View Full Version : Rugby Union 2009
Pages :
[
13]
John Hayes called into the squad as replacement for Euan Murray, hard to see him get any game time, what sort of condition will he be in?
Very strange. I think there is only 1 dirt tracker game left...
At this stage any pro rugby player on holidays there could get called up...
18/06/2009, 8:29 PM
I suppose if something happens to Vickery then the Lions are in real trouble in the scrum. Plus Hayes is an unbelieveable clearer of rucks.
19/06/2009, 10:36 AM
Given the way they are dropping like flies out there he had to be brought. O'Connell will be glad to see him out there...
IsMiseSean
19/06/2009, 7:19 PM
My prediction for tomorrow, south africa by 11... I hope im wrong!!
19/06/2009, 8:55 PM
If the lions can get quick ball they have a chance. The back rows have a big job tomorrow but I think they'll miss Ferris at 6. Croft needs a big game. Hopefully O'Connell offloads and doesn't try to do it all himself. Let the ball carriers get over the gain line Captain! He'll have enough on his plate making sure Matfield is kept quiet.
Slow ball + Phillip's likes to take his time anyway and it could be a long afternoon.
It's going to be ferocious. The Boks are fresh but will be they be rusty? Do the Lions have enough attacking options if they are chasing the game?
I think there will be less than 7 points in it and hope the Irish lads continue their good form this season.
Rovers fan
20/06/2009, 4:28 PM
Pity they couldn't steal it in the end, it would have been fantastic. Ultimately they had too much ground to make up. Jones' misses proved to be costly as did the missed try chances, but the south africans wouldn't have made so many substitutions if they weren't so far ahead. O'driscoll and roberts were fantastic in the centre but too many players weren't up to it - vickery, O'connell, wyn-jones, mears etc etc. Kearney did well when he came on as did Rees (expect for the stupid punch) and martyn williams, all should start the next day. I'd have O'callaghan ahead of wyn jones aswell. The set-plays just weren't good enough, although the scrum was more solid after the substitutions. The South Africans were there for the taking, but they will be improved the next day. I reckon they will win all 3 games. The ref was poor and what the hell was the deal with the TMO?! You think for such a big game they could choose a TMO that could actually communicate with the ref:rolleyes:
20/06/2009, 4:33 PM
Scrum was terrible.........mainly due to Vickery's inabilty at scrumagging, he was crap and was easily the worst player on the pitch.
Toss up between Mears and Rees.
Wyn-Jones was terrible and should be replaced by O'Callaghan next week.
O'Connell is lost without Hayes lifting and considering Vickery is playing so bad I wouldn''t be surprised to see Hayes in next week if he gets through 60 mins during the week.
Wallace will be replaced by Williams.
Stephen Jones was ineffective and now O'Gara should come in.
Ugo "Butterfingers" Monye should be replaced by Fitzgerald or even Kearney if Byrne is fit.
Kearney will come in at full-back if Byrne is injured.
20/06/2009, 4:44 PM
Monye didn't drop the ball, it was just great defending.
20/06/2009, 5:28 PM
Monye didn't drop the ball, it was just great defending.He should have grounded the first and the second one was a disgrace for a winger. The ball was in the wrong hand for a start and in any case you need to hold onto it.
Not good enough.
Monye didn't drop the ball, it was just great defending.
Second chance he wasted wasn't great defending. The guy got there but just flapped an arm at him and the ball popped out. Shocking from a professional winger
As bad as the Lions were in set pieces (and they were awfuul), they still should've won that game. Jones had another poor game at 10 too
20/06/2009, 5:39 PM
Jones was too flat and O'Gara has to start next week.
I imagine the papers will be raving about how well Phillip's played in the second half but he's too slow for me. He kept going down the blindside when there was no room. I know they don't have anybody else but 9 and 10 were a major let down.
BOD and Roberts were excellent. Kearney was very solid when he came on. O'Callaghan added a bit of grunt when sprung from the bench and the less said about Monye the better. Bowe would have finished those chances if on the other wing.
