View Full Version : O'Neill gives his backing for a United Ireland team

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12

09/04/2008, 4:12 PM
It's an intersting page for the Euro statistics.
The one missing that tells a story is the activity of the goalie.

Hard to remember that we did anything of substance in our worst campaign in yonks.
Even with our absolute worst performance in 25 years we still managed more ball possession and won 30% more corners that NI who had their best campaign, since 1980?.

All is not bleak folks .)

and no need to retort that we had 2 games against San Marino :)

Gather round
09/04/2008, 6:43 PM
NI who had their best campaign, since 1980?

It was a long time ago, but I think we might have done slightly better in both 1982 and 1986 ;)

And don't forget we were a close second place in 1984 after beating West Germany home and away.

It was certainly our best campaign since 1996.

Not Brazil
09/04/2008, 7:00 PM
I love these discussions where ROI fans discuss the merits of an All Ireland team, and then proceed to tell us Nordies why our players aren't good enough to get into such a side.:D

I'll stick with Northern Ireland, thanks all the same - for better, or worse.;)

irishfan86
09/04/2008, 8:12 PM
My team if we were united:

--------------------Given-----------------

Finnan/Hughes--Dunne--Evans---McCartney

McGeady-----S.Reid--A. Reid-----Hunt

-----------Keane-----Healy--------

Now, I admit I am not the most knowledgeable guy on players from the North, but that is what my team would look like. That said, I have my doubts about a Healy and Keane partnership, and would gladly drop either for a target man to give our team an aerial option.

kingdomkerry
09/04/2008, 8:24 PM
My team if we were united:

--------------------Given-----------------

Finnan/Hughes--Dunne--Evans---McCartney

McGeady-----S.Reid--A. Reid-----Hunt

-----------Keane-----Healy--------

Now, I admit I am not the most knowledgeable guy on players from the North, but that is what my team would look like. That said, I have my doubts about a Healy and Keane partnership, and would gladly drop either for a target man to give our team an aerial option.

Given
Finnan/McCartney Dunne Evans O'Se
McGeady S Reid A Reid Duff
Keane Healy/Doyle

Difficult choice between Healy and Doyle both are'nt exactley setting the world alight. Overall fairly solid

Stephen Ireland just misses out due to Andy Reids club form

09/04/2008, 9:49 PM

I think the All Ireland 11 might have looked better in another era:)

I think i'd examine the idea for an Ireland league, that that would have more benefit for local Irish soccer than messing about with the national teams.

co. down green
09/04/2008, 10:05 PM
I love these discussions where ROI fans discuss the merits of an All Ireland team, and then proceed to tell us Nordies why our players aren't good enough to get into such a side.:D

I'll stick with Northern Ireland, thanks all the same - for better, or worse.;)

Many of us 'Nordies' have always followed Ireland, so its the best eleven for us, North,South,East or West.

We don't mind if our players hail from Belfast, Cork, Dublin, Derry, Galway, Lurgan, Limerick or wherever - Its about success and qualifying for major tournaments.

Like my fellow 'Nordies', O'Neill, Jennings, Dougan, Lennon & Best, i would like to see an all Ireland team, but for now we are happy with our senior & underage teams being represented by players from all parts of the Island.

EalingGreen
10/04/2008, 10:19 AM
We don't mind if our players hail from Belfast, Cork, Dublin, Derry, Galway, Lurgan, Limerick or wherever - Its about success and qualifying for major tournaments.

Oh dear. Oh dear oh dear. Don't you wish you'd been born Brazilian then? ;)

You see, for this Irish football fan, it's not, nor ever has been, about "success", or "qualifying". Which is why I've followed my team when we couldn't buy a goal, never mind a win. When we were an International laughing stock. When we couldn't play our "home" games at home. When our players were an embarrassment on the pitch and some of our fans an even worse one on the terraces. It's why, when we did get back home, and I was overseas, I still tried to get back when I could - even after the humiliation of getting humped 4-0 by our friends from South of the border.

Sure, if I'd really wanted "success", or even mere "qualification", maybe a "united" Ireland team might do the trick more often - though I notice how quiet advocates of such a dream remain when the record of the united Germany is pointed out to them (Post #116). But why stop there? Why don't I support England, for instance? After all, I've lived most of my adult life here and my club team is English. Hell, even my other half is English, so I must qualify somehow. Or how about a United Kingdom team? Dammit, I wouldn't even have to change my Passport!

But no, maybe I'll choose the obvious alternative; after all, shoving hot needles in your eyes can't be that bad (at least not after you've suffered the sight of Peter Rafferty in a Green shirt....)

