[
3]
abbeyvale
10/06/2009, 6:59 PM
You,ve some neck pal im staying where i am
He's trying to get rid of his competition
trueview6
10/06/2009, 7:33 PM
I think we will need 5 or 6 new signings i have no doubt we will lose a few this year pike have approached hefo of all people the chairmans son thats a fact i could hardly see him leave a club that won a munster junior and hes blood is in the club but that will tell you how low they will go.
left back
10/06/2009, 7:56 PM
for your info it was actually a few of the fairview players that approached connie after the final to say they were looking to transfer next season , no 1 wants to be on any team unless they are winning
trueview6
10/06/2009, 8:16 PM
ya right i dont think any of our players will go too pike but,maybe morris but he didnt say much,we will need a few players can ye give us a few instead of taking all the time.
blackjack
10/06/2009, 8:47 PM
I think we will need 5 or 6 new signings i have no doubt we will lose a few this year pike have approached hefo of all people the chairmans son thats a fact i could hardly see him leave a club that won a munster junior and hes blood is in the club but that will tell you how low they will go.
what are you on about his blood is in the club if you want to be successfull as a player you play for the best team you are remembered for what you win and if pike keep going forward the way we are i hope we go lower then that.
the real deal
10/06/2009, 8:53 PM
what are you on about his blood is in the club if you want to be successfull as a player you play for the best team you are remembered for what you win and if pike keep going forward the way we are i hope we go lower then that.
id have to agree loyalty gets respect achievement gets remembered ten times more
left back
10/06/2009, 9:19 PM
ya right i dont think any of our players will go too pike but,maybe morris but he didnt say much,we will need a few players can ye give us a few instead of taking all the time.
if you had the chance to play for pike you would jump at it so stop your moaning no one else from fairview come on stirring it they are graciuos in defeat time you took it as a man and try to catch up next year
CrazyhorseIV
10/06/2009, 10:26 PM
Hi lads:D
Just wanna say hello and best of luck for the new season to all.
Hostility on these forums at times is as bad as some premier games on sunday mornings.:rolleyes:
Id definately agree there with the real deal loyalty does get respect but would you rather be remembered as someone to be respected or someone thats just around for chasing trophies.
nothing wrong with both just different players with different principles.
I myself would fall into the former
no17 fan
10/06/2009, 11:36 PM
i'm neither pike or fairview but the pike lads need a reality check here, MJ cup or league easy decision. the squad fairview have are far far superior to pike's and i can't believe pike keep beating them. fair play on winning the league but ye're a local team that will never win an fai cause ye bottle it out of town just my opinion. to win real medals stay at fairview
blinkx
11/06/2009, 12:22 AM
i'm neither pike or fairview but the pike lads need a reality check here, MJ cup or league easy decision. the squad fairview have are far far superior to pike's and i can't believe pike keep beating them. fair play on winning the league but ye're a local team that will never win an fai cause ye bottle it out of town just my opinion. to win real medals stay at fairview
So the 2 MJC's in 5 years is what exactly?
Goals4fun
11/06/2009, 7:38 AM
lads this is a transfer rumour thread not a **** fight between pike and fairview........
back to topic.....
no17 i have to agree its the same thing every year with pike they go looking for players from other clubs to win an fai but fall short every time ive seen pike a few times this season and also seen view play in mjc to me they looked a better football side im not a fan of either club but i think any player at fairview would want to be mad to leave.
Aanother
11/06/2009, 8:44 AM
Finucane back to pike from Regional - He knows he was wrong to leave;)
leather
11/06/2009, 8:48 AM
Good Morning lads...great to read that there are only two teams in the premier division of football in limerick.........
left back
11/06/2009, 10:26 AM
if they are far superior y didnt they beat pike in any match again this season , as for the fai same team beat us both , its nothing got to do with bottling it , on the day the best team lost its all about luck on the day
Goals4fun
11/06/2009, 10:33 AM
pa mcgarry to regional
he signed there last year.....oops, no he didn't , he won a treble with Pike !:D
left back
11/06/2009, 10:36 AM
i agree pat will not leave pike he is happy where he is , he has signed up for next year already:p
leather
11/06/2009, 10:48 AM
Stop Press.......
