View Full Version : Rugby Union 2009

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17

02/05/2009, 8:45 PM
Too many Munster Lions already on the plane to SA.

Wallace, O'Callaghan, O'Gara, O'Connell anonymous. Quinlan's only contribution was to gouge Cullen. Only Flannery and Earls put themselves about. Earls had a go, but must now he is ony a support player on Lions Tour.

SunnySweeney
02/05/2009, 9:39 PM
Somebody told me that about 12 or 13 years ago 456 people was the total attendance for a Munster V Leinster game. Munster by the grace of God my hole.

Munster's delusional image of their own history is only matched buy their total lack of imagination in the songs they sing.

Why do Munster fans sign the Fields of Athenry? If they are representing a region, shouldn't they have a song that is particularly embodying of the region that they come from.

Muppets & bandwagon jumpers - as a Munsterman myself I was delighted to see the great dyed in the wool ("sure it's our DNA" !!!) Munster machine get rolled over today.

02/05/2009, 10:19 PM
My parents were on the train this morning coming up to Dublin. They said the arrogance of the Munster fans on the train was unreal. Most of them were chatting about who they would prefer to play in the final when they won. I would say most of the stupid bitches who have latched on to Munster Rugby over the last few years do not know how to handle a defeat like this.

gaiscíoch
02/05/2009, 10:48 PM
I'm delighted Leinster won I had a few bob on them too.

If you think it's bad hearing it in Dublin try listen to it in Limerick "the home of Rugby" can't quite figure that out?
Munster this Munster that it drives me mental. I asked a few of them who makes rugby balls all I got back was "Your a bitter B**tard".

I feel genuinely sorry for the players and for the real fans Munster have. Some of them are really knowledgable about rugby and always respect the opposition.

Some of the lads around town have never played or watched a rugby game until Munster started to become successful delightfully it's coming to the end of an era for rugby in Munster. Most of the main men are pushing on in years.

Hopefully those who fall off the band wagon will get back to talking about what they know most about Junior Football.

Aberdonian Stu
02/05/2009, 11:33 PM
Damn that was one sweet way to put all the critics to rest today. There was genuine hatred in some of the hits dished out today, it was great.

shaneker
03/05/2009, 2:48 PM
I was watching in Prague (I believe the only red shirt in a very full pub!) and I have to say I'm absolutely gutted, my Dad is a Leinster fan and he will never let me live this down. Pleased to see an Irish team in the final but I wish they could have beaten someone else on the way!

The better team won is an understatement, Leinster wanted it more and we just didn't turn up - the parallels with '06 are crazy (even the intercept try at the end, anyone remember Halstead at Lansdowne?).

Anyway, I'm massively disappointed but I'll be shouting for Leinster in the final, lets keep the cup in Ireland. As for Munster, we'll be back...but right now, congrats to the blues and good luck, have to be odds-on for the trophy now.

03/05/2009, 3:43 PM
Damn that was one sweet way to put all the critics to rest today. There was genuine hatred in some of the hits dished out today, it was great.

One match won't put the critics to rest, although it will quieten down the Munster fans for a while.

Leinster need to go on and win it now. Only that will take away the underachievers tag.

If they can play with 70-80% of the defensive intensity of yesterday (a big ask), then they'll win it.

03/05/2009, 3:45 PM
Anyone watching Cardiff-Leicester? Brilliant finish to normal time. Hope Cardiff go on to win the match now.

03/05/2009, 3:55 PM
Fair play to Leinster. They never allowed Munster to get going yesterday, and got what they deserved. A few too many Lions in red shirts minding themselves, perhaps?

Leinster defended like their lives depended on it and were quite clinical. They certainly proved me wrong.

On a side note, knowing Alan Quinlan personally, I can honestly say that while what he did was inexcusable, he is not the type to malicously do something like eye gouge. Cheika and Cullen both defended him afterwards, and I hope it doesnt cost him his place on the Lions tour.

03/05/2009, 3:58 PM
On a side note, knowing Alan Quinlan personally, I can honestly say that while what he did was inexcusable, he is not the type to malicously do something like eye gouge. Cheika and Cullen both defended him afterwards, and I hope it doesnt cost him his place on the Lions tour.
How can it be anything other than malicious? There's no excuses for what he did and, even if he means he misses the Lions tour, he deserves a lengthy suspension.

old git
03/05/2009, 6:08 PM
I'm delighted Leinster won I had a few bob on them too.

If you think it's bad hearing it in Dublin try listen to it in Limerick "the home of Rugby" can't quite figure that out?
Munster this Munster that it drives me mental. I asked a few of them who makes rugby balls all I got back was "Your a bitter B**tard".

