View Full Version : Limerick Junior Transfer Rumours 2009
Pages :
[
10]
Goals4fun
10/07/2009, 10:16 AM
met declan casey this morning wouldnt tell me anything on signings,he just smiled and said hes very happy with what they did get..........
thay have been chasing him for a while. with that strike force they will be hard to bowl over next year....
Roadend
10/07/2009, 10:32 AM
Barry culhane back with boro hopefully he will be able to play on a regular basis work permitting.
Anyone else possibly signing with ye, any players from ye're feeder club?;)
leather
10/07/2009, 10:35 AM
What?????
celticlads
10/07/2009, 1:02 PM
dont know anything about alan barry but i do know barry ryan has signed with pike.
I'm not Pike Leather. Are you saying that at the moment Pike's team and setup is not better than Boro have had over the last say 10 years. All I'm saying is he'll be playing in big FAI and munster junior games, don't think he's played in many of those over the years
fair enough i havent seen pike in the last year or so, but i could safely say that I played on two janesboro teams that on paper would match the current pike team imho, the team that won the league and lawson double and lost the premier cup final, and the team i was on in my first season until it unravelled, i think that was the 02/03 season and that team ended the season trophyless.
and the team that won the league in 01? (not sure of the year exactly) was a very good side as well, got to the semi final of the fai i believe
and just to keep on topic alan barry is a great signing for anyone in town, promises 20/25 goals a season at least
Mega Tots
10/07/2009, 3:24 PM
dont know anything about alan barry but i do know barry ryan has signed with pike.
Theres another 20/25 goals
trueview6
10/07/2009, 5:43 PM
one way to stop all this rubbish about who has signed and for who they have signed for...
all registered forms viewable under each teams squad on ldmc website...
sick to death of all the crap about this guy and that guy signing here and there...
in the end only 11 players can play on any given fixture. they also require the opposition too have 11 players aswell...
as the pool of players locally becomes smaller and smaller maybe it is time to limit the amount of players signed too any given squad to maybe 16 -20 players max. that way you will increase competition and hopefully the quality.
Never happen.
daisycutter
10/07/2009, 5:46 PM
is alan barry the only player in town to have signed a form last nite?and how can it be a big blow to boro when he didnt play with them last year?
tedd11
10/07/2009, 6:24 PM
is alan barry the only player in town to have signed a form last nite?and how can it be a big blow to boro when he didnt play with them last year?
a blow from the point of view that id say janesboro would have had him as a near cert to sign back
tedd11
10/07/2009, 6:24 PM
What?????
i think he means corbally leather
daisycutter
10/07/2009, 7:12 PM
haha good one!!roadend
daisycutter
10/07/2009, 7:14 PM
i would have had him to be a cert also but the lure of the pounds
blinkx
10/07/2009, 10:23 PM
Evan Quinlivan to Pike.
Former Limerick/Wembley School Boy.
da bishop
10/07/2009, 11:46 PM
alan barry would no doubt be a very good signing for pike,but he alone wont win pike an fai which is surely the goal next season...as it should always be..at least 4 possibly 5 other positions need to be addressed to have a good chance at fulfilling that goal so pik would want to be plenty busy in the next few weeks.
left back
11/07/2009, 7:51 AM
what positions do you think need to be adressed
tedd11
11/07/2009, 8:24 AM
i know that to have a chance of winning fai's and to be winning everything else you need a big squad but in fairness how are pike going to keep all these supposedly new signings happy?of what i can gather from the talk on this thread they have around 7 or 8 new players lined up e.g-barry ryan,alan barry,the 3 lads from desmond league as well as afew ex limerick players.who have they lost from last seasons squad?paddy mitchell and maybe another few fringe players?i dont here of any of there starting 11 leaving?i can see certain players who are up in pike that will not be dropped next season no matter what.i maintain that alot of these new lads will be warming the bench for the season and if the new lads arent subbing there will be alot of unhappy players from last years squad on the line watching every week.
tedd11
11/07/2009, 8:27 AM
what positions do you think need to be adressed
whats the goalkeeper situation next season?who is number 1?bennis or smackers?i think to be winning fai's pike need a stonger keeper.
see's it
11/07/2009, 8:47 AM
Evan Quinlivan to Pike.