20/06/2009, 7:07 PM
Scrum was terrible.........mainly due to Vickery's inabilty at scrumagging, he was crap and was easily the worst player on the pitch........
O'Connell is lost without Hayes lifting and considering Vickery is playing so bad I wouldn''t be surprised to see Hayes in next week if he gets through 60 mins during the week.....
Hayes is not the answer in the scrum. Apart from not having the technique, he is too tall and Tendai Mtawarira would destroy him. When Adam Jones, a short 'squatty' type prop came on, The Beast was not as effective and eventually went off. Jones will start next week.
I think Simon Shaw will partner O'Connell next week. The Lions need to be more physical up front than they were today
The biggest loss to the Lions has been Flannery. Both hookers are very ordinary.
21/06/2009, 9:46 AM
Hayes is not the answer in the scrum. Apart from not having the technique, he is too tall and Tendai Mtawarira would destroy him. When Adam Jones, a short 'squatty' type prop came on, The Beast was not as effective and eventually went off. Jones will start next week.
I think Simon Shaw will partner O'Connell next week. The Lions need to be more physical up front than they were today
The biggest loss to the Lions has been Flannery. Both hookers are very ordinary.Agree with all of that.
Watching Hayes against the Beast would be painful. It's not like Vickery has a reputation as a bad scrummager.
I would expect Martyn Williams to come in. Croft and Wally are too similar and unfortunately Croft got two tries and offers a lineout option so he'll probably continue.
I would expect Hook to get a run out on Tues (they absolutely fudged the concussion assessment and he trained on Thurs) and I could see him coming into the Test side if he plays well. Jones main weakness on Sat wasn't his ballplay, it was his goal and positional kicking.
If the intent is to run around the Boks I could see Shane Williams coming in. You're taking a gamble that Habana will see as little ball as he did yesterday.
Monye has to go due to poor finishing & kicking. Her never once truelly chased his garryowens.
Next week will be harder game as I feel the Lions had their chance at a rusty SA which they won't get again.
Youths4Ever
21/06/2009, 8:19 PM
it should be interestin to see how the churchill cup final goes tonight would be great to see the ireland "a" team win then have the players and should be a good match
21/06/2009, 8:22 PM
AW Jones will be replaced. Hines or Shaw should add some beef to the pack.
Vickery and Monye are also likely to be replaced.
I'm still not sold on Croft at 6 despite his two tries yesterday. I think you need a bit of bite for a blindside flanker, especially against the boks and it's such a shame that Quinlan/Ferris are not available. Worsley/M Williams to slot in? Brave move but it's something I hope they consider.
Heaslip had a very quiet game but hopefully he'll be given another shot next week.
Phillip's will keep his spot because the Lions don't have anything else. I wanted Peel to be brought along......
Jones/O'Gara/Hook? I'd go O'Gara but I wouldn't be surprised to see Hook brought in.
I'd line up with the following:
Jenkins
Rees
Jones
Hines
POC
Worsley/M Williams
Wallace
Heaslip
Phillip's
O'Gara
Fitzgerald/S Williams
Roberts
BOD
Bowe
Kearney
Ireland A 49 England Saxons 22.
Super performance. Beat England up with the forwards & ran rings around them with the backs.
endabob1
22/06/2009, 6:56 AM
The biggest loss to the Lions has been Flannery. Both hookers are very ordinary.
Spot on, this was always going to be a massve problem area against the best lineout in world rugby.
I think we'll have an all-welsh front row & controversially I could see POC being dropped, I thought he went missing and wasn't helping his or the teams cause with backchatting to the referee.
22/06/2009, 9:16 AM
Ireland A 49 England Saxons 22.
Super performance. Beat England up with the forwards & ran rings around them with the backs.
Yes, saw the game yesterday evening. Great performance with the game played at pace and great rucking by the Irish forwards. The English, the firm favourites, looked pedestrian by comparison. The future of Irish rugby looks good.
