View Full Version : First Division latest

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8

15/11/2008, 10:24 PM
Did Kildare rest any players tonight?

seems they have been resting themselves all season, sure its all about the playoff!

WoodquayBoy
15/11/2008, 10:37 PM
Commiserations to Shels. That is all.

KildareFan
15/11/2008, 10:37 PM
Did Kildare rest any players tonight?

Well there was 14 of them on the pitch who looked like they had a rest!! Kildare don't have the squad to rest players, There won't be too many changes in the team that played tonight and the team that is in the play off. Colin Fortune was missing, hopefully he will be back.

The play off is a 2 legged game. First game is in Mervue on Tuesday, 2nd leg is in Kildare on Friday. Away goals don't count apparently for some reason.

oldyouth
15/11/2008, 10:51 PM
Youths 1-1 Fingal at half time. Fingal having the more clear cut chances from my report. Also Fingal fans in fancy dress and Elvis was escorted from the ground.
The little skanger walked by the front of the stand and fired a full bottle of water in to the crowd. I still don't know how it missed everybody. As the guard escorted him from the ground he vowed to come back and 'get yis' next year.

A very good game of football altogether and a word of mention to the Fingal players who chatted to our young fans before getting on the bus and then gave them their boots and other gear, well done. The kids were made up

15/11/2008, 11:00 PM
The little skanger walked by the front of the stand and fired a full bottle of water in to the crowd. I still don't know how it missed everybody. As the guard escorted him from the ground he vowed to come back and 'get yis' next year.

A very good game of football altogether and a word of mention to the Fingal players who chatted to our young fans before getting on the bus and then gave them their boots and other gear, well done. The kids were made up

Who won the player of the year?
It's a shame to see stupid things like that, especially when you see the good side with the players talking to the kids and giving them gear.

oriel
15/11/2008, 11:13 PM
I'm not sure Dundalk deserve it tbh, they bottled it again and collapsed over the finish line. Really feel for Shels, Keely's craven attitude to football gets its reward eventually though. But they showed great heart all year.

We scored 14 goals more than shels and won one more game than them, oh and the small matter of finishing one point ahead of them, not to mention having on avg 500 more fans at our home games.

Didnt deserve it ????

Do me a favour will you

LK37oldskool
15/11/2008, 11:19 PM
well done to Dundalk. No sympathy for shels.Once again their so called fans let down the club. They invaded the pitch at the end of the game and only for the gardai and the stewards it would have been very dangerous.Got some pics sent to my phone and it looked really ugly.Limerick lads needed a garda escort out of the place.

GalwayRed
15/11/2008, 11:31 PM
Absolutley gutted. Never felt so debvastated after a match before. The fans who invaded the pitch to try and start a fight with the limerivck soupporters arent real fans IMO. Congratualtions to Dundalk the league table dosent lie and after what happened in 06 its fully deserved. Bring on next season

christo
15/11/2008, 11:38 PM
They playoff is a two-legged affair the first leg being played in Mervue on tuesday and the second in station road

oriel
15/11/2008, 11:50 PM
Absolutley gutted. Never felt so debvastated after a match before. The fans who invaded the pitch to try and start a fight with the limerivck soupporters arent real fans IMO. Congratualtions to Dundalk the league table dosent lie and after what happened in 06 its fully deserved. Bring on next season

I dont know the facts here, but I will say two things.

This was a very tough way for anyone to 'lose' a lge title, tensions were obviously running very high. Shels fans must be gutted. But thats football lads, all day my head was saying it was shels title, but i just had that feeling and it was called hope that we might nick it. Never expected it in the 92th minute !

Now for Limerick, the most refreshing story of the season, certainly the most improved side of all 22 since July/August, I think they did well to beat us 3 weeks ago but they played us off the park earlier in oriel and again once in Limerick.

You are a credit to the league

Hard luck shels - but remember where you were 2 yrs ago - its also a credit you are still challenging in senior football

16/11/2008, 12:06 AM
Now for Limerick, the most refreshing story of the season, certainly the most improved side of all 22 since July/August, You are a credit to the league

Hard luck shels - but remember where you were 2 yrs ago - its also a credit you are still challenging in senior football

First Division summed up nicelry there.