But what about you, CDG? I must say, I'm worried about you. You see, I'm not just old enough to remember when my team had qualified for three World Cups before half your lot had even visited the Irish Embassy in London to apply for their first (second?) Passport.

That also makes me old enough to remember when your team went exactly 6 years without a home win, including four and a half years without a win of any kind, until a half-assed Iranian team saved your blushes on a tour/pis s-up in Brazil!

So what will you do when the tide turns, as history tells us it surely will? Who will you follow then for your "fix" of success and qualification? Manchester United, I suppose...

Anyhow, there's no hurry with the reply. In the meantime, here's something you might like to take into account whilst pondering:
http://www.fifa.com/worldfootball/ranking/lastranking/gender=m/fullranking.html#confederation=0&rank=168
Don't worry, you're still on Page 1. For the moment. :)

Pike B
10/04/2008, 10:22 AM
Anyone want to pick their best All Ireland 11.
Just for curiousity value sake :)

From the Republic's team
I´d only guarentee Given, Dunne, Andy Reid and Keane a place.

Possibly Steven Reid and possibly Duff, both depending on form and depending on what NI had available.
All Ireland 11
1:Given
2:Finnan
3:Kelly
4Dunne
5:O' Shea
6:Carsley
7:S Reid
8:Mc Geady
9:Healy
10:Keane
11Duff...

Need I say more?? :D

EalingGreen
10/04/2008, 10:37 AM
All Ireland 11
1:Given
2:Finnan
3:Kelly
4Dunne
5:O' Shea
6:Carsley
7:S Reid
8:Mc Geady
9:Healy
10:Keane
11Duff...

Need I say more?? :D

Nice try, but I suspect Sir David might have something even more pressing to do that day, like washing his hair, or re-arranging his sock drawer.

That's if he's not too busy receiving another Award from the President (that's Platini, not McAleese, btw):
http://www.uefa.com/magazine/news/kind=16384/newsid=676692.html

10/04/2008, 10:40 AM
Did you notice this stat on the FIFA website EG?

Detail time range summary - From Aug 1993 To Apr 2008
Team: Republic of Ireland
Average Ranking: 27.703

Team: Northern Ireland
Average Ranking: 78.418

Also NI's highest ranking in that time period is 27, ie pretty much the same as ROI's average for a 15 year period.

Pike B
10/04/2008, 10:44 AM
Nice try, but I suspect Sir David might have something even more pressing to do that day, like washing his hair, or re-arranging his sock drawer.

That's if he's not too busy receiving another Award from the President (that's Platini, not McAleese, btw):
Ha ha ha.... Very good my northern comrade... It was worth a shot though :D

10/04/2008, 10:50 AM
Pity you didn't grow up EG, most fans grandparents can't even remember the post war Mick Meagan era.

We are comfortable knowing that class tells, NI doing well now despite their average FIFA position of 78 whereas we will rise to a ranking befitting of our FIFA average 27.

youngirish
10/04/2008, 10:50 AM

Sir David ffs. EG you really are a stocking. He won't be picking up any awards for Fulham this season that's for sure. He'll be back where he belongs next year, in the Championship together with most of the rest of your first team.

We have way better players than NI irrespective of any selective results you wish to bring up or any silly FIFA rankings that anyone who really understood anything about football would claim aren't even worth the paper they are written on. With a decent manager on board I'm confident we'd hammer them in a competitive match (we always have hammered you generally in competitive matches after all, haven't we?). Remember Wales hammered you at home? We beat them a few months later we did.

I personally don't aspire to a united Ireland team as player wise you've nothing to offer of any substance imo and I cringe at the thought of fans like you supporting such a team and bragging to everyone in the International community about how good we are when we scrape a win against Lienchenstein or other such rubbish. This is not the mentality of most of our fans. We don't believe we are World beaters when we get hammered one week by Iceland but beat Latvia at home the following.

You remind me more of a typical English fan tbh with your selective memory when it comes to picking results and your over hyping of your team based on just those selective results. You'd be better united within a UK team to be honest of which NI wouldn't get a single player in the squad. I'd rather see that and keep our team to ourselves thank you very much.

EalingGreen
10/04/2008, 11:08 AM
Did you notice this stat on the FIFA website EG?

Detail time range summary - From Aug 1993 To Apr 2008
Team: Republic of Ireland
Average Ranking: 27.703

Team: Northern Ireland
Average Ranking: 78.418

Also NI's highest ranking in that time period is 27, ie pretty much the same as ROI's average for a 15 year period.

August 1993? A "mere blink of an eye".

