View Full Version : First Division latest
Pages :
[
7]
Splurge
18/11/2008, 10:36 PM
Have to agree with that. If it meant Limerick got promoted as a result of the draw I'd understand but the fact that some Limerick posters are still making jokes about it, four days later, is quite sad imo.
Agreee with the general dislike of Limerick fans on here. I only got into the LoI last yr as i've been away for the previous 11 yrs and on here it's mainly only the Limerick fans that i've grown to dislike. Im not mad on Dundalk but that's only because a section of their crowd tend to be a bit rowdy, thank god Limerick dont bring supporters with them! This dislike was also present before the called off game btw.
They constantly big themselves us, see themselves as favourites next season:eek: despite ending the season as close to Athlone as Dundalk. Slag off others (including ourselves despite us taking a mere 4 pts off us this season).
Cocky arrogant gits, the lot of em.
18/11/2008, 10:39 PM
Agreee with the general dislike of Limerick fans on here.Just to clarify, I'm not saying I dislike them, it's just their posts in this thread I find stupid.
L37Ultra
18/11/2008, 10:59 PM
Agreee with the general dislike of Limerick fans on here. I only got into the LoI last yr as i've been away for the previous 11 yrs and on here it's mainly only the Limerick fans that i've grown to dislike. Im not mad on Dundalk but that's only because a section of their crowd tend to be a bit rowdy, thank god Limerick dont bring supporters with them! This dislike was also present before the called off game btw.
They constantly big themselves us, see themselves as favourites next season:eek: despite ending the season as close to Athlone as Dundalk. Slag off others (including ourselves despite us taking a mere 4 pts off us this season).
Who cares what you think? Personal abuse towards Limerick supporters here i demand some action. Are you really that childish to brush all the Limerick fans with the same brush? And Limerick have one of the best away support in the Division so thats a incorrect statement. How is getting excited that we have a chance of challenging next season being cocky and arrogant after nearly 16 years the first Division. I apoliges on behalf of Limericks supporter that we celebrated a last minute goal for our beloved team. Sorry if it offended anyone.
Lamper.sffc
18/11/2008, 11:00 PM
I find the jokes quite funny. Keep them coming please.
Its very entertaining watching the Limericks lads go fishing and the shels fans biting every time.
Also hilarious when they try and slag limerick fans over Munster losing to the all blacks:D:rolleyes:
WoodquayBoy
18/11/2008, 11:08 PM
Back to tonight's action, Kildare were truly awful, especially in first half. Former Galway United players ollie Keogh and Dave Goldbey scored in the first half, then the lights went out, but came back on after 15 mins.
Kildare made 2 changes at the break, Colin Fortune come on and some other guy - PA was broke after power cut, so don't know who he was - and they made a difference. Was mainly all Kildare in second half, Hughes scored 2, had another taken off the line, Kildare also missed a couple of sitters in first half, centre back fired over from about 5 yards and Mervue keeper made good save with legs to deny the tall number 9 - Kilduff I think?
You have to say Mervue's chances are gone now, but not sure they'd accept invitation to First Division anyway
Splurge
18/11/2008, 11:16 PM
Personal abuse towards Limerick supporters here i demand some action.
Settle down ultra.
18/11/2008, 11:19 PM
lol splurge ur a ****! you've been going on for weeks about the called off game giving it loads on the official line from WY. Just to let you know in case you havent got the limerick side of things, the only reason the FAI came to the decision they did was that wallace has more money then them and they knew hed cause **** and more **** if they punished his club, so they gave limerick a paltry fine in order to get rid of them.
about the limerick posters, they are without doubt the funniest posters on this site. this site would be a sader place without them. They have a knowledge and history in and about the game far far more then anyone involved with your club and im including Dolan in that. They travel to all their league games (surprised you said they dont bring fans to away games considering about 20/30 make the journey to that wind tunnel of ye'res for every game)
They overnight, hostel, camp, sleep in cars, hook up with fugly birds to get a bed in order to support of their team. Call me arrogent if you want, but i do know one thing
your a ****!
Splurge
18/11/2008, 11:23 PM
l Just to let you know in case you havent got the limerick side of things, the only reason the FAI came to the decision they did was that wallace has more money then them and they knew hed cause **** and more **** if they punished his club, so they gave limerick a paltry fine in order to get rid of them.
thats a new one!! Maybe he could buy us the league next yr.
and i demand action for the personal abuse :D
18/11/2008, 11:25 PM
thats a new one!! Maybe he could buy us the league next yr.
and i demand action for the personal abuse :D
well maybe he will, he might be good as a director of monies, cos he aint no manager!
