Page 7 of 65 FirstFirst ... 567891757 ... LastLast

Thread: Cork AUL 2008/09

41 Posts

reality check for wilton

I brought the kids for a spin Saturday down to Kinsale to watch them play Wlton,thinkin that they would fall asleep on the way an that would give me the opertuinity to watch what I hoped was going to be a belter.Kids fell asleep alright but Wilton looked like they were asleep too.

.Kinsale did what they do best and punished some of the worst defendin I have every seen.Sorry Rise but Wilton looked like a 3rd division side,no formation,organisation nothing.I left at half time because I just couldnt watch anymore.I'm only surprised Kinsale only added 1 more in the second half.I presume it was blown up early.

You cant expect to just stand around for corners an not mark anyone an then be surprised when you get punished by a side who are well known for bein good at set peices.Kinsale we miles above Wilton,very busy an hard workin,few new faces alright an the 3rd was a great goal.Good 3 points considering the weather.
    Their's only one Dinny Pop's.

Both Park games are goin ahead this week.
    Park A play Grattan tommorrow night and will have all the lads back from GAA.
    Park B game vs Glenthorn will go ahead Thursday night unless we get continious rain for the week.Glanworth game was called off yesterday as both our pitch and Glanworth pitch was deemed unplayable.Had 2 hours of training instead.Happy days
    So i'd say u might as well book some time off Olachico.

In fairness, Wilton tried to get the game called off because they were missing most of their defence and their goalkeeper as one of the players was married the day before.

They were 2-0 down after five minutes after conceding two goals from set pieces, both of which were down to poor organisation.

The condtions were dangerous and I have to say, I thought the game would have been called off only for the fact that Kinsale knew Wilton were struggling for players and really wanted the game to go ahead.

Wilton will bounce back and should be well able to compete with a full side and in better conditions, which really didn't suit the kind of game they try to play.

Quote Originally Posted by littleman View Post
    I brought the kids for a spin Saturday down to Kinsale to watch them play Wlton,thinkin that they would fall asleep on the way an that would give me the opertuinity to watch what I hoped was going to be a belter.Kids fell asleep alright but Wilton looked like they were asleep too.

.Kinsale did what they do best and punished some of the worst defendin I have every seen.Sorry Rise but Wilton looked like a 3rd division side,no formation,organisation nothing.I left at half time because I just couldnt watch anymore.I'm only surprised Kinsale only added 1 more in the second half.I presume it was blown up early.

You cant expect to just stand around for corners an not mark anyone an then be surprised when you get punished by a side who are well known for bein good at set peices.Kinsale we miles above Wilton,very busy an hard workin,few new faces alright an the 3rd was a great goal.Good 3 points considering the weather.

Park v Grattan game off.

Quote Originally Posted by DiscoPants View Post

The condtions were dangerous and I have to say, I thought the game would have been called off only for the fact that Kinsale knew Wilton were struggling for players and really wanted the game to go ahead.

Eh sorry Pants but Ithink its the Ref who decides whether the conditions are dangerous not kinsale. As far as I know there were anumber of Kinsale players not available for an delaey leeside tie.

Quote Originally Posted by pacman View Post
    Was talking to a lad who was at the Coachford vs Villa game on Saturday. Coachford won 3-0, three sent off and there could have easily have been another couple. Game was much closer that the scoreline suggests, some bad individual mistakes by a few Villa players.
    Would have to agree with you there pacman, Villas defence had a very poor day. But there discipline in the 2nd half also left them down. .

Anyone at any of last nights games any reports?

Big win for Kinsale (1:2 away to Leeside). Those matches were ending in draws the last few seasons...

Bally and Coachford had a high score draw (3:3)

Wilton recovered well from the Kinsale result beating Blarney St. 1:0.

Bit of a rush of blood on Billy's site league tables up after 1st weekends matches... Makes a nice change normally no sign of a league table until about 2 months in!!!
    ”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
    George Hamilton...
    http://www.innishvilla.com

41 Posts

Let he who cast the first stone

I'll tell you what Innish,lets just see if Tizz/Bog or Rebel/Cally have anything to say on their game last night before anyone else comments because I for one would love to hear both sides of the story about the game an the afters.

