View Full Version : Seamus Coleman
Pages :
[
6]
Boo_Boy
22/10/2009, 5:56 PM
Meh I'm not sure about the goal. It looks like Everton are employing a zone-man so Seamie wasn't really out of position, the ball across was just brilliant with pin-point accuracy.
(I might just be biased)
22/10/2009, 5:58 PM
Your biased
Everton dont use zonel marking.
Boo_Boy
22/10/2009, 6:01 PM
Your biased
I said zone-man. Zonal you don't have a specific player to mark. Zone-man you do but you're not up his arse all game.
22/10/2009, 6:05 PM
He just wasnt marking at all there.
Boo_Boy
22/10/2009, 6:05 PM
Jaysus that didn't take long.
Boo_Boy
22/10/2009, 6:06 PM
Wow falling apart. 3-0.
22/10/2009, 6:06 PM
or that
CarrickFan
22/10/2009, 6:08 PM
Defence getting roasted to be honest...unmarked for both goals.
Boo_Boy
22/10/2009, 6:10 PM
:eek::eek::eek:
22/10/2009, 6:11 PM
Embarrasing at this stage. Dan Gosling is havng a nightmare, looks like an auld lad trying to play with young lads, done for pace everytime.
22/10/2009, 6:41 PM
five now
CarrickFan
22/10/2009, 6:48 PM
Hibbert is pi** poor
In fairness the lad's not a left full, the top RB's in the country struggle out of position, he may have been exposed for goal 1 but in general done well, considering.
Seen on the Sky sports website that he was signed for £150,000.
kkontour
22/10/2009, 9:39 PM
He looked shattered towards the end.
MMVIII
22/10/2009, 9:42 PM
Who gives a ****e if he played bad. If he's getting a start it shows Moyes has him in his plans not only for the future but the presnt. He'll learn with more minutes on the pitch. Well done lad.
srfc1928
22/10/2009, 9:54 PM
he didnt do too bad all things considered.
The comentators kept going on about the 'two inexperinced full backs'
the centre backs were a hell of a lot worse.
CF1989
22/10/2009, 10:31 PM
thought he was their best defender, distin, hibbert and gosling had nightmares. he was good on the ball, got sucked in a little for the first goal, dont know if you could call it an error. all the goals came from crosses from the left nearly! he done fine, out of position on his first start, will do nothing for his confidence though getting beat 5-0, not his fault at all though
dublinred
23/10/2009, 8:30 AM
Your biased
They don't seem to use any kind of marking going by last night , midfield was non existent and they were ripped to shreds down the benfica left where all the crosses were coming from surprised Moyes didn't switch Seamie across to fix this , would say he was at fault for a couple of the goals as should of got in front of his man but overall it will be a good learning experience for him and another step towards returning to full fitness.
Only saw the first half and agree he could have done better for the first goal but I thought he was doing fine overall, especially when on the ball as his distribution was very good. He did not look a bit nervous and certainly did not look out of place. The Russian fella in front of him gave him no help at all and was asleep half the time.
This was a major step up for him. Usually young players like him make their competitive debuts against League 2 sides in the League cup but to go straight in away to Benfica and out of position would scare the sh1t out of most players. The fact he played the full 90 minutes was also significant.
Well do Shamie!
Only1Rovers
23/10/2009, 8:48 AM
What about it!!!!! It was great to see Seamie on such a big stage, the points been made he's not a left full. But wasn't it great to see him pushing forward! We know he can defend, what I think is important is that he can prove he can get forward and push into the space further up the flanks; which is expected of a modern full-back.
And what about all the mentions Rovers got in the build-up. I heard the commentator mention the €150k, HA!
23/10/2009, 2:13 PM
FROM FOOTBALL365
With 11 players sidelined, Moyes was forced to field a makeshift defence. Dan Gosling came in at right-back while Seamus Coleman made his debut on the left.
The rookies were given a torrid time, especially in the second half, but Moyes lauded them for their efforts.
He said: "Tony Hibbert came in at centre-half, Gosling is not a right-back, Coleman is a right-back playing left-back on his debut on a big stage.
"The boy has only come over from Ireland a few months ago and been injured in that time. But that was it. That is what we had. I will tell you one thing, they never gave in.
"I have only got praise for the young boys because they came up against some serious players.
"When you go out there you still have to swim. That's your job. You are put out there as a professional.
"You have to find a way of dealing with it and they have seen the level they need to get to."
The lad was caught out due to a lack of experience (nothing wrong with that). Can only do him good long term.
Brian Boru
24/10/2009, 12:38 AM
Only saw the first half and agree he could have done better for the first goal but I thought he was doing fine overall, especially when on the ball as his distribution was very good. He did not look a bit nervous and certainly did not look out of place. The Russian fella in front of him gave him no help at all and was asleep half the time.
This was a major step up for him. Usually young players like him make their competitive debuts against League 2 sides in the League cup but to go straight in away to Benfica and out of position would scare the sh1t out of most players. The fact he played the full 90 minutes was also significant.
Well do Shamie!
Totally agree. The Russian didn't pass to Seamus even though he consistently went on the overlap. Seamus will be on the Irish team before we know it.
d rovers
25/10/2009, 1:38 PM
Seamie is on the bench today for the bolton game. Fingers crossed he can stay fit and get a run in the side. Best of luck seamie.
Boo_Boy
25/10/2009, 2:20 PM
Came on in the 80th minute for an injured Johnny Heitinga.