Pike players to get next seasons forms weeks before everybody else !!!!
wonder how that might happen...?
left back
11/06/2009, 10:53 AM
so connie can chase every player in town:eek::eek::p
leather
11/06/2009, 10:56 AM
so connie can chase every player in town:eek::eek::p
What about Signing them ??????
left back
11/06/2009, 10:59 AM
awh thats minor detail , u know yourself connie talk the hind legs off a donkey:D
leather
11/06/2009, 11:23 AM
if they are far superior y didnt they beat pike in any match again this season , as for the fai same team beat us both , its nothing got to do with bottling it , on the day the best team lost its all about luck on the day
Let me get this right...Teams that beat you or teams that win Fai's (view) are not the best teams and that it is all about "LUCK ON THE DAY"
Sightly arrogant and condesending there bud..
blinkx
11/06/2009, 1:55 PM
i agree pat will not leave pike he is happy where he is , he has signed up for next year already:p
Would you ever stop talking rubbish. Every team in town gets their forms the exact same day. Pike or Fairview are no different.
CrazyhorseIV
11/06/2009, 2:28 PM
Lads im gonna throw a spanner in the works here.
Yes pike have been a consistent team the last few seasons and all credit to them but look at it from this angle.
there only consistent at a local level theyve shown week in week out they can beat the teams in their own league but what have they won at national level or provincial level for that matter for over the last 10 years?
whose gonna replace the likes of macgarry enright moloney hartnett a few of there more senior players have maybe 1 or 2 seasons left.
Whereas the likes of fairview the boro and balla wembley regional and even carew for that matter have been rebuilding slowly.
i said it 5 yrs ago when i saw all the young lads playing with the view that they will be strong around 2010-2011 season and i wasnt far wrong.
Pikes bubble will burst eventaully and they'll end up the same way for a few seasons as all the other teams are experiencing.........:eek:
viewman76
11/06/2009, 3:57 PM
Stop Press.......
Pike players to get next seasons forms weeks before everybody else !!!!
wonder how that might happen...?
ah you mean there personal expenses contracts :p
On The Ball
11/06/2009, 5:52 PM
Good Morning lads...great to read that there are only two teams in the premier division of football in limerick.........
Will shane clarke be back when the eircom league finishes or is he there for good?
blinkx
11/06/2009, 8:21 PM
Lads im gonna throw a spanner in the works here.
Yes pike have been a consistent team the last few seasons and all credit to them but look at it from this angle.
there only consistent at a local level theyve shown week in week out they can beat the teams in their own league but what have they won at national level or provincial level for that matter for over the last 10 years?
whose gonna replace the likes of macgarry enright moloney hartnett a few of there more senior players have maybe 1 or 2 seasons left.
Whereas the likes of fairview the boro and balla wembley regional and even carew for that matter have been rebuilding slowly.
i said it 5 yrs ago when i saw all the young lads playing with the view that they will be strong around 2010-2011 season and i wasnt far wrong.
Pikes bubble will burst eventaully and they'll end up the same way for a few seasons as all the other teams are experiencing.........:eek:
Right lets Break it down and put ages to a few players....
Smackers : 24
Hartnett : 24
Mullins : 20
Gregg : 21
O'Shea : 22
McGarry : 28
Corbett : 25
Hanrahan : 18
O'Donovan : 21
Boyle : 22
And Moloney for good measure, he's what 26/27?
There's 11 players for good measure...I'd hardly say they've only got "1 or 2 seasons left in them" , Connie will no doubt be adding at least 3/4 players to that mix this summer. And by the time the current bunch are put out to pasture, the Schoolboy(Currently teams in every grade to U-15's) setup will be as strong as it was pre Mick Noonan.
In what was a hilariously One sided rant, I fail to see what any other Limerick Team has won at a national or provincial level in the last 5 years? 2 MJC's in a 5 year span is hardly a bad run for any club.
