9]
sligofan4ever
07/12/2009, 3:46 PM
And so it begins. Heard today, "Did ya hear about Eamon Coleman?"
Seen this yesterday
http://foot.ie/forums/showpost.php?p=1289124&postcount=109
DonalE
07/12/2009, 3:58 PM
Eamon Coleman, yeah I've heard of him. I think rovers1 and sligoman are fans of his work
http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Eamonn_Coleman?wasRedirected=true
My only regret is not putting a few quid on him to play for Ireland at senior level the first day I saw him playing for Rovers.
Fair play to him. He is doing incredibly well.
07/12/2009, 4:48 PM
Seen this yesterday
http://foot.ie/forums/showpost.php?p=1289124&postcount=109
I've seen comments on him in various places too. He must have been very lively.
CF1989
07/12/2009, 5:23 PM
in the library in college today : see yer man seamus coleman in the everton match? 'yeah i heard he was serious'. yeah he used to play for the rovers. 'was he any good for them?' yeah he was alright id say. is he irish?? ya from kilybegs or somethin. 'oh right i didnt know he was irish, what age is he?' 20. hes on the irish under 20 team i think.
two big buffs
Only1Rovers
07/12/2009, 6:05 PM
newstalk doing a feature on him on Off The Ball this evening.
CarrickFan
07/12/2009, 6:11 PM
newstalk doing a feature on him on Off The Ball this evening.
Doubt those GAA roasters have ever heard of him...even Ken Early seems to have little interest in the LOI.
07/12/2009, 6:38 PM
shouldn't this be moved to the ireland section ;)
07/12/2009, 6:46 PM
Seriously though just going on the link above a friend from killybegs told me only 3 years ago he was still playing junior soccer, is that true? Said he was some player at gaelic as well, that uncle dessie did a bit of talking to him.
Only1Rovers
07/12/2009, 6:51 PM
Seriously though just going on the link above a friend from killybegs told me only 3 years ago he was still playing junior soccer, is that true? Said he was some player at gaelic as well, that uncle dessie did a bit of talking to him.
He was hoping to excel at the old GAA and was on course to make the Donegal senior team until Rovers showed up... and the rest is history in the making...
07/12/2009, 7:05 PM
thats all the cooler and better when ye think of it. Thats what i was told alright by a lad who knows him. From nothingness to this in 3 years.
CF1989
07/12/2009, 7:15 PM
he played against us in a pre season friendly in 2005/2006 for st.catherines
Shedzer
07/12/2009, 11:43 PM
Hello Niko!!!
http://i49.tinypic.com/24qtxjm.jpg
Shedzer
07/12/2009, 11:54 PM
Id like to give a few people a mention, those who aided Seamies career. :)
Sean Connor, you are a tw4t, but il hand you this..you gave him a chance.
Keith Foy, thanks for giving him the start he needed, if it wasnt for your fat arse with a lack of genuine pace at left back, he probably wouldnt have looked so impressive in that friendly (Rovers v St. Catherines)
Steve Manson, you are even sh1tter than we thought, surely with him overlapping you could do one thing right in your career at Rovers, surely just one? You made him twice the player Steve because he did his own job as a right full and yours at right win, you made him an attacking fullback...
CF1989
08/12/2009, 12:35 AM
To be fair Manson played most his football on the left.
listening to the 606 podcast from yesterday now and only one real mention of seamie. gabriel marcoti talking about him aswell :)
Only1Rovers
08/12/2009, 5:57 AM
To be fair Manson played most his football on the left.
listening to the 606 podcast from yesterday now and only one real mention of seamie. gabriel marcoti talking about him aswell :)
Is this Sunday's 606 with Spoony and Marcoti....
Shedzer
08/12/2009, 10:13 AM
Seamus Coleman finds himself at Everton's coalface
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-1233996/Seamus-Coleman-finds-Evertons-coalface.html
Redie
08/12/2009, 11:11 AM
Full page in today's Sun with Sean Connor telling everyone how he discovered Seamus and effectively started his career and how he always knew he would go all the way.
The article also gives the impression that Seamus played a full season for Connor including the Cup semi-final against Derry City - is that correct?
Also says that Connor is high onthe list for the Cork job as well as being in for the St. Pat's job.
red bellied
08/12/2009, 11:53 AM
Full page in today's Sun with Sean Connor telling everyone how he discovered Seamus and effectively started his career and how he always knew he would go all the way.
The article also gives the impression that Seamus played a full season for Connor including the Cup semi-final against Derry City - is that correct?
Also says that Connor is high onthe list for the Cork job as well as being in for the St. Pat's job.
I think Connor was gone when Coleman made his first team debut verus Shels at the end of the 2006 season. Think Seamie scored an og in that game as well.
08/12/2009, 11:56 AM
Seamie was on the bench for the Derry City game anyway
showgies
08/12/2009, 12:37 PM
Coleman played 15 minutes under Sean Connor as a sub against Derry City (we were 4-0 down when he came on).