16/11/2008, 12:52 AM
Away goals don't count apparently for some reason.

They never have counted in the LOI.

We scored 14 goals more than shels

Most of those did come in the last two matches.

Now, let's troop off to BoyleSports, and bet on Game 1 next season:

Galway v Dundalk... :p

16/11/2008, 12:56 AM
Was in Tolka tonight, down the Limerick end. Pretty entertaining game and an unbelievable finish. I was amazed to see the Limerick keeper up for the free kick at the end, fair play to Limerick for putting everything into it. Their fans seemed to enjoy winning the title for Dundalk too. :eek:

No sympathy for shels.Once again their so called fans let down the club. They invaded the pitch at the end of the game and only for the gardai and the stewards it would have been very dangerous.Got some pics sent to my phone and it looked really ugly.Limerick lads needed a garda escort out of the place.Could have ended nastily alright, pity to see it after a (IMO) pretty good-natured game. Shels fans at the Limerick end of the Drumcondra Road stand were giving out yards to the kids on the pitch too when I was heading out.

Dave77
16/11/2008, 12:58 AM
gutted, another year in the poxy 1st division. freeman had 2 great chances but hey thats football.

dundalk deserve it, the table doesnt lie

16/11/2008, 1:06 AM
Just back myself. What a night!! I'll get my message to Shels out of the way first

hahahahahahahahahaha have some of that you poxy two bit never will be again jokeshop of a club. Best finish we could have asked for given the league table and those jokers who ran 80 yards to fight the Limerick fans and then realised at the 80 yard mark that there were no stewards or gardai to 'keep them back' and so retreated :D:D

Jokers the lot of them

Credit to the Limerick team, must other teams would have been dead and buried once Shels put their noses in front, but thankfully we despise Shels and so there was never a chance of that happening :)

Davy Ryan, what a legend, all of them really, one of the better nights I;ve had as a supporter of this club, and those morons running on at the end was the icing on the cake. I hear Shels practically needed to go up to keep the books in order, my only wish now is that the club goes bust in preseason so that we can claim that it was us that put the final nail in Shel's coffin.

Any proper Shels fan who is offended at any of this, all I'll say is clean the filth out of your club and maybe you'll get a bit more respect.

SUPER BLUES!!

16/11/2008, 1:12 AM
Absolutley gutted. Never felt so debvastated after a match before. The fans who invaded the pitch to try and start a fight with the limerivck soupporters arent real fans IMO.

Genuine commiserations to you and other genuine fans but the shenanigans at the end when the Shels wannabe schooligans ran down the pitch towards the Limerick support only to stop ten or fifteen yards from the wall to jump up and down and shout a bit, coupled with the false bravado of a few Shels 'fans' last time they were in Limerick have damaged my perception of Shelbourne this year. Was delighted to see Dundalk go up for that very reason personally. Dundalk have been very complimentary about us this season too.

Was in Tolka tonight, down the Limerick end. Pretty entertaining game and an unbelievable finish.

That was you? Dude you've changed! :p

16/11/2008, 1:19 AM
Just back myself. What a night!! I'll get my message to Shels out of the way first

hahahahahahahahahaha have some of that you poxy two bit never will be again jokeshop of a club. Best finish we could have asked for given the league table and those jokers who ran 80 yards to fight the Limerick fans and then realised at the 80 yard mark that there were no stewards or gardai to 'keep them back' and so retreated :D:D

Jokers the lot of them

Credit to the Limerick team, must other teams would have been dead and buried once Shels put their noses in front, but thankfully we despise Shels and so there was never a chance of that happening :)

Davy Ryan, what a legend, all of them really, one of the better nights I;ve had as a supporter of this club, and those morons running on at the end was the icing on the cake. I hear Shels practically needed to go up to keep the books in order, my only wish now is that the club goes bust in preseason so that we can claim that it was us that put the final nail in Shel's coffin.