Former Limerick/Wembley School Boy.
thats the FAI in the bag anyway! :)
coast boy
11/07/2009, 9:58 AM
how many outsiders have they actually playing for the club about 4 castlemahon boys creeves lad.as big as newcastle is you could at least think that they could pick from within the range group anyway :ball:[/QUOTE]
What difference does that make? They have plenty of Newcastle based players too. Castlemahon dont have a soccer team so the players need to play with different clubs. I know of other premier clubs with people from castlemahon playing with them too. Not a fair comment. On Glin, we'll see how they do in the league next year. Playing second fiddle again i think.
buddygeary23
11/07/2009, 1:09 PM
why does it matter if ncw afc have players from just outside the town!!!!
they have 2 guys from castlemahon cos castlemahon dont have a team,the guy from creeves has been playing for ncw for 5 or 6 years now.the rest are all from newcastle west..we were the run away leaders in all competitions until the cup final which glin deserved on that night..we didnt perform like we can...i think abbeyfeale will be strong this year with the new manager they have..he used to manage in the limerick district league..there is a thread on here for the desmond league that i started at the end of last year so just look for it and we will keep that one going....
trueview6
11/07/2009, 1:20 PM
i know that to have a chance of winning fai's and to be winning everything else you need a big squad but in fairness how are pike going to keep all these supposedly new signings happy?of what i can gather from the talk on this thread they have around 7 or 8 new players lined up e.g-barry ryan,alan barry,the 3 lads from desmond league as well as afew ex limerick players.who have they lost from last seasons squad?paddy mitchell and maybe another few fringe players?i dont here of any of there starting 11 leaving?i can see certain players who are up in pike that will not be dropped next season no matter what.i maintain that alot of these new lads will be warming the bench for the season and if the new lads arent subbing there will be alot of unhappy players from last years squad on the line watching every week.
We kept great players happy when we won fai junior cups great players have too be on the bench as well o donnell,purcell,flynn, were all subs at sum stage having great players on the bench is a good complaint to have.
tedd11
12/07/2009, 9:47 AM
We kept great players happy when we won fai junior cups great players have too be on the bench as well o donnell,purcell,flynn, were all subs at sum stage having great players on the bench is a good complaint to have.
being honest trueview i dont remember flynn or purcell warming the bench for fairview during the days of there fai successes.any game i watched them in at the time which were alot they were playing especially the big games anyway.o donnell was nearly always subbing but was nearly always introduced in second half.for the fai games for at least one season back around 1997-1998 the bench was nearly always rice,collopy,parker,neary, and a young heffernan.i suppose you can justify keeping a big squad happy when you are involved in all competitions but if pike get far in munster junior/fai next season i cant see alot of there squad being content to sit on the sideline.thats just my opinion.
tedd11
12/07/2009, 9:50 AM
back to the point of this thread anyway.has anybody got afew concrete signings for us?
Shannon Boy
12/07/2009, 8:15 PM
why does it matter if ncw afc have players from just outside the town!!!!
they have 2 guys from castlemahon cos castlemahon dont have a team,the guy from creeves has been playing for ncw for 5 or 6 years now.the rest are all from newcastle west..we were the run away leaders in all competitions until the cup final which glin deserved on that night..we didnt perform like we can...i think abbeyfeale will be strong this year with the new manager they have..he used to manage in the limerick district league..there is a thread on here for the desmond league that i started at the end of last year so just look for it and we will keep that one going....
ya i also think that abbeyfeale will be strong this year but they also have to use their youth panel from two or three years ago i.e t.j leahy micheal sheehan etc etc.glin wont be stong this year few players are heading to australia i heard.shannonside suprise package this year.
abbeyvale
12/07/2009, 10:42 PM
alan barry not signing for boro will be a big blow to them
They've also lost another striker
coast boy
13/07/2009, 7:53 AM
there is a thread on here for the desmond league that i started at the end of last year so just look for it and we will keep that one going....
