View Full Version : Rugby Union 2009

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17

21/03/2009, 7:02 PM
Jaysus, that last penalty wasn't easy on the heart, I nearly chucked up inside the house!
Still can't really believe what has just happened, absolute legends, one and all

historynut
21/03/2009, 7:03 PM
As a taff - congratulations and well done - about time !!
What a finnish - believe Wallace was set to apply for political asylum !!
Re the mind games in the week - you lot know theres only one team we hate - england.
Enjoy the night and let the black stuff flow !!!!!!!!1

21/03/2009, 7:03 PM
great watchin the games with you SI and SS. thanks for all the links and stuff over the last 2months.!

21/03/2009, 7:06 PM
great watchin the games with you SI and SS. thanks for all the links and stuff over the last 2months.!
Cheers to you too and thanks for providing links also. I think we'll crown you the Tiger Woods of the links...:D

Now, off to the local for some more of the black stuff!

21/03/2009, 7:18 PM
What a game. What a team. What a finish. BOD magnificent as ever. O'Gara was ropey but more than made up for it with the drop goal.

SuperDub
21/03/2009, 7:33 PM
Great result, Great game. Delight for the team in general.

21/03/2009, 7:42 PM
Jaysus, that last penalty wasn't easy on the heart, I nearly chucked up inside the house!
Still can't really believe what has just happened, absolute legends, one and all

I was exactly the same, I don't think those players would have ever recovered had they lost that game. Now they're absolute legends and will be remembered forever, the way they started that second half was nothing short of phenomenal.

21/03/2009, 7:49 PM
Sport doesn't half turn your emotions upside down (and back again!) sometimes.

O'Connell and BOD were superhuman. O'Driscoll's body position for the try was other worldly, as were some of O'Connells lineout takes.

So happy for them, the expectation must have been like a noose around their necks.

21/03/2009, 8:14 PM
Fantastic achievement and a brilliant moment for the whole of Ireland. The whole team, staff and Kidney deserve all the plaudits that come their way. 6-0 at half time I was still confident we would prevail but 1 moment of lunacy from Paddy Walace and the whole world came crashing down......thankfully Jones missed the kick. Unreal tension and I cannot imagine how the players felt in the 80th minute as they made the slow walk to the posts to await the penalty. Paddy Wallace I'd buy a lotto ticket tonight because your one lucky man!!!

O'Connell was a monster today in the lineout. David Wallace was everywhere. Tommy Bowe has to be a cert for the lions and BOD was BOD. I've stayed in tonight and watched it sober because I have a big expensive week ahead (Bulgaria game for 4 nights) so I'll have to celebrate properly next week but tonight I'm one happy Irish supporter.

Chokers? They handled the pressure with style and turned up for every minute.

21/03/2009, 8:28 PM
If it was ever in doubt O'Drisoll joined the Rugby Legends club today.

Great day, great result, but what was worrying was the lack of Irish discipline.

I think O'Callaghan's stupidity today (not once but twice) has cost him a place on the Lions tour, while Tommy Bowe played himself in. Tomas O'Leary is probably the weakest of all the 6 nations scrum halves, his style certainly does not suit this Irish team's game.

We are 3 or 4 players in the first 15 short of being ready to challenge the Southern Hemisphere and when you see Mick O'Driscoll and Denis Leamy on the bench it shows we have very limited strength in depth.

Great heart, great belief and a great team ethic have seen us through this year but fair play, you can only beat what is put in front of you and the scroreboard says we certainly did that.

I have no idea of the odds but I reckon we will be 3rd favourites behind England and France to win the 6 nations next year.

21/03/2009, 8:31 PM
Not that it's worth dwelling on, but O'Callaghan would also have deserved a kick in the hole along with Wallace.

21/03/2009, 8:49 PM
yeah O'Callaghan was a silly boy on two occasions but I thought Barnes should have awarded us a penalty when the Welsh prop taunted Horan. Where was the consistency? O'Callaghan acts the clown a few moments before and it's a penalty. Looking at the match stats we conceded 15 penalties in total. Shocking. Wales? 5.

