Page 5 of 65 FirstFirst ... 345671555 ... LastLast

Thread: Cork AUL 2008/09

Some interesting opening day fixtures. Top of the bill definitely up in O Neill park.
    Bit different this year with straight into the league and not easing into it with the mossie.
    Good luck to jonesey and his young assistant quinny at kinsale

Quote Originally Posted by callyno3 View Post
    Some interesting opening day fixtures. Top of the bill definitely up in O Neill park.
    Bit different this year with straight into the league and not easing into it with the mossie.
    Good luck to jonesey and his young assistant quinny at kinsale
    Leeside have a nice tough start to season. 1st 2 games meeting the champs from the last 6 years combined (I think my sums are correct).
    ”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
    George Hamilton...
    http://www.innishvilla.com

41 Posts

something to mull over

To put things into perspective we have won 3 league titles on the trot.We have added maybe one or 2 players a season to our squad so's not to upset it.If it aint broke an all that.In individual one off cup matchs we have dissapointed on a local level an that hangs over our head to remind us an to be honest it keeps us grounded too.We have put ourselves an our players in the shop window so to speak so I'm not surprised one bit that other clubs have come a knockin for our players.We do not have the facilities that the bigger clubs have though we are trying an will have shortly so I can understand players wanting to try other things.

We hav'nt lost an entire squad,just a few players.Our squad is strong enough to take those loss'es an still win through.Yes they are good players but we have a squad of very good players an everyone knows that so I'm not packin me bags just yet for the Prem A.

We finished last season with 22 players all happy,this season we have a few back who missed all last season an we have lost a few.Fair swap,it would be a bit rich for me to start winge'in because of our position,its common knowledge. If your askin me do I honestly think we can win the Premier again,me personally I dont see why not with the players we have.I think Bog just about summed it up bang on with his comments.
    Their's only one Dinny Pop's.

Littleman,

By the fixtures I seen Grattan B's are in the 3rd division and they're in 3A that will lead to them clocking up a fair few miles on the away trips...
    Must ask Billy to post the final make up of the 3rd divisions...
    George Hamilton...

41 Posts

Sat nav

Lidl are sellin the sat navs dead cheap,I'll have to ask the treasurer for a few bob for one.

21 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by pass&move View Post
    As far as Im aware they want teams to play 6 leagues games before they start the Mossie
    Hopefully this is a good idea. Playing league games on good pitches early in the season is always a positive. The negative side of this is that a lot of teams will be out of the running very early on and it could lead to early transfers. Hopefully not!!!

i had to drop down to the second team this year but by god we have a strong team this year, the league is a joke alright the distance we have to travel is unreal, an extra 20-25 mins than the cork teams, rathcoole (i think) we had a pre season match down there some journey like, banteer too is a savage journey.

We have the gratts sunday morning what you think littleman.
    COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

has john cotter joined grattan from avoldale?

Quote Originally Posted by bellavistaman View Post
    i had to drop down to the second team this year but by god we have a strong team this year, the league is a joke alright the distance we have to travel is unreal, an extra 20-25 mins than the cork teams, rathcoole (i think) we had a pre season match down there some journey like, banteer too is a savage journey.

We have the gratts sunday morning what you think littleman.
    Don't forget Los Zarco's are Milstreet as well. Kanturk and Macroom aren't exactly going to be local derby's for you either!!!

Billy has posted the entire league make up on his blog as well...
    George Hamilton...

41 Posts

Thumbs up littleman v bella

to be honest bella if this weather dont cop on I cant see any games goin ahead an the B game by the way is Sunday at 2 so you can have a lie in..you could be lookin towards either Blarney or Mayfield if you were that desperate to get a game played over the weekend.We played up in Garryduff last week an that would be one of the best pitchs in Cork an that by the time the game finished it was cuttin up because it belted down 5 mins before the ref blew it up.This weather is goin to play havoc with the early season fixtures

Do you play with the juniors littleman??
    COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

facilities aside, will aul teams ever be able to compete with msl teams in terms of quality? I saw the tramore (or Corinthians, I can’t remember) grattan game in garryduff, and although ye won littleman, you could see that tramore never got out of second gear

League is a joke alright the distance we have to travel is unreal, an extra 20-25 mins than the cork teams, rathcoole (i think) we had a pre season match down there some journey like, banteer too is a savage journey." (quote Bella)

Imagine how we feel in Mitchelstown Bella?The majority of our games are 30 miles away but when we have to go to places like Rylane and Coachford its usually 45 -50 miles away.
    Played Clonmel B's last Friday night.A great game of football and some fine individual performances.Won 4-2.Nice start to season against neighbours Glanworth on Sunday.
    A team have a tricky start,Glenthorn away and Grattan at home.