I feel genuinely sorry for the players and for the real fans Munster have. Some of them are really knowledgable about rugby and always respect the opposition.

Some of the lads around town have never played or watched a rugby game until Munster started to become successful delightfully it's coming to the end of an era for rugby in Munster. Most of the main men are pushing on in years.

Hopefully those who fall off the band wagon will get back to talking about what they know most about Junior Football.

would agree with you totally was in a pub yesterday and some of the crew supporting munster would not know what a rugby ball is if you passed it to them to many fairweather fans they would not even go out and support their local teams .. but it is the same for all sports once your succesusful you always get the hanger ons only around for the good times .. atmosphere was like a morgue when leinster started to pull away in match :mad:

03/05/2009, 6:53 PM
I was expecting a close game yesterday......Munster appeared flat and maybe overconfidence cost them. Leinster were ferocious in defence and picked them apart.

Rashers Baptisa
03/05/2009, 7:42 PM
I was absolutely sickeded at the end of the match. I was very nervous before the match. I felt there was too much writing off of the Leinster boys. WE got whipped like a red headed step son.

I had flights, hotels, a limo and tickets booked for the final. Just gutted!

I hear they had the big screen booked in Limerick for the day of the final - I hope they kept the receipt.

03/05/2009, 7:43 PM
Good fun in the other semi. Never witnessed a penalty shoot out before. Superb tension

04/05/2009, 12:51 AM
I was absolutely sickeded at the end of the match. I was very nervous before the match. I felt there was too much writing off of the Leinster boys. WE got whipped like a red headed step son.

I had flights, hotels, a limo and tickets booked for the final. Just gutted!

I hear they had the big screen booked in Limerick for the day of the final - I hope they kept the receipt.

Sorry but this is the funniest post I have read in a long time. Limo, wtf do you need a f*cking limo for.

04/05/2009, 1:16 AM
Sorry but this is the funniest post I have read in a long time. Limo, wtf do you need a f*cking limo for.

Limo? I think he meant a bandwagon. :D

04/05/2009, 2:01 AM
Good fun in the other semi. Never witnessed a penalty shoot out before. Superb tension

Yep, great stuff. 20 minutes extra time and no score. Same number of tries each so it went to a penalty shoot out. Leicester were the first to miss so Cardiff had the chance to win and they scuffed it wide. Missed another one as well so Leicester won. Interesting that there was no jumping on top of the final place kicker like in soccer (Sort of "We are men , we don't do that sort of thing"). Was hoping Cardiff would get through as I think Leinster would have a better chance against them as Leicester were the better side.

Greenforever
04/05/2009, 2:06 AM
WOuldnt it be great if 2 Irish soccer clubs were to meet in a Champons League semi....I know it's been posted and debated before but if we only took a leaf out of the IRFU book, as posted earlier 10 - 15 yrs ago a Leinster Munster game would be lucky to attract 500 people.

Must say it was a great feeling standing on the hill watching BOD running towards me to say hello with the ball under his arm :D:D

Rashers Baptisa
05/05/2009, 8:04 AM
I would have needed a limo to get from my house to Shannon airport and the same over in Scotland. All the helicopters were booked for the day of the final. That's how I roll!

Saturday evening still has not sunk in. They beat us like a dirty yard dog.

05/05/2009, 8:36 AM
How can it be anything other than malicious? There's no excuses for what he did and, even if he means he misses the Lions tour, he deserves a lengthy suspension.If his view of Cullen was obstructed.

I haven't seen footage yet which shows where Quinlan was looking. If he was looking at Cullen and could see what he was doing, then its anopen and closed case.

If not, then he deserves the benefit of the doubt.

05/05/2009, 9:05 AM
If his view of Cullen was obstructed.

I haven't seen footage yet which shows where Quinlan was looking. If he was looking at Cullen and could see what he was doing, then its anopen and closed case.

He was behind him, he grabbed his face and then proceeded to poke his fingers into his eye socket. It looks horrific, it was probably a very rash moment of frustration in the heat of the battle, but it's pretty unforgivable, I think the grovelling apologies were the result of the realisation that he was heading for a lenghty ban and missing out on the lions tour. HAving seen it a few time I don't see how it could possibly have been an accident, it's not like Quinlan gets knocked off balance or anything, where he might be able to claim he just made a grab to stop himself from falling.

05/05/2009, 9:33 AM

The clawing motion of his fingers is difficult to explain as anything but an attempt to gouge. I'd hope it was all accidental but I just can't see how it could be.

Shilts
05/05/2009, 9:33 AM
Congratulations to all the Irish players who got selected for the Lions touring team. However, why are we still clinging to the coat tails of the Empire in the twenty-first century?