Superhoops I think your being a tad harsh on Leamy. Quality player. Losing Ferris was a blow but at least we had someone of Leamy's calibre to step into the fold.

21/03/2009, 8:58 PM
Unbelievably tense game but a great win in the end. Paddy Wallace looking suitably sheepish after the game.
O'Driscoll and O'Connell are legends. Fair dues to ROG for getting the winning kick after a fierce hammering in the first half.

21/03/2009, 9:51 PM
Fair play to them they were all fantastic throughout the whole tournament and to beat Wales in their own back-yard is an outstanding achievment.

O'Connell, Heaslip, O'Driscoll were outstanding through the whole tournament and will surely form a key part of the Lions team.
In the game today I feel John Hayes deserves special mention as in my opinion he was absolutely fantastic.

And isn't Donncha O'Callaghan a lucky boy??? Would have rounded off a very poor campaign for him. O'Connell's back must be fecked from carrying him!

aidz1
21/03/2009, 11:28 PM
Buladh bus
well in
you;ll never beat the irish

SunnySweeney
21/03/2009, 11:55 PM

Cheers lads - pleasure - it's the first 6 nations championship that I've been able to watch (from beginning to end) in a couple of years but it was so worth it in the end ... huh?

Now as the song says "C'mon Barbie, Let's go party"

Rovers fan
22/03/2009, 1:32 AM
Great win:) Delighted for BOD after being written off by so many. Pity I was bloody working:( Tbf, quality wise it wasn't the best 6 nations ever but give a feck, we won it:D O ya and the amount of overnight rugby fans is ridiculous(not on here,just in general). Great win though, fair play to kidney as well,genius!

22/03/2009, 2:35 AM
If he had kicked that last ball a bit harder we would have lost!!

22/03/2009, 4:17 AM
if my auntie had bolloks she'd be my uncle!

Claret Murph
22/03/2009, 4:43 AM
Two words only .

GRAND SLAM ..............................:):):)

22/03/2009, 8:57 AM
typically my compter started acting up with 10 mins to go - was watching in via BBc i player

Just so happy to see the smug smile wiped off Gatlands face - i mean its wales FFS:mad:

pity there isnt a world cup this summer, ireland would def be contenders

22/03/2009, 10:14 AM
If he had kicked that last ball a bit harder we would have lost!!

I wonder if Dan Marino has been on the phone to him yet. :D

It was funny that on the immediatley previous penalty he was praised by the beebs commentator for his "economy of effort".

Delighted for the Irish lads.

22/03/2009, 11:27 AM
Great show of character by the Irish. Great stuff. Went through about five Guinness in the second half.

For the start of the second half, yes. The rest was Kamikhasi stuff. The "show of character" could have lost us the game. 17 stupid penalties to 3 or 4. Madness utter madness giving away that penalty in the last minute and the fact that Jones was kicking in to the wind saved us. Must be a record for a team to win without actually scoring from a penalty. Amazing that Ireland just about beat Scotland, France, England and Wales but are grand slam champions.

It was the epitome of Irish sport. Everything was about to be thrown away in the last minute but for once the sporting Gods looked favourably upon us instead of breaking our hearts. Incredible stuff.

3 or 4 feet the difference between heroes to zeroes. That's why we love sport. The RTE panel didn't show that last miniute penalty. The 2 Irish tries, the 2 drop goals yes, but for me it is that missed penalty (the dagger ready to be plunged in to our green hearts) which will live long in the memory.

Ni feicimid a leiteid aris.

22/03/2009, 2:08 PM
A few highlights from yesterday for all to relive once again...Not sure how long it'll remain up on the site.

SFbe7vvEqjA

22/03/2009, 7:04 PM
For the start of the second half, yes. The rest was Kamikhasi stuff. The "show of character" could have lost us the game. 17 stupid penalties to 3 or 4. Madness utter madness giving away that penalty in the last minute and the fact that Jones was kicking in to the wind saved us. Must be a record for a team to win without actually scoring from a penalty. Amazing that Ireland just about beat Scotland, France, England and Wales but are grand slam champions.

