View Full Version : Italy Away - 1st April 2009
Pages :
[
17]
Lodger
06/03/2009, 3:11 PM
Seems about the norm, our hotel is €60 each per night.
06/03/2009, 3:47 PM
That ticket confirmation site is still down!
Dr. Ogba
06/03/2009, 5:24 PM
Was anyone on the Ryanair flight from stansted to Bari on the Monday? The feckers have rescheduled it from an evening flight to 7 am...royally f*cked me over now:mad:
can anyone suggest similar flights at this late stage????
06/03/2009, 6:40 PM
Aye same as Dr Ogba.
That is both legs of that flight have changed times, yet they did the rescheduling six weeks apart!!!!!!
Is there an airline regulator we can contact about this?
RedBobby
06/03/2009, 7:31 PM
Seems about the norm, our hotel is €60 each per night.
Yeah, we're in the Boston which is €
66 for sunday and monday, and then the rond'o on the tues and weds which is about the same as well.
Should be a good laugh all the same, lets hope there's no boxin that weekend.
Must disable the 3g on the phone this time :o
Dr. Ogba
06/03/2009, 9:20 PM
Aye same as Dr Ogba.
That is both legs of that flight have changed times, yet they did the rescheduling six weeks apart!!!!!!
Is there an airline regulator we can contact about this?
dunno i was thinking that though....i had a flight booked from Dublin that afternoon but now looks like i'll have to reschedule and stay over in london on the Sunday...problem with that is i paid only 15 euro for the flight on the Monday and the flights on the Sunday are around 80 euro! does any other airline fly to stansted from Dublin?
Nolimits
07/03/2009, 6:25 PM
Just looking for a bit of advice here. Got two tickets from Fai. When booking it used a mates name (on the block booking list) but he's not actually going. When it comes to filling in the personal details, should I use his name or is it ok to go with the bloke who is actually going?
€12 a head per ticket, now thats what i call recession prices...nice one!! Presumably it means we've been allocated the upper tier and probably behind the goal
http://www.worldstadiums.com/stadium_pictures/europe/italy/puglia/bari_san_nicola.shtml
blueanto40
07/03/2009, 7:45 PM
NO LIMITS, i was in fai about same quiry, just put the names of people going, its no problem
wexfordman
07/03/2009, 8:44 PM
dunno i was thinking that though....i had a flight booked from Dublin that afternoon but now looks like i'll have to reschedule and stay over in london on the Sunday...problem with that is i paid only 15 euro for the flight on the Monday and the flights on the Sunday are around 80 euro! does any other airline fly to stansted from Dublin?
Yeah fupping Ryanair iam on the same flight. looks like i will change flights to the sunday evening and try get cheap accomadation near standstead. anybody have any links for some cheap accomadation for 4 people near there
08/03/2009, 12:08 AM
Yeah fupping Ryanair iam on the same flight. looks like i will change flights to the sunday evening and try get cheap accomadation near standstead. anybody have any links for some cheap accomadation for 4 people near there
Try the Days Inn at the nearby motorway service station about £40 per night + £7/£8 cab. Here (http://www.londontoolkit.com/stn/days_inn_stn.htm)
Helen Donegan
08/03/2009, 8:04 AM
I am down in Bari at present, staying in a hotel 18km from the centre - they are full for the match - it will be hard to find anywhere near Bari at this point.
Weather windy and sunny, I am ready (I think) to go for a walk along the beach:D
Here is the link for info about buses to and from stadium etc.
http://www.italywithus.com/world-cup-italy-v-ireland-bari.php
Claret Murph
08/03/2009, 8:49 AM
I did wonder what your angle was in the beginning but now I know . Sorry but I have never been into pre arranged trips but I am sure a few may be . Good luck to you but this is one that I will give a very wide berth to .
08/03/2009, 10:42 AM
I did wonder what your angle was in the beginning but now I know . Sorry but I have never been into pre arranged trips but I am sure a few may be . Good luck to you but this is one that I will give a very wide berth to .