If the 6 nations put together a team for some reason I could see how we would want to be a part of it but why are we the only tag-ons to the Brits?

I don't see France or Italy wanting to be part of it, and as an independant country why should we?

Also, everyone in the UK refers to the team as the British Lions, not the full title British and Irish Lions - have a look at the tours available on the net to go and see the British Lions.

Either we are independant or we are not, or do our rugby crowd still like to think that they are part of the Empire??

Also big congrats to Leinster who out-munstered Munster all over the park.

Someone said to me that Limerick lads always bottle it in Croke Park :D

Quinlan should be banned for his eye-gouging antics. If this means he misses the British Lions tour then he can blame nobody but himself. Tough luck and recover soon to O'Leary.

05/05/2009, 9:37 AM
A great performance by Leinster - didn't let Munster get going at all. A repeat of that and they will win.

I'm especially delighted for the Lunsters. Provincial Rugby is a bandwagon, as has been said the old inter pro's had poor attendances. Munsters bandwagon just got going quicker (Leinsters arguably the more sustainable slow build). However, it shows something about the Irish psyche that even with a local successful team people would still bypass that to support the more glamorous and successful team down the road (and come up with nonsense reasons to justify it).

05/05/2009, 9:38 AM
Shilts, What part of the name British and Irish Lions don't you get?

Rashers Baptisa
05/05/2009, 10:24 AM
Anyone else think that Leo Cullen looks like a cross between Dirk Kuyt for Liverpool and BFG (Big Friendly Giant)?

I think what Quinny did was terrible (if he meant it). He could have blinded Cullen and possibly tarnished his rugged looks!

Pious37
05/05/2009, 10:45 AM
Leo Cullen Miley from Glenroe

http://www.bbc.co.uk/northernireland/irish/blas/images/mick_lally_big.jpg http://images.planetrugby.com/08/09/247/LeoCullen_1229986.jpg

Oh Holy God!!!

05/05/2009, 11:25 AM
any truth in the independent article that Munster fans are selling their tickets to Leicester fans over Leinster fans?

http://www.independent.ie/sport/rugby/heineken-cup/leinsterrsquos-heineken-cup-ticket-fury-1728801.html

Rashers Baptisa
05/05/2009, 12:34 PM
any truth in the independent article that Munster fans are selling their tickets to Leicester fans over Leinster fans?

http://www.independent.ie/sport/rugby/heineken-cup/leinsterrsquos-heineken-cup-ticket-fury-1728801.html

I really hope there is no truth to this. I hope that all my fellow Munster supporters get behind the remaining Irish team. I trully wish Leinster the best of luck in the final.

Bring it home lads

05/05/2009, 12:41 PM

is that a big deal?

05/05/2009, 12:57 PM
is that a big deal?

sh**ty thing to do if you ask me.

05/05/2009, 1:07 PM
WOuldnt it be great if 2 Irish soccer clubs were to meet in a Champons League semi....I know it's been posted and debated before but if we only took a leaf out of the IRFU book, as posted earlier 10 - 15 yrs ago a Leinster Munster game would be lucky to attract 500 people.

I am not sure the Provincial format would work in Irish soccer. Club rugby games are still sparsely attended. In what way should soccer here follow rugby?

05/05/2009, 1:14 PM

some are, but most are either still going, or offering their tickets to Leinster fans.
There's a thread on munsterfans.com for people looking to offload tickets, and one on leinsterfans.com for the same reason.
From people I know with flights, tickets and accomodation, the majority are still going

From my own experience of the final, the biggest problem is going to be getting to Edinburgh, tickets are always available on the day.

05/05/2009, 1:28 PM
From my own experience of the final, the biggest problem is going to be getting to Edinburgh, tickets are always available on the day.Accommodation is a pain as well. Although, having said that our route includes the Dun Laoghaire ferry to Holyhead. :eek:

Youths4Ever
05/05/2009, 2:08 PM
accommodation is not to bad yet just keep checking as some people canceling and an option is to rent a house andfit as many as possible. The cost of getting there is looking so high not sure will be able to go

05/05/2009, 2:16 PM
Y4E, look into flying over the day before to Liverpool/Manchester/Birmingham/London and staying in Glasgow. There's trains to Edinburgh every half hour from there.

Youths4Ever
05/05/2009, 2:56 PM
Y4E, look into flying over the day before to Liverpool/Manchester/Birmingham/London and staying in Glasgow. There's trains to Edinburgh every half hour from there.

Yeah looking into it at moment looking better than other options anyway.