Re the Lions, they lost every throw to the back. Why did O'Connell continue with such calls when he won any thrown to him. The scrum was fine when Vickery was replaced. They lost the game in the first half on the set pieces. If they sort that out they have a chance. Also if (usual word in sport) Jones had converted his penos, they would have won!
22/06/2009, 12:06 PM
Team for tomorrow. Hmmm. Interesting.
Backs: K Earls (Munster and Ireland); S Williams (Ospreys/Wales), R Flutey (Wasps/England), G D'Arcy (Leinster/Ireland), L Fitzgerald (Leinster/ Ireland); R O'Gara (Munster/Ireland, capt), H Ellis (Leicester/England)
Forwards: T Payne (Wasps/England), R Ford (Edinburgh/Scotland), J Hayes (Munster/Ireland), D O'Callaghan (Munster/ Ireland), N Hines (Perpignan/Scotland), J Worsley (Wasps/England), M Williams (Cardiff Blues/Wales), A Powell (Cardiff Blues/Wales).
Replacements: L Mears (Bath/England), P Vickery (Wasps/England), S Shaw (Wasps/England), D Wallace (Munster/Ireland), M Blair (Edinburgh/Scotland), J Hook (Ospreys/Wales), U Monye (Harlequins/England).
No surprises in the team aside from maybe Shaw on the bench,
O'Gara captain & not O'Callaghan again...
22/06/2009, 5:37 PM
.....controversially I could see POC being dropped, I thought he went missing and wasn't helping his or the teams cause with backchatting to the referee.
....Re the Lions, they lost every throw to the back. Why did O'Connell continue with such calls when he won any thrown to him. The scrum was fine when Vickery was replaced. They lost the game in the first half on the set pieces....
I don't think there would be anything controversial if POC was dropped. He did not contribute much as a player, except maybe in the last 5/10 minutes and certainly was not inspirational. If he was not the captain, I would say he would definitely be dropped.
Even more worrying than his contribution as a player was his role as captain. As pointed out by OwlsFan, surely after it was evident that they were under pressure in the line-out, the captain's responsibility is to make calls to shore it up and revert to the safer option of throwing to him or whoever at the front.
When it was evident Vickery was being outscrummaged and being penalised, as captain POC instead of questionning the referee he would have been better off urging McGeechan to make the change and bring on Adam Jones much earlier.
Earlier in the week, I am sure I read that McGeechan was urging Bryce Lawrence to ensure that the weaker team in the scrum be penalised if they infringed, I assume on the basis that he thought the Lions were going to dominate the scrum, in which case it backfired terribly.
I heard Graham Roundtree, the scrummaging coach, interviewed this morning and saying that it was evident from very early on that Vickery was struggling but yet they (McGeechan, himself, the captain?) made no attempt to rectify it until after half time. I got the impression they thought that Vickery would sort it out. Poor sideline management.
Real ale Madrid
22/06/2009, 6:07 PM
[QUOTE=Superhoops;1181921]
When it was evident Vickery was being outscrummaged and being penalised, as captain POC instead of questionning the referee he would have been better off urging McGeechan to make the change and bring on Adam Jones much earlier.
QUOTE]
I mean there is critisizing for the sake of it - and there is this little beauty.
Could anyone tell me how in the name of jaysus was O'Connell supposed to have urged McGeechan to change Vickery from the middle of the second row? - roar at him every time there was a break in play? Sign language? radio link? any second rowers out there like to shed some light on that one????
I'm not sure i understand the criticism of O'Connell? He himself and the people around him just need to put in a better performance. Yes i think he has been disapointing in some aspects of his leadership but individual errors ( dropped passes, missed kicks) and selection errors had much more to do with the Lions losing the game than his leadership, in fact you could argue that O'Connell led them from the brink of a hammering to within a whisker away from winning the game.