He played more minutes under Rob McDonald than under Sean.
CF1989
08/12/2009, 12:44 PM
Is this Sunday's 606 with Spoony and Marcoti....
yeah, the first caller talks about him. thats it really
CF1989
08/12/2009, 12:46 PM
he was never in the first team under connor, i heard it wasnt even connor who recognised that he could do a job for us.
08/12/2009, 1:19 PM
he was never in the first team under connor, i heard it wasnt even connor who recognised that he could do a job for us.
Cork City never fail to amaze. One would think they were in enough trouble without appointing that knacker.
08/12/2009, 1:48 PM
To be fair to Connor,I'd say had he stayed he would have played Seamie in the 2007 season
08/12/2009, 2:32 PM
Verified here.
Connor takes over at Bohs. (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/irish/6155996.stm)
Article says he left on approx the 2nd of November.
Seamies Debut for Rovers. (http://www.u.tv/Sport/SOCCER-Drogheda-defeat-Sligo-Rovers/c5e81311-b5ad-40c2-8a49-c8061415508a)
Scoring an O/G dated 12th of November,
Knappagh Red
08/12/2009, 7:48 PM
Did Connors not bring him on as sub when we were defending a corner with two minutes to go and he scored an og?
Philbo
08/12/2009, 9:09 PM
As far as I remember Seamie started for Rovers for the first time against UCD in Belfield. It was Sean Conor's last game as manager but he was not in charge, Gareth Gorman was. Open to correction on that though.
Great to see him doing so well
sligorover
08/12/2009, 10:42 PM
Did Connors not bring him on as sub when we were defending a corner with two minutes to go and he scored an og?
Who is this Connors people keep refering to? Must be a friend of young Cooke.
bigredtruck
09/12/2009, 12:04 AM
Im sure it was dessie cawley and leo tierney who gave seamie his break away to longford and rang michael toolan the next day to get him signed up as he only had two weeks left on his contract, but it was that s***head connor that brought him into the club.
CF1989
09/12/2009, 12:24 AM
he came on against derry in the showgrounds when they beat us early in 2007. then started away to longford and the rest is history
showgies
09/12/2009, 12:34 AM
http://archives.tcm.ie/sligoweekender/2006/10/25/story30376.asp
One of Sean Connor’s changes, meanwhile, saw him handing a first Senior start to promising youngster Seamus Coleman.
Game played on Tuesday, October 17
eircom League Premier Division
Brandywell: Derry City 4, Sligo Rovers 0
Player of the Match: Gareth McGlynn (Derry City)
Derry City: David Forde, Eddie McCallion, Peter Hutton ©, Darren Kelly, Sean Hargan, Gareth McGlynn, Barry Molloy, Ciaran Martyn (Ruaidhri Higgins 63), Stephen O’Flynn, Gary Beckett (Shaun Holmes 44), Mark Farren (Kevin Deery 77)
Subs not used: Patrick Jennings, Kevin McHugh
Sligo Rovers: John O’Hara, Gavin Peers, Michael McNamara ©, Liam Burns, Keith Foy, Adam Hughes (Seamus Coleman 75), Conor O’Grady, Gary Curran (Fahrudin Kudozovic 36), Chris Turner, Harpal Singh, Darren Mansaram (Paul McTiernan 59)
Subs not used: Richard Brush, John Bellew
This still wasn't Seamies first outing in a Rovers jersey, as Rovers had to wear Derry's away strip for the game
09/12/2009, 1:30 AM
http://archives.tcm.ie/sligoweekender/2006/10/25/story30376.asp
One of Sean Connor’s changes, meanwhile, saw him handing a first Senior start to promising youngster Seamus Coleman.
Game played on Tuesday, October 17
eircom League Premier Division
Brandywell: Derry City 4, Sligo Rovers 0
Player of the Match: Gareth McGlynn (Derry City)
Derry City: David Forde, Eddie McCallion, Peter Hutton ©, Darren Kelly, Sean Hargan, Gareth McGlynn, Barry Molloy, Ciaran Martyn (Ruaidhri Higgins 63), Stephen O’Flynn, Gary Beckett (Shaun Holmes 44), Mark Farren (Kevin Deery 77)
Subs not used: Patrick Jennings, Kevin McHugh
Sligo Rovers: John O’Hara, Gavin Peers, Michael McNamara ©, Liam Burns, Keith Foy, Adam Hughes (Seamus Coleman 75), Conor O’Grady, Gary Curran (Fahrudin Kudozovic 36), Chris Turner, Harpal Singh, Darren Mansaram (Paul McTiernan 59)
Subs not used: Richard Brush, John Bellew
This still wasn't Seamies first outing in a Rovers jersey, as Rovers had to wear Derry's away strip for the game
Corrected. Well done.