CF1989
26/10/2009, 12:35 AM
unlucky for the goal, tried to make a block put took a slight nick off him. great to see him make his premier league debut :)
d rovers
27/10/2009, 10:06 PM
Seamie was on the bench for the carling cup game vs totteringham, but he didn't get a run.
redobit
28/10/2009, 8:24 AM
Has the cheque arrived yet!!!
CF1989
28/10/2009, 5:03 PM
hopefully it has. would be a nice we boost. we'll get about 40k or something for finishing 7th if we do. hopefully another 100k or whatever for the cup if we win it, and whatever the add on was for seamie. 25k i heard
great to see him getting in the squad now, hopefully he'll stay there when the injuries improve
thesilverfox
31/10/2009, 1:41 PM
Hes on the bench again today:)
Everton v Aston Villa
Everton: Howard, Neill, Yobo, Distin, Baines, Cahill, Rodwell, Heitinga, Bilyaletdinov, Fellaini, Yakubu. Subs: Nash, Saha, Jo, Gosling, Coleman, Duffy, Agard.
Aston Villa: Friedel, Cuellar, Dunne, Collins, Warnock, Milner, Petrov, Sidwell, Ashley Young, Heskey, Agbonlahor. Subs: Guzan, Luke Young, Carew, Delph, Reo-Coker, Shorey, Beye.
01/11/2009, 5:05 PM
Hes on the bench again today:)
Everton v Aston Villa
Everton: Howard, Neill, Yobo, Distin, Baines, Cahill, Rodwell, Heitinga, Bilyaletdinov, Fellaini, Yakubu. Subs: Nash, Saha, Jo, Gosling, Coleman, Duffy, Agard.
Aston Villa: Friedel, Cuellar, Dunne, Collins, Warnock, Milner, Petrov, Sidwell, Ashley Young, Heskey, Agbonlahor. Subs: Guzan, Luke Young, Carew, Delph, Reo-Coker, Shorey, Beye.
did coleman come on at the weekend?
D Brannigan
01/11/2009, 5:19 PM
No he did not.
01/11/2009, 6:33 PM
Jaysus, Marty, you're one lazy f ucker. Look up the live scores on sportinglife.com and don't be annoying a man like Dermot who is flat out manufacturing bucket seats.
CF1989
03/11/2009, 12:33 PM
Seamie's starting tonight for the reserves against Liverpool, game live at 7pm on www.liverpoolfc.tv (http://www.liverpoolfc.tv)
story : http://www.liverpoolfc.tv/news/drilldown/N166313091103-1038.htm
03/11/2009, 12:35 PM
Heard an interview with Moyes on Staurday, Seamie came up and he said that Seamie picked up a fairly serious bug when he was in hospital. He's a lucky lad.
CF1989
03/11/2009, 12:41 PM
ah balls, you have to sign up for some yoke to watch it. liverpool tv is on freeview today on sky chanel 434, highlights on that at 10.30 tonight
CF1989
03/11/2009, 2:53 PM
see if hes taken off early...
03/11/2009, 9:47 PM
He played the full 90 tonight, they lost 1-0.
03/11/2009, 9:58 PM
Jaysus, Marty, you're one lazy f ucker. Look up the live scores on sportinglife.com and don't be annoying a man like Dermot who is flat out manufacturing bucket seats.
ye sligo rovers fans are the experts on him and you are right I am lazy! but Im sure dermot deserves a break though!!:D
CF1989
03/11/2009, 10:35 PM
seamie was captain tonight
Well Red
04/11/2009, 10:08 PM
seamie was captain tonight
And he played like a captain, generally did not get the support from his inside men for his fantastic overlaps. Showed a fantastic turn of speed on several occasions, probably needs more game at this level to build his confidence. If the manager sees a video of the game he cannot but be impressed with Seamus. Surprized at the number of hard tackles that went on in this reserve game but it was a derby match with Liverpool
CF1989
05/11/2009, 10:52 AM
And he played like a captain, generally did not get the support from his inside men for his fantastic overlaps. Showed a fantastic turn of speed on several occasions, probably needs more game at this level to build his confidence. If the manager sees a video of the game he cannot but be impressed with Seamus. Surprized at the number of hard tackles that went on in this reserve game but it was a derby match with Liverpool
anytime he looked for a one two with the winger and overlapped him, the winger just stopped and came inside, seamie was making some great runs and trying to link up with the midfield.
hes starting centre midfield for everton at the minute in the premier league. got sent off v portsmouth. banging in the penalties though and he scored in a friendly against Mainz last night. if only fifa was real
08/11/2009, 1:39 PM
Seamie's on the bench for Everton again today.:)
forza rovers
08/11/2009, 3:34 PM
good to see that moyles has him in the squad regulary
Well Red
16/11/2009, 8:00 PM
Hear Seamus Coleman out of Under Age team again with injury, hope this is not a repeat of what keep him out of action during Evertons start up to the season.:(
CF1989
16/11/2009, 10:06 PM
hope hes okay for old trafford saturday
16/11/2009, 10:10 PM
Hear Seamus Coleman out of Under Age team again with injury, hope this is not a repeat of what keep him out of action during Evertons start up to the season.:(
i doubt he got a new hole in his foot
01/12/2009, 9:25 PM
Good chance of starting tomorrow hopefully, Everton plagued with injuries.
Boo_Boy
02/12/2009, 4:25 PM
Starting at Right Back tonight :).
http://www.evertonfc.com/news/archive/distin-fit-for-aek-game.html
red bellied
02/12/2009, 5:01 PM
Its just started on 3e.