Same here smells like another Irish person taking advantage and trying to scam the fans again.
rfkimble
08/03/2009, 11:34 AM
as far as i can make out you can walk to the ground in 20/30 mins, no worse than o'connell st to croker, why any1 wud take the bus is beyond me, the craic on the way to the stadium in prague was not to be missed
Dr. Ogba
08/03/2009, 1:23 PM
wexfordman, your only other option is to get the early morning Dublin to Milan flight then get the connecting flight to Bari (think its about 7 in the evening so there's a bit of a wait)
We're gonna do this on the Sunday now after all of this strike talk for the Monday
So the question now is how "accommodating" Ryanair will be with my flight changes now :rolleyes:
Newryrep
08/03/2009, 1:53 PM
as far as i can make out you can walk to the ground in 20/30 mins, no worse than o'connell st to croker, why any1 wud take the bus is beyond me, the craic on the way to the stadium in prague was not to be missed
from the scots experience its not walkable
That stupid ticket website is still down. Are the FAI in league with An Post to give them business? That's it. Bloody scoundrels.
08/03/2009, 7:11 PM
Sure if it's not back by tomorrow just drop in the post Tuesday or something!
bawn79
08/03/2009, 7:57 PM
I am down in Bari at present, staying in a hotel 18km from the centre - they are full for the match - it will be hard to find anywhere near Bari at this point.
Weather windy and sunny, I am ready (I think) to go for a walk along the beach:D
Here is the link for info about buses to and from stadium etc.
http://www.italywithus.com/world-cup-italy-v-ireland-bari.php
8am depart time from Rome? Is there a later bus? That sounds pretty fecking early to be getting up with a hangover?
Conormack
08/03/2009, 10:15 PM
just wondering how ye worked it out... like 20 mins is'nt too bad but from what i hear its mostly motorway all the way in???
rfkimble
08/03/2009, 10:24 PM
yeah lookin again it does seem a bit far for a hike, i thot it wuz a lot closer to the town centre
Conormack
08/03/2009, 10:27 PM
public transport could be best bet so... or a donkey!!!
rfkimble
08/03/2009, 10:30 PM
im sure there will be plenty of taxis, both legal and otherwise
Lodger
09/03/2009, 12:13 AM
yeah lookin again it does seem a bit far for a hike, i thot it wuz a lot closer to the town centre
Their old stadium is close to the city centre, pity the Italian FA didnt pick that seeing as it hasnt been knocked down.
Re. Tickets, has anyone logged on to the FAI Ticket site sucessfully, I just tried it and its still down.
Its been down since Thursday when I tried and it mightnt be up in time for the tickets deadline so looks like posting is the only way.
Ok now its up and working so ignore my last post :)
RedBobby
09/03/2009, 10:07 AM
just wondering how ye worked it out... like 20 mins is'nt too bad but from what i hear its mostly motorway all the way in???
As per google maps
Route to the old stadium from a main square in bari.
http://url.ie/1ae5
Route to the San Nicola from the same main square.
http://url.ie/1aef
Looks like a bit of a difference there.
Unless you want to walk off all that pasta you've eaten and a bit of exercise then walk to the stadium.
Otherwise I'd get a taxi, or Bus.
09/03/2009, 11:58 AM
Was it down or was there not just a security thing on it and you add it as an exception.
wexfordman
09/03/2009, 5:58 PM
its going to cost the 4 of us an extra €100 to transfer the dublin to stanstead flights from monday to sunday evening flipping rip off in order to meet our connecting flight.
Nolimits
09/03/2009, 6:13 PM
Anyone else having any problems with logging into fai.com/tickets. I've put in my booking reference so many times I nearly know it off by heart but its not accepting it?
SuperDub
09/03/2009, 7:01 PM
Anyone else having any problems with logging into fai.com/tickets. I've put in my booking reference so many times I nearly know it off by heart but its not accepting it?
At this stage i know my booking reference off by heart too. This is really fustrating. I think i will just send all the forms by snail mail:confused:
Nolimits
09/03/2009, 7:26 PM
Nice to know its not just me. I kept staring at it thinking I must be making some really stupid mistake.
09/03/2009, 8:24 PM
I'm having trouble paying for the tickets when I click confirm payments I just see a load jibberish and on the ticket holder page it keeps showing my date of birth as todays!