I'd be interested to see the rankings for a certain other team during this period:
102 27.10.1965 Seville Spain 1-4 WCq
103 10.11.1965 Paris Spain 0-1 WCq

104 04.05.1966 Dublin West Germany 0-4
105 22.05.1966 Vienna Austria 0-1
106 25.05.1966 Liège Belgium 3-2
107 23.10.1966 Dublin Spain 0-0 ECq
108 16.11.1966 Dublin Turkey 2-1 ECq
109 07.12.1966 Valencia Spain 0-2 ECq
110 22.02.1967 Ankara Turkey 1-2 ECq
111 21.05.1967 Dublin Czechoslovakia 0-2 ECq
112 22.11.1967 Prague Czechoslovakia 2-1 ECq
113 15.05.1968 Dublin Poland 2-2
114 30.10.1968 Katowice Poland 0-1
115 10.11.1968 Dublin Austria 2-2
116 04.12.1968 Dublin Denmark 1-1 1 WCq
117 04.05.1969 Dublin Czechoslovakia 1-2 WCq
118 27.05.1969 Copenhagen Denmark 0-2 WCq
119 08.06.1969 Dublin Hungary 1-2 WCq
120 21.09.1969 Dublin Scotland 1-1
121 07.10.1969 Prague Czechoslovakia 0-3 WCq
122 15.10.1969 Dublin Denmark 1-1 WCq
123 05.11.1969 Budapest Hungary 0-4 WCq

124 06.05.1970 Dublin Poland 1-2
125 09.05.1970 Berlin West Germany 1-2
126 23.09.1970 Dublin Poland 0-2
127 14.10.1970 Dublin Sweden 1-1 ECq
128 28.10.1970 Malmö Sweden 0-1 ECq
129 08.12.1970 Rome Italy 0-3 ECq
130 10.05.1971 Dublin Italy 1-2 ECq
131 30.05.1971 Dublin Austria 1-4 ECq
132 10.10.1971 Linz Austria 0-6 ECq
133 18.06.1972 Recife Iran 2-1
134 19.06.1972 Natal Ecuador 3-2
135 21.06.1972 Recife Chile 1-2
136 25.06.1972 Recife Portugal 1-2
137 18.10.1972 Dublin Soviet Union 1-2 WCq
138 15.11.1972 Dublin France 2-1 WCq
139 13.05.1973 Moscow Soviet Union 0-1 WCq
140 16.05.1973 Wroclaw Poland 0-2
141 19.05.1973 Paris France 1-1 WCq
142 06.06.1973 Oslo Norway 1-1

Anyway, as any Irish farmer could tell you, you make hay while the sun shines :cool:. After all, it will be p issing down on all of us again, soon enough...;)

10/04/2008, 11:17 AM
Sir David ffs. EG you really are a stocking. He won't be picking up any awards for Fulham this season that's for sure. He'll be back where he belongs next year, in the Championship together with most of the rest of your first team.

We have way better players than NI irrespective of any selective results you wish to bring up or any silly FIFA rankings that anyone who really understood anything about football would claim aren't even worth the paper they are written on. With a decent manager on board I'm confident we'd hammer them in a competitive match (we always have hammered you generally in competitive matches after all, haven't we?). Remember Wales hammered you at home? We beat them a few months later we did.

I personally don't aspire to a united Ireland team as player wise you've nothing to offer of any substance imo and I cringe at the thought of fans like you supporting such a team and bragging to everyone in the International community about how good we are when we scrape a win against Lienchenstein or other such rubbish. This is not the mentality of most of our fans. We don't believe we are World beaters when we get hammered one week by Iceland but beat Latvia at home the following.

You remind me more of a typical English fan tbh with your selective memory when it comes to picking results and your over hyping of your team based on just those selective results. You'd be better united within a UK team to be honest of which NI wouldn't get a single player in the squad. I'd rather see that and keep our team to ourselves thank you very much.

YI, international football at the end of the day is about results. NI are doing better on that front than we are, as is David healy irrespective of his club form/non-form. It doesn't matter one Iota where or who they play for, if they are doing it for their national team thats all that matters.

Pike B
10/04/2008, 11:33 AM
YI, international football at the end of the day is about results. NI are doing better on that front than we are, as is David healy irrespective of his club form/non-form. It doesn't matter one Iota where or who they play for, if they are doing it for their national team thats all that matters.
That's the truth. I am more intrested in international football than club. Always have been, and I think what Healy has achieved is remarkable. And well done to him for doing so. If he were Cypriot, Lithuanian or Belgian I'd say the same..

