A big three points tommorrow up for grabs at fort hill, Pacman previously said we would be fighting relegation and without a doubt not picking up anything at Fort Hill tommorow would suggest that. 7pts out of 18 is just not good enough. I, myself have not had the privelege of playing at Kinsale with a couple of years but indeed im looking forward to meeting old friends in their new surroundings. So good luck to all on the day.
I would like to wish the aul team all the best. And lets face it lads even if Trappatoni was picking it we'd find fault with it so lets lay it to rest and move on. I myself think with some of the better players of our league being picked up by the senior league sides every year. No matter who we send to play I think they'll come up just short of that Oscar.![]()
Grattan 3 - 5 Glenthorn
Wasnt at this game but I'd be very interested to hear Littlemans take on this? Surely now all the Grattan players on the AUL panel should be removed and replaced by Glenthorn players![]()
i was at this today, my first time seeing both teams play and i knew from the off it was going to be a high scoring game. defending was **** poor from both teams who thought the ball was a hot spud and were booting it around at 90 miles an hour, not a great advert for football but a high scoring game so can't be too critical.
Our junior team won again, 2-1 against boscos, and seniors lost to blackstone rovers
COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007
http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979
No excuses here, Beaten by the better side on the day.
New pitch was in fantastic condition.![]()
Cheers jungle. Happy with yesterdays performance..well second half anyway. First half was sloppy but we still went in two up. Second half i thought we played some fantastic football and were unlucky to add only one. Vital to get more points on the board with Glenthorn and Wilton rampant!!
Two fantastic victories there lads..any info?
Correction - Grattan 2 - 5 Glenthorn . I believe Glenthorn played nearly 50 minutes with 10 men. A harsh sending off also i was told (Grattan players not afraid to do a bit of diving either according to the reports i got !!!)
Saw this game on Sat. It was quite an even game in the first half which finished 0-0. However in the second half Wilton took their 3 chances whereas Villa missed chance after chance.
The second goal was the killer from Villas point of view, they were well in the game and a bad mistake allowed Wilton in. Wilton grabbed a third as Villa pushed on. I've seen a few of the northside teams this year Villa, Blarney Street, Grattan and Glenthorn and there is actually not that much between them. I've seen Blareny Street and Villa the most and they just do not seem to be getting any luck. Glenthorn who thrashed Grattan on Saturday were lucky to beat Villa up in Dublin Hill needing two soft penalties.
I watched the game with a lad from Blareny Street and he is convinced that the fairfield is cursed and neither team can catch a break up there.
As for Glenthorn, their undoing could be their dicipline and in-fighting, I said earlier this year in a post they are capable of beating anyone, but just as likely to lose to anyone.
I was at this game, there was no way Leeside got a "kicking". It was tough, fair game with few incidents. Leeside had a few bookings themselves for some late tackles.
Again this is not true. There wasn't a single dangerouse tackle put in on Ricky. Now I also don't agree with littleman that he was diving throughout the game. For me he clearly dived once in the first half in the penalty box to try and unfairly win a penalty. This was a dive and I think probably annoyed littleman.
Wait until ye play Glenthorn, you'll see some diving then
This is fair I think
Look lads,a few things need to be straightened out here assome of ye forget this is a forum for opinions not for only syain things ye like hearin.
If ye are only goin to post every now an then at least have the cop on to read over the last few pages to find out how the chat is goin.Yes I am pro Grattan but in no way have I said I'd have um all on the Aul side,there are excellent players outside Grattan an I have readily pointed that out.
With regards to Rebel,I too watched the whole game,an in the first half I will remind you that Mr Layne approached Mr Gettings on the second occasion he went down(the peno claim)an told him he would get nottin for the rest of the day if he continued to go down so easily.The incident with Delea happened a yard from the side line,I was no more than3 or 4 yards away from it an it was over actin,plain an simple.The game on the day was if anythin a physcial affair with neither side askin for or givin an inch,there was just no place for it.
