View Full Version : Limerick Junior Transfer Rumours 2009

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17

Goals4fun
30/06/2009, 7:40 AM
the forms are out on the ninth of july boys.........

strange for them to be out so early before most teams are back training.....:confused:

the managers will have a right scramble before they even get the players back.........

faces
30/06/2009, 8:08 AM
i watched him afew times and i didnt think he was great i couldnt see him getting on pike or ourselves he might be good enough for st micks and they are a poor side,you might have the answer too this ? why would he go all the way too tipp why not sign for a top limerick side.

i havnt been talking to tommy since the season ended but st micks were after him last year as well.i dont think any of the limerick teams approached him this year so maybe thats the reason he went.im the same as everyone else on here as to why he would leave the best league in munster.(???????$$$$$$$???????)but as i already said he is one of our own and we unfortunately wish him the best and hope it dosnt work out that he might come back.

Goals4fun
30/06/2009, 9:03 AM
i havnt been talking to tommy since the season ended but st micks were after him last year as well.i dont think any of the limerick teams approached him this year so maybe thats the reason he went.im the same as everyone else on here as to why he would leave the best league in munster.(???????$$$$$$$???????)but as i already said he is one of our own and we unfortunately wish him the best and hope it dosnt work out that he might come back.

most teams would have thought he would not leave kilmallock otherwise i am sure he would have been asked...
maybe it is easier to go to a different league to leave your local side and then next year it would be easier to go into town to one of the big teams...

trueview6
30/06/2009, 9:18 AM
ive played and trained with tommy and theres no doubt he is a good young player.he is a bit on the light side and maybe that is why he had a quiet first year in premier.id agree with nearly all of what goals4fun said.i could see him signing for pike or fairview but i dont think he would start every week.he would be an excellent sub to bring on though and i do think he would get goals with a pike or fairview as they create alot of chances.wouldnt agree with most of the posts.he is young,give him another bit of time i say.i think tho that going to st micks is a strange move.can never understand why lads leave premier in limerick to go to tipp.limerick premier is one of the best leagues around imo.on any given day any team can lose to a team even near the bottom.either way tho best of luck to him.big loss for kilmallock
Age is a poor excuse there is alot of players that are younger than tommy playing with the top sides in limerick going to tipp was a handy option for him as st micks are a poor side kilmallock are a better side than st micks believe me and if its about the money no money is worth doing too rockrovers on a sunday afternoon.

hooper74
30/06/2009, 11:35 AM
Age is a poor excuse there is alot of players that are younger than tommy playing with the top sides in limerick going to tipp was a handy option for him as st micks are a poor side kilmallock are a better side than st micks believe me and if its about the money no money is worth doing too rockrovers on a sunday afternoon.

now hold on a minute....lets get some sort of perspective here....you are going to have the audacity to try and say kilmallock are better than st michaeals??? saints have contested 3 of the last 7 or 8 munster junior cup finals and won 2 of them and in the last 10 years have been in 3 fai finals if you include the replay....so give me kilmallocks stats in these 2 competitions?? everyone is entitled to an opinion but that was just ridiculous

celticlads
30/06/2009, 11:41 AM
totally agree hooper that hat was a joke to be honest.

Begrudger
30/06/2009, 12:00 PM
now hold on a minute....lets get some sort of perspective here....you are going to have the audacity to try and say kilmallock are better than st michaeals??? saints have contested 3 of the last 7 or 8 munster junior cup finals and won 2 of them and in the last 10 years have been in 3 fai finals if you include the replay....so give me kilmallocks stats in these 2 competitions?? everyone is entitled to an opinion but that was just ridiculous

I predicted he'd leave before the end of the season but i never thought he'd go out there in the tipp league its a bit easier to compete for players when you have only 2 or 3 clubs at any decent level when you come into limerick your looking at 7 or 8 competitive teams granted fairview and pike are a step ahead of most but boro, regional, balla, and aisling even carew park if they get their house in order can compete in mjc what could possess a player to go out and play in a league like that you'd be as well off goin back to Div 1A similar standard ...

hooper74
30/06/2009, 12:09 PM
I predicted he'd leave before the end of the season but i never thought he'd go out there in the tipp league its a bit easier to compete for players when you have only 2 or 3 clubs at any decent level when you come into limerick your looking at 7 or 8 competitive teams granted fairview and pike are a step ahead of most but boro, regional, balla, and aisling even carew park if they get their house in order can compete in mjc what could possess a player to go out and play in a league like that you'd be as well off goin back to Div 1A similar standard ...