That thread is closed. Cant comment on it.
Shannon Boy
13/07/2009, 7:55 AM
That thread is closed. Cant comment on it.
coast boy maybe you should start up a new thread about the desmond league.
the dazzler
13/07/2009, 3:54 PM
gary neville has left us and signed for pike
Goals4fun
13/07/2009, 5:20 PM
good up and coming keeper.....
trueview6
13/07/2009, 6:20 PM
being honest trueview i dont remember flynn or purcell warming the bench for fairview during the days of there fai successes.any game i watched them in at the time which were alot they were playing especially the big games anyway.o donnell was nearly always subbing but was nearly always introduced in second half.for the fai games for at least one season back around 1997-1998 the bench was nearly always rice,collopy,parker,neary, and a young heffernan.i suppose you can justify keeping a big squad happy when you are involved in all competitions but if pike get far in munster junior/fai next season i cant see alot of there squad being content to sit on the sideline.thats just my opinion.
take it from me all of those players were on the bench at a few stages during that year the team was always moved around when there is big trophies too be won the good players will stick around like they did that time j lyons was a sub after coming back form loi and stayed to win trophies.
starbar
13/07/2009, 6:29 PM
Why have they a minor team? He is still minor isnt he?
tedd11
13/07/2009, 7:25 PM
take it from me all of those players were on the bench at a few stages during that year the team was always moved around when there is big trophies too be won the good players will stick around like they did that time j lyons was a sub after coming back form loi and stayed to win trophies.
fair enough trueview.you were obviously at every game.forgot about j.lyons.you are right there.im just going on most of the fai games i saw.b flynn,purcell,considine the 2 whytes were always playing especially the year of the 1st fai in 97/98.as far as i can remember the subs were nearly all the same.rice,parker,collopy,o donnell,gerry kelly were 5 i remember who always seemed to be subbing in the big games.thats just the point im making,i cant remember any of them bar o donnell having much of an impact on games.no point picking up medals if you aint playing.them again i wasnt at the matches in the local competitions so i cant comment on them.
blinkx
13/07/2009, 8:28 PM
From watching Pike play the other night it looks like they've signed :
Alan Barry
Barry Ryan
Gary Neville
Evan Quinlivan
Jamie Enright
Colm Carroll
Frankie Stewart
Craig McMarlew(Fuzzy on his second name, neat full back??)
They've kept all of last seasons squad apparently. Possibly minus Philip Purcell(Who isn't playing this year apparently, but who knows) And Paddy Mitchell ??
Monster
13/07/2009, 8:52 PM
Flynn and Purcell were never subs only when it came to the end of the season when fairview had a backlog of fixtures and were playing 3/4 games a week - if it was a big and important game these 2 started all the time.
The bench for the 97 Fai win was J Hannon,O Donnell,Rice,Sullivan,parker - J Collopy and Kevin Mc Carthy didnt make the bench.
From watching Pike play the other night it looks like they've signed :
Alan Barry
Barry Ryan
Gary Neville
Evan Quinlivan
Jamie Enright
Colm Carroll
Frankie Stewart
Craig McMarlew(Fuzzy on his second name, neat full back??)
They've kept all of last seasons squad apparently. Possibly minus Philip Purcell(Who isn't playing this year apparently, but who knows) And Paddy Mitchell ??
was johnny corbett playing?