As for us on Saturday,where do I start.Half the lads go to Portugal for the week an come back Friday after bein on the batter an went into this game the wrong way.We had a strong 11 on paper startin but you cant expect to win any sort of a game if you miss the chances we missed an defended as a team the way we did.Our back line can only do so much if the rest of the team all decide they want to be strikers for the day.Attitude,wins games an ours was crap.I know t'is only one game but its the way we lost got me the most.The sendin off was harsh,defendin on the day wasnt very high up in the order of things,loads of goals an chances so it was good to watch(just not for me)I would have no problem in sayin Glenthorn deserved the 3 points because they wanted them more.An excellent 3 points for them.
To end I would have to say lookin at what Glenthorn had out against us on Saturday there are a couple of players they have I would have on my team if I was pickin the Aul team,an I for one will be lettin the Aul manager know as well.I was always told if you ask a question you should be prepared for the answer,wether you like it or not.It seems anythin said against club or player draws a rant of some sort from some corners.When we are bad,I'm the first to point it out an when we are good,well a pat on the back is always welcome.If I am guilty of wearin the ol rose tinted spectecles so be it an I respect the point,but what excuse have some of ye,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
Their's only one Dinny Pop's.
Hi lads sorry havent been on in a while.
Well what can i say bout the season so far.Rock bottom of 1A for the B's and mid table for the A's.
Went down 3-1 again at the weekend to Ballyvolane.What i cant understand in this day and age why teams cant get proper pitches.In our last 3 away games in Rylane,Boh's and Ballyvolane we've bein playin on Mountains.I mean before each game we spoke about whether to play "Up the hill in the first half or play up the hill in the second half".Why cant teams just get pitches that are somewhat even.
Seems like all the action is happening in the city games.
Hi Parkboy - have to agree with you regarding the pitches in 1A - half of them are very good - the other half are absolutely terrible - Rylanes pitch actually shocked me when we played on it
hi littleman, i was wondering alright what was up on saturday as ye were all over the place for the first 20-25 mins, i suppose an early season jolly to portugal isn't going to keep lads focused for a game when they return, especially when the tempo was 100mph, good 3 points for glenthorn though.
To be very honest Yoda we have had a poor pre season an start by our own standards.Our pre season was marred with players leavin left right an center an we were actually at a stage where we we goin to cut the B team an merge them with what was left of the A team,things were that bad.Losin the manager was another massive blow bein perfectly honest an havin Harry away in the US leaves us without the best player we have an I dont care what any one thinks of what I just wrote,he is..We have managed to resign every body except Jp an BB so on paper we have an extremely strong squad,it just seems somethin is'nt right though.We created umpteen chances against Glenthorn but players who are usually ruthless had an off day an it cost us.Shinky Brian an Peelo are an excellent back 3 but with Brian away an Shinky just back after a week long **** up the writin was on the wall before we even started.I give Wilton an Glenthorn all the credit they deserve for rackin up the points but if we can just straightin ourselves out durin the cup games over the next month or so we will be back on track.No panic stations for the Gratts just some fine tunin an a good heart to heart an we'll be sorted.
Was at the game in the Cross last night.More good than bad to be honest an theres the makins of a very good side if they can get the right mix an shape.Peelo an Shinky caught the eye in th first half at the back,Bevan was solid to in the 2nd half.Center of midfield needs work,lots of runnin an tackelin but knowone holdin.Up front,this for me is where the only problem is,Varian played wide on the left an it didnt suit him or the front 2,he neither created or passed the ball .I rate him highter than anyone in the Aul outside of the Gratts but hes a striker an a damn good one an thats where he should play.When he got the ball in front of there goal an ran at them he looked the part,out wide he struggled at times against an under 17.Against a youths side they struggled at times to put away very good chances.Lots of good attackin players but no fox in the box amoung them if you follow me.JP is not just a big loss to Grattan,hes a massive loss to the Aul team.If the management can get someone to put them away in the 6 yard box they should be sorted other wise we may have to rely on set peices for goals. But for the most part I'm lookin forward to seen them play,best of luck to um.