10/04/2008, 11:33 AM
Where did you get those results EG? Have you been saving them for a rainy day? ;)

jmurphyc
10/04/2008, 11:51 AM
Oh dear. Oh dear oh dear. Don't you wish you'd been born Brazilian then? ;)

You see, for this Irish football fan, it's not, nor ever has been, about "success", or "qualifying". Which is why I've followed my team when we couldn't buy a goal, never mind a win. When we were an International laughing stock. When we couldn't play our "home" games at home. When our players were an embarrassment on the pitch and some of our fans an even worse one on the terraces. It's why, when we did get back home, and I was overseas, I still tried to get back when I could - even after the humiliation of getting humped 4-0 by our friends from South of the border.

For once, I agree with (part of) your post. If having a united Ireland team made us stronger then that would be fantastic, but I don't want that until almost everyone would be happy with it. If NI players who are happy playing for NI were merged with the South then, much like Spain with their Basque and Catalan players, would probably fail to live up to their ability and not really be bothered with playing for the team and consistently underachieve.

I only want a united team when we are ready for it (if that ever happens) as otherwise we may have a disillusioned support and players. I want to support something which makes me proud - irrespective of how bad they are - because I want to embrace my national identity. No matter how poor we have been under Staunton (and I've been unlucky in that I've only started regularly going to competitive games under his regime) I still love this team and I know that when the dark days are over I'll appreciate a better generation all the more. That is something which we won't be able to have if we somehow managed an artificial union with the NI football team, even if they were as good as Brazil.

Pike B
10/04/2008, 11:55 AM
At the end of the day it's a bad idea. I mean look at the farce of the rugby team. Two national anthems when we play at home, and just that idiotic Irelands Call when we're away. You can see the way the rugby lads react to it. To see that at the new Landsdowne would be awful. Leave it alone for me... Ireland and Northern Ireland will do fine....

EalingGreen
10/04/2008, 12:05 PM

Doesn't bother me. If anything, it only adds to my pride when our players rise to the occasion when wearing the green shirt. Don't you wish your players could do the same?

We have way better players than NI irrespective of any selective results you wish to bring up

Again, doesn't bother me, but you might point it out to some of your fellow ROI fans, who seem to have forgotten the Tenth Commandment - "Thou shall not Covet thy Neighbour's Assets" etc

or any silly FIFA rankings that anyone who really understood anything about football would claim aren't even worth the paper they are written on.

I wouldn't completely disagree when you describe the FIFA Rankings as silly". Still, that's not the same as "unimportant". After all, they allowed you to achieve the same 3rd Seeding for the 2010 WCQ's as us...

With a decent manager on board I'm confident we'd hammer them in a competitive match

Maybe, maybe not. What's your record like with football predictions, anyhow? Mine's crap, which is one reason I like to stick to the present over the future.

(we always have hammered you generally in competitive matches after all, haven't we?)

"Always", "generally"? Amusing (even if unintentionally so ;))

Remember Wales hammered you at home? We beat them a few months later we did.

Who was it used the phrase "better... ... irrespective of any selective results you wish to bring up"? It gets funnier all the time...:p
(Btw, 3-2 is hardly a "hammering". At least, not like 5-2.)

I personally don't aspire to a united Ireland team as player wise you've nothing to offer of any substance

Please tell that to some of your fellow ROI fans, then, not me.

I cringe at the thought of fans like you supporting such a team

That's one prospect about "fans like me" you'll not ever have to worry about, that's for sure! And that's even if any such team ever did come about during my lifetime. Or yours.

(Though come to think about it, were you e.g. in Dublin when ROI played Argentina in 1980? Or in Genoa in 1990 when you played Romania? If so, you might have been a lot closer to "fans like me" than you knew!)

and bragging to everyone in the International community about how good we are when we scrape a win against Lienchenstein or other such rubbish. This is not the mentality of most of our fans. We don't believe we are World beaters when we get hammered one week by Iceland but beat Latvia at home the following.

I've never referred to NI as world beaters. Not have I accused others of only quoting "selective results" to prove my case, then turned round and done the very same thing myself.

You remind me more of a typical English fan tbh with your selective memory when it comes to picking results and your over hyping of your team based on just those selective results.

"Typical English fan"? No stereotyping there, then, you bog-trotting, pig-in-the-parlour Paddy.

"Selective memory"? "Picking results"? Tell me, Mr. Kettle, have I ever intorduced you to my good friend, Mr. Pot?

You'd be better united within a UK team to be honest of which NI wouldn't get a single player in the squad. I'd rather see that and keep our team to ourselves thank you very much.

