This game on sunday should be a cracker anyway you look at it..
A couple of ex Newtown players with Olympic, local Derby in a big Cup game.
Newtown missing a few tru injury,,4 starters missing from last sundays game
I think your a bit wound up with the S. Carroll and T. Dudden thing.
1 of them wanted to sign for Newtown and was told that they weren't needed as there are 21 players already signed,i think that is fair enough...Would they want to be signed and left on the bench, No..![]()
As i said previously its only amatuer and a bit of banter, TBH it will only add to a bit more craic now that the 2 lads are playing with Olympic![]()
If you're in the penalty area and don't know what to do with the ball, put it in the net and we'll discuss the options later
FORM IS TEMPORARY, CLASS IS PERMANENT
This game on sunday should be a cracker anyway you look at it..
A couple of ex Newtown players with Olympic, local Derby in a big Cup game.
Newtown missing a few tru injury,,4 starters missing from last sundays game
If you're in the penalty area and don't know what to do with the ball, put it in the net and we'll discuss the options later
Lads there's only one match happening on Sunday and its the big parish derby.
Come on the Blues![]()
hello all/shels1904..
just said id join this thing after seein the bull thats bein wrote about two lads i now very well and thought id just clear a few things up. Firstly shels if you were monitoring the lads progress in town you would have realised that they played in 2 fai finals U16 &17 winning the later 1-0.. and played in the youths fai semi final losing 1-0 with one of them scoring an og in the last min. anyway thats neither here nor there.. secondly shels i would like to refer back to one of your other statements/facts about the "lads turning gaa heads over night", i found this the most amusing seen as they have been playing with wolfe tones since they were under 10s in both codes.so sorry wrong again shels.. on this matter and this is another FACT, one of them told last years manager that if gaa training/match clashes with soccer he would be unavailable.. thirdly as for them goin to olympic because they were both Guaranteed a game is ridiculous.. i no the reason why they left newtown and if you really want to no then maybe you should ask one of them.. i have spoken to one of the two culpritsand by all accounts they are really enjoyin playin with olympic the manager is sound and they get on with all de lads.. i no shels a hard pill to swallow..
but there arent that many people who are 100% royal to there club and only play with one during their career are there smelly feet /papa-j... so i def dont think there stabbin newtown in the back... but they are still young and will eventually settle down with one club lets just hope for your sake its newtown or are they welcome there anymore....... your de man
down in newtown shels i dont think writing lies about the two is showing a good example... but as smelly feet pointed out its only a game of soccer and you shouldnt give a monkeys fart about the two after all you have your super star squad already... COME ON DE TONES...
I dont consider I was writing a biography on the two that was open critism for inaccuracies.
I expressed a dissapointment that after achieving great success with Wembley having been with Newtown for ,one of them from 9 to to 15 and the other from 9 to 16(to be abosolutely accurate).Does your inaccuracy qualify as a lie?Newtown were extremely dissapointed with this as they looked foward to having them in their panel but instead they went for the gaa first.
This is born out by the fact that they never played last season with Newtown until the gaa was over.In all their previous GAA involvelmnt, which I was never aware of,they never choose gaa over football.Thatcommitment would not have been acceptable to Newtown this year and rightly so.If you are a gaa head who thinks that is ok then you should be on a gaa website and if another club thinks that commitment is ok then thats fine also as they are entitled to their opinions.Equally Newtown are entitled to their opinions and standards.
"You'll not see nothing like the Shelbourne team"
As far as i know there is no bad feeling with the 2 lads at all, well defo not from me. Its just that Newtowns season started in july and not october and thats prob the reason that they were told that they weren't needed + the fact that there are 21 others on the first team. TBH i as a player wouldn't be happy if the 2 boys arrived down in october and got a game before me and that goe's for the rest of the team aswell i'd say.
I'd say that the 2 lads don't give a crap what anyone on this site has to say either. They are not the first players to leave Newtown for Olympic and won't be the either.
[I expressed a dissapointment that after achieving great success with Wembley having been with Newtown for ,one of them from 9 to to 15 and the other from 9 to 16[/QUOTE]
To be honest Shels this is unfortunately happening at every club. To make matters worse this disease has riddled clubs down as far as 13's and 14's. For example in the youths league at the moment there are 4 Bridge players playing with Bunratty, 2 with Avenue and 2 in town. Hate to harp on about loyalty but the future is bleak and the days of one club men is drawing to an end. Junior players should lead by example, but having seen our club captain leave after playing 20 years for the club does not exactly lead the way.
Additionally we can say what we like about the GAA but at least they don't have to worry about what players they will have next season. Whether your club is good or bad you have one club and are proud to represent them.
Last edited by Prem Rep!; 20/10/2006 at 1:50 PM.
To be honest Shels this is unfortunately happening at every club. To make matters worse this disease has riddled clubs down as far as 13's and 14's. For example in the youths league at the moment there are 4 Bridge players playing with Bunratty, 2 with Avenue and 2 in town. Hate to harp on about loyalty but the future is bleak and the days of one club men is drawing to an end. Junior players should lead by example, but having seen our club captain leave after playing 20 years for the club does not exactly lead the way.
Additionally we can say what we like about the GAA but at least they don't have to worry about what players they will have next season. Whether your club is good or bad you have one club and are proud to represent them.[/QUOTE]
Would i be right in saying that your ex club captain played schoolboys with Newtown under Pat Frost (RIP) along with a few others from the bridge. Maybe he was just coming home for a while![]()
I know that you are into the loyalty thing but players come and go every year and thats the way the game is.
so i def dont think there stabbin newtown in the back... but they are still young and will eventually settle down with one club lets just hope for your sake its newtown or are they welcome there anymore
They are more than welcome in Newtown, so long as they can commit. The level of committment required will be decided by the managment in charge. The managment this year didn't feel they could accomodate the lads under those circumstances. The Olympic managment felt differently and thats their right. Good luck to them all. I dont think anybody feels they stabbed anyone in the back.
As for loyalty I think I can consider my self a loyal Newtown man having played 18 out the last 20 seasons with the club and dont need to justify that to you.
Now lets drop the s*ite talk about the lads...there not that bloody good to dedicate a whole thread toand get back to talking about football
Obviously I'm going for a Newtown winafter a tight encounter
you are only a loser when you stop trying. Playing sport does not build character, it reveals it.
id like to inform you papa-j that the two were never told that they couldnt sign for newtown because of their commitment( FACT), i dont no were you hear this bull, so if your gonna post facts try and make sure there trueand your dead right about the two being not as good as people make out, so why is it mainly newtown people postin
i totally agree with smelly feet bout this whole thing being blown out of the water, he seems to be the only one on this thing with a bit of cop on.oh and shels i am a gaa head and proud of it, hope to see you in cusack park on sunday cheerin on the mighty tones..
to be honest im suprised the game hasnt been called off so peope can get to ennis in plenty of time... heard the two lads are going at half time to get good seats..haha
Is there anyone else to talk about lads,or anything
bunratty will play newtown in the next round of munster cup