View Full Version : Seamus Coleman

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12

red arrow
19/01/2010, 8:08 PM
we got a lot more than 50k last year for seamie & there is a bit more to come depending on the number of games he plays. no one should be in any way critical of the deal that was done. at the time the club needed funds very badly and i am firmly of the opinion that they got the best deal possible at the time. to come on here and criticise the club (or those who represent it) is totally unfair most of them work their socks of to keep things going and hopefully in time if seamie fulfills his great promise his name will forever be linked to sligo rovers and that in itself can only be good for the club.so please do not knock those who are working extremely hard for the club (and they are small in numbers). sligo rovers as a club are moving in the right direction but the club needs more help from honest hard working individuals and especially those who are willing to generate more finance. at the end of the day it is finance that keeps everything ticking over. this is going to be a very difficult year for the economy (indeed for everybody) for the club but if we can all pull togeather & work as a team we can achieve great things. i beleive there is an open forum comming up in the clarion hotel on 31st january and this is a great opportunity for everybody to come along & talk about the plans for the season and hopefully recruit some new "blood" that will help out the club. as far as i know this is mentioned in the weekender today and will get much more exposure next week.

MMVIII
19/01/2010, 9:10 PM
Sligo Rovers are now a laughing stock throughout football for selling a Premiership defender under contract for 50 grand, the dolts who did this should be ran

Sure why don't you give a hand at the club so? Seeing as you've been following Rovers for so long. Surely you'll know how it's done.

I await your excuses.

Guts&Glory
19/01/2010, 9:32 PM
Sligo Rovers are now a laughing stock throughout football for selling a Premiership defender under contract for 50 grand, the dolts who did this should be ran

It was the only offer on the table, other clubs (Celtic, Birmingham City Ipswich etc.) wanted to take him on trial and see how he worked out, others wanted to take him on loan from the January to the May to see how he would work out. No money coming to the club unless they thought he did well and were possibly prepared to put in an offer for Seamie.

Everton were asked to play Rovers in a friendly as part of the deal and they refused saying they had far east commitments (part of sponsors Chang promotion tours) for the next three years.

Actually why bother explaining....you haven't a clue what you are on about - BOOK IT.

Redie
20/01/2010, 9:00 AM

And no doubt at the time of the sale you were saying the same thing.:(

If you gathered together all the people who TALK about what should and should not be done The Showgrounds would not have sufficent capacity. Unfortunately a gathering of those who actually DO something can be held in a phone box.

Peachey
20/01/2010, 3:48 PM
[QUOTE=Redie;1309297]And no doubt at the time of the sale you were saying the same thing.:(

QUOTE]

Correct, and I said so at the AGM a couple of weeks after

Peachey
20/01/2010, 3:57 PM
Sure why don't you give a hand at the club so? Seeing as you've been following Rovers for so long. Surely you'll know how it's done.

I await your excuses.

If only you knew, I've done my bit, from selling golden goals, bring registration forms to Merrion Sq. sweeping up after games and when the shovels were being handed out I wasn't hiding, I've done my bit, now its up to the young boys who shout at the games, most of you are on the dole so ye have plenty of time on your hands so step up!

sligored
20/01/2010, 4:16 PM
If only you knew, I've done my bit, from selling golden goals, bring registration forms to Merrion Sq. sweeping up after games and when the shovels were being handed out I wasn't hiding, I've done my bit, now its up to the young boys who shout at the games, most of you are on the dole so ye have plenty of time on your hands so step up!

Dont be so condescending- there are lots of people working their butts off for sligo rovers and for you to arrive on here with an arrogant and negative attitude would suggest to me that you are a WUM and i am not surprised that sligo rovers are going from strength to strength since you hung up your shovel.

Move over and let the positive people bring rovers forward. Thanks for your help down the years.

Most of the people on here are on the dole- wise up.

20/01/2010, 4:18 PM
most of you are on the dole

No, most of us are in college, the latter stages of secondary school or working. You really do talk a load of ****e.

Peachey
20/01/2010, 4:31 PM
Most of the people on here are on the dole- wise up.