It was the epitome of Irish sport. Everything was about to be thrown away in the last minute but for once the sporting Gods looked favourably upon us instead of breaking our hearts. Incredible stuff.

3 or 4 feet the difference between heroes to zeroes. That's why we love sport. The RTE panel didn't show that last miniute penalty. The 2 Irish tries, the 2 drop goals yes, but for me it is that missed penalty (the dagger ready to be plunged in to our green hearts) which will live long in the memory.

Ni feicimid a leiteid aris.You watched a different match from me.

We scored two tries to none.

The Welsh penalty was hardly a gimmie, 48 metres with a tired leg.

If that's what your memory is you are doing a huge disservice to a great team performance. I'll remember BO'D wriggling over like a worm, Paulie taking that one handed lineout and Tommy Bowe leaving Shane Williams in his wake.

22/03/2009, 7:16 PM

If that's what your memory is you are doing a huge disservice to a great team performance. I'll remember BO'D wriggling over like a worm, Paulie taking that one handed lineout and Tommy Bowe leaving Shane Williams in his wake.All true but I still could have strangled Paddy Wallace when he gave away that penalty.

22/03/2009, 7:52 PM
I rewatched the game again today and I still expect Jones to make that kick right at the end. One game that will be staying on the hard drive for years to come. O'Gara deserves a lot of credit for his second half performance. The kick that put Bowe in was perfection.

How many Irish lads do you expect to make the Lions first team?

Flannery, POC, Wallace, Ferris, BOD and Bowe must be nailed on don't you think? I'd say Heaslip and Kearney would also be close.

22/03/2009, 8:39 PM
Flannery, POC, Wallace, Ferris, BOD and Bowe must be nailed on don't you think? I'd say Heaslip and Kearney would also be close.
Despite winning the grand slam I can't see Ireland dominating selection with the backroom panel that has been chosen.

BOD and POC are the only ones that are guaranteed.

Kearney has certainly played himself into contention but I would not have him ahead of Lee Byrne. Armitage also in with a good shout at for full back. Bowe has a great shot. He's had a great tournament and I would have him the starting XV.

Our back row has been superb but I think that Williams and Jones will be in contention too.

22/03/2009, 9:40 PM
A little bit of me wants Wales to win. Just to stop this hype...

For the record I cheered when jones missed and I'm delighed for the team. Sod the bandwagon

Scram
22/03/2009, 10:29 PM
SHANE BYRNE BLOG - INTERESTING (http://blog.ireland.com/itb_shanebyrne?cmpid=pigsback_hintlink)

Prediction; If we can stay within 5-7 points of Wales at half-time, we will win.

Well, 6 points was right in there!

Well done Ireland....................and thank you Paddy Power :D

shaneker
23/03/2009, 6:54 AM
Simply unbelievable, what a game. Have only just begun to come down off the ceiling. Please God that will be a boost to the footballers now, can only provide a bit of inspiration.

Also - if anyone has a copy of that game which could be sent, could they send me a PM? Would be over the moon if I could rewatch it. Thanks.

Scram
23/03/2009, 7:12 AM
Simply unbelievable, what a game. Have only just begun to come down off the ceiling. Please God that will be a boost to the footballers now, can only provide a bit of inspiration.

Also - if anyone has a copy of that game which could be sent, could they send me a PM? Would be over the moon if I could rewatch it. Thanks.

Can you view any of the content on RTE website? THe highlights are good, you may be able to view in Stand Alone Real Player, You Tube also!

The Premiership footballers could certainly learn a lot from these lads, they seem like a bunch of lads playing for any local club with no egos, modest and appreciative of their positions and the support of the fans, whilst the team leaders are recognised and are real leaders.

The scum in Dail Eireann could also certainly learn from them!

23/03/2009, 9:19 AM
You watched a different match from me.

If that's what your memory is you are doing a huge disservice to a great team performance. I'll remember BO'D wriggling over like a worm, Paulie taking that one handed lineout and Tommy Bowe leaving Shane Williams in his wake.