So CrazyhorseIV if your going to take the time out to post a nonchalant post about Pike Rovers please please take the time out to make sure you've got ALL your lovely little facts right.
Apologies to everyone else for this Pike spiel. Just don't attack a team UNLESS you've got the facts straight.
On The Ball
11/06/2009, 9:36 PM
There's 11 players for good measure...I'd hardly say they've only got "1 or 2 seasons left in them" , Connie will no doubt be adding at least 3/4 players to that mix this summer. And by the time the current bunch are put out to pasture, the Schoolboy(Currently teams in every grade to U-15's) setup will be as strong as it was pre Mick Noonan.
In what was a hilariously One sided rant, I fail to see what any other Limerick Team has won at a national or provincial level in the last 5 years? 2 MJC's in a 5 year span is hardly a bad run for any club.
So CrazyhorseIV if your going to take the time out to post a nonchalant post about Pike Rovers please please take the time out to make sure you've got ALL your lovely little facts right.
Apologies to everyone else for this Pike spiel. Just don't attack a team UNLESS you've got the facts straight.
Hartnett,mcgarry,boyle and moloney are definitely older but its junior soccer,they'll be well able for it for a good few seasons.
CrazyhorseIV
11/06/2009, 9:48 PM
DID I MANAGE TO HIT A NERVE THERE!!!!!!!!!!:eek:
Well then blinkx lets put things back into perspestive here
you've only named 11 players there do you honestly think that pike or any team for that matter could start and finish a season with only 11 players.
GIVE ME A BREAK.now of that 11 theres definately 2 if not 3 of those younger lads who are good enough to play L.O.I. who'll replace those if they go.
I honestly think you need to recap on your arithmatic there too someone benn telling porkies about there ages......
youve left some of yer SO CALLED star players so on the bench at that rate.do ye have cover for the young lads or is it the other way round ye have cover for the older ones
MITCHELL
ENRIGHT
PURCELL
CONNIE
CASEY
BENNIS
SNIFFER
O GRADY
NABS
but then again its a squad game isnt it.;)
if you dive back a couple of posts through last season there i think youll find that some of the players named have loyalties to GAA
ALL IM SAYING IS PIKE LIKE EVERY OTHER CLUB IN THE TOWN IS GOING TO GET CAUGHT UP BY AGE AND THERE IS NO SUBSTITUTE THAT CAN REPLACE THAT......
What about Purcell,Mitchell,Enright,nabbs,Sniffer,did you forget them,and Hartnett 24 will you stop he has a face like someone thats a 104,and the last time mcgarry seen 28 it was on a door
blinkx
11/06/2009, 11:23 PM
What about Purcell,Mitchell,Enright,nabbs,Sniffer,did you forget them,and Hartnett 24 will you stop he has a face like someone thats a 104,and the last time mcgarry seen 28 it was on a door
Apologies, Hartnett is now 25..
http://www.limerickindependent.com/sport/sport/the-sport-profile-%11-keith-harnett/
All I'm saying is Pike aren't exactly Ancient by any standards, On a give day they could field one of the youngst teams in the League. I'd reckon the Fairview Squad is roughly around the same average age...
12/06/2009, 9:10 AM
CrazyhorseIV, turn off your CAPS LOCK please.
http://foot.ie/forums/misc.php?do=showrules#txtcaps
DID I MANAGE TO HIT A NERVE THERE!!!!!!!!!!:eek:
[..]