Didn't mean to offend, most of the young lads I know in Ladbrokes are unemployed and there is a recession on

CarrickFan
27/01/2010, 8:52 PM
Not even on the bench tonight as Arteta back and Senderos signed.maybe a loan spell is on the cards as Moyes has hinted..

Note to Peachey.. i wouldnt say a couple of substitute appearances makes him a "premiership" player just yet.

27/01/2010, 9:05 PM
According to the BBC he was on the bench

Boo_Boy
27/01/2010, 9:10 PM
According to the BBC he was on the bench

And Sky Sports, evertonfc.com also lists him on the bench.

CarrickFan
27/01/2010, 11:22 PM
sorry..one of the websites i check had Duffy and not Seamie on the bench..glad im wrong.

SRFCbrothelutd
28/01/2010, 9:18 AM
Seen Seamie on the bench on MOTD last night!

03/02/2010, 1:47 PM
EVERTON FC are ready to reward Seamus Coleman for an encouraging debut season with an improved contract.

The 21-year-old right-back has made an instant impact since arriving from Irish side Sligo Rovers last summer.

After missing the start of the season following an operation on a career-threatening blister, Coleman suffered a traumatic first start when playing in the unaccustomed position of left-back during the 5-0 Europa League thrashing at Benfica.

However, Coleman has since impressed on his first-team outings and was named man of the match on his home bow when coming off the bench to help Everton fight back to draw 2-2 with Tottenham Hotspur in December.

http://www.dailypost.co.uk/sport-news/everton-fc/2010/02/03/everton-fc-s-seamus-coleman-to-get-improved-contract-55578-25749442/

dong
05/02/2010, 7:58 AM
Coleman now seems to be featuring in the thoughts of the Irish team management according to this in the Irish Times today:
http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2010/0205/1224263811700.html

Church Hill 1
01/03/2010, 12:34 AM
Agreed, Mr Dolan. But like Moyes suggested earlier in the season, Seamie would probably be better served by going out on loan to a Championship team. Is it too late for that this season?

There's no way a cautious manager like Moyes will opt for the exuberance of youth over experienced pros like Neville and Hibbert. However, it's been interesting to see posters on Everton forums still calling for Seamie to start ahead of both, so he's still in their thoughts.

Maybe now that their decent run has come to an end, Moyes will throw him in. He certainly hasn't let them down yet!

01/03/2010, 12:56 AM
Seamie must be very disillusioned at this stage, that donkey Neville starting at right back and Jagielka back in the squad. Hibbert has to come back and Seamie wasnt in the squad today

You are extracting the urine, I hope?

Well Red
01/03/2010, 9:37 AM
Seamie must be very disillusioned at this stage, that donkey Neville starting at right back and Jagielka back in the squad. Hibbert has to come back and Seamie wasnt in the squad today

I suggested here some months ago the Shamie would be better to be on loan with a Championship side and hopefully get regular football, in all honesty he is probably not ready for the pace and skill of the Premiership and I presume apart from 5 a sides he is getting no match practice as long as he sits on the bench.

Guts&Glory
01/03/2010, 12:13 PM
Moyes said he would have liked to put him out on loan back In October/November last year but the injury list ruled that out hence his Europa league games and a good stint on the bench.

As for AD saying he must be very disillusioned you cannot possibly expect him to be in ahead of the experienced club captain (Neville) or one of their best centre backs from last season (Jags), both of whom (along with Baines) are being mentioned for the England world cup sqaud given their current defensive woes.

He has only had one pre season under his belt an dthat was blighted by his foot injury that could have cost him his career - perspective for Gods sake.

Guts&Glory
01/03/2010, 12:15 PM
On another Seamie note there is a full interview with him in this months Everton magazine where they delightfully expalin the rules of GAA.

No need to buy it just nip into easons for a quick read!!

srfc1928
02/03/2010, 4:31 PM
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2010/0302/colemans.html

Coleman not thinking about senior call-up

Tuesday, 2 March 2010 16:29
Everton full-back Seamus Coleman will not allow himself to be carried away by talk of his elevation to the senior Republic of Ireland squad.
The 21-year-old Donegal native is in line to win his 10th cap at Under-21 level in Wednesday night's European Championship qualifier against Armenia at Tallaght Stadium.
However, he has been tipped to make the transition into Giovanni Trapattoni's plans at full international level before very long, although Coleman will simply allow the future to take care of itself.