My memory is of a fantastic win but one that was almost thrown away in typical Irish fashion in the last minute. The Irish were the better team but it all came down to that penalty kick. There would be no talk of heroes, grand slams, character etc etc if that kick went over. Such is the thin dividing line between success and utter dejection (albeit Ireland would still have won the Championship).

Sport - it's why we love it.

Pike B
23/03/2009, 9:54 AM
I'll take the draw or a loss by less than 13 points...
Any chance someone could add a go f$&@ yourself button instead of the thanks one??

23/03/2009, 10:28 AM
Any chance someone could add a go f$&@ yourself button instead of the thanks one??

I thought you'd be in agreement considering the previous posts you have made but subsequently deleted in this thread. :rolleyes:

Anyways some great pictures and videos of Saturday's match on the rte website. The pictures of Paul O'Connell's sheer joy after the final whistle are priceless.

Scram
23/03/2009, 10:53 AM

Deleted. Uploaded 60mb Real Player file to a site, but looks like the scum then charge anyone to dowload it!

23/03/2009, 11:13 AM
I think people are being a bit harsh on O'Callaghan and Paddy Wallace. Barnes was very inconsistent in how he treated the two sides, and was definitely on a hometown buzz. Thankfully it didn't matter in the end.

Great start to the second half, but we weren't allowed close out the game as much by the ref as by the welsh. I was convinced Jones would score. Some Championship by O'Driscoll, I really don't see how some commentators think he'll be overlooked for Lions captain. (Mind you, I think the tour will be a disaster after Gatlands comments and a welsh management team on the slide...)

23/03/2009, 11:41 AM
I think people are being a bit harsh on O'Callaghan and Paddy Wallace.

O'Callaghan, on a warning, pushes and sneers at a Welshman after they knock on at a lineout and a peno is given to Wales rather than a scrum to Ireland: result 3 points to Wales who are then back in the game having looked out of it.

Wallace gives away the penalty that almost costs Ireland the Grand Slam.

Harsh? I don't think so.

23/03/2009, 11:59 AM
The welsh did that a number of times, without penalty, which goes back to Barnes' inconsistency.

It was a harsh call on Wallace - at best it was a marginal call by Barnes. A turnover at that stage would've effectively been game over.

23/03/2009, 12:14 PM
My memory is of a fantastic win but one that was almost thrown away in typical Irish fashion in the last minute. The Irish were the better team but it all came down to that penalty kick. There would be no talk of heroes, grand slams, character etc etc if that kick went over. Such is the thin dividing line between success and utter dejection (albeit Ireland would still have won the Championship).

Sport - it's why we love it.I'd agree with that. As Ferguson said after beating Bayern Munich "Football, bloody hell".

What else can provide such drama and excitement?

But I agree with OF in that the "character" being cited in the press would have been "chokers" just because a kick Jones made with ease in the first half dropped short in the second.

If that had been the first game of the campaign all the Irish professional miserabalists would have been spouting their usual nonsense that the win contained flaws and all that. The fact is that a win is a win is a win. Always.

Youths4Ever
23/03/2009, 1:55 PM
I get where some of ye where coming from with how close we where to losing that game but that is sport.

The penalties given away the inconsistency of Barnes in some areas of his decision making none of this really matters Ireland won and that what the record books will show.

Youths4Ever
23/03/2009, 2:25 PM
Just seen the top ten tries on one of the BBC sports channels what do people think?

