Page 79 of 95 FirstFirst ... 2969777879808189 ... LastLast
Results 1,561 to 1,580 of 1885

Thread: Clare League 2006/07

Quote Originally Posted by hacker View Post
    to be honest a lot of lads would do a days work for 82 euro tax free when only 3 hours of it is work..my main point was that how come these refs aren't getting accessed like they should be..for instance we had a ref this year that told 1 of our players who is foreign to get up your not in europe now.the player had recieved a fairly heavy tackle..this is racial abuse which shouldn't be tolerated but if reported the clare league would only say..stop causing trouble we have little enough refs as it is..the ref who was called a ch--t told the player straight out that he wouldn't play football again this year..and look he's out till next year..
    Fair point there hacker, if the ref was a foreigner the player would be in serious trouble for racial abuse, it happened to a few years back in a game between Newmarket and Tulla.

Just back to my earlier post about 2/3 mins added on for ball hitting players leg accidently....This in my opinion is cheating...the match (Mohar v Olympic)
    would have been over if these miniutes weren't added on and Olympic would have won the game 2-1, instead they drew 2 all because of the added time ref awarded for the ball hitting players leg. Remember the ref blew final whistle when Mohar scored their second goal in the 98th min. I can totally understand a player reacting in the way he did to the ref after game...but 8 months is a farce.
    If you're in the penalty area and don't know what to do with the ball, put it in the net and we'll discuss the options later

FORM IS TEMPORARY, CLASS IS PERMANENT

Quote Originally Posted by shelbourne1904 View Post
    Was the fact that the leagues would not entertain any abuse or hassling of referees made absolutely clear???This was as a result of so many of them pulling out after last season for this very reason.
    In my opinion it was.
    Was this passed from the clubs to the players??
    If it wasnt the clubs are at fault.
    If it was then then why would anybody get involved with referees if they already knew what the out come was going to be???

The arguements will go on forever about the standard of referees.The arguements will go one that they are paid and some do avery bad job,regularly.
    The arguements will go on that if one ref does a great job and is fit and prepares properly yet the bad one who turns up ill prepared with a hangover gets the same money.

We are stuck with this at the moment because there are not enough of them.

THE MESSAGE IS ABSOLUTELY CLEAR DONT GET INVOLVED WITH THEM OR YOU WILL GET SERIOUS SUSPENSIONS
    Good point Shelbourne.
    2 of the more senior and better referees packed up the game this season for that very reason.
    The experiance of the 2 referees for tough matches or any match for that matter has not been replaced.
    I agree that some referees act in a very proffessional manner, where as others dont, the same can be said for Players and clubs.
    At the end of the day we were all in it for enjoyment and the love of the game and while there will always be a them against us attitude from all sides this debate will continue to run & run & run & run..............................

Unhappy

The discussion on refs WILL run and run and really the wrong discussion is being had here.

What is the procedure for the disciplining of players in the Clare League?
    Why is there no representation from the referees at these hearings?

To go back to Shels point, yes the clubs were made aware and in turn the players were made aware (i presume), sure wasn't every player aware of the ref shortage, but in the heat of the moment haven't we all lost it.

It would seem the lenght of the ban reflects the severity and what weight the referee put behind the complaint. You can bet that if, if a referee reports a crime to the CL in a severe manner they will find in his favour after all, they can't take the chance of losing him....it goes back to my original question, what is the procedure for this, are there guidelines even from the referee association on lenghts of bans for different offences, or did the CL make it up as they went along.

difference in referees

i would just like to make a point about refs and i dont mean to have a go because it aint easy but was involved in two matches this year of complete contrast...one were both teams had a bit of history and you could see it about to boil over and a boxing match occured.In fairness the ref sent all 6 involved and told the players to cop on,wasnt particularly nigly as ref called the game well...due to the fact the players knew the ref ment business the rest of the game passed off peacefully

while a few weeks later against different opposition 3 players were needlessly sent of due to the fact that the ref let lads act the boll1x i.e mouth off at each other,late tackles,climbing which were all fairly blatant....with a different ref this mightent of happened and anytime there was a bit of handbags the ref was looking around for the nearest exit.....5 minutes to go he called in the 2 captains for a word but by then it was to late...in fairness had this ref for other games and was no bother probably as he wanted to let the game flow and it was a clean game....

but the difference in styles has a big bearing on games and it is easy to see why lads lose the head...consistency would be a help and i know every ref has there own style...both these refs would be premier refs as wel
    I eats the beef......