09/03/2009, 11:39 PM
You have to put in all the details of the people who are travelling before you pay for your tickets. It will not accpet the payment without the full details and all the people in your party and all their details added.
Dallasirish
10/03/2009, 3:47 AM
Three of us booked from Dallas to Rome arriving on the Sunday. Flying the Air Italia to Bari from Rome on the Tuesday morning and returning to Dallas on Friday! Booked in the Hotel Victor who as of earlier today had just released rooms that were being held by an Irish tour operator according to front desk Mgr. Anyway all sorted and really looking forward. Any plans for a meet up location for pints in Rome on the Sunday or Monday night.
Dallasirish
10/03/2009, 3:49 AM
Small detail -- We just booked this trip and dont have match tickets yet. Can these still be got through the FAI or do yis think we can get them when we are there? Need 3.
Cowboy
10/03/2009, 9:00 AM
Nothing new there, amazes me how hotels reserve blocks of rooms purely on the say so of an operator rather than selling them direct with credit card deposits.
Booked in the Hotel Victor who as of earlier today had just released rooms that were being held by an Irish tour operator according to front desk Mgr.
finbarrk
10/03/2009, 7:04 PM
Three of us booked from Dallas to Rome arriving on the Sunday. Flying the Air Italia to Bari from Rome on the Tuesday morning and returning to Dallas on Friday! Booked in the Hotel Victor who as of earlier today had just released rooms that were being held by an Irish tour operator according to front desk Mgr. Anyway all sorted and really looking forward. Any plans for a meet up location for pints in Rome on the Sunday or Monday night.
All the Rome Irish bars will be buzzing that week.
We are in the same hotel as you, arriving on Tue evening. I think the room was €90 p.n.
10/03/2009, 7:46 PM
Yeah mine is still not working so I e mailed FAI and they told me to ring tomorrow during working hours.
10/03/2009, 8:14 PM
All Done! I'm going to Italy! :):D
champagne
10/03/2009, 9:13 PM
All Done! I'm going to Italy! :):D
Did you pay online?
If so, did you get an email confirmation? I tried to pay, entered credit card details etc. but then got a weird code error page, but when I go back to the home page, it has my status as Paid, and has an invoice number. Didn't get any email confirmation though. Just worried that the site is acting up again.
SuperDub
10/03/2009, 9:20 PM
I finally paid for our tickets online. I got a reference number that confirms payment has been processed.:D
Ya me too, although it did take two or three gos to register our travel details.
10/03/2009, 9:28 PM
Did you pay online?
If so, did you get an email confirmation? I tried to pay, entered credit card details etc. but then got a weird code error page, but when I go back to the home page, it has my status as Paid, and has an invoice number. Didn't get any email confirmation though. Just worried that the site is acting up again.
Got that too and immediately e-mailed the FAI and I was told that confirmations will be sent out 24 hours after payment.
My status is down as paid and the money has been taken from my account so i'm assuming all is well!
Are the Date of Births on the Ticket Holder page coming up as todays date for everyone else too?:confused:
Nah Nah Nah Nah
10/03/2009, 10:43 PM
Got that too and immediately e-mailed the FAI and I was told that confirmations will be sent out 24 hours after payment.
My status is down as paid and the money has been taken from my account so i'm assuming all is well!
Are the Date of Births on the Ticket Holder page coming up as todays date for everyone else too?:confused:
Yeah that happened to me as well. I mailed them to see if everything was ok so will see what they say
SuperDub
10/03/2009, 11:01 PM
Ya me too, although it did take two or three gos to register our travel details.
Yea it took quite a while to register everything. I noticed the dates of birth where showing todays date too.:confused:
EastTerracer
10/03/2009, 11:27 PM
My credit card was refused twice by the website and then I got a call from my bank saying that I was entering the wrong expiry date (May instead of June). I knew I had entered it correctly on the site so I tried July and that worked. It seems the programmer might not be able to count so July is month 6 etc.
This might help some of you to get through the FAI's aptitude test.
champagne
11/03/2009, 8:32 AM
Yeah, money has been taken out of my account too as of this morning. Haven't got a reference number though, that would probably have come up on the payment processed page I'd imagine. Got a similar email from the FAI so should be good to go!