but the point is that hes gone to one of the big 3.....clonmel town got further in the fai than any of the limerick teams and a few years ago 3 munster junior cup finals were all tipperary affairs....also tipp had 2 players represented on the irish junior team including its captain...limerick had none....im not knocking the limerick league in the same fashion you are knocking the tipp league....im just giving you facts....i rate the limerick league but it also has average sides like janesboro,carew park,aisling,wembley....pike and fairview are the big 2 and its catch up for the rest

the quiet 1
30/06/2009, 12:15 PM
but the point is that hes gone to one of the big 3.....clonmel town got further in the fai than any of the limerick teams and a few years ago 3 munster junior cup finals were all tipperary affairs....also tipp had 2 players represented on the irish junior team including its captain...limerick had none....im not knocking the limerick league in the same fashion you are knocking the tipp league....im just giving you facts....i rate the limerick league but it also has average sides like janesboro,carew park,aisling,wembley....pike and fairview are the big 2 and its catch up for the rest

Remind me ! How did the boro get on this year against st michaels ????

hooper74
30/06/2009, 12:25 PM
totally agree hooper that hat was a joke to be honest.

cheers celticlads i cannot believe what im hearing here.....come on we all know on any given day in cup football you can be humbled....hats off to janesboro...they were deserving winners too....remember who knocked them out?? clonmel town:) as i said i rate the limerick league....look at the success fairview have had.....5 fai's in last 10-15 yrs but do not say kilmallock are better than saint michaels.....thats exact same as saying rock rovers are better than pike rovers....exact same and just as ridiculous

silvercircle
30/06/2009, 12:52 PM
cheers celticlads i cannot believe what im hearing here.....come on we all know on any given day in cup football you can be humbled....hats off to janesboro...they were deserving winners too....remember who knocked them out?? clonmel town:) as i said i rate the limerick league....look at the success fairview have had.....5 fai's in last 10-15 yrs but do not say kilmallock are better than saint michaels.....thats exact same as saying rock rovers are better than pike rovers....exact same and just as ridiculous

100% correct clonmel + St Mike would finish in the top 4 of limerick prem without a doubt

hooper74
30/06/2009, 1:16 PM
100% correct clonmel + St Mike would finish in the top 4 of limerick prem without a doubt

my faith has been restored in common sense:)

celticlads
30/06/2009, 1:26 PM

common sense is very hard to come by on this forum. look lads in a cup or on any giving day anyteam can win a match, like im not south tipp or limerick but we would fancy or chances against any team in a cup game bu you also need to take your head out of your arse and really look at your football. overall pike, clonmel, fairview and st.michaels are a fair bit ahead of the rest. like i said im neither league but i do know my football.

daisycutter
30/06/2009, 3:51 PM
pike, fairview, st michaels ,clonmel, carrick,in no certain order are the top 5 clubs in munster and thats that,tommy is a handy player alright but hes very light to be considered one of the best in limerick, hes far from that,but hes right to give it a go somewere else,and in st michaels hes going to one of the big five,the best strikers in the league at the moment are pat moloney and christy doyle that would be a great partnership i would like to see,maybe the oscar traynor front 2?

trueview6
30/06/2009, 4:46 PM
Ha ha ha i hope whitestripe can help me out here but the average side you talk about (Ashling) hammered st micks in the fai or mun jun this year or last year with a half a side correct if im wrong.

trueview6
30/06/2009, 4:51 PM
O ya that average team that (boro) beat them aswell,when was the last time a limerick team lost too st micks,they are a handy side a big club in tipp but thats about it.

balls
30/06/2009, 5:19 PM
overall standard in limerick is higher better league probably. but over last 5 or 6 years carrick and clonmel town been 2 most consistent teams in munster and that cannot be argued with. teams like regional , boro, balla are not that far ahead then off peake villa,clonmel celtic etc so its laughable for people on this site to compare tsdl prem division to limerick 1a. cahir park, cashel, rock rovers would all stay up in limerick premier division no bother and are equal to standard of kilmallock, carew , wembley etc . so lads for christ sake limerick premier division is prob top junior league in munster no arguements with that but no way is it this elite league that some on here would have you believe