10.Brian O'Driscoll Ireland (v France)
9. Jamie Heaslip Ireland (v France)
8. Leigh Halfpenny Wales (v Scotland)
7. Max Evans Scotland (v Wales)
6. Lee Byrne Wales (v France)
5. Jamie Heaslip Ireland (v Scotland)
4. Riki Flutey England (v France) (22 mins)
3. Riki Flutey England (v France) (41 mins)
2. Francois Trinh Duc France (v Italy)
1. Tommy Bowe Ireland (v Wales)

23/03/2009, 5:24 PM
Team of the Tournament on BBC Sport (http://www.bbc.co.uk/blogs/brynpalmer/2009/03/six_nations_team_of_the_tourna.html)

Full-back: Lee Byrne (Wales)
Right wing: Tommy Bowe (Ireland)
Outside centre: Brian O'Driscoll (Ireland)
Inside centre: Riki Flutey (England)
Left wing: Thom Evans (Scotland)
Fly-half: Stephen Jones (Wales)
Scrum-half: Mike Phillips (Wales)
Loose-head prop: Gethin Jenkins (Wales)
Hooker: Dimitri Szarzewski (France)
Tight-head prop: John Hayes (Ireland)
Lock: Alun Wyn Jones (Wales)
Lock: Paul O'Connell (Ireland)
Blind-side flanker: Thierry Dusautoir (France)
Open-side flanker: David Wallace (Ireland)
Number eight: Sergio Parisse (Italy)

23/03/2009, 6:17 PM
Team of the Tournament on BBC Sport (http://www.bbc.co.uk/blogs/brynpalmer/2009/03/six_nations_team_of_the_tourna.html)

Wouldn't argue with that. My only issue is that Jamie Heaslip isn't in it.

23/03/2009, 7:15 PM
Parisse was brillaint, definitely better than Heaslip (and he was great).

Only changes I'd make to that are Mears, Ferris and Armitage.

24/03/2009, 10:02 AM

He should have taken the ball off O'Gara & taken the drop kick :p

Youths4Ever
24/03/2009, 12:38 PM

Sergio Parisse was immense during the tournament if was eligible for lions would be a guaranteed pick IMO

kellco88
24/03/2009, 3:32 PM
Just seen the top ten tries on one of the BBC sports channels what do people think?

10.Brian O'Driscoll Ireland (v France)
9. Jamie Heaslip Ireland (v France)
8. Leigh Halfpenny Wales (v Scotland)
7. Max Evans Scotland (v Wales)
6. Lee Byrne Wales (v France)
5. Jamie Heaslip Ireland (v Scotland)
4. Riki Flutey England (v France) (22 mins)
3. Riki Flutey England (v France) (41 mins)
2. Francois Trinh Duc France (v Italy)
1. Tommy Bowe Ireland (v Wales)

Heaslip or Bowe have to be the best tries imo

The Fly
27/03/2009, 1:59 PM
Two Italian teams to join the Magners Celtic League.

--------------------------------

The Celtic Rugby Board has agreed in principle to introduce two Italian teams into the Magners League.

The board has advised the Italian Rugby Federation that it is considering the move in time for the start of the 2010-11 season.

If that went ahead, it would see the Magners League increasing in size from 10 to 12 teams.

The board says it would be subject to certain conditions in terms of playing and facility standards.

"[The conditions] fall under main headings of playing and facility standards, finance and commercial including television. This will be a comprehensive process and will take some time," said a Celtic Rugby statement.

"The board therefore decided that participation could not commence before 2010-2011 season."

Welsh Rugby Union chief Roger Lewis welcomed the introduction of an Italy presence in the Magners.

"This is an exciting possibility for the Magners League and for Welsh rugby and for Welsh fans," said the WRU chief executive.

"But there are a number of hurdles that need to be jumped before [it happens].

"What they [the Italians] have to do is satisfy the criteria from the rugby perspective and put in teams that can add to the competition and certainly hold their own."

At the moment the main clubs in Italy are Calvisano and Treviso, who both competed in this year's Heineken Cup.

Those two teams play in a 10-club Italian League, but it could be that the Celtic League board look to have one of their two Magners teams based in Rome.

Rugby chiefs hope having two Italian teams in the Magners League would help to develop the national team, who were whitewashed in this season's Six Nations and who have struggled to compete on a consistent basis since entering the tournament in 2000.

---------------------

Good for Italian rugby and the Magners League, certainly in the long term.
What do you all think?

27/03/2009, 2:13 PM
Chance for Connacht to cme third from bottom? What will they call the new League as Italians are not Celtic :p