Any proper Shels fan who is offended at any of this, all I'll say is clean the filth out of your club and maybe you'll get a bit more respect.

SUPER BLUES!!

Jebus

Most of your post makes me vomit, good last minute goal and all but you and your club should take your vitriol and make some use of it. my only wish now is that the club goes bust in preseason - tool.

I'm sure when you sober up, you wont be as happy with another year in the lower league. Well done.

16/11/2008, 1:19 AM
This was a very tough way for anyone to 'lose' a lge title, tensions were obviously running very high. Shels fans must be gutted. But thats football lads, all day my head was saying it was shels title, but i just had that feeling and it was called hope that we might nick it. Never expected it in the 92th minute

Doesn't matter. We lost the title twice on the last day in recent years, and our supporters didn't try and fight anyone. As others have said, it could have turned nasty right and quick. Anyone see the stewart making the diving tackle on one of them? Wouldn't have gone amiss in the Irish 22 today.....

The runt element at every club needs eradicated, we have enough problems round the League.

Bizarre feeling celebrating a 92 minute goal for a random team.

GenerationXI
16/11/2008, 1:21 AM
What a game. It meant an awful lot to have been involved in this tonight. I enjoyed every bit of it. The roar of the Shels crowd after they scored. All of the frantic defending at both ends. 45mins of real attacking football. Our equaliser thirty seconds from time, and most of all the headless pitch invasion. I would trade every game I saw this season for just this one.

No more Thursday night football!!!:)

16/11/2008, 1:21 AM
Jebus

Most of your post makes me vomit, good last minute goal and all but you and your club should take your vitriol and make some use of it. my only wish now is that the club goes bust in preseason - tool.

I'm sure when you sober up, you wont be as happy with another year in the lower league. Well done.

I'm not even drunk :D:D

GenerationXI
16/11/2008, 1:22 AM

No but he's after a beating...:p
So his head could be anywhere

16/11/2008, 1:23 AM

even worse - are you 12?

16/11/2008, 1:26 AM
even worse - are you 12?

http://i24.tinypic.com/295wfu9.gif

16/11/2008, 1:27 AM
Fair play.............in fairness i usually go away with a laugh.

Black and White
16/11/2008, 1:30 AM
Thank you Limerick...and thank you young scanlon!!!we where nearly all leaving dejected...a few minor claps at the final whistle...everyone glued to the radios when shels scroed from there on...then as the players reached the middle of the pitch...a huge roar, they turned round...some ran over into the crowd...massive pitch invasion...shels game wwasnt over but we where celebrating...and we still are...The lillywhite when we all got home...players and all...nearly 400 in the bar...you cant move adin...but hey....its worth it!!!

We are champions!!!!

GenerationXI
16/11/2008, 1:31 AM
Thank you Limerick...and thank you young scanlon!!!we where nearly all leaving dejected...a few minor claps at the final whistle...everyone glued to the radios when shels scroed from there on...then as the players reached the middle of the pitch...a huge roar, they turned round...some ran over into the crowd...massive pitch invasion...shels game wwasnt over but we where celebrating...and we still are...The lillywhite when we all got home...players and all...nearly 400 in the bar...you cant move adin...but hey....its worth it!!!

We are champions!!!!

Ludicrously, we went looking for your party after the game in Newbridge on the way home! Found nothing. . .

16/11/2008, 1:32 AM
That was you? Dude you've changed! :pHave I? Is it just that I haven't shaved in a while?! :eek:

Black and White
16/11/2008, 1:35 AM
We was all on the buses...lillywhite was announced to be open all night this moring...still open and cant see alot leaving til monday moring!!its up on the website about it....anyways...ye will be thanked alot when ye next visit oriel!!!just go to the bar and say your from limerick...im sure some1 will buy you pint!!

stann
16/11/2008, 2:05 AM
Did ya see the score?;)

Well done Dundalk I said! ;)
And since for some reason there's no 'last editted at' at the bottom of my post, that means we have to believe that's what I put first! :p
Nah, well done Dundalk though, bottom line is the table doesn't lie (if there's no *s there at least).