Balbec77
30/06/2009, 5:44 PM
lads tommy had a bad season this time last season most of the top teams in limerick were after him after been playing in 1a and starting nearly all oscar trainer games and scoring in a lot of them, he has had a bad season instead of running off to one of the top teams in limerick and more then likely being a sub he has gone to a good tip side where he should start get his confidence back and maybe come back to the limerick league next year,maybe this year he did not want to be playing against his brothers and his mates and after a year away it might be alot easier to cut his links to kilmallock and go into town

da bishop
30/06/2009, 6:37 PM
Ha ha ha i hope whitestripe can help me out here but the average side you talk about (Ashling) hammered st micks in the fai or mun jun this year or last year with a half a side correct if im wrong.
and your point is......you dont get it do you.what big trophy have aisling won,or for that matter boro,balla etc.......none.st mics win mjc cups and contest fai,s ...ya ok they get beat by the aislings and boro,s of this world now and then but they are a big club with big trophy history and its a perfect move for heffernan.he gets a new chance at a big club a mere 25mins from kilmallock at a decent standard,and he wont have to face his parochial mates,its a no brainer,the lad obviously wants to better himself and best of luck to him.

hooper74
30/06/2009, 7:31 PM
i cant believe what is going on here......fairview and pike were beat by lowly erris in the fai but does that make erris a better side.....clearly not.....the point is that saint michaels contest to win munsters and fai's and have been in a number of finals in recent times....we could list teams that have beaten manchester united or liverpool down through the years.....on any given day we are all vunerable but the top teams bounce back and saints have won munster junior cups in recent times and contested fai finals.......viewman can you get your head around this?

daisycutter
30/06/2009, 8:29 PM
lads this is getting boring, get back to the topic transfer rumours,who cares about st micks, clonmel town anyway,hooper come on move off and give us a break..........

trueview6
30/06/2009, 9:17 PM
i cant believe what is going on here......fairview and pike were beat by lowly erris in the fai but does that make erris a better side.....clearly not.....the point is that saint michaels contest to win munsters and fai's and have been in a number of finals in recent times....we could list teams that have beaten manchester united or liverpool down through the years.....on any given day we are all vunerable but the top teams bounce back and saints have won munster junior cups in recent times and contested fai finals.......viewman can you get your head around this?
When was the last time michaels won the fai i havent got the answer 80s maybe i dont know got too the final 2003 but lost since there are 3 teams in tipp it is alot easier to get out of town every year you would expect too get lucky once,i cant rem micks causing an upset in the competition,munster jun i would like to know in recent times how many times did they win it, big clubs will win big trophies,honestly tommy had a poor 2 seasons hasnt stepped up hes game in the limerick league he was the first one to admit it,after kilmallock youths got too the final of the fai and the premier side stayed up and well deserved it was poor timing going too michaels as kilmallock is hes limit.

trueview6
30/06/2009, 9:50 PM
lads this is getting boring, get back to the topic transfer rumours,who cares about st micks, clonmel town anyway,hooper come on move off and give us a break..........
I Have moved on daisycutter.

bishbash
30/06/2009, 11:33 PM
Fairview scored a 90th minute equaliser against rock rovers in the fai last season. and it was a pretty even game, but according to logic on here shouldnt fairview have thumped them 5 nil considering that rock play in a league that is so poor? wembley struggled through 3-2 against 2nd div wilderness 2 seasons ago after extra time. The limerick league is definitely stronger but the gap is not that great. come on ye are talkin about it like its a the premiership and tipp is the eircom league.

Mister Ed
01/07/2009, 10:43 AM
half the carew park team to st pauls:eek::eek:

i agree, denis whelan, gooders, thommo and daithi noonan all played with them recently in a friendly:D

Monster
01/07/2009, 11:28 AM
Take Fairview out of the equation and the Tipp league have performed vastly better in the big 2 competitions in the last 10-15 years so i dont really get where people are coming from on that 1.

whitestripe
01/07/2009, 11:31 AM

Both good sides but the average Aisling beat them 4-2 with 10 men. Beat carrick 3-1 in the previous game. Hard to compare Killamllock to St Michaels in fairness

faces
01/07/2009, 11:52 AM
Both good sides but the average Aisling beat them 4-2 with 10 men. Beat carrick 3-1 in the previous game. Hard to compare Killamllock to St Michaels in fairness

lads what is all this comparing this team and that team about.the topic is transfer rumours.the only thing i will say lads is that 99.9% of kilmallock team is from kilmallock and not all over the country and if we can maintain our status in the premier for another year or two we will have one damn good local team competing for honours if by all accounts they are not poached by certain big shot teams.