Splurge
18/11/2008, 11:33 PM
well maybe he will, he might be good as a director of monies, cos he aint no manager!
He managed to get 7 pts off next yrs favourites this yr. Cant wait to see us with a real proper grown up manager with mick paying off the FAI on the sides.
18/11/2008, 11:35 PM
The Internet, it's serious buisness
Splurge
18/11/2008, 11:37 PM
The Internet, it's serious buisness
yep, serious enough to demand action for insults. I've sent Ultra an E-hug
btw so things are fine again.
18/11/2008, 11:42 PM
yep, serious enough to demand action for insults. I've sent Ultra an E-hug
btw so things are fine again.
Good to hear, I was worried you'd taken offence to some of my internet insults, had consulted your internet friends, who had directed you to an internet lawyer and we'd have to duel to the internet death of one of us on World of Warcraft.
Bullet is dodged.
18/11/2008, 11:58 PM
Philly Hughes is a hero.
I thought I went back in time for a second there! :p
christo
19/11/2008, 3:02 AM
Aertel says the game has been stopped after 38 mins due to floodlight failure.:eek:
Thought I was in Tolka for a while.
We were the worst we had ever been in the first half and in the second half Fortune and the fact Hughes decided to do more than stroll around the pitch really pulled it back for us. Two great goals from Philly but still his effort in the first half would only have been forgiven if he got his hat-trick
L37Ultra
19/11/2008, 8:15 AM
. I've sent Ultra an E-hug
Funboy :D:p
GenerationXI
19/11/2008, 9:06 AM
Agreee with the general dislike of Limerick fans ...
Wait did you not read the forum rules? WX fans don't get to express an opinion on this site. :cool:
IMO your just desperate to cause grief with Limerick fans so we'll start to look at your club as rivals of ours. But trust us that will never happen. When a team like us can legitimately use the word "Minnows" to refer to another club, they're small-time. :rolleyes:
Frankly, a few of the WX fans who post on here are smart, funny and make good contributions but no one wants to hear constant outpourings of bile. If we did we'd give LTID his own TV show. :p
19/11/2008, 3:19 PM
how long will it be before your little club limerick 37 folds and u rename the club again?
We're changing the name again next year actually. :)
I could say that all Wexford fans are childish, petty tools who are terrible at WUMing but keep on trying. But I think that such mass generalisations are the sign of a complete and utter moron myself. So I won't. Also it wouldn't be true. Most of them are far more reasonable than Splurge.
I find the jokes quite funny. Keep them coming please.
Its very entertaining watching the Limericks lads go fishing and the shels fans biting every time.
Also hilarious when they try and slag limerick fans over Munster losing to the all blacks:rolleyes:
Particularly as our support is split pretty much down the middle between those of us who loathe Munster and those who have swallowed the hype.
Totally bored of the Shels thing now personally. Though I was delighted to see them miss out because of the large scummy element of their support, their philistine manager, their crybaby Brennan, their rat ex-chairman. Such is football. Yawn. It's a memory that will always make me smile to myself but I've better things to do than keep on about it (above sentence excepted!)And if it's smalltime for Limerick fans to continue jumping about online 4 days later (and to be honest at this stage it is) then what the hell are we supposed to make of fans of other clubs who hijack the thread to beat their little fists and scweam loudly about bad, mean, ole Limerick and how tewwible they are? :eek:
19/11/2008, 5:33 PM
Philly Hughes is a hero.
NA NA NA NA NA NA NA NA NA NA NA NA NA NA NA NA
FATMAN!!
There's a chant for ye for Friday
But I think that such mass generalisations are the sign of a complete and utter moron myself.
What he said, exactly.
Shels fans I am going to go through the situation explaining it once and once only so dry each others bitter tears and have a bit of a read:
The reasons why Limerick players celebrated in such an "obscene" fashion last Saturday are as follows:
1. Pride in their jersey - They are convinced going into next year that for the first time in years they will be able to compete towards the higher end of the table. We are three or four players short of promotion but we will compete with the best. They have shown this over the past few months by burying Waterfords promotion challenge, playing Fingal off the park and twice beating Dundalk. On an aside I didn't see any Dundalk or Waterford fans on here crying at the time.