By the way I watched about 75 or 80 mins of the game because our game was off so I saw the first 2 goals but missed the winner an the afters.

Before anyone says we pulled another "fast one" we didnt call it off an had nothin to do with us, being called off.A person envolved with Park passed away unexpectedly.

Condolences on behalf of Grattan Utd as well to Park.

Interesting... me thinks

Quote Originally Posted by littleman View Post
    I'll tell you what Innish,lets just see if Tizz/Bog or Rebel/Cally have anything to say on their game last night before anyone else comments because I for one would love to hear both sides of the story about the game an the afters.

By the way I watched about 75 or 80 mins of the game because our game was off so I saw the first 2 goals but missed the winner an the afters.
    Sounds like something interesting happened, I hadn't heard anything... We wait for the biased/unbiased reports...
    ”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
    George Hamilton...
    http://www.innishvilla.com

Alright lads.
    Havent been on in a while.Just a few comments on the Leeside Kinsale game.
    Great result for Kinsale 6 points on the board already, great start.
    It was a very close fought game as these games always are.
    The incident at the end? Delea was taken down for a penalty near the end and was
    given a second yellow for diving.Id like to hear the kinsale comments on it(and also Grattans who were on the line) from what I could make out everyone except the ref thought it was a penalty.
    The afters being referred to is the abuse the ref and an Aul committee member received.

Arsene Wenger?!?!

Cudnt see the incident from where i was lads so i cant comment. The reaction tells it's own story however.

Great start for us though, two deserved victories and 6 points on the board is a great boost. I seriously think we're a different animal this year. I hope it turns out that way!!

Wink no fence to sit on

Quote Originally Posted by Towelie View Post
    Great result for Kinsale 6 points on the board already, great start.
    Quote Originally Posted by bogwarrior View Post
    I seriously think we're a different animal this year.
    afternoon gents, i've been absent also for spells so far, hoping to put that right soon though. i've been unable to attend both kinsale league games to date but am delighted with the results, we have been drawing those games with leeside for the past few years and thats been our downfall in the league when things come to the crunch. you seem to be a lucky mascot for us littleman, any chance you can keep coming to our games ??

i think that the winning attitude that peter jones brings will be the difference this year, some players turning up and going thru the motions wont be tolerated like it was last year. in all the games against leeside in the past few years there's been some amount of drama so i'm not surprised there was incidents last night. was mongo involved in the peno claim ? if he was i'd say it was a spotter ha ha he'll thank me for that, i'll try to get an honest opinion for ye tho lads, boggy was a bit elusive so i'd like to know for myself too

its given us a great start and hopefully we can keep that going, park at home on sat will be another test but we'll be fancying ourselves at home this year, when we get settled on the new pitch i can see us giving teams a good run around at the fort.

glenthorn v villa at the w/e could be a bloody affair what with the form from last year and this year so far, dont forget your shinguards gym !

in defense of the refs, i think we have a very good panel of refs this year in the aul, experienced and willing to protect the players, lets hope controversy is kept to a minimum and the men in black dont feature too heavy on this forum !

best wishes to all at park from all at the seaside

41 Posts

At last

Cheers Towlie,I didnt want to pass comment till at least one side said somthin an the leeside one was the one I would have prefered.As I pointed out I only saw 80 mins an in that the first half Kinsale looked the more dangerous.Leesides forwards looked as if they couldnt hit the side of a barn with a banjo.A fair few chances from headers an all which against Kinsale is sayin somethin.Kinsale always looked dangerous on the break an Varian was the best of what I saw on the night.

In fairness leeside played into Kinsales hands in the first half by launchin long balls time an again at Kinsale but for the first 15 of the 2nd half they put the ball on the deck an rattled Kinsale enough to pull the goal back through Gettings,all this after Varian(who had 2 other 1st half one on ones) in the first half had made a mockery of an off side call by a very slow leeside back line.Kinsale I thought played a very cute game ,they stoped Leeside goin down the wings,fouled them in midfield an forced them to hit long balls time an again an were quite willing to give a free away out on the wings/midfield knowing full well they have a very strong defending team.