01/07/2009, 1:15 PM
Lads,start another thread if you want to take one this off-topic.

daisycutter
01/07/2009, 3:35 PM
couldnt agree more well said 12th man

daisycutter
01/07/2009, 8:38 PM
heard this guy barry ryan from peake villa is signing with pike rovers and not fairview rangers,from a good source!!!

daisycutter
01/07/2009, 8:43 PM
heard st pauls are paying players alright and could have a few prem players moving to them dont know how true this is,

the quiet 1
01/07/2009, 10:04 PM
heard st pauls are paying players alright and could have a few prem players moving to them dont know how true this is,

St Paul's have always been paying players. " for what reason I don't know because they are harmless"

Begrudger
02/07/2009, 12:20 AM
St Paul's have always been paying players. " for what reason I don't know because they are harmless"

Harmless is nearly an over statement for a team in the 7th tier of limerick soccer why would a premier player go and play with them calender selling trouble makers out there they spend all their time causing problems for real clubs who find it hard enough to raise funds in their own catchment area and these guys are going door to door in areas on the other side of town so they can pay a load of washed up jnr players:mad::mad::mad:

trueview6
02/07/2009, 7:49 AM
heard this guy barry ryan from peake villa is signing with pike rovers and not fairview rangers,from a good source!!!
Ya jason told me that he is signing for pike i think he would find it hard too get in with christy and judge but ha losing him too pike is a kick in the nuts.

daisycutter
02/07/2009, 10:57 AM
the talk around town is that pike will be very strong this season
yea the talk is theyll be very strong alright,with barry ryan,alan barry,colum carroll,ian storan,to add to what they have,but they will lose philip purcell,mitchell,to the boro

Goals4fun
02/07/2009, 11:57 AM
yea the talk is theyll be very strong alright,with barry ryan,alan barry,colum carroll,ian storan,to add to what they have,but they will lose philip purcell,mitchell,to the boro

:eek: .......... :D

trueview6
02/07/2009, 12:30 PM
Who've fairview got coming in?
Its all quiet at the moment early days yet not too worried we have a good squad need just a few too be a complete should challenge for the league.

trueview6
02/07/2009, 12:36 PM
Pike can only play 11

the quiet 1
02/07/2009, 12:46 PM

Ian Storan.. Considine has been wrecking this young lads head. "Harassment" I would call it.. Don't think he will be signing either.... Great full back IMO....

ronburgundy
02/07/2009, 1:30 PM
Ya jason told me that he is signing for pike i think he would find it hard too get in with christy and judge but ha losing him too pike is a kick in the nuts.

well it depends what kind of striker they are looking for. barry ryan is lively around the box and a decent finisher, but not good in the air or physically strong

trueview6
02/07/2009, 1:55 PM
considine is like that for years ever when he was playing he was like that
I Dont think ian will get on the present limerick side but he is a good player that will improve still abit young and green for league of Ireland jason give him a ring.

Tipp Top
02/07/2009, 2:00 PM
well it depends what kind of striker they are looking for. barry ryan is lively around the box and a decent finisher, but not good in the air or physically strong

Ron I couldnt disagree more,I think the strongest part of his game is in the air,suprisingly so because he is not a big guy by any means I have seen him score headers from corners in games iv seen him play over the years, Where he might struggle is he is very greedy and his pike team mates might not be as tolerant as his villa colleagues

trueview6
02/07/2009, 2:06 PM
Ron I couldnt disagree more,I think the strongest part of his game is in the air,suprisingly so because he is not a big guy by any means I have seen him score headers from corners in games iv seen him play over the years, Where he might struggle is he is very greedy and his pike team mates might not be as tolerant as his villa colleagues
He scored against us he done ok limerick league is a tough league time will tell.

ronburgundy
02/07/2009, 2:16 PM

your obviously havin a laugh or a terrible judge of a footballer. and by the way im not criticising him, he is a good player but lets be honest about strenghts and weaknesses, nobody who knows anythin about football in tipp would disagree with my description. but put it this way, id be happy if my club would sign him

daisycutter
02/07/2009, 4:32 PM
Pike can only play 11
yea thats true,but it looks like all the early work paid off for them,or time will tell..........

daisycutter
02/07/2009, 4:33 PM
mark sheehan from regional is moving there

daisycutter
02/07/2009, 4:37 PM
never had him to lose him so no loss there,still have doyle, morris, kelleher ,and isnt judge a winger?

viewman76
02/07/2009, 6:29 PM
thats a great signing, waterboy !!!

the charlevile goalkeeper is signing with us marchin is his name i think
and not to sure but maybe nabs from pike

silvercircle
02/07/2009, 6:40 PM
considine is like that for years ever when he was playing he was like that

then other managers should take note..3 years as manager....2 prems munster jnr all domestic trophys this season...he must be doing somthing right