As I've said before, I've no more desire for a United Kingdom team than I have for a United Ireland team. But when it comes to you keeping your team to yourselves, that's one point on which you and I are very much "united"! :rolleyes:

10/04/2008, 12:09 PM
For once, I agree with (part of) your post. If having a united Ireland team made us stronger then that would be fantastic, but I don't want that until almost everyone would be happy with it. If NI players who are happy playing for NI were merged with the South then, much like Spain with their Basque and Catalan players, would probably fail to live up to their ability and not really be bothered with playing for the team and consistently underachieve.
Do they fail to live up to their expectations because Basque and Catalan players are not up for it?
Interestingly, FIFA have in their statutes a procedure for allowing membership for a region which has not gained full independence. But crucially it needs the support of the dependent FA

"An Association in a region which has not yet gained independence
may, with the authorisation of the Association in the country on
which it is dependent, also apply for admission to FIFA".

EalingGreen
10/04/2008, 12:12 PM
Where did you get those results EG? Have you been saving them for a rainy day? ;)

Hardly. The sun's shining on us these days...:cool:

(But they're always useful for gloomy days when I could do with a laugh ;))

jmurphyc
10/04/2008, 12:13 PM
Do they fail to live up to their expectations because Basque and Catalan players are not up for it?
Interestingly, FIFA have in their statutes a procedure for allowing membership for a region which has not gained full independence. But crucially it needs the support of the dependent FA

"An Association in a region which has not yet gained independence
may, with the authorisation of the Association in the country on
which it is dependent, also apply for admission to FIFA".

I'm not saying that is the sole reason why Spain have underachieved but I wouldn't be surprised if it is at least part of the reason. The FIFA statute is interesting but I fail to see what it has to do with our current debate.

EalingGreen
10/04/2008, 12:24 PM
I'm not saying that is the sole reason why Spain have underachieved but I wouldn't be surprised if it is at least part of the reason. The FIFA statute is interesting but I fail to see what it has to do with our current debate.

One of the reasons why Spain have underachieved may be because the National Team does not attract the unconditional support of all its constituent parts (though personally, I'd be loathe to push that point too far).

Just as people sometimes say about Italians that the only thing which ever truly unites them are the Azzurri. And their results are none too shabby, are they?

As I see it, those who want to see a united football team for Ireland because it would lead to more "success" are deluded, since being a team game, true "unity" of purpose is more important than increased talent.

And as for those people who wish to see a united team for political reasons, I daresay they are entitled to do so. But they're missing out on the true meaning and importance of sport when they do (imo).

I only want a united team when we are ready for it (if that ever happens) as otherwise we may have a disillusioned support and players. I want to support something which makes me proud - irrespective of how bad they are - because I want to embrace my national identity. No matter how poor we have been under Staunton (and I've been unlucky in that I've only started regularly going to competitive games under his regime) I still love this team and I know that when the dark days are over I'll appreciate a better generation all the more. That is something which we won't be able to have if we somehow managed an artificial union with the NI football team, even if they were as good as Brazil.

Well said! And re. your final point, that is why NI fans have all embraced our favourite terrace anthem so warmly:

"We're not Brazil, we're Northern Ireland, though it's all the same to me".

(Mind you, we also sang "Brazil! It's just like watching Brazil!" when we went 3-0 up against Georgia last month. We're a contrary bunch and no mistake :D)

At the end of the day it's a bad idea. I mean look at the farce of the rugby team. Two national anthems when we play at home, and just that idiotic Irelands Call when we're away. You can see the way the rugby lads react to it. To see that at the new Landsdowne would be awful. Leave it alone for me... Ireland and Northern Ireland will do fine....

Close, Pike B, so close! ;)

Gather round
10/04/2008, 12:41 PM
Ealing, would ye mind awfully not slagging off the great Peter Rafferty on here? There are other places for such wilful bias ;)

co. down green
10/04/2008, 12:45 PM
But what about you, CDG? I must say, I'm worried about you .

Don’t be worried, EG. Like the thousands of Ireland supporters in the ‘wee six’, we are quite content supporting our team, and are also content in the fact that our teams already represent all Parts of the island.

I'm not just old enough to remember when my team had qualified for three World Cups before half your lot had even visited the Irish Embassy in London to apply for their first (second?) Passport.

Is it true that Maik Taylor qualified for the North because his great, great, great Granny once ate an Ulster fry while on a visit to Ireland from her home in Lower Saxony?

Sure, if I'd really wanted "success", or even mere "qualification", maybe a "united" Ireland team might do the trick more often

I would have presumed that the goal of any team is to be successful and qualify for the finals of major tournaments, but perhaps your lot have lower ambitions. I suppose playing in a glorified pigeon shed at home doesn’t help.

10/04/2008, 12:48 PM
(But they're always useful for gloomy days when I could do with a laugh ;))

That's worrying.

Anyways I don't think this NI rivalry with your near neighbours is mutually shared EG. I certainly don't feel any rivalry with NI and maybe, of the few that support an United Ireland team, this is the reason why.