ALL IM SAYING IS PIKE LIKE EVERY OTHER CLUB IN THE TOWN IS GOING TO GET CAUGHT UP BY AGE AND THERE IS NO SUBSTITUTE THAT CAN REPLACE THAT......
trueview6
12/06/2009, 9:39 AM
and by the way (ger) stop pretending your pike you have never played for pike,how many years did you play premier 2 id say one wih regional you struggled so you dropped a division stop fouling the site and yourself.
hoops12
12/06/2009, 10:55 AM
tis a squad game, no team ever won trophies with just 11 to choose from all season.....
still much better to be sitting on the boat that waving at it as it passes most by....:D
brilliant
hoops12
12/06/2009, 10:57 AM
love the way this site tries to manage pike every year
hoops12
12/06/2009, 11:02 AM
just found out conny is gone to UCD big loss to pike but best of luck to him twas only matter of time before he bettered himself,Dobber is after taking over with casey so bit of continuity anyway
hoops12
12/06/2009, 11:05 AM
just found out conny is gone to UCD big loss to pike but best of luck to him twas only matter of time before he bettered himself,Dobber is after taking over with casey so bit of continuity anyway
and shane hanlon to carew park
Apologies, Hartnett is now 25..
http://www.limerickindependent.com/sport/sport/the-sport-profile-%11-keith-harnett/
All I'm saying is Pike aren't exactly Ancient by any standards, On a give day they could field one of the youngst teams in the League. I'd reckon the Fairview Squad is roughly around the same average age...
blinkx your right pike have enough young players to cope.people are talking as if its premier football in england and training seven days a week.Hartnett still has at least six or seven good years left in him as for nabbs he is 25 but is out at the moment waiting for an operation on his knee then going back to newmarket celtic.
celticlads
12/06/2009, 11:56 AM
connie is still with pike and will be pike manager next year.hoops your a bit off there for a pike man. 100% connie is with ye next year and has a couple of good new signings too.
viewman76
12/06/2009, 12:36 PM
the charlevile goal keeper i think his name is marchin ( polish lad) is signing with us.... our A team
dines08
12/06/2009, 12:52 PM
Big guy with long hair? Looks like a terminator?
CrazyhorseIV
12/06/2009, 2:56 PM
Sorry Dahampsta.
And blinkx i agree with what your saying but the only point im trying to make is do you think that...... not wanting to step on anyones toes here.... that the young lads that most teams are starting to blood in would have the discipline to take clubs through big national and provential games.
I dont think so myself i think i takes at least 4 to 5 yrs of playing at junior level with experienced senior players in there teams to teach them.
My point being that if the upper end of the table clubs were to loose those players to retirement injury or anything else then i couldn imagine those clubs being as successful......
and shane hanlon to carew park
Dont think SOOOOOOOOO
skill school
12/06/2009, 4:32 PM
The last few days posting has been absolutly brilliant . Whats the problem with connie looking to scout talent around the town . he is the only manager with balls to go out and work for his club in the off season . Thats what delivers silverware every year . If every club had a connie there would be a lot competion in the premier league . Whats the point with the fairview posters being so bitter its up to yerselfs to deliver a league trophy . :D
trueview6
12/06/2009, 5:39 PM
The last few days posting has been absolutly brilliant . Whats the problem with connie looking to scout talent around the town . he is the only manager with balls to go out and work for his club in the off season . Thats what delivers silverware every year . If every club had a connie there would be a lot competion in the premier league . Whats the point with the fairview posters being so bitter its up to yerselfs to deliver a league trophy . :D
What a crap post lots of managers work there butts off ye have the pike management team up in the air with all the crap on this site,ye would swear connie and casey are the only two managers that put in the hours jason puts in serious time,ian o sullivan and daithi put alot of time into football,there is more than one team in limerick and i doubt it if connie will move from pike if he does best of luck to him.
12/06/2009, 6:01 PM
Sorry Dahampsta.Thanks.
viewman76
12/06/2009, 6:16 PM
Big guy with long hair? Looks like a terminator?
ya thats him, did ye play against him is he any good
CrazyhorseIV
12/06/2009, 7:38 PM
I think the reason alot of the town have a problem with pike in general is that there confident to the point of being cocky and arrogant in peoples minds.
theres a fine line between them but hand on heart can die hard pike fan honestly say that pike have won more than fairview...... i think not:eek:
its the liverpool man u argument but at a local scale.......:D:D
the real deal
12/06/2009, 8:13 PM
beans :Dto the boro oscar told me today
any truth about you going to balla:confused: