rineanna 0 lifford 2
    bridge ubited 0 mountshannon 1
    Bad night for Newmarket

Quote Originally Posted by myleftfoot View Post
    Caught some of the Newtown Avenue match last night.
    Credit to both teams for a very entertaining game but the quality of some of the football was poor - miskicks and mistakes from both sides - probably because of the pitch. The surface was absolutely awful - what has happened to Lees Road - bumps and holes all over it. You would expect these 2 premier sides to be able to string good passing moves together but with the surface that was impossible.
    If summer soccer means having to play on bumpy pitches like that its time to forget it.
    I agree, the pitches are imposible to play on without proper watering and I dont think many clubs have that option. As you say entertaining game and despite the pitch there was plenty of goal mouth incident. Both sides struggled while playing into the sun, impossible to see the ball in the air. The effort from both sides couldn't be faulted, both sides went all out for the win. In my unbiased opinion newtown deserved the win, with more posession/more goal chances and the Newtown equaliser by that young lad must have been goal of the season
    you are only a loser when you stop trying. Playing sport does not build character, it reveals it.

Quote Originally Posted by Side Cutter View Post
    Well done to bridge celtic last night.Well worth the win and never stopped attacking.Can someone tell me who scored bridge celtics second goal.One of the best goals i have ever seen.
    gary moloney scored the second...in fairness it wasnt half bad alrite....thought the keeper could of done better for it but it did dip a nice bit...
    I eats the beef......

Quote Originally Posted by papa-j View Post
    I agree, the pitches are imposible to play on without proper watering and I dont think many clubs have that option. As you say entertaining game and despite the pitch there was plenty of goal mouth incident. Both sides struggled while playing into the sun, impossible to see the ball in the air. The effort from both sides couldn't be faulted, both sides went all out for the win. In my unbiased opinion newtown deserved the win, with more posession/more goal chances and the Newtown equaliser by that young lad must have been goal of the season
    who was the young lad has he a name ... are ye back in with chance of winning league now

" football is a simple game "

Credit to both teams for a very entertaining game but the quality of some of the football was poor - miskicks and mistakes from both sides - probably because of the pitch. The surface was absolutely awful - what has happened to Lees Road - bumps and holes all over it. You would expect these 2 premier sides to be able to string good passing moves together but with the surface that was impossible.
    If summer soccer means having to play on bumpy pitches like that its time to forget it.[/QUOTE]

Wrong conclusion.This is a red herring.The reason the pitch is bad is because of winter soccer.The winter we have just played through.I also have great doubts about the knowledge ,qualifications and ability of the manager of Lees Road.

NB Do not get sidetracked from what appears to be the majority aim of playing in the summer.
    "You'll not see nothing like the Shelbourne team"

Quote Originally Posted by old git View Post
    who was the young lad has he a name ... are ye back in with chance of winning league now
    forget about him, what about Frankie "centre circle, eagle eyed" Coote....gave a peno for avenue from 40yards away that even they laughed about. But in fairness he really let the game flow, I thought he was pretty good. We need Moher and Bridge Celtic to drop about 4 points each while winning all our games. You never know but Celtic are in a great position.
    Huge game for both Moher and Olympic tonight. Can Olympic get a result?
    you are only a loser when you stop trying. Playing sport does not build character, it reveals it.

Quote Originally Posted by Ice-man View Post
    The Moher manager is a ref in Clare, is it any wonder they are getting special treatment.
    Noone said he was a ref.What was said was he reffed a match.

Quote Originally Posted by First View Post
    A piece of history will accurr tomorrow evening that may ripple through the anals of time. A group of young men will head to the fabled and feared land of the north west of Clare to battle the now mythical giants of the men from Moher. A group of men known as the Olympians, they carry the hopes and fears of many on their young shoulders, that they can vanquish this monster whose tentacles are spreading to the once powerful bastions of a game called soccer in Clare. Hopes are high that at least a wound can be inflicted on these giants so that the job can be completed by another formerly feared group of men from Tradaree. This is ever looking less and less likely because the stories abound of sorcery and witchcraft been part of the armoury of the men who worship the cliffs.They have taken over the minds , it is said of the leaders and organisers of said battles and have managed to engage all comers at times when they are at their weakest. This they say is only happening because of these giants worship of another God known far and wide in the country of Hibernia as the GAA. Let us hope that these barve 11 from Olympia do not become the latest sacrifices to the Gods that live , it is said at the bottom of the cliffs and only rise as the sun rises on the day of the Moon and again on the twilight of the week.
    WHEN IS THE NEXT CHAPTER TO BE REALEASED IN THIS ENTRAWLING MYSTERY

