Page 18 of 95 FirstFirst ... 816171819202868 ... LastLast

Thread: Clare League 2006/07

Quote Originally Posted by shelbourne1904 View Post
    Never misses an opportunity,was that a brown paper bag attached to the ball????
    Well its the only way to get the school knocked for the McDonagh Memorial Stadium, Hotel , Conference Centre and Academy development started.

Fai 3rd Round Draw

CLARE-DESMOND-KERRY 3RD.ROUND
    1 Kilarney Clt. v Avenue Utd.
    2 Listowel Clt v Castleisland
    3 Rathkeale / Spa Road Clt. v Carrig Clt.
    4 Abbeyfeale v Ratoo Rvs
    5 Bridge Clt. v Kilorglin F.C.
    6 Tralee Dys. v Palaskenry
    7 Shannon Olympic v Newcastlewest
    8 Newtown F.C. v Kilarney Ath.
    9 Inter Kenmare v Burren Utd.
    10 Knockaderry v Newmarket
    GAMES TO BE PLAYED ON OR BEFORE THE 4TH/5TH.November2006

Quote Originally Posted by devilfish View Post
    Sounds like sour grapes on the Stephen Carroll and Terry Duggan episode. It was a great coup for Oly to get those 2 back playing in Shannon and to a club that is open to looking after them...if every club was like that, we wouldn't be losing our best players to Limerick clubs every year. Was Stephen not playing for Newtown last year????
    There was no coup getting these 2 players back to Shannon as they both played for Newtown last year. TBH nobody at Newtown gives a monkeys fart who they play for so no sour grapes at all. At the end of the day it is Amatuer football and they are free to go where they want when they want.
    If you're in the penalty area and don't know what to do with the ball, put it in the net and we'll discuss the options later

FORM IS TEMPORARY, CLASS IS PERMANENT

Quote Originally Posted by smellyfeet View Post
    At the end of the day it is Amatuer football and they are free to go where they want when they want.
    Thats very true, but it's the players who cannot show loyalty to one club who will let you down in the long run. Too many nomads around in my opinion. I think this is the main reason the bite has gone out of the Clare league a bit, when it comes to the crunch these guys don't really give a crap about the club they are playing for and don't lose sleep if they win or lose. Full credit to players who have remained loyal, these are the backbones to all teams, not the yearly blow ins.

Quote Originally Posted by Prem Rep! View Post
    Thats very true, but it's the players who cannot show loyalty to one club who will let you down in the long run. Too many nomads around in my opinion. I think this is the main reason the bite has gone out of the Clare league a bit, when it comes to the crunch these guys don't really give a crap about the club they are playing for and don't lose sleep if they win or lose. Full credit to players who have remained loyal, these are the backbones to all teams, not the yearly blow ins.
    I understand where your coming from. But i left Newtown before and wouldn't call myself a nomad.
    If you're in the penalty area and don't know what to do with the ball, put it in the net and we'll discuss the options later

I understand where your coming from. But i left Newtown before and wouldn't call myself a nomad.
    No but I've heard you called worse

But seriously I agree that there are a lot of nomads in the Clare league and it does seem to have taken the bite out of things. When I played you were proud to wear the jersey of your club at you did care whether you won or lost.
    From my own experience I also know what it is like to fall out with your club and move on but now it seems that people are moving from clubs for no other reason as to who will accomadate them ,whether its to fit in with their GAA schedule or the fact they don't want to fight for a place on their club team.

Quote Originally Posted by hacker View Post
    prem rep...to answer your question is no its not the lads your thinking of...
    devilfish...you hit nail on the head..
    papa-j ...just wondering since when did newtown bring in this rule about lads playing gaa can't play for ye.as the 2 lads we just signed were both wit ye last year..or is it just cause they didn't sign for ye this year..my personal opinion on it is that its better have 2 quality players for 10 or 15 games a year than not have them at all and to lose them to park or shannon town.also there is plenty of players (26) wit olympic dissappointed every sunday not to be playing.but they tell there manager that they are disappointed not other teams..
    No rule in the club about GAA players, I said we didn't need these players. If you get 15 games between the two of them I'll buy you a pint myself. No disrespect to the 2 lads that just how it was last year. Just wondering if these "disappointed" players from Newtown approached you or did you approach them?
    you are only a loser when you stop trying. Playing sport does not build character, it reveals it.

[QUOTE=First;558985]No but I've heard you called worse

Quote Originally Posted by First View Post

''but now it seems that people are moving from clubs for no other reason''.
    I think ego's play a big part in this.

CLARE-DESMOND-KERRY 3RD.ROUND
    1 Kilarney Clt. v Avenue Utd.
    2 Listowel Clt v Castleisland
    3 Rathkeale / Spa Road Clt. v Carrig Clt.
    4 Abbeyfeale v Ratoo Rvs
    5 Bridge Clt. v Kilorglin F.C.
    6 Tralee Dys. v Palaskenry
    7 Shannon Olympic v Newcastlewest
    8 Newtown F.C. v Kilarney Ath.
    9 Inter Kenmare v Burren Utd.
    10 Knockaderry v Newmarket
    GAMES TO BE PLAYED ON OR BEFORE THE 4TH/5TH.November2006
    Only 2 teams in clare drawn away. Should give the home teams the upper hand Not saying that home team will win or away team will lose but it is a small advantage.