Hibernian
10/04/2008, 12:57 PM
Can it really work having a United Ireland team?

No

Why?

Well because we are two seperate countries simple really.

Next Brazil and the Argentina will want to join together.

We are still well behind this idea or dream of united ireland football team.

Let me take your mind back to Feb 2006 and the Dublin riots where these so called irishmen singing there anthem till hearts content while at same time burning cars belonged to irish people. Fair play lads that made sense.

and why have I brought this up?

well basically these are same fools who would want to disrupt this process going through in the first place and at end of day nobody wants to see that crap (thats being very nice) happening again.

Gather round
10/04/2008, 1:09 PM
Who are your rivals then IFK? I mean, I assume you have some, and as we're nearby and of almost the same standard, surely we'd be ideal?

Hibernian
10/04/2008, 1:14 PM
Who are your rivals then IFK? I mean, I assume you have some, and as we're nearby and of almost the same standard, surely we'd be ideal?

Cyprus

10/04/2008, 1:16 PM

Whoever we're drawn against. But rivalries are more "real" at club level for me. Landskrona BoIS for example - they're a right shower of mucks ;)

Pike B
10/04/2008, 1:52 PM
Close, Pike B, so close! ;)
REPUBLIC... Smart a.se :D

EalingGreen
10/04/2008, 2:01 PM
Don’t be worried, EG. Like the thousands of Ireland supporters in the ‘wee six’, we are quite content supporting our team, and are also content in the fact that our teams already represent all Parts of the island

Good for you. But you might want to change that "OneTeamInIreland" signature of yours. After all, we can't have people confusing it with http://www.oneteaminireland.co.uk/

Is it true that Maik Taylor qualified for the North because his great, great, great Granny once ate an Ulster fry while on a visit to Ireland from her home in Lower Saxony?

No, not true at all. Under a perfectly clear, though somewhat anomalous, clause in the FIFA Regulations governing eligibility in those days, British Citizen Taylor was entitled to chose which of the four British Associations he wished to represent. He chose NI, something which makes both him and us completely happy.
The Regulations have since been changed, however, so as to prevent any reoccurence. Essentially, a new Maik Taylor would have to demonstrate a connection (parent, grandparent or residence) to be eligible to represent any of the four Associations.
This new situation is something with which the IFA is entirely happy.

I would have presumed that the goal of any team is to be successful and qualify for the finals of major tournaments, but perhaps your lot have lower ambitions. I suppose playing in a glorified pigeon shed at home doesn’t help.

Of course the goal of any team is to be as successful as possible. But are you saying that teams should therefore do whatever it takes to gain success?Or that fans should withdraw their support for that team if they are not successful?

Wishing for "success" and demanding it are two different things. Indeed, it's what I use to distinguish true fans from glory-hunters. As for our "glorified pigeon shed", I'd have hoped the fact that we still turn up despite the facilities, rather than because of them, was to our credit.

But perhaps you demand Executive Lounges and Prawn Sandwiches, as well as Trophies. Sad.

10/04/2008, 2:23 PM
A Song for Ireland (http://www.mary-black.net/disco/songs/114.htm) would be the perfect anthem for me

co. down green
10/04/2008, 2:38 PM
But you might want to change that "OneTeamInIreland" signature of yours..

If ‘One Team In Ireland’ is good enough Jennings, Dougan, Lennon, O’Neill & Best, its good enough for us ;)

Of course the goal of any team is to be as successful as possible. But are you saying that teams should therefore do whatever it takes to gain success?Or that fans should withdraw their support for that team if they are not successful?

Eg?, you need to get out more.

Wishing for "success" and demanding it are two different things. Indeed, it's what I use to distinguish true fans from glory-hunters. As for our "glorified pigeon shed", I'd have hoped the fact that we still turn up despite the facilities, rather than because of them, was to our credit.

Glad to see the ‘good times’ have increased your attendances from 6,000 to 13,000. Glory hunters, ehh. :D

But perhaps you demand Executive Lounges and Prawn Sandwiches, as well as Trophies. Sad.

No, a few pints and an atmosphere free of sectarian chanting, does me fine.

I don't know how you and your fellow trolls can find the time to spend the whole day trolling around the internet.

Gather round
10/04/2008, 3:23 PM
If ‘One Team In Ireland’ is good enough Jennings, Dougan, Lennon, O’Neill & Best, its good enough for us ;)

But it's wrong, like. There are obviously two teams.

Glad to see the ‘good times’ have increased your attendances from 6,000 to 13,000. Glory hunters, ehh. :D

How much do you think Chelsea or Rangers average crowds will improve by if they win a European trophy this season? The maximum crowds at Windsor, like any other stadium, are obviously fixed.