Goals4fun
13/07/2009, 9:29 PM
yes, and signed by all account.....
blinkx
14/07/2009, 12:57 AM
Anything on who Fairview have signed?? Things seem unusually quite from them.
the only 1
14/07/2009, 8:33 AM
tommy barrett has signed with fairview and maybe paul danagher+bobby tier
tedd11
14/07/2009, 9:12 AM
Flynn and Purcell were never subs only when it came to the end of the season when fairview had a backlog of fixtures and were playing 3/4 games a week - if it was a big and important game these 2 started all the time.
The bench for the 97 Fai win was J Hannon,O Donnell,Rice,Sullivan,parker - J Collopy and Kevin Mc Carthy didnt make the bench.
mc carthy didnt make the bench as his knee was banjaxed that year i think?dont remember him playing any of the fai games.also dont remember joe hannon being a sub?nearly certain he was centre back with derek white?id agree with you on flynn and purcell.
tedd11
14/07/2009, 9:14 AM
strange one that jamie enright went down to 1A to play with mungret yet he leaves when they get promoted?big loss for mungret if true.hes a good fullback
abbeyvale
14/07/2009, 9:36 AM
strange one that jamie enright went down to 1A to play with mungret yet he leaves when they get promoted?big loss for mungret if true.hes a good fullback
I think Mungret will struggle this season, as they've also lost Keith McNicholas.
Football Alien
14/07/2009, 10:36 AM
to be fair i dont think he settled in that well when he first signed for pike, handy player though, v fit and full of energy but wouldn't be surprised to see him sign back for mungret at some stage this season
Football Alien
14/07/2009, 10:39 AM
I think Mungret will struggle this season, as they've also lost Keith McNicholas.
mungret and geraldines are v similar in my opinion, both relatively young sides and full of running, corbally are in the same mould so it'll be interesting to see how both ends of the league pan out, pike look like being the strongest team so far but fairview will be v strong with t barrett back, himself and heff in the middle of the park will be some pairing!
Monster
14/07/2009, 11:34 AM
mc carthy didnt make the bench as his knee was banjaxed that year i think?dont remember him playing any of the fai games.also dont remember joe hannon being a sub?nearly certain he was centre back with derek white?id agree with you on flynn and purcell.
J Hannon is John Hannon the sub keeper - Gaga was back in training at that stage but i suppose it would have been unfair to have included him instead of players that had been there all season.
buddygeary23
14/07/2009, 11:36 AM
well someone shud start up a thread for the desmond league....ill try it
Goals4fun
14/07/2009, 11:37 AM
to be fair i dont think he settled in that well when he first signed for pike, handy player though, v fit and full of energy but wouldn't be surprised to see him sign back for mungret at some stage this season
no you are wrong there....jamie did very well at pike. he was used at left full.
He picked up a load of injuries while at pike. He even made the oscar traynor team until he got injured...story of his life
He lost his way and left pike early last year (after starting the first game) and headed back to Mungret..
if he can get over his injuries he will be a good addition to pike
Forever Red
14/07/2009, 12:25 PM
Abbeyveale - who has keith signed with?
superhero
14/07/2009, 1:05 PM
Abbeyveale - who has keith signed with?
Signed for Geraldines, Vinny has packed it in with Mungret so they are now managerless, not the best situation to be in after just winning promotion.
blinkx
14/07/2009, 1:11 PM
no you are wrong there....jamie did very well at pike. he was used at left full.
He picked up a load of injuries while at pike. He even made the oscar traynor team until he got injured...story of his life
He lost his way and left pike early last year (after starting the first game) and headed back to Mungret..
if he can get over his injuries he will be a good addition to pike
The fact he went and trained with Fairview when still a Pike player didn't help either...
If fairview have only signed Barrett they're going to struggle this year, He obviously quit Limerick for a reason(Knees are ****ed), and Last I heard there's a few in looking for Danagher alright, Fairview, Pike, Wembley etc... Seems to have dropped off the Limerick Radar altogether.
Daydreamer
14/07/2009, 1:15 PM
Paul Finnucane signing with Fairview AFIK..good signing