Id bring in Rees and Jones (and possibly O'Gara and Fitzgerald - thats a tighter call ) and go with the same team as the last day - if the lions gain parity at the scum and win thier own lineout then they have a fighting chance of winning - there is a danger of reading too much into the last 20 mins and changing the team drastically - its important not to panic at this stage and treat Saturday as a one off test - the most improtant thing is obviously - just play better! :)
22/06/2009, 7:25 PM
.....Could anyone tell me how in the name of jaysus was O'Connell supposed to have urged McGeechan to change Vickery from the middle of the second row? - roar at him every time there was a break in play? Sign language? radio link? any second rowers out there like to shed some light on that one????.....
If there is no communication between the bench and the players on the field in a rugby game, then it must be the only field game in the world where it doesn't happen.
During stoppages alone, there was ample time to communicate. How many stoppages were there during that first half? At least 5, the try and 4 penalties SA scored.
22/06/2009, 7:30 PM
The only way you can judge a captain's performance is the impact on hheir individual performance and on the team's performance as a whole.
O'Connell, thus far, falls well short on both.
But if they win the next two he'll be a legend.
It's a fine line.
Real ale Madrid
22/06/2009, 7:48 PM
If there is no communication between the bench and the players on the field in a rugby game, then it must be the only field game in the world where it doesn't happen.
During stoppages alone, there was ample time to communicate. How many stoppages were there during that first half? At least 5, the try and 4 penalties SA scored.
Ah come off it man - i've never in my whole life in any team sport heard or seen of any player ask to have another player substituted unless there's an injury . Its just not a fair argument. The Lions had a coach in the stand, a specialist forwards coach and a specalist scrum coach - who picked, and then allowed Vickery to stay on the pitch for 45 odd minutes - they have already shouldered the blame for that.
IsMiseSean
22/06/2009, 7:54 PM
Team for tomorrow. Hmmm. Interesting.
Backs: K Earls (Munster and Ireland); S Williams (Ospreys/Wales), R Flutey (Wasps/England), G D'Arcy (Leinster/Ireland), L Fitzgerald (Leinster/ Ireland); R O'Gara (Munster/Ireland, capt), H Ellis (Leicester/England)
Forwards: T Payne (Wasps/England), R Ford (Edinburgh/Scotland), J Hayes (Munster/Ireland), D O'Callaghan (Munster/ Ireland), N Hines (Perpignan/Scotland), J Worsley (Wasps/England), M Williams (Cardiff Blues/Wales), A Powell (Cardiff Blues/Wales).
Replacements: L Mears (Bath/England), P Vickery (Wasps/England), S Shaw (Wasps/England), D Wallace (Munster/Ireland), M Blair (Edinburgh/Scotland), J Hook (Ospreys/Wales), U Monye (Harlequins/England).
Lookin at that selection... Regarding Saturday
Im expecting Rees and A. Jones to come in on the front row
It looks like shaw could get a start
The subsitions will tell alot tomorrow
If M. Willaims, Fitzgerald come off at half-time or early in the second half then I'd expect them to play a big part on Saturday.
Vickery and Mears will be dropped and Wallace, Monye and Wyn-Jones will be lucky if they survive
O'Gara wont be brought in ahead of S. Jones
22/06/2009, 8:32 PM
Ah come off it man - i've never in my whole life in any team sport heard or seen of any player ask to have another player substituted unless there's an injury . Its just not a fair argument. The Lions had a coach in the stand, a specialist forwards coach and a specalist scrum coach - who picked, and then allowed Vickery to stay on the pitch for 45 odd minutes - they have already shouldered the blame for that.
Could not agree with you more and said so in my original post. However, the captain also has a big say in team selection both before going on the pitch and while on the pitch.
Can't argue too much with analysis of POC above but suggesting he should signal to the coach in the middle of a game to substitute a player is crazy. Can you imagone how that would look? Given POC is inside the scrum I also think the coach will have a much better view than he will on what is happening. From what I have read there were changes made to the back row with POC & Jones switching sides but don't know whose decision that was. Apparently there are lefties & righties in second row rugby scrums.
For the second test if it is not already happening POC should solely concentrate on the forwards & let BOD look after backs.
23/06/2009, 4:16 PM
Can someone who is on here criticising Paul O'Connells playing performance and wanting him dropped please tell me the name of ANY second row currently in SA with the Lions that is in better form than him?