He said: 'I heard my name mentioned in relation to the senior squad, but I wasn't thinking about it.
'I knew myself that I would be with the Under-21s for another while yet as I have only played a handful of games for Everton.
'Even to get mentioned was a compliment, to know that [assistant manager] Marco Tardelli was aware of me and speaking about me was a great boost.
'But I won't get carried away, I know my career will start to dip if I let this little bit of success go to my head, so I am happy to be with the Under-21s here.'
Coleman was handed his senior debut for Everton in the 5-0 Europa League defeat by Benfica on 22 October and has made a further six appearances since as a regular member of David Moyes' matchday 18.
He lost his place on the bench for Sunday's 2-1 Barclays Premier League defeat at Tottenham, but with Phil Jagielka now back in business and Joseph Yobo also among the substitutes, he had few complaints.
Coleman will hope to erase his disappointment by helping his country's Under-21s to a first qualifier victory of the campaign on Wednesday night.
Ireland head into the game sitting at the foot of Group Two despite having lost only two of their six fixtures to date.
A weakened team was soundly beaten in Armenia in November as the hosts that day recorded their own first success of the qualifying competition with a 4-1 win.
Coleman and Ipswich midfielder Owen Garvan both missed that game, which came three days after a 1-1 draw in Georgia, but are expected to return.
The full-back said: 'I missed the Armenia game last year. I played in the first game, but got injured, so I wasn't there for the 4-1.
'We have had a mixed run with the Under-21 team, so we are keen to get a win here against Armenia and move up the table.'

CarrickFan
02/03/2010, 9:02 PM
On another Seamie note there is a full interview with him in this months Everton magazine where they delightfully expalin the rules of GAA.

No need to buy it just nip into easons for a quick read!!

does it start with "you get 30 roasters in a field,sometimes with sticks..........etc etc..."

happydays97
11/03/2010, 11:40 PM
http://www.mirrorfootball.co.uk/news/Transfer-news-Blackpool-poised-to-beat-QPR-in-race-for-Everton-loan-star-article351877.html

12/03/2010, 8:37 AM
He'd certainly be better off going to Blackpool

LondonRover
12/03/2010, 10:03 AM
He'd learn more from Warnock than Holloway though... but it's unlikely he'd want to shift all he way down here to London for a few months on loan when he'd be in Blackpool in probably 30 minutes from wherever he lives on Merseyside.
Shame, I wouldn't have minded being able to cheer him on at Loftus Road!

Well Red
18/03/2010, 8:26 PM
Does anyone know where Coleman is, did he go on loan and if so where?

18/03/2010, 9:27 PM
I'll answer on the new forum if you join. ;)

Well Red, do not succumb to blackmail............

http://boards.footymad.net/forum.php?tno=74&fid=8&sty=2&act=1&mid=2122366966

happydays97
18/03/2010, 11:41 PM
Does anyone know where Coleman is, did he go on loan and if so where?

Blackpool

Well Red
19/03/2010, 8:01 AM
Blackpool
Thanks for that happydays97

prodsc
19/03/2010, 9:21 AM
Don't think he has gone anywhere yet, Blackpool and QPR trying to get him on loan. QPR have to offload one of their loanees first.

happydays97
19/03/2010, 6:17 PM
http://www.evertonfc.com/news/archive/2010/03/19/coleman-joins-blackpool?utm_source=rss_everton&utm_medium=rss_feed&utm_term=Coleman%20Joins%20Blackpool

CRFC&SRFC
20/03/2010, 11:32 PM
Played full 90 against Palace today on a horrendous pitch.. Should be an interesting end to season with playoffs a real possibility for them....

Blackpool boss Ian Holloway on bbc: "In the first-half we were like the Dog and Duck, in the second-half we were like Real Madrid.
"We can't go on like that. At full-time I was at them like an irritated Jack Russell and they deserved that.