Red Man
09/12/2009, 7:09 AM
All that matters is that hes at Everton now,and doing really well....he may have been signed by Connor,and played one game under him,but he got his major chance in the first team when Connor left and Des and Leo were in temporary charge.
Jeebus
09/12/2009, 8:16 AM
SEAMUS COLEMAN is at the right club to fulfil his potential.
That is the opinion of Sligo Rovers manager, Paul Cook, who sanctioned the defender’s January switch to Everton.
http://www.liverpoolecho.co.uk/everton-fc/everton-fc-news/2009/12/09/seamus-coleman-at-right-club-to-continue-development-100252-25353555/
Boo_Boy
09/12/2009, 8:31 AM
"When I had him at Sligo, Birmingham were interested. Steve Bruce asked me how good Seamus was and I told him I thought he can go on to be better than Steve Finnan. He's got that much potential.''
http://www.liverpoolecho.co.uk/everton-fc/everton-fc-news/2009/12/09/young-kid-seamus-coleman-starting-to-fulfil-his-promise-for-everton-fc-100252-25353564/3/
happydays97
09/12/2009, 9:16 AM
His first game in a Sligo shirt was in a pre season game against Galway United if I remember correctly :D
CarrickFan
09/12/2009, 12:56 PM
"When I had him at Sligo, Birmingham were interested. Steve Bruce asked me how good Seamus was and I told him I thought he can go on to be better than Steve Finnan. He's got that much potential.''
http://www.liverpoolecho.co.uk/everton-fc/everton-fc-news/2009/12/09/young-kid-seamus-coleman-starting-to-fulfil-his-promise-for-everton-fc-100252-25353564/3/
Jaysus i didnt didnt think i could dislike Connor anymore than i did already but i was wrong!!.what a complete and utter wa*nker...how this spoofer gets employment in football is amazing.
red metal
09/12/2009, 1:52 PM
Hello Niko!!!
http://i49.tinypic.com/24qtxjm.jpg
If only boco had tackled Bayly like this in the cup final!
RedRebel32
09/12/2009, 6:54 PM
I thought it was a mid season friendly against Lincoln.
Good shout, I think he came on sub in that came, first time I saw him was that game anyway.
09/12/2009, 7:35 PM
http://foot.ie/forums/showthread.php?t=33977&highlight=seamus+coleman
seamie's 1st appearance
CF1989
09/12/2009, 7:41 PM
new right back, the lad that came on looked good! is he the killybegs player?
that fella knows his stuff...
sligofan4ever
09/12/2009, 7:47 PM
Coleman too looks like a good one for the future.
Good call Mayo Red.
Boo_Boy
09/12/2009, 8:02 PM
Ah it was an easier time back then.
09/12/2009, 9:42 PM
This is the greatest pile of horsehit ever to come out of Seanie 'I know Mick McCarthy and met Murhinio' Connor's orifice.
Gentlemen, I invite you to ponder this. Imagine you are the manager of a Premier/Championship side and you ask your 'very best friend' who happens to be managing a League side on the west coast of Ireland about a player in his squad (squad because he's not playing him in the first team - how you would have got to hear about him in that case is another matter). Anyway, your 'very best friend' tells you that he is going to be better than Steve Finnan. What do you do? My money says you get out your cheque book rapid and write a cheque for 60000 euro or the sterling equivalent and sign him pronto. Unless......
1) You know your very best friend is a spoofer who could not even talk into the right end of the phone when he was answering it for you at Birmingham
OR
2) The conversation never took place
srfc1928
09/12/2009, 10:01 PM
This is the greatest pile of horsehit ever to come out of Seanie 'I know Mick McCarthy and met Murhinio' Connor's orifice.
Connor might know Mick, but Mick hasnt a clue who he is.
Cringeworthy stuff
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uJODMMHvEdI&feature=related
Joxter
09/12/2009, 10:05 PM
[QUOTE=srfc1928;1291266]Connor might know Mick, but Mick hasnt a clue who he is.
Cringeworthy stuff
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uJODMMHvEdI&feature=related
He's some spoofer. good luck to Cork if they get him:)
rovers100%
09/12/2009, 10:07 PM
seanie should run for taoiseacht he is a bullsh1tter of the highest quality, rumour has it he is charlie haugheys love child........ and bertie ahern is his second cousin twice remove ;)
WoodquayBoy
09/12/2009, 10:28 PM
Delighted for Coleman, cracking performance, especially the manner in which he avoided Ekotto's attempts to bisect him in the lead up to Everton's first goal.
Mind you, enjoyed Connor's cringeworthy moment courtesy of the youtube link even more! Please God he doesn't get the job at our place
Delighted for Coleman, cracking performance, especially the manner in which he avoided Ekotto's attempts to bisect him in the lead up to Everton's first goal.
Mind you, enjoyed Connor's cringeworthy moment courtesy of the youtube link even more! Please God he doesn't get the job at our place
Exactly. It's almost David Brent like in the way he acts around superstar Mick.:D