Hines? NO!
O'Callaghan? NO!
Wyn-Jones? NO!
Shaw? NO!
Also, for those criticising his lineout calls....
Throwing conservatively to 2 in the lineout seriously reduces your attacking options and is very easy to defend against. You dont beat the world champions in their own backyard by being conservative. You have to vary it and while the Lions tried to, they were very much out thought, out played and outmuscled by a better side. Expect the Boks to improve significantly for the game, and a bigger hiding on Saturday.
Bad as Vickery was, and nobody is defending him, scrummaging is an 8 man thing, and the drive of the second row behind you together with the positioning and strength of the wing forward behind you comes into play when propping. He's not solely to blame for the scrum collapse. Jones is a much shorter man with a less long back than Vickery, making him more siutable against a guy like the Beast. Rowntree and Gatland, being front row forwards themselves, should have identified this after the first 3 scrums and corrected it.
IsMiseSean
23/06/2009, 7:39 PM
Can someone who is on here criticising Paul O'Connells playing performance and wanting him dropped please tell me the name of ANY second row currently in SA with the Lions that is in better form than him?
Hines? NO!
O'Callaghan? NO!
Wyn-Jones? NO!
Shaw? NO!
I couldn't agree more... None of the second rows have really impressed. O'Connell is still the best option we have, I might however question his captaincy. When Kidney took over Ireland I was praying he'd make POC captain but O'Driscoll has really step up his game since Kidney came in and Im glad he stayed with BOD... The way he led Ireland in the 6N I think he should have been Lions captain.
I think Shaw should partner POC on saturday with O'Callaghan on the bench.
My team for Saturday after watching tonight's game:
15 Byrne/Kearney 14 Bowe 13 BOD 12 Roberts 11 Kearney/Fitzgerald 10 Jones 9 Phillips;
1 Jenkins 2 Rees 3 Jones 4 Shaw 5 POC 6 Croft 7 Wallace 8 Heaslip
Subs: Mears, Vickery, O'Callaghan, Williams, Ellis, O'Gara, Fitzgerald/Earls
Thumps up too for John Hayes, great game tonight considering his late arrival, a true Irish Legend.
Shocking conditions tonight in 13-13 game so hard to take much from.
Monye keeps his place as others did not step up enough even if conditions did not help.
Jones may just keep ahead of O'Gara although the Miunster man had a solid game.
Hook not an option at 10 unless its plan C.
Williams played a full game so not sure what that means.
O'Callaghan had a solid game.
IMO Earls has really impressed since the first game. He seems to be a bit light for centre at this stage (give him a couple of years to bulk up) but has been very proactive since then. Even though he dropped a couple of high balls I don't think he could be faulted too much as the boks put up some great balls. I thought he might make the bench for the last Test but now I would have him there on Saturday - he can cover 11-15 positions & could be brought on with 20 to go if required when more space available.
23/06/2009, 10:38 PM
Shocking conditions tonight in 13-13 game so hard to take much from.
Monye keeps his place as others did not step up enough even if conditions did not help.
I have a feeling Kearney will play on wing if Byrne fit to play full back
endabob1
24/06/2009, 6:38 AM
Pretty grim conditions alright, Earls was one of the only players in Red to do anything for his cause, ROG's tour of duty is pretty much over barring injuries, as you would think are most of last nights team. I thought DOC may have made a case for a squad place, Andy Powell was was/is just a tw@t, how many times does he pick and go without looking for support & then lose it in contact??
HUGE Lions support last night I would guess as much as 50% of the 40k crowd were Lions fans, I thought there was a recession at home??
24/06/2009, 6:46 AM
I'd be tempted to do the following:
Welsh front row (2 changes)
Shaw starts with DOC on the bench
Fitzgerald in for Monye
ROG in for S Jones
Kearney for Byrne.
If Byrne is fit then I reckon the Geech will start Kearney on the wing anyway.