23/03/2010, 8:32 PM
Sky Sports Score Centre Ticker: "70. Blackpool are in control of the match. Key Player: Seamus Coleman"

23/03/2010, 9:17 PM
3 assists from Seamie tonight. The 3rd was particularly good

happydays97
23/03/2010, 11:26 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=37LoVxqwmaQ

Boo_Boy
23/03/2010, 11:36 PM
What a legend, might see him in the Everton first team yet this season if his loan isn't extended.

24/03/2010, 8:01 AM
Great to see Coleman make such a good impression with Moyes in the crowd. Billy Clarke from Cork, looks to have had a great game also.

dong
24/03/2010, 1:59 PM
Ah he did alright. He wouldn't make the Bohs first team though.:rolleyes:

27/03/2010, 3:40 PM
Just set up Charlie Adam to put them ahead against Plymouth

Boo_Boy
28/03/2010, 5:28 AM
Coleman's leap of faith takes him to new heights (http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/colemans-leap-of-faith-takes-him-to-new-heights-2114944.html)

28/03/2010, 2:24 PM
Just set up Charlie Adam to put them ahead against PlymouthWatched the highlights, dont think Seamie was involved in either goal?

Nah Nah Nah Nah
28/03/2010, 4:13 PM
Watched the highlights, dont think Seamie was involved in either goal?

On soccer saturday they said he was involved in the goal. They could well have been wrong

happydays97
02/04/2010, 4:12 PM
Colman scored today in a 4-2 win for Blackpool

harry crumb
02/04/2010, 4:23 PM
He played very well again today.

02/04/2010, 4:34 PM
good stuff about coleman gettin his first ever goal in england.. look forward to seein the goal on the football league show..

Dublin Red
02/04/2010, 6:25 PM
Great goal by Coleman today! He started out on the wing near the corner flag, dodged two defenders and barged into the box blasting it high over the keeper into the net!
Blackpool are 1 point outside the play-offs now, it would be massive experience for him to be involved in that!

piedpiper
06/04/2010, 9:23 PM
Blackpool FC boss Ian Holloway is setting his sights on a play-off place after his side beat Doncaster Rovers 2-0 at Bloomfield Road yesterday.

DJ Campbell and Scott Dobbie struck to keep the Seasiders in the play-off mix, only one point behind sixth place Leicester.

Holloway told Sky Sports: "I am bursting with pride for my lads.

"If we can extend the season, so be it, I will be a delighted man."

He added: "I think today showed we have strength in depth. I can take players on and off without affecting our style.

"I was very pleased with the two goals. The first was a real goal-poacher's effort, and the second a great strike."

Looking good for Blackpool.

Boo_Boy
07/04/2010, 6:13 PM
Seamus Coleman wants to extend Blackpool loan (http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2010/0407/colemans.html)

On-loan star Seamus Coleman believes Everton FC is the place to be (http://www.liverpoolecho.co.uk/everton-fc/everton-fc-news/2010/04/07/on-loan-star-seamus-coleman-believes-everton-fc-is-the-place-to-be-100252-26189237/)

20/04/2010, 1:54 PM
He was interviewed over the phone on MNS last night

Here's how Blackpool fans rate him from one of their forums

Would not be in the least bit surprised if he was starting for you next season, the boy is ready. Incredible little player. Such composure and skill on the ball, can dribble and carry the ball (and likes too) can tackle, is quick, can cross and can score goals. He's also great with both feet, which are both quick He's pretty much a Championship Dani Alves for us.

Since he came we've played 8, won 6, drawn 1 and lost 1. The one we lost was against Newcastle. There isn't a Blackpool fan around who won't credit Coleman as playing as big a role as any other of our team in that. Which is mental for a right back. He has scored 1, nearly got 3 or 4 more and must have 4 or 5 assists. He f**king class.

I totally agree about Seamus. He's absolutely class and I think he's our best player technically and as he is only young will keep getting better. If he's not going to play regular football for Everton we need to try and take him next season maybe on a year long loan.