Their's only one Dinny Pop's.
the thorn did themselves a huge favour over the w/e and now everyone is taking notice, 4 wins from 4 is a very impressive start, if they can keep away from the self destruct then they've a great chance, was there any niggle in the game lads ?? the past few games for glenthorn seem to have seen plenty of sturdy challenges and an odd red card, wonder will the 4-yellow card equals a ban take any affect this year and has it improved things on & off the pitch i wonder, i think the refs seem to be slower to hand out yellows from the few games i've seen
we were good for 60 minutes at the w/e, pitch was in good nick but a severe gale made most of the 1st half pretty scrappy, coachford defended well and seemed comfortable but went in 2 goals down due to good work on the left by winger varian, 1st won us a pen- converted by derek mc and the other ended with a great terrence eade header
2nd half was much more controlled by the seasiders, we were rarely threatened and played some lovely 1st time football as boggy already said, made watching from the line a bit more entertaining, varian added the third after rounding the keeper following a breakaway (he could give you a 10 yard head start and it'd still be a breakaway)
missed a few more chances to stretch it out but 3-0 is more than enuf to keep us happy
fai jnr cup for us this w/e, home to everton utd so we wont be entertaining any mistakes, especially after the disappointment in the munster
wilton with a big win, villa seem to be very hot n cold, hot with effort & cold with results, the one point they got out of their 7 matches was a draw against usstill a long way to go for everyone
christmas drawing closer, oscar lookin like gettin a few games in, cup maddness but no sign of mossie, wonder will he feature at all ??
for now, we're working away at things at the seaside, still lots to be done but could be worse i spose with the jizz w/e on the horizon
any decent bands playing in the sportsmans ??![]()
anyone know when oscar traynor team play
hows it going .just found this lads but have to say i have enjoyed reading yer thoughts on the footy.look forward to sharing my views with ye till end of season.
firstly my club is blarney street and i have to say i was bit suprised by some of the comments posted previously about my team. particularly by littleman admitedly our results have been poor but what i will say is in all our four league games to date we have never been out of our depth. the performances are there and i have been involved in football too long to know its only matter of time before the results follow. after all we beat the seasiders in their own(and very impressive) back yard in the cup.how many teams will do that this year. what i found strange was the comments regarding our four players on the oscar traynor panel. now before i go on i will agree that its all about opinion and none of us will ever agree with the selection but littlemans comments about how he would only have winners on the team puzzled me. for the record these guys have won a first and second division and got promotion from prem a in last 3 years.lot more games won than lost there id say.it seems that unless you win a premier league now your not a winner. short memory littleman as i seem to recall the gratts yo-yoing up and down the leagues few short years back.what really made me laugh though,and im sure some of you will get a giggle out of this is of all the four players from the street on it the only one you felt good enough was peelo.for those who dont know peelo he is x gratten.i rest my case.
anyway for what its worth i reckon kinsale for the league with glenthorn or wilton pushing hard and anyone from the rest to go down.best of luck to minty and lads.sprigfield in mjc this weekend.gave us very good game in fai and expect the same again but hopefully we will have enough
I've seen a few Blarney Street games this year and like Villa their results have not really matched their performances. On their day they could beat any team in this league, like they proved in the cup game against Kinsale, I reckon once they get their first win, a few more could follow.
welcome on board streets, plenty of opinions and we seem to be getting a fair spread of teams on here this year, the more the merrier, i missed the game ye played down in the fort but our management couldnt fault the effort put in on our side cept for the result, fair play for gettin out with the win and besta luck with the rest of the cups & we'll see ye again in the league
littleman is our most liberating voice on here, we all get on well for the most part and if you dont take offence at whats bein bandied about then it should make for some interesting reading over the season
results will speak louder than words and the grats have proved worthy champions for the past 2 seasons. we should be in a position to give the title a decent shot this year, the past 2 years have been unrewarding in the league and very disappointing to bow out as we did in the run ins, that said, we look stronger than ever this year and will be doing our best to take OURcup back to the seaside, but then again, everyone else wants it too so we'll see whats what come the end of may ! be great to have a tight race to the end this year and it looks to be the most competitive across the whole league for years
tizz out