05/05/2009, 3:16 PM
Have a look on wikipedia and check what low cost airlines fly to Glasgow and Edinburgh from Europe. E.g. Hahn, Charleroi etc. The obscurer the better.

That should work out cheaper (if a lot longer).

05/05/2009, 4:15 PM
A great performance by Leinster - didn't let Munster get going at all. A repeat of that and they will win.

I'm especially delighted for the Lunsters. Provincial Rugby is a bandwagon, as has been said the old inter pro's had poor attendances. Munsters bandwagon just got going quicker (Leinsters arguably the more sustainable slow build). However, it shows something about the Irish psyche that even with a local successful team people would still bypass that to support the more glamorous and successful team down the road (and come up with nonsense reasons to justify it).

Despite all the controversy over the Lunsters guess which football teams are supported by the Leinster players?

Try Bohs, Pats or Rovers!!!!! Err no guess again. Brian O'Driscoll is a loyal Man Utd fan. :rolleyes: So it's OK for Dublin people to support a British football team rather than an Irish one but not an Irish rugby team?

Anyway well done to Leinster - well deserved win.

Youths4Ever
05/05/2009, 5:05 PM
Despite all the controversy over the Lunsters guess which football teams are supported by the Leinster players?

Try Bohs, Pats or Rovers!!!!! Err no guess again. Brian O'Driscoll is a loyal Man Utd fan. :rolleyes: So it's OK for Dublin people to support a British football team rather than an Irish one but not an Irish rugby team?

Anyway well done to Leinster - well deserved win.

and I am guessing that Munster players support LOI clubs in Munster :rolleyes:

05/05/2009, 5:32 PM

NZYbZQQ3q0Q (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NZYbZQQ3q0Q)

Pretty conclusive.

Youths4Ever
05/05/2009, 8:06 PM

Have a look on wikipedia and check what low cost airlines fly to Glasgow and Edinburgh from Europe. E.g. Hahn, Charleroi etc. The obscurer the better.

That should work out cheaper (if a lot longer).

thanks for the help almost sorted now all I need now is a ticket :D

06/05/2009, 8:18 AM
So it's OK for Dublin people to support a British football team rather than an Irish one but not an Irish rugby team?
My point was that it shows that many Irish people will always go for the more glamourous/ successful option rather than support their local side, whatever the sport be that football or rugby. The Lunsters are just another example of glory hunters who'll come up with any old horse crap to justify going with the "better" option.

06/05/2009, 10:21 AM
NZYbZQQ3q0Q (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NZYbZQQ3q0Q)

Pretty conclusive.

Agree, hadn't seen the second angle before.

06/05/2009, 11:00 AM
and I am guessing that Munster players support LOI clubs in Munster :rolleyes:

No but they didn't complain about people following a team from outside their area.

06/05/2009, 11:31 AM
No but they didn't complain about people following a team from outside their area.
I'm not aware the leinster players did either?

06/05/2009, 12:49 PM
I'm not aware the leinster players did either?

http://www.independent.ie/sport/rugby/lions-tour/rivalry-forgotten-as-odriscoll-thoughts-with-injured-oleary-1720736.html

06/05/2009, 1:14 PM
http://www.independent.ie/sport/rugby/lions-tour/rivalry-forgotten-as-odriscoll-thoughts-with-injured-oleary-1720736.html
Fair enough, but very mild mannered, he hardly did a Reggie Corrigan on them.

Shilts
06/05/2009, 3:06 PM
Shilts, What part of the name British and Irish Lions don't you get?

I'm getting plenty of unsolicited emails - British Lions Tours, British Lions Kit etc. Everybody outside the UK, basically the 3 southern hemisphere countries looks on the Lions as a British team.

Also, the kit has the colours of the four comprising teams - not a lot of green on it is there? (the tops of the socks! why bother?) :D !!!!

Great idea if you want to be part of the British Empire. And a lot in the IRFU do. But I think, we as an independant country shouldn't be a part of this outdated jingoism!

06/05/2009, 8:49 PM
I'm getting plenty of unsolicited emails - British Lions Tours, British Lions Kit etc. Everybody outside the UK, basically the 3 southern hemisphere countries looks on the Lions as a British team.

Also, the kit has the colours of the four comprising teams - not a lot of green on it is there? (the tops of the socks! why bother?) :D !!!!

Great idea if you want to be part of the British Empire. And a lot in the IRFU do. But I think, we as an independant country shouldn't be a part of this outdated jingoism!

Shilts, this is a rugby thread where we have happily been discussing rugby related issues. I'm pretty sure all of us who contribute to it would like it kept that way. If you want to talk politics, open a thread about it in off-topic would you?

No offence meant, but can you please stick to the game and not the political history? Thanks.