
Ferry Rangers V Glin Rovers B 2pm (J. Roche)
Weekly Observer Premier Division
Shannonside FC V Ballingarry 1130 (D. O’Gorman)
Weekly Observer Division 1
Killeaney V Glantine 1130 (G. O’Connor)
Old Mill V St. Itas 1130 (T. Fitzmaurice)
Kildimo Utd V Newcastle West B 230 (P. Manning)
Weekly Observer Division 2
Ballingarry B V Rockhill Rovers 230 (P. O’Connor)
Ballysteen V Kilcornan 230 (G. O’Connor)
Knockaderry V Breska Rovers 1130 (C. Dalton)
Carrig Celtic B V Askeaton B 230 (C. Dalton)
Glantine B V Broadford Utd B 230 (S. Hartnett)
Pallaskenry B V Bally Rovers 1130 (P. Manning)
Shountrade V Shannonside FC B 230 (B. Barry)
St. Itas B V Granagh Utd 230 (T. Fitzmaurice)
studsup
17/11/2009, 7:48 AM
Ya i think they won the hurling but we only have 3 players on our squad that are playing hurling and we have a squad of 19 players so really it would not have affected us. By the way which pitch did you walk:confused:
Jesus lads you're right it must've been the astro turf I was on it was so solid:)
Ask me tom
17/11/2009, 10:48 AM
Anyway lets get back too the more important things.... Ye had a good win yesterday ask me tom i managed to see the last 30 mins ye are looking good now, nearly at the half way point ant leading the pack:)
Ah its Rathkeales to lose really :) . I still can`t understand how Ballingarry have no win after 8 games, in the 2 games we played against them they have been pretty good. They are missing Denis Kelly up front big time though.
JohnnyTheJockey
18/11/2009, 11:41 AM
Some coincidence that Rathkeale had County Final the same day i suppose is it..... Anyway i cannot see beyond Rathkeale Winning the league, with Newcastle and Glin both not going well. Askeaton are punching above their weight really with Maurice Carrig gone its only a matter of time before they start loosing, and if you look at the fixtures carefully they have played all the easier teams. I even think Shannonside will finish well up the table and if they played their matches in Shanagolden they would have a way better chance. This is my toupence worth anyway!:rolleyes:
Hairy Legs
18/11/2009, 12:41 PM
Some coincidence that Rathkeale had County Final the same day i suppose is it..... Anyway i cannot see beyond Rathkeale Winning the league, with Newcastle and Glin both not going well. Askeaton are punching above their weight really with Maurice Carrig gone its only a matter of time before they start loosing, and if you look at the fixtures carefully they have played all the easier teams. I even think Shannonside will finish well up the table and if they played their matches in Shanagolden they would have a way better chance. This is my toupence worth anyway!:rolleyes:
Should stir a bit of debate anyway johnny, agree with you about shannonside they got their first win on Sunday so they will push on well from there, Abbeyfeale have started rolling well albeit for a little hic-cup against Kildimo
JohnnyTheJockey
18/11/2009, 3:31 PM
It is great that it is open for a change really. I suppose in Fairness Askeaton are good at home on their pitch. But i can't see them lasting the pace. How come Glin are getting such poor results this year, is it to do with them going to the football county final? If it is they should start picking up points now again since that is finished.
Hairy Legs
18/11/2009, 6:17 PM
from what i saw of them earlier this season they were at full enough strength only for their centre half (culhane, i think) who suffered the misfortune of a bad break last year, the sheehan lad who went to killeaney and taco the midfielder (3 very good players) but they had 1 or 2 players back. they will be tough enough yet i agree, with the football over. It will be the closest for many years i suspect with a few teams in with a shout come next may. Newcastle wont be far away. Interesting to see if there are any signings in the new transfer window.......
sky blue
19/11/2009, 8:31 PM
It is great that it is open for a change really. I suppose in Fairness Askeaton are good at home on their pitch. But i can't see them lasting the pace. How come Glin are getting such poor results this year, is it to do with them going to the football county final? If it is they should start picking up points now again since that is finished.
I disagree there i think Askeaton are well in contention to win the league we played them this season in the munster junior and they are a right good side. Very well organised and very fit. They will push it right to the end i think.
buddygeary23
20/11/2009, 3:50 PM
Listowel celtic or abbeyfeale united v newmarket or rathkeale newcastle west v camp united
western gale
21/11/2009, 11:28 AM
All Limerick Desmond domestic games tomorrow are OFF
Ask me tom
21/11/2009, 12:00 PM
All Limerick Desmond domestic games tomorrow are OFF
Any idea if the MJC is considered domestic because it`s still within the local phase?
Ask me tom
21/11/2009, 12:25 PM
ALL GAMES ARE CANCELLED EXCEPT:
Youths
Saturday 21st November
Youths Inter League Group 4
Limerick Desmond V Kerry League, Clounreask 2pm (T. Fitzmaurice, J. Roche, P. O’Connor)
Sunday 22nd November
Newmarket Celtic V Rathkeale 2pm
Munster Senior Cup 2nd Round (extra time & penalties)
Rockmount V Newcastle West 2pm
Askeaton V Adare Utd 1130 (P. O’Brien)
western gale
21/11/2009, 2:00 PM
MJC isn't considered a domestic competion. In the Youths Inter League a Clonreask Desmonds are one nil up at half time, james kelly the scorer
western gale
21/11/2009, 2:13 PM
Desmonds start the second half well, Tony Quaid makes it 2-0 and not long after a second from Kelly makes it 3-0
western gale
21/11/2009, 2:22 PM
Kerry pull one back from the penalty spot
sky blue
21/11/2009, 2:31 PM
Any idea if the MJC is considered domestic because it`s still within the local phase?