Quote Originally Posted by Parkboy View Post

Imagine how we feel in Mitchelstown Bella?The majority of our games are 30 miles away but when we have to go to places like Rylane and Coachford its usually 45 -50 miles away.
    Played Clonmel B's last Friday night.A great game of football and some fine individual performances.Won 4-2.Nice start to season against neighbours Glanworth on Sunday.
    A team have a tricky start,Glenthorn away and Grattan at home.
    In all fairness to the league previously things were organized about as fairly as was possible with Div 1-3 in 3 sections, West (ish) North (ish) and East (ish). There is nothing anyone can do for the premier teams because if you qualify for premier division it is a bit of a free for all distance wise.

But this year (more than last it seems) with only 2 3rd divisions the spread of teams is brutal. It is difficult to see how they could improve it as there doesn't seem to be many east or north-east teams while there seems to be loads of west, north-west and city-west sides...
    George Hamilton...

There were only two third Divisions as well last year and we De Courcey Albion must have gotten the short straw as we were put in 3A. We would have had players as far south as the Old Head traveling to the likes of Kanturk, Banteer, Buttervant, etc.

Trying to get players on the road before 9 especially at this level isn't easy and people would quickly start to loose interest.

Thankfully we saw the season out and are back in League 3 this season and hopefully things will improve on the pitch.

Quote Originally Posted by Vex Willems View Post
    There were only two third Divisions as well last year and we De Courcey Albion must have gotten the short straw as we were put in 3A. We would have had players as far south as the Old Head traveling to the likes of Kanturk, Banteer, Buttervant, etc.

Trying to get players on the road before 9 especially at this level isn't easy and people would quickly start to loose interest.

Thankfully we saw the season out and are back in League 3 this season and hopefully things will improve on the pitch.
    Saw that alright, know a guy from Ard-na-Laoi and they have been asking to move to Div 3 with about 5 years. Definitely Div 3 this year is very good from a travel sense, the trip to Eli Lilly to play you de courcey would be the longest anyone would have to face, and that's 20-25 minutes from the city.
    George Hamilton...

The new Kinsale pitch looks like it will be lovely surface - scope for fine big pitch too. Fair play - grand setup ye have there.

The new season starts today

The new season starts today (weather permitting) with Blarney St Ath v Ballyphehane Cel & again I'll be asking for your predictions for the coming weekend.

Any Perdictions:

Premier League

Blarney St Ath v Ballyphehane Cel
    Coachford v Villa Utd The Glebe
    Glenthorn Cel V Park Utd
    Grattan Utd v Leeside
    Kinsale v Wilton Utd

Premier A League:

Castleview v Rathcoole Rvrs
    Dunbar Cel v Knockavilla
    Kanturk v Village Utd
    Ballyvolane v Ballincollig
    Dillon’s Cross Ath v Macroom

League1:
    Innishvilla v Richmond
    Div 1A
    Leeds V Glenthorn Celtic B
    Park Utd B v Glanworth Utd
    League 1B:
    Greenwood v Springfield
    League 3:
    De Courcy Albion v Kinsale
    League3A:
    Grattan Utd v Springfield
    Last edited by pass&move; 21/08/2008 at 3:53 PM.

Re Predictions

Have you forgot about me Pass & Move???? I'm biased on this one so won't answer

What about

Div 1A
    Leeds V Glenthorn Celtic B

And Park Utd B????
    Fancy our chances against Glanworth Sunday.Game has been switch to Glanworth as our pitch is like a swimming pool.
    As far as i am aware A 's game vs Grattan is off next Tuesday.
    Any one use TEAMER.NET as posted on Billy's Blog?

Page 5 of 65 FirstFirst ... 345671555 ... LastLast