2. Dermot Keelys unasked for two cents on Wexfordgate did him as much good as it did John Gill.
3. Some of our younger players who would have followed loi (and our average squad age is around 22) would see a draw away to Shels as an excellent result as they think of Shels as one of the bigger Irish clubs.
The reasons why some Limerick posters on here are behaving as they are are as follows:
1. Shels have an absolutely huge minority of filthy kids following them, easily the biggest in the division.
2. Dermot Keelys unasked for two cents on Wexfordgate did him as much good as it did John Gill.
3. No matter how mundane or obvious the insult there always seems to be a retard hanging around the place waiting to bite, making it fun.
4. Many Shels fans have a quite staggering arrogance when you consider the state that their club is in. People registering on foot just to insult Limerick says far more about them than it does about Limerick. If any of you are looking for minnowism look at the people who are looking forward to the Limerick game next season more than any other game because of the comments of two or three people on an internet forum. It's pathetic. For the record Shels fans the order in which I am lokking forward to games next year goes Waterford, Cobh, Harps, Ucd, Fingal.........
5. The bleating and persecution complex whinging of posters like Higgo will stick in the craw of some older Limerick fans. I've been following Limerick slightly longer than he has been following Shels and for him to come on crying about his hard times as a poor downtrodden Shels fan is frankly laughable to me.
Do I feel sorry for ordinary decent Shels fans?? Of course I do.
Is it fun winding idiots up on the internet?? Of course it is.
Sligoman - Get a clue.
Spurlge - :D :D :D
19/11/2008, 8:59 PM
I'll be gunning for the games down in Limerick next season. Hasn't been a boring game down there since our demtion.
19/11/2008, 9:25 PM
I'll be gunning for the games down in Limerick next season. Hasn't been a boring game down there since our demtion.
See, that's a good reason though. :)
The game where we beat you 3-2 was an absolute belter of a game.
Good post LTID
Ps Is Colin Scanlon available this w/e to come up to us and switch on the xmas lights in Dundalk ?
GalwayRed
19/11/2008, 9:39 PM
Ill be looking forward to those games because the amount of optimism limerick fans have makes me think they could be significant in the push for promotion next season.
19/11/2008, 9:41 PM
Ps Is Colin Scanlon available this w/e to come up to us and switch on the xmas lights in Dundalk ?
I'd have to contact the club but I'd say so. :p
Colin had only made a couple of substitute First team appearances for us after being one of the stars of our very mediocre A team.
He might be available for you to sign for next season. :eek: :D
19/11/2008, 9:44 PM
Ill be looking forward to those games because the amount of optimism limerick fans have makes me think they could be significant in the push for promotion next season.
I think on our day we will probably be the best side in the division and will be up around the top four or five all season but ultimately I don't think we will have the budget and hence the squad to still be challenging at the end of the season.
But on our day you'll get a great game. :)
GenerationXI
20/11/2008, 10:32 AM
... to beat their little fists and scweam loudly about bad, mean, ole Limerick and how tewwible they are? :eek:
Just how funny do you think a speech impediment is?
I think on our day we will probably be the best side in the division and will be up around the top four or five all season but ultimately I don't think we will have the budget and hence the squad to still be challenging at the end of the season.
But on our day you'll get a great game. :)
Agreed. Keep the lads together and their belief alone will do wonders.
20/11/2008, 2:10 PM
Just how funny do you think a speech impediment is?
I think I have a pwoblem. :D
SMorgan
20/11/2008, 4:22 PM
Statement by Dundalk FC.
http://www.dundalkfc.com/news/081120_Statement.asp
GalwayRed
20/11/2008, 6:08 PM
Statement by Dundalk FC.
http://www.dundalkfc.com/news/081120_Statement.asp
Interesting.....Im assuming that the report in extratime is overexaggerating when they say players would boycott the end of season awards in protest?:eek: The board are being a bit harsh on Gill here, i mean he has got dundalk promoted twice in 3 attempts.
20/11/2008, 6:38 PM
Interesting.....Im assuming that the report in extratime is overexaggerating when they say players would boycott the end of season awards...
Website run by Shels fans...
L37Ultra
20/11/2008, 10:51 PM
Website run by Shels fans...
But that reporter who wrote that is not a Shels fan.