iT WILL BE UP TO THE REF Ask me Tom
western gale
21/11/2009, 2:47 PM
A serious fight back by Kerry sees them tie the game at three apiece, six minutes left approx
western gale
21/11/2009, 3:01 PM
F/T at Clonreask - Limerick Desmonds 3 Kerry 3
Harry Lime
21/11/2009, 4:40 PM
F/T at Clonreask - Limerick Desmonds 3 Kerry 3
Some pics from that game:
http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2518/4122581698_d1ccce4afd_o.jpg (http://www.flickr.com/photos/seanryan/sets/72157622848196156/)
Ask me tom
21/11/2009, 6:52 PM
Askeaton V Adare OFF
buddygeary23
22/11/2009, 10:38 PM
Munster senior cup 2nd round Rockmount 2-2 Newcastle west A Newcastle west win 6-5 on pens
soccer8
23/11/2009, 5:45 AM
Munster senior cup 2nd round Rockmount 2-2 Newcastle west A Newcastle west win 6-5 on pens
thats a great result who got the goals were rockmount up to much?and what was the ncw team?
western gale
23/11/2009, 11:54 AM
Youths
Saturday 28th November
Youths Inter League Group 4
Limerick Desmond V Cork Youths League, Clounreask 2pm
(J. Roche, P. O’Brien, G. O’Connor)
Munster Youths Cup 3rd Round (extra time & penalties)
Broadford Utd V Adare Utd 2pm (P. Manning)
Limerick Desmond U-17s Cup Quarter Final (extra time & penalties)
Newcastle West Rovers V Creeves Celtic 2pm (S. Hartnett)
Juniors
Sunday 29th November
Abbeyfeale Utd V Listowel Celtic 1130 (J. Roche)
Rathkeale V Newmarket Celtic (T. Fitzmaurice) 2pm
Adare Utd V Askeaton 1130 (P. O’Brien)
Newcastle West V Broadford Utd 1130 (G. O’Connor)
Reidy Cup 2nd Round (extra time & penalties)
Newcastle West Rovers B V Athea Utd 2pm (P. O’Donnell)
Richard Hogan Cup 2nd Round (extra time & penalties)
Ferry Rangers V Glin Rovers B 1130 (S. Hartnett)
Weekly Observer Premier Division
Shannonside FC V Ballingarry 1130 (D. O’Gorman)
Weekly Observer Division 1
Killeaney V Glantine 1130 (M. Houlihan)
Old Mill V St. Itas 1130 (L. O’Connor)
Kildimo Utd V Newcastle West B 230 (P. Manning)
Weekly Observer Division 2
Ballingarry B V Rockhill Rovers 230 (P. O’Connor)
Ballysteen V Kilcornan 230 (G. O’Connor)
Knockaderry V Breska Rovers 1130 (C. Dalton)
Carrig Celtic B V Askeaton B 230 (S. Hartnett)
Glantine B V Broadford Utd B 230 (C. Dalton)
Pallaskenry B V Bally Rovers 1130 (P. Manning)
Shountrade V Shannonside FC B 230 (B. Barry)
St. Itas B V Granagh Utd 230 (N. Allen)
the only 1
23/11/2009, 1:11 PM
newcastle west sign players back from limerick league?
Hairy Legs
23/11/2009, 1:35 PM
we will be lucky to finish this league with the weather even if it improves the pitches will be in a bad way for a while
superb result for newcastle against rockmount. Fair play to them
Johnnie C
23/11/2009, 3:01 PM
Well done Newcastle, great result. Rockmount are a top side so to beat them on their own patch is a great result for the league.
Ask me tom
23/11/2009, 3:11 PM
Fair play to Newcastle, thats a great result.
Hairy Legs
23/11/2009, 3:16 PM
Who's next for ye?
soccer8
24/11/2009, 5:59 AM
Who's next for ye?
think they are meeting Cobh Ramblers next from what I hear......
western gale
24/11/2009, 3:28 PM
Munster Senior Cup 3rd Round Draw
Castleview v Newcastle West
Cobh Ramblers/Avondale Utd v Douglas Hall/Nenagh AFC
Midleton v Mayfield Utd
St Marys v Pike Rvs
Clonmel Town v Wilton Utd/Lakewood Ath/Tramore AFC
Winners of third round games will be joined by Cork City, Limerick FC and Waterford Utd in the quarter finals
buddygeary23
24/11/2009, 4:03 PM
we are away to castle view in the 3rd round.. rockmount were great team...great passing and good in the air..we didnt started well going 2-0 down in first half hour but got into the game..thomas geary got the 1st goal and tony quaid got the 2nd....rang frank nelligan after the game and he laughed at us cos he didnt believe us..game was played on astro turf field under lights.kicked off at 4pm
Ask me tom
24/11/2009, 4:18 PM
we are away to castle view in the 3rd round.. rockmount were great team...great passing and good in the air..we didnt started well going 2-0 down in first half hour but got into the game..thomas geary got the 1st goal and tony quaid got the 2nd....rang frank nelligan after the game and he laughed at us cos he didnt believe us..game was played on astro turf field under lights.kicked off at 4pm
Congrats on the goal buddy :)
Ask me tom
24/11/2009, 5:29 PM
Any news on transfers lads? Alot of rumours NCW will be getting 1or2 back from the city, any update on this Buddygeary?