Quote Originally Posted by Sweetchips View Post
    The discussion on refs WILL run and run and really the wrong discussion is being had here.

What is the procedure for the disciplining of players in the Clare League?
    Why is there no representation from the referees at these hearings?

To go back to Shels point, yes the clubs were made aware and in turn the players were made aware (i presume), sure wasn't every player aware of the ref shortage, but in the heat of the moment haven't we all lost it.

It would seem the lenght of the ban reflects the severity and what weight the referee put behind the complaint. You can bet that if, if a referee reports a crime to the CL in a severe manner they will find in his favour after all, they can't take the chance of losing him....it goes back to my original question, what is the procedure for this, are there guidelines even from the referee association on lenghts of bans for different offences, or did the CL make it up as they went along.
    To answer your question there is no procedure in clare.The referees report goes directly to the TREASURER Frank Healy who in turn decides what ban is to be given without consultation from ANYONE else in the cl......

Quote Originally Posted by Interested View Post
    Great calculating hacker. If we break it down properly. A ref has a game in Shannon at 11.00, to be at the venue in time to do a pre match check means he leaves home at 10.00.
    His 2nd game is in Newmarket at 2.30, with the game finishing at 4.15, (taking into account half time). By the time he gets home it is 5 O'Clock with his whole Sunday taken up.
    By my calculation 10 in the morning untill 5.00 is 7 hours which comes in at 11.71 an hour (just above minimum wage).
    I dont think there are too many players who would do a days work for €82.00.
    If there are I am sure there employers would be willing to negoitiate.
    You left out double time for Sunday ....or at least time and a half?????
    "You'll not see nothing like the Shelbourne team"

Another good win for newmarket tonight 5- 2 against Bridge utd. They certainly are finishing strongly. Its a tight finish now in the relegation situation..

Anyone wanna take a stab at Premier Squad of the year... just something to change the subject.

This debate about the suspension really turned into a ref bashing excersise... He got abused by a player and sent him off. In the report he must have described the extent of the abuse, but that was it.

I do feel 8 months is harsh on the player but it is not the referee's fault that the player got such a harsh suspension...

And at the end of it all we see a list of people saying how bad a job referee's do while we never see any of them offering to do some courses and try the job for themselves...
    ”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
    George Hamilton...
    http://www.innishvilla.com

Quote Originally Posted by Offside View Post
    Anyone wanna take a stab at Premier Squad of the year... just something to change the subject.

442 formation??Or are we going the way of the OT playing 3 at the back when noone knows how to play it???

------------------keeper
    Derek Byrne right back,Noel Donnellan at centre half------------centre half-----------------left back
    ----------------right wing--------------right mid Mike O Malley left mid-----------left wing
    ---------------striker------------striker

Really not sure about the rest???
    "You'll not see nothing like the Shelbourne team"

Quote Originally Posted by Innishvilla View Post
    This debate about the suspension really turned into a ref bashing excersise... He got abused by a player and sent him off. In the report he must have described the extent of the abuse, but that was it.

I do feel 8 months is harsh on the player but it is not the referee's fault that the player got such a harsh suspension...

And at the end of it all we see a list of people saying how bad a job referee's do while we never see any of them offering to do some courses and try the job for themselves...
    I don't think you are getting the point at all. The ref played 8 miniutes extra time to give a team enough time to equalize in a game. He also told a player that 2/3 miniutes time would be added on for the ball hitting off the players leg and rolling 2/3 meters away from center circle,thats 1 miniute per meter the ball travelled Once the team (Mohar) equalized IN THE 98TH MINIUTEthe final whistle blew,game over. Then after the game player calls ref a cheat out of total fustration with the refs decisions.

Now i'm not saying it is the refs fault he got eight month ban, but this is a player out of the game for 8 months for a stupid comment that came out in fustration.