Great thread now lads.Plenty of activity and good points.
    The loyalty thing is a great issue.The 2 lads played with Newtown from under 10 to 16.They then went to Wmbley after being approached during the close season and went on to play in the national cup u17 final and unfortunately lost.They came back last year and all in Newtown were looking foward to their return but lo and behold they became GAA heads over night and didnt make themselves available till well into the season after the GAA was finished however they had "other commitments"as well and were not always available for the remainder of the season.On a couple of occassions one of them had to be taken off before half time!!!Again we thought they would give their commitment this year but calculated that the set up in Newtown is such this year that they would have difficulty getting a game and took the option to go elsewhere on the basis that they would get a game without having to make much effort rather than fighting for their places.
    Hopefully there will be a good derby on Sunday one way or the other and that the team most likely to go furthest and represent Clare best will win.
    Last edited by shelbourne1904; 19/10/2006 at 9:57 AM.

I think ego's play a big part in this.
    hope this isn't directed at my prem
    Last edited by smellyfeet; 19/10/2006 at 10:12 AM.

Great thread now lads.Plenty of activity and good points.
    The loyalty thing is a great issue.The 2 lads played with Newtown from under 10 to 16.They then went to Wmbley after being approached during the close season and went on to play in the national cup u17 final and unfortunately lost.They came back last year and all in Newtown were looking foward to their return but lo and behold they became GAA heads over night and didnt make themselves available till well into the season after the GAA was finished however they had "other commitments"as well and were not always available for the remainder of the season.On a couple of occassions one of them had to be taken off before half time!!!Again we thought they would give their commitment this year but calculated that the set up in Newtown is such this year that they would have difficulty getting a game and took the option to go elsewhere on the basis that they would get a game without having to make much effort rather than fighting for their places.
    Hopefully there will be a good derby on Sunday one way or the other and that the team most likely to go furthest and represent Clare best will win.
    I think enough has been said on this matter. Should be a good game sunday.
    I'll go for a pint after in the lodge if i'm back in time win, lose or draw.

Don't expect anyone to go naming teams here before Sunday but are the 2 transferred players likely to start on Sunday???

Jeez I'm even going to stay in Saturday night just to make sure I dont sleep in and miss this one.

hope this isn't directed at my prem
    This was general comment and not directed at anyone in particular. There are 10-12 players in the Prem who change club every season. Newtown have one at the moment, we also have a couple. Not directed at you at all SF.

Quote Originally Posted by First View Post

But seriously I agree that there are a lot of nomads in the Clare league and it does seem to have taken the bite out of things. When I played you were proud to wear the jersey of your club at you did care whether you won or lost.
    From my own experience I also know what it is like to fall out with your club and move on but now it seems that people are moving from clubs for no other reason as to who will accomadate them ,whether its to fit in with their GAA schedule or the fact they don't want to fight for a place on their club team.
    would agree with you first .. was a lot more pride in your club a few years ago when i was playing also .... watching games now and it looks like this has gone ... but must add very few clubs now have a lot of loyal players left and it is unfortunate they have to accomadate a lot of these nomads... park rangers in shannon is a perfect example for years they were poaching players all over shannon and look were this has gotten them now ...

" football is a simple game "

Quote Originally Posted by CousinSylDolan View Post
    Don't expect anyone to go naming teams here before Sunday but are the 2 transferred players likely to start on Sunday???

Jeez I'm even going to stay in Saturday night just to make sure I dont sleep in and miss this one.
    You'd have some job naming the Newtown team!!Noone knows from week to week,Daniel Tierney back from injury now so Skinny back under pressure again.Of course the 2 lads will be playing ,I heard they were guaranteed places once they signed!!!But someone could have been telling lies and just misleading me and that they are only in the panel and will be picked on merit and training attendance.

Hopefully the 2 teams will go back to the Lodge or wherever Olympic drink to have a pint together after the match.
    "You'll not see nothing like the Shelbourne team"

This was general comment and not directed at anyone in particular. There are 10-12 players in the Prem who change club every season. Newtown have one at the moment, we also have a couple. Not directed at you at all SF.
    Only haven ya on.

Hopefully the 2 teams will go back to the Lodge or wherever Olympic drink to have a pint together after the match.
    Surely ye will be heading for Ennis together in harmony for the hurling final...

Quote Originally Posted by hacker View Post
    its terrible for you to be slating lads.since someone close to you left the club for a couple of years to try and better himself.(which he did fair play to him)
    he was welcomed back wit open arms..on the other hand 1 of the lads wanted to sign for ye but was told no cause he was playing gaa..
    papa-j .... these players did actually say it to me..why would someone want to approach these players when we have 26 signed..and you can ask the 2 lads that signed were they both approached..look at your post yesterday time 3.04pm states (Newtown dont sign players who use soccer for keeping fit in the GAA close season ).

hacker ... i don't think shelbourne slated these players
    he has mentioned a couple of times they are good players
    his problem seems to be with their commitment to training & to a certain other sport.. & maybee no loyalty to any club.. davy wall leaving newtown is a different issue
    he left newtown for a better club ( no disrepect to olympic here )
    he trained hard gave it 100% with fairview and was rewarded in the end .... davy then made the decision to return to newtown .. which if being honest was a step backwards in my opinion .. but it was what he wanted and he always gives it 100% in training & matches as far as i know newtown always had issues with signing players trying to play gaa & soccer..

" football is a simple game "

Page 18 of 95 FirstFirst ... 816171819202868 ... LastLast