No, a few pints and an atmosphere free of sectarian chanting, does me fine

You'll find that, generally, at Windsor. I'm not suggesting it's perfect, but the past problems have been largely eradicated.

I don't know how you and your fellow trolls can find the time to spend the whole day trolling around the internet.

Come on, fair's fair. Many on this thread are saying, effectively, 'let's abolish the NI team'. You can hardly be surprised that a couple of us argue the point. Which is not what 'trolling' means.

10/04/2008, 3:30 PM
I'm not saying that is the sole reason why Spain have underachieved but I wouldn't be surprised if it is at least part of the reason.
I don't know what the reasons are but the Spanish FA after a lengthy investigation blamed the (wordless) Anthem:)

The FIFA statute is interesting but I fail to see what it has to do with our current debate
It was claimed here that FIFA would not allow an All Ireland team therefore it was a waste to even be talking about it.
Should there be a situation where both federations are amenable then there are no objections in the FIFA statutes to applying for membership of FIFA.

youngirish
10/04/2008, 3:42 PM
"Always", "generally"? Amusing (even if unintentionally so ;))

How can one man get so much amusement out of a typo? I have work to do EG unlike you so I have little time to read over my posts 3 or 4 times before sending them. I notice the way you pick out such errors (typos, spelling mistakes etc) to try to pick fault in other people posts while generally ignoring the more difficult issues that these posts address. I shall now devote my life from this point onwards to pointing out to all and sundry EG's grammatical mistakes on foot.ie.

Note to EG this is an internet forum not a university English examination.

Pike B
10/04/2008, 3:49 PM
Here here.... I'm fed up of taking ten mins to read his posts... ;)

EalingGreen
10/04/2008, 4:05 PM
I notice the way you pick out such errors (typos, spelling mistakes etc) to try to pick fault in other people posts while generally ignoring the more difficult issues that these posts address.

OK, accept my humblest apologies for sniggering at what was, as you say, a trivial point.

And now that's sorted, would you like to practice what you preach and address any of the several "difficult issues" which I put to you in the rest of that post?

I don't know what the reasons are but the Spanish FA after a lengthy investigation blamed the (wordless) Anthem:)

Presumably anything to avoid the conclusion that it might be down to their own inadequacies? ;)

It was claimed here that FIFA would not allow an All Ireland team therefore it was a waste to even be talking about it.
Should there be a situation where both federations are amenable then there are no objections in the FIFA statutes to applying for membership of FIFA.

Apples and Pears, Geysir. What FIFA are alluding to is the situation where a region which is not independent, but has its own Association, may apply to have its own international football team, so long as the Association of the "parent" nation does not object.

This cannot be applied to the Irish situation in any way, since NI already has its own international team and the Irish Republic is already independent.

I imagine it is what was used to allow the Faroe Islands FA to set up its own team, separately from Denmark, whose own FA presumably gave their consent. In fact, it is even possible that this Provision was introduced specifically for the Faroes, since there aren't many other analogous situations.

Off the top of my head, I can only think of Hong Kong, where they were allowed to keep their separate international team, even after they reverted to P R China.

Which, if you think about it, means that far from being a harbinger for some sort of United Ireland team, actually leaves it open for the IFA to retain a separate NI international team, even after any political union on the island! ;)

10/04/2008, 4:40 PM
Which, if you think about it, means that far from being a harbinger for some sort of United Ireland team, actually leaves it open for the IFA to retain a separate NI international team, even after any political union on the island! ;)
That's its intention, in the event of the end of partition, the Unionists would have a solid case to carry on with their representative team.

FIFA statutes for membership are clear and direct, cases are decided on merits.
The main merit being spelt out, that both (or more) federations involved are agreeable.
Then UEFA would be the first to accept the case for further consideration.
Further consideration would go into the vagaries of the application.
It is nonsense to declare that FIFA or UEFA would oppose such an application if they were satisfied as to its merits.

kingdomkerry
10/04/2008, 6:22 PM
One country. Two states. One foreign occupied and existing due to a manufactured majority one independent.

Would love to see an All Ireland team, but for now am happy to have all of nationalist Ireland only. Anyway not long now until unionists are outnumbered in "their own country":cool:

Can it really work having a United Ireland team?

No

Why?

Well because we are two seperate countries simple really.

Next Brazil and the Argentina will want to join together.

We are still well behind this idea or dream of united ireland football team.

Let me take your mind back to Feb 2006 and the Dublin riots where these so called irishmen singing there anthem till hearts content while at same time burning cars belonged to irish people. Fair play lads that made sense.

and why have I brought this up?

well basically these are same fools who would want to disrupt this process going through in the first place and at end of day nobody wants to see that crap (thats being very nice) happening again.