Quote Originally Posted by shelbourne1904 View Post
    WHEN IS THE NEXT CHAPTER TO BE REALEASED IN THIS ENTRAWLING MYSTERY
    Once I receive the result

Formerly: vidic-class
    Quote Originally Posted by old git View Post
    gaz leahy...heard from the newtown lads he came on and changed the game for newtown almost on his own when he came on

Quote Originally Posted by hacker View Post
    2nites other results

rineanna 0 lifford 2
    bridge ubited 0 mountshannon 1
    looks like next weeks local derby betwen the bridge and newmarket is looking like a relegation decider or at least for the losers its looking grim.
    now that is one match i am going to miss seeing

by the way townie ... any match report on the newtown game last night
    im sure all your talk on this site stirred the newtown lads... fair play

Quote Originally Posted by papa-j View Post
    forget about him, what about Frankie "centre circle, eagle eyed" Coote....gave a peno for avenue from 40yards away that even they laughed about. But in fairness he really let the game flow, I thought he was pretty good. We need Moher and Bridge Celtic to drop about 4 points each while winning all our games. You never know but Celtic are in a great position.
    Huge game for both Moher and Olympic tonight. Can Olympic get a result?

looking like it will go to the last day of the season again this year... anything can happen.....seems as though all this 'preferential' treatment of moher could have them in pole position come the final day...
    im cheering on the Bridge Celtic lads. they have been very consistent since been promoted and they have good organisation in the club. Their manager has them well set up.

hopefully they will leave the bridge celtic v moher game til the last day of the season...it should make for a right good finish to the season....
    I eats the beef......

Moher 2 - 2 Olympic.
    Moher equalise in 98th minute.
    "1 day i will start hand.ie"
    Newtown F.C. 1977-2008 R.I.P.
    Hibs goin up!

vs newtown

was like a cup tie to be honest
    pitch a disgrace, both teams just going flat out for a win. newtown looked to be crusing at 2-0 up after an hour then avenue stormed 3 goals in 15 mins to look like goin top of the table but credit to newtown just kept attacking.. jay stretton got the equaliser by the way a header from 3 yds from a corner an the 4th goal was a mistake by centre back ball caught unuderneath his feet in 6yd box an stroked home.. peno for avenue was a farce but we had been denied 2 blatant ones before hand.... newtown wont win league but if they performed like this more consistently they would have challenged.. cup is going to be interesting

Quote Originally Posted by hacker View Post
    unbelievable... ref blew up straight after moher equilised...
    98th miniute, how many seconds in the 98th miniute was it.
    In all fairness,8 minutes extra time is outragous, just another talking point in the Mohar saga.

Surely this case is the iceing on the cake for them "Mohar". But i think the tital will go to Bridge Celtic, HOPEFULLY. For The sake of football in the county. CORRUPT
    If you're in the penalty area and don't know what to do with the ball, put it in the net and we'll discuss the options later

FORM IS TEMPORARY, CLASS IS PERMANENT

Quote Originally Posted by smellyfeet View Post
    98th miniute, how many seconds in the 98th miniute was it.
    In all fairness,8 minutes extra time is outragous, just another talking point in the Mohar saga.

Surely this case is the iceing on the cake for them "Mohar". But i think the tital will go to Bridge Celtic, HOPEFULLY. For The sake of football in the county. CORRUPT

in fairness i wouldnt begrudge moher the title...but if they do manage to win the league i think the achievement will be deminished in the eyes of others due to the scheduling of fixtures and decisions like 8 minutes of stoppage time which would be a shame....

but it might not come to dat as it now looks like our boys are in pole position for the league....
    I eats the beef......

Quote Originally Posted by chappie View Post
    in fairness i wouldnt begrudge moher the title...but if they do manage to win the league i think the achievement will be deminished in the eyes of others due to the scheduling of fixtures and decisions like 8 minutes of stoppage time which would be a shame....

but it might not come to dat as it now looks like our boys are in pole position for the league....
    Well thats a fair point but, could you blame anyone in thinking that way.
    If you're in the penalty area and don't know what to do with the ball, put it in the net and we'll discuss the options later

FORM IS TEMPORARY, CLASS IS PERMANENT

8 mins my a.rse

8 minutes. not a hope.

4-5 minutes was it tops. 5 subs in the second half aswell.
    Take it easy ! (and if ur getting it easy Take it Again)

Page 69 of 95 FirstFirst ... 1959676869707179 ... LastLast