In the same game one of the Olympic official Threw the flag at the ref but yet he only receives 3 game ban...Can you see how messed up this 8 month ban is.
    If you're in the penalty area and don't know what to do with the ball, put it in the net and we'll discuss the options later

Quote Originally Posted by smellyfeet View Post
    I don't think you are getting the point at all. The ref played 8 miniutes extra time to give a team enough time to equalize in a game. He also told a player that 2/3 miniutes time would be added on for the ball hitting off the players leg and rolling 2/3 meters away from center circle,thats 1 miniute per meter the ball travelled Once the team (Mohar) equalized IN THE 98TH MINIUTEthe final whistle blew,game over. Then after the game player calls ref a cheat out of total fustration with the refs decisions.

Now i'm not saying it is the refs fault he got eight month ban, but this is a player out of the game for 8 months for a stupid comment that came out in fustration.

In the same game one of the Olympic official Threw the flag at the ref but yet he only receives 3 game ban...Can you see how messed up this 8 month ban is.
    I do get the point.

Again I repeat I feel the 8 months was very harsh, I wasn't at the game so I couldn't comment on the added time complaints, but the whole match and situation seems a bit strange alright.

But the ref did not give the 8 month suspension or give the 3 game suspension to the guy that threw the corner flag (very lenient).

Would there have been anything more that a post or two about this whole incident if the player had been given a 3/4 match ban... I think not...
    ”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
    George Hamilton...
    http://www.innishvilla.com

Team of the year

1.Skinny.GK (Newtown) Because he has the least goals scored against him.
    2.Derek Byrne.RB (Newtown) Very good at getting up and down the line.
    3.Avenue Left back. Don't know his name. Solid as a rock.
    4.Dan Aherne.CH (Bridge C) Because he's an animal.
    5.Noel Donnallen.CH (Newtown) Never lets you down.Gives 200%
    6.Mike OMalley CM(Newmarket) Good engine and scoring goals lately
    7.Whitey CM (Lifford) Very tough,
    8.Tom Carmody LM (Avenue)Sweat left peg,but is very lazy.
    9.Jimmy Houlihan RM (Olympic) But he wouldn't be able to play for obvious reasons.
    10.Declan "CHEEKY,CHEEKY" McDonald.CF(Newtown).Rarely scores a ****e goal,they have to be a cracker from him or they don't count
    11.David Ghilarde.CF (Avenue)Very good allrounder,scores alot of goals."against Newtown
    Last edited by smellyfeet; 17/05/2007 at 10:04 AM.

top goalscores from prem,1st,2nd,3rd, does any 1 no???

[QUOTE=smellyfeet;687485]I don't think you are getting the point at all. The ref played 8 miniutes extra time to give a team enough time to equalize in a game. He also told a player that 2/3 miniutes time would be added on for the ball hitting off the players leg and rolling 2/3 meters away from center circle,thats 1 miniute per meter the ball travelled Once the team (Mohar) equalized IN THE 98TH MINIUTEthe final whistle blew,game over. Then after the game player calls ref a cheat out of total fustration with the refs decisions.

Didnt the same sort of thing happen in a certain english prem match involving man u and steve bruce when they scored in the 98th minute???And these lads are or were pros,its all part of the game if the was no contraversey in football Chelsea would be champs ansd Netown would of won the league by Christmas

Quote Originally Posted by sore_toe View Post
    top goalscores from prem,1st,2nd,3rd, does any 1 no???
    Was trying to keep track on Premier Scorerswww.freewebs.com/clareleague/index.htm

Posts stopped coming with scorer details so missing quite a few from other clubs... only club totally up to date is Bridge Celtic (Surprise Surprise)..

Paul McEvoy should definetely be included in Prem team of the season, 15 league goals this year(Surely top scorer)

If people would like to fill in the missing scorers required from other clubs, I can update the missing scorer list on website mentioned above.

please post date of game fixture and scorer name.. we can try and get this compiled before Sunday...

Mcevoy has to be in it... outstanding season with 15 goals... One of the reasons that ye should win the league.

Bridge United Scorers

Moher (h) Darek Mostovoi, Mark Culbert
    Olympic(h) Billy Maxwell
    Lifford (h) Dennis Murphy, Albert Finnan
    Rovers (h) Beezer Murphy
    Newtown (a) Sean Wason
    Newmarket (h) Tadgh Keogh