11/04/2008, 2:24 AM
One country. Two states. One foreign occupied and existing due to a manufactured majority one independent.

Would love to see an All Ireland team, but for now am happy to have all of nationalist Ireland only. Anyway not long now until unionists are outnumbered in "their own country":cool:

IRA! IRA! **** the Queen, and the UDA! etc etc
Its 1972 all over again.

Gather round
11/04/2008, 8:24 AM
One country. Two states. One foreign occupied and existing due to a manufactured majority one independent...anyway not long now until unionists are outnumbered in "their own country"

Heh. It's obviously two separate countries- there's an international border separating them. And the two countries are just as clearly, two states.

Even Sinn Fein have largely dropped that foreign occupation nonsense. Northern Ireland is populated almost entirely by Irish people, the vast majority of whom can trace their Irish ancestry back for centuries. Their majority is manufactured only in the sense that they're both numerous (unionists have been ca 20% of the population of Ireland since the 19th century) and localised (in the area that's now NI). If the border was drawn differently- down the river Foyle say, with only Waterside in NI) the nationalist minority would be smaller than now.

Let's see your evidence for nationalists increasing to 51% and beyond. In the 2007 NIA election, it was 41.4% (SF 26.2%, SDLP 15.2%). To force the end of partition you'd need pretty much all the Alliance and Green voters, plus health campaigners and even a few unionists, to change sides. It isn't going to happen.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/shared/vote2007/nielection/html/main.stm

11/04/2008, 8:40 AM
How can one man get so much amusement out of a typo? I have work to do EG unlike you so I have little time to read over my posts 3 or 4 times before sending them. I notice the way you pick out such errors (typos, spelling mistakes etc) to try to pick fault in other people posts while generally ignoring the more difficult issues that these posts address. I shall now devote my life from this point onwards to pointing out to all and sundry EG's grammatical mistakes on foot.ie.

Note to EG this is an internet forum not a university English examination.

I think he was more pointing out the use of the words, generally and always, in the same sentence, I am unsure of the word to describe what you did here, but basically its a negative ( of some sort ). :)

Drumcondra 69er
11/04/2008, 8:54 AM
Heh. It's obviously two separate countries- there's an international border separating them. And the two countries are just as clearly, two states.

Even Sinn Fein have largely dropped that foreign occupation nonsense. Northern Ireland is populated almost entirely by Irish people, the vast majority of whom can trace their Irish ancestry back for centuries. Their majority is manufactured only in the sense that they're both numerous (unionists have been ca 20% of the population of Ireland since the 19th century) and localised (in the area that's now NI). If the border was drawn differently- down the river Foyle say, with only Waterside in NI) the nationalist minority would be smaller than now.

Let's see your evidence for nationalists increasing to 51% and beyond. In the 2007 NIA election, it was 41.4% (SF 26.2%, SDLP 15.2%). To force the end of partition you'd need pretty much all the Alliance and Green voters, plus health campaigners and even a few unionists, to change sides. It isn't going to happen.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/shared/vote2007/nielection/html/main.stm

Don't get you point here? He's obviously refering to the fact that there was no unionist majority on the island of Ireland prior to partition and it was only the manufacture of the 6 county state (which was initially not intended to be a permenant border, see boundry commission etc) that gave the unionist majority in the North 'legitimacy'. As for your point about the broder being redrawn (as was originally agreed would happen on an ongoing basis) down the Foyle, well obviously the nationalist minority would be smaller (you could say the same about South Armagh, Newry etc) but the NI state would also be smaller, I'd happilly take it back peice by piece. You'd end up with a state so small as to be possibly unviable. It's more an arguement for Politics.ie rather then Foot.ie though.....

Pike B
11/04/2008, 8:54 AM
This discussion belongs in the Dail.... No longer a football matter..

janeymac
11/04/2008, 9:09 AM

With what one would presume 50%+ of the population at least who in theory should support the NI football team, I don't get how you are so unambitious with the size of your new stadium (25,000?) that the supporters think they can fill it. When Ulster Rugby played in the HCup final in Lansdowne Road (48K+ capcity), it was filled. Surely if a minority sport like rugby can get 30,000+ to travel to Dublin, NI football should be able to attract a lot more. Its only a couple of games a year.

I should mention here that the Tyrone & Armagh gaelic teams don't have a problem filling Croke Park when they get there.

So, with a population of 1m+ (potential market), how come you are not more ambitious with your new stadium?

11/04/2008, 9:13 AM
Thats a nice backdoor question janeymac......;)