I agree with Pete about having Earl's as an impact sub. I wanted him in the first test squad and I think his pace could cause the Boks problems with 20 to go. This guy is gonna be dangerous at the next WC.
HUGE Lions support last night I would guess as much as 50% of the 40k crowd were Lions fans, I thought there was a recession at home??
I'd say many were long committed to the tour - I know of people who have already started paying off the next tour with Travel Agents!
endabob1
24/06/2009, 8:00 AM
From what Gatland said there won't be major changes, I expect an all-Welsh front row with Vickery on the Bench, I think Hook will replace ROG on the bench & the only other changes will possibly be Williams for Wallace but I'm not convinced that will happen & depending on Byrnes fitness, if he's fit he plays & Kearney is back on the bench if he's not fit Kearney plays & Earls is on the bench.
Real ale Madrid
24/06/2009, 8:20 AM
Hook was absoulutely brutal when he came on. How on earth can he considered ahead of O'Gara?
I thought Fitzgerald gave the selectors something to think about.
Maybe its just me but i can't see how Simon Shaw or Alun Wyn Jones are in any way superior to Donnacha O'Callaghan, who I thought has played very well in his last two games - with Hines cited i think he should start.
Probably a biased view - but an honest one. Irish players have won every bit of silverware going over the past two years and its clear to me now that the team should be based around them. id start Fitzgerald, O'Driscoll, O'Gara, O'Connell, O'Callaghan Wallace and Heaslip on Saturday and Kearney if Byrne is not 100%.
Interesting selection anyway whatever happens.
24/06/2009, 9:41 AM
Hook was absoulutely brutal when he came on. How on earth can he considered ahead of O'Gara?
Maybe its just me but i can't see how Simon Shaw or Alun Wyn Jones are in any way superior to Donnacha O'Callaghan, who I thought has played very well in his last two games - with Hines cited i think he should start.
Probably a biased view - but an honest one. Irish players have won every bit of silverware going over the past two years and its clear to me now that the team should be based around them. id start Fitzgerald, O'Driscoll, O'Gara, O'Connell, O'Callaghan Wallace and Heaslip on Saturday and Kearney if Byrne is not 100%.
Interesting selection anyway whatever happens.Donnacha gave away the penalty on half time that cost 3 points and the one at the end that resulted in the try.
Both for playing off his feet. Reverting a bit to the Donnacha of old. He's had a very, very solid tour up to then.
Shaw is a more solid option at two in the lineout and I'd keep Donnacha on the bench.
Also agree with sentiments above re Powell. One of the worst internationals I've ever seen. Makes Victor Costello and Paddy Johns look like Sergio Parisse.
It could've been through injury, but he wasn't even getting into the Cardiff team at the tail end of the season irrc.
It is no surprise the Lions structure collapsed when Hook came on for O'Gara. He is not a reliable no.10. At this stage there is not value in picking his as utility back on the bench as he has played almost all his time as no.10 on this tour. He does have a big kick but O'Gara not far off his distances either.
Fitzgeralds kicking continues to let him down. If Byrne is injured & Kearney starts I would have Earls on the bench.
If Shaw was being lined up for saturday surely he would have started yesterday as he can't be tired as hasn't played too much.
I think there will less changes than some are predicting outside of the front row.
endabob1
24/06/2009, 10:06 AM
I've said from the start that because of Gatland & Edwards involvement we'd have a strong Welsh slant on the side.
I agree with you RealAle that when you think that Ireland have just finished a grand slam wining season along side Leinster winning the Heineken Cup & Munster the Celtic League you'd think there would be a heavy Irish element to the side but here's my 2p worth.
As soon as Flannery got injured the emphasis had to change, getting a line out to compete with the Boks was always going to be tricky but without POC's main man & given the very average std of the other available hookers the Lions were always going to strugge for lineout ball. ROG's main strenght is his tactical kicking, pinning teams in the corners and having a good line out to steal/disrupt ball. With that lineout strenght taken away ROG becomes less influential to a game & you need a fly half who is capable of a bit more creativity. For me Jones falls between 2 stools, his kicking isn't as good as ROG but he's not creative enough, Hook, despte his mediocrity last night is the most creative of the 3.