20/11/2008, 11:14 PM
But that reporter who wrote that is not a Shels fan.
I don't know the story with individual journalists to be honest..
L37Ultra
20/11/2008, 11:17 PM
I don't know the story with individual journalists to be honest..
So you can't really say that the article was biased against Dundalk when we don't know who the individual journalist who wrote it.
20/11/2008, 11:23 PM
So you can't really say that the article was biased against Dundalk when we don't know who the individual journalist who wrote it.
I like generalising though and assuming there is an anti-Dundalk bias out there (which there is :p)..
carrickharp
21/11/2008, 8:49 PM
Mervue won 3-0:eek:
21/11/2008, 10:30 PM
net gain of fans.....about 25/30 woopie!
brianw82
21/11/2008, 10:53 PM
Wow, Newbridge is really the place to be if you wanna gain promotion!
22/11/2008, 12:02 AM
Will Mervue be offered - and accept - a place in the league ?
I hope not. The league needs a team in Kildare more than another one in Galway.
L37Ultra
22/11/2008, 12:07 AM
It was a relegation / promotion play-off, surely the team that wins it will be promoted and offered a place in the League?
The FAI would never do something like stop a club from entering the League after winning the play-off... Oh wait... :D
gufcfan
22/11/2008, 1:03 AM
Ah yes, to add to the millions of teams in the LOI from Galway.
Good luck to Mervue and all that but I think it might break the club, as they are not ready IMO.
Another club from Leinster, close to Dublin and less than 50kms from Rovers...
Rovers fan
22/11/2008, 2:19 AM
Are you really that childish to brush all the Limerick fans with the same brush?
Just like Limerick fan(s) tarred shels fan(s) with the same brush by calling them midgets:rolleyes:. Pathetic stuff from a few limerick fans tbh.
gufcfan
22/11/2008, 2:26 AM
Pathetic stuff from a few limerick fans tbh.
Don't you mean "the few"?
Sligo - Lied to their own fans about how much money they were in debt to rob every last penny off them
Galway - Possibly the biggest joke to hit football since George Weah's 'cousin' touted himself to Graeme Souness
Oh how we laugh
Olander
22/11/2008, 3:08 AM
Sligo - Lied to their own fans about how much money they were in debt to rob every last penny off them
Galway - Possibly the biggest joke to hit football since George Weah's 'cousin' touted himself to Graeme Souness
Oh how we laugh
Are ye still jerking yourselves down in limerick37/united/fc/city/franchise after your big scalp ? "The best moment of the Year"
Minnows. Getting nose bleeds being 5th in the first division :ball:
laugh away ;)
oldyouth
22/11/2008, 8:39 AM
Bottom line is that Mervue have won the right to their place in the 1st division and should be congratulated for it.
If they choose to accept their place, that is another matter and for them to decide (subject to licence)
Bottom line is that Mervue have won the right to their place in the 1st division and should be congratulated for it.
If they choose to accept their place, that is another matter and for them to decide (subject to licence)
The licence wont be an issue for them as terryland will be made available for them, also they are very well run and are financially secure, well for one season anyway !!!!!! They will be accepting the invite.
22/11/2008, 11:27 AM
I assume Mervue will take their place.. If they do, is there a future for Kildare County FC? Will they go into the A Championship or the LSL? Would there be much point in them continuing at a level that isn't much higher than Newbridge Town?
geezer
22/11/2008, 12:08 PM
was talking to an official of Kildare in the clubhouse at station road last night and he said it was curtains for Kildare county now.
1895ringsend
22/11/2008, 12:13 PM
Are ye still jerking yourselves down in limerick37/united/fc/city/franchise after your big scalp ? "The best moment of the Year"
Minnows. Getting nose bleeds being 5th in the first division :ball:
laugh away ;)
Their a hilarious/pathetic bunch follwing limerick franchise!!! It says it all when your biggest and most celebrated result in years is a draw!!! :rolleyes:
22/11/2008, 12:23 PM
Their a hilarious/pathetic bunch follwing limerick franchise!!! It says it all when your biggest and most celebrated result in years is a draw!!! :rolleyes:
who said the draw was our most celebrated win. Beating Waterford 5-1 was definatley the highlight of our season plus the fact we aren't overpaying players and are bringing through local talent, they are our highlights of the season. Stop being so bitter cause ye couldn't finish us off and we didn't roll over and let ye win.