Founders
16/11/2008, 3:35 AM
Jebus that was harsh arsehole.

SMorgan
16/11/2008, 5:27 AM
deleted.

brianw82
16/11/2008, 6:21 AM
Wow. Just reading through all this now. Unbelievable. [andy gray]Sensational![/andy gray]

This really does sum up football for me. The absolute elation of Dundalk and their fans when they realised they'd be going up, and the knife in the gut that was the last minute Limerick goal for Shels. Would any of us have it any other way, however? No, you'd trade 2 gut-wrenching losses like Shels experienced last night for 1 night like Dundalk's.

oldyouth
16/11/2008, 7:44 AM
Who won the player of the year?
It's a shame to see stupid things like that, especially when you see the good side with the players talking to the kids and giving them gear.
Anto was Player of the Year and Pa was best newcomer

oldyouth
16/11/2008, 7:46 AM
Jebus, most of what you post here can raise a smile, but that was shocking

16/11/2008, 11:19 AM
Jebus that was harsh arsehole.

No what would have been harsh would have been if that Shels fan who lobbed a bottle at one of our player's mother had hit her.

What would have been harsh would have been if the Shels 'hooligans' balls had dropped yet and actually started a fight, cause they had us outnumbered, and all because we stopped their poxy club going up.

As it is I'm still beaming this morning that we stuck it to the club and especially to Dermot, who should really learn to keep his mouth shut. You realise that if the Shels supporters hadn't acted out both this season, and last, down in Limerick, and if Keely had kept his mouth shut on affairs that didn't involved him that this would have been just another game for us, and we wouldn't have been battering your goal in the last ten minutes to try and stop you going up?

While I'm on the mongos rushing on the pitch at the end, there was a sizeable number of them, we brought around 70 and there was more than that on the pitch, so surely Shels could kick them out and give them life bans if they were serious about not being viewed as a scummy club anymore? I'm sure we'll get the tried and trusted line of 'we don't really know who they are' :rolleyes: 'there was only a few real troublemakers' :rolleyes: and 'we've banned the main ringleader for life' :rolleyes:

If they can sort out the dirt that support their club I'll withdraw my statement about wanting Shels out of the league, until then I'm sure they can live with it. Honestly how precious some of you get about someone with strong opinions about something as passionate as football never ceases to amaze me. By your, oldyouth and centre mid's reaction you'd swear I had wished a terminal illness on the whole team, and an outbreak of anthrax at Tolka Park. Get over it lads, the internet, it's really not serious buisness

16/11/2008, 11:25 AM
I'll never forget last night. The feeling of utter jubilation when news filtered through that Limerick had scored was unbelieveable. The trophy ceremony was thrown together in about 30 seconds. I really hope MNS captured it all.. A huge thank you to Limerick. That boy Scanlon - hero!

Galway away, bring it on.

16/11/2008, 11:27 AM
sorry to disappoint you magicme but lims equalised and dundalk are up - fantastic........unbelievable............

I know. Fair play to them but had hoped they were sticking around. Will miss the derby.

Well done Dundalk.
Cheers the 2 MMs, think I figured out the D alright. :)

Clever boy!! :p

post removed

Firstly, what has my job got to do with anything, secondly, I am entitled to my opinion and thirdly, get over yourself. I was talking to Paul Smyth earlier yesterday and wished him the best of luck but told him I would be rooting for Shels coz I will miss the derby. Oh and the FT 2-0 and Yip were for us beating Waterford.

Pull your horns in mister.

Congratulations Dundalk. Glad we dont have to go to Oriel for hammerings anymore but gutted you wont be here next year. BTW, you were the only team we didnt beat this year!

Louth4sam
16/11/2008, 11:30 AM
Galway away, bring it on.

Thats probably the away trip I'm looking forward to most. Great city and by and large sound fan's well apart from one or two eejits on here. :p
Should be a great atmosphere at it and it'll take the sting out of not getting a derby match vs the Drogs if they are relegated.

16/11/2008, 11:36 AM
I still can't really believe it. Did you make it back to the Lilywhite last night L4S or stay in Dublin?

shep
16/11/2008, 11:41 AM
:D:D:D

Well done Shels!!!