What I don't get is the ommission of both Irish Props from the tour considering how good they were against Wales, and I don't think it's an Irish bias (I've heard it several times here) to say if POC is the captain & cast in stone, then play O'Callaghan beside him, they are used to working together and know each others games, imho Jones & POC are too similar and don't particularly compliment each other.
Before it all started I felt the only 3 real shoe-ins were POC, BOD & Byrne & virtually every other position was open to at least 2 players, some like Bowe,Roberts & Phillips have made themselves cast iron test players but none of the forwards have not particularly put their positions beyond doubt, pre-tour I though Sheridan & Murray would be the test props but neither have excelled and have lost out, Geech to his credit has said he was picking players on form & by and large that has been the case.
24/06/2009, 10:25 AM
couldnt agree more. the comment above is just plain ridiculous
24/06/2009, 12:55 PM
I believe Lee Byrne is a big injury doubt. I would like to see the team look something like this:
Kearney; Bowe, BOD, Roberts, Earls; Jones, Phillips; Jenkins, Rees, Jones; O'Connell, O'Callaghan; Croft, Williams, Wallace.
Can't see it happening though. Earls and Kearneys ability to interchange would add a lot of pep to that backline, and I believe that Earls has shown more than enough to merit a place in the side ahead of Monye, Shane Williams or Fitzgerald. Just my opinion though.
Heaslip isn't up to this standard in my book. He looked badly off the pace last week and was exposed physically. I'd like to see Wally and Williams on the field together. Croft will be retained for his lineout ability and pace.
24/06/2009, 3:39 PM
Heaslip isn't up to this standard in my book. He looked badly off the pace last week and was exposed physically
i think heaslip is up to it but cant understand why he didnt play so well last sat. maybe the occasion got to him? i remember his name being mentioned in commentary late in the game and id almost forgotten he was playing.
very few changes except for the front row with maybe monye being dropped. if williams or fitzgerald were playing last sat they would have finished off at least one of the chances monye missed. his poor finishing was inexcusable for an international wing
I can't believe JoeSoap only picked 4 Munster men. What has ROG ever done to you?
Wallace over Heaslip at 8 is beyond laughable
i think heaslip is up to it but cant understand why he didnt play so well last sat. maybe the occasion got to him? i remember his name being mentioned in commentary late in the game and id almost forgotten he was playing.
The back rows from both sides were very quiet as even Spiers was hardly seen. PLayers won;t be dropped on the basis of one poor game unless maybe original decision a tight one & someone has stepped to make a claim.
Was Powell a good player at some stage? Can't believe how bad he is. He might survive in rugby league as not sure if defenders can rip the ball out in the tackle...
24/06/2009, 4:32 PM
I believe Lee Byrne is a big injury doubt. I would like to see the team look something like this:
Kearney; Bowe, BOD, Roberts, Earls; Jones, Phillips; Jenkins, Rees, Jones; O'Connell, O'Callaghan; Croft, Williams, Wallace.
Can't see it happening though. Earls and Kearneys ability to interchange would add a lot of pep to that backline, and I believe that Earls has shown more than enough to merit a place in the side ahead of Monye, Shane Williams or Fitzgerald. Just my opinion though.
Heaslip isn't up to this standard in my book. He looked badly off the pace last week and was exposed physically. I'd like to see Wally and Williams on the field together. Croft will be retained for his lineout ability and pace.We'd want to play a 7's game with a backrow that light. The minute the ball went into contact we'd be screwed.
No complaints with the backline, despite the Munster focus to it.
24/06/2009, 4:58 PM
I'd like to see Earls start on the wing, a fantastic runner with the ball in hand.
Real ale Madrid
24/06/2009, 5:00 PM
I wouldn't say Wallace and Croft are that light, not to their faces anyway!
I agree Earls deserves a place on the bench but i don't think the management won't take a chance on him to start as he was a bit nervous the first day.