The pitch was in great nick an the weather though dull was grand but I think there were too many more interested in kickin lumps out of each other than makin it a showcase for football.I did feel that leeside may have had a few complaints with regards to the number of fouls given away by certain Kinsale players time an again that went without yellow or worse.Im not surprised at all that Kinsale won because they looked very dangerous each time the ball was played into space for Varian to run onto.Very solid Kinsale performance an as said a great start to the season for them.

With regards to the abuse handed out to the ref an the Aul official there is no excuse for that,especially from the Munster Junior champions.Also their was a comment thrown at the Aul official regarding the Grattan/Leeside game being called off an Grattan pulling a fast one.Leeside were contacted Friday to be told our pitch like everyones elses was very soft an any rain overnight would only lead to the game being cancelled in the morning.This was done Friday to allow lads at least to go to work if they wanted.We tried to get Mayfields an Blarneys alweather but to no avail an Leeside didnt pick up the phone to say come on down.Total joke is all that is,was it raining all day saturday was it,I rest my case.

A fair few chances from headers an all which against Kinsale is sayin somethin.Kinsale always looked dangerous on the break an Varian was the best of what I saw on the night.
    Agreed.2 tired efforts from a player who worked his socks off.Varian was indeed the difference between the sides...again.

I did feel that leeside may have had a few complaints with regards to the number of fouls given away by certain Kinsale players time an again that went without yellow or worse.
    I thought their number 10 should have gone and also Dave Barry for a 2 footed lunge.

With regards to the abuse handed out to the ref an the Aul official there is no excuse for that,especially from the Munster Junior champions.
    Agreed again Littleman especially with so many youngsters in our team it wasn't a good example to be setting.

Leeside were contacted Friday to be told our pitch like everyones elses was very soft an any rain overnight would only lead to the game being cancelled in the morning
    The last reason I expected a game would be called off up in O Neill park is due
    to the pitch being too soft.

Question A match or a meeting?? Leeside V Kinsale

So complaints about a ref and abuse for an AUL committee member?? Sounds like a normal delegate meeting.

Can understand the ref getting a mouthful but what had it got to do with the AUL committee member. They are not in control of the referees.
    Best not to make enemies with either the refs or the AUL if it can be avoided

Sounds interesting. Hoopefully ill mak eit down the your juniors game with bosco tomorrw for a look littleman
    COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

41 Posts

Thumbs up it takes all sorts

To be very honest Towlie an I dont see the point making up an excuse it was a simple decision.If we had of played Leeside and with the way the weather was on Saturday we would have wrecked it., an you know it too.In the past we have played games on it yes when it was in a worse condition but forgive me that was an Fai junior quater final or the last 16 against Pike.We like everyone else we well aware of the fact that the weather was due for a turn for the worse.What was really the point of playin a game when both sides knew after 10 mins the pitch was going to turn to mud.

2nd I couldnt agree with ya more about the Kinsale no,10.The rule of thumb for the refs is 3 quick fouls is a bookin,he was in double figures alone in the 1st half.

Bella,our killer B's are really lookin forward to their first game allbeit away to Boscos.

Tizz,as long as we dont have games I'l go watchin Kinsale if it floats your boat

Lastly Olli,the Aul rep was tryin to calm the Leeside management down because of the buse they were givin the ref an they turned on him an then an the Aul in turn.Lost there cool big time.

To be fair to littleman and Grattan they look after their pitch and to call it off so as not to destroy it is fair enough.
    I missed the game on tues but was talking one kinsale player who reckoned it wasn't a spotter.
    Sad to hear about the afters, He's a passionate player and a nice lad but he's gonna have to learn to keep his cool a bit.

Game against Villa off tonight. Don't know why so it's another training session. Getting a bit frustrated waiting to get the season started, have too wait till tues night now and a toughie away to Ballyphehane.

Littleman?????

People will definitely think ye are pulling "a knack" now . I agree though with keeping the pitches in good nick. This weather hopefully won't last and its when the cup games are coming thick and fast that the care taken now will pay dividends

Page 7 of 65 FirstFirst ... 567891757 ... LastLast