Best night of my life,just woke up on floor,with Bennions goalkeeper gloves on and half the Station road pitch on my jeans,was drinking in Oriel till 5,best moment when we all went over to the Shed in the dark around 3 or so and started singing!!! One of the most dramatic nights ever,still ****ed!!!

Limerick i love you forever..xxxxx

Magicme....Ha ha ha ha ha......you idiot!!!

Shels...unlucky,not a nice way for it to happen,but i think we were due a bit of luck.

16/11/2008, 11:43 AM
Magicme....Ha ha ha ha ha......you idiot!!!

Thanks!! At the time of posting the reports we were getting was that Shels had done it.

sullanefc
16/11/2008, 11:59 AM
While I'm on the mongos rushing on the pitch at the end, there was a sizeable number of them, we brought around 70 and there was more than that on the pitch, so surely Shels could kick them out and give them life bans if they were serious about not being viewed as a scummy club anymore? I'm sure we'll get the tried and trusted line of 'we don't really know who they are' :rolleyes: 'there was only a few real troublemakers' :rolleyes: and 'we've banned the main ringleader for life' :rolleyes:

Shels have been that way ever. When they were in the prem they were at it as well. The only team in the league that gets away with it, it seems.

16/11/2008, 12:15 PM
Shels have been that way ever. When they were in the prem they were at it as well. The only team in the league that gets away with it, it seems.

It would seem so. I'm pretty sure the majority of the culprits could be picked out by the regular Shels fans and barred for life, and to be honest I'm sick of LoI club's having excuses about not doing such an action.

You would never, no matter what the circumstances regarding a defeat, see Limerick fans doing anything even vaguely like what happened last night (queue the usual hilarity regarding Limerick people from the usual mongos) because our lot are proper supporters, and any schooligan that would try and attach himself to our club would quickly be pulled back into line by our regulars if he tried any ****e.

How, or why, other clubs fail to do likewise baffles me

16/11/2008, 12:15 PM
Jebus

Most of your post makes me vomit, of it.

Did it actually make you vomit??? :rolleyes: :D

my only wish now is that the club goes bust in preseason - tool.

I hope they die roaring.

Better pass that sick bucket............

Shels really need to get their schooligan "problem" sorted. At the final whistle about 100 to 150 midgets (or wee folk or little people or whatever the pc term is) came charging towards the Limerick end only to be laughed at and teased mercilessly.

However, this meant I couldn't leave the ground until a quarter past ten, which is a bit of a bummer.

Delighted for a cheating scumbag like Anto Flood.

Delighted for a cheating scumbag like James Chambers.

Delighted for a one dimensional, dirty, Keely team that finally got found out.

Delighted for the mongoloids you bring to away games and allow onto your pitch.

You're still roughly somewhere between Wexford and Athlone in my "rivalry" stakes Shels so don't worry. It's just nice when filth gets its commupance.

Our goalkeeper coming up for the corner at the end must be one of the greatest moments in Irish football history. :p

16/11/2008, 12:18 PM
Also, it's nice to be apart of the most liked club in the League of Ireland this morning :)

16/11/2008, 12:39 PM
Congrats to Dundalk and hard luck on Shels.

Anybody know the story with Gill and Keely for next year?

Black and White
16/11/2008, 12:42 PM
James chambers is a dirty piece of filth....twice at oriel this season he had a dig off the ball at certain players of ours...hes a scumbag.

Thanks again lims!

And magicme...you are a clown!!

Gill is in oriel today to sort out his future!didnt come back to oriel last night so it remains to be seen!!

16/11/2008, 12:44 PM
http://images.sportsfile.com/fotoweb/fwbinnew/preview.dll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

For the limerick lads I imagine it was like custers last stand only with wee little scummers instead of the indians. ;)

Black and White
16/11/2008, 12:45 PM
Wheres those photos coming from...any links to videos from tolka last night???jst cant wait 24 hours for mns!!!

16/11/2008, 12